Page 1

How To Become A Nurse Click Here To Discover The 7 Steps To Becoming A Registered Practicing Nurse From Active Qualified Working Nurses

Career Ladder in Nursing

In this article, you will learn about the five levels of experience that a nurse will go through in the quest towards becoming the best that he can be as a nurse. These levels start from the novice stage, which is then followed by the advance beginner, competent, proficient, and finally the expert stage. Basically, you don’t have to be in service for five or ten years or so to be an expert; it still depends on how you catch up on things, what you do to advance in your career and what you do to harness your skills in the different procedures and set-ups in the clinical setting or in your area of designation. 1.) Novice As the common adage says, everyone was able to pass through being a novice or a beginner in their lives. Hence, if you fail a lot of times during this period of your professional life; don’t falter and lose hope, instead this is the moment when you should be the toughest and the sharpest to face your battle and learn from your mistakes. Like what I’ve said, everyone experienced being a beginner so no one has the right to judge you with your mistakes as if they didn’t commit the same mistakes when they were starting like you. Student nurses are considered to be in this stage. In other words, novice is someone who doesn’t have any experience, yet. 2.) Advanced Beginner By this stage, the nurse already gained some degree of actual experiences during his nursing clinical when he was still a student, to his volunteer works in a medical mission and so on. The advance beginner still needs to be guided in setting priorities in his care. The new nurse graduate who is on his first job as a nurse is considered an advance beginner. 3.) Competent A nurse who has been working in the same area for a period of two to three years is considered to be a competent nurse. He already gained enough experience to be organized on his task, to plan his care and coordinate multiple care tasks. The nurse during this stage is more aware of his long-term goals. 4.) Proficient

Basically, for a nurse to reach this stage he should be in practice for about three to five years. A proficient nurse views the whole picture in a clinical setting or a case presented rather than just looking into portions or parts of the problem or of the picture. With proficiency in his craft, a nurse can already work with speed, flexibility and deep understanding of the things that he should do in a given situation. 5.) Expert You can say that a nurse has reached the expert level when he works and thinks in a lighting speed manner and yet he does things correctly. It’s as if his response to a situation had already become part of his reflex. The expert nurse operates on this level due to his years of experience in handling several cases and problems in the clinical setting.

How To Become A Nurse  

Click Here To Discover The 7 Steps To Becoming A Registered Practicing Nurse From Active Qualified Working Nurses

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you