Page 1

The leading maritime charity for youth development and lifelong learning

ANNUAL REVIEW 2015/16


2015/16

Our year in numbers

94%

of Sea Cadets believe they are gaining valuable life skills

102

scholarships awarded to seafarers, a 50% increase

47,000 qualifications achieved by Sea Cadets

7,793

boating qualifications delivered to cadets

91%

of volunteers believe they are making a valuable contribution

404,878 total hours spent on the water

ÂŁ280k left in legacies

ÂŁ40k

raised by our Emergency Flood Appeal

Climbing the rigging on TS Royalist

2


Welcome

Welcome from the Chair

W

elcome to our review. This year has been a combination of hard work and reward. My thanks go to the Marine Society College team for the improvements to our GCSE and A-Level provision, resulting in recognition by Ofsted that we are making solid progress across the board. The Marine Society College’s ‘Investors in People’ win at the Seatrade Awards for the @Sea programmes was well earned. This international recognition from the industry helps promote these innovative apps to more seafarers who are looking to improve their knowledge of maths, English and writing, delivering personal development and enhancing safety at sea.

boost to our latest appeal. This is helping the charity to replace its two 16-year-old yachts, whilst also increasing capacity. Having modern equipment is essential to our efforts to inspire young people and improve their futures. This appeal has opened up significant opportunities, introducing us to new supporters who I hope will remain committed to the work we do supporting youth development. Finally, we say farewell to our former President, Sir Peter Abbott GBE KCB, who has sadly passed away. His 10-year presidency following the charities’ merger was critical, and his enthusiasm palpable. The charity’s strength and vibrancy is a fitting legacy to his commitment. Captain Nigel Palmer OBE MNM Chair

For Sea Cadets to be chosen as one of the City of London Lord Mayor’s charities of the year has provided a welcome

3


Introduction

Introduction from the CEO

W

elcome. This year we look back at the penultimate year of our original five-year strategy and forward to the launch of the next, to 2021. It’s an opportunity to take stock and re-evaluate what success looks like for us. Our work has impact – the stories we hear and the results of our recent seafarer and cadet surveys paint a picture of a charity that ensures the success and personal development for thousands. We are proud of the difference we make in an ever-changing world. Through an ethos that champions leadership, teamwork and innovation, we are focused on the task ahead, to steadfastly deliver our long-term goals. For Sea Cadets we’ve identified these by drilling down to the essence of what cadets achieve through the activities and structure we offer, so that we can hone that effort and leverage more

4

from it for young people, helping them flourish regardless of background. For seafarers we’ve undertaken a similar review to ensure that the progress we’ve made since the Ofsted report in 2015 never slackens. You can now see clearly the impact we have through our pathways, on page 20. This gives us the net we need to capture all that we do and present powerfully and simply the impact we make and the ambition of the goals we’ve set, so that our supporters, you, can help us get to where we need to be – making a difference and changing lives. Martin Coles CEO


My Sea Cadets: a cadet’s view

“I didn’t know how to tell good behaviour from bad, but Sea Cadets changed all that. It’s given me respect for myself and others” POC Oumie, Bebington Sea Cadets I’ve been a cadet since the age of 12. I’m now 17 and have achieved so much during that time. Before joining Sea Cadets I was a little drama queen. I wasn’t self-disciplined at all; I didn’t know how to tell good behaviour from bad. Sea Cadets changed all that, and has given me respect for myself and others. It’s also given me more confidence in myself and my abilities, which has helped with making friends – going to college was much easier as a result. My proudest moment happened recently, when I was awarded the Certificate of Merit. It’s given to cadets for commitment and hard work and is highly regarded across the armed forces. I was shocked and honoured to be chosen out of all the cadets from my district. I’m also proud of holding an international powerboat licence and having participated in the Trafalgar Day Parade in London five times, most recently as a guard, the most prestigious position for a cadet. Representing Sea Cadets in front of senior Admirals of the RN and other VIPs made me feel really proud. Through Sea Cadets I’ve seen a bit of what life is like in the forces, and I’ve decided to go into the Royal Navy after college. I can apply what I’ve learned at Sea Cadets, it’s a job for life, and I’ll have the opportunity to travel the world. I probably wouldn’t have considered it if not for Sea Cadets.

Image: Claire Wood

I didn’t even think I’d be able to reach the rank of Petty Officer Cadet, but I’m so glad I have. When I turn 18 I want to become a volunteer, so that I can help new cadets to have the same experiences and opportunities that I have.

