__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

A unique and inspiring place where every child can discover the joy of learning


CONTENTS WELCOME Headteacher’s welcome . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 Governors and Staff . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 A message to our Year 6 leavers . . . . . . . . . . . 5 CLASS REPORTS Pre-School . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 Reception . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 Year 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10 Year 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Year 3 and 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14 Year 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Year 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 What’s great about… . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20 Heads of School . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS English . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 Maths . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 Science . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 French . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 Geography . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32 RE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33 Art . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

SPORT AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION PE and Games . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46 Outdoor Education . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50 AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS Sports Clubs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53 Chess . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 54 Cookery . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 54 Languages . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55 Lego . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55 Drama . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55 SCHOOL NEWS Careers Week . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 56 Charity Events . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 56 Harvest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 57 Science Centre Opening . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 58 Sedbergh Residential . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 59 Parents’ Group . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60 Pandemic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 61 Welcomes and Farewells . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 64 Obituary . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 65 Children & Staff 2019-2020 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 66

MUSIC AND DRAMA Music . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38 Band . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40 Carlisle Festival . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41 LAMDA . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41 EYFS Nativity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42 Lower School Nativity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43 Peter Pan . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 44

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

1


2


20138 HHS Annual Review.qxp 23/03/2021 14:36 Page 3

WELCOME MRS D VINSOME

W

elcome to the 17th edition of the Hunter Hall Review. This year started like any other, full of hope and promise for the year ahead and the achievements we would celebrate with the children. Then the pandemic struck, and all our worlds turned upside down. For us in school, it was really important that we try to keep things as normal as possible for the children, whilst realising that a completely different model of teaching would have to be applied, at least in the short term, when all schools closed. We were delighted that after a period of on-line learning, we all returned to school for the last few weeks of the summer term, albeit with many of our traditional annual events somewhat curtailed. Therefore, this annual review is like no other: it will be a lasting historical record of the tumultuous year 2020 turned out to be, and despite the huge obstacles faced, how wonderfully the children rallied as we found ways to give them an education to be proud of, achievements to celebrate and memories to last a lifetime. Enjoy this review and be proud of all that your children have achieved.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

3


STAFF 2019-2020 TEACHING STAFF Mrs Donna Vinsome B.Ed (Hons), M.A. Headteacher Mrs Kirsty Fletcher BA (Hons) PGCE Deputy Headteacher Mrs Georgina Griffiths B.Ed (Hons) Mr Martin Spooner BA (Hons) QTS Mr Philip Sturgess B.Ed (Hons) Mr Andrew Hetherington BA (Hons) PGCE Mrs Ella Tarrant BA (Hons) PGCE Mrs Lynsey Wrightson BA (Hons) QTS Mrs Gill Slessor Cert Ed. Learning Support Miss Helen Gallagher CACHE Level 3 Early Years Mme Mathilde Roberts BA (Hons) TEACHING ASSISTANTS Miss Laura Graham Level 4 Early Years, Level 3 Nursery Management Miss Sarah Borthwick Level 3 Childcare and Education Mrs Judith Wilson BA (Hons) PGCE

PERIPATETIC MUSIC AND LAMDA STAFF Ms Kate Walford (LAMDA) Mr Ian Butterworth Mr Richard Evans Mrs Barbara Gilbertson Mr Garry Linsley Mr Andrew Roze

4

SUPPORT STAFF School Office: Mr David White BA (Hons)/FCCA Bursar/Clerk to the Governors Mrs Olivia Colbear BA (Hons) Premises: Mr Geoff Ellerton Dining Room: Mrs Fiona Parker Mrs Fiona Morland Mrs Sharon Burton Mrs Dorothy Woof GOVERNORS Mrs Natalie Harling Chair Mr Gerard Ainsworth Mr David Butler Mrs Nicola Ewbank Mrs Laura Millburn Mr John Pallister Mr Mark Turnbull Ms Charlotte Young Mr Nigel Bidgood Mrs Alison Hogan


A MESSAGE TO OUR YEAR 6 LEAVERS Taken from Prizegiving July 2020: from Mrs Vinsome and all of us at Hunter Hall Preparatory School

W

ell, we always knew you were a unique lot, but you really are truly unique as you are the only Year 6 leavers ever to leave Hunter Hall in the middle of a PANDEMIC! And whilst it threatened to spoil your end of term, we have not let it, as you deserve the best send-off we can muster for all the work you have done over the years here; the friendships you have made, and the memories created. For the original nine children, you have not known any other school other than Hunter Hall and have grown alongside the school to the young people we see before us today. As new children joined, you welcomed them in and your nine has swelled to eighteen! I know as a staff we have thoroughly enjoyed working alongside you, teaching you the skills you need to go forth and prosper in your senior schools. It has been a pleasure. You should do well; your parents have nurtured you and put their trust in us to help make you into the best you can be. But we have done our job - it’s time to let you go and we hope one day you will come back to us as Old Hunters and bring your own families to Hunter Hall. Rainbows have become synonymous with the situation we all find ourselves in this year, because they are a sign of hope.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

