Page 1

Ipswich City Council Ipswich Libraries

Ipswich

Digital Hub This program is a joint initiative of the Ipswich City Council and the Australian Government. Although funding has been provided by the Australian Government, the material does not necessarily represent the views or policies of the Australian Government.


Ipswich

Digital Hub The Ipswich Digital Hub at Redbank Plains Library is preparing the way for the rollout of the National Broadband Network (the “NBN”). To make sure Ipswich is ready, free training will be available at the Digital Hub starting in January 2012. Courses will range from internet basics to using Skype, Facebook and watching TV online. Training courses will cover: • • • • • • • • • • •

How to get connected to the internet Searching the internet How to use email Using Google Calendar and Google docs Shopping and banking online Keeping in touch with Twitter and Facebook Sharing photos and video online Writing and publishing stories and journals online Watching TV and listening to radio online Learning and joining educational courses online Making video phone calls

All sessions listed will take place at the Ipswich Digital Hub, Redbank Plains Library. Bookings are essential

1


Basic Computer

Training

Course: BASIC-01 (Introduction to computers) New to computers? Learn how to be proficient in using the mouse and keyboard, how to adjust the monitor so it best suits you, how to plug in devices, saving and finding files (PC/Windows OS only). Requirements: It is preferred that you have your own computer so you can practise at home. Bring along a USB memory stick to take away resources to use at home (optional). Outcome: Familiarity with computers. Duration: 2 hours Saturday, 12 January 2013

10:00 am

Wednesday, 16 January 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 17 January 2013

2:00 pm

Tuesday, 29 January 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 8 March 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 10 April 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 2 May 2013

2:30 pm

2


Course: BASIC-02 (Introduction to the internet) You have a computer but you’re not yet using the Internet? Learn how to search, use online maps and get directions, becoming “NetSavvy” with passwords and smart browsing. Requirements: It is preferred that you have your own computer so you can practise at home. Bring along a USB memory stick to take away resources to use at home (optional). Outcome: Familiarity with the internet. Duration: 2 hours Wednesday, 23 January 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 24 January 2013

2:00 pm

Saturday, 26 January

10:00 am

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 15 March 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 17 April 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 9 May 2013

2:30 pm

Course: BASIC-03 (Introduction to email) You have a computer and know the basics of using the internet and want to keep in touch with friends and family with electronic mail (email). Learn how to set up and use email, learn about scams and spam (unwanted emails), sending files with your emails, avoiding viruses that can affect your computer, maintaining address books and becoming “NetSavvy” with passwords, net/email etiquette. Requirements: A USB memory stick to take away some resources to use at home (optional); a username to create your email account. Outcome: Experience in using email; Set up email accounts – Google/ Gmail and Microsoft/Hotmail. Duration: 2 hours

3

Wednesday, 30 January 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 31 January 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 9 February 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 26 February 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 22 March 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 24 April 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 16 May 2013

2:30 pm


Performing Operations

Online

Course: TVONLINE-01 (Radio and TV online) Don’t be limited to watching shows on TV or music on the radio. Internet Radio, TV and News are all online. Learn about ABCTV iView, SBS Online, Internet radio, podcasts and vidcasts. Requirements: Bring along a USB memory stick to take away resources to use at home (optional). Outcome: Familiarity with online entertainment. Duration: 2 hours Friday, 11 January 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 7 February 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 9 March 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 26 March 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 19 April 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 1 May 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 23 May 2013

2:30 pm

4


Course: SHOP-01 (Shopping and banking online) Learn how to shop online, pay bills and bank using the internet. Also find out how to access Government Services Online. Requirements: An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Big pond, or similar) or the skills to create one. Outcome: Skills to pay bills and buy items online. Duration: 2 hours Friday, 18 January 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 13 February 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 14 February 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 23 March 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 26 April 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 8 May 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 30 May 2013

2:30 pm

Course: SOCIAL-01 (Social media with Twitter and Facebook) Learn how to use Twitter and Facebook, set up accounts, use these popular social media tools and how to protect your privacy. Requirements: An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar) or the skills to create one. Outcome: A Twitter and Facebook account and skills to use them. Duration: 2 hours

5

Friday, 25 January 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 21 February 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 20 April 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 23 April 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 3 May 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 15 May 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 6 June 2013