5


OUR ACHIEVEMENTS 2015/16 Helping young people to fulfil their potential ‘We broaden horizons. We create possibilities. We help young people see the world through new eyes, and with new confidence’

The Sea Cadets Experience

Numbers up

Through leadership, teamwork, friendship and self-belief, we help young people find their sense of direction so they can see what they can do. We broaden horizons. We create possibilities. We help young people see the world through new eyes, and with new confidence.

Our numbers have increased by 3% on last year, and 9% over five years. Steady growth helps us keep pace with demand for training. Cadets achieved a total of 404,878 boating hours, taking us to our average target of 29 hours.

To help us in that, we’ve corralled all that we offer into one simple format: The Sea Cadets Experience. This pathway maps a cadet’s development as they progress through the various courses, activities and boating hours they need to achieve in order to flourish in their Sea Cadet careers. Embedded throughout that journey are our Sea Cadets values. This forms part of our commitment to offer a consistent and accessible experience to all cadets.

Ensuring cadets achieve basic qualifications to help them in life, we introduced a BTEC level 1 for those achieving Ordinary Cadet. This nationally accredited qualification is equivalent to four GCSEs – a great complement to their schoolwork. In total, 47,000 qualifications were achieved. More cadets, more qualifications and more experiences equal more confidence and better chances in life. Offering unique experiences is part of developing great life skills. This year, cadets took part in a range of commemorative events to mark WWI. Royal Marines Cadets suported the RN and RM when they joined them in Turkey aboard HMS Bulwark in April 2015 to mark the Gallipoli landings.

47,000 404,878 qualifications achieved

boating hours delivered

Getting out on the water builds confidence and teamwork

6


Our achievements

“Sea Cadets is building a group of young people who believe they can change the world through their own efforts, who understand that you have to work as a team to be successful” OJ, a parent at Clapton & Hackney Unit

Impact in schools Working with the government-led initiative of cadets in schools, we embedded nine new school units and gained funding to open another 14 over the next five years. So far we’ve introduced 609 cadets and 231 volunteers to the charity. A study of one of these, Copley Academy in Manchester, showed improvements across the academic year: • 100% said they feel more confident and focused • 40% showed improvement in their behaviour • Between 65%–100% improvement in academic performance • A pupil with considerable behaviour issues reduced their lesson exclusions and isolations by 50%

We trialled a new initiative, Sea Cadets Saturday Club, introducing local children to the charity. Funded by Youth United, it gave 200 young people from some of the most economically deprived areas of London free watersport sessions at our boat station in east London. This gives them experience and nationally accredited qualifications, and increases their confidence: the keys to a better future. We also launched a new project, funded by Seafarers UK, to inspire the next generation of engineers. This mobile project delivers access to vital marine engineering kit to schools and units to inspire students to think about a future in engineering.

100%

of pupils at Copley Academy feel more confident and focused since they started attending Sea Cadets

609

new cadets since opening nine new units in schools

Wrenn Academy in Wellingborough has seen improved behaviour and attendance since starting a Sea Cadets unit

7


My Sea Cadets: a parent’s view

“The way the unit handled my son’s behaviour was paramount to his increased maturity and general attitude” Michelle Freudenau, a parent from Bollington & Macclesfield Unit We first became involved with Sea Cadets about eight years ago. My son Luke was desperate to join as his friends were already going. He has ADHD [attention deficit hyperactivity disorder], so I was keen for him to join because I thought the discipline would be good for him. After I took him along to the unit for a taster night, he was bursting with excitement and keen to go again. I took my daughter Leah along too. She was asked by a PO to stay for an hour to see if she liked it. At first she was reluctant but after some coaxing she stayed, and then she wanted to join too.

Leah has now grown into an amazing young lady of 16. She is about to start an engineering course and when she turns 18 she wants to pursue a career as a weapons engineer in the Royal Navy. Through Sea Cadets she had an opportunity to apply for a position this year as the Mayor’s youth consort. This entails attending functions with the Mayor, such as the Remembrance service in November. Her attitude, kindness and thoughtfulness have all been helped by being a Sea Cadet, and she is a huge credit to her unit.

8

Image: Adam Schofield

After six years at Sea Cadets, I’m proud to say my son has gone on to do a level 3 engineering course and passed it successfully. He is now holding down a full-time job in engineering and I feel it’s all thanks to his time with Sea Cadets. It was a course he went on while he was a cadet that sparked his interest in engineering, and the patience, guidance and the way the unit handled his ADHD – not letting him get away with things as a result – have been paramount in his increased maturity and general attitude.


