Page 3

DECEMBER 2011 - VOL. 53, NO. 3 DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND COMMUNICATION PURPLE & WHITE EDITOR Martha Potts-Bell martha.potts-bell@iwc.edu PUBLICATIONS MANAGER PURPLE & WHITE GRAPHIC DESIGNER Sheri Michaels sheri.michaels@iwc.edu CLASS NOTES EDITOR Donna Gardner alumni@iwc.edu PRESIDENT Dr. Jay Simmons jay.simmons@iwc.edu

Members of Alpha Xi Delta show their playful side in the Homecoming parade.

Contents

VICE PRESIDENT FOR INSTITUTIONAL RELATIONS Jerry Thomas jerry.thomas@iwc.edu DIRECTOR OF ALUMNI RELATIONS Anita Brent Hampton ’71 anita.hampton@iwc.edu SPORTS INFORMATION DIRECTOR Adam Glatczak aglatczak@iwc.edu

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRESIDENT

Jason E. Kiesey ’94

VICE PRESIDENT Colin D. Woods ’95

SECRETARY / TREASURER

The Hon. Annette Jennings Scieszinski ’77

Ebony Harper, Marissa Bozik and Brittany Stockwell enjoy the Foam Party.

2 4 6 7 8 10 12

Homecoming 2011 Reflections of Service New Students Serve Faculty Notes Campus News Athletics Class Notes

MEMBERS

Christopher V. Beavers ’01 Linda Eggenberger Brockway ’70 Adam C. Creager ’05 Rick Fischer ’81 Audra Gaddis ’09 David R. Hansen ’72 Jennifer Schmitz Kruse ’94 Betty Barney Mullen ’75 Dr. Perry O. Ross ’71 Marvin Smith ’00 Mark W. Steffen ’94 Dana M. St. Germain ’02

Front cover: Freshmen package food for Kids Against Hunger during the Orientation service activity.

The Purple & White is published three times a year by Iowa Wesleyan College for alumni, friends, faculty and staff. Send Class Notes and address changes to the Alumni Relations Office, Iowa Wesleyan College, 601 North Main Street, Mount Pleasant, IA 52641-1398. Ph: 319.385.6215 Fax: 319.385.6296 E-mail: alumni@iwc.edu Website: www.iwc.edu

COMMENCEMENT MAY 4-5, 2012 Celebrating Class Reunions

1937 ­~ 75-YEAR 1942 ­~ 70-YEAR 1947 ­~ 65-YEAR 1952 ­~ 60-YEAR 1957 ­~ 55-YEAR 1962 ­~ 50-YEAR

1

Purple & White December 2011