Issuu on Google+

DEAR HOST FAMILY My name is Mónica Tarazona Cordero, I am 21 years old and I live in Bogotá Colombia with my parents, my aunt and my sister. My mother is Teresa Cordero and she works as housewife, my father is Pedro Tarazona and he works as merchant in the center of Bogotá, my aunt has a hairdresser, she is a professional stylist an and I love her as my second mother because he has lived with me all my life. Finally, my funny sister, she is Xiomara Tarazona and she’s 22 years old, is student of financial administration in Pilot University of Bogotá and works in the area of accounts of a company. We are a very close, sociable and communicative family. My family is so large and I love it. My mother has four sisters and three brothers, and my father has two sisters, so I have many uncles, aunts and little cousins. I love children and I have been sometime taking care of my little cousins when my uncles were at work, preparing their food, helping them with homework, in fact, I spent some time giving lessons of English to Sebastian, one of my cousins. I have been always surrounded children!

When I finished high school, I decided to study modern languages in the EAN University, here in Bogotá Colombia. I love my career because it allowed me to learn other languages ​as Portuguese and French. However, I would like to improve my level of English, is really important for me because I know that I could open a lot of doors around the world. It was one of the most important decisions in my life. Fortunately my family support me with this dream because they always want the best things for me and they say that I'm a very motherly, responsible and loving person, furthermore, I love kids, so this year I decided to fulfill my dream of being an au pair in USA. Also, I know that living away from home will teach me to appreciate many things, to be much more responsible and to mature as person. Currently, I study in the mornings and afternoons work in a call center of customer service.


I'm delighted to have the opportunity to improve my English, meet your lifestyle, your habits and your country, which I greatly admire. And what better way than doing what I love! I love spending time with children and learning everything they can teach me every day. They learn a lot of us, but we learn more from them than we think. To me, it is wonderful see them growing up with us and learning, little by little, to be more independent. I have experience in caring for children from one year to thirteen years old, girls and boys too. I took care of the three girls, they were the daughters of the neighboring, and their names are: Juliana, she was a baby of six months, Valentina, Sara was three years old. Her mother worked all day, we enjoyed taking care of them all the time. Unfortunately, they moved us long time ago and we not heard any more about them. Afterwards, I made my social service in a foundation for deaf children, I was with them a short time but for me it was a beautiful experience because I realized that are children who despite their limitation, they are always happy and do not care for insignificant things as an adult that is complete. After, in 2012 I began work on Sitel, a call center to customer service and there I met many people, including Martha Duarte a good partner. Unfortunately after 4 months I had to leave this job for my study. However, Martha worked all the week and she had no someone to care of his daughter Maria Fernanda 6 years, then as I did not work on weekends, I offered to care for her on weekends until Martha out of work. Maria Fernanda is a very sensible girl, I helped to do her homework, and we played in the park and watched movies all the time.

After, in 2013 I took care at Santiago, a beautiful child of 4 years (you can see him with me in the photos), he is the son of Claudia Rodriguez, a very good friend of my aunt. She lives in our neighborhood and last year she worked very hard every afternoon then I took care of him in the afternoon when I came from the university. It was for a few months but I feel that he taught me many things, is a very courageous boy, very active and very clever, I really I love him and miss him very much. I love working with children because they know how to get the best out of myself and I try to teach them to do their best. It is a very rewarding job. Besides childcare experience, I also love reading books, when I have some leisure time, listening to the radio and watching movies, traveling and learning about other cultures and ways of life, meeting new people, talking and sharing experiences, going out with friends or preparing lunch or dinner with my family or with my friends too. I like healthy eating and cooking too. My favorite food is Pasta and I love all types of sweets and chocolates. I am so excited with the opportunity to know you better and to be a member of your family. I hope you had fun reading my letter and knowing a bit more about me and my dream.

I look forward to hearing from you! Best wishes, M贸nica :)



MonicaT595126