Issuu on Google+

25TH YEAR, NO. 42






O’Dea ends Eastside Catholic’s winning streak, 20-17 Page 14

PFOS found in North Fork of Issaquah Creek BY LIZZ GIORDANO Water testing by Sammamish Plateau Water detected minute concentrations of perfluorooctane sulfonate, commonly known as PFOS,

in surface water on the North Fork of Issaquah Creek. Sammamish Plateau Water General Manager Jay Krauss, addressing the Sammamish City Council on Oct. 11, said even though the district doesn’t draw water from the creek, it was tested because of the

proximity to the district’s wells. Sammamish Plateau Water and the City of Issaquah are both testing for perfluorinated chemicals as PFOS contamination has spread across the Lower Issaquah Valley Aquifer. Over the summer,

water from Sammamish Plateau’s Wells No. 7 and No. 8 were found to contain trace amounts of PFOS. The detection is at a level significantly below what the Environmental Protection Agency considers unsafe. PFOS has been detected in

levels high above the EPA’s advisory level in Issaquah’s Gilman Well No. 4. Water from that well is run through a treatment system leased by the City of Issaquah and is tested regularly. The most SEE PFOS, PAGE 8

Valderrama challenges Goodman for state 45th District seat BY LIZZ GIORDANO Sammamish Deputy Mayor Ramiro Valderrama is trying to unseat the current state Representative in the 45th District, Democrat Roger Goodman. Valderrama, a Republican, plans to stay on the City Council if he is elected to the Legislature. “If the citizens of Sammamish want me to stay, I will stay at no compensation to the city,” he said.

Ramiro Valderrama

Roger Goodman

Valderrama said he would do that to avoid the “perception of wealth” and that it’s not unprecedented to SEE 45TH DISTRICT, PAGE 10

State board rules against trail residents’ permit appeal BY LIZZ GIORDANO The state Shoreline Hearings Board ruled against the group Sammamish Home Owners and other residents who live along the East Lake Sammamish Trail, denying the group’s appeal of a permit approval. The appeal alleged misapplication of wetland regulations for a shoreline development permit. The decision, dated Sept. 14, affirmed a previous

decision to grant a shoreline substantial development permit to King County for the redevelopment of the trail from Southeast 43rd Way to Southeast 33rd Street. The appeal, which consolidated court filings from King County, the City of Sammamish and Sammamish homeowners, mainly focused on the location of a stop sign and stormwater runoff onto SEE RULING, PAGE 8

State park debuts new playground Above, Sammamish resident Angela Zheng, 5, and her brother Henry, 4, make music on the aluminum xylophone as children and their families came out in clear weather Oct. 16 to enjoy the new destination playground at Lake Sammamish State Park the day after its official opening to the public. Right, Lakemont resident Megan Latham, 5, rides the zipline while mom Jenny looks on. A geodesic climbing net, a climbing mushroom, mountain and coal mine, swings, towers, slides and an 8-foot-tall blue heron are among the attractions. The playground came to be thanks to Friends of Lake Sammamish State Park, local donors and volunteers, Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission. PHOTOS BY GREG FARRAR | gfarrar@



$1 Prsrt Std U.S. Postage PAID Kent, WA Permit No. 71





Fifth District race could sway control of state Senate BY LIZZ GIORDANO lgiordano@ Republicans are seeking to preserve their one-seat majority in the state Senate, and the winner of the 5th District race this November could be the difference-maker. Aiming to help Republicans retain control of the chamber, state Rep. Chad Magendanz gave up his House seat to challenge Democratic incumbent Sen. Mark Mullet, who is considered vulnerable in the otherwise-Republicanleaning 5th District. “It’s important for the 5th District to have someone in the majority to represent them,” Magendanz said. “If you have someone who can chair committees, who can drive the agenda versus responding to the agenda, it makes a big

difference.” With 26 of the Senate’s 49 seats up for re-election this November, either party could end up in control of the chamber. Mullet eked out a victory in the August primary, winning 50.6 percent to Magendanz’s 49.2 percent. Money has poured into the race, with both candidates raising more than twice as much as the 5th District House candidates, according to the state Public Disclosure Commission. Mullet, a small business owner, has raised almost $400,000, making him the leading Democratic fundraiser this year in state legislative races. Magendanz, a freelance software design consultant, has raised almost $350,000. A political action committee with a Sammamish mailing

Magendanz, most of which came from the Seattle-based group Mainstream Voters of WA. Most of its funding comes from the Mark Mullet Chad Washington Democrats’ Magendanz Harry Truman and address, Working Kennedy Funds. Families, has spent Both candidates more than $400,000 say education will be in independent a top priority for the expenditures to oppose Legislature during the Mullet, printing mailers next session, but they and buying advertising have very different time. proposals for bridging Since 2013, Working the education funding Families has raised gap identified in the $1.3 million, almost state Supreme Court’s all of it coming from McCleary decision. The Leadership Magendanz proposes Council, which is a levy reform plan tied to the Senate that would reduce Republican Caucus. local property taxes In May, Issaquah while raising them developer Skip Rowley at the state level. The gave $50,000 to The plan restricts the use Leadership Council, of local levies to pay to which he has been for education and donating since at least restores some or all of 2007. the statewide common Almost $200,000 schools levy. With this has been spent change, he said, the in independent average property tax expenditures opposing will remain LAURA D.ePROOF.SR.CMYK.PDF 1017the LAMsame.

Mullet said local WE ASKED, THEY ANSWERED school levy votes are We put 15 questions about the best way to get local and state issues to state money for education. representative candidates “I refuse to vote for Mark Mullet and Chad Magendanz. Read their responses on Page 13. any bill that takes our local school levy, lowers it and raises the state levy,” Mullet already voted on and said. “By definition, make our problem what that is going to in Olympia 10 times do is redistribute our harder to solve?” Mullet Issaquah Public School asked. “The current dollars to eastern system is unreliable, Washington.” but that doesn’t mean Magendanz said you flush local levies the courts have down the toilet. It consistently said the means you make local use of local levies to levies reliable. The way fund education is you do that is make unconstitutional. them permanent.” “The paramount duty Mullet said he is is the state’s duty and not looking to raise if you have areas that property taxes or can’t pass a local levy, establish a capital gains that’s not equitable,” tax in the state. Instead, Magendanz said. he says he is focusing He said his levy on collecting an online reform plan is fair, sales tax to increase constitutional and education funding. He stable. predicts an extra billion “Why, in a million dollars per budget cycle years, would you take could be collected from away a revenue source SEE 5TH DISTRICT, PAGE 12 that everyone has



Name: 17679/WinPower Strategies; Width: 60p1.8; Depth: 6.5 in; Color: Black; File Name: :17000-17999:17600-17699:17679-WinPower Strategies; Comment: SR POLIITICAL; Ad Number: 17679



Oki sells 10 local golf courses for $137M to Chinese conglomerate BY MIKE ROSENBERG The Seattle Times Oki Golf announced Oct. 11 that it has sold its 10 local golf courses at eight locations for $137 million to a Chinese conglomerate, but Oki will continue to operate the courses. The buyer is HNA Holdings, a unit of a Hong Kong-based company that operates airlines, hotels, and businesses that deal in financial services and real estate, and also owns other golf courses around the world. Golf has been struggling in recent years with fewer players hitting the links; Nike even recently abandoned its golf business. But founder Scott Oki, a former Microsoft executive, said in a statement he was “approached several times regarding acquisition.” He called the deal a strong fit, culturally and financially. Oki Golf will continue to manage the courses that were sold, and there was no immediate indication that the

courses themselves would face any significant changes. The golf courses that were sold total 180 holes across eight properties on 1,880 acres in King, Pierce, Snohomish, Kitsap and Thurston counties. They are: two highend courses at the Golf Club at Newcastle; Washington National Golf Club in Auburn (home to the University of Washington golf teams); the Golf Club at Redmond Ridge; Trophy Lake Golf & Casting in Port Orchard, Harbour Pointe Golf Club in Mukilteo; two courses at the Golf Club at Hawks Prairie in Lacey; the Plateau Club in Sammamish; and Indian Summer Golf & Country Club in Olympia. At its peak, Oki had bought 11 courses over nine properties, but now owns none. Oki previously sold its Golf Club at Echo Falls in Snohomish. His firm is also still managing Echo Falls, the first course he purchased, in 1994. HNA owns Hainan Airlines, which flies between Seattle and

China, and recently bought the Carlson Hotels, operator of brands such as Radisson. The Chinese company did not immediately respond to requests for comment, but told the South China Morning Post that it was enticed by the number of rich Chinese tourists playing golf, and saw Seattle as a gateway into the North American golf market. The paper also reported that Oki will pay HNA an annual rent of $7.1 million over five years to operate the courses. It’s unclear how the purchase price compares to what Oki paid for the courses; the terms of those purchases, made mostly from the mid-90s to mid-2000s, were not disclosed.



Sammamish Review wins state general excellence award

Dressing up for National Pug Day DAVID HAYES |

To celebrate National Pug Day, Ellie Grace, owned by Sammamish resident Judy Peterson, wears her best bath robe and curlers for NW Pugs’ 11th Annual Pug-n-Treats Party Oct. 15 at Riverdog Canine Coaching Facility in Issaquah.

The Sammamish Review took second place in the General Excellence category in the 2016 Washington Newspaper Publishers Association Better Newspaper Contest. The Review won the award in division with state’s largest-circulation weeklies newspapers having a circulation of 12,500 and up. The contest was judged by members of the New York Press Association. The results were announced at an awards dinner Friday night in Wenatchee that was part of the WNPA’s annual convention.