Our achievements

Listening to our members “There are lots of pressures on you today as a girl. How you look, how your hair is, how you act. At Sea Cadets, everyone’s the same, you wear your hair the same – it’s such a relief!” Serafina, a cadet at Clapton & Hackney Unit

Cadets and volunteers have taken part in our largest-ever Corps survey. The biggest revelation was how everyone feels about Sea Cadets. ‘Family’ is the word that got used the most – we’re delighted to see that the support we give is received so positively. Our December cadet conference offered cadets a chance to suggest ideas for a better Sea Cadets Experience – something we’ve taken on board and incorporated into our Vision & Strategy to 2021.

What cadets said: • 66% said attending Sea Cadets improved their attendance and engagement at school • 93% said we help them gain qualifications • 94% said we provide them with the skills they need for later in life • 88% said being a Sea Cadet will help them get a job (Aug 2015, conducted on our behalf by NPC: thinknpc.org/)

66%

said Sea Cadets improved their attendance and engagement at school

94%

of cadets believe they are gaining valuable skills for life

9


Our achievements

Investing in the future ‘Royalist is inspiring cadets as they see what they can achieve when they pull together as one crew, using teamwork, commitment and leadership’ Our aim is to help more young people to see the future that they want – and make that happen. Having modern and well-equipped facilities is vital and the only limit to our efforts to inspire young people is funding.

TS Royalist: a new beginning May 2015 saw HRH The Princess Royal name and commission our new £4.8m flagship. Now in its second season, the ship is inspiring cadets as they see what they can achieve when they pull together as one crew, using teamwork, commitment and leadership. TS Royalist trumpets the impact we make on the lives of thousands of youngsters.

Launching a market-leading dinghy Working with RS Sailing, we developed a new sailing dinghy. Since its launch at the Southampton Boat Show it’s proving a runaway success – we’ve already match funded 110 dinghies for units and delivered 46 to our national training centres. This year 7,793 cadets achieved a boating qualification, up from 5,737. We secured £2.2m of funding, gifted by the Chancellor of the Exchequer, which will see us deliver a further 500 dinghies over the next three years as part of our dinghy sailing programme.

From the 2016 season, the Royal Navy is providing two junior officers as watch officers on board TS Royalist, strengthening our bond with the Royal Navy and adding further inspiring role models for cadets to learn from.

£2.2m

of funding secured from the Chancellor of the Exchequer

7,793 cadets achieved a boating qualification

110

new dinghies match funded for units

Our new RS Quest dinghy offers a fantastic learning experience

10


Our achievements

“Excellent facilities, excellent staff and an infectious buzz for boating” A parent at Royal Docks Boat Station

Boat stations: better equipped

Helping young people find their career

We delivered two more upgrades to our boat stations, the first at Wembley, where, thanks to the Cadet Expansion Programme (funded by the Department for Education and the MOD) plus Sport England and other donors, we redeveloped the tired facilities with an accessible, stateof-the-art, new boat station. This £680k project expands capacity, giving more young people the chance to learn to sail on an amazing piece of water in the heart of London.

Our commitment to supporting cadets into adulthood with working opportunities and experiences had a boost from our work with Berthon, Bibby Ship Management and the Royal Navy. These relationships promote the opportunities available for working at sea. We also delivered a mini careers event at National Regatta involving BP, UKSA, Rolls-Royce and British Marine.

At Royal Docks we took on new facilities, including a £2m centre, which we share, offering exclusive space for Sea Cadets. This achievement was thanks to working with Royal Albert Dock Trust, London Borough of Newham, Sport England and London Marathon Trust. Already 17,000 boating sessions have been delivered at Royal Docks, including 7,000 to local schools and communities and 10,000 to Sea Cadets.

£680k 17,000

invested in new boat station

boating sessions delivered at Royal Docks each year

Our new boat station will enable more young people to learn to sail

11


Our achievements

12


Our achievements

Support for volunteers and units ‘Your donations help us achieve more for volunteers and young people’ Every week, 9,000 volunteers commit to Sea Cadets, offering training and on-the-ground inspiration. Giving them the resources they need to do that is crucial. For many, that means helping them to keep the roof on or rebuild their unit from the ground up. Having the right support and advice is critical. We’ve helped 119 units with local fundraising support, resulting in £243k raised, and committed to £796k of grants to 100 units for premises support, 12 of which were for major developments, as well as offering 130 units vital professional property advice.

Focus on fundraising National fundraising is vital, generating much-needed money for the units we support. It helps us build a strong national identity that every local unit can plug into, to raise our profile so that more people can support what we do. We launched our first Emergency Flood Appeal, raising £40k to help units hit by the bad Christmas weather. Throughout the year we refocused our efforts on individual giving, which saw us invest in our database and investigate new avenues, like raffles and digital fundraising, to reach new audiences and reinforce the generous efforts of our existing supporters. Your donations help us achieve more for volunteers and young people.