Biblically the rainbow appeared when Noah had been out at sea with all those animals and his family as the world flooded. When eventually land was spotted and they could get off the ark, a rainbow appeared as a sign from God of new beginnings and a promise that a biblical flood of that proportion would never happen again. Promises and new beginnings are really two of the concepts that underlie prize giving – you are all heading off to new beginnings in your new schools and, as always, there is a HUGE array of schools to continue your educational journey along – QEGS, Keswick, Austin Friars, Caldew, Lancaster Royal Grammar School, Ullswater and Sedbergh. Each new school is full of promise – a chance to write a new chapter in your schoolbook, turn over new leaves, and make some new goals. And therefore, as you leave us, we wish you the best of luck, lots of laughter and superb achievements as you go forth into the next stage of your education:

“May love and laughter light your days, and warm your heart and home. May good and faithful friends be yours, wherever you may roam. May peace and plenty bless your world, with joy that long endures. May all life’s passing seasons, bring the best to you and yours. God bless.”

5


PRE-SCHOOL MS H GALLAGHER

W

Our term began with the topic ‘Special Me’, which is not only a lovely way of getting to know the children, but also encouraged them to think about how special they are. You would be amazed by some of the special talents our preschool group had, ranging from kicking balls and riding scooters, to being able to see unicorns or solve mysteries.

6

e enjoyed wonderful autumnal walks around the school grounds collecting treasures. We had lots of fun with our treasures, leaf printing and rubbings, using magnifying glasses to examine the patterns on the leaves and creating autumn art. As Christmas approached, we had our annual trip to the letter box with the reception children to post our letters to Father Christmas. Although I sometimes wonder if the visit to the office to ask for stamps from Olivia is more exciting to the children (!), this annual trip is the start of many exciting festive activities. One of our most cherished experiences was our traditional nativity performance. Another highlight was a very special visit from Santa with his helper in the forest, bearing gifts for all our children. The New Year saw us cover the topic of ‘Changes’. This gave us an opportunity to explore and experiment. We began by investigating how we could change water, we froze it and melted it before turning it into steam! We also used warm water to change skittles and make the colours turn our water into a beautiful rainbow. We then turned our


attention to the humble Gingerbread Man. We put him through his paces to see what he could withstand. Would he stay intact if we placed it him oil? How about warm water? Or cold water? It is safe to say he couldn’t survive in any, but we had tasty fun finding out. This also inspired some wonderful literacy activities with the children, retelling and enacting the story, as well as using their problem-solving skills to help the Gingerbread Man cross the river safely without the help of the sly fox. Of course, March saw us all stay inside and learn in a new way - remotely. Coming together on Teams everyday was a new experience for us all, but I have since been told that our regular check ins, activities and story times were a source of support and comfort for parents and children. I must admit, I also drew comfort from these times and the forever cheerful faces of the children. Their resilience really did amaze me!

The summer term saw a happy return to pre-school. Although the pandemic was carrying on outside, with the glorious summer weather, we enjoyed an idyllic term in our Foundation Stage bubble; picnics on the school field, followed by long afternoons outside in the sunshine. It was with very mixed emotions that we greeted the end of the school year. We felt sadness that some of our time together had been lost; relief that we had safely made it to the end, but mostly pride. Pride that our staff members carried on when others may not have, but most of all pride in the children. What they faced is unheard of in our lifetime and to see their happy faces both on Teams and at the gate on those summer mornings really put thing in perspective.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

7


RECEPTION MRS G GRIFFITHS

The year started with seven bright little faces, eager to start their reception year. Although there were five boys, the two girls soon had them towing the line, and learning and fun could begin. By February, we became a happy band of eight.

8

T

he year started with a story called the ‘Bog Baby’ and when we found our very own bog baby by the pond, we had to think about how to care for this strange little creature. We were soon making stick houses and finding leaves and flowers for it to eat, as well as writing missing posters, in the hope of finding its family. Although we were a little sad when he left to return to his own family, we quickly became involved in the run up to Christmas and thinking about another special baby’s birthday.


During the term, we were also fortunate to have a trip to Birkmere Wood. We cooked popcorn on the fire; made art with natural resources and had a fantastic time getting as wet and muddy as was feasibly possible in the mud kitchen. The new term was all about changes, where we talked about the different seasons, and, how different animals coped with the cold of winter. We also became mini scientists, and carried out various experiments, from finding out what would happen to a chocolate button if we held it in our hand, to seeing what happened to ice cubes in different environments. We then went on to have a roaring time during our dinosaur topic; the highlight being when we became palaeontologists and found various bones and fossils in the forest. Of course, this year we experienced a very different start to the summer term, when we all became experts at taking part in lessons at home on Teams. The highlight of the day was story time together, complete with visiting chickens, cats, dogs and often several other family members. Fortunately, we were able to come back together for the final half of the term and enjoyed plenty of sunny days having picnic lunches and playing on the field.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

Although this may not have been a very straightforward year, the children rose to any challenge they were given, making the most of every opportunity. They certainly should be proud of all that they achieved, and just like they were more than ready to start reception, they ended the year more than ready for their next adventure in year one. Thank you for a truly remarkable year.

