Page 99

SNOW SPORTS & MORE!

With 49 ski areas, 269 lifts, 50 terrain parks, nearly 1,000 runs and the only ski flying hill in the country, Michigan ranks second in the nation for number of ski areas in a state! Alpine Valley of White Lake (White Lake, MI) (248) 887-4183 • www.skialpinevalley.com Apple Mountain (Freeland, MI) (989) 781-6789 • www.applemountain.com Big Powderhorn Mountain (Bessemer, MI) (906) 932-4838 • www.bigpowderhorn.net Bittersweeet Ski Area (Otsego, MI) (269) 694-2032 • www.skibittersweet.com Boyne Highlands (Harbor Springs, MI) (800) GO-BOYNE • www.boyne.com Boyne Mountain (Boyne Falls, MI) (800) GO-BOYNE • www.boyne.com Caberfae Peaks (Cadillac, MI) (231) 862-3000 • www.caberfaepeaks.com Cannonsburg Ski Area (Cannonsburg, MI) (616) 874-6711 • www.cannonsburg.com Cross Country Ski Headquarters (Roscommon, MI) (800) 832-2663 • www.cross-country-ski.com Crystal Mountain (Thompsonville, MI) (231) 378-2000 • www.crystalmountain.com The Homestead of Glen Arbor (Glen Arbor, MI) (231) 334-5000 • www.thehomesteadresort.com Indianhead (Wakefield, MI) (800) 346-3426 • www.indianheadmtn.com Marquette Mountain (Marquette, MI) (906) 225-1155 • www.marquettemountain.com Mt. Bohemia (in the UP’s Keweenaw Peninsula) (906) 289-4105 • www.mtbohemia.com Mt. Brighton Ski Area (Brighton, MI) (810) 229-9581 • www.mtbrighton.com Mt. Holly (Holly, MI) (248) 634-8269 • www.skimtholly.com Nubs Nob (Harbor Springs, MI) (231) 526-2131 • www.nubsnob.com Pando Winter Sports Park (Rockford, MI) (616) 874-8343 • www.pandopark.com Pine Knob (Clarkston, MI) (248) 625-0800 • www.skipineknob.com Pine Mountain (Iron Mountain, MI) (906) 774-2747 • www.uppinemtn.com Porcupine Mountains (Ontonagon, MI) (906) 289-4105 • www.porcupineup.com Shanty Creek Resort (Bellaire, MI) (800) 678-4111 • www.shantycreek.com Ski Brule of Iron River (Iron River, MI) (800) 362-7853 • www.skibrule.com Snow Snake Ski & Golf (Harrison, MI) (989) 539-6583 • www.snowsnake.net Swiss Valley Ski Area (Jones, MI) (269) 244-5635 • www.skiswissvalley.com Treetops Resort (near Gaylord, MI) (888) TREETOPS • www.treetops.com

Nub’s Nob, Harbor Springs

Iceboating

For those who love speed! It’s possible to go from zero to 55 mph in a matter of seconds. It’s also very cold with a ton of subzero wind chill going on. Log on to www.sailmichigan.org to find out more!

Raceway (Horse) Northville Downs

301 S. Center St. • Northville 48167 (248) 349-1000 • www.northvilledowns.com

Running

www.runningintheusa.com

There are a variety of running clubs for all levels in Metro Detroit. Active organizations can be found in Allen Park, Belleville, Woodhaven, Detroit, Grosse Ile and Northville in Wayne County. Flint has a running and a power, fitness, racewalker club for Genesee County. Ferndale, Farmington Hills, Rochester, South Lyon, West Bloomfield, and White Lake have clubs in Oakland County, Chesterfield and Clinton Twp. offer clubs in Macomb County, Brighton and Howell clubs are located in Livingston County.

Road Runners Club of America - www.rrca.org

Skiing

Michigan is ranked in the #1 spot for skiing in the Midwest. Log on to www.michigan.org, then click on” Things To Do” then “Outdoors.” Also see the listing of Michigan ski areas and resorts in this this section of ASource.

Snowmobiling

Michigan offers more than 6,500 miles of extensive, groomed trails throughout the state. For information on safety courses, tips, snow depth reports, trail maps and online DNR-license (trail permit required to operate on trails). Log on to: www.michigan.gov/dnr.

There is also a full service operations center located in the Metro Detroit area: 1801 Atwater Street, Detroit • (313) 396-6890 Open Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. or visit the state tourism website: www.michigan.org

Michigan Snowmobile Association

www.msasnow.org • 616-361-2285 Information about membership, trail reports and conditions. Also includes a list of clubs throughout the state. Trail permits are available for purchase online.

Soccer

Great Lakes Womens Soccer

glwsl.weebly.com • (888) 258-5220 For women 18+, with 18+ and 30+ leagues. There are over 30 teams throughout the Metro Detroit area.

Michigan State Youth Soccer Association

9401 General Drive, Suite 120 • Plymouth 48170 (734) 459-6220 • (734) 459-6242 Fax

www.michiganyouthsoccer.org

Michigan Youth Soccer League (MYSL) www.michigansoccer.com Competitive leagues for players U7 – U19

Swimming

Michigan Swimming

2245 Knollcrest • Rochester Hills 48309 (248) 997-6696 • www.teamunify.com Great website for competitive swimmers providing meet postings, top ten times, time standards and results for all Michigan clubs.

Michigan Masters Swimming

www.michiganmasters.com Lists clubs, practice pools and meets for competitive swimmers over 18 years of age.

www.metrodetroitarea.com 97

Profile for Keaton Publications Group LLC

2019 Metro Detroit ASource - The Relocation Guide for Southeast Michigan  

The Metro Detroit ASource is the premier regional resource guide used to acclimate new individuals, families and businesses relocating to th...

2019 Metro Detroit ASource - The Relocation Guide for Southeast Michigan  

The Metro Detroit ASource is the premier regional resource guide used to acclimate new individuals, families and businesses relocating to th...

Profile for jeribits