Red tape Cutting red tape is another way we can help. We updated the unit review process, enabling units to assess themselves and understand their areas of strength as well as areas for improvement. We built on our safeguarding expertise by expanding our dedicated team of professionals, and launched our anti-bullying e-learning module. We completed a review of all our historic case files, ensuring that we continue to improve, and stay up to date.

Joined up We simplified the volunteer joining process, giving units tools to help them manage new starters by improving our online applications, which also saves them time. Our new guidance for units, available online in the members’ area, covers a range of admin topics, from new volunteers to completing criminal records checks.

Communication in numbers • Facebook likes: 27,000 • Instagram followers: 3,597 • Twitter followers: 6,389 • Media reach in Q1 2016: 133,454,350 • Total media reach 2015/16: 294,847,010

Leaving a legacy The importance of legacies to the charity’s future is being realised and we became members of Remember a Charity. As well as promoting the leaving of legacies to the national charity, the legacy team are keen to help units secure their gifts in wills. In the past, legacies left to units have funded new courses for cadets, the renovation of premises, new equipment and even boats.

£243k raised through local fundraising support

£796k

of grants to help 100 units maintain their premises

13


My Sea Cadets: a volunteer’s view

“Sea Cadets offers young people real, transferable life skills and puts them on the right track for adulthood” Kenny Bell, volunteer and CO at Ayr Sea Cadets

I joined Sea Cadets two years ago. Having served in the Royal Navy for five years after leaving school, I thought it would be a good way to give something back. For me, the most rewarding element is seeing cadets developing their skills and gaining qualifications, as well as increasing their confidence as they progress – knowing that you’ve had a small part in their overall growth and development. That’s why I do it, and why I’m happy to put in all the hours. Sea Cadets excels at giving young people structure, discipline and routine. Most of our cadets thrive on it and it is a very positive experience for them. A lot of our cadets aren’t academic, or haven’t had the best start in life – Sea Cadets offers them real, transferable life skills and puts them on the right track for adulthood. The core values are something I always refer to, when explaining to cadets why we’re doing a particular activity or for reinforcing positive behaviour.

I’m convinced that Sea Cadets has a huge influence in shaping young people’s futures. We see a massive improvement in young people in so many ways, if they are willing to put the effort in. If they do that, the sky’s the limit!

14

Image: Kevin Wyllie

When I first joined, I was amazed at the number of opportunities available for young people, in terms of life skills, experiences and qualifications. It’s about building character, identity and a positive attitude, that they can do something if they put their minds to it. Cadets gain experiences that they wouldn’t be able to otherwise – offshore voyages, specialisms and proficiencies, for example.


Our achievements

Working together ‘Our shared values and ways of working help us to work together to achieve our goals for those we support’ Our first staff conference in October 2015 offered valuable insights from across the charity, to help define our future direction. Alongside our first staff survey, this has given us a fantastic window into how we do things, and some great feedback. It has helped us to hone our values across the charity, and to launch a whole new internal communications strategy, to get us working better together so we can deliver more for our beneficiaries. We have improved our employee induction process, including better support for managers, and introduced a one-day charity induction for new employees. We have also made a commitment to investing in our employee development, to ensure they have the key skills to be truly effective in their roles. Our shared values and ways of working help us to work together to achieve our goals for those we support.

Our values: Respect – our professional and ‘can do’ approach creates an environment where we respect one another’s contributions and we thrive and grow. Loyalty – we are loyal to our beneficiaries, and recognise the impact that working as one team will have on achieving the charity’s goals. Self-discipline – this enables us to better plan and prioritise our work and ensure excellence to achieve the best possible results. Commitment – our commitment to the charity’s goals encourages us to work creatively to find solutions. Honesty and Integrity – underpinning all that we do as individuals and teams, we achieve this by being transparent, embracing feedback and taking personal ownership to drive results.

72% responded to our first staff survey

81%

said they have a good understanding of our strategy and objectives

91%

believe they are making a valuable contribution

Sea Cadets helps young people to realise their full potential

15


My Marine Society: a seafarer’s view

“Without the Marine Society’s help, the Chief Mates course would have been significantly harder for me to complete” Thomas Mason, Chief Officer for Red Funnel Ferries I always had an interest in ships and wanted to join the armed forces from an early age, but after being unable to join on medical grounds my father suggested the Merchant Navy instead. After doing some research it sounded ideal and I haven’t looked back since. My only regret is that I didn’t find it five years earlier! I recently decided to go for my Chief Mate CoC because it seemed like the natural next step. As with any qualification, you instantly become more employable, in both seagoing and shore-based roles, as you have demonstrated a commitment to study and self-improvement. I believe that colleagues and others within the industry will also take you more seriously, especially those who have been through the process themselves. But having a senior marine ticket is no mean feat. The course is notoriously intense and the learning curve is steep, to say the least. Passing a Chief Mates oral exam required long days in the library, and a lot of self-discipline to keep the momentum going throughout the course.

