Issuu on Google+

MERU COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Nairobi to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution mandating sweeping

changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans.

POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, well-being and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of Kenya at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/ AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes crosscutting work to strengthen health care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.

Thanks to a partnership between Earthoils, the Kenya Organic Oil Farmers Association, and the USAID Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness program, volume of tea tree raw material supplied by farmers has nearly doubled, with farm gate sales rising from Ksh 3 million in 2010 to Ksh 6.2 million in 2012. This has significantly increased the incomes of the 600 Meru smallholder farmers.

2

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS The U.S. President’s Global Hunger and Food Security Initiative, known as Feed the Future, can help counties increase rural incomes, enhance food security, and improve nutritional status of rural families. Activities focus on increasing the competitiveness of key values chains, including wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking smallholder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan. EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID supports programs that provide youth with leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. USAID supports innovative private sector-led scholarship and mentorship programs for orphans and vulnerable children that empower the next generation. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, education, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations. In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Meru County. Others may work out of Nairobi or Meru, but are able to offer technical assistance in Meru County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak: Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853

Capacity building for county preparedness

John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov 020 862 2105

Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation

Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov 020 862 2482

Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement

Monica Azimi, USAID mazimi@usaid.gov 020 862 2005

Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment

Betty Mugo Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394

Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level

Maria Francisco MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360

Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS

Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov 020 862 2258

Improving maternal health and child health services

Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov 020 862 2234

Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria

Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov 020 862 2292

Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance

Winifred Adhiambo wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016

Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and vulnerable children

Lucy Kithome lkithome@usaid.gov 020 862 2249

Increasing access to education for marginalized children

T. Wambui Gathenya tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268

Improving reading outcomes in the early grades

Chris Pagen Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755

Feed the Future

Millie Gadbois mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2000

Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives

Benson Kimithi bkimithi@usaid.gov 020 862 2243

Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets

Harrigan Mukhongo Hmukhongo@usaid.gov 020 862 2245

Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working relations with Kenya Wildlife Service

Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov 0714 606 526

Resilience and disaster management

Isaac Thendiu Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

MERU COUNTY

3


MERU COUNTY PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT In Meru, 26,902 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Meru

In Meru County, the U.S. Government supports 14,874 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing

Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

4


USAID supports 100 Meru youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly Scholarship Program

In Meru County, 252 health workers received training to improve quality of care and 34 health workers received training on leadership, management and governance with support from USAID

USAID supports 14,096 Meru children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS

In Meru, USAID supports 25 Mother and Child Integrated Health facilities to provide family planning services, oral rehydration therapy (ORT), breastfeeding, and iron supplementation into a holistic program for maternal and child health and nutrition

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government

5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN MERU COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM APHIAplus Kamili (Central/Eastern) Mildred Mudany, Chief of Party Tel: 073 344 0512 Email: mildred.mudany@jhpiego.org Dr. Stanley Bii, USAID Tel: 020 862 2211 Email: sbii@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infections through Support and Education Project Nicole Fulton, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 803 508 Email: nicole.fulton@m2m.org Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2380 Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Leadership, Management, and Sustainability Karen Caldwell, Chief of Party Tel: 0703503359 Email: kcaldwell@msh.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party Tel: 0713 817 938 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org

Steve Hawkins, Chief of Party Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM Peace Initiative Kenya Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Uraia Civic Education Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke

Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Nutrition & HIV Program

Kenya Civil Society Strengthening Program

Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org

Kassie Mcilvaine, Chief of Party Tel: 0721 392 222 Email: kmcilvaine@pactworld.org

Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com

Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM

Health Commodities and Services Management Dr. John Chimumbwa, Chief of Party Tel: 020 271 4839 Email: jchimumbwa@msh.org Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2231 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov

6

Kenya Pharma

Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai Tel: 0711 026 000 Email: ivy.mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 168 480 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises Dr. Steve New, FINTRAC Tel: 071 685 6800 Email: snew@fintrac.com

Kenya Feed the Future Innovation Engine Program Milton Lore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722517 149 Email: milton.lore@idd.landolakes.com Makeda Tsegaye, USAID Tel: 020 862 2224 Email: mtsegaye@usaid.gov

NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM Kenya Wildlife Conservation Project

Harrigan Mukhongo Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Munira Bashir, Assistant Director Tel: 0722 461 412 Email: munira@kws.go.ke

Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Program

Beatrice Wamalwa, USAID Tel: 020 862 2250 Email: bwamalwa@usaid.gov

Ian Chesterman, Chief of Party Tel: 0732 761 764 Email: ichesterman@fintrac.com Dr. Julius Kilungo, USAID Email: Jkilungo@usaid.gov

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0707 918 665 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com

The International Small Group and Tree Planting Program Ben Henneke, Clean Air Action Corporation Phone: 0724 253 320 Email: benhenneke@cleanairaction.com Enock Kanyanya, USAID Phone: +254 20 862 2341 Email: ekanyanya@usaid.gov

Benson Kimithi Tel: 020 862 2243 Email: bkimithi@usaid.gov

MERU COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov


Meru county e