Page 1

Katherine High School Principal’s Update

Art

Congratulations to everyone for all their hard work this term. Reports have been completed with many students achieving some excellent results. We are currently updating our website, so please be patient as we improve its functionality and appearance. Hopefully the ‘Dry Season’ arrives so everyone enjoys their break that little bit more. Looking forward to what should be a very exciting Term 2. Anne White Principal

Year 11 Summary

The Year 11’s have been very busy with the transition into all Stage 1 and 2 classes. It has been a successful term with many participating in NTOEC courses, VET training courses and Stage 2 classes. All students have been adapting to the increased workloads and focusing on handing in assessment items on time. Keep up the good work Year 11. Daisie Thomas Year 11 Coordinator

Year 12 Summary

It has been a great first term with many events and opportunities. In Week 2 students were able to participate in an induction day which covered topics such as school policies, SACE policies, upcoming events, and study skills. The staff also hosted a morning tea at the start of the term, where Year 12 students and staff could mingle in a more casual setting. Most of the Year 12’s actively participated and supported the swimming carnival, which was good to see. Classes are now in full swing and students should use the upcoming break to catch up on any study and assignments that they have, but to also get some well deserved rest. Cara Fulwood Year 12 Coordinator

Swimming Carnival

March 19 Our very successful annual school swimming carnival was held at the town pool, with over 320 students participating in the many and varied activities offered. It was a very hot day and student behaviour was outstanding. Well done to all staff and students who participated on the day. Congratulations to the Red House, who won the carnival for the first time in 6 years, beating Blue House in second, followed by Green and then Yellow House. Further congratulations to the following Age Champions who received their medallions at last week’s assembly. Year 7: James Bell and Brittany Biles Year 8: Sam Whiting and Emily Baylis Year 9: Nick Elliott and Hailey Dack Year 10: Tasha Dack Year 11: Bradley Lewis and Sky Instone Year 12: Joseph Meldrum, Harrison Dawes and Jessie Robins. Freya Mason PE Coordinator

KHS has Talent

Congratulations to Jianynne Anastacio, Brittany Biles and Jessie Robins on making it through to the Mission Australia Urban Quest semi finals. These students will now sing to impress Mark ‘touch down’ Holden, Deni Hines and Paul Costa at Casuarina Square on Friday April 13 for their shot at making the Finals. We encourage everyone to head to Casuarina and support the girls. The Semi Final kicks off at 4pm. You can also follow the girls progress on Mission Australia’s Facebook page.

TERM 1, WEEK 9-10 April 5, 2012

Key Dates

School Holidays • Students resume Monday April 16 Term 2 Week 1 • National Youth Week • Springvale Year 7 Camp Girls Thurs/Friday April 19-20 Week 2 • Springvale Year 7 Camp Boys Mon/Tuesday April 23-24 • ANZAC Day Assembly KHS Gym Tuesday April 24 All Welcome • ANZAC Day Public Holiday Wednesday April 25 School Closed • Whole School Assembly KHS Gym Thursday April 26 All Welcome Week 3 • Parent Teacher Night Wednesday May 2 KHS Gym Week 4 • Whole School Assembly KHS Gym Thursday May 10 All Welcome • May Day Public Holiday Monday May 7 School Closed

Knowledge, Honour, Success


School Contact Details • Anne White (Principal) (08) 8973 8200 anne.white@ntschools.net

Performing Arts

Tech Studies

• Jodie Locke (KHS Council Chairperson) khs.council@ntschools.net

Enrichment Update

Tech Studies Year 9 Design and Tech students have been constructing a rather challenging metal project. The Junior Hacksaw Project involves precise marking out, drilling, thread cutting, heat bending and core metal lathe operations. Students have made two other projects to learn and practice skills which are applied to this final task. Some students have excelled in the practical component of this course. Next term the class will move next door and commence the woodwork program. Performing Arts Congratulations to all the Yr 7, 8 and 9 Performing Arts classes on choreographing and performing their first dance. Students put in a lot of effort to work together with their group members and create dances that were in time and creative!

Home Ec

Art Creative Arts and Visual Art students have been getting into their individual practical works. These works include print making, tie-dyeing, mosaic, clay and painting. These are works in projects, which will keep them busy for the next few weeks. Home Ec The Year 7’s have excitedly completed a practical test with excellent results. Many of the students put a lot of thought and effort into the presentation of their pikelets. Year 8s although noisy are very capable and all of them seem to be enjoying their cooking practicals. Year 12s have had a slow start to the year however, the majority of them are working hard to improve their practical skills.

