Issuu on Google+

ELGEYO MARAKWET COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Eldoret to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution mandating sweeping changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans. POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, wellbeing and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of Kenya at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes cross-cutting work to strengthen health care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.

2

Berem Risper is the County Bunge Forum president from Elgeyo Marakwet. She is 27-years-old and a lecturer with a PhD in economics. Berem is representative of the talent and leadership that the bunge movement has attracted. “We are the majority,” she insists. “I learned that we can mobilize a mass of youth and that we can solve our own problems. We have unique solutions to our unique problems.”

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS The U.S. President’s Global Hunger and Food Security Initiative, known as Feed the Future, can help counties increase rural incomes, enhance food security, and improve nutritional status of rural families. Activities focus on increasing the competitiveness of key values chains, including wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking smallholder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations. In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Elgeyo Marakwet County. Others may work out of Nairobi or Elgeyo Marakwet, but are able to offer technical assistance in Elgeyo Marakwet County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak:

Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission Capacity building for county preparedness Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS

EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID’s Yes Youth Can program has empowered close to 1,000,000 Kenyan youth to lead their own development, build their communities, expand their economic opportunities, and become responsible members of society. USAID supports programs that provide youth with access to financial services, scholarships and leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, education, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

Improving maternal health and child health services Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and vulnerable children Increasing access to education for marginalized children Improving reading outcomes in the early grades Feed the Future Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working relations with Kenya Wildlife Service Resilience and disaster management

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853 John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov 020 862 2105 Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov 020 862 2482 Monica Azimi, USAID mazimi@usaid.gov 020-862-2005 Betty Mugo Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394 Maria Francisco MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360 Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov 020 862 2258 Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov 020 862 2234 Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov 020 862 2292 Winifred Adhiambo wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016 Lucy Kithome lkithome@usaid.gov 020 862 2249 T. Wambui Gathenya tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268 Chris Pagen Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755 Millie Gadbois mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2023 Benson Kimithi bkimithi@usaid.gov 020 862 2243 Harrigan Mukhongo Hmukhongo@usaid.gov 020 862 2245 Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov 0714 606 526 Isaac Thendiu Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

ELGEYO MARAKWET COUNTY

3


ELGEYO MARAKWET COUNTY

USAID supports 1,526 Elgeyo Marakwet children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS USAID helped 10,603 Elgeyo Marakwet youth age 18 – 35 organize themselves into 692 youth bunges as part of the Yes Youth Can program

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

The Elgeyo Marakwet County Youth Bunge Forum has launched a savings and credit association (SACCO) with support from the Ministry of Cooperatives. To date, 110 youth are registered members of the SACCO

In Elgeyo Marakwet, the U.S. Government supports 1,200 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing

In Elgeyo Marakwet, USAID’s partner, URAIA Trust, works through Africa Rural Link to deliver civic education, including information on the Constitution and what it means for women, youth, and minority populations

USAID supports 108 Elgeyo Marakwet youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly Scholarship Program

Kenya Pharma Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare (AMPATH) Nutrition and HIV Program Teacher Education & Professional Development Program Kenya Political Processes Strengthening Program Airstrip Major Town County Boundaries Main Highway Major Road Division Boundary Park

4

Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

In Elgeyo Marakwet, 11,600 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Elgeyo Marakwet

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government


5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN ELGEYO MARAKWET COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare Sylvester Kimaiyo, Moi University School of Medicine Tel: 0722 284 916 Email: skimaiyo@yahoo.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

APHIAplus Nuru ya Bonde (Rift Valley)

Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

Health Commodities and Services Management

Ruth Odhiambo, Director Tel: 0710 150765 Email: rodhiambo@aphiarift.org

Dr. John Chimumbwa, Chief of Party Tel: 020 271 4839 Email: jchimumbwa@msh.org

Dr. Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2817 Email: Iyonga@usaid.gov

Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2231 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov

Maternal and Child Health Integrated Program

Kenya Pharma

Dr Muthoni Kariuki, Chief of Party Tel: 0731045155 Email: mkariuki@mchip.or.ke Lilian Mutea, USAID Tel: 020 862 2433 Email: lmutea@usaid.gov

Steve Hawkins, Chief of Party Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infections through Support and Education Project

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM

Nicole Fulton, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 803 508 Email: nicole.fulton@m2m.org

Peace Initiative Kenya

Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2380 Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Leadership, Management, and Sustainability Karen Caldwell, Chief of Party Tel: 0703503359 Email: kcaldwell@msh.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party Tel: 0713 817 938 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

6

Nutrition & HIV Program

Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Uraia Civic Education Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Kenya Civil Society Strengthening Program Kassie Mcilvaine, Chief of Party Tel: 0721 392 222 Email: kmcilvaine@pactworld.org Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 020-862-2005 Email: mazimi@usaid.gov

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises

Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke

Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0707 918 665 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com

Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Benson Kimithi Tel: 020 862 2243 Email: bkimithi@usaid.gov

EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM Yes Youth Can Rift Valley Grace Karanja, Chief of Party Tel: 0731 88 00 40 Email: gkaranja@ke.mercycorps.org Pamela Wesonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2486 Email: pwesonga@usaid.gov

Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai Tel: 0711 026 000 Email: ivy.mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 168 480 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke

Kenya Feed the Future Innovation Engine Program Milton Lore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 517 149 Email: milton.lore@idd.landolakes.com Makeda Tsegaye, USAID Tel: 020 862 2224 Email: mtsegaye@usaid.gov

NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM Kenya Wildlife Conservation Project Munira Bashir, Assistant Director Tel: 0722 461 412 Email: munira@kws.go.ke Beatrice Wamalwa Tel: 020 862 2250 Email: bwamalwa@usaid.gov

Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises Dr. Steve New, FINTRAC Tel: 071 685 6800 Email: snew@fintrac.com Harrigan Mukhongo Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Program Ian Chesterman, Chief of Party Tel: 0732 761 764 Email : ichesterman@fintrac.com Dr. Julius Kilungo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2215 Email: Jkilungo@usaid.gov

ELGEYO MARAKWET COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov


Elgeyo marakwet county e