Name: 17627/Solid Rock Counseling; Width: 29p8.4; Depth: 3 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17600-17699:17627-Solid Rock Counseling; Comment: OCT HELP; Ad Number: 17627


Name: 17536/Issaquah Cedar & Lumber C; Width: 39p10.2; Depth: 5.5 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17500-17599:17536-Issaquah Cedar & Lumber Co; Comment: School Year Ads; Ad Number: 17536

Name: 16073/Sammamish Orthodontics; Width: 19p6.6; Depth: 4 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :16000-16999:16000-16099:16073-Sammamish Orthodontics; Comment: PG. 3 GUARANTEED POSITION; Ad Number: 16073

43.16073.SR.R 425-392-3631 Hours: Mon-Fri 7-5 & Sat 8:30-3:00 5728 E. Lake Sammamish Parkway SE Issaquah, WA 98029







On Further Review

As state park evolves, thank you to its steady hand


he opening of the new destination playground last weekend on Sunset Beach at Lake Sammamish State Park has joined the new boat launch, nature boardwalk and bathhouse building in a list of awesome new improvements that have begun to give it a new face over the last several years. If you haven’t been out there recently, perhaps because of the entry fee or Discover Pass that is now required, please get back out there to enjoy what’s going on. The coming years look exciting, too, and I’m as excited as you are to see new picnic areas, new beaches, new docks and other planned improvements. While celebrating the playground, it’s also a good time to begin our celebration of one of the longtime people who, through his career, has given the park a firm foundation on which to build its future, state

park Cascade Foothills area manager and Issaquah resident Rich Benson. He plans on retiring in Greg Farrar September next year and is gratified to be leaving on a high note. While he eventually became responsible for more than a half-dozen state parks between Stevens Pass and Squak Mountain, the 511-acre Lake Sammamish park is where Benson came in 1979 after studying outdoor recreation and park management at Western Washington University. “To me, It’s almost like home,” he said. “I lived here in the park for 31 years, in the big farmhouse when my kids were little. I have fond memories of living in that place. I’d go out for walks with my wife on a

regular basis. My kids would go out and we’d swim in the lake, four boys. They all really enjoyed the experience. The commute was 50 yards, maybe. There’d be some disadvantages, sometimes people would come up knocking on your door, stuff like that, but in a day-use park it was no big deal.” Back in the day, this was out in the country, said Benson, with the Skyport, farms, no traffic or traffic lights and no shopping centers. “I’d have to run horses out of the park because they were running in the park because they stabled over at Pickering Barn. Neighbors beyond our group camp had farm animals, and sometimes I’d have to chase their cows out of our group camp, things like that. Once the ’80s started coming, the city started changing quite a bit, pretty quickly.” The park fell behind. Benson worked on getting grants for

improvements. “No large capital projects took place for quite some time, so our facilities got older and older, harder to maintain, less attractive, less up-to-date. Now we’re starting to catch up.” The new playground “should be very cool with kids from the area around here, and thanks to (Friends of Lake Sammamish State Park) for making that happen,” Benson said. “I’m not sure it would’ve gotten a whole lot of support if it was just us doing it. State parks has a lot of needs right now, we’re way behind in our maintenance backlog and to put a million dollars into a play structure is something that may not have been high on their priority list. “But we have a great Friends group and some wonderful legislative support that has made that happen, and we’re very grateful for that. The community will be very pleased when

in year-round premier/club sports (as well as orchestra, NJHS, volunteering, etc.) and I am confident that we will find a solution that enables them to pursue their passions outside of school. Schools start and end at very different times all over the country (and world). Whether they dismiss at 2:15 p.m. or 3:15 p.m., schools manage to support athletics and other extracurricular activities. When communities change their school hours, the whole community adjusts accordingly. Despite all these concerns,

most districts that have changed their start time have experienced few problems with regard to athletics. Practice times are rescheduled, and in some cases lights are installed so practice can run a little later. Match times are changed so that students do not have to leave class early. For Issaquah, now that many of our neighboring districts are also starting later, it should be easier to schedule matches. None of this even considers the potential benefits to athletes of getting enough sleep. A March 2011 Stanford

University study found that athletes who sleep more perform better, and in October 2012, the American Academy of Pediatrics cited another study showing that “[a]dolescent athletes who slept eight or more hours each night were 68% less likely to be injured than athletes who regularly slept less.” I am hopeful that Issaquah will follow in the footsteps of our neighboring districts and move our bell times later, and I’m confident that we can find creative solutions to overcome any challenges. Allison May Issaquah

this opens. “We’ve always had a good staff here, which is very rewarding to me,” said Benson. “I’ve grown to love the park.” The feeling of his staff is mutual. Longtime park ranger and current day-to-day manager Tor Bjorklund described Benson’s influence on the park and the park staff’s appreciation. “A major part of the boat launch was because of Rich. He made a presentation and scored No. 1 on a grant for the money to get the permitting started, get the planners and engineers to get the drawings done and get it on the board. It would never be without Rich. It would still be the old boat launch. “Rich treats everybody fairly,” said Bjorklund. “He doesn’t judge anybody. If there’s a complaint made against you, he SEE PARK, PAGE 5

Letters to the editor

School bell times need to be changed

Many people worry that later school start and end times will negatively impact kids involved with extracurricular activities and sports. Outside sports and activities are very important to many students and their families (including mine), but they are extra-curricular; after all, a school’s first obligation is to provide its entire student population with an environment conducive to learning. My two middle school daughters are both involved


REVIEW Published every Thursday by The Issaquah Press Group 1085 12th Ave. NW, Suite D1 | P.O. Box 1328 Issaquah, King County, WA 98027

STAFF Charles Horton.......................................General manager Scott Stoddard...............................................................Editor Neil Pierson.............................................................. Reporter Lizz Giordano........................................................... Reporter Greg Farrar.....................................................Photographer CORRECTIONS We are committed to accuracy and take care in our reporting and editing, but errors do occur. If you think something we’ve published is in error, please email us at

HAVE YOUR SAY Send letters to the editor via email to editor@ — 300 words at most, please. We may edit them for length, clarity or inappropriate content. Include your phone number (for verification purposes only; it will not be published). Email is preferred, but you can also mail letters to: Editor, Sammamish Review, P.O. Box 1328, Issaquah, WA 98027

CONTACT US All departments can be reached at

(425) 392-6434

Fax: (425) 392-1695 Email: Online: ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS $52 for one year | $92 for two years Add $15 per year outside King County Add $20 per year outside the state of Washington

SAMMAMISH REVIEW School board approves gifts to district The Issaquah School Board approved the following gifts to the school district that exceeded $5,000 in value. n Newcastle Elementary School PTSA: $5,815 to fund supplemental science



lessons. n Endeavour Elementary School PTSA: $37,600 — $16,900 to purchase laptops and computer carts; $15,000 to fund additional educational assistant support; and $5,700 to fund science enrichment

n Briarwood Elementary School PTA: $20,541 — $10,041 to purchase laptops and $10,500 to fund additional educational assistant support n Challenger Elementary School PTA: $5,000 to fund Science to Go n Cascade Ridge

Elementary School: $12,000 to fund additional educational assistant support

High school starts late after email bomb threat

An anonymous bomb threat forced Issaquah High School administrators to start

classes late last Friday. School began at 10 a.m. Oct. 14, giving Issaquah police extra time to secure the campus and complete an investigation into the threat. The department brought in bomb-sniffing dogs, but found no evidence.



In an Oct. 13 email to families, Issaquah Principal Andrea McCormick said she received an anonymous email saying the school could be bombed the next day. The threat was not believed to be credible, so school was held without incident Friday.

Name: 17798/Sammamish Plateau Water &; Width: 50p0; Depth: 11 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17700-17799:17798-Sammamish Plateau Water & ; Comment: Drinking Water; Ad Number: 17798

From Page 4

defends you and he’ll get the facts before he makes judgments. With other managers, one would be presumed guilty when someone makes a complaint. Rich doesn’t jump to conclusions. “He never says no to anything, so if you have ideas and projects you think should be done, he’s very supportive of it. Like the interpretive program, we have a lot of people that really like doing that and so he frees up resources and time for our interpretive program to become as big as it is now, and we were able to bring a seasonal person on. “The only other thing I can think of,” said Bjorklund, “when you’re the boss and stuff, the boss always has the nicest and newest car in the agency. Rich drives the worst beat-up little trucks that nobody else wants to drive. Like this little truck here, nobody wants to drive it because it shakes, but he loves that thing. He doesn’t want the new fancy car, he wants the little work truck. Even being the area manager he says, ‘I want to drive the work truck.’ He still has the mentality that if there’s a dirty bathroom, or litter, he’s going to stop and clean it, and he wants that truck to throw the debris in. That’s Rich.” Email Greg Farrar at Twitter : @ GregFarrarIP On Further Review is a weekly column by members of the Sammamish Review news staff. The viewpoints expressed do not necessarily represent the editorial views of the newspaper.



NIEL.FINAL.SR.CMYK.PDF THURSDAY, OCTOBER 20, 2016 1003 LAM 41.17472.THU.1006.3x13.45.LAM

Name: 17472/Overlake Hospital Medical; Width: 29p8.4; Depth: 13.45 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17400-17499:17472-Overlake Hospital Medical ; Comment: Eastside Vitality ; Ad Number: 17472


Longtime EFR firefighter retires after 32 years’ service BY STUART MILLER smiller@ Jim “Bubba” Smith has retired from Eastside Fire and Rescue after serving residents of Issaquah and surrounding areas for 32 years. Smith’s service was recognized at the Oct. 13 EFR board meeting. He received a standing ovation from the dozens of firefighters and others at the meeting. He joined the fire department in 1984 when he was 19 years old. He’d been volunteering there for two years before that, he said. Smith is well known for his skills driving EFR vehicles, and for his oftenexperimental cooking STUART MILLER |

Name: 14741/ Cascade Memorial; Width: 9p4.8; Depth: 2 in; Color: Black; File Name:

Jim ‘Bubba’ Smith receives a an engraved, ceremonial fire extinguisher as he is honored Oct. 13 for his 32 years of service to Eastside Fire & Rescue.




for the firehouse. At the Oct. 13 ceremony, an EFR speaker told the crowd that over the years Smith played a vital role in making

the Technical Rescue Team (TRT) what it is today. TRT responds to confined space, rope, structural collapse and trench collapse rescues, according to EFR.



