Page 1

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

IACD acknowledges the generous support of the following funders

   2010-2011

We welcome new members. Please visit our website for more information. www.iacdglobal.org International Association for Community Development The Stables Falkland Fife KY15 7AF United Kingdom Scottish Charitable Company SCO36090

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

1


INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Contents

ANNUAL ACCOUNTS

President’s Report

3

About IACD

4

Key Achievements 2010/11

5

Linking and Learning

5

Conferences

6

Research and Publications

7

Indigo Network

8

Membership Communications

9

Strategic Planning

9

Partnerships and Networks

9

Board and Staff

10

Board of Directors

10

Staff Team

10

Annual Accounts 2010/11

11

Statement of Financial Activities ( including Income & Expenditure Account ) For the Year Ended 31 March 2011 Incoming resources from generated funds: Voluntary income:

Total 2011 £

Total 2010 £

Grant funding Donations and legacies Membership fees and contributions

100,423 303 1,515

54,500 8,586 919

Investment income: Bank interest

30

101

Total incoming resources

102,271

64,178

Resources expended: Costs of generating voluntary income: Fundraising expenses

212

122

Charitable activities: Linking and Learning Program Staff costs Insurance Stationery and postage Printing and promotion Office costs Computer costs Database development Website development and maintenance Grants awarded Travel and expenses Conference and seminars Professional fees Subscriptions and memberships Training Rent Bank interest and charges Depreciation Miscellaneous costs

5,745 37,975 195 1,240 4,219 2,073 471 3,215 2,861 1,068 3,037 9,877 4,530 13 200 960 169 112 710

38,003 183 947 2,418 1,177 140 581 763 2,969 8,095 651 110 10 1,140 125 574

Governance costs

1,070

776

Total resources expended

79,952

58,784

Net incoming / (outgoing) resources -Net income / (expenditure) for year Transfers Net movement in funds

22,319

5,394

22,319

5,394

Funds brought forward

31,175

25,781

Funds carried forward

53,494

31,175

No remuneration was paid to members of the Board of Trustees (directors of the company) during either year. A full set of accounts is available from the office upon request.

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

11


INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Board and Staff Amungwa Fonteh, Randy Adams, Debi Fry and Ingrid Burkett

Board of Directors IACD is governed by an elected Board of up to 20 Directors, representing seven global regions. The year 2010/11 saw the election of four new Regional Directors – from Asia, Oceania and SubSaharan Africa – and the appointment of two Executive Officers, Ingrid Burkett as President and Tiago Miguel de Seixas as Secretary General. In addition, four members – from Europe and North America – were co-opted onto the Board. Directors Cari Patterson, Randolph Adams and Hoi-Wah Mak stepped down from the IACD Board during this year. We would like to 10

express our deep gratitude Tiago Miguel de Seixas for their hard work and (Secretary General) valued contributions to IACD over the years. Latin America: Maria Teresa Martinez Dominguez The IACD Board as at 31 March 2011 is as follows: Middle-East and North Africa: Asia: Yossi Korazim Harvinder Bedi (VicePresident), North America: James Calvin Mohammed Shakeel Munawar Abro Keith Cossey (co-opted) Europe: Dave Beck (co-opted, job share) Marjorie Mayo (co-opted) Rod Purcell (co-opted, job share) Stewart Murdoch (Treasurer)

Oceania: Aileen Boyer (job share) Ingrid Burkett (President)

Staff Team Over the course of the year, there were a number of staff changes within IACD. Deborah Fry left the organisation and Tara O’Leary went on maternity leave. Jackie Arreaza took up a part-time role as IACD Administrator in October 2010.

The past year represents my first year as IACD President, and I have to say it has been an exciting and difficult year in many ways! The IACD has an incredible vision in building a global network of community development practitioners, researchers, policy makers and activists. Such a network provides members with the potential to connect to, support and learn from community development work around the world. As there are many challenges facing community development workers in many parts of the world, this represents an important opportunity for our members. This also, however, represents a challenge for us as an organisation. We want to make the network as accessible and sustainable as possible - goals which can sometimes be at odds with each other. To build an accessible organisation, we need to keep membership costs low and to make

resources on our website either free or at least as inexpensive as possible. However, we also need to survive as an organisation in an increasingly challenging funding environment!

funders, for their support and commitment to helping us to achieve our vision.

