Issuu on Google+

Dear Host Family,

I am writing you to give you some information about myself. My name is AmĂŠlie and I am almost 21 years old. I am currently living in the South of Belgium with my parents and my sister who is 18 years old. I have recently graduated as a language (English and German) teacher for primary and lower secondary schools. I have always wanted to work with children and teenagers and I often have great relationships with them. To complete my studies I had to do some trainings in different schools so I have quite a few experiences in teaching, helping the children with their homework and tutoring. I taught children from 7 to 16 years old more or less in German, English and also French as a second language. Then I love travelling and meeting new people all around the world. Unfortunately I have never left Europe even though I always dreamt of visiting the United States. I had an amazing chance to go on holidays with my family in various countries such as Spain, France, Greece, Italy, Turkey and Cyprus. Last year I went to Innsbruck, a wonderful city in Austria to spend my Erasmus programme. I lived in a flat with two natives for more than 5 months and it was one of the best experience in my life! I immediately felt safe and comfortable there despite the language barrier. I enjoyed the time I spent in the primary class and I had a very good feeling with the children since the first time I met them. I got to know them through many activities we did together (games, mathematics, gymnastics, etc.).

To know a bit more about my experiences with children, I have just come back from England (Teignmouth more precisely) where I spent 6 weeks with children mostly aged between 10 and 15 years old and coming from Spain, Germany and Italy. I was a supervisor there, which means I had to look out for them and do some activities with them. For example we danced, did some karaoke, made some friendship bracelets, played football, went to the beach and did some excursions together. I got plenty of positive feedbacks from the kids but also from the other staff members and my employer. To finish with some of my hobbies, I am quite dynamic so I love doing sports and fitness. I have also been swimming since I am 5 years old and I really like dancing (especially Zumba). I enjoyed listening to some music, spending time with my friends, cooking, watching a movie from time to time (and I love Disney ones).

Yours faithfully, Amelie

Page 02


Photo collage

This is a recent picture of my family and I. You can see my parents and my little sister. I took it when they came to visit me at Christmas last year in Austria, while I was studying there for my Erasmus programme (one semester). We had a really great time and we enjoyed those days together.

You can see my Erasmus class on this picture. We took it in December as we were having an international dinner. I had an amazing time with them and it was really nice to meet people from Spain, Germany, Italy and learn more about their cultures.

This picture is really recent. I took it this summer when I was working in England as a supervisor for International Projects. You can see a part of the animation team when we had the “Haunted House” event. We really enjoyed putting some costumes and make-up on.


Photo collage

This a picture of myself with two lovely girls I met in England this summer. The one on the left was 7 and I spent more than a month with her as she was my employer’s daughter The other one was a bit older and stayed 3 weeks with us. They were both really friendly and I had a lot of fun with them.

I took this picture when I did my training session in a primary school in Austria when I was an Erasmus student last year. The children were between 7 and 8 years old. I spent 10 mornings with them and did lots of different activities. It was a sad moment for them, and for me as well, when I had to come back home.