Issuu on Google+

Annual review 2011 - 12


...to make learning an enriching and lifelong experience in the communities we serve.

Contents Our Mission 1 Corporate Aims 1 Chair’s Welcome 2 A Word from the Principal 4 A New College 6 The Student Voice 7 Services for Students 9 Engaging with our communities 9 International 10 Sustainability 12 - 15 Feast Food Festival 17 Student success 18 - 21 Graduation 22 Staff Association 23 Financial Statement 24 Performance Indicators 25

Annual Review 2011 -12


Our mission

Our aims

At Jewel & Esk we believe passionately in learning and its advantages throughout all our lives. We are here “to make learning an enriching and lifelong experience in the communities we serve.”

One college, One community... All our staff, students and communities working together towards shared goals.

Values The Jewel & Esk College values run through the heart of our organisation. Our values guide staff and students in all that we do. Our values are our five TICCS: � Teamwork � Integrity �

Confidence � Customer Focus � Success

A college performing to the highest standards... Constantly raising our standards and improving our performance to generate a creative learning environment and a culture of excellence. Making a difference... Ensuring that all we do has a positive impact on individuals, families, wider communities and the economy. An enterprising and innovative college... Embracing new ideas and ways of working to be at the forefront of developments and creativity, and therefore diversify our activities and income. An exemplary college... Being recognised by others as an excellent college that sets a positive example in all that we do.

Annual Review 2011 -12

1


Chair’s welcome... In October, Jewel & Esk College will take its next step forward and become part of the new Edinburgh College. a wide range of personal and professional experience to Board decision making. The strength of this Board comes from its members’ diversity of background and experience. I would like to thank them all for their significant contribution over the year.

The past year has been a time of momentous change at our College and indeed throughout the Further Education sector. This year we have had cause to reflect on our history and the changing times which have created the institution we are part of today. In October, Jewel & Esk College will take its next step forward and become part of the new Edinburgh College. We have built a strong working relationship with colleagues at Edinburgh’s Telford College and Stevenson College Edinburgh, enabling us to move forward with the merger process, while at the same time maintaining our strong performance; a performance which places our College in an excellent position to make this transition successfully. Our Governors come to us from all walks of life, bringing 2

This is my last annual report as Chair, and indeed the last annual report for Jewel & Esk College in its current incarnation. It records an operating surplus, despite the difficult economic conditions. And it shows we met all targets set by the Scottish Funding Council, despite a reduction in the level of financial support. This could not have been achieved without the dedication and hard work of our staff, our students, and our partners. They have been the cornerstone of our success to date, and are the foundations upon which the College’s future success is sure to be built.

Ian Young Chair of the Board of Governors

Board members 2011/12 �

Ian Young, Chair

Moira Frizzell, Vice Chair

Mandy Exley, Principal & Chief Executive

Maurice Farquhar, Support Staff representative

Lupe Gonzalez, Student President

Cathy Lambert

Gerard Lohan, Academic Staff representative

Nick MacDonald

Eleanor McKnight

Veronica Noone

Audrey Shimmons (from June 2012)

Robin Stimpson

Alan Swift

Ron Sylvester (retired Oct 2011)

Rob Whiteman

Annual Review 2011 -12


The number of students moving on to university has more than tripled in ten years, from 87 students in 2000/01 to 266 students in 2010/11.

Annual Review 2011 -12

3


A word from the Principal... 2010/11 was a challenging year for the college, with pressure on further education funding and a rapidly changing outlook for the public sector. Our Student Association is well established, led by a dedicated Student President in a sabbatical role. A strong Student Executive team and over 200 trained class reps have led to excellent levels of student engagement.

The last 2 years have seen major developments and successes for Jewel & Esk College. Despite a rapidly changing economic outlook and pressure on further education funding, we continued to focus on students and to support the communities we serve. Staff & students Our expert and dedicated staff have been a key resource for us. We developed new posts to support new and growing areas of business, including Curriculum Development managers in hospitality, oil & gas and green transport; posts focussing on sustainability, international and events; a Director of Innovation and new Staff Association posts.

