Page 1

Members Select 2013 IEEE Computer Society Leaders For the IEEE Computer Society, the election season is now over. Lacking the deep philosophical divides of national political races, IEEE Computer Society elections are fairly quiet affairs. But they are important nonetheless. As a membership organization, IEEE Computer Society is run by volunteers. The men and women who donate their time to attending meetings—either face-to-face or via phone or online conferences—care a great deal about the Computer Society and the field of computing. They are a dedicated bunch—taking time from busy work schedules to set strategy and work on projects that will result in new products and services to help their computing professional peers. So this seems an important moment to thank the hundreds of men and women who chair or sit on committees, serve as computer magazines or journal editors, head up conferences, or hold higher office. For without their diverse and numerous contributions, the organization would not be able to serve its function as being the organization for technology leaders. The payback of course is in forming close relationships with others in the computing field, and in having their efforts make a difference. In the election that just wrapped up, members selected leaders for 2013. (And thanks to everyone who voted). Dejan Milojicic, a member of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors, founding editor in chief of Computing Now, and founding chair of Special Technical Communities, was voted IEEE Computer Society 2013 president-elect. A senior researcher and manager at HP Labs, he will serve as 2014 president. Thomas M. Conte, vice president for Publications and a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, was elected first vice president. Elizabeth (Liz) Burd, vice president for Educational Activities, member of the Board of Governors, and dean for undergraduate education at Durham University, was elected second vice president. In addition, voters selected seven new Board of Governors members to serve 2013-2015 terms. The new BoG members are: • Ann DeMarle, associate professor and director of Champlain College’s Emergent Media Center and MFA program, and member at large of the Technical and Conference Activities Board ; • Cecilia Metra, a professor at Università di Bologna and associate editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Computers; • Nita Patel, systems and software engineering manager at L-3 Warrior Systems, Insight Technology, and secretary/finance vice chair of the Member and Geographic Activities Board; • Diomidis Spinellis, a professor at Athens University of Economics and Business and IEEE Software Tools of the Trade author; • Phillip Laplante, professor of software engineering at Penn State University, and former Board of Governors member; • Jean-Luc Gaudiot, professor of electrical engineering and computer science at University of California, Irvine, and Board of Governors member; and • Stefano Zanero, assistant professor at Politecnico di Milano University in Italy, director of the Information Systems Security Association, and Region 8 coordinator for the Member Development Committee. See the full election results here. Results will also be published in the December issue of Computer. Also read more about : Information Technology Training

Members Select 2013 IEEE Computer Society Leaders  

Thomas M. Conte, vice president for Publications and a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at the Georgia...