Page 1

1996 THEME -” UNITY“ An excerpt from my speech during the Inaugural Ball for this year‟s board held at the Airtel Plaza Hotel stated that Fil-Am Association of Santa Clarita is a very unique group because the members come from various geographical areas of the Philippines assembled in one of the safest cities in the US. The activities were: Easter Picnic, June Festival whose theme was “Pagkakaisa”where President Bill Clinton sent his letter printed on the souvenir program stating that the abundant gifts of the Filipino people and culture have helped American strong and that each one of us can take pride in our efforts to maintain and advance this important legacy. CYPA (Coalition of Young Pilipino Americans) was honored with Jocelyn Sison as President and Nick Montebon as the adviser. Cezar Obnial won the contest for the new logo for the Fil-Am Association. The logo depicts the symbol of a great relationship among the Filipino Americans in our community, both flags joined in harmony within its environment. The oak tree is our precious California species that we preserve. The tapering shape in the middle of the logo simply represent a towering monument looking up to remember our ancestors and a vision into the future. The following activities followed. July 4th -Theme was “The Last Frontier”., Basketball League. Annual Camping at El Capitan Beach and lastly the Traditional Christmas Party. The following were the Board members: 


Tess A. Carlos


Mel Oxciano


Cynthia Leigh


Ben Sison


Elmer Carlos


Ed de Belen

Board Member

Larry Espiritu

Board Member

Nick Montebon

Board Member

Fely Quitevez

June & Tess

I would like to take this opportunity to honor the “Pioneers” of this organization who although not officially recognized by the Association were the ones to get together way back in the early „70‟s. From this small group of nine families, who got together on the weekends. From this small group came as what we now know as the Filipino American Association of Sta/ Clarrita Valley. There were: Bob and Letty Campbell, Mrs. Florence Domingo, Mike and Beth Chiodetti, Marcel and Naty Ibarra, Tess Carlos, Lloyd and Myrna Hoffman, Mark and Nellie Crawford, Lillian Viray and Rudy, Linda Correa and Art and Letty Caranto.

Congratulations and thanks for what you have done!!! Now we are celebrating the 25th Anniversary. Nicholas, Giselle, Peter, Zinnia & Madison

Pg 33 1996 t carlos pres page  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you