4

Staff and students have gained recognition in a range of national awards. The college has also hosted some high profile events such as Feast food festival and EVent, the electric vehicle conference in association with the Scotsman. We have increased our links with businesses, established a student scholarship scheme and developed new community partnerships. Performance We have streamlined our finances and reduced our management costs by almost 60%. A key investment last year was in equipment and estate, including vital ICT for students, and resources for ideas and Knowledge Transfer activity. Moulsdale House at Milton Road has become home to our Enterprise & Entrepreneurship Centre.

Merger Much of the last year has also been spent preparing for merger. We ran a successful Countdown to the New College campaign, which included communications and a series of events for different stakeholder groups, and produced a legacy book of the history of the college since 1855. The management team have worked tirelessly with colleagues to manage the merger process across all areas within a short timeframe. I am proud of what we have achieved as Jewel & Esk College. At this key point in our development, I look forward to working with staff and students across all campuses to establish a successful new college for Edinburgh and the Lothians.

Mandy Exley Principal & Chief Executive

Annual Review 2011 -12


We continued to focus on students and to support the communities we serve.

Annual Review 2011 -12

5


A new college for the Edinburgh city region This year, we have taken the final steps towards the merger process with Edinburgh’s Telford College and Stevenson College Edinburgh to formally become Edinburgh College on 1st October 2012. We have worked together to ensure the new college will be good for the capital, good for the businesses with which we work and good for the communities in which we serve. Our key commitment is to put students first – to improve options for students looking for vocational and educational courses to make it easier than ever to find work or progress to higher education. Edinburgh College will be a multi campus learning environment for the widest range of students across Edinburgh, the Lothians and beyond. One of the largest colleges in Scotland, it will be a £65m turnover organisation employing around 1,500 staff and supporting in excess of 35,000 students. We see enormous opportunities in bringing together three strong and successful colleges to create something bigger and better, clearly focussed on the needs of students and of the economy.

Countdown to the New College Over the final months of Jewel & Esk, we ran a Countdown campaign, focusing on different stakeholder groups. From regular e-updates to a series of events for staff, previous staff, businesses, partners and students, each group has been kept informed of progress. We have acknowledged the successes of Jewel & Esk College in all its incarnations, and looked forward to the new Edinburgh College which we will create together.

6

Annual Review 2011 -12


The Student Voice... This year’s Student Association Executive team has worked extremely hard to represent students across both campuses, and motivate the student voice in local and national campaigns. Student President Lupe Gonzalez led the team in her sabbatical role, playing a full part in Board and Senior Management Team meetings and decision making. The Executive Team was supported this year by a new part time post of Student Liaison Officer. The Student Association Executive team was made up of the following roles: � � � � � � �

Student President Vice President Events officers Equalities officer LGBT officer Women’s officer Fitness officer

The team involved Jewel & Esk students in a number of NUS campaigns, playing a key role in the successful Our Future Our Fight campaign which secured a bursary budget for students at Scottish Colleges.

Annual Review 2011 -12

Jewel & Esk College Scoops NUS Internationalisation Award The Student Association was named the ‘Most Improved Union’ in the UK in the NUS Awards. The National Union of Students (NUS) held the first ever Internationalisation Awards at Birmingham University recently, where 36 Student Unions from across the UK went head to head in 11 award categories.

The award for the ‘Most Improved Union’ recognises an organisation which demonstrates a commitment to improvement at all levels through strategic vision and incorporates an international focus.

Jewel & Esk College was awarded ‘Most Improved Union’ and was runner up in the ‘Internationalised FE Union of the Year’ category.

Lupe Gonzalez is especially proud as Jewel & Esk College was one of only two colleges to win an award amongst many universities. Jewel & Esk was also flying the flag for Scotland, along with Edinburgh University, as the only 2 Scottish institutions to receive an award.