Community development is at an important moment in history - we face many challenges at policy, Our challenge this past year has methodological, and economic been to develop, with our members, levels. And yet, it is also clear in a strategic plan that will help us many places and at many levels, that continue to do both of these things. processes which are people-centred, We want to remain a membercommunity-based and focussed on centred and member-focussed participation and relationship are organisation, and we want to build a increasingly recognised as being strong, sustainable and active crucial to the building of just, organisation. sustainable and positive futures. Community development champions In this endeavour we are extremely such processes. As an organisation, fortunate to have wonderful, we want to play an active role in the committed staff and board members, promotion of, advocacy for and and of course, active and pro-active learning from the community members. As you will see from our development as it is practiced in key achievements over the year, this many places around the world. We has, once again, resulted in an hope you will take this opportunity to impressive array of activities and join us on this journey! achievements. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank all Dr. Ingrid Burkett, President of the our staff, board members, members, International Association for Community Development supporters and of course, our

Gill Musk joined as Development Manager in January 2011.

Mary-Jane Rivers (job share) Sub-Saharan Africa: Ignatius Anayo Wangui Karanja IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

3


INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Indian NGOs welcome an IACD delegation

Membership Communications During 2010/11, IACD continued to support a growing global network of members. We produced three newsletters (in April, July and November 2010) and began work on a fourth, in collaboration with CDS. Monthly ebulletins, highlighting community development news, events and publications around the world, were sent to our member and subscriber distribution list of approximately 3,000 recipients. In addition we sent out special notifications, for example of the upcoming Community Development conference in Lisbon and the strategic planning survey.

About the International Association for Community Development IACD is a global network of community development associations, practitioners, researchers, activists and policymakers who are committed to issues of global justice. IACD is a non-profit-making organisation that aims to: • Promote sustainable community development practice, education, research and policy analysis;

an effective voice at the global level in support of communitybased planning and development. IACD operates in seven global regions: Asia, Europe, Oceania, North America, South America, the Middle East and North Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa. It has members in over 70 countries worldwide.

IACD provides opportunities for those working in all areas of • Advocate for community community development to connect development values, principles and with each other: approaches in international forums; • We facilitate information and • Facilitate links amongst community practice exchange through regional development practitioners, and international events and associations, educators and policy conferences, study visits and makers; and learning exchanges. • Champion community empowerment and the creation of

4

• We support the development of local and regional groups, and facilitate international networks. • We document the work that our members are doing around the world by collecting case studies, tools and materials on community development, and sharing these through our website, publications, newsletters and e-bulletins. • We initiate and conduct research projects and produce publications. IACD aims to give its members a voice at the global level, advocating for community development principles in international forums and consultations. IACD has consultative status with the United Nations, International Labour Organisation, World Health Organisation, UNESCO and UNICEF.

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

Work began this year on the development of a new database, to enable us to support our members, identify areas of shared professional interest, and facilitate better networking and communication between members regionally and globally. The database will be developed further in 2011. We have continued to develop the IACD website in the course of the year, adding new resources, events and case studies from members across the globe. We have created and regularly update an IACD facebook page.

Strategic Planning This year saw us entering a new strategic planning cycle. A very active subcommittee of Board members was established to lead the planning process. IACD has IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

Indian NGO Women take part in a rally

been committed to making the process as participatory as possible. We conducted an online survey of members and subscribers during February and March 2011, which elicited around 200 responses. Indepth interviews were held with IACD Board members and other key stakeholders. Concurrently, we undertook a review of our achievements over the period of the last strategic plan (2007-11) to identify lessons which could be learned. Work will continue into 2011 and it is hoped the new plan will be approved at the IACD Board meeting in July 2011.

Partnerships and Networks IACD has close and positive working relationships with members throughout the world. In 2010/11 we continued to develop strategies for strengthening partnerships at local/ regional, as well as global levels, to create more opportunities for learning and exchange, and to promote the goals of community development.

Members representing Asia, North America, Oceania and Sub-Saharan Africa joined the Board during 2010/11 and quickly became active in promoting IACD’s work and extending the network of members in these regions. The joint conference in New Orleans provided an excellent opportunity for the Community Development Society (CDS) and IACD to work more closely together and set the foundation for further collaboration. This continued with the publication of a special issue joint newsletter on the New Orleans conference in November 2010 and work on a second joint newsletter, to be published in summer 2011. Also in 2010, IACD began discussions with CDS and ACOSA (the Association for Community Organisation and Social Administration) on partnering on a global research study on community development theory, training and practice. We look forward to taking this collaboration forward in 2011.

