Page 1

Ipswich City Council Ipswich Libraries

July - December 2013

Ipswich

Digital Hub This program is a joint initiative of the Ipswich City Council and the Australian Government. Although funding has been provided by the Australian Government, the material does not necessarily represent the views or policies of the Australian Government.


Digital Technology

DEMONSTRATIONS

The Ipswich Digital Hub has a range of digital and internet equipment available for demonstration. If you want to see how some of the latest technologies work you can come along to the Digital Hub for a demonstration. Equipment available includes: • the latest Microsoft Surface table • Tele-health equipment for health self-diagnosis and reporting using the internet • A range of Tablets and e-devices • National Broadband Network (NBN) speed tests and equipment Talk to the Digital Hub Coordinator on ph: (07) 3495 7405 if you would like further information.

2


contents Your Training Calendar Computer-01.............................................................4 Computer-02............................................................4 Internet-01.................................................................5 Internet-02.................................................................5 Email-01....................................................................... 6 Email-02...................................................................... 6 TVOnline-01..............................................................7 Shop-01........................................................................7 Social-01..................................................................... 8 Collab-01.................................................................... 8 Phone-01.................................................................... 9 Write-01....................................................................10 Music-01....................................................................10 Maps-01...................................................................... 11 Travel-01..................................................................... 11 Photo-01.................................................................... 12 Video-01.................................................................... 12 Jobs-01........................................................................ 13 Learn-01..................................................................... 13 NBNInfo-01.............................................................. 14 NBNInfo-02............................................................. 14 One on One Sessions......................................... 15 Booking Information........................................... 15

3


Your Training

CALENDAR Computer-01

This course is designed for “absolute beginners”. • • • •

understanding the Windows operating system file management (saving, copying, moving and deleting files) copying text and the clipboard keyboard and mouse skills

Computer-02 This course extends and enhances COMPUTER-01. • • • •

virus scanning and security using Windows accessory programs (calculator, wordpad and notepad, paint, etc) installing and uninstalling (removing) computer programs connecting peripheral devices (USB memory sticks, digital cameras, etc)

COMPUTER-01

COMPUTER-02

Saturday, 13 July 2013

10:00 am

Friday, 26 July 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 19 July 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 27 July 2013

10:00 am

Thursday, 15 August 2013

2:30 pm

Thursday, 22 August 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 13 September 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 20 September 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 5 October 2013

10:00 am

Saturday, 19 October 2013

10:00 am

Friday, 8 November 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 15 November 2013

10:30 am

Duration: 90 minutes (each course) with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Each course must be booked separately. There is no requirement to attend both courses. Cost: Free

4


INTERNET-01 This course is designed for “absolute beginners”. • • • • •

basic browsers and webpage use various websites installing additional browsers Google and Bing webpage search adding a page as a “favourite”

INTERNET-02 This course extends and enhances INTERNET-01. • • • •

advanced Google Search various websites browsing history, home pages cookies, cache, security and more.

INTERNET-01

INTERNET-02

Friday, 2 August 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 9 August 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 10 August 2013

10:00 am

Saturday, 24 August 2013

10:00 am

Thursday, 29 August 2013

2:30 pm

Thursday, 5 September 2013 2:30 pm

Friday, 27 September 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 4 October 2013

Saturday, 2 November 2013

10:00 am

Saturday, 16 November 2013 10:00 am

Friday, 22 November 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 29 November 2013

10:30 am 10:30 am

Duration: 90 minutes (each course) with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Each course must be booked separately. There is no requirement to attend both courses. Cost: Free

5


EMAIL-01 This course is designed for “absolute beginners”. • • • • • •

setting up an email account (Hotmail, Gmail) passwords and account security, account recovery sending and receiving emails forwarding emails attaching and sending files spam, scams, phishing and security techniques

EMAIL-02 This course extends and enhances EMAIL-01. An existing and working email account is required. • • • • •

CC and BCC emails searching emails tagging and folder (including spam folder) management contacts/address book advanced features (eg “Vacation/Out Of Office Replies”)

EMAIL-01

EMAIL-02

Friday, 16 August 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 23 August 2013