Student President Lupe Gonzalez said: “We are absolutely delighted to receive this award. The Student Association plays a key role in assisting students and engaging them with college life, so it is essential that our international students have the same level of support.”

Dominic Scott, Chief Executive of the UK Council for International Student Affairs, said: “It is wonderful to see that so much hard work is being done to improve the lives of international students and create an internationalised student experience for all.”

7


8

Annual Review 2011 -12


Services for Students We have been working with our partner Edinburgh colleges on the Kafka project, which looks at simplifying funding throughout the student journey. Starting from the time a student thinks about applying to college, lasting through their studies at college and on to the next stage of their life once they leave us, the project has looked at ways of making the process of accessing funding, both internal to the colleges and external, more straightforward for the student. On campus, our streamlined ‘One Stop Shop’ for Student Support Services has been successful in making it simpler and easier for students to access all the different support services we provide.

With the commitment of the Student Association, student engagement has increased over the year. Students are represented on a large number of the college’s management forums, allowing the student voice to be heard and to influence the decisions which are made. We also track student views using a series of surveys and feedback cards, and through Student Representative Council meetings. Student suggestions are acted on where possible, and communicated through You Said We Did posters displayed across campuses.

Engaging with our communities We have concentrated on widening opportunities for students across our communities. We worked with over 65 different community partnerships, to support students accessing learning beyond the college campuses. Our outreach centres at the Pennypit Centre in Prestonpans and The Hibernian Learning Centre in Leith have run a range of programmes, successfully engaging with students in the heart of their

Annual Review 2011 -12

communities. The Hibernian Learning Centre has now had over 400 students through its doors, demonstrating the success of the partnership. Our schools team has successfully engaged with high schools in Edinburgh, Midlothian and East Lothian, advising on courses and helping young people explore different opportunities available at college.

9


Awards

International

The Marketing team did well at Scotland’s College’s Marketing Awards in 2012, where marketing teams from colleges across Scotland go head to head to be named the country’s best. The team won Silver awards in the Main Prospectus and Best Customer Service categories and a Bronze for the Students’ Award for Prospectus category.

The college continues to develop an international outlook among staff and students.

In February, eh15 restaurant & bar made the final three in the customer service category of the Scottish Restaurant Awards. Restaurants were nominated by customers, then judged by the panel. We are proud to be the first training restaurant ever to make the shortlist.

We taught over 500 non-British students from twenty-six different countries, and these numbers continue to grow. Our International Strategy, “educating global citizens with global skills for a global economy”, guides our development for all of our students. Over the past year, we welcomed a variety of visitors from all over the world to the College, including six weeks of Italian summer school students, Russian, Spanish and Danish students, an Irish Trampoline Team and Saudi Arabian Delegates from Saudi Aramco.

Volunteering in Europe We continue to encourage more and more students to volunteer overseas, and this year we supported three students to travel to Europe to carry out voluntary work over the summer holidays. Belen Delso, ESOL Business and Tourism student, volunteered at Hostal De L’Alguer, part of the Italian Youth Hostels Association. Elaine Robson’s voluntary project was organised by the non-governmental organisation Centre for All, which organises activities and summer camps for children and teenagers with physical or mental disabilities in the Czech Republic. Elaine studied NC Group Award Early Education and Childcare. Matthew Cartlidge volunteered in the Czech Republic for INEX, a non-profit organisation which helps to support international voluntary work and intercultural education. The project focussed on the preservation and renovation of cultural heritage. A team of students from Health & Wellbeing spent 2 weeks in Bulgaria, helping to renovate a childrens orphanage and spending time with the children. 10

Annual Review 2011 -12


From Iraq to Jewel & Esk College

Restorative Justice

The National Youth Orchestra of Iraq stayed in the college accommodation for three weeks and rehearsed in CRE:8 before their performances at the Edinburgh Fringe.

