Page 3

Ways to Serve this Advent AIDS Angel Tree Each Weekend, November 20 - December 11, Breezeway Stop by and get an angel to provide a Christmas gift to children with HIV-AIDS or who have parents/caregivers that are affected by HIV-AIDS. UMW Holiday Shoppe & Bake Sale Sunday, November 20, 8 am to noon, Parlor Home made gift items, international gift items, and delicious homemade baked goods will be available. All proceeds go to local and foreign UMW mission projects. Alternative Gift Giving Saturday, December 3 - 5:30 - 7:30 pm, Chapel Narthex Sunday, December 4 - 8:00 am - 12:30 pm, Sanctuary Narthex How many times have you thought about what to give a friend or family member that has everything? The Matt. 25 Alternative Gift Giving Program is an easy and convenient way to honor those you love. A complete listing can be found at bumc.net/alternative. The Manger of Graceworks of Williamson County Thursday, December 8 - Thursday, December 15 (BUMC night is December 15) • The Manger is a store-like setting (location yet to be determined) where qualified Williamson Co. families “shop” for Christmas presents. The gifts are donated and shoppers may choose gifts for those in their household for a low cost per person. • There is a need for 15,000 NEW UNWRAPPED gifts for all ages that cost $30 or less. Some suggested items: accessories such as purses, jewelry, and watches, household items, grooming items, NEW clothing such as hats, gloves, robes, pajamas, and thermal underwear, tools and automotive care, and sports items. • Donations may be brought to the POD (look for Manger sign) located BEHIND the Buchanan House, South Parking Lot. Christmas Food Baskets (Youth Area) - $70 per basket Friday, December 16: 7 pm - fill baskets Saturday, December 17: 8 am - deliver baskets Donations for Christmas Baskets may be made in memory of or in honor of others by making a check to BUMC and earmark it “Christmas Baskets.” 100 volunteers are needed to fill the baskets on Friday night and 100+ volunteers are needed to deliver the baskets on Saturday morning. Questions? Contact Temple at 371-1311. Adopt A World Relief Family for Christmas We have 10 refugee families who have recently arrived in America after fleeing from persecution and oppression in refugee camps for many years. BUMC is partnering with World Relief to provide Christmas gifts of basic needs for those arriving with almost nothing. To adopt a family, contact Maya at 324-8211 or mbknighten@bumc.net UNWRAPPED gifts are to be dropped off at the Penske truck in the BUMC parking lot on December 15 (4–8 pm) or in the Missions Office prior to December 15. Be a Santa to a Senior Bethlehem Center needs sponsors to provide a Christmas gift for a homebound senior that is on their Meals on Wheels program. The WISH LISTS compiled by the seniors are now in the BUMC Missions Office. To become a “Santa” come by weekdays, 9 am - 2 pm OR, call Maya at 324-8211 or Juanita at 324-7222. 61st Avenue Last Minute Toy Store December 18 - 21 6018 New York Avenue, Nashville, TN 37209 This “store” is set up in the Fellowship Hall of 61st Ave. UMC and is made available to folks in Davidson County who qualify to receive assistance and have not received any assistance elsewhere. Contact Pastor Paul Slentz, 292-7184.

who to contact Adult Studies/Small Grps Judith Bone, 324-7258 jbone@bumc.net Caring Ministry Kaye Harvey, 373-3663 kharvey@bumc.net

children Infants - 6th Grade

Sunday, November 20 Sunday School 9:45 & 11 am Preschool - 6th Grade Pre-school Worship (formerly Church Time) at all three worship services. Nursery 8am to 12pm for infants - 3 years Center for Children and Families (CCF) has open spaces in the 1-year-old room available now. If you are interested please contact Lori or Katie @ 324-8202. H.I.G.H.W.A.Y. 56 5th & 6th Grades Sunday, November 20 Sunday School Morning Assembly and Praise, 9:45 am. Gym MILEAGE 5 pm, gym Alleluia Choir 6 pm MILEAGE Christmas Party December 11, 5 - 6 pm in the GYM Confirmation 2012 begins January 8th. Confirmation class is for 6th graders. Fee for the class is $90 until December 1st. Register your 6th grader for confirmation online at www.bumc.net. Contact Mary Anne Nelson, mnelson@bumc.net or 324-7241 for more information.

Children’s MInistry Ellen Garrett, 577-7261 egarrett@bumc.net

Single Adult Ministry Shebbie Shields, 324-7240 sshields@bumc.net

To Get Connected Jeff Wilson, 324-8208 jwilson@bumc.net

Mission & Outreach Juanita Hobbs, 324-7222 jhobbs@bumc.net

Student Ministry Travis Garner, 324-7229 tgarner@bumc.net

Worship & Music Shannon Garrett, 577-7267 sgarrett@bumc.net

BEAM - Nov 17 Issue  

BEAM - Nov 17 Issue