Issuu on Google+

Peta-Gaye Clarke Dear Host Family, My name is Peta-Gaye Clarke, I am 25 years old and I was born and raised in St. Catherine, Jamaica. In 2006, I attained my high school diploma after which I attended the University of the West-Indies for three (3) years and attained my Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry and Biotechnology. My interest in becoming an Au pair in the USA stems from the fact that I love children, I enjoy caring for them and where I can teach them in any respect that is necessary for their proper growth and development. Being the second eldest of three (3) siblings, I was always helping my mom with my younger sisters, whether it had been to help fix breakfast or help with homework. Having this experience I learnt how to be responsible at a young age. I consider myself to be a smart, creative fun-loving, honest, friendly, caring and patient individual. I think these qualities among others instilled in me since I was a toddler have helped shaped me into the individual I am today and has also helped to win over the trust and hearts of many children I’ve had the privilege of working with and caring for over the years both related family and non-related. My babysitting experience started about 5 years ago when I began looking after a very sweet, smart and adorable three (3) year old girl. She likes when I comb her hair in a pretty style, when we have coloring contests and play dress up and hide and seek. We always have a lot of fun together. In the same time period I’ve cared for other children between ages three (3) months to eight (8) years old. For the older kids, we’ve rode bikes together, went to the pool, played sports including basketball among others while for the babies, I would change diapers, feed them, bathe them, put them to bed, and carry them out for walks or watch educational kids programs on television with them. I’m really also interested because it’s a cultural exchange program, I’ve travelled to the US before but it has never been long enough for me to really experience and appreciate fully the American culture. I really see this as an opportunity for me to live with a new family, meet new people from a completely different culture than my own and I’m really excited about the prospect of also being able to study in the US. In the near future, I hope to pursue a master’s degree in Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health. I believe that this opportunity is sure to provide an avenue for me to do so as well as more options with regards to the ideal University for me to pursue it. In my spare time, I like to read novels and inspirational books including some by my favorite inspirational writers including Joel Osteen and Joyce Meyers. I also like to exercise because I like to stay fit. I enjoy participating in fund raising activities, taking long drives to the country side here in Jamaica; we have the most beautiful beaches by the way and it’s really a joy for me to see and experience nature as it exists here. I am a healthy and polite young lady, as it regards to food, I’m not really picky about anything and as far as I know I’m not allergic to anything either. My favorite foods would have to be callaloo and saltfish with fried dumplings and I also like curry chicken all of which I can cook very well and I’m also excited about sharing that aspect of my culture with you.


Peta-Gaye Clarke I understand how difficult it can be for you to juggle with work, look after household duties as well as other tasks that may come up on a daily basis while also having to deal with the responsibilities that accompanies being a parent. Well that’s where I’ll be helpful. I’m fully prepared to get to know you and your family on an individual basis, to learn your likes and dislikes as well as the routine for your everyday lifestyle and try my best to fit in where I can and as best as I can. I’m fully prepared to be a big sister and positive role model to your child/children, to help them with their homework or take them to a sports game, to love them as I do my own brothers and sisters. I’m prepared to take initiative when it comes to household duties or other responsibilities and to go above and beyond the call of duty in any respect that is necessary to make you and family’s lives easier. I hope that you’ll be impressed with my Au pair application and choose me to be your Au pair not only because of qualities about myself I’ve listed in the above paragraphs but I consider myself a very ambitious young lady and I sincerely believe that I could be a positive role model for your child/children and someone who will have your child/children best interest at heart at all times. I also really hope that the experience will be beyond any of our expectations and prove to be of great benefit for both of us. I do look forward to meeting you and your family.

Sincerely, Peta-Gaye A. Clarke



PetaGayeC87633