2:30 pm


Course: COLLAB-01 (Collaborating online) Learn how to work and collaborate anywhere and anytime online. Write and share documents, create appointment and personal calendars, store files “in the cloud� (somewhere other than your computer that you can access anywhere). Requirements: Intermediate computer experience, beginner (or better) Microsoft Office experience, an email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar). Outcome: Experience writing documents and spreadsheets online and sharing with others. Duration: 2 hours Friday, 1 February 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 27 February 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 28 February 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 4 May 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 7 May 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 17 May 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 22 May 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 13 June 2013

2:30 pm

Course: VIDEO-01 (Putting your photos and videos online) Learn how to share your videos and photos online using Youtube and Flickr, how to set up accounts, basic editing and uploading files. Requirements: An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar), a USB memory stick containing your photo or video. Outcome: Setting up and using a Flickr and Youtube account. Duration: 2 hours Friday, 8 February 2013

10:30 am

Wednessday, 6 March 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 7 March 2013

2:30 pm

Saturday, 18 May 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 21 May 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 24 May 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 29 May 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 20 June 2013

2:30 pm

6


Course: BLOG-01 (Blogging and writing online) Unleash your creativity by writing a blog or creating webpages. Learn how to set up an online journal (a “blog�) and how to write for an online audience. Requirements: An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar) or the skills to create one; beginner (or better) Microsoft Office experience. Outcome: Your very own blog/website to share stories. Duration: 2 hours Friday, 15 February 2013

10:30 am

Wednessday, 13 March 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 14 March 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 31 May 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 1 June 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 4 June 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 5 June 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 27 June 2013

2:30 pm

Course: PHONE-01 (Messaging and Skype) Save money with interstate and international phone calls by using the internet. Chat online using MSN Messenger Chat and make phone and video calls with Skype. Requirements: An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar) or the skills to create one. Outcome: Your own Skype phone account and MSN Messenger or Google GTalk account. Duration: 2 hours

7

Friday, 22 February 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 20 March 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 21 March 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 7 June 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 12 June 2013

10:30 am

Saturay, 15 June 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 18 June 2013

6:00 pm


Course: TEACH-01 (Education and learning online) Learn how the world can be your online classroom with Online Learning. Everything from simple “how-to� instructional videos to University classes taught online. Requirements: Bring along a USB memory stick to take away resources to use at home (optional). Outcome: Familiarity with online learning resources Duration: 2 hours Friday, 1 March 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 28 March 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 14 June 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 29 June 2013

10:00 am

8


Benefits of the NBN and Broadband Connectivity

Explained

Course: NBNINFO-01 (National Broadband Network) The National Broadband Network (NBN) is coming to Ipswich, providing world-class high capacity access to the internet. Learn about the NBN, how to get connected, how it works, the rollout plan and what it can mean for you. Requirements: None. Outcome: Understanding of the National Broadband Network and how you can use it. Duration: 2 hours

9

Wednesday, 9 January 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 10 January 2013

2:30 pm

Tuesday, 15 January 2013

6:00 pm

Saturday, 23 February 2013

10:00 am

Tuesday, 12 March 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 27 March 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 11 April 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 12 April 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 21 June 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 26 June 2013

10:30 am


Regular Training to Fit Your

Schedule

You can book into 1 or many courses, depending on your needs. All are provided free but bookings are essential.

One on One

Sessions

In addition to the training courses, free one on one sessions can also be arranged. These are available to a maximum of 45 minutes and bookings are essential.

Bookings Online: www.library.qld.gov.au Phone: (07) 3495 7405 or (07) 3810 6887 For further information about your training needs contact the Ipswich Digital Hub Trainer on (07) 3495 7405 or email digitalhub@ipswich.qld.gov.au The Ipswich Digital Hub is located adjacent to the Redbank Plains Library on Moreton Avenue at Redbank Plains.

10


IPSWICH LIBRARIES: • Ipswich Central Branch IGIC Building, 40 South St, Ipswich Phone: (07) 3810 6815 • Redbank Plaza Branch Redbank Plaza Shopping Centre 1 Collingwood Dr, Redbank Phone: (07) 3810 6177

• Redbank Plains Branch Moreton Avenue, Redbank Plains Phone: (07) 3810 6887 • Mobile Library Service Phone: (07) 3810 6887

e| info@library.ipswich.qld.gov.au Find us on facebook.com/IpswichLibrary

w| www.library.ipswich.qld.gov.au

Ipswich Digital Hub  

The Ipswich Digital Hub at the Redbank Plains Library is preparing the way for the rollout of the National Broadband Network (NBN). To make...

Advertisement