Calendar of events Friday, Oct. 21

Gaudette Theatre, 303 Front St. N., tickets $35-$70, 3922202 or

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 20, 2016 to Use Social Media in Your College Search and Application Process, for teens, 1-2:30 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Theater of Possibility, free inclusive event for students with special needs, 1-4 p.m., Sammamish Teen Center, 825 228th Ave. NE, Sammamish, register online at Village Theatre presents “Pump Boys and Dinettes,” 2 and 8 p.m., Francis J. Gaudette Theatre, 303 Front St. N., tickets $35-$70, 392-2202 or bit. ly/2c0OIZ0 Coder Dojo, ages 7-17, 3-4:30 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Nightmare At Beaver Lake, Family Scare 7-7:45 p.m. $12; Full Scare 8-11 p.m., $18, Beaver Lake Park, 2526 244th Ave. SE, Sammamish, tickets available at the gate or online at nightmareatbeaverlake. Vino Bella 10th Anniversary Party, featuring Ventura Highway Revisted, 7:30-11:30 p.m., 99 Front St. N., 391-1424 Ricky Venture Revue, $5 cover charge, 8-11 p.m., Pogacha, 120 NW Gilman Blvd., 392-5550 Fall Workshops at the Cottage: Memoir with William Kenover, 9:30 p.m. to midnight, Writers’ Cottage, 317 NW Gilman Blvd., Suite 8, register at bit. ly/2dcDweO

Pizza & Picasso, ages Saturday, Oct. 22 6-9 and 10 and older, $29, Little St. Helens Hike, 6:30-8:30 p.m., Museo Art moderate, 7 miles, 1,400-ft. Academy, 300 NE Gilman Blvd., Suite 100, gain, 8:30 a.m., meet at 175 Rainier Blvd. S., 516-5200 Boo Bash: Free Family Downtown Issaquah Fun Night, all ages, feaAssociation presents turing bounces houses Issaquah Goes Apples, 9 and activities, 6:30-8:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., featuring p.m., YMCA/Sammamish walking tours, art experiCommunity and Aquatic ences, Pokemon charging Center, 831 228th Ave. SE, stations, seasonal photo RSVP to ops, live music and farm Nightmare At Beaver fresh pop-up market place Lake, Family Scare 7-7:45 at the historic Shell Station, p.m. $12; Full Scare 8-11 232 Front St. N., learn more p.m., $18, Beaver Lake at Park, 2526 244th Ave. SE, Mountains to Sound Sammamish, tickets availGreenway Trust annual able at the gate or online Tree Planting Celebration, at nightmareatbeaverlake. 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Lake Sammamish State Park, The Highlands Youth 2000 NW Sammamish Road, Advisory Board presents free, register to volunteer Halloween Party For online at Teens, for middle and high Tea Discovery, $25, 10 school students, featuring a.m., Experience Tea, 195 costumes, karaoke, food, games and more, 7-10 p.m., Front St. N., PT Cruisers Pumpkin Blakely Hall, 2550 NE Park Bash, 10 a.m., Triple XXX Drive, free, Rootbeer Drive-in, 98 NE Harmonious Funk, 7:30Gilman Blvd., 392-1266 11:30 p.m., Vino Bella, 99 Story Times: Spanish, Front St. N., 391-1424 10-10:30 a.m.; Arabic, Sammamish Symphony 11-11:30 a.m., ages 3 and Orchestra presents older, Sammamish Library, “Fearlessness and 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Directness: Schubert’s Halloween Storytime, Unfinished Eighth featuring “Beep! Beep! It’s Symphony,” 7:30 p.m., Halloween!” and “I Need My Meydenbauer Theatre, Monster,” 11 a.m., Barnes & 11100 NE 6th St., Bellevue, Noble, 1530 11th Ave. NW, tickets are $20 for adults, $15 for seniors and students, 557-8808 Tip-A-Cop annual fun$10 for children, purchase draiser, 100 percent of tickets at tips go to Special Olympics No Rules, ages 21 and Sunday, Oct. 23 older, $5 cover charge, 8-11 Washington, 11 a.m. to CCC Road Hike, easy, 4 3 p.m. and 4-8 p.m., Red p.m., Pogacha, 120 NW miles, 800-ft. gain, 9 a.m., Robin, 1085 Lake Drive, Gilman Blvd., 392-5550 meet at 175 Rainier Blvd. S., learn more at Village Theatre pres516-5200 College Admissions ents “Pump Boys and Matcha & Green Teas in the Digital Age: How Dinettes,” 8 p.m., Francis J. CHARLES.NO-PROOF.SR.CMYK.PDF 1007 LAM

of Japan, China & Korea, 10-11:30 a.m., Experience Tea, 195 Front St. N., register at Hebrew Story Times, ages 3 and older, 1-1:30 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Village Theatre presents “Pump Boys and Dinettes,” 2 and 7 p.m., Francis J. Gaudette Theatre, 303 Front St. N., tickets $35-$70, 3922202 or Study Zone, homework and tutoring help for grades K-12, 3-5 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Nightmare At Beaver Lake, Family Scare 7-7:45 p.m. $12; Full Scare 8-10 p.m., $18, Beaver Lake Park, 2526 244th Ave. SE, Sammamish, tickets available at the gate or online at nightmareatbeaverlake.

Monday, Oct 24 Figure Drawing Open Studio: short pose 9:3011:30 a.m.; long pose noon to 2 p.m., ages 18 and older, artEAST Art Center, 95 Front St. N., register at Beginning English as a Second Language, for adults, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Teen Think Tank, homework and tutoring help for teens, 2:30-6 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Study Zone, homework and tutoring help for grades K-12, 6-8 p.m., Sammamish

Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Arts Commission meeting, 6:30-9 p.m., City Hall at Sammamish Commons, Room 111, 801 228th Ave. SE

Tuesday, Oct. 25 Issaquah Alps Area Dog Hike, easy, 4-6 miles, 10 a.m., meet at 175 Rainier Blvd. S., 481-2341 Veterans & Human Services Community Conversation, 1:30-3:30 p.m., Blakely Hall, 2550 NE Park Drive Teen Think Tank, homework and tutoring help for teens, 2-6 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Study Zone, homework and tutoring help for grades K-12, 6-8 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Rovin’ Fiddlers, 7-9 p.m., Issaquah Highlands Fire Station, 1280 NE Park Drive, Evening Figure Drawing Open Studio, ages 18 and older, 7-9:30 p.m., artEAST Art Center, 95 Front St. N., register at

Wednesday, Oct. 26 Teen Think Tank, homework and tutoring help for teens, 1-6 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Wednesday Storytime, 2:30 p.m., Barnes & Noble, 1530 11th Ave. NW, 557-8808 Saffron Halloween, trick or treat at the Saffron

Thursday, Oct. 27 Sammamish Chamber of Commerce presents Sammamish Connects, 8 a.m., Sammamish Café, 22830 NE Eighth St., free for members/$10 for nonmembers (doesn’t include breakfast), RSVP to Intermediate English as a Second Language, for adults, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Teen Think Tank, homework and tutoring help for teens, 2-6 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Blown Glass Mini Class: Ghosts, ages 5 and older, $45, 3 p.m., art by fire, 195 Front St. N., 996-8867 Planning Commission special meeting, 6:308:30 p.m., City Hall at Sammamish Commons Council Chambers, 801 228th Ave. SE

Voted17719/Nault Best Jewelry Shopping in Issaquah 1996 Name: Jewelers; Width: 29p8.4; Depth:since 6 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17700-17799:17719-Na ult Jewelers; Comment: 45th Anniversary; Ad Number: 17719

Name: 17721/Seattle Times Agency; Width: 29p8.4; Depth: 5 in; Color: Black; File Name: :17000-17999:17700-17799:17721-Seattle Times Agency; Comment: Ortho Seminar - Providence; Ad Number: 17721

Anniversary CELEBRATING OUR 45th



30% OFF


Shop early for best selections. 1175 NW Gilman Blvd. Suite B-4 • Issaquah 41.177199.SR.R


Shopping Center with free treat bags and Halloween picture at RE/MAX Exemplary, 3-5 p.m., 22830 NE Eighth St., Suite 106, Sammamish Study Zone, homework and tutoring help for grades K-12, 6-8 p.m., Sammamish Library, 825 228th Ave. SE, 392-3130 Tipsy Easel, $35 per participant, 6:30-8:30 p.m., Vino Bella, 99 Front St. N., register at Wednesday Night Trivia, 7:30 p.m., Zeeks Pizza, 2525 NE Park Drive, 893-8686




(425) 391-9270 STORE HOURS Mon-Fri: 9:30am – 6:00pm

Family owned & operated continuously since 1971




RULING From Page 1

private property. The board decided “the weight of the evidence does not support the conclusion that the project will have any impact on the existing drainage problems” on several driveways along the trail. “The project will not increase the impervious surface on the driveways, nor will it direct trail runoff toward the driveways or contribute to additional flows (of stormwater),” according to court documents. The board concluded the homeowners failed to meet their burden of proof in regard to the runoff issues. George Toskey, president of Sammamish Home Owners, said the group was “not against the trail, but (it) needs to be put in with more accommodations for the people that live along the trail.” He said the board didn’t look very hard at the group’s arguments. “The fact (the Shoreline

