Page 12

Teen Events, continued STEAM Camp

COV: Mon. & Wed., June 11, 13, 18, 20, 25 & 27, 3-4 pm Focusing on Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math the STEAM Camp is perfect for tweens and teens looking for a challenging experience. Participants will question and explore their world through a variety of scientific and technological lenses. 6/11: Interactive Anatomy 6/13:  Gamers Unite! Video game Design 6/18:  Art and Digital Designs 6/20:  Engineering Bridges and Boats 6/25:  Coders Attack! 6/27:  Geology Rocks Finished projects will be on exhibit at the STEAMers Exhibition in the Children’s Department during the month of July.

YogiTeens

COV: Tues., Jun. 12, Fri., Jul. 6, Mon., Jul. 16 & 23, 2-3 pm Learn yoga.  

Library Teen Cafe

DURR: Tues., Jun. 12, Jul. 10 & Aug. 7, 6-8 pm Coffee, snacks and conversations.

Teen Cuisine

COV: Thurs., Jun. 14 & Jul. 19, 1-3 pm Learn how to make tasty recipes from scratch!

Artful Afternoons

Ages 10-14 ERL: Thurs., Jun. 14 & 28, Jul. 12 & 26, 2-3 pm 6/14: DIY Sharpie Mugs 6/28: Mosaics 7/12: Canvas Art* 7/26: Crafts and a Movie (2-4 pm)

Dean Regas - Sidewalk Astronomy

COV: Tues., Jun. 19, 1-2 pm See Adults. 12 Summer 2018

Book Blathers*

COV: Wed., Jun. 20 & Jul. 18, 11:30 am-12:30 pm 6/20: “I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson 7/18: “Serpent King” by Jeff Zentner

Game Camp

DURR: Thurs., Jun. 21 & Jul. 26, Noon-5 pm Come play games and hang out all afternoon at the library!  

Matinée + Café

COV: Thurs., Jun. 21 & Sat., Jul. 14, 1-3 pm Hang out in the TeenSpace, enjoy a movie and a coffee.

Hooks & Needles

COV: Thurs., Jun. 21, Jul. 19 & Aug. 16, 2-4 pm See Adults.  

Yoga Basics

ERL: Mon., Jun. 25, Jul. 23 & Aug. 27, 6-7 pm

AniManga Club

COV: Tues., Jun. 26, Jul. 31 & Aug. 28, 6-8 pm

Teen Super Smash Bros. Tournament 1v1*

ERL: Wed., Jun. 27, 5:30-7:30 pm A Super Smash Bros. Tournament 1v1 for ages 11-18 for you to grow your skill!

Twenhofel Summer Meet-Up

OFF SITE: Thurs., Jun. 28 & Jul. 12, Noon-3 pm Come play games and hang out all afternoon over the summer at Twenhofel Middle School! We’ll have video and board games, outdoor activities (like dodgeball or chalk drawing), prizes and pizza. Open to all incoming 6th gradersoutgoing 8th graders at Kenton County Schools.

Gaming

COV: Fri., Jun. 29, Jul. 27, 1-4 pm Refreshments provided.

Laser Tag at the Library!* ERL: Sat., Jun. 30, 6-8 pm COV: Fri., Jul. 20, 7-9 pm

ACT Math Review

ERL: Mon., Jul. 9, 6-7 pm Prepare for the ACT with a specialized review of the Math section with professional tutoring service, NKY Tutoring.

Teen Stage Combat Class*

ERL: Wed., Jul. 18, 5:30-6:30 pm Join the KY Shakespeare Company to learn the basics of stage combat!

MakerCamp

COV: Mon., Jul. 30Fri., Aug. 3, 2-4 pm A community for young makers interested in DIY, making, creating, crafting, hacking, tinkering and learning. Explore a variety of projects each day.  

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Interactive Movie*

ERL: Mon., Jul. 30, 6-8 pm See Adults.

Meet the Illustrator!

DURR: Mon., Jul. 30, 7:30-8:30 pm We are proud to present the artist who created the illustration for our Summer Reading Club - Covington native Becca Stadtlander!    

After Hours at the Library ERL: Sat., Aug. 4, 6-9 pm. Come for pizza, games, a movie, and more! A permission form signed by a parent or legal guardian is required. Ages 10-16 only.

Acting Workshop*

ERL: Mon., Aug. 6, 5:30-7:30 pm Sign up to attend a two-hour acting workshop Ensemble Theater Cincinnati!  

SuperWhoLock Party

ERL: Tues., Aug. 14, 6-7:30 pm Celebrate all things Doctor Who, Supernatural and Sherlock with food and crafts!

Open Crafting/ Makerspace Open House

COV: Sat., Aug. 18, 2-4 pm Join other crafters for an afternoon of shared creativity. See and learn to use our Makerspace tools.     Learn yoga     this summer!

Summer Calendar 2018 Kenton County Public Library  

Plan out your whole summer at the library! Be sure to read and win in our summer reading club.

Summer Calendar 2018 Kenton County Public Library  

Plan out your whole summer at the library! Be sure to read and win in our summer reading club.