IACD continued to develop its close As well as continuing to support local working relationship with the Community Development Journal. groups in Australia and Sierra Through regular discussion, we have Leone, we created a model of identified a number of areas for Associate Directors, which we plan practical collaboration which will be to pilot in 2011/12, and which we of benefit to both organisations’ hope ultimately will strengthen subscribers / members. IACD’s presence and provide practical support to members in each IACD has enjoyed positive and of the seven global regions. fruitful working relationships with its funders over the year: the Carnegie In Europe, we took on facilitation of UK Trust, Commonwealth the Indigo network and began to explore potential for a closer working Foundation, Falkland Centre for Stewardship, Fife Council and Levi relationship with key umbrella organisations including CEBSD, the Strauss Foundation. We are very grateful for their support. European Network for Community Development. 9


INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Key Achievements in 2010/2011 TR14ers performance

Linking and Learning

Members of the Indigo network meet in London

We co-ordinated and facilitated two meetings of Indigo partners (who also constitute EMN’s asset In May 2010, IACD took on an building working group) in London exciting new role as facilitator of the Indigo network. Funded by the and Paris, and undertook preparations for a third meeting in Levi Strauss Foundation, Indigo brings together an innovative group Budapest in April 2011. of asset building practitioners and We also participated in the 2010 projects across Europe. CFED Asset Learning Conference The aim of the network is to create in Washington DC.

Indigo Network

a movement around asset building – savings, as opposed to relying solely on credit and loans - as a strategy to help people out of poverty.

As facilitator of the network, IACD collaborated with Indigo partners, the European Microfinance Network (EMN) and the Levi Strauss Foundation to integrate an asset building track into the EMN annual conference in 2010, ensuring wide coverage of asset building through plenary sessions and keynote speakers.

8

We worked with partners to identify potential areas for research and opportunities to influence policy around asset building, produced a brochure profiling partners and their innovative projects, and coordinated contributions to an EMN magazine dedicated to asset building.

We additionally maintained and updated the Indigo website (http:// www.indigo-asset-building.eu/en/ index.php) and disseminated the network’s activities via the EMN’s asset building working group webpages. IACD aims to build and sustain networks around key issues, and so, although this work focuses on Europe and on a defined aspect of asset building, it has strong synergy with our aims of promoting social justice and our members’ work in community economic development. In the year ahead, we look forward to continuing work with partners to build the field, supporting innovations and working to create momentum in key areas of policy, research and practice.

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

Global Village Residency In July 2010 IACD hosted the first Global Village Residency (GVR) with the TR14ers, an innovative youth dance group from Camborne, England who ran free dance workshops for youth in Fife, Scotland. The GVR seeks to link communities globally who are working in community development. Supported by the Carnegie UK Trust, Fife Council and the Falkland Centre for Stewardship, the TR14ers led youth workshops in street dance and performed on the main stage at the Big Tent, Scotland's largest ecofestival. Transforming Community Through Dance The TR14ers name comes from the postcode for the community in Camborne where the group started. The area had attracted such a bad reputation that people would often feel stigmatised simply by their link with that postcode. The group name therefore is symbolic of an effort to make a positive impact and to change the situation of young people in Camborne for the better. The Cornish project has been researched by staff in the public health unit of Plymouth University and this work has shown a positive link between the dance workshops and improvements in anti-social behaviour, smoking cessation, school attainment and community participation for the young people involved and for the wider community. From the cohort of over 600 young people involved in the dance workshops in Cornwall, a group of Dance Leaders have emerged who wish to share what they have learnt with their peers who come from other low-income communities around the UK. IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

Big Tent Festival and Summer School In the spring and summer of 2010, IACD collaborated with Falkland Centre for Stewardship to engage with local communities in Scotland to promote issues of climate change and bring an international dimension to the Big Tent, Scotland's largest eco-festival. This included: organising a ‘One Planet Food Summer School’, with the participation of international visitors with relevant expertise; research and production of case studies on international social and environmental aspects of climate change; and hosting an event on identity, land rights and strategies for building community in a globalised world, led by Scottish land activist Alastair McIntosh and Sulemana Abudulai, a Ghanaian development specialist.

Study Visits During 2010/11 IACD worked with partners in Australia and India on planning a Community Leadership Programme. Organised as a series of facilitated field visits to grassroots community development projects, the programme will provide the opportunity to experience firsthand how marginalised communities are organising themselves to overcome poverty and injustice. Participants will observe practical development projects around health, education, gender, sustainable development and microfinance. They will develop understanding of the skills associated with development goals, such as participation, empowerment and capacity building, and learn how culture, history and politics have shaped development in India. The programme will take place in Maharashtra, India, in October 2011.

