Page 1

BUNGOMA COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Eldoret to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution

2

mandating sweeping changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans.

POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, well-being and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of Kenya at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/ AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes crosscutting work to strengthen health care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS The U.S. President’s Global Hunger and Food Security Initiative, known as Feed the Future, can help counties increase rural incomes, enhance food security, and improve nutritional status of rural families. Activities focus on increasing the competitiveness of key values chains, including wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking smallholder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan. EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID’s program has empowered close to 1,000,000 Kenyan youth to lead their own development, build their communities, expand their economic opportunities, and become responsible members of society. USAID supports programs that provide youth with access to financial services, leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. USAID supports innovative private sector-led scholarship and mentorship programs for orphans and vulnerable children that empower the next generation. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, education, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations. In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Bungoma County. Others may work out of Nairobi, but are able to offer technical assistance in Bungoma County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak:

Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853 John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov Capacity building for county preparedness 020 862 2105 Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation 020 862 2482 Monica Azimi, USAID Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement mazimi@usaid.gov 020-862-2005 Betty Mugo Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394 Maria Francisco Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360 Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS 020 862 2258 Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov Improving maternal health and child health services 020 862 2234 Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria 020 862 2292 Winifred Adhiambo Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016 Lucy Kithome Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and lkithome@usaid.gov vulnerable children 020 862 2249 T. Wambui Gathenya Increasing access to education for marginalized children tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268 Chris Pagen Improving reading outcomes in the early grades Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755 Millie Gadbois Feed the Future mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2023 Benson Kimithi Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating bkimithi@usaid.gov investment with county government incentives 020 862 2243 Harrigan Mukhongo Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and Hmukhongo@usaid.gov linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets 020 862 2245 Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov relations with Kenya Wildlife Service 0714 606 526 Isaac Thendiu Resilience and disaster management Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

BUNGOMA COUNTY

3


BUNGOMA COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

In Bungoma, 43,624 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Bungoma The Bungoma County Youth Bunge Forum has launched a savings and credit association (SACCO) with support from the Ministry of Cooperatives. To date, 502 youth are registered members of the SACCO and together they have accumulated savings of more than Kshs 400,000

USAID supports 20,434 Bungoma children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS

USAID is working with more than 28,750 small holder farmers in Bungoma to increase their incomes through improved agricultural practices or by growing trees

USAID supports 40 Bungoma youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly Scholarship Program

4

Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

3.

In Bungoma County, the U.S. Government supports 15,633 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government


5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN BUNGOMA COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM APHIAplus Western and Nyanza Dr. Ambrose Misore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 810 411 Email: amisore@path.org Dr. Maurice Maina, USAID Tel: 020 862 2535 Email: mmaina@usaid.gov

Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare Sylvester Kimaiyo, Moi University School of Medicine Tel: 0722 284 916 Email: skimaiyo@yahoo.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infections through Support and Education Project Nicole Fulton, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 803 508 Email: nicole.fulton@m2m.org Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2380 Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Leadership, Management, and Sustainability Karen Caldwell, Chief of Party Tel: 0703503359 Email: kcaldwell@msh.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party Tel: 0713 817 938 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Nutrition & HIV Program Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com

Health Commodities and Services Management Dr. John Chimumbwa, Chief of Party Tel: 020 271 4839 Email: jchimumbwa@msh.org Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2231 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov

Kenya Pharma Steve Hawkins, Chief of Party Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

Partnership for an HIV-Free Generation Rosemarie Muganda-Onyando, Chief of Party Tel: 020 387 7177 Email: RMuganda@path.org Rene Berger, USAID Tel: 020 862 2258 Email: Rberger@usaid.gov

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM Peace Initiative Kenya Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Uraia Civic Education Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Kenya Political Processes Strengthening Program John Tomaszewski, Chief of Party Tel: 0727 588 050 Email: jtomaszewski@iri.org Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov 6

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke

Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Program Ian Chesterman, Chief of Party Tel: 0732 761 764 Email : ichesterman@fintrac.com

Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

Dr. Julius Kilungo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2215 Email: Jkilungo@usaid.gov

Kenya Civil Society Strengthening Program

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises

Kassie Mcilvaine, Chief of Party Tel: 0721 392 222 Email: kmcilvaine@pactworld.org Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 020 862 2005 Email: mazimi@usaid.gov

Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0707 918 665 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com Gauhar Serikbayeva, USAID Tel: 020 862 2432 Email: gserikbayeva@usaid.gov

EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM

Kenya Feed the Future Innovation Engine Program

Yes Youth Can – Western

Milton Lore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 517 149 Email: milton.lore@idd.landolakes.com

Martha Momanyi, Project Director Tel: 0722 408 146 Email: mmomanyi@field.winrock.org Rosemary Wanjala, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: rwanjala@usaid.gov

Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai Tel: 0711 026 000 Email: ivy.mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 168 480 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke

Makeda Tsegaye, USAID Tel: 020 862 2224 Email: mtsegaye@usaid.gov

Asset Based Financing for Smallholder Farmers Ravi Nayak, Grants Administrator Tel: 0708-259-248 Email: ravi.nayak@oneacrefund.org Harrigan Mukhongo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM Kenya Wildlife Conservation Project

Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Munira Bashir, Assistant Director Tel: 0722 461 412 Email: munira@kws.go.ke

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM

Beatrice Wamalwa Tel: 020 862 2250 Email: bwamalwa@usaid.gov

Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises Dr. Steve New, FINTRAC Tel: 071 685 6800 Email: snew@fintrac.com Harrigan Mukhongo Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

The International Small Group and Tree Planting Program Ben Henneke, Clean Air Action Corporation Phone: 0724 253 320 Email: benhenneke@cleanairaction.com Enock Kanyanya, USAID Phone: 020 862 2341 Email: ekanyanya@usaid.gov

BUNGOMA COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov

Bungoma county e  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you