Page 1

Earl Soham Community Primary School Caring, sharing and learning; because every child matters Headteacher: Karl Pearce Earl Soham, Woodbridge, Suffolk. IP13 7SA Tel: (01728) 685359 Email: ad.earlsoham.p@talk21.com

MARCH 2012 - NEWSLETTER HEAD LICE

NEWS IN BRIEF 

  

During the last week of term there will be an Easter Egg Hunt, date is dependent on the weather which appears to be changing daily at the moment. It would be great to see you at the next Parents’ Forum on Wednesday 21st March at 9am. Please support the PTFA Quiz on Saturday 10th March – tickets (£7.50) include ‘Pie & Mash’. If you are joining us for the Mothers’ Day Lunch on Thursday 15th March, please let Tracey in the office know by the end of Monday 12th March. Requests for tickets for the final Ipswich Town schools’ promotional match against Peterborough need to be received by Thursday 8th March. Letters available in the office. 2012/13 TERM DATES

We have become aware that some children attending our school have been confirmed with a head louse infection. To help with this, we are encouraging all children with long hair to wear it tied up at school. We would like to stress that finding a head louse infection is nothing that should cause distress. Head lice infections are common in children of school age and are not harmful. Please remember, head lice prefer clean hair. If you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me or look at www.headlice.co.uk for further information.

PLEASE BE CAREFUL There was an incident last week when a child was dropped off in the main car park and then ran by themselves along the driveway. Please could all parents ensure that this does not happen. This could have easily resulted in an accident. It may have been a one-off, but that is all it takes for there to be an accident. There is a YEAR 6 pathway which leads from the car park, around the school and onto the lower playground – please use it.

To enable you to plan your diaries, here are the term dates for next academic year. The five Professional Development (PD) Days (staff only) are the same as all schools in the Debenham High School pyramid. AUTUMN TERM 2012 Monday 3rd September 2012 – Friday 21st December 2012 (Half-term Monday 29th October – Friday 2nd November) CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY – Monday 24th December 2012 – Friday 4th January 2013 SPRING TERM 2013 Monday 7th January 2013 – Thursday 28th March 2013 (Half-term Monday 18th – Friday 22nd February) EASTER HOLIDAY – Friday 29th March 2013 – Friday 12th April 2013 SUMMER TERM 2013 Monday 15th April 2013 – Tuesday 23rd July 2013 (Half-term Monday 27th – Friday 31st May)

DIARY DATES        

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT DAYS School will be closed to pupils on the following term dates:

Monday 3rd September 2012 Tuesday 4th September 2012 Monday 7th January 2013 Monday 22nd July 2013 Tuesday 23rd July 2013

  

Tuesday 6th March – Yellow Class trip to Cambridge Saturday 10th March – PTFA Quiz Monday 12th March – Year 6 African Adventure Meeting (6pm) Wednesday 14th March – Hi-5 Netball Tournament at TMHS (am) Thursday 15th March – Mothers’ Day Lunch Tuesday 20th March – Year 6 DHS Liaison Day Wednesday 21st March – Parents’ Forum Friday 23rd March –PTFA Family Film Night - THE ADVENTURES OF TINTIN: THE SECRET OF THE UNICORN (6.30pm curtains up) Wednesday 28th March – TAG Rugby at TMHS(am) Thursday 29th March – Quick Sticks Hockey Tournament at DHS (am) Friday 30th March – Last day of term

/newsletter%20MARCH2012  

http://www.earlsoham.suffolk.sch.uk/documents/newsletters/newsletter%20MARCH2012.pdf