Issuu on Google+

Dear Host Family, My name is Maria and I’m 21 years old. I live in Mardati, a settlement close to Aghios Nikolaos in Crete island. I’ m still studying at the University of Crete in the Derartment of Primary Education· I’ ll graduate in July. A month ago I have worked full time for two weeks for a family as babysitter in the nearby village, Kritsa. I had worked again for this family in the past, during school vacation, when the kids stay at home. The family has two children, Lukas 5 years old and Themelis 9 years old. We were playing outdoors or inside their home creating crafts, puzzles and playing video or board games. I also was preparing their food and I was responsible for their hygiene and their bath. Me and Themelis were spending time studying together his subjects for school. When I was putting the kids to sleep in midday or in night, I was tiding the house. So I have a lot of child care experience. I am also in touch with children right now in the framework of practice of teaching training according to the study guide of my University. The previous semester I was teaching a class, that consisted of an average of 20 students. This semester I am in different school, in which operate as parallel support in children with learning disabilities for two weeks. Let me now tell you a bit about who I am: my full name is Maria Lasthiotaki and I am born and raised in Aghios Nikolaos. I live right now alone in Rethymno because of my studies. My home is in Mardati, where I live with my mum and dad. My family consists of me, my mother Sofia, my father Ranagioths and my younger sister Dimitra. We have also a dog called Dolly, that she is white and hairy! My father works as forester and my mother is hotel employee. My sister Dimitra left recently home because of her marriage. She is not work yet, because she is pregnant. In my free time I like to hang out with my friends, read books, exercise and cook. As a person I’ m a little shy but outgoing, happy, patient and responsible. I really love working with children and that is why I think I would make a good au pair. I would like to be an au pair because I think that is a perfect way to explore a new culture, know people, gain experiences and improve language skills. The combination of child care and stay in America makes me happy. For my future I dream to teach in the school I attended throughout my childhood. If you think I sound like someone that would fit in your family or if you would like to know a bit more about me, then, please contact me. Hope to hear from you soon!

Yours Maria Lasthiotaki


Maria Lasthiotaki



MariaL3029