Image: David Greensmith Photography

A Chief Mates course isn’t cheap and I was daunted by the prospect of funding it. Like a lot of people, I have a mortgage and bills to pay, so the support I received from the Marine Society really eased the burden. Without their help, the financial strain would have made the course significantly harder for me to complete. Achieving a pass is not only a huge relief but something to be proud of, and it sets me on the road towards gaining my Master’s CoC, which is my ultimate aim.

16


Our achievements

Helping seafarers go further “Current learners are making good progress and are producing work of a good standard” - Ofsted

A tough year but a rewarding one, as we worked to raise our Ofsted assessment to level 3, investing in our team and learners. The results already reveal that learners who achieved good results were supported, both in terms of advice and guidance, and the unique financial support available through us. We can open doors to whole new careers and levels of confidence at sea. As part of what we do, we surveyed the sector; the results showed that we are a much-loved charity, and well respected by the industry. (Research carried out by Chrysalis for Marine Society, January 2016.) We helped more seafarers and awarded 102 scholarships and loans, an increase of 50% on last year. We awarded interest-free loans of £700-£2,000 to cover professional development courses. Thanks to our support, 22 Worcester scholars were able to complete their

studies, from Chief Mates certificate undergraduate to Master’s degrees. We have stocked eight new on-board libraries for Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Company, two each for four ships. The libraries will all receive 100 paperbacks twice a year – 800 extra books each time. This helps us to convert to lightweight and environmentally friendly recyclable paperback libraries, thus saving money and the environment – we’re halfway to reaching our goal of 100% paperback libraries.

Special merit Our @Sea programme, sponsored by IFAN (International Federation for Aids to Navigation), won at the Seatrade Awards, boosting this innovative and accessible, seafarerdriven, international programme.

102

scholarships and loans awarded, 50% more than last year

33

Slater scholars achieved the Officer of the Watch

100

learners passed exams, up 6% on last year

7,944 seafarers supported We’re helping seafarers to go further in their careers

17


FINANCIAL REVIEW 2015/16 How we are funded Other donations and net income

MOD operating grant in aid

£1.5m

TOTAL INCOME *

£10m

Training income

£0.7m

£23.1m (*estimated)

Project grants and donations

£3.1m

Net investment income

Seafarer education & support

£0.6m

Sea Cadet units (estimated)

£6.8m

£0.4m

How we spend it Fundraising

£0.4m

Promoting Marine Society & Sea Cadets

Sea Cadet units (estimated)

£0.4m

Offshore fleet

£2.1m

£6.8m

TOTAL EXPENDITURE *

£22.5m (*estimated)

Training

£5.3m

Safeguarding, support and infrastructure Seafarer education and support

£0.7m 18

£6.8m


Financial review 2015/16

Finances of Marine Society & Sea Cadets’ activities Raising funds is vital to supporting our 400 Sea Cadet units, each of which is a charity in its own right. Total estimated income for Marine Society & Sea Cadets’ activity as a whole in 2015/16, including figures for the independent Sea Cadet units (based upon latest available results) was £23.1m, including funds for expenditure in 2016/17 and beyond on capital and other projects. MSSC was also provided with nine Royal Navy personnel on loan from the MOD, with an estimated value of £0.8M. Total estimated expenditure was £22.5m, with 93% of this expenditure going on Sea Cadet activity. Incoming resources Total incoming resources of MSSC charity decreased to £16.3m (2015: £16.7m). Project grants and donations decreased by £0.9m (22%) following the close of the Flagship Appeal and a reduction in grants from both Youth United and the MOD Cadet Expansion Programme. The MOD operating grant increased by just £0.1m (1%). Resources expended Total resources expended by MSSC charity were £15.7m (2015: £14.3m). Expenditure on Sea Cadet safeguarding, support and infrastructure was up by £1.0m (18%) due to added resources in the form of grants focused on supporting units. Sea Cadet training costs were comparable to last year.