Hearings Board) didn’t include our testimony in the decision makes us feel that they disregarded us.” Toskey said that on Oct. 4, the group was denied a request by the Shoreline Hearings Board for reconsideration of the decision. The group plans to file an appeal in Superior Court, the next step in the appeals process. King County Parks Director Kevin Brown said the board ruled in the county’s favor and the county is in the process of seeking a grading permit which he predicts will soon be issued. The county plans to begin staking the proposed south segment of the trail in October and November. One condition of permit approval involved the relocation of a stop sign at 206th Avenue Southeast so trail users stop rather than vehicular traffic. The city said this change was needed to remain consistent with the Shoreline Management. The county disputed this

condition as part of its to build a trail on the rail appeal to the Shoreline corridor, ” Brown said. Hearings Board. At the July 5 City In the Sept. 14 Council meeting, decision, the board councilmembers concluded it did not have unanimously voted jurisdiction to review to terminate the East the city’s placement of Lake Sammamish Trail stop signs on city streets, permitting agreement with King County. but the board said it According to City does have the authority Manager Lyman to determine if the Howard, by ending the condition pertaining arrangement with the to the placement of the county, the city would stop sign was necessary become the regulatory according the Shoreline agency for future Management Act. permits along the East The board struck the Lake Sammamish Trail condition. “The Board instead of acting as the is not opining on the liaison between the proper placement of the county and trailside stop sign pursuant to residents. traffic regulations and The City will now have standards,” it wrote. control of permitting “Instead the Board for the middle section leaves this issue to be of the trail, which has addressed in other more not yet gone through the appropriate permits permitting process. (right of way permits, Brown said not much development permits, has changed following grading permits) and their subsequent review.” the City of Sammamish terminating the Ownership of the interlocal agreement trail’s land has also with the county. “We still been disputed in court have to follow the same by both the county permitting requirements and landowners. An and regulation April 2016 federal requirements,” he said. court decision said The City did not return King County held all of a request for comment BNSF’s property rights. “We firmlyLAURA have aD.ePROOF.SR.CMYK. right by deadline.


PFOS From Page 1

recent test results show no detectable level of PFOS. Recently, PFOS has also been detected in Issaquah’s Gilman Well No. 5 at an amount below the EPA’s advisory level. PFOS has also been found in soil samples taken from Eastside Fire & Rescue’s headquarters at 175 Newport Way NW. The Sammamish Plateau Water board and staff met with Sammamish city staff and the City Council to discuss water quality issues regarding the containment. Krauss briefly updated the council on the district’s latest actions. A councilmember confirmed to the Sammamish Review that the group was told PFOS was detected in Issaquah Creek’s North Fork. Krauss called for

transparency from all agencies involved while the source of PFCs is being located. “People may have a tendency to look out for their unit of government interest,” Krauss said. “But I’d like to believe the health and safety of the public is primary in this case. Water quality is primary.” Krauss said the district has hired several experts and is proactively establishing a monitoring program and understanding treatment options in the event treatment is required or elected.” “Coordination between the district and Issaquah is going to be key to understand what the true circumstances are,” Krauss said. PFOS is known to cause liver damage and birth defects in lab animals. Research on its effects on humans is still evolving.


Name: 17858/Citizens for Chad Magenda; Width: 60p1.8; Depth: 6 in; Color: Black; File Name: :17000-17999:17800-17899:17858-Citizens for Chad Magendan; Comment: POLitical ad Chad Mag #1; Ad Number: 17858




Police blotter

the Issaquah jail.

Smash and grab

Mail theft

At 12:45 p.m. Sept. 27, a resident in the Madison Apartments in the 3046 block of 231st Lane Southeast reported sometime overnight someone smashed into his car and stole the registration.

At 1:45 p.m. Oct. 3, a resident in the 400 block of 228th Avenue Southeast reported finding mail from the mailbox left at the end of the driveway with some other mail items possibly stolen.

Car prowls

Motor missing

n At 8:40 p.m. Sept. 28, a woman reported that someone entered her car and took some unspecified items while she was shopping inside Bartells at 526 228th Ave. NE. n At 7:32 a.m. Oct. 2, a resident in the 24400 block of Northeast 27th Place reported sometime overnight someone entered his unlocked 2015 Lincoln Navigator and stole some unspecified items. n At 9:29 a.m. Oct. 9, a resident in the 20900 block of Southeast 22nd Place reported someone stole some items from his car and that he had security video footage of the theft.

Gas station vandalized

At 8:10 p.m. Sept. 30, an employee of the 76 Gas Station at 740 228th Ave. NE reported discovering someone cut up the water hose possibly to siphon gas from one truck to another.

At 5:39 a.m. Oct. 4, a resident in the 3100 block of 240th Avenue Northeast reported discovering someone had stolen the outdrive to the boat in the driveway.

Construction caper

Street racing

At 10:17 Oct. 5, two vehicles were pulled over for racing at 72 mph in a 35 zone in the 4300 block of IssaquahPine Lake Road.

Storage unit burglarized

At 12:09 p.m. Oct. 6, the owner of a storage unit in the 23000 block of Northeast Eighth Street reported someone had forced off the back panel of the unit to gain entry and stole unspecified items.

Bicycle stolen

Kitchen cabinets were reported stolen at 7:51 a.m. Oct. 4 from a new home under construction in the 100 block of 212th Place Northeast.

Airsoft gun damage

At 6:41 p.m. Oct. 5, a resident in the 20400 block of Southeast 11th Place reported someone had apparently accidently shot an airsoft gun into a residence window.

Warranted arrest

A motorist pulled over for a routine stop at 9:37 p.m. Oct. 5 in the 25600 block of Southeast Issaquah-Fall City Road was subsequently arrested for outstanding warrants and then booked into

Name: 17853/Flintoft’s Funeral Home &; Width: 19p6.6; Depth: 4 in; Color: Black; File Name: :17000-17999:17800-17899:17853-Flint

Someone stole a bicycle by cutting its chain at 12:22 p.m. Oct. 6 at Beaver Lake Middle School in the 25000 block of Southeast 32nd Street.

Power washer found

A red and blue Honda power washer was found at 4:49 p.m. Oct. 6 at Southeast 32nd Street and 238th Avenue Southeast.

Stranger danger

Hit & run

At 1:36 a.m. Oct. 7 an


Foul-weather forecast postpones homecoming

unknown BMW vehicle collided with a street sign and fencing then fled the scene from Endeavour Elementary School at 26205 SE Issaquah-Fall City Road.


will hold theirs this Saturday. A blustery, stormy Friday also led to the cancellation of some All three Issaquah homecoming festivities. School District high Issaquah High’s color schools postponed their run was called off, Oct. 15 homecoming while Skyline’s annual dances due to forecasts homecoming parade for a damaging Saturday was canceled due to windstorm. the weather. All three The windstorm never homecoming football truly materialized games went on as usual. and the Eastside went In Sammamish, the largely unaffected, but forecast for high winds Issaquah, Liberty and forced the city to close all Skyline officials stressed public parks and fields concerns about student through the weekend. safety. With little storm damage “Student safety is our reported, most of the first priority and given parks reopened to the the weather forecast we public on Sunday. do not feel comfortable The closure also hosting an event that led to changes in the asks students to be out Nightmare at Beaver Lake on the roads during the schedule. The haunted storm,” Issaquah High house experience was School wrote in an email set to debut Oct. 14, but to parents. it will now open to the The schools public on Thursday, Oct. encouraged students who 20. Nightmare has also made reservations for added Thursdays to its dinner, transportation schedule. and more to contact those It now runs for two companies immediately weeks: Oct. 20-23 and and see if they would 27-31. Shows run from allow students to 7-11 p.m., except for reschedule. Sundays, Thursdays and Issaquah’s Halloween when they go homecoming has been from 7-10 p.m. Learn more rescheduled to Nov. 19, at nightmareatbeaverlake. while Liberty and Skyline com. SCOTT Z.noPROOF.SR.CMYK.PDF 1013 LAM

Plates stolen

At 8:03 a.m. Oct. 7, a resident of the Summerwalk Apartments in the 3800 block of Klahanie Drive Southeast reported someone stole the plates from a vehicle in the parking lot.

Clown threat

At 9:16 a.m. Oct. 7, Beaver Lake Middle School, located at 25025 SE 32nd St., received a clown threat via Instagram.

Fake solicitor

At 2:28 p.m. Oct. 7, a resident of the Knoll Apartments at 22626 NE Inglewood Hill reported an unknown male was representing a fake company and was selling book subscriptions for a children’s hospital.

Attempted grand theft auto

Two 10-year-old girls reported having a strange encounter with an adult male at 6:54 p.m. Oct. 6 in the community park at Southeast Fifth Place and 238th Avenue Southeast.


A resident of Highland Gardens in the 4500 block of Klahanie Drive Southeast reported discovering someone had attempted to steal his car by punching the ignition.


Name: 17250/Rotary Club of Sammamish; Width: 19p6.6; Depth: 5 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17200-17299:17250-Rotary Club of Sammamish; Comment: Rotary

New Patient Special

Name: 14817/Rhonda Newton, D.D.S.; Width: 19p6.6; Depth: 4 in; Color: Black; File Name: :14000-14999:14800-14899:14817-Rhon-

$30 Shell Gas Card After exam, x-rays and cleaning

One per adult per family, not to be used with any other offer. Exp. 10/31/16

Voted by her peers Seattle’s Top Dentists eight years in a row! SEATTLE METROPOLITAN Magazine

Dr. Rhonda Newton, D.D.S.


540 East Sunset Way, Issaquah 425-392-6444 • 43.17853.SR.R


Dr. Jason Widner, D.M.D.

707 - 228th Ave. NE Sammamish • 425.868.0123 •





45TH DISTRICT From Page 1

hold both jobs. The state Supreme Court’s 2012 McCleary decision has been called the paramount duty of the Legislature for the next session. Both candidates agree local levies are unconstitutionally paying too much for teachers. Goodman wants to make further “sizable” investments in education and to reduce class sizes. He said the Legislature is still trying to figure out how to fund education, but he is not in favor of raising state property taxes. To improve the public education system, Valderrama looks to charter schools and a voucher system, saying his plan “can’t be doing worse than what we are currently doing.” He thinks charter schools and vouchers will “create the competitiveness to force our schools to raise their game across the state.”