We attended the 1st International Symposium on Restorative Justice and Human Rights in Greece, where Vikki Robertson presented a paper on a ground-breaking project with women offenders in Edinburgh. The Symposium was a gathering of an exclusive group of 21 international names in the fields of restorative justice and human rights. The event took the format of an ancient Greek symposium allowing for in-depth discussions on papers that will be later published by De Sitter as part of an edited volume. The structure and location of the symposium enabled the guests to debate their papers and delve into concepts and issues in an engaging and enriching environment. The symposium has put the WORD project in an International arena and created an immensely valuable network of leading academics and practitioners from across the world.

During their stay, the chamber orchestra treated over 200 past and present College staff and board members to a debut performance at the Garden Party in a marquee at Milton Road campus. Their remarkable stories and musical talents provided an inspiration to the students and show how young and talented musicians can succeed through hard-work and determination.

...educating global citizens with global skills for a global economy. Annual Review 2011 -12

Comenius – “Work It Out” Over the last year we have worked with groups of students from Poland, Germany, Italy and Spain to collaborate on a project looking at attitudes to a fit and healthy lifestyle. Teams from Jewel & Esk have travelled to Germany and Poland, sharing research work and different cultural approaches. We are preparing to host the rest of the project teams in Edinburgh next Spring.

11


Sustainability We cemented the first year of our Sustainability Development Steering Group with the appointment of a Sustainability Co-ordinator who focussed on launching Green Impact, an NUS led campaign. We are one of the first colleges in the UK to take part in this project, in which staff and students work together to make changes to their lifestyles at college, from the simple to the innovative, to effect improvements in our carbon footprint. As part of the Green Impact initiative, teams across the College were formed to work on the College’s environmental impact and look at innovative waste recycling systems. One team member, Katherine Husch, was rewarded for her efforts by the Ecologist magazine and was awarded the prestigious title of Environmental Hero for her greening of the College’s library.

Our new Sustainability Officer worked with the Sustainability Development Steering Group to guide several initiatives to embed sustainability practices across the college. Using data gathered about our patterns of energy consumption, we improved the operation of the building management system to reduce our carbon footprint. A number of green travel initiatives implemented for staff and students led to Jewel & Esk becoming the first college in the east of Scotland to be awarded Cycle Friendly Employer status. Our Centre for Engineering & Clean Technology began work on its electric vehicle project, in conjunction with Mitsubishi, and other local partners including Stevenson College Edinburgh, Midlothian Council and the SQA. This is set to move from strength to strength with further developments including air source heat pumps, a hydraulics workshop and solar energy projects.

12

Annual Review 2011 -12


Solar Meadow blooms into final stages Work has continued to turn a five acre site at Midlothian Campus into Scotland’s first ever Solar Meadow. The innovative £1m construction project will see around 2,560 solar panels installed and the site planted with biodiversity grasses and wildflowers. Designed to generate enough energy for Midlothian Campus to be self-sufficient, the Solar Meadow project will reduce our carbon emissions by 300,000 kg per annum and it is estimated it will save around £50,000 per year in electricity bills over the next 20 years.

Annual Review 2011 -12

The site has been designed not only with energy benefits in mind but will work effectively as an outdoor classroom, allowing students to analyse the interaction between biodiversity and solar technology, as well as monitor the operation and performance of the solar panels. The project is expected to be completed and fully operational by the end of 2012.

...focusing on staff and students working together to make changes to their lifestyles at college. 13


Electric Vehicle project powers ahead This year, we have continued to lead the way in clean energy innovations with the expansion of our fleet of electric vehicles, which is now the largest electric vehicle project in Scotland. Every journey made by our five electric vehicles was monitored for 12 months and the information collected showed EVs could cut both carbon emissions and motoring costs. The results are crucial in showing that electric vehicles can cut carbon emissions and long-term motoring costs. When compared with a conventionally fuelled vehicle, the EVs have saved 6.5 tonnes of CO2 in just one year. These reductions contribute to our strong green credentials, and place the College as leaders in the field of EV technologies in the education sector in Scotland. The expansion will see data collected from up to 15 vehicles and their drivers. Potential partners include St Andrews University, Fife Council, West Lothian Council, NHS Scotland and the Scottish Ambulance Service.

