3 minute read


Civics U.S. Officials

President Joe Biden (D) Vice President Kamala Harris (D) The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Washington, DC 20500 Comments: (202) 456-1111 Switchboard: (202) 456-1414 U.S. Senators

Gary Peters (D) Washington: (202) 224-6221 Local: (248) 608-8040 www.senate.gov Debbie Stabenow (D) Washington: (202) 224-4822 Local: (313) 961-4330 U.S. Representative

(8th District) Elissa Slotkin (D) Washington: (202) 225-4872 Local: (517) 993-0510 www.slatkin.house.gov State Senators

P.O. Box 30036 Lansing 48909 www.senate.michigan.gov

12th District – Townships of Addison, Bloomfield, Independence, part of Oakland, Orion, Oxford, and Southfield. Cities of Auburn Hills, Keego, Harbor, Pontiac, and Sylvan Lake and the Village of Clarkston Rosemary Bayer (D) (517) 373-2417

13th District – Cities of Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clawson, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak, and Troy Mallory McMorrow (D) (517) 373-2523 State Representatives

N-894 House Office Building P.O. Box 30014 Lansing 48933 www.house.mi.gov

45th District – Serves part of Oakland Twp, Rochester and Rochester Hills. Mark Tisdel (R) (517) 373-1773

46th District – Serves Addison, Brandon, Orion, Oxford, and part of Oakland Township. John Reilly (R) (517) 373-1798 www.michigan.gov Governor: Gretchen Whitmer (D) P.O. Box 30013 Lansing 48909 (517) 373-3400 Lt. Governor: Garlin Gilchrest II (D) (517) 373-6800 Secretary of State: Jocelyn Benson (D) (517) 373-2510 Treasurer: Rachael Eubanks (D) (517) 335-7508 Attorney General: Dana Nessel (D) (517) 373-1110

Oakland County Officials

www.oakgov.com/elected_officials County Clerk: Lisa Brown (248) 858-0581 Executive: David Coulter (248) 858-0484 Water Resources Commissioner: Jim Nash (248) 858-0958 Prosecutor: Karen McDonald (248) 858-0656 Sheriff: Michael Bouchard (248) 858-5000 Treasurer: Robert Wittenberg (248) 858-0611 Oakland County Commissioners 1200 N. Telegraph Pontiac, 48341 (248) 858-0100

21 members represent 21 equally populated districts, operating under a “committee system”. Elected to a two-year term, they’re responsible for: • Formulating county policies • Establishing property tax millage rates • Adopting ordinances and rules • Adopting County budget and development plans • Adopting and enforcing rules establishing authority and duties of County departments. Three commissioners cover the Rochester, Rochester Hills, and Oakland Township area: District 3 (Oakland Township) Michael Spisz (R) District 11 (Part of Rochester Hills) Thomas E. Kuhn (R) District 15 (Rochester and part of Rochester Hills) Adam Korchenderfer (R) District Court

52nd-3 District Court 700 Barclay Circle Rochester Hills 48307 (248) 853-5553 Covers all of Oakland Township, Rochester and Rochester Hills. Divisions include: Traffic, Civil, Criminal and Probation. Circuit Court

Oakland County 6th Circuit Court 1200 N. Telegraph Pontiac, 48341 www.oakgov.com/circuit Information: (248) 858-0344 Division of the State judiciary serving as the trial court for all Oakland County citizens. Hears both civil and criminal cases, as well as appeals from the District and Probate courts. Has exclusive jurisdiction on certain family matters. Oakland County Probate Court 1200 N. Telegraph Pontiac 48341 www.oakgov.com/probate Information: (248) 858-0260 Probate Court deals with issues related to wills, trusts, estates, guardianships and mental health.

The Charter Township of Oakland lists the names and contact information for the Board, Supervisor and Trustees on their websites. Log on to www.oaklandtownship.org. The City of Rochester operates under a Council, Mayor and Manager form of government. Contact numbers and information are on the City website www.ci.rochester.mi.us The City of Rochester Hills operates under a Home Rule Council and Mayor form of government. Contact information is on the City website www.rochesterhills.org Other Contacts

Citizens Research Council of Michigan 124 W. Allegan, Ste 480, Lansing 48933 (517) 485-9444, www.crcmich.org Independent, not-for-profit public policy research organization. Does not lobby for, support or oppose candidates. Provides information on issues concerning voters; has an expansive library of publications. League of Women Voters – Oakland County Area (248) 594-6602 • www.lwvoa.org Provides voters guides, information about special elections, including local elections, election results and holds candidate forums. Voter Registration You may register by contacting the City offices, Township offices or any Secretary of State office.

(See Basics – Drivers License for locations.)