To fund education, Valderrama wants to close loopholes, prioritize the budget and hold agencies accountable. “There seems to be a blood oath from the other side not to raise one dime of taxes, fees, charges or anything,” Goodman said, referring to finding additional revenue for education. He said Republicans think the state can keep cutting items in the budget to fund education. “Tell me where we will find another $400 million of waste, fraud and abuse?” Goodman asked. “We have to provide the resources and let’s do the hard work to find where those resources come from.” Valderrama offered other solutions to raise revenue, including ensuring online sales tax is collected. He called this tax sustainable, and contrasted it to a capital gains tax, which has been discussed as a possible means of bridging the education funding gap. Both are unsure if local levy

swaps should be used to fully fund education. Goodman called the issue “politically charged,” saying a levy swap would mean the money would come from rich areas and goes to less rich areas. Valderrama said the state should be able to find enough money to fund education in other ways. “But if you’re still short, it’s your obligation to look at everything,” he said. “Nothing is off the table.” Valderrama is skeptical of a levy swap, saying the kids in the Lake Washington, Issaquah, Mercer Island and Bellevue school districts would be the hardest hit. “(The swap) would have to be done in a way that would not hurt our kids,” Valderrama said. “We are not check writers on the Eastside.” Valderrama, who lives in Sammamish, is firmly against Sound Transit 3, calling the project “taxation without transportation.” He said that while Sammamish has a bigger population than

SAMMAMISH REVIEW Redmond or Issaquah, the city gets less than those cities. As part of ST3, Sammamish gets a 200-stall park-and-ride. ST3 proposes to expand light rail and other forms of public transportation across the Eastside, south to Tacoma and north to Everett. If voters approve the $54 billion ballot measure, the closest light rail stations will be in Redmond, the first of which is expected to open in 2024, and in Issaquah, scheduled for 2041. Valderrama said that some estimates suggest bus rapid transit can be installed for one-tenth the cost of light rail. He wants to invest in flexible transportation options, saying ”Sammamish is very different than it was 20 years ago.” Goodman, who lives in Kirkland, is not backing ST3, saying, “My district gains and loses in different ways.” He said there is a need to expand regional transportation to accommodate the growing population, but supports a

WE ASKED, THEY ANSWERED We put 13 questions about local and state issues to state representative candidates Ramrio Valderrama and Roger Goodman. Read their responses on Page 11.

massive increase in bus service rather than the ST3 plan. Goodman won the August primary with 61.6 percent of the vote to Valderrama’s 38.2 percent. According to the state Public Disclosure Commission, Goodman has raised $170,000, while Valderrama has raised a little over $68,000. Also on the ballot for the 45th District is the current state representative, Democrat Larry Springer, who is running unopposed for Position 2. Ballots were mailed on Oct. 19 and must be postmarked no later than Election Day, Nov. 8, or returned to a ballot drop box by 8 p.m. that day. The closest location for Sammamish residents is City Hall at 801 228th Ave. SE.


Name: 17825/Metropolitan King County ; Width: 60p1.8; Depth: 7.5 in; Color: Black; File Name: :17000-17999:17800-17899:17825-Metropolitan King County C; Comment: SR Part 1; AdAmendment Number: to17825 2016 the King County Comprehensive Plan Proposed Substitute Ordinances 2016-0155.2 and 2016-0159.2 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 16-9118 2016 Amendment to the King County Comprehensive Plan Proposed Substitute Ordinances 2016-0155.2 and 2016-0159.2 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Metropolitan King County Council (Council) will hold a public hearing in the Council Chambers on the 10th Floor of the King County Courthouse, 516 Third Avenue, Seattle, WA, on Monday, November 28, 2016, beginning at 1:30 p.m. The purpose of this public hearing is to consider adoption of Proposed Substitute Ordinances (PSO) 2016-0155.2 and 2016-0159.2 (hereinafter “subject legislation”) adopting amendments to the 2012 King County Comprehensive Plan, and as amended in 2014, (KCCP) and the 2016 Real Property Asset Management Plan (RAMP). Public Hearing King County encourages public comment at the November 28 public hearing. Testimony is limited to two minutes per individual speaker or five minutes for an individual speaking on behalf of a group in attendance at the meeting. If you wish to submit written materials for the Councilmembers’ review, please provide 15 copies to the Council Clerk. Testimony sign-up will begin at 1:00 pm. November 28 in the lobby outside the Council Chambers. Comments can also be submitted at any time by emailing CouncilCompPlan@kingcounty. gov or clicking on the “submit online testimony” button on the Council’s KCCP webpage: If you prefer to call, mail, or fax your comments to Councilmembers, please call the Council office at (206) 477-1000 for addresses and/or numbers. For More Information The complete text of the subject legislation is available in the Council Clerk’s office, Room 1200, King County Courthouse, 516 Third Avenue, Seattle, WA. Complete public review copies will also be available at the following locations: • • (Type in the Ordinance Number, 2016-0155 or 2016-0159) For background information on the proposed 2016 Amendments to the KCCP, please visit the Council’s 2016 Comprehensive Plan Update website at council/2016compplan.aspx. Summary Proposed amendments to the KCCP and RAMP were transmitted by the King County Executive on March 1, 2016 and reviewed by the Council’s Transportation, Economy and Environment (TREE) Committee. The TREE Committee completed its review on September 20, 2016 and reported out to the full Council striking amendments to the subject legislation, with a “do pass” recommendation. Proposed 2016 KCCP policy amendments, contained in Attachment A to PSO 2016-0155.2, as reported out of the TREE Committee, would affect the following chapters in the KCCP: Introduction; Regional Planning Growth Management Planning; Urban Communities; Rural Areas and Natural Resource Lands; Housing and Human Services; Environment; Shorelines; Parks, Open Space and Cultural Resources; Transportation; Services, Facilities and Utilities; Economic Development; Community Service Area Planning; Implementation, Amendments and Evaluation; and the Glossary. Proposed amendments to the land use map and/or zoning atlas are contained in Attachment B to PSO 2016-

0155.2. Also proposed are: updates to the Technical Appendices (Attachments D through I to PSO 2016-0155.2); adoption of the Skyway West Hill Action Plan (Attachment J to PSO 2016-0155.2); and an amendment to the Vashon Town Plan (Attachment K to PSO 2016-0155.2). Proposed changes to the development code are also included in PSO 20160155.2. Proposed RAMP amendments, as reported out of the TREE Committee, would affect the update requirements and schedule for the RAMP and would decouple future RAMPs from the KCCP. The 2016 RAMP, contained in Attachment A to PSO 2016-0159.2 as reported out of the TREE Committee, would also amend the following sections in the RAMP: Facility Management Policies; Policy Implementation Strategies; and Space Use and Planning. Final Consideration In addition to the proposed amendments contained in the subject legislation, and as amended in committee, Councilmembers may offer additional amendments for consideration by the Council. As a result, persons interested in any of the issues raised in the subject legislation should make their views known at the public hearing on November 28, 2016. Amendments that may be considered for adoption by the Council on December 5 or thereafter include, but are not necessarily limited to: • any amendment contained in the Executive’s proposed versions of the subject legislation (either in the Public Review Draft or as transmitted); • any amendment to the subject legislation passed out committee; • any amendment offered or discussed during the review of the subject legislation in committee; • any matter preserved for consideration by the Council by a member during the committee meetings; • any amendment regarding the Growth Management Planning Council’s (GMPC) recommendations to move the Urban Growth Area (UGA) boundary in the County’s comprehensive plan updating process; and • any other proposed amendment that is within the scope of the alternatives and has been available for public comment. A copy of Proposed Substitute Ordinances 2016-0155.2 and 2016-0159.2 will be mailed upon request to the Clerk of the Council, Room 1200, King County Courthouse, 516 Third Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104, telephone 206-477-1020. They are available on the Internet at: • aspx?ID=2594294&GUID=050D99B0-CE2F-4349-BD0D-46D46F673458&Options=ID|& Search=2016-0155, and • aspx?ID=2594431&GUID=3C85F2A0-F5A9-4F93-922A-4D285AC9C596&Options=ID|& Search=2016-0159, or • Dated at Seattle, Washington, this 20th day of October 2016. METROPOLITAN KING COUNTY COUNCIL KING COUNTY, WASHINGTON Melani Pedroza Acting Clerk of the Council PUBLISHED IN THE SAMMAMISH REVIEW ON OCTOBER 20, 2016









Government should be fiscally responsible. What does that mean to you?

State budgets should comply with four-year balanced budget planning (two biennium budgets cycles). All agency reporting should be transparent, accountable and demonstrate the effectiveness of its programs. The state should live within its means and not seek additional taxes.

The government should ensure that the taxpayer gets the highest return on their tax dollar. Therefore, public investments in a strong social “safety net,” health care coverage and preventive environmental protection measures, for example, are wise uses of scarce public resources. This alone would save $100 million each biennium.

What are the top two taxes you would consider implementing or raising to balance the state budget?

Given that the State of Washington is expecting another $3 billion in additional revenue and that the last two budgets were balanced, no tax increases should be required and the state should be able to live within its means again.

I believe in the “polluter pays” principle. I strongly support carbon taxes (I-732 is flawed), provided there is mitigation for energy-intensive industries and the poor. I would also be willing to consider a very narrowly tailored state capital gains tax at a low rate, which would not affect homeowners.

What can the state do to spur job creation?

Look at reducing paperwork on business where justified. (e.g. simplifying calculation of wage benefits by adopting a flat rate). Agencies should streamline collection of taxes. Investments in improving transportation and ports should also be made.

The Puget Sound region currently has the most booming economy in all of North America, so it might be difficult to “spur” job creation any more than we already are! We must make further sizable investments in public education and further investments in transportation. Research shows early leaning, teacher quality and class size are the most important factors effecting student achievement. So we must expand early learning programs, boast teacher compensation and reduce class sizes throughout the K-12 system. Parents need more choices — the Lake Washington School district provides best model with public Choice Schools.

