Page 98

RACHAEL HENSON wins 2018 Design Award

The Millinery Association of Australia Announces Winners of 2018 Design Awards


anberra-based milliner Rachael Henson has been announced winner of The Millinery Association (MAA) of Australia’ s 2018 Design Award in Adelaide in early July.

‘’The winning creation was an example of exquisite craftsmanship and classic design” MAA President Rose Hudson said.

At the awards ceremony held in Adelaide recently, South Australian up-and-coming milliner Oksana Caretti took out second place, followed by Queensland-based Kylie Williams from the LADIDAH label in third. The People’s Choice Award went to Victoria’s Lisette Margini, whose blossoming career in millinery began after 30-plus years as a teacher. Ms Hudson said the award was a celebration of the country’ s best and brightest milliners, with a strong number of entries this year. “The theme this year was ‘spring racing’ because of its relevance heading into a key and busy part of the year. We’d like to congratulate the winners and everyone who entered the competition for their standout submissions,” she said. Now in its 4th year, the 2018 Design Award’s judging panel of industry experts included the celebrated Australian milliner Philip Rhodes, Anna Vlach from The Advertiser and TAFE SA millinery lecturer and milliner Lorraine Gill. The top ten hat designs, including the winners, have been flown to Melbourne and were displayed at the MA/lis Winter White Cocktail Party event held as part of Hat Week Australia. From there the Top 10 will exhibit at Sofitel Melbourne and Sofitel Brisbane. The prizes this year were extensive and the MAA is grateful for the support received from sponsors: Hatters Millinery Supplies, Hat Blocks Australia, The Hat Magazine, Hatlines, The Total Package, The Australian Duster featuring Feather Superstore, Adelaide Moulding ft Casting, Victoria Racing Club, House of Adorn, Sofitel Melbourne and Sofitel Brisbane. Still on the theme of awards, the MAA has also announced the winners of its 2018 Student Design Award. The theme was: Octopuses Garden. The competition, which is open to submissions from the everyday to costume, showcases the work of emerging talent. The winners were Lisa Watt (first place), Sharon Schreurs (second) and Michelle Robinson (third), all from Victoria. The Mary Lock Encouragement Award went to Brenda Lam from New South Wales.

About The Millinery Association of Australia

The Millinery Association of Australia is a national not for profit organisation dedicated to promoting the profile of millinery. With members across Australia, The MAA encompasses a diverse range of millinery, from traditional hats to costume. We provide members with opportunities for friendship, collaboration, networking, and education.

For more details, contact Lisa Bell on (vicepresident@millineryaustralia. org) or visit the website: Check out millineryaustralia on Instagram to see this year’s fabulous Design Award entries.


SPRING 2018 #31

Profile for Ladies in RACING Magazine

Ladies in RACING Spring 2018 Issue 31  

Ladies in RACING Spring 2018 Issue 31  

Profile for im_media