Page 4

staff

update Welcome, Karen Malhiot! After almost a year and a half (and arguably a decade) since we first started thinking about this new staff position, the Ice Age Trail Alliance hired Karen Malhiot as full-time Education and Outreach Manager in November of 2010. This position was made possible in large part by the generosity of the Henry and Margie Reuss family. With over 20 years of experience in the education profession, Karen is excited to be joining the staff of the Ice Age Trail Alliance. She has had a love of nature and Wisconsin since her childhood days sailing Lake Michigan and canoeing Wisconsin’s rivers. Karen has a passion for creating relevant and engaging experiences that allow students to connect to their local community and environment. At her previous position at University Lake School in Hartland, Wisconsin, this meant developing a variety of stewardship projects, including using the school’s forest for a series of multi-disciplinary units. One project had students identifying sugar maples, tapping and collecting sap, making syrup and serving a pancake breakfast to their parents. Karen also worked with the North Lake Management District to develop and implement a program where students and parents performed restoration work and monitored the water quality of the Oconomowoc River upstream from North Lake. Recognizing that the Ice Age Trail is a significant environmental treasure that represents the commitment of the people of Wisconsin to preserving their natural heritage, Karen is working to develop educational and outreach programs that will further connect people to the wonders of the Ice Age Trail. These first months have had her busy learning about the IATA and the amazing work that volunteers and staff perform on daily basis. She is looking for grant opportunities that will help us build on successful educational programs already in place, like Summer Saunters. Karen is also looking to support the many outreach programs as well as establish new ones. Currently she is working with the naturalists at Devil’s Lake State Park to develop an event, the Great Glacial Gathering, that will highlight our glacial past and the beauty of the Ice Age Trail. Welcome, Karen!

ice age trail alliance Board of Directors Executive Committee President Valerie Bailey-Rihn Madison, WI

Treasurer Daniel Geraghty Milwaukee, WI

Secretary David Kinnamon Bayside, WI

Vice president Development Don Erickson Birchwood, WI

Vice president Leadership Development John Shank Milwaukee, WI

vice president personnel & PRESIDENT ELECT John Helling Edina, MN

4

DIRECTORS

board and staff

Jason Dorgan, Madison, WI Ellen Drought, Shorewood, WI Cora Dversdall, Frederic, WI Roy Gromme, Oconomowoc, WI Mary Hilfiker, St. Paul, MN Lorraine Lange, Baraboo, WI David Lonsdorf, Verona, WI Dave Mickelson, Madison, WI Mike Mollerus, Birchwood, WI Bill Welch, Lodi, WI

Directors Emeritus Adam Cahow Dick Cates Robert Cromer Tom Drought Norm Huth Joe Jopek Dave Kinnamon Terry Kohler David Lovejoy David Phillips Robert Rusch John Zillmer

MAMMOTH TALES | Spring 2011 | www.iceagetrail.org

Leadership Memorial Joyce Erdman Warren Knowles Henry Reuss Marion “Barney” Viste J.J. “Doc” Werner Raymond Zillmer

Staff

Executive Director Mike Wollmer mike@iceagetrail.org

Director of Field Operations Tim Malzhan tim@iceagetrail.org

DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT Rebecca Hildebrandt rebecca@iceagetrail.org

DIRECTOR OF LAND CONSERVATION Kevin Thusius kevin@iceagetrail.org

education & outreach manager Karen Malhiot karen@iceagetrail.org

informaton systems coordinator Eric Sherman eric@iceagetrail.org

EAstern Field Representative Brad Crary brad@iceagetrail.org

Western Field Representative Randy Myren randy@iceagetrail.org

GIS Specialist

Tiffany Stram tiffany@iceagetrail.org

administrative assistant Jo Ellarson joanne@iceagetrail.org

publications coordinator Laura Stoesz laura@iceagetrail.org

straight lake project coordinator Pete Englund pete@iceagetrail.org

Ice Age Trail Alliance's Mammoth Tales  

A quarterly publication of the Ice Age Trail Alliance, about the Ice Age National Scenic Trail

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you