How can the public education system be improved, given the funding constraints?

First look at basic efficiencies as only 50 cents of each dollar makes it to the classroom. Also look at empowering parental choice with more public charter schools and vouchers that also increase competitiveness.

How can the state fulfill its “paramount duty” to fund education?

First must reprioritize all of the state’s program expenditures and make them more accountable for results. Establish statewide collective bargaining that includes teacher evaluations with student performance. Explore new revenue sources like the e-market fairness revenue, and analyze potential of limited levy swaps with performance results and accountability requirements.

We have made some progress in boosting the state share of investment in our public schools, but at least an additional $4 billion remains to be appropriated in the next legislative session. Merely relying on current growth in the economy will not generate the needed revenue. Further revenue will be necessary.

What is the top transportation priority in the district? How do you plan to address the issue?

Get the transit moving! Repeal 405 tolls! Speed up 405 enhancements. Invest in Rapid Bus Transit. Invest in enhancing capacity of 202, Avondale, Woodinville-Duvall and Redmond roads (these should be regional corridors), and add a flyover 202 from Sahalee Way to get on 520.

The 45th District and East King County have been short-changed by King County Metro in availability of transit services. We urgently need more frequent bus service, and throughout many times of the day. Improvements to I-405 and 520 are currently ongoing, but county roads have been neglected and need attention.

How do you or will you foster bipartisanship in Olympia?

I will continue to build productive working relationships with both parties so that together we can meet our shared responsibilities to our citizens to balance the budget and provide quality education for all, which is our “paramount duty.”

I have a long record of bringing diverse parties together to solve complex problems in a bipartisan fashion. Before introducing any bill, I reach across the aisle to find a co-sponsor from the other party. I socialize with and maintain strong friendships with legislators from both parties.

When have you broken with your party and voted with the other side, and why?

I was opposed to the Senate Republicans cutting of the public works trust funding that local city governments and utilities are dependent on, and also fought against cuts to the Municipal Research & Services Center that provides educational and professional resources in support of cities.

I supported the Republican proposal to cut college tuition and recently went against my party and opposed a measure to reduce supervision time for domestic violence offenders simply to save money. I also refused to go against the will of the people and voted against the suspension of the class-size reduction initiative.

How will you maintain open communication with your constituents?

In addition to the standard letters, e-mails and town halls, I will encourage both more use of virtual town halls as we have in Sammamish and the frequent attendance and accessibility to our city activities markets, games, civic activities (Rotary, Chambers, etc.).

I remain accessible and responsive to my constituents, answering the 14,000 or so emails I receive each year, returning personal phone calls and meeting with constituents at coffee shops. I also regularly transmit electronic and paper forms of legislative updates and also video updates from the House floor.

What is your position on Sound Transit 3?

I am firmly opposed to this “Taxation without Transportation. It is a massive $54 billion permanent tax that does NOTHING to reduce congestion, will only generate 28,000 new users, provides trolley cars and fixed infrastructure that is already obsolete. ST1 already has 86% cost overruns in first section.

The ST3 proposal serves Redmond very well, but offers Sammamish nothing at all and only partially serves Kirkland. I am troubled by the rushed fashion in which the proposal has come to the voters, with little or no time for public input. I will not be endorsing the measure.

Do you agree or disagree with the Growth Management Act in its current form, and why?

No, I believe much more authority should be delegated to the local municipalities who better understand the needs of their communities. There needs to be more flexibility.

The GMA is an important measure to help preserve critical open space while focusing on responsible growth within urban areas. It is hard to disagree with its goals, although it has been difficult to balance those goals while implementing the act. I will be focusing on improving the deficient dispute resolution process.

What is the top environmental concern in the 45th Legislative District and how do you plan to address the issue?

Growth and maintenance of city character via balanced growth that respects the environment and preserves character of cities. This requires looking at trees, lakes and stormwater issues. As in Sammamish, I’ll call for commission plans across the 45th “visually” showing/modeling what we will be in 2040 and the impacts.

There is a critical need to upgrade our stormwater systems, as many outdated stormwater systems need to be retrofitted or reconstructed. This is a quiet problem, but extremely important, as it adversely affects the health of Puget Sound, which is the ecological linchpin of our entire region.

How can state government help communities such as Sammamish better plan for future growth?

The state should revisit the GMA and allow growth and transit flexibility and decisions to be made at the local level. Onerous regulations with unintended consequences like the new NPDES storm water standards should be eased in. Public works trust funding should be expanded to help cities finance deficient infrastructure.

Although local city and county legislative bodies make the most important decisions related to planning for future growth, the state can still provide important financial and regulatory incentives for annexation of unincorporated county areas and for transitoriented development in urban areas, for instance.



To place your ad call: 425-392-6434, ext. 232 Deadline: Monday 11am 012-RENTALS



013-Apartments for Rent

Beautiful Upstairs Apartment

1200sf,3bdrm\2bath, Full kitchen, Living Room NS, No Pets, No Children In Private Home w/Parking $1395 1st/Last&Damage

206‑271‑1117 024-Commercial Space-Rent


“Rare Find” Downtown Issaquah Office SpaceLocated on Front Street, complete with private bathroom and cozy waiting room. $1500 per month with a $1000 damage deposit. Includes: utilities, parking space and access to a large conference room. High‑speed internet already on site just need to hook up.

CALL (425) 761‑8070 040-FINANCIAL 044-Business Opportunity



LAURA D.ePROOF.SR.CMYK. RVS 0919 LAM 142-Services 39.17597.THU.0922.1X2.LAM

134-Help Wanted

CDL‑A Drivers

Company & Owner Operated Local and Hostlers, Home Daily, Weekly pay Increased Pay & Benefits

$3000.00 Sign On Bonus 1 yr experience


DRIVERS: Company & Owner Operator Dedicated Pacific Northwest Openings! Top Industry Pay, Full Comprehensive Benefits and more! 1yr CDL‑A experience Call Now: 855‑350‑5570

Here We Grow Again!

This newspaper participates Metropolitan Market, a favorite Pacific Northwest progressive in a statewide classified ad program upscale grocery retailer is opening sponsored by the Washington News‑ a brand new store in Sammamish! paper Publishers Association, a state‑ wide association of weekly newspapers. We are looking for food savvy folks with The program allows classified advertis‑ a passion for legendary customer service. ers to submit ads for publication in par‑ Does this sound like you? ticipating weeklies throughout the state in compliance with the following rules. You may submit an ad for the statewide program through this newspaper or in person to the WNPA office. The rate is Apply online today at: www.metropolitan‑ $275 for up to 25 words, plus $10 per careers word over 25 words. WNPA reserves the right to edit all ad copy submitted and to refuse to accept any ad submitted for the statewide program. WNPA, there‑ fore, does not guarantee that every ad will be run in every newspaper. WNPA will, on request, for a fee of $40, provide information on which newspapers run a particular ad within a 30 day period. Substantive typographical error (wrong address, telephone number, name or price) will result in a “make good”, in which a corrected ad will be run the fol‑ lowing week

Come join our team!

LifeHouse Ministries Worship and Prayer Service

Every 4th Tuesday of the month (& the 3rd Tuesday in Nov. & Dec.) 7:00 – 8:30pm Pine Lake Covenant Church in Sammamish For more info email Muffie at or Laura at, 206-300-7435

Please join us as we seek to encounter God through worship, prayer and healing Rebuilding, restoring, and renewing lives through the love of Jesus Christ


200-ANNOUNCEMENTS 201-Great & Fun things EVENTS‑FESTIVALS PROMOTE YOUR REGIONAL EVENT for only pennies. Reach 2.7 million read‑ ers in newspapers statewide for $275 classified or $1,350 display ad. Call this newspaper or (360) 515‑0974 for details


See something you like?

WNPA incurs no other liability for errors in publication

SAWMILLS FROM ONLY $4397.00‑MAKE & SAVE MONEY with your own bandmill‑Cut lumber any dimension. In stock ready to ship! FREE info/DVD: 1‑800‑578‑1363 Ext. 300N 079-Items Wanted

Any photo taken by a member of Sammamish Revew staff seen in this paper or on our website can be purchased! Receive a highresolution digital file, ready to print, for only $25.

Name: 14744/ Pine Lake Community Club; Width: 9p4.8; Depth: 2 in; Color: Black; File Name: :1400014999:14700-

investing in stuff that would majorly change the congestion relief in the city. It would not be sidewalks on Sunset or a light at Providence Point.” Magendanz said the projects will help improve safety for drivers, cyclists and pedestrians but do not go far enough to address traffic congestion or parking. He called the Sunset project the most important piece of the transportation bond but wanted more details. Ballots were mailed on Oct. 19 and must be postmarked no later than Election Day, Nov. 8, or returned to a ballot drop box by 8 p.m. that day. The closest location for Issaquah residents is located outside City Hall at 130 E. Sunset Way. For Klahanie residents, the closest ballot box is at Sammamish City Hall, 801 228th Ave. SE.


DEANNA.noPROOF.HOME SERVICES.CMYK.PDF 0524 LAM 23.16364.THUR.0602.2X1.LAM Serving You Since 1983

Interior & Exterior Painting, Exceptional Prompt & Courteous Service

Name: 17795/ Marlows Fine Jewelry; Width: 9p4.8; Depth: Your Trusted 5 in; Color: Professional Jeweler Black plus one; Buy One, File Name: Watch Battery Service


23.16364.SR.R 38.13066.THUR.0915.1X2.LAM

Redmond Remodeling and Handyman SeRviceS expeRience • Reputation • cRedibility

Shapoor Farahani 425-281-2561 LIC# CCREDMORS865C7


Trevor’s Handyman Service

(Standard Battery $15 Value)

Rhodium Plating


To order, email or call 425-392-6434 ext. 227.


Recycle your newspaper.