Saturday, 7 September 2013

10:00 am

Saturday, 21 September 2013 10:00 am

Thursday, 12 September 2013 2:30 pm

Thursday, 19 September 2013 2:30 pm

Friday, 11 October 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 18 October 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 6 December 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 13 December 2013

10:30 am

Saturday, 14 December 2013

10:00 am

Saturday, 30 November 2013 10:00 am

10:30 am

Duration: 90 minutes (each course) with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Each course must be booked separately. There is no requirement to attend both courses. Cost: Free

6


TVONLINE-01 This continuing “general information” course covers radio stations and TV programs that can be enjoyed online. Learn about “catchup TV”, Internet Radio, podcasts and vidcasts, streaming music services and Smart TV’s. TVONLINE-01 Wednesday, 3 July 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 25 September 2013 10:30 am Tuesday, 8 October 2013

6:00 pm

Thursday, 7 November 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

SHOP-01 This continuing “general information” course covers: • online banking (including account transfers and paying bills online) • online retailers and stores • eBay auctions and eBay stores (bidding process, ratings, links with PayPal and purchase insurance, etc) • PayPal money transfers and payments • security consideration SHOP-01 Wednesday, 10 July 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 1 August 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 2 October 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 22 October 2013

6:00 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

7


SOCIAL-01 This continuing “general information” course covers Facebook and Twitter: what they are, how they work, how to friend/follow, other uses and how to set up and use an account. SOCIAL-01 Wednesday, 17 July 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 3 October 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 9 October 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 5 November 2013

6:00 pm

Thursday, 19 December 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

COLLAB-01 This continuing “general information” course covers how to work and collaborate anywhere and anytime online. Write and share documents, create appointments and personal calendars, store files “in the cloud” (somewhere other than your computer that you can access anywhere). NOTE: A Google/Gmail account is required to experience the Google Docs and Calendar within the session. Additionally, a Hotmail/Live email address is required to experience the Microsoft Skydrive and Calendar service. Those without either are still encouraged to attend and can benefit from watching the demonstrations. COLLAB-01

8

Wednesday, 24 July 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 10 October 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 16 October 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 19 November 2013

6:00 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free


PHONE-01 This continuing “general information� course covers Instant Messaging as well as Skype phone, video calls and video conferencing. It shows you how to save money with interstate and international phone calls by using the Internet. An email address (such as Google/Gmail, Microsoft/Hotmail, Bigpond, or similar) is required to set up a Skype account. PHONE-01 Thursday, 4 July 2013

2:30 pm

Tuesday, 30 July 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 21 August 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 13 November 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 21 November 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

9


WRITE-01 This continuing “general information” course covers • • • • •

differences between blogs and websites creating a blog managing your blog (posts, pages and comments) writing for an online audience page layout and design

WRITE-01 Tuesday, 16 July 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 14 August 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 6 November 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 14 November 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

MUSIC-01 This “general information” course is targeted to musicians and covers tools, utilities and websites to assist in song writing, rehearsal, recording and artist promotion. NOTE: iPad/iPhone and Android music apps are NOT covered in this course. MUSIC-01 Wednesday, 18 September 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 31 October 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 11 December 2013

10:30 am

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

10


MAPS-01 This “general information” course is for anyone interested in maps and mapping, directions, creating routes, aerial views and basic astronomy. • • • •

Google Maps and Bing Maps route planning Google Earth and Google Sky Transinfo destination planner website

MAPS-01 Thursday, 11 July 2013

2:30 pm

Tuesday, 13 August 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 28 August 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 20 November 2013 10:30 am Thursday, 28 November 2013

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

2:30 pm

TRAVEL-01 This “general information” course is for anyone interested in travel and planning journeys (local, national and international) • • • •

hire car and accommodation bookings air flights bookings public transport search and planning travel advisory and destination research, domestic and international weather monitoring

TRAVEL-01 Thursday, 18 July 2013

2:30 pm

Tuesday, 27 August 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 4 September 2013

10:30 am

Wednesday, 27 November 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 5 December 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

