Page 1

HOMA BAY COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Eldoret to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution mandating sweeping changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans. POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, wellbeing and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of Kenya at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes cross-cutting work to strengthen health care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.

2

Nancy Aboke believes breastfeeding is important for her baby’s health and immunity

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS USAID’s Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises program is interested in improving wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan. EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID’s Yes Youth Can program has empowered close to 1,000,000 Kenyan youth to lead their own development, build their communities, expand their economic opportunities, and become responsible members of society. USAID supports programs that provide youth with access to financial services, scholarships and leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations. In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Homa Bay County. Others may work out of Nairobi or Kisumu, but are able to offer technical assistance in Homa Bay County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak: Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853

Capacity building for county preparedness

John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov 020 862 2105

Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation

Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov 020 862 2482

Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement

Monica Azimi, USAID mazimi@usaid.gov 020 862 2005

Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment

Betty Mugo Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394

Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level

Maria Francisco MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360

Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS

Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov 020 862 2258

Improving maternal health and child health services

Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov 020 862 2234

Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria

Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov 020 862 2292

Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance

Winifred Adhiambo wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016

Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and vulnerable children

Lucy Kithome lkithome@usaid.gov 020 862 2249

Increasing access to education for marginalized children

T. Wambui Gathenya tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268

Improving reading outcomes in the early grades

Chris Pagen Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755

Feed the Future

Millie Gadbois mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2000

Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives

Benson Kimithi bkimithi@usaid.gov 020 862 2243

Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets

Harrigan Mukhongo Hmukhongo@usaid.gov 020 862 2245

Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working relations with Kenya Wildlife Service

Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov 0714 606 526

Resilience and disaster management

Isaac Thendiu Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

HOMA BAY COUNTY

3


HOMA BAY COUNTY USAID supports 86 Homa Bay youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly scholarship program

USAID helped 20,891 Homa Bay youth mobilize into 1094 youth bunges to engage youth in civic, political and economic life

USAID partners with KEMSA, the Kenya Medical Supplies Agency which services 12 Hospitals, 35 Clinics, and 25 Dispensaries in Homa Bay Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

4


PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT USAID supports 21,584 Homa Bay children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS

USAID works with 5,169 small holder farmers in Homa Bay

In Homa Bay County, the U.S. Government supports 58,650 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing In Homa Bay, 2,630 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Homa Bay

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government

5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN HOMA BAY COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM APHIAplus Western Nyanza/Western Dr. Ambrose Misore, Chief Of Party Tel: 0722 810 411 Email: amisore@path.org Dr. Maurice Maina, USAID Tel: 020 862 2325 Email: mmaina@usaid.gov

Nutrition & HIV Program Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party IntraHealth International Tel: +254 374 6845/53 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org Peter Waithaka, AOR USAID/Kenya Office of Population and Health Tel: +254 20 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infection through Support and Education Milker Simba, M2M Tel: 0722 528 736 Email: milker@m2m.org Isabella Yonga, USAID Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Health Commodities and Services Management Mary Wangai, Chief of Party Tel: 020 2714839/2715191 Email: mwangai@msh-kenya.org Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM Uraia Civic Education Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Peace Initiative Kenya Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke

Kenya Indoor Residual Spraying II

Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Dr. Josephat Shililu Chief of Party IRS Kenya Email: jshililu@nb.rti.org

Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare

Kaendi Munguti, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: kmunguti@usaid.gov

Sylvester Kimaiyo, Moi University School of Medicine Tel: 0722 284 916 Email: skimaiyo@yahoo.com

Kenya Pharma

James Batuka, USAID Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

Steve Hawkins, Project Director Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 0713601381 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

6

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM Yes Youth Can – Nyanza Joan Wangusi, Communications Officer Yes Youth Can Nyanza Email: Joan_Wangusi@wvi.org Rosemary Wanjala USAID/Kenya Office of Education and Youth Tel: 020 020 862 2407 Email: rwanjala@usaid.gov

Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai, Equity Group Foundation Tel: 0202 262 000 Email: Ivy.Mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, KCDF Tel: 0733 886 561 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM Kenya Feed the Future Innovation Engine Program

Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Program Ian Chesterman, Chief of Party Tel: 0732 761 764 Email : ichesterman@fintrac.com Julius Kilungo, USAID Email: Jkilungo@usaid.gov

Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises Dr. Steve New, FINTRAC Tel: 071 685 6800 Email: snew@fintrac.com Harrigan Mukhongo Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0202 149 879 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com Gauhar Serikbayeva, USAID Email: gserikbayeva@usaid.gov

Asset Based Financing for Smallholder Farmers Ravi Nayak, Grants Administrator Tel: 0708-259-248 Email: ravi.nayak@oneacrefund.org Harrigan Mukhongo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Milton Lore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722517 149 Email: milton.lore@idd.landolakes.com Makeda Tsegaye, USAID Tel: 020 862 2224 Email: mtsegaye@usaid.gov

HOMA BAY COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov

Homa bay county  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you