(425) 417-7653 Insured & Bonded repaIr & renew | Fences & decks | TIle work drywall & FloorIng | replace doors & wIndows paInTIng InTerIor\exTerIor | guTTer cleanIng


(No Limit)


Family Owned

1440 NW Gilman BLVD #4 Issaquah, WA 98027



an online sales tax. Mullet and Magendanz are split over their support of Sound Transit 3, a proposed $54 billion mass transit project that will expand light rail and other forms of public transportation across the Eastside, south to Tacoma and north to Everett. If voters approve the ST3 ballot measure, the light rail station in Issaquah won’t open until 2041. Magendanz said the project offers a low return on investment. Instead, to fix traffic congestion, he wants increased lane capacity through building additional lanes and modernizing interchanges. “I would much rather see us spend the money in other ways,” he said.




From Page 2

“Bus rapid transit is very effective. We can expand that for a third of the cost and much faster than we can with light rail.” Mullet supports the expansion of light rail despite the long timeline, saying the challenge isn’t construction capacity, but funding. He said if ST3 passes, he will work to get the timeline shortened by trying to secure federal support for the project. Both candidates also agree Issaquah’s $50 million transportation bond on the November ballot doesn’t do enough to address traffic congestion in the city. Mullet called the bond too expensive. “If I was going to spend $50 million, it would be on a partnership with the county, the state and Maple Valley to fix Issaquah-Hobart Road,” he said. “I would be


WANTED Record LP’s, 45’s, Reel‑to‑Reel Tapes, CD’s, Old Magazines\Movies


Get One

062-MERCHANDISE 063-Items for Sale






Meadows QFC Center Facing Countryside Floral

Your Neighborhood Electrician 425-868-8072 Lic# TUGHAE19438P 43.17795.SR.R


MON-FRI 10am-6pm | SAT 9am-5pm SUNDAY BY APPT.




Professional 21.15691.SR.R

Washington State Construction

Contractor law requires that all advertisers for construction related services include the contractor registration number.

To advertise in Home Services call 425-392-6434 and get results!










Government should be fiscally responsible. What does that mean to you?

It means you go out of your way to not rely on extra taxes as the solution to your problems unless you have tried every other option possible. It means you budget government spending to match the revenues you have to work with.

It means government should be more efficient, not more expensive. During my time in the Legislature, I’ve led efforts to increase school funding by 36 percent and reduce college tuition, all without raising taxes. Our district has voted against tax increases repeatedly and I agree with the voters on this wholeheartedly.

What are the top two taxes you would consider implementing or raising to balance the state budget?

I believe we should be collecting sales tax for purchases online. As the owner of a pizza restaurant, I would be annoyed if a guy across the street did not have to charge sales tax. I also think out-of-state people need to complete a form to receive a sales tax rebate.

Over the past four years we’ve proven that tax increases aren’t needed to prioritize education funding and balance the state budget. My levy reform plan is statewide revenue neutral, and I’ll oppose proposals to hold our kids hostage for a state income tax, capital gains tax or carbon tax.

What can the state do to spur job creation?

Invest in transportation infrastructure to make sure we are not stuck in traffic. Invest in K-12, higher education, and vocational training to make sure we have a work force that meets the demands of our local industries.

The key is education. We must provide our children the skills they need to thrive in today’s economy. This includes career and technical education in every high school and affordable access to higher education, which is why I championed efforts last year to reduce college tuition by 20 percent.

How can the public education system be improved, given the funding constraints?

We can continue to prioritize extra state revenues into K-12 education as we have been doing during my four years in office. We can specifically fund programs that have proven success rates, like Running Start for Issaquah and summer reading programs for my hometown of Tukwila.

During my tenure as Issaquah’s School Board president, our district achieved the highest rating for education investment — student achievement for dollar spent. With the lowest administrative overhead in King County, the best credit rating in the state and 10 consecutive clean state audits, we made every dollar count.

How can the state fulfill its “paramount duty” to fund education?

We need to embrace the importance of local school levies. I will never vote to have our local school levies sent to Eastern Washington. I would prefer to make these local levies permanent so they become reliable before agreeing to send our precious local dollars east of the mountains.

I am a leader on this issue, working on the governor’s bipartisan task forces to negotiate a solution. Seattle and other property-rich cities cannot continue to pay a much lower rate than suburban cities. Interestingly, my opponent has suggested we amend the constitution so state funding is no longer “paramount.”

What is the top transportation priority in the district? How do you plan to address the issue?

We need to fix the disaster that is Issaquah-Hobart Road. This is a two-prong approach of providing a better interchange at Highway 18 in Snoqualmie (which I worked to get funded in 2015) and finding partners in King County, Maple Valley and the State of Washington to widen Issaquah-Hobart road.

We need to reduce traffic congestion on our freeways and arterials by building lane capacity and upgrading interchanges.Additional tolls, lane restrictions, and cannibalizing highway construction funding for light rail will only make congestion worse.

How do you or will you foster bipartisanship in Olympia?

I spend a lot of time eating meals with Republicans, talking about real life issues like raising our children and not about national politics where we don’t agree. Drinking a pint of beer and talking about where somebody’s child plans to attend college reminds everybody of how much common ground we share.

My record proves I can collaborate with my counterparts across the aisle and get results — passing key laws on cybercrime, electric vehicles, teacher shortages, vision screening, truancy reform and education funding. And I’ve never received anything less than an outstanding rating from the Municipal League of King County.

When have you broken with your party and voted with the other side, and why?

I vote to represent our community, not a political party. I have opposed an income tax and capital gains tax for this reason. I have also broke from party leadership on issues around worker’s compensation insurance, low carbon fuel standards and charter schools.

There was tremendous pressure last year to support a $16 billion gas tax package with levy authority for Sound Transit. Our district opposed these taxes by 67 percent and I stood with my district and voted no. On social issues such as reproductive rights, I’ve also represented my district … not my party.

How will you maintain open communication with your constituents?

I share my cell phone with constituents to make sure they can always reach me. The number is 425-681-7785. If you have an issue with what is happening in Olympia, you can always reach me to share your concerns.

Constituents can contact me directly via email, social media or cell phone. For example, a rural homeowner contacted me with concerns about a King County septic tax proposal. Together, we convened a public meeting and forced King County to stop the tax and intrusive inspections that accompanied it. Mission accomplished!

What is your position on Sound Transit 3?

If Issaquah was not included, I told Sound Transit I would be a vocal “no” vote. I worked with Costco and Skip Rowley to get Issaquah included as part of the package, and I am keeping my word and voting “yes”. Building light rail will never get cheaper.

ST3 raises taxes ~$1,000 per year for a typical Eastside household to pay for light rail we won’t see until 2041 — a bad deal for our community. Issaquah doesn’t have the population density to support rail, nor do we want that density. We have better options than using 19th-century technology.

Do you agree or disagree with the Growth Management Act in its current form, and why?

We should adjust the Growth Management Act to create a waiver process so school districts could make an argument for building new schools outside of the Urban Growth Boundary. I find it ironic where my oldest two daughters attend middle school; we would not be allowed to build a school today.

I disagree with the way it is impacting our local community — forcing higher density into suburban communities that’s far beyond the level that local residents would favor. New rules for school siting have also quadrupled property acquisition costs and driven up local property taxes.

What is the top environmental concern in the 5th Legislative District and how do you plan to address the issue?

Unlike my opponent, I believe that manmade actions are causing global warming, and we need to take concrete steps at the local level to reduce our carbon footprint. I have always focused on solar panel and electric car incentives at the State level to help achieve this goal.

My focus has been on improving air and water quality. Currently, Washington state has the cheapest and greenest electricity in the nation, with 90 percent of our power being generated from zero-emission sources. I’ve passed landmark legislation to electrify the transportation sector, which represents the lion’s share of our toxic emissions.

How can state government help communities, such as Issaquah, better plan for future growth?

We should be providing more State dollars in matching grants to enable us to complete more local traffic projects. Many of the Issaquah traffic projects will benefit the whole East King County region, so the State should play a role in providing regional traffic dollars.

Issaquah’s proximity to I-90 makes it a chokepoint for regional commuter traffic from surrounding cities like Sammamish, Renton, Maple Valley and Black Diamond. We should form a Transportation Benefit District under RCW 36.73 to fund coordinated road improvement projects.

What is your position on the City of Issaquah Traffic Improvement Bond?

My preference would have been to create a transportation benefit district so we would have more partners in funding the improvements. I think the intentions are excellent, but the benefits extend well beyond the local Issaquah community, so I wish all those who benefited were sharing the financial burden.

I believe that the four proposed projects will help improve safety for drivers, cyclists and pedestrians, but does not go far enough to address traffic congestion or parking. I would also like to see more specifics on the East Sunset Way changes, which have yet to be finalized.

I have spent the past four years working to solve this issue — we have $150 million to build a new flyover as a long-term solution. The short-term solution is a dedicated on-ramp to I-90, an extra lane on Highway 18 for the first mile and an extra lane at the freeway exit.

Thanks to Rep. Rodne, last year’s transportation package included $150 million for improvements to this dangerous intersection. The proposed project start date of 2023, however, needs to be advanced, and there are relatively inexpensive fixes that can be made to alleviate current traffic chokepoints while we wait.

What can the state do now and in the future to alleviate congestion at the dangerous I-90 and SR18 interchange?