A Self-Help Group in Gujurat, India

5


INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Flooding in Sindh Province, Pakistan A conference delegate visits a social enterprise established after Hurricane Katrina Photo: Shakeel Abro

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Amungwa Fonteh The 2010 IACD AGM in New Orleans, USA

country of Pakistan hit by natural disaster and the worst flooding ever seen. He was able to drawn on the 2010 Annual Conference learning and connections made In July 2010, IACD and the during the conference to help his Community Development Society (CDS) collaborated to deliver a major community respond to the disaster: global conference on ‘The Role of Community in Economic and Natural   Disaster Recovery’, which attracted  more than 230 delegates from  around the globe.  The location of New Orleans for the  conference was highly significant.  Five years after the devastating  impact of Hurricane Katrina,  conference participants witnessed  how exciting and innovative community development activities  have played a key role in rebuilding  and reconnecting the community.   The conference was organised  around themes such as entrepreneurship, local foods,  community resilience, social  networking and sustainability. 

Conferences

Mobile Learning Workshops enabled  participants to see behind the  scenes how the disaster recovery  took place.   Through a generous grant from the  Commonwealth Foundation, IACD  was able to support six members (from Cameroon, India, Pakistan and  Sierra Leone) to attend the  conference in New Orleans.  The information sharing and networking on community development approaches to economic and natural disaster recovery proved particularly useful for one participant, Shakeel Abro, who within days of his return from the conference found his home 6

      

       Cate Kyne Memorial Scholarship The 2010 conference saw the award of the first Caty Kyne Memorial Scholarship. Caty Kyne was the Victoria, Australia IACD local group convenor who tragically passed away in 2009. With a generous bequest from her estate, the IACD local group in Victoria set up the Caty Kyne Memorial Scholarship Award, to support IACD members and community development practitioners and activists from the Global South to attend IACD events and conferences in Australia and further afield. Amungwa Fonteh, an IACD member from Cameroon, was the first recipient of the award, which enabled him to attend the conference in New Orleans. Mr. Fonteh has been involved for over 25 years in trying to strengthen the community development field in Cameroon, both in training new generations as a lecturer in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Faculty of Social and Management Sciences, University of Buea and through grassroots community activism. 2011 Annual Conference Work began during this year on preparation for the 2011 annual conference, which will take place in IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

Lisboa, Portugal in July 2011. Organised in partnership with the Sociedade Portuguesa de Psicologia Comunitária, the theme of the conference is ‘Transformative Leadership and Empowering Communities’.

research global experiences of hope to build on this work in assets approaches through its strong 2011/12. network of practitioners around the globe. Beginners’ guide to community development Appreciating Assets IACD members’ experiences around This work culminated in the the globe indicate that ‘community production of Appreciating Assets, development’ is a term not clearly or which will be formally launched and consistently understood. In 2010/11, disseminated from June 2011. The we began work on a ‘Beginners’ Research and Publications report draws together research guide to community development’, findings, resources and case studies, which aims to highlight members’ Asset-Based Approaches to offering a practical yet critical perspectives while providing clarity Community Development perspective on how assets on the common ground which links During 2010/11 we continued to work approaches have shaped and will community developers worldwide. in partnership with the Carnegie UK continue to shape community Trust to contribute to their Rural development. We hope that when The guide will be published in early Development Action Programme. launched the report will stimulate 2012, and in the next few months, This included research and dialogue across many professional we will be calling out to our members promoting dialogue around assetareas and prove a valuable resource to become co-authors of the book based approaches to community for practitioners. We are planning to and include their stories and development. disseminate the publication widely in experiences in community 2011/12, in collaboration with the development as part of the book. Collaborative inquiry Carnegie UK Trust and other key We continued the programme of partners. collaborative inquiry, launched in November 2009, via the Trust’s Fiery Spirits Community of Practice, an Educational game action research based programme of The inquiry highlighted demand for learning and exchange for activists, an interactive component that would professionals and policymakers. help users to reflect on the ups and downs of ‘real-world’ asset transfer. The Fiery Spirits networking platform As part of this work, therefore, IACD hosted online discussions for over 60 designed an educational game. The experts based in the UK, Ireland and first working version of the game was globally. IACD also continued to piloted with two groups in the UK. The first pilot took place in May 2010, at Dundee City Council, and involved community development and asset transfer practitioners. The second piloting session took place in July 2010, at the Centre for Alternative Technology in Wales. Following the pilots, IACD took Appreciating Assets will be available advice from an educational game on the IACD website from June, 2011: www.iacdglobal.org designer and developed further options for the game design. We IACD Annual Review 2010-2011

7

IACD Annual Review 2010-2011  

Annual Review for IACD

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you