Issuu on Google+

Dear    family,     My  name  is  Estel  and  I  am  21.  I  was  born  in  a  small  village  called  Matadepera,  but   for  the  last  year  I  have  been  living  in  Sabadell  (a  town  near  Barcelona)  sharing  a   flat  with  3  friends  of  mine.     My  parents  are  Jaume  and  Montse,  my  father  is  a  carpenter  and  my  mother  is  a   primary  school  teacher.  I  have  got  a  brother,  Jordi.  He  is  18,  he  is  a  golf  athlete  and   he  combines  it  with  the  psychology  degree  in  college.     I’ve  got  a  good  relationship  with  my  parents  and  my  brother.  In  this  late  year  we   have  seen  less  each  other  because  I’ve  been  living  in  another  place  but  that  doesn’t   made  us  loose  contact  at  all,  because  we  have  lunch  together  almost  every  Sunday   so  we  can  do  all  kind  of  family  activities  .     This  year  I’ve  been  living  in  Sabadell  and  my  second  family  have  been  my   flatmates:  Irene,  Adrian  and  Carlos.  We  live  in  a  beautiful  flat  downtown  near  the   theatres  where  we  spend  most  of  our  time  sharing  our  passion.  We  all  are  in  a   musical  theatre  company  called  TTMU.  When  I  finished  high  school  I  went  to   college  to  study  a  philosophy  degree  in  Universitat  Autònoma  de  Barcelona,   meanwhile  I  was  studying  performing  arts,  working  and  acting  with  the  company.   After  two  years  I  realized  I  couldn’t  cope  with  everything  so  I  decided  to  leave   philosophy  and  focuse  in  theatre  and  work.       This  year  I’ve  ended  some  projects  so  I’ve  decided  to  be  an  au  pair  for  a  year.  I   think  it  will  be  a  great  experience  for  me  and  an  investment  for  the  future.  I  want   to  improve  my  English,  get  to  know  another  country,  another  culture,  and  meet   new  people  and  learn  from  them…  Given  the  fact  that  I  love  everything  that   involves  kids,  I  think  this  will  be  the  best  way  to  do  it.  I  have  chosen  US  because,   although  I’ve  never  been  there,  I  love  everything  that  I  have  read  about  it  and  the   things  that  I  have  heard  from  my  American  friends  who  came  to  Spain  as  au  pairs.     The  first  time  I  took  care  of  children  it  was  in  my  family.  I’ve  got  ten  cousins  and   six  of  them  are  younger  than  me.  I  have  enjoyed  taking  care  of  children  since  then.   I  was  too  young  but  I  could  show  my  parents  my  sense  of  responsibility,  so  when  I   was  14  and  my  neighbors  asked  my  parents  If  they  thought  I  could  take  care  of  his   little  baby  they  answered  yes  with  no  doubt.  I  was  so  happy!  Since  that  moment  I   was  recommended  to  more  families  and  I  babysit  and  taught  private  lessons  to   more  kids  of  my  village  until  the  last  year  when  I  moved  to  Sabadell.       I  started  working  with  kids  in  group  when  C.D  Terrassa,  the  club  where  I  played   field  hockey,  asked  me  if  I  wanted  to  create  a  group  of  the  youngest  players  and   teach  them  sports  before  they  would  became  part  of  a  team.  So  together  with  one   of  my  teammates  we  started  to  lead  a  group  of  children  from  2  to  5  years  old.  The   experience  was  really  good  so  the  Club  asked  if  we  could  continue  with  the   summercamp,  working  everyday.  It  was  so  exhausting  but  we  were  happy  because   the  kids  had  learned  a  lot  and  had  a  great  time!    


I  was  in  high  school  by  then  and  I  decided  to  get  the  “Titol  de  monitor  d’activitats   de  lleure  infantil  i  juvenil”,  a  childcare  qualification.  It’s  a  very  respected  diploma   in  Spain  and  demonstrates  good  experience  with  children.  Later,  I  started  to  work   as  a  qualified  educator.     I  trained  a  hockey  team  with  kids  from  3  to  5  years  old  in  Matadepera  Hoquei  Club,   I  taught  extra  scholar  English  in  two  different  schools  to  4  year  old  kids,  I  was  a   monitor  in  the  Prehistoric  Museum  of  Moià  for  2  years  with  the  activities  that   involved  kids  (workshops,  excursions,…),  every  year  we  had  to  deal  with  more   than  3000  kids  from  different  schools  around  Catalonia  in  just  two  weeks!!  (that’s   the  most  exhausting  job  I  have  ever  had…)  that  was  challenging  but  rewarding   because  I  learned  a  lot  from  them.  I  also  work  every  summer  in  the  municipal   summercamps  in  my  village.    The  last  two  years  I  have  been  focused  in  my  performing  arts  studies  in  Barcelona   and  Sabadell  so  I  got  a  job  in  Betania  Patmos  School,  in  the  uptown  of  Barcelona   where  the  pupils  were  totally  different  from  my  village  kids.  The  first  year  I   worked  as  a  dinning  hall  monitor  in  the  primary  and  secondary  school  but  the   second  year  there  was  a  vacancy  as  a  teacher  assistant  in  preschool  (kids  from  1  to   5  years  old),  I  applied  for  it  and  I  got  the  job.  It  was  a  full  time  job  and  I  learnt  a  lot   from  the  children  and  the  teachers.  There  was  a  friendly  and  familiar  environment   and  they  where  so  sad  when  I  left  but  also  happy  because  they  knew  that  being  an   au  pair  would  be  a  good  experience  for  me.  My  5  year-­‐old  pupils  asked  me  if  I   could  take  them  with  me  in  my  suitcase  to  meet  “my  new  kids”.     As  an  unpaid  worker  I  have  been  monitor  in  the  boyscouts  of  Matadepera,  I  have   been  vocal  coach  assistant  in  “13  the  musical”  in  Sabadell  (a  musical  formed  by   teenagers)  and  the  director  of  the  kids  choir  of  the  show  “Cantem  Disney”  (Singing   Disney).     In  my  future  I  would  like  to  work  on  performing  arts  pedagogy  research  so  when  I   come  back  I’m  planning  to  audition  for  “Institut  del  Teatre”,  the  most  important   performing  arts  academy  in  Catalonia.     I  can  say  about  me  that  I’m  a  responsible,  mature,  social,  helpful  and  a  patient   person.  I’m  playful  and  I  love  to  make  kids  laugh  but  everything  has  a  time  and   there  are  rules  that  we  have  to  respect  so  I  can  make  kids  understand  it.  I’m  very   imaginative  and  I  like  to  tell  stories,  sing  songs,  do  handicrafts,…       As  regards  my  leisure  activities,  I  like  to  do  sports.  I  play  hockey,  I  swim,  I  run,  I  go   hiking,…  I  like  to  read,  listen  to  music,  spend  time  with  my  friends,  go  to  the   theatre,  to  the  cinema,  go  to  concerts,  cook,  dance,  go  shopping,  DIY  (in  Pinterest   website  I  found  most  of  the  ideas,  I  love  it!)     I  think  that  looking  for  and  choosing  an  au  pair  shouldn’t  be  an  easy  job  because   you  want  the  best  for  your  child(ren),  but  I  will  do  my  very  best  to  make  sure  we   spend  a  great  year  together  so  the  well-­‐being  of  your  children  will  be  my  objective.   I  hope  to  be  part  of  your  family  during  this  year.     Estel.  



Estel A.