Page 1

Dear host family, First of all, I want to thank you for watching my profile and reading my letter. It would be a pleasure to know that you are interested in me. I imagine you may be full of expectations, so I will try to be as much descriptive as possible to make you know a little about me. My name is Romina, I’m 23 and I’m from Buenos Aires, Argentina. I live some kilometres away from the capital city, in a calm city called Villa de Mayo. My father is Luis, a fifty-four-yearold, kind man who works in a bank. My mother, Patricia, is fifty-four, too. She’s my role model. I’ve always looked up to her because she’s gentle, kind, loving, responsible… a beautiful person! I have a sister called Daniela; she’s three years older than me. She doesn’t live with us anymore because she moved to another city with her boyfriend, Julián, some years ago (the best part is that now I am all by myself in the bedroom! haha). The four of us have developed a great relationship; we’re always there for each other. I’m really grateful that I have such a beautiful and loving family. I am currently studying to be an English teacher at Teacher Training College ‘Joaquín V. González’ in the city of Buenos Aires. So far I’ve taken thirteen subjects, including Pedagogy and Psychology, which helped me understand what the psychological development of children is about, and what their learning process is like. My favourite subject is Phonetics, the study of English pronunciation. It is highly interesting to learn how all the sounds and the intonation are produced in order to convey what we want to say. My hobbies are drawing (especially portraits in pencil), doing handicraft, singing and going to Zumba lessons. I love dancing because it helps me release my stress while having lots of fun! Not to mention the benefits it offers as good exercise to keep my body fit. I also love to play the keyboard. To sum up, I can say that I’m really into artistic activities. I have two jobs. One of them is teaching English to kids at a private institute, which is two blocks away from home (really convenient!). I love spending time with them. I’m in charge of two courses. I love planning the lessons because I try to include different activities and games to help them learn in a more effective way. I truly believe that games play an essential role in the children’s learning process, and that we shouldn’t underestimate their enormous importance. What I like the most about working with kids is watching them learn new things every day, observing their progress and how much I can learn from a completely different perspective. The other job is quite different, but I like it as much as I like the first one. I’m a make-up artist and I do make-up for adults and children (the latter at birthday parties). I also do hairstyles for kids. I use flowers and glitter to decorate their hairdos. Girls love those hairstyles, and boys like wearing colourful “mohawks.” Working with them is really fun and rewarding, because you can see how their faces light up when they look at themselves in the mirror.


My experience with children began many years ago. I’ve always had a close relationship with my two cousins, who are younger than me. I spent a lot of time playing with them when they were young kiddies. That’s when I learnt I can relate to children. It’s like an innate connection I have with the little ones. Soon after I graduated from school, I entered college to become a kindergarten teacher. I studied there for several months, until I realized I wanted something different for my future. Luckily, I had the pleasure to work in a very humble kindergarten for a month. It was a great experience, since I could create a bond with the kids, even though I just spent a month there. Unfortunately, I wasn’t allowed to take pictures so I don’t have any ‘physical’ memories from there. But the most valuable memories I treasure are the ones in which I remember playing with them, giving them breakfast (those kids were very poor and some of them had little to eat at home), and receiving their warm hugs and kisses. Some years ago, I babysat two beautiful children: a baby girl named Olivia and an eightyear-old boy, Teseo. I had to play with them, prepare lunch, feed the baby, pick the boy up from school and take him to his swimming lessons; helping him with the homework and changing the baby’s clothes. I learnt a lot from those kids, especially from the girl, because it was the first time I took care of a baby. After that, I worked in a shop called “Barbie Store,” which was located in a big mall called “Unicenter.” I had to do the make-up, hair and nails for the girls who wanted to have some fun there. There was an enormous playroom with lots of little houses and accessories for the Barbie dolls, and a great number of dresses and crowns for the girls to wear. There was a fashion runway on which the girls catwalked, and I had to create choreographies to make them dance to the music. Then, I entered college and I started teaching. I’ve decided to be an Au Pair because I’ve always wanted to live in an English speaking country. I’d like to feel more confident with the language and to improve my fluency. Of course, I’ve applied to this program because I love spending time with children, and I would be honoured to be part of your kids’ childhood. I think this experience will help me grow personally, and will encourage my professional development. I’m looking forward to finding a caring and loving family, which could make me feel at home. Naturally, I’m full of expectations and anxieties to live this new and crazy experience, to meet you, to get to know your culture and your country. I want you to know that you can trust me. I’m very responsible, I’m used to spending time with children and I’m fully aware of the great commitment I am taking. I really hope you like me. Looking forward to getting in touch with you soon!

Lots of love,

Romi =)


Romina


My family


More About me...…… I was born on May 8th, 1993

My favourite colour


I love…


‌meeting people from all over the world

Ireland

The States Brazil


…ART! =)


Professional Development

With some of my fellow teachers =)

I’m studying to be an English teacher. I teach children at a private institute called ‘Waves.’ I also work as a substitute teacher at another institute in a nearby city. I’m a professional makeup artist. I do makeup for adults and children. I’ve been working with children for many years. At a conference for English teachers =)


Teaching English!


Babysitting


Make-up and hair!


I’m the Au Pair you’re looking for…

Looking forward to meeting you!!

Rominac5484  
Advertisement