The results are crucial in showing that electric vehicles can cut carbon emissions and long-term motoring costs. 14

Annual Review 2011 -12


A key highlight in the green calendar this year was the Green Dragons Den conference. Organised by Scotland’s Colleges and People and Planet, Green Dragons Den was held at the College in April 2012. Groups of students from across Scotland came together to attend sustainability workshops designed to help students learn new skills and inspire them to come up with their own ideas for sustainability projects. Students then submitted these green ideas to the panel of dragons, which resulted in Jewel & Esk College students winning money for the student garden project. The Ethics and Environmental Student Officer worked hard to establish the student garden project for the College in 2012. She has now been hired as the Community Garden Coordinator to develop the project further and take advantage of the green space to enable local growing opportunities for students and the community. In addition to many green initiatives, the Sustainability Coordinator has also been involved in establishing a veggie bag scheme in partnership with a local farm and students from the Bridging course, a new College Bike Scheme, community clean- up sessions, Fairtrade Football matches and swap shops.

Annual Review 2011 -12

15


16

Annual Review 2011 -12


Feast Food Festival 2012 Now in its 3rd year, FEAST 2012 featured all the favourite parts of previous years with some new additions. Visitors enjoyed tasting 20 different dishes from different Scottish regions as well as chef demos in the auditorium which included Tony Borthwick (Plumed Horse), Neil Forbes (Scottish Chef of the Year, Scottish Restaurant Awards 2011), BBC Professional Masterchef 2008, Derek Johnston (Greywalls, Gullane), and Yogesh Utekar, one of India’s most talented chefs. The Booze Boutique in eh15 offered tutored tastings and talks, while guests could taste and purchase products from a variety of local food supplier stands. Run in partnership with Queen Margaret University, FEAST is unique as a student led event, with Events Management students working alongside Hospitality students to take a role in the organisation, planning and management of the day. This year we also welcomed help on the day from Hospitality students at Edinburgh’s Telford College.

Annual Review 2011 -12

17


Student success

We have a strong track record in student success, with 90% of our students moving on to positive destinations after completing their course. 01

A successful year for our students 01 Opito student of the year

provide awards to recognise promising students within the industry and encourage skills relating to the building trade.

Fergus Stewart, who studied Measurement and Control Engineering, was named the 2011/2012 Apprentice of the Year by the industry body OPITO.

03 Kayleigh and Danielle triumph at Beauty awards

A student scooped a coveted UK oil and gas industry award for the 3rd year in a row.

The award acknowledges outstanding ability and attitude during the college phase of the national apprenticeship scheme.

02 Jewel & Esk students named top apprentices

Three apprentices celebrated being top of their trade after being given a soughtafter award from the Scottish Building Federation Edinburgh and District Charitable Trust. Carpentry and Joinery students Hannah Ross, Alexander Keith and Ryan McDonald were given the prestigious awards thanks to their exceptional standard of work and craftsmanship. The Scottish Building Federation Edinburgh and District Charitable Trust

18

Two beauty students came 1st place in prestigious beauty competitions.

02 03

03

Kayleigh Guild, who studied SVQ3 Beauty Therapy, beat off stiff competition to achieve 1st place in the advanced level of the World Skills Beauty Therapy competition at Ingliston. Susan Steele, SVQ2, took 3rd place in the intermediate competition. Danielle Black, who also studied Beauty Therapy, beat 160 students to carry off 1st prize in the Sterex National Skills final for epilation in Birmingham.

