Issuu on Google+

MARSABIT COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Eldoret to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution mandating sweeping changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans. POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, well-being and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of Kenya 2

at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes crosscutting work to strengthen health

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.


AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS The U.S. President’s Global Hunger and Food Security Initiative, known as Feed the Future, can help counties increase rural incomes, enhance food security, and improve nutritional status of rural families. Activities focus on increasing the competitiveness of key values chains, including wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking smallholder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan. NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT Marsabit’s natural resources are some of the country’s most valuable assets, with the rural population overwhelmingly dependent on them for their livelihoods. USAID brings together government, communities and the private sector to improve natural resource management to support more sustained use, contributing to economic growth and food security. This includes improving community management of conservation landscapes and ecosystems, reinforced by improved environmental services payment systems, and the pursuit of development efforts that rely on clean energy. EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID supports programs that provide youth with leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. USAID supports innovative private sector-led scholarship and mentorship programs for orphans and vulnerable children that empower the next generation. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, education, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations.

In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Marsabit County. Others may work out of Nairobi or Marsabit, but are able to offer technical assistance in Marsabit County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak: Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853

Capacity building for county preparedness

John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov 020 862 2105

Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation

Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov 020 862 2482

Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement

Monica Azimi, USAID mazimi@usaid.gov 020 862 2005

Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment

Betty Mugo Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394

Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level

Maria Francisco MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360

Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS

Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov 020 862 2258

Improving maternal health and child health services

Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov 020 862 2234

Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria

Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov 020 862 2292

Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance

Winifred Adhiambo wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016

Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and vulnerable children

Lucy Kithome lkithome@usaid.gov 020 862 2249

Increasing access to education for marginalized children

T. Wambui Gathenya tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268

Improving reading outcomes in the early grades

Chris Pagen Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755

Feed the Future

Millie Gadbois mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2000

Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives

Benson Kimithi bkimithi@usaid.gov 020 862 2243

Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets

Harrigan Mukhongo Hmukhongo@usaid.gov 020 862 2245

Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working relations with Kenya Wildlife Service

Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov 0714 606 526

Resilience and disaster management

Isaac Thendiu Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

MARSABIT COUNTY

3


MARSABIT COUNTY

USAID has supported Marsabit communities to place 833,933 hectares of land under community conservation management and helped communities generate $116,265 from community conservancies and nature-based enterprises to improve livelihoods

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT USAID’s Resilience and Economic Growth in Arid Lands Program for Accelerated Growth has conducted a value chain study aimed at understanding the existing value chain actors in the county. Thirteen active livestock animal markets were identified: Merille, Illaut, Korr, Sololo, Moyale, Kalacha, Turbi, North Horr, Marsabit, Kurungu, Maikona, Hula Hula and Dhilib. The program will work with the 138 traders who are members of trader groups, as well as with 119 community based animal health workers identified in Marsabit County during the study

Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

4


In Marsabit County, 88 health workers received training to improve quality of care and 19 health workers received training on leadership, management and governance with support from USAID

USAID supports 45 Marsabit youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly Scholarship Program

In Marsabit County, the U.S. Government supports 734 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing

In Marsabit, 10,783 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Marsabit

USAID supports 7,895 Marsabit children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS

35% more young people are attending secondary school in the county thanks to scholarships provided by community conservancies

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government

5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN MARSABIT COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM APHIAplus Imarisha (Northern Arid Lands) Dr. Kennedy Manyonyi, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 727625 Email: kennedy.manyonyi@amref.org Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infections through Support and Education Project Nicole Fulton, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 803 508 Email: nicole.fulton@m2m.org Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2380 Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Leadership, Management, and Sustainability Karen Caldwell, Chief of Party Tel: 0703503359 Email: kcaldwell@msh.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party Tel: 0713 817 938 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Nutrition & HIV Program Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

Health Commodities and Services Management Dr. John Chimumbwa, Chief of Party Tel: 020 271 4839 Email: jchimumbwa@msh.org

Kenya Pharma Steve Hawkins, Chief of Party Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

Maternal and Child Health Integrated Program Dr Muthoni Kariuki, Chief of Party Tel: 0731045155 Email: mkariuki@mchip.or.ke Lilian Mutea, USAID Tel: 020 862 2433 Email: lmutea@usaid.gov

Partnership for an HIV-Free Generation Rosemarie Muganda-Onyando, Chief of Party Tel: 020 387 7177 Email: RMuganda@path.org Rene Berger, USAID Tel: 020 862 2258 Email: Rberger@usaid.gov

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM Peace Initiative Kenya Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Uraia Civic Education Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2231 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov 6

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


Kenya Civil Society Strengthening Program Kassie Mcilvaine, Chief of Party Tel: 0721 392 222 Email: kmcilvaine@pactworld.org Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai Tel: 0711 026 000 Email: ivy.mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 168 480 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM Resilience and Economic Growth in Arid Lands - Improving Resilience Robert Groelsema, Chief of Party African Development Solutions (Adeso) Tel: 0729 473908 Email: rgroelsema@adesoafrica.org Amber Lily Kenny, USAID Tel: 0708 284 227 Email: akenny@usaid.gov

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0707 918 665 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com Gauhar Serikbayeva, USAID Tel: 020 862 2432 Email: gserikbayeva@usaid.gov

Kenya Arid Lands Disaster Risk Reduction WASH Program Doris Kaberia, Chief of Party Tel: 020 272 6047 Email: doriskaberia@fh.org Martin Mulongo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: mmulongo@usaid.gov

NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM Kenya Wildlife Conservation Project Munira Bashir, Assistant Director Tel: 0722 461 412 Email: munira@kws.go.ke Beatrice Wamalwa, USAID Tel: 020 862 2250 Email: bwamalwa@usaid.gov

Northern Rangeland Trust Support Mike Harrison, Chief Executive Officer Lewa Conservancy Tel: 0724 614 046 Email: mike.harrison@nrt-kenya.org Beatrice Wamalwa, USAID Tel: 0721 371357 Email: bwamalwa@usaid.gov

MARSABIT COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov


Marsabit county e