Page 1

OP2 • THEEDGE SINGAPORE

| FEBRUARY 2, 2009

BUY RIGHT | BY AUDREY SIMON |

SAMUEL ISAAC CHUA/THE EDGE SINGAPORE

Age buster

Lancôme launches anti-ageing solution Absolue Premium ßx

By applying scientific development to the discovery of an interwoven extra cellular matrix, the Pro-Xylane molecule, an active ingredient in Lancome’s Absolue Premium ßx range, is said to work in all skin compartments (the epidermis, demalepidermal junction and the dermis) as a complete anti-ageing solution. The Pro-Xylane molecule is the fruit of seven years of research by the cosmetics group’s advanced research laboratories, according to its press release. The active ingredient in its skincare product is said to fight skin ageing by acting on the skin matrix, which governs skin firmness and tone. Says a skin matrix expert at the University of Boston, “As we get older, the matrix gets weaker and degrades. As a result, our skin dries out, loses its elasticity and becomes dull. If we want to fight skin ageing, we therefore have to act on the matrix.” Lancome’s new product range, the Absolue Premium ßx, combines this revolutionary molecule

EDITOR/REGIONAL MANAGING DIRECTOR Tan Boon Kean (bktan@bizedge.com) SECTION EDITOR Audrey Simon (audrey.simon@bizedge.com) CONTRIBUTORS Dawn Lim, Felix Cheong, Grace Chin, Jacqueline Toyad, Tony Watts, Sunita Sue Leng COPY-EDITING DESK Elaine Lim, Evelyn Tung, James Chong, Patrick Fong, Chew Ru Ju, Ezanor Kasah PHOTO EDITOR Samuel Isaac Chua (samuelisaac.chua@bizedge.com)

with patented technologies to create an exclusive range of skincare products to meet the expectations of women, aged 50 and above. Staying true to the brand’s skincare philosophy, the range is a result of the best research technology. The brand also recently announced that Italian actress Laura Morante is its new ambassador for the Absolue range. She is described as an exceptional and passionate woman, a sublime embodiment of femininity at its most brilliant, most moving and most seductive. The internationally renowned face first appeared with Caemelo Bene in the theatre and was immortalised on screen by directors such as Giuseppe and Bernardo Bertolucci, Gianni Amelio, and Nanni Mertti. Morante is said to be planning to direct her first film soon. The Absolue Premium ßx range consists of night, day, serum and area-specific skincare products for women aged 40 to 70. They are available at all Lancome counters nationwide.

PHOTOJOURNALIST Gwyneth Yeo (gwyneth.yeo@bizedge.com) EDITORIAL COORDINATOR Rahayu Mohamad (rahayu.mohamad@bizedge.com) DESIGN DESK Tan Siew Ching, Christine Ong, Chan Yoke Lin, Jamy Gan

The storm chaser Dr Joshua Wurman earns a living by tracking and analysing extreme weather like hurricanes and tornadoes. Ball Watches chose Wurman to help create a timepiece that is able to provide the wearer with important information. The Fireman Storm Chaser automatic is equipped with a tachymeter that makes measuring speed over a given distance a breeze. Also on this timepiece is a telemeter that measures the distance between the observer and a situation such as thunder and lightning. View this remarkable piece at authorised retailers.

NICK WELSH, CARTIER COLLECTION © CARTIER

ADVERTISING + MARKETING REGIONAL GENERAL MANAGER | Edward Stanislaus (edward@bizedge.com) SENIOR MANAGER | Colin Tan (colin.tan@bizedge.com) MANAGERS | Simon Wong (simon.wong@bizedge.com) Cecilia Kay (cecilia.kay@bizedge.com) Jeffrey Wong (jeffrey.wong@bizedge.com) Windy Tan (windy.tan@bizedge.com) Faith Teo (faith.teo@bizedge.com) COORDINATOR | Nor Aisah Bte Asmain (nor.asmain@bizedge.com) MALAYSIA REPRESENTATIVE | Helen John Corry (helen.johncorry@bizedge.com) CIRCULATION-SUBSCRIPTIONS REGIONAL SENIOR MANAGER | Suresh Kumar (suresh@bizedge.com) ASSISTANT MANAGER | Naziela Nasir (naziela.nasir@bizedge.com) ASSISTANTS | Juliana Ibrahim (juliana.ibrahim@bizedge.com) Iryanti Zainol (iryanti.zainol@bizedge.com) PUBLISHER THE EDGE PUBLISHING PTE LTD 150, CECIL STREET #13-00 SINGAPORE 069543 TEL: (65) 6232 8622 FAX: (65) 6232 8620

Mind, body and soul If the words “stressed” and “overworked” describe you best, then you need help from Body Therapies by Molton Brown. The products include body wash, body tonic, body polish, hand cream, bath soak and body oil. There are four ranges in all: Nurture for tired skin; Unwind for the body and mind after a hard day; Purify to help you detox; and Sleep for those who can’t seem to get a good night’s rest. Available at 01-26 Raffles Hotel Arcade, level 2 at Tangs Orchard and B1-51 Ngee Ann City. For two Jean Paul Gaultier invites us to fall in love, with the launch of Gaultier2 Eau d’Amour fragrance for both men and women. The seductive scent is made up of tangerine, coriander, amber, vanilla and musk. The fragrance comes in two bottles with magnets, so they are automatically drawn to each other. The limitededition eau de toilette set of two bottles costs $128, and is available at Tangs Orchard and VivoCity, Takashimaya, Metro Paragon and Robinsons at Centrepoint and Raffles City.

A classic Lovers of all things classic will appreciate the Santos wristwatch, Cartier Paris, 1916. A raised bezel made of polished platinum sits on the satin-finish platinum case with the help of eight screws. The square dial features Roman numerals dotting a minute track that looks like railroad tracks, another Cartier classic. The timepiece has a leather strap with a pin buckle. Available at authorised retailers.

PRINTER KHL Printing Co Pte Ltd 57 Loyang Drive Singapore 508968 Tel: (65) 6543 2222 Fax: (65) 6545 3333 We welcome your comments and criticism. Send your letters to The Edge, Raffles City Post Office PO Box 218 Singapore 911708 Tel: (65) 6232 8622 Fax: (65) 6232 8620 e-mail: feedbackspore@bizedge.com Pseudonyms are allowed but please state your full name, address and contact number for us to verify.

Chill out To celebrate 75 years in the business of providing quality home appliances, Bosch has released two new jubilee refrigerators: the Bosch ColorGlass Edition and the Bosch Classic Refrigerator. Priced at $2,299, these top-range refrigerators are energy efficient, while the ColorGlass collection even comes with a child-lock and an alarm that lets you know when your drink is suitably chilled. Available at all leading electrical appliances stores.

Carry on A whole new range of bags for men by Alfred Dunhill has just been launched, much to the delight of the fashionable man. The collection covers a wide range, from the versatile tote bag to the practical messenger bag. Visit Alfred Dunhill boutiques to get a feel of these luxurious leather carry cases.

Dishevelled chic It is okay to wear your pyjamas out? The casual “out of bed” look for spring/ summer 2009 for men by Bottega Veneta is very “in”. But, do note that this is high-fashion mess, so you have no excuse to leave home looking untidy. Stripes are back in a big way and drawstring trousers add comfort. Throw on a big jacket and you are all set to paint the town red.

op_2_S355.p1  

EDITOR/REGIONAL MANAGING DIRECTOR Tan Boon Kean (bktan@bizedge.com) We welcome your comments and criticism. Send your letters to The Edge, R...

Advertisement