2022 Community Guide issue - LIFESTYLE 4 Birmingham Bloomfield

Page 37

Civics U.S. Officials

President Joe Biden (D) Vice President Kamala Harris (D)

The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Washington, DC 20500 Comments: (202) 456-1111 Switchboard: (202) 456-1414

State Representatives

N-894 House Office Building P.O. Box 30014, Lansing 48933 www.house.michigan.gov

40th District - Mari Manoogian (D)

S-889 House Office Building (517) 373-8670

Birmingham, Bloomfield Township, Bloomfield Hills

35th District - Kyra Bolden (D)

N-799 House Office Building (517) 373-1788

U.S. Senators

Franklin, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms

Washington: (202) 224-6221 Local: (248) 273-4227 www.senate.gov

Oakland County Officials

Gary Peters (D)

Debbie Stabenow (D)

Washington: (202) 224-4822 Local: (313) 961-4330

U.S. Representative

(9th District)

Andy Levin (D)


County Clerk: Lisa Brown (D)

(248) 858-0581

Executive: David Coulter (D)

(248) 858-0480

Washington: (202) 225-4961

Water Resources Commissioner: Jim Nash (D)

Represents Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Franklin, and part of Bloomfield Township

Prosecutor: Karen McDonald (D)

Warren: (586) 498-7122

(11th District)

Haley Stevens (D)

Washington: (202) 225-8171 Novi: (202) 227-7397

Represents Birmingham and Bloomfield Hills

(14th District)

Brenda Lawrence (D)

Washington: (202) 225-5802 Southfield: (248) 356-2052 Represents parts of Bloomfield Township

(248) 858-0958 (248) 858-0656

Sheriff: Michael Bouchard (R)

(248) 858-5000

Treasurer: Robert Wittenberg (D)

(248) 858-0611

Oakland County Commissioners

District Court

Local Government

46th District Court

Log on to City, Township, and Village websites for local government structures, contacts, and opportunties to get involved on committees and boards in your own community.

Covers Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, and Franklin

There are numerous ways to serve as volunteers, by being appointed or running for office in a local election.

26000 Evergreen Rd. Southfield 48076 (248) 796-5800 www.cityofsouthfield.com

48th District Court

4280 Telegraph Road Bloomfield Hills 48302 (248) 647-1141 www.oakgov.com

Covers Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township

Circuit Court

Oakland County 6th Circuit Court

1200 N. Telegraph Pontiac, 48341 www.oakgov.com/circuit Information: (248) 858-0344

Division of the State judiciary serving as the trial court for all Oakland County citizens. Hears both civil and criminal cases, as well as appeals from the District and Probate courts. Has exclusive jurisdiction on certain family matters.

Oakland County Probate Court

1200 N. Telegraph Pontiac 48341 www.oakgov.com/probate Information: (248) 858-0260

Probate Court deals with issues related to wills, trusts, estates, guardianships and mental health.

Other Contacts

Citizens Research Council of Michigan

124 W. Allegan, Ste 620, Lansing 48933 (517) 485-9444, www.crcmich.org Independent, not-for-profit public policy research organization. Does not lobby for, support or oppose candidates. Provides information on issues concerning voters; has an expansive library of publications.

League of Women Voters – Oakland County Area

(248) 594-6602 • www.lwvoa.org Provides voters guides, information about special elections, including local elections, election results and holds candidate forums.

Voter Registration

You may register by contacting the City offices, Township offices or any Secretary of State office.(See Basics – Drivers License for locations.)

1200 N. Telegraph, Pontiac, 48341 (248) 858-0100 21 members represent 21 equally populated districts, operating undera “committee system”. Elected to a State Officials two-year term, they’re responsible for: www.michigan.gov • Formulating county policies Governor: Gretchen Whitmer (D) • Establishing property tax millage rates P.O. Box 30013, Lansing 48909 • Adopting ordinances and rules (517) 373-3400 • Adopting County budget and Lt. Governor: Garlin Gilchrest II (D) development plans (517) 373-6800 • Adopting and enforcing rules Secretary of State: Jocelyn Benson (D) establishing authority and (517) 373-2510 duties of County departments.

Treasurer: Rachael Eubanks (D)

(517) 335-7508

Attorney General: Dana Nessel (D)

(517) 373-1110

State Senators


Three commissioners cover the Birmingham - Bloomfield area:

Chuck Moss (R)

District 12– Birmingham, Bloomfield Township, Bloomfield Hills

William Miller (D)

12th District - Rosemary Bayer (D)

District 14– Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Franklin

Addison Township, Auburn Hills, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Bloomfield Township, Franklin, Indepenence Township, Keego Harbor, Oakland Township, Orion Township, Oxford Township, Pontiac, Southfield Township, Sylvan Lake, Village of Clarkston

District 13– Part of Bloomfield Township

(517) 373-2417

Marcia Gershenson (D)

13th District - Mallory McMorrow (D)

(517) 373-2523

Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clawson, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak, Troy