Eastlake doubles duo bows out after reaching KingCo semifinals BY NEIL PIERSON npierson@ If Eastlake tennis players Townsend Rowland and Nick Zhao continue playing together as seniors, the 2017-18 season could be something special. Rowland and Zhao, who’ve been the Wolves’ No. 1 doubles pairing for most of the season, had a solid showing at this week’s Class 4A KingCo Conference championships at Skyline High School. The juniors, seeded third in the 20-team bracket, won both of their matches on Oct. 10 and advanced to the tournament semifinals the following day. Their season ended with a straight-set loss to the eventual champions and a three-set loss to the top-seeded team, but Rowland and Zhao were pleased with their overall performance. “We weren’t on as much as wanted to be today,” Rowland said after he and Zhao were eliminated in a 6-4, 2-6, 6-1 defeat to Newport’s Daniel Koh and Neil Kagalwala. “But we played well. Our opponents were just a little bit better. We could’ve gotten up to the net a little bit more, but what can you do? I’m happy with how we played.” Rowland and Zhao fought through adversity in their opening matches. They knocked out Newport’s Gabriel Koh and Walter Crijanovschi with a second-set tiebreaker, 6-3, 7-6 (7-5). And they needed a first-set tiebreaker to get past Issaquah’s Abdul-Muueez Baig and

Jonathon Oh, 7-6 (7-2), 6-4. But Eastlake’s tandem found rough sledding in the semifinals as Newport’s Connor Scott and Garrett Gants – two talented singles players who were teamed up for the postseason – earned a 6-2, 6-2 win. That forced Rowland and Zhao to play a loser-out match with top-seeded Daniel Koh and Kagalwala. They appeared to run out of steam in the third set as the Knights consistently forced stray shots. The Eastlake juniors hadn’t played together prior to this season but said they already knew a bit about each other’s style and quickly formed a good partnership. “You’ve kind of got to get through the kinks of that,” Rowland said. “Like, I’m a little smaller, so Nick has to run back and cover the lobs pretty often for me, and sometimes he has a hard job seeing in the sun.” “Here at KingCo, I feel like those first two matches really gave us a confidence boost to get all the nerves out of our system and really play our hardest,” Zhao added. The Wolves, who were 1-6 for seventh place during the KingCo regular season, had two singles and two doubles berths into the postseason. Their other doubles pairing of Lucas Minet and Nicola Frljanic opened with a 6-3, 2-6, 6-2 win over Issaquah’s Arin Tykodi and Jason Woo. But they were SEE TENNIS, PAGE 15


Eastside Catholic senior wide receiver Hunter Bryant turns upfield with the ball and races 71 yards unhindered for a second-quarter touchdown during the Crusaders’ Oct. 14 football game against O’Dea at Memorial Stadium in Seattle.

O’Dea shatters Eastside Catholic’s 32-game winning streak, 20-17 BY NEIL PIERSON npierson@ It’s the dream scenario for many quarterbacks: Five minutes on the clock, your team trailing by three points and 75 yards to get to the end zone. Eastside Catholic’s Zach Lewis had the chance to live that dream Friday night at Seattle’s Memorial Stadium and he nearly made all the necessary plays to keep his Crusaders undefeated. But Lewis and the Crusaders only got 71 of the 75 yards they needed on their final drive. On fourth down from the 4-yard line, O’Dea’s Shea Carstens intercepted Lewis’ pass in the end zone, sealing a 20-17 victory for the Fighting Irish in a battle of the Seattle Times’ top-ranked Class 3A teams. The top-ranked Crusaders (6-1) saw

their 32-game winning streak against in-state opponents end. They hadn’t lost to a team from Washington since falling to Bellevue in the 2013 state championship game. Second-ranked O’Dea (7-0) will claim the outright Metro League title with wins over Lakeside and Garfield to close the regular season. And the Irish may have signaled their return to prominence, searching for their first state title since 1995. “My hat’s off to O’Dea – they played hard, they played good, they made more plays than we did down the stretch,” EC coach Jeremy Thielbahr said. “Defensively, they locked us down pretty good in man coverage.” EC took a 17-7 lead to halftime but the tide quickly turned in the third quarter

when a shotgun snap sailed over Lewis’ head. The Crusaders recovered in the end zone for a safety, cutting the lead to 17-9. EC’s defense made a big stand early in the fourth period, getting help from O’Dea as a delay-of-game penalty wiped out an apparent touchdown. The Irish settled for Stephen Powell’s 22-yard field goal and trailed 17-12. Thanks in part to a squib kick that pinned the Crusaders at their own 5, the Irish needed to travel only 43 yards for the game-winning score. Quarterback Warren King dove inside the left pylon from 6 yards, then took off again for a two-point conversion with 5:26 to play. Plenty of time for Lewis – who was 20 of 32 passing for 339 yards and two scores – to make something happen.

“Our mindset was just, ‘Be calm,’” he said. “Everyone was calm. We executed. We’ve just got to execute down on the goal line.” Lewis was 7 for 9 on the Crusaders’ final series and a passinterference penalty on a fourth-down play gave them new life. But O’Dea’s Kyle Hollabaugh sacked Lewis, keeping the Crusaders out of the end zone after two short completions to Chris Lefau. They eschewed a game-tying field-goal attempt and went for the win, but Carstens was in position to make the crucial play. “I saw him pressed and I gave him a fake-and-go,” Lewis explained. “I was trying to make something happen, but you can’t force things. That’s my fault.” The Crusaders were SEE FOOTBALL, PAGE 15




From Page 14

ousted by Newport’s Kagalwala and Koh despite a gritty effort (6-4, 3-6, 6-4). Eastlake sophomore Liam Bigbee reached the singles quarterfinals as he beat Skyline’s David Liew (6-4, 6-3) and upset No. 4 seed Fred Huyan of Inglemoor (6-3, 6-2). He fell to Woodinville’s Justin Sim (7-5, 6-2) to end the season. Eastlake’s Colin James

STREAK From Page 14

held scoreless in the second half after creating several big plays in the first half. They went on top in less than three minutes as a broken coverage allowed Marcus Stoebner to haul in a 53-yard TD pass on a deep post pattern. O’Dea responded by snuffing out Tyler Folkes’ fourth-down run, then going 67 yards in five plays to tie the score. Running back Jamyn Patu, who carried 24 times

sustained a 6-0, 6-0 loss to Issaquah’s Kobe Sarausad. Skyline finished fifth in KingCo matches at 3-4, giving the Spartans two singles and two doubles berths to the postseason. Bothell’s Andrew Schueller knocked out Tyler Chang (6-3, 6-1) in the singles quarterfinals and David Liew lost his first match to Eastlake’s Bigbee.

for 166 yards, had a 46-yard dash to set up a 9-yard score on a toss sweep. EC regained the lead early in the second quarter when Hunter Bryant took a screen pass and outran everyone, bowling over a defender at the goal line to complete a 72-yard TD play. And the Crusaders made it 17-7 as time expired in the first half when Scott Lees hit a 20-yard field goal. O’Dea believed the clock ran out after an incomplete pass to Bryant in the end zone, but officials

Prep football recaps Skyline 48, Inglemoor 0 The Spartans racked up a 42-0 lead at halftime, kicking in a running clock for the entire second half, and routed the Vikings in Sammamish. Tyler Schnebele and Isaiah Shim had short touchdown runs for Skyline (6-1 overall, 5-0 KingCo 4A) in the first period. Quarterback Drew Kistner ran for two scores and passed for a third, a 29-yard connection to Bradley Kim, in the second quarter. An Evan Alexander interception set up a 1-yard TD for Eddie Rosemont, and Prescott Wong’s 3-yard TD in the third quarter capped the scoring. Skyline collides with Woodinville at 7 p.m. Thursday with the KingCo title on the line.

Eastlake 45, Newport 3 The Wolves (5-2 overall, 3-2 KingCo 4A) took total control of their visit to Bellevue with a 26-point second quarter and have posted 103 points in their past two games. A week after picking apart Mount Si, quarterback Ben Howard had another huge game, throwing for five touchdowns. He hit Hank Pladson on scoring plays of 14 and 16 yards, Cole Brinkman on plays of 17 and 39 yards, and Daniel Bradley on a 43-yarder. Bradley, one of KingCo’s top runners a year ago, returned from injury and scored twice, including a 27-yard run. Chris Nelson added a 9-yard TD for Eastlake’s final points. The Wolves host Issaquah at 7 p.m. Friday and would clinch a playoff spot with a win.

Skyline’s Ishaan Bhimani and David Wong were the No. 2 seed, but were tripped up in their opening match with Newport’s Gants and Scott (6-4, 6-2). Skyline’s other doubles team, Shawn Stanley and Ben Yu, won a three-set match against Woodinville (6-2, 1-6, 6-3) and lost in two sets to Newport (6-4, 6-1).

ruled there was 1 second left when the ball hit the ground, giving EC one more play. The Crusaders will look to start a new winning streak when they visit Bainbridge in Week 8. Thielbahr said their ultimate goal of a third straight state championship is still within reach. “Hopefully, we can come out and get a rematch with these guys (O’Dea) at the Tacoma Dome. That’s now the goal,” he said. But his team will have to iron out the wrinkles that separate winning from losing.

“Everywhere there were mistakes, just little things that we had done earlier in the season against maybe lesser opponents, and we couldn’t do that tonight,” Thielbahr said. “When you do that against a great team, well coached by Monte Kohler, you’re going to lose.”


Eastlake juniors Townsend Rowland (left) and Nick Zhao walk to the net to congratulate Newport’s victorious Daniel Koh and Neil Kagalwala Oct. 11 after their Class 4A KingCo tennis doubles match. The final score was 4-6, 6-2, 1-6.

Name: 17743/Orthodontics on the Plate; Width: 29p8.4; Depth: 4 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17700-17799:17743-Orthodontics on the Platea; Comment: New Branding Ad; Ad Number: 17743


only locally

owned newspaper 22603 NE Inglewood Hill RD, Suite 200 Sammamish, WA 98074


Review sammamish

Name: 17767/Java Real Estate Corp/Rem; Width: 29p8.4; Depth: 6.6 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:17700-17799:17767-Java Real Estate Corp/Rema; Comment: Saffron Halloween Ad; Ad Number: 17767









NEIL.ePROOF.SR.CMYK. 43.17809.THU.1021.6X13.45.LAM


Name: 17809/King & Bunny’s Appliance,; Width: 60p1.8; Depth: 13.45 in; Color: Black plus one; File Name: :17000-17999:1780017899:17809-King & Bunny’s Appliance, ; Comment: King and Bunny Sale ; Ad Number: 17809