Harmony Day

March 23 Harmony Day celebrations were a great success. Teachers and students had fun participating in the sports and poster competition. The international BBQ of Italian sausage, kangaroo tail stew, damper and kebabs was enjoyed by all. The highlight of the day was the MOB Dance performed by the teachers as the assembly and the great Bollywood performance. Well done to all who participated and contributed to the day’s activities.

Certificate I & II Rural Operations

Week 9 and 10, Term 2 Agricultural and Rural Operations Certificates will be held at the Charles Darwin Rural campus in weeks 9 and 10 of Term 2 (11th June – 22nd June). Certificate 1 is available for Year 9 students and Certificate II is for Year 10 students. These Certificates enable the students to gain points towards their NTCET. The courses are offered in a simulated workplace and incorporate hands on practical activities, and are assessed through a mixture of practical observations, work place feedback and assignments. Any interested students please see Miss Fotakis (VET Coordinator) at the beginning of Term 2 to obtain an “Expression of Interest to Undertake” to ensure a place in the course of your choice.

Harmony Week

KHS Defence Transition Mentor

DTM

The Defense Transition Mentor for Katherine High School is Mr Jon Buckley. Any concerns regarding your child please contact Jon on 8973 8200. More information to follow in the next newsletter.

Star Employee

Star Employee

Kylie Murphy For recognition of all your hard work behind coordinating the new reporting system. Thank you Ms Murphy.

www.katherinehigh.net.au


Katherine High School Community Notices Junior Bowls

Wednesday 5:13 - 6:30pm Come and have some fun at Junior bowls 8-18 yr olds At Katherine Country Club/bowls club Wednesday 5.15 - 6 .30pm $2.00 per game Bring a hat, water and sunscreen For further information phone Bronwyn Chandler on 0439823369

School Busses

Feedback can be lodged via any of the following methods: • Online Feedback Form: www.nt.gov.au/transport/feedback • Email:feedback.dlp@nt.gov.au • Phone: (08) 8924 7096 • Fax: (08) 8924 7841 • Post: GPO Box 2520, Darwin NT, 0801 For more contact information please visit the Public Transport Contact Us page: http://www. nt.gov.au/transport/public/contacts/index.shtml When providing feedback about bus services please note the following information assists in actioning your feedback. • Bus Route number • Event date and time

KNA

Thursday 19th April – 2012 Season Starts – Round Robin first round Game Times NetSetGo! and Netta 3.30 – 4.15pm U12s & U15s 4.30 & 5.20pm Ladies & Mixed times 6.25, 7.30 & 8.45. For more information call Sharon Jennings 0458 446 273 or Zoe Walker 0448912733

Learn About Yourself

As Marcel Proust, a late 19th century novelist, wrote: “the real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes”. Host an international high school student in July 2012 through Southern Cross Cultural Exchange and prepare to be amazed at the way this unique opportunity helps your family to become closer, to understand themselves better and to see the world in a new light. Carefully selected students will arrive in July for one or two semesters from France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Finland and Sweden. They will attend a local secondary school, are fully insured and have their own spending money. Call S.C.C.E now on 1800 500 501, email scceaust@scce. com.au or visit our website (www.scce.com.au) to be part of this rewarding experience.

Jam’n 4 Youth

Jam’n 4 Youth is a Youth Week Activity, on Friday 20th April at the tick market with security & it is an AOD free event for all ages. Jam’n 4 Youth will commence at 6.30pm with local bands playing followed by a youth disco, which will incorporate dance comps & open mic/karaoke sessions. We will also have sausage sizzle and drinks available for sale on the evening and glow merchandise.

Rivers Cluster Updates

Netball Have your represented your school, region or club in Netball? Are you keen to further develop skills and understanding of the Game? Would you like the opportunity to represent Northern Territory? Then nominate now, before April 5th to attend the 16 and Under Netball Development/Selection Camp. Age of participation is 13 to 16 as at 31/12/2012. Pick up nomination forms from your school sports contact, complete and return to your school office. If you require further information please contact Daryl or Kylie on 8971 2643 or email rivers.ssnt@ntschools.net.