Balance sheet Total net assets/reserves of MSSC charity at 31 March 2016 were £27.1m (2015: £27.0m). Of this £9.2m, (2015: £8.2m) was in tangible fixed assets – 73% of which was the offshore fleet. £13.7m (2015: £14.3m) was in endowment fund investments, providing long-term income towards the running costs of the charity, and cash balances of £5.1m (2015: £6.1m) were substantially in restricted funds, for expenditure on projects and activities as specified by the donors, mostly in the coming year. MSSC’s unrestricted investments of £0.7m, debtors and stock £1.1m and cash balances of £1.4m were offset by creditors of £2.7m, resulting in net working capital, or free reserves of just £0.5m (2015: £0.3m). MSSC does not retain MOD monies as part of its reserves. It remains the aspiration of the charity to increase its level of free reserves to safeguard its activities in the event of any shortfall in public funding. However, the charity remains primarily focused on its ongoing commitments, which include, importantly, the continued upgrade of Sea Cadet facilities. This financial review is intended to give an understanding of the overall summary financial position of MSSC for the 2015/16 financial year, and is based upon the audited accounts for the year ended 31 March 2016. These are available for download from our website ms-sc.org or from the Director of Finance at MSSC head office.

Total net assets/reserves (£27.1m)

Thank you to our committee members, volunteers and many other supporters for raising an estimated

£6.8m Endowment funds (£13.7m – 50%)

to support individual Sea Cadet units

Restricted funds (fixed assets) (£8.2m – 30%) Restricted funds (net current assets) (£3.7m – 14%) Unrestricted funds (fixed assets) (£1.0m – 4%) Unrestricted funds (free reserves/working capital) (£0.5m – 2%)

19


THE NEXT FIVE YEARS TO 2021 Focused on our goals ‘We understand the challenges young people face today, and the demands on seafarers as they juggle work and career progression’ MSSC is passionate about providing a brighter future for young people nationwide, and seafarers wherever they may be. We understand the challenges young people face today, and the demands on seafarers as they juggle work and career progression, often far from friends and family. As a stabilising force we help them get on course to develop life-enhancing skills they can use to grasp a better future.

To help us show the journey from activities and experiences to the influence they have, we’ve developed a framework that helps us map our impact on our beneficiaries. These are our long-term goals, guiding us in all that we do, ensuring we leverage the biggest difference for those we support now and into the future.

Our strategy to 2021 seeks a consistent Sea Cadets Experience that inspires, challenges and champions more young people, so they can improve their life chances and engage more at school, in work and in their communities. For seafarers, we’re listening to what they want and giving them routes to learning that will help them better navigate their potential as individuals and professionals.

Our outcomes framework for Sea Cadets:

Our Our outcomes outcomes framework framework for seafarers: for seafarers:

We developed a framework to help us map our impact for young people. It means we can explain more clearly why we do what we do and how we achieve positive outcomes for young people.

The table below shows how we engage and support The below how we The table tableand below shows howbenefits we engage engage and support support seafarers theshows long-term for and them. seafarers seafarers and and the the long-term long-term benefits benefits for for them. them.

SEA CADET PATHWAY

Experience

Intermediate outcomes

What is offered

Life skills

– Adventure & challenge – Progressive training – Personal development – Competitions & events

– Motivation – Self-confidence – Leadership – Teamwork – Communication – Citizenship – Innovation

What makes it special – Nautical focus – Customs & traditions of the Royal Navy – Breadth of activities & experiences with opportunity to specialise

What is the cadet experience – Positive relationships – Sense of belonging & identity – Inspirational

Values – Respect – Loyalty – Self-discipline – Commitment – Honesty & integrity

Qualifications – Internally accredited – Externally accredited (BTEC, DofE & national governing body)

SEAFARER PATHWAY Inputs Inputs

Long-term benefits

What is offered What is offered

Attendance & engagement in school

– Distance learning Distance Distance learning learning ––Scholarships & loans Scholarships & Scholarships & loans loans –– Impartial advice –– & Impartial advice Impartial advice guidance & & guidance guidance – Learning resources –– Exams Learning Learning resources atresources sea Exams at Exams at sea sea –– Book services –– Book Book services services

Improved post 16 destinations/ labour market participation

What makes What makes it special it special – Seafarer friendly ––& Seafarer friendly Seafarer friendly accessible & & accessible accessible – Academic & –– pastoral Academic & Academic & support pastoral pastoral support support – Maritime sector related –– advice Maritime sector Maritime sector related related & guidance advice advice & & guidance guidance

Long-term wellbeing

Reduced risky/ problem behaviours

What is What is the seafarer the seafarer experience experience – Supported learning ––Opportunity Supported Supported learning learning to ––read Opportunity Opportunity to & learn to read & learn read & advice learn and – Expert –– guidance Expert Expert advice advice and and guidance guidance – Career development –– Career Career development development