04

04 Hairdressers Win 2nd Place in UK Wide Competition

SVQ 3 hairdressing students Sarah Gunn, Rochelle Gallagher and Megan Keogh achieved 2nd place in the highly respected hairdressing competition, the Association of Hairdressers & Therapists UK finals in February 2012. Annual Review 2011 -12


Greg Scoops Gold in Scottish 400 Metres for Jewel & Esk Health, Fitness & Exercise student, Greg Louden, won a gold medal at the Scottish Universities and Colleges Indoor Athletics Championship after competing in the 400m. The competition is one of the most important athletic events on the calendar, and sees hundreds of young athletes from across the country battle it out to be named Scotland’s best. Greg had to race against 30 other athletes in three separate rounds of heats, before winning the overall medal in the final race.

Paralympian wins silver in swimming Social Care graduate, James Clegg, won a silver medal in swimming at the Paralympics in September 2012. James, who already holds eight Scottish records for his sporting achievements, raced in the 100m Butterfly at the Aquatics Centre to win the medal.

Annual Review 2011 -12

Olympic stars The Olympic torch was held by Janet Jack, an Exercise & Fitness lecturer at the College, and Laura Thomson, outreach lecturer, who were both selected as torch bearers thanks to their commitment to sport and fitness within their local communities. Janet, a former Olympic hockey player, was selected because of her dedication to team GB. She captains the Scotland Masters team and trains exinternationalists across the UK and is also a Champions in Schools Ambassador. As a coach with World Street Soccer Scotland, Laura works with the charity to use sport to tackle social exclusion and improves the lives of a range of socially disadvantaged groups.

High Praise for student work at the Lammermuir Festival HND Television and HND Sound Production students received tremendous praise for their work at East Lothian’s Lammermuir Festival. Students assisted BBC Scotland’s technicians at the Scottish Symphony Orchestra’s concert at St Mary’s Parish Church in Haddington which was broadcast on BBC Radio 3. Students also worked on projects including ‘1000 Airplanes On The Roof’ at the Museum of Flight. James Waters, Director of the Lammermuir Festival, was extremely impressed by the students’ level of skill and willingness to learn and their sheer determination to do a good job.

James already holds eight Scottish records for his sporting achievements...

19


Launch of Enterprise & Entrepreneurship Centre In 2012 we established our Enterprise & Entrepreneurship Centre at Milton Road, home to new business incubator units and the enterprise team. The Centre was opened in April 2012 by Charan Gill, a member of the Entrepreneurial Exchange and Colin Beattie MSP. Businesses in the Incubator units benefit from staff and student expertise in a wide range of areas including administration, creative industries and marketing.

East Lothian Hospitality & Tourism Academy

Duke of Edinburgh Awards The college hosted a special awards ceremony in June where Bridging Course students were presented with their Duke of Edinburgh Awards. A total of 42 students were successful in achieving Bronze and Silver awards in full or part. Thirteen completed all four sections of the Silver award after they completed an expedition and volunteered in their local communities. 20

Working with Queen Margaret University, East Lothian Council and several key industry partners, Jewel & Esk College launched Scotland’s first dedicated Hospitality and Tourism Academy for secondary school pupils. The initiative involves around 40 pupils from Musselburgh Grammar School, Preston Lodge High School (Prestonpans) and Ross High School (Tranent) who will take part in a two-year programme with the option to attain either a Hospitality & Tourism Industry Award or a Hospitality & Tourism Management Award. If the pupils successfully complete the programme they will be able to progress to employment or into a course at college or university. Backing the project are some of the world’s most significant industry players – Marriott and Novotel have signed up as business partners, as have Macdonald Hotels and Resorts, Jurys Inn, Mercure and Best Western Edinburgh Capital Hotel. Representing the local market, one of Edinburgh’s most prestigious

hotel organisations, Prestonfield, has pledged support, as well as Fraser Suites Edinburgh. The Academy partners want to increase awareness of the full range of roles within the industries, as well as the career progression, transferable skills and travel opportunities. The East Lothian Hospitality and Tourism Academy will also address the growing problem faced by many Scottish businesses which struggle to recruit local people with the right skills and attitudes to meet their needs. Hospitality and Tourism are growth sectors in the Scottish economy and need the best and brightest talent to satisfy the demand. There are excellent opportunities in this industry for our young people to grow and develop careers, whether through an academic route or from the ground floor up. The Academy will not only prepare them for this challenge, but will offer these students a brighter future.