Billet Accommodation 12 and Under Football Girls Championship Katherine 13th to 15th June 2012 Billet Accommodation Required!!! School Sport NT Rivers cluster is seeking the support of families in Katherine who would be able and generous enough to host students, as family members during the School Sport NT 12 and Under Girls Football Championship event. Host families will be expected to provide suitable sleeping arrangements, a nutritious breakfast and the evening meal. Lunches will be provided at the games each day, but you may need to assist with snacks.. This is generally a most rewarding experience and leads to lasting friendships. If you are able to assist contact the School Sport NT Rivers Cluster office for more information. Kylie Biddle Tel: (08) 89712643 Mb: 0408727757 E: rivers.ssnt@ntschools.net

Proudly Supported by Katherine Regional Community Bank ® Branch


KATHERINE HIGH SCHOOL STAFF EMAIL Executives White Baunach Sarev Watson Harvey de Mendez Murphy Senior Teachers Fotakis Green Joseph M么nfries Purins Purins Whitty Year Coordinators Margetts Newsome Elliott Cremona Thomas Fulwood Teaching Staff Abbott Arbon Barnes Barrington Brown Brown Charleston Dannatt Dean Doyle Earle Edge Franklin Gleeson Golding Hohn Holland Kahl Lawrence Louwrens Mannion Mason McGillivray Mlilo Neyland Pannifex Sadler Stanley Tipene Weatherhead Welch Wolkenberg

Anne Nathan John Racheal Jane Kylie

anne.white@ntschools.net nathan.baunach@ntachools.net john.sarev@ntschools.net racheal.watson@ntschools.net jane.harveydemendez@ntschools.net kylie.murphy@ntschools.net

Principal SY Assistant Principal MY Assistant Principal SR Assistant Principal SP Teacher - Literacy SP Teacher - Numeracy

Sheryl John Roy Dominie David Haydn

sheryl.fotakis@ntschools.net john.green@ntschools.net roy.joseph@ntschools.net dominie.mofriespuri@ntschools.net david.purins@ntschools.net haydn.whitty@ntschools.net

Administration Senior Teacher Enrichment Faculty Senior Science Faculty Senior English Faculty Senior Maths Facutly Senior SoSE Faculty Senior

Stephen Peta Caroline Rodney Daisie Cara

stephen.margetts@ntschools.net peta.newsome@ntschools.net caroline.elliott@ntschools.net rodney.cremona@ntschools.net daisie.thomas@ntschools.net cara.fulwood@ntschools.net

Year 7 Coordinator Year 8 Coordinator Year 9 Coordinator Year 10 Coordinator Year 11 Coordinator Year 12 Coordinator

Nick Helen Julie Sue Dennis Rae Damien Sarah Josh Louise Sarah Amanda Pam Tom Kathleen Joel Frank Pam Rosie Kimberley Vicki Freya Wayne Justin Claire Sally Rhonda Alicia Phillip John Deane Gaby

nick.abbott@ntschools.net helen.arbon@ntschools.net julie.barnes@ntschools.net sue.barrington@ntschools.net dennis.brown@ntschools.net rae.brown@ntschools.net damien.charleston@ntschools.net sarah.dannatt@ntschools.net joshua.dean@ntschools.net louise.doyle@ntschools.net sarah.earle@ntschools.net amanda.edge@ntschools.net pam.franklin@ntschools.net tom.gleeson@ntschools.net katie.golding@ntschools.net joel.hohn@ntschools.net frank.holland@ntschools.net pam.kahl@ntschools.net rosie.lawrence@ntschools.net kimberley.louwrens@ntschools.net vicki.mannion@ntschools.net freya.mason@ntschools.net w.mcgillivray@ntschools.net justin.mlilo@ntschools.net claire.neyland@ntschools.net sally.pannifex@ntschools.net rhonda.sadler@ntschools.net alicia.stanley@ntschools.net phillip.tipene@ntschools.net john.weatherhead@ntschools.net deane.welch@ntschools.net gabrielle.wolkenberg@ntschools.net

SoSE/PE Science Teacher Librarian Science/Maths Relief Home Ec/SSS SoSE/PE SoSE Maths IDL Music Music/Leadership Coordinator Art VET PE English/PE SoSE/Outdoor Ed Maths Science Careers Advisor English Science English PE English Science English Maths School Intensive PE SoSE Relief School Ready SoSE


newsletter  

newsletter

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you