Increased participation in communities 1

1

20

11

Intermediate Intermediate outcomes outcomes

Long-term Long-term benefits benefits

Further Further education education – Knowledge Knowledge Knowledgeskills –– Functional –– Functional Functional skills skills

Long-term Long-term wellbeing wellbeing

Quality of life Quality of life – Communication and ––social Communication and Communication and skills social social skills skillsand – Numeracy –– literacy Numeracy Numeracy and skillsand literacy literacy skills skills – Learning to learn –– Learning Learning to to learn learn

Career Career progression progression

Qualifications Qualifications All levels including: All levels AlliGSCE levels including: including: – & A Level iGSCE iGSCE & & AA Level Level –– Undergraduate –– & Undergraduate Undergraduate postgraduate & & postgraduate postgraduate – Bespoke maritime skills Bespoke skills Bespoke maritime maritime skills –– Professional seafarer –– qualifications Professional Professional seafarer seafarer qualifications qualifications

Personal Personal development development


Looking ahead

Our vision & strategy to 2021 We’ve focused on two key priorities: 1. Maximise impact of Sea Cadets for young people To have an even greater impact on the lives of young people through the Sea Cadets Experience, improving life chances at school, in work and for the community.

2. Increase learning development for seafarers To increase the learning development impact for seafarers, by inspiring and supporting them to progress and realise their full potential.

By 2021: We want more young people engaged with Sea Cadets so that we can launch them into the best possible future and help build stronger communities across the UK, delivering intermediate and long-term benefits for young people and society.

By 2021: we aim to have more seafarers achieving the best possible lifelong learning and personal development outcomes, through a learning offer optimised to the needs of seafarers in the 21st century. This will deliver qualifications through further education and a better quality of life at sea, with the ultimate benefit to seafarers and the sector resulting from seafarers realising their full potential. The complete strategy to 2021 can be read online at ms-sc.org or please contact us at our HQ address for a hard copy.

Cadets have life-changing experiences when they go offshore

21


PEOPLE, HONOURS AND COMMITTEES

President Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope GCB OBE DL

Council members Captain Nigel Palmer OBE MNM (Chairman) Mr Tony Allen Dr Louise Bennett (Vice Chairman) Ms Liz Cassidy Mr Hyder Dastagir (retired 1 February 2016) Mr Andrew Davenall Dr Sheila Fitzpatrick MBE Mr Simon Figgis Mr Eric Hutchinson (retired 14 October 2015) Mr Alan Marsh FICS Mr Alex Marsh Mr Nick Mason (elected 14 October 2015) Sir Alan Massey KCB CBE Mr John May (elected 14 October 2015) Captain Ian McNaught MNM Rear Admiral David Snelson CB FNI (Vice Chair) (retired 14 October 2015) Ms Kathryn Stone OBE (elected 14 October 2015) Vice Admiral Sir David Steel KBE DL (elected 14 October 2015) Commodore Bill M Walworth CBE RFA Mr Robert Woods CBE

Committees Finance, Investment, Remuneration & Audit Committee (Chair: Simon Figgis) Policy, Development & Nominations Committee (Chair: Ms Liz Cassidy. Rear Admiral David Snelson CB FNI was Chair until he retired 14 October 2015) Safety, Safeguarding & Risk Committee
(Chair: Dr Louise Bennett) National Sea Cadet Advisory Council 
(Chair: Mr Andrew Davenall)

Vice Presidents Admiral Sir Peter Abbott GBE KCB (deceased 28 September 2015) Sir Christopher Benson FRICS JP DL Mr Philip Berridge Vice Admiral Sir Tom Blackburn KCVO CB Rear Admiral John Borley CB MA CEng MIEE Sir John Bourn KCB

22

Colonel Paul Cautley CMG OBE DL RMR The Reverend Canon Bill Christianson Mr Mike Cornish Mr Christopher StJ H Daniel MBE FSA Mr Jim Davis CBE Rear Admiral Sir Jeremy de Halpert KCVO CB Mr Clive de Rougemont Mr Michael Everard CBE BA DSc Commodore Ian Gibb MBE MNM FNI MRIN FRSA FRGS Mr Andrew Given Mr Max Gladwyn Lord Ambrose Greenway Mr Douglas Hamilton (deceased 21 June 2016) Mr Eric Hutchinson Mr David Jeffcoat Mr George King CBE Captain Colin Lee OBE KStJ JP DL (deceased 15 May 2016) Commander John Ludgate RD*DL RNR Vice Admiral Sir Fabian Malbon KBE Dr Chris May MA AMInstP MNM Dr Peter Nash Professor Sarah Palmer BA PhD FR Hist S Mr David Parker (deceased April 2016) Vice Admiral Sir Neville Purvis KCB Dame Mary Richardson DBE Captain David Robinson MBE FNI FRSA The Earl of Romney Mr Richard Sayer FICS Rear Admiral David Snelson CB FNI Commodore David Squire CBE FNI FCMI RFA Mr Patrick Stewart MBE LLB WS Mr Peter Swan OBE FCA Vice Admiral Sir Patrick Symons KBE Mr Mike Tapper FRSA Mr Christopher Thornton Mr Henry Thornton Vice Admiral Sir Jonathan Tod KCB CBE Miss Margaret Watson JP Vice Admiral Sir James Weatherall KCVO KBE Mr John Whitworth OBE Mr Colin Wilcox