Annual Review 2011 -12


Celebration of Achievement – acknowledging student success

Celebration of Achievement – Centre Prize Winners

In June Jewel & Esk once again held a Celebration of Achievement – an event designed to put the focus firmly on our FE students, rewarding outstanding achievements, effort and determination.

Built Environment & Sustainability, Robin Wilson Robin proved herself very capable in the field of Electrical Engineering. She started the course with little self-confidence but through her tenacity and positive attitude she has developed into a star student in the electrical discipline.

This time we were able to recognise more students than ever, in a ceremony at The Hub, in the Royal Mile. Students received their awards in front of their lecturers, families and invited guests. Charan Gill MBE, founder of Ashoka restaurants and a member of the Entrepreneurial Exchange Hall of Fame, gave an inspiring speech on the importance of ambition and hard work, before presenting the award-winners with their medals. The evening was an opportunity not only to reward the students, but also to acknowledge the

encouragement and support of family and friends that each student relies on while they study and juggle all their other commitments. Students were chosen by their team of lecturers – this was often the subject of fierce debate, as many teams had several outstanding candidates. However all the award winners were united by their focussed attitude to their studies, their hard work and their determination to succeed in their course and move on to build a career for themselves in their chosen field.

Community Engagement, Andrew Whellans Andrew has shown great dedication to his course, involving himself entirely in coursework and projects. He is always willing to help and support his classmates and his confidence has grown during the course. Creative Industries, Colin Wright Colin’s exemplary attendance record demonstrates his commitment to the course. He is fully involved in his class rep role, working well with other students, and has been keen to play a part in the new Radi8 radio station. Engineering & Clean Technology, Roland Whitelaw Roland has consistently achieved excellent results in assessments and made valuable contributions during coursework. He has applied his practical skills and knowledge to his academic work with great success. Enterprise & Entrepreneurship, Jin-Mo Yang Jin-Mo excelled himself in his Personal Finance Class and has completed two assessments and achieved very high scores in both. They were achieved well under the allocated time and completed to a high standard. Health & Wellbeing, Luke Kinloch Luke enrolled last year on the Intermediate 2 Working with Communities programme and despite his anxieties about returning to learning he progressed onto NC Social Care. Learning & Teaching, Nicola O’Rourke Nicola is a mother of eight children and her youngest son suffers from Down’s Syndrome. She has drawn on the experience of caring for her son to achieve Level 5 Comms through her speaking and writing and is now studying Healthcare, Intermediate 2. Tourism, Kayleigh Guild Kayleigh fights rheumatoid arthritis every day and is in constant pain however she never lets this get in her way. She has a very positive and professional attitude and shows commitment and dedication to her studies.

Annual Review 2011 -12

21


Graduation 2012 This year’s graduation is particularly special as it will be the final event for Jewel & Esk College, before we merge with our partners 3 days later to become the new Edinburgh College. It is a chance to acknowledge all the good things our students and staff have achieved, and take this forward into the new college. Our VIP guest speaker this year is Jamie Andrew, the Scottish mountaineer who had his hands and feet amputated following a horrific accident in the French Alps. Miraculously, despite his handicap, Jamie has carried on with his mountaineering career and has made some amazing ascents all over the world, raising many thousands of pounds for charity along the way. Jamie will tell our graduates and guests of his experiences and how his sheer determination to succeed has brought him through some amazing experiences. He hopes that his tale may inspire others to tackle the obstacles they face in life and to achieve their full potential.