11


PHOTO-01 This “general information” course is for anyone interested in placing their digital photographs onto the web. It also covers image formats and basic image editing skills and tools. Additionally, the course covers setting up a Flickr photo sharing account, restricting viewing access and managing the account. This course replaces and extends the photograph section of the previous VIDEO-01 course. A Yahoo/Gmail account is required to set up a Flickr account (help can be provided during the session but having another working email account – such as Gmail or Hotmail – is required beforehand) PHOTO-01 Wednesday, 31 July 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 17 October 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 23 October 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 3 December 2013

6:00 pm

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

VIDEO-01 This “general information” course is for anyone interested in placing their videos onto the web. It also covers video formats and basic video editing skills and tools. Additionally, the course covers setting up a YouTube channel, restricting viewing access and managing the YouTube account. This course replaces and extends the previous VIDEO-01 course. A Google/Gmail account is required to set up a YouTube account. VIDEO-01

12

Wednesday, 7 August 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 24 October 2013

2:30 pm

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 17 December 2013

6:00 pm

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free


JOBS-01 This new course shows how to use the internet to find a job: • • • •

job sites advertising vacancies setting up email alerts for new job advertisements setting up a job seekers profile (includes uploading resumes and cover letters) where to find guidelines and help for writing resumes and cover letters

JOBS-01 Friday, 30 August 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 26 September 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 25 October 2013

10:30 am

Friday, 20 December 2013

10:30 am

Duration: 90 minutes with an extra 30 minutes available immediately after the lesson for anyone wanting additional help. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

LEARN-01 This continuing “general information” course covers education and learning online – how the world can be your online classroom with Online Learning. Everything from simple “How-To” instructional videos to University classes taught online. Understand what a “virtual classroom” is and how it works. LEARN-01 Wednesday, 11 September 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 24 September 2013

6:00 pm

Wednesday, 4 December 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 12 December 2013

2:30 pm

Duration: 2 hours Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

13


Broadband Connectivity

Explained NBNINFO-01

This continuing “general information” course covers the National Broadband Network (NBN) rollout through the greater Ipswich region. Learn about the NBN, how to get connected, how it works, the rollout plan and what it can mean for you. NBNINFO-01 Friday, 12 July 2013

10:30 am

Thursday, 8 August 2013

2:30 pm

Friday, 6 September 2013

10:30 am

Tuesday, 10 September 2013

6:00 pm

Friday, 1 November 2013

10:30 am

Duration: 2 hours (with last 30 minutes available for anyone wanting to find out when the NBN is coming to their area. Bookings: Bookings are required. Cost: Free

NBNINFO-02 This new “general information” course looks at internet broadband packages offered by some of the Internet Service Providers (ISP). Additionally it shows techniques available to measure and monitor broadband (internet connection) speeds and some simple troubleshooting. Scheduling and booking availability for NBNINFO-02 will be announced at a later date, depending on interest.

14


One on One

Sessions

If you can’t make it to one of the group sessions the Ipswich Digital Hub also offers one-on-one assistance. These relaxed sessions can assist with: • better understanding of computers, email and internet use • solving “how do I…” problems or answering “how does this work” questions • any topics from the Digital Hub group training sessions Bookings essential.

Bookings Online: www.library.qld.gov.au Phone: (07) 3495 7405 or (07) 3810 6887 For further information about your training needs contact the Ipswich Digital Hub Trainer on (07) 3495 7405 or email digitalhub@ipswich.qld.gov.au The Ipswich Digital Hub is located adjacent to the Redbank Plains Library on Moreton Avenue, Redbank Plains.

15


IPSWICH LIBRARIES: • Ipswich Central Library IGIC Building, 40 South St, Ipswich Phone: (07) 3810 6815 • Redbank Plaza Branch Redbank Plaza Shopping Centre 1 Collingwood Dr, Redbank Phone: (07) 3810 6177

• Redbank Plains Branch Moreton Avenue, Redbank Plains Phone: (07) 3810 6887 • Mobile Library Service Phone: (07) 3810 6887

e| info@library.ipswich.qld.gov.au Find us on facebook.com/IpswichLibrary

w| www.library.ipswich.qld.gov.au

Ipswich Digital Hub Training Classes - July to December 2013  

The Ipswich Digital Hub at the Redbank Plains Library offers a variety of FREE training classes to the community to prepare residents for th...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you