Page 1

Dear host family,

My name is Sandra, I am 23 years old and I live in Barcelona with my sister. My mother's name is Merce and she works as a dentist, and my father is Joan and he works in property registration. I have a sister called Claudia who is 3 years older than I. We are a very close, sociable and communicative family. Although my parents are divorced, my sister and I have a very good relationship with both of them. My father got married to Mari Carmen, my stepmother, 10 years ago. She works as a primary school teacher. She is very sweet and I have a very good relation with her. They, my mother father and his wife, live in Girona, a small city in the North of Catalonia. Both my mum and dad have one sister and both my aunts have one and two daughters respectively, so we are a wide family with a lot of women and I think this fact has made me a very family oriented person. One of my cousins is one year younger than I. My cousin's name is Nina, and we have a very close relationship. She is one of my best friends. She is studying the third year of psychology. I have had a boyfriend for two years, his name is Lucas and he is applying too to be an au pair. I met him at university where he studied economics, like me. He supports me with my decision to go for one year to work as an au pair in the USA. And I don't think this will be a problem for us, because we were separated for a long period during my student’s interchange year and this experience made our relationship stronger. When I finished high school, I decided to study Economics in Barcelona. I went to live with my sister in the same flat. Last year, I lived for 6 months in Germany. I took part in a student’s exchange European program, called Erasmus. Living away from home has taught me to appreciate many things, to be much more responsible than I was before and to mature as a person. It was a very good opportunity to learn more about myself and meet new people, be in touch with a different culture. And also a good opportunity to improve my English. In my exchange experience, I met Lesli, an American girl who lived in the same student house. She taught me many things about the American way of life, which arose even more my desire to know more about your country and culture. My motivation to work as an au pair in the USA started 2 summers ago, when I spent two weeks in Cadaqués (a famous coastal town where Dalí and many artists used to live) taking care of Ben, a baby of 9 months. He is from San Francisco, and his parents are really educated and loving people. I really enjoyed these weeks taking care of Ben, I love this baby... You can see Ben in one picture of the pictures document. He was very funny and sweet. My family and my friends say that I'm a very motherly, responsible and loving person. Furthermore, I love kids, so this year I have decided to pursue my dream of working as an au pair in America. They support my decision and they are very happy for me. I'm delighted to have the opportunity to improve my English, meet your lifestyle, your habits and your country, which I greatly admire. I have experience looking after children from 9 months old to thirteen years old, both girls and boys. In 2012 I took care of Ben, who was 9 months old. I took him to the beach, read him stories, fed him, changed his diapers and put him to sleep. Between 2009 and 2011, I was taking care of Maria, who was 4, and Pablo who was 7.Then came Anna and Bruno, who I was taking care of for many years and after that time occasional babysitting for their parents. I started when Anna was one year old, and Bruno six. Now Anna is 6 and her brother 12. I used to pick them up from school, took them home and helped them with their homework. When they finished we play with different games, or we drew pictures. Before the diner I bathed the children, helped them to put their pajamas on, and prepare the diner. Anna was a bit


picky about food so I used all kinds of strategies to make her eat without really forcing her, like playing with the fork as if was a plane. 4 summers ago, I was taking care of 3 girls and one baby. The girls were 8, 6 and 3 years old. And Miguel, the baby, 1 year old. I took care of them sporadic days in summer. I was helping them with their summer homework and when they finished we used to go to for a walk or play. I used to shower the children, help them put the pajamas on, and prepare the dinner for them. Sometimes if we had time, after the diner I read bedtime stories to them. I’ve always treasured the chance to spend time with children. I’ve learned to see the word through their eyes, and understanding they way they perceive time has made me a more patient and loving person. Children have given me much more than I have given them and have definitely made me a much better person. Apart from my childcare experience, when I have some leisure time, I also love reading books, listening to music and watching movies. I'm a very active person, during the winter I go skiing with my family or friends and in summer I love the sun and the glorious beaches of Catalonia I like swimming and biking. I love traveling and learning about other cultures and ways of life, meeting new people, going out with friends or preparing lunch or dinner with my family or with my friends too. When I have time I like cooking. I like healthy eating, but therewith, I love chocolate cookies, cheesecakes and fruit, chips and smoothies. I am so excited with the opportunity to know you better and become a member of your family. I hope you had fun reading my letter and knowing a bit more about me and my dream. I look forward to hearing from you! Best wishes, Sandra.


In this picture i was with my sister in the bathtub, I was 1 years and my sister Claudia 4 years.!

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

In the right picture we were in " El perito moreno" in La patagonia Argentina. It was 3 years ago. WE made a travel for Argentina, we were one week in Buenos Aires and one week traveling for Patagonia. It was amazing. !

! ! ! ! !

In the left picture I was with my mom in a family diner. It was summer and we did the diner in my aunt house in CadaquĂŠs. !

! ! ! ! !

! !

In the right picture I was with my sister in Muir Woods National Park, San Francisco. It was 2 summer ago. With my mom and my sister , we did a route for USA . We start in San Francisco, the second stop was the city of Chicago and finally we finished the route in New York. We did in 15 days, it was tired but amazing.!

! ! !


!

In the left picture I was with my daddy and sister in a diner of the birthday of Mamen ( Mari Carmen the wife of my father). It was in the last summer. !

!

The picture in the right I was with my boyfriend, Lucas. We were in a plane we were going to Paris. I gives him the trip for his birthday. !

Here i was with Mireia and Laia in library of university. We were studying for final exams. I met Mireia and Laia when I was 12 in high school. And we are very good friends. Mireia studies pharmacy and Laia dentistry. !

!

The right picture I was with my sweet Ben, we were coming back to house of the beach. Ben is the american baby who i took care two summers ago in CadaquĂŠs. I was spending a fantastic time with him. He was laughing all the time.!

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

Finally with my small love , Gris is my dog since 13 years ago. I love animals and since I was small I wanted a dog. Finally, when I was ten years, my father gave me a dog for my birthday. Gris is very sweet and loving. Gris in english is gray. We decided this name because when Gris was a baby his color was gray.!

SandraC3466  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you