Our prize winners this year are excellent examples of student achievement. General awards �

Principal’s Award for Higher Education – Chris Spence

Chair’s Award for Academic Excellence – Fiona Davis

SQA Award – Sinead O’Donnell

Academy Citizenship Award – Lupe Gonzalez

Subject specific awards

Institute of Measurement & Control Award – Ian Devonald

NHS Lothian Achievement Award - Amanda Barclay

Golden Reel Award – Rosalie Good

22

Master Builders Charitable Trust Award for Excellence in Carpentry & Joinery - Alexander Keith Springfords Award for Excellence in Accounting Anna Mazur Annual Review 2011 -12


Staff Association A major new development for 2012 was the establishment of a Staff Association covering Midlothian and Edinburgh Campuses. Anne Knox, Iain MacArthur and Jody Greig were appointed as part time Staff Association coordinators, with a remit of bringing people together and building a strong, vibrant community of college staff. Initially they focussed on raising the profile of the new Staff Association and finding out what staff really wanted from an Association. Their first newsletter followed fairly rapidly, along with the first of several events, which have ranged from social events in eh15 restaurant & bar and Moulsdale House, to language and culture classes for those heading to Europe for a summer break. Further planned activity includes exercise class tasters, and an event for Jewel & Esk staff on the final day of the college at the end of September. The Association have also worked on a constitution which could be used to roll out a Staff Association across all campuses of of Edinburgh College.

Staff Development Garden party

Jewel & Esk’s greatest resource is our dedicated team of teaching and support staff. With students at the heart of what we do, each member of staff is focused on providing the best possible experience for our students, businesses and partner organisations throughout our communities. All college staff were invited to four dedicated development days throughout the year, where both together and in teams, we focussed on different aspects of our roles at college. Feedback following each day has enabled the Organisational Development team to incorporate staff suggestions into the sessions.

Health Fair In line with our ethos of Healthy Working Lives, staff were able to take part in a Health Fair in August. Many different organisations were on hand to give advice and support on a variety of topics, from sport and exercise to posture, stress relief and healthy eating. Annual Review 2011 -12

23


Financial statement Year ended 31 July 2011 Income

£000

%

£000

%

15,074

78.1

15,148

77.1

Tuition Fees and Education Contracts

2,575

13.3

2,644

13.6

Other Operating Income

1,523

8.0

1,562

8.0

124

0.6

130

0.7

19,296

100.0

19,484

100.0

Scottish Funding Council Grants

Endowment and Investment Income

Expenditure

£000

%

£000

%

10,706

57.2

10,117

53.9

833

4.5

1,051

5.6

Other Operating Expenses

4,760

25.4

5,154

27.4

Depreciation

1,628

8.7

1,628

9.0

789

4.2

768

4.1

18,716

100.0

18,774

100.0

Staff Costs Exceptional Staff Costs

Interest and other Finance Costs

24

Year ended 31 July 2012

Annual Review 2011 -12


Performance indicators 2009/10

2010/11

2011/2

Funded student activity (weighted SUMS)

70,419

68,055

65,295

Number of student enrolments

7,958

7,938

7,164

Student success (of all students on certificated courses who completed their course)

86%

84%

89%

Student retention (all certificated courses)

88%

88%

84%

Student satisfaction

95%

95%

97%

Age of student population by enrolment 2011/12

16 years & under

25 years & over 16 - 19 years

Proportion of students in Higher/Further Education 2010/11

2011/12

Higher Education

16%

20%

Further Education

84%

80%

4.4% of our student population came from a black minority ethnic background 2011/12

20 - 24 years

Annual Review 2011 -12

25


Edinburgh Campus 24 Milton Road East Edinburgh EH15 2PP

Midlothian Campus 46 Dalhousie Road Dalkeith EH22 3FR

t: 0131 344 7001 | e: info@jec.ac.uk | w: jec.ac.uk


Annual Review