Executive management Chief Executive: Martin Coles FRICS ACIArb Captain Sea Cadets: Captain Philip Russell RN (from 25 April 2015) Captain Jonathan Holloway MSc CEng MIMechE RN (to 25 April 2015) Company Secretary: Mark Hallam (from 12 June 2015) Director of HR: Petrina Brooker (from 17 August 2015) Director of Business Management: John Parker-Jones Director of Fundraising & Communications: Samantha Shaw Director of Lifelong Learning: Mark Windsor Director of Finance, IT and Trading: Mark Hallam BSc MNI FCA Director of Safety, Safeguarding and Risk: Jerry Flechais

Queen’s Birthday Honours 2015 Mrs Elizabeth Ann Chambers MBE, District Chair and Deputy Northern Area Chair for voluntary services to the Sea Cadet Corps Mr Allan Frederick Jones BEM, Honorary President of Edmonton Unit for services to the Sea Cadet Corps

New Year’s Honours Mr Bill Fairbairn MBE, former Director Technical Services Offshore Fleet Mr Geoffrey Palmer MBE, Chairman of Portsmouth Unit for services to the Sea Cadet Corps Mr George Troup BEM, Clydebank Unit for services to the Sea Cadet Corps

Join us!

Do you want to help your local Sea Cadets? Then why not join us as a member? You can support us directly or through one of our six branches. Call now to find out more: 020 7654 7000.


SUPPORTERS – THANK YOU

Every year we receive incredible support from individuals, trusts and foundations, corporate partners, volunteers and members, enabling us to keep doing what we’re doing. While there are too many to list here, please accept our thanks for your continued support. We are extremely grateful for the time you volunteer and the funds you donate, which are both vital to us. Our continued thanks to the Royal Navy for its funding and commitment to the charity. Below are all those who contributed £5,000 or more in the last financial year. Corporate and associations BAE Systems plc Canoe England Lloyd’s Register

Trusts and foundations Association of Sail Training Organisations (ASTO) The Bernard Sunley Charitable Foundation

The MOD Cadet Expansion Programme (CEP) The Charles Skey Charitable Trust The Corporation of Trinity House The Covenant Fund Donald Forrester Trust The Edith Murphy Foundation The Enid Linder Foundation Garfield Weston Foundation Greenwich Hospital The Hobson Charity Limited The Holywood Trust International Foundation for Aids to Navigation (IFAN) Jack Petchey Foundation The John Apthorp Charity The Linbury Trust The London Marathon Charitable Trust The Michael Uren Foundation P F Charitable Trust RNVR Youth Sail Training Trust The Robertson Trust Seafarers UK The Seven Seas Baxter and Grimshaw Trust Sport England – Inspired Facilities The Swire Charitable Trust The Ulysses Trust The Worshipful Company of Shipwrights The WPA Benevolent Foundation The Youth United Foundation

HQ legacies Mr J B Bradnock Sir A Methuen Mr Mayl Mr K Martyr

Legacies to units Mr R E Down – Caterham Mr R A Appleby – Scarborough Mr FJR Shadbolt – Waltham Forest Mr GW Tanner – Wolves Mrs F Puttick – Ross Mr J Fuery – Bath Mr LS Simmons – Stafford & Rugeley

Donations in memory Admiral Peter Abbott GBE KCB Lt Cdr Douglas Clark RN Mr A Jones Mr G A Gillett Captain SJ Hennessey Mr D Cavalier

We help young people to see what they can do

23


Produced by MSSC 202 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7JW Tel: 020 7654 7000 Visit: ms-sc.org Marine Society & Sea Cadets, a charity registered in: England & Wales 313013 Scotland SC037808

Cover mage: Brian Doherty

Patron: Her Majesty The Queen Admiral of the Sea Cadet Corps: HRH The Duke of York KG President of MSSC: Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope GCB OBE DL

MSSC Annual Review 2016  

Annual Review and Accounts for the Marine Society and Sea Cadets.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you