9


YEAR 1 MRS L WRIGHTSON

A small but mighty group of children entered my classroom in September 2020, and as they say, the rest is history! Ten Year 1s came through the doors and showed themselves to be bright, enthusiastic and delightful children who made the most of all the amazing opportunities they encountered whilst having lots of fun and laughter along the way.

T

he autumn term started in earnest with the class settling into new rules and routines as well as enjoying their first social event, the school disco. Book Week was soon upon us and our focus was on ‘Adventure and Magic’. There was a whole host of amazing activities planned and the children loved getting the chance to dress up at the end of the week as different book characters. Before we knew it, it was Harvest Festival, the school bonfire night and then our rehearsals for the nativity ‘Lights, Camel, Action 2: The Sequin’. This was a huge success, in true ‘Strictly’ style and the children loved every minute. A Christmas Party, lunch with our handmade hats, and a trip to the puppet theatre to see ‘Puss in Boots’ rounded the term off in style, as well as our traditional Christmas Concert at St Andrew’s. The spring term began with dark nights and mornings as we continued to work hard in school. One of our favourite topics this term was ‘Kings and

10


Queens’. The children really enjoyed learning about Richard III and how his remains were found in a car park! The highlight was a ‘Medieval Coronation Banquet’ held in our classroom. Eating with just a knife was a challenge, but so much fun! Carlisle Festival was also a focus, and we worked hard to produce a medley of children’s songs and deliver an amazing performance. Trying to co-ordinate waving dusters (!) took lots of practice, but the final product was certainly one to be proud of. Unfortunately, the school had to close due to the pandemic so there was no end of term concert to showcase everything this year.

“Thanks to fantastic weather whilst we were remote learning, the class were also set plenty of tasks to complete outside!” The summer term burst into action with us all being at home! It was time to switch to online learning through ‘Teams’ and the children rose to the challenge brilliantly! It was very strange interacting with each other through a computer, however it soon became the norm for the first half of the term and everyone tried their best to work in this way. We enjoyed many lessons and practical activities including story times, lower school live singing sessions and a topic week on the Rainforest. Thanks to fantastic weather whilst we were remote learning, the class were also set plenty of tasks to complete outside! It was wonderful to return to school after half term and Year 1 were so glad to see and play with all their friends again - albeit in a ‘bubble’! Every member of this class brought me such joy over the year, with their superb attitudes and kindness towards each other. I loved each and every minute and felt sure they would continue to work hard as they moved into their new class and started new adventures in September.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

11


YEAR 2 MRS E TARRANT

What a great year we had together Year 2! In September, I welcomed 14 children into the class, with eager smiles and lots of personality. Over the course of the year, our class grew as we welcomed 3 new children to our team.

12

A

utumn term began with the children getting to know me, as a new teacher in the school. They soon got to grips with the new rules and routines of Year 2 and were bursting with enthusiasm when it came to their learning. The ‘Welcome Back’ school disco was a lot of fun and allowed the children’s true characters to come out. Their funky dance moves impressed! During the term, I introduced the children to Tom Fletcher’s ‘The Creakers’, which they loved and was our inspiration throughout book week; they created a fantastic door cover. Not long after that, we moved into our Harvest Festival preparations. Year 2, using Michael Rosen’s famous book as inspiration, created and performed, ‘We’re going on an apple hunt’. It was a rather energetic routine! In PE the children were introduced to the ballet, ‘Still Life at the Penguin Café’. They loved watching clips of the animal dances and had great fun becoming penguins and kangaroo rats. To round off our


autumn term, the children performed their nativity, ‘Lights, Camel, Action 2!: The Sequin’. This was a lot of fun to be part of and showed the star quality of the class. In Spring, we moved on to a new class text,’ George’s Secret Key to the Universe’ by Lucy and Stephen Hawking. This text took the children on a journey through space, where they learnt about the planets, the stars and black holes. As well as this text, the children really enjoyed becoming detectives when reading ‘Hermeline’. They especially liked coming up with gadgets to trap their culprits. The second half of this term was geared towards Carlisle Festival. The children were supremely synchronised when performing their medley of songs. I was a fan of the duster routine; it added an element of fun! Once again, the class’ star quality emerged. Our summer term was somewhat different as it was broadcast from home for much of it, but it was in no way, any less fun. During the first half, we had a ‘Kitchen Disco’, using the famous text as inspiration for our own stories (and smoothies). The children also showed their ingenuity when it came to exploring shape, space and measure. They drew on their home resources – from spaghetti and marshmallows, to straws and Blue Tac – to explore

“What a fantastic class Year 2 were: full of exuberance! An excellent way to introduce me to life at Hunter Hall.”

3D shapes, length and capacity. During the second half of the term, we travelled to Africa – Kenya for our topic and Ancient Egypt for our English. In both areas, the children fully immersed themselves and showed their creative flare, producing imaginative videos; artistic pictures and detailed writing. I was so pleased when we were able to come back together for the final few weeks of term to say a proper farewell before the summer holidays. What a fantastic class Year 2 were: full of exuberance! An excellent way to introduce me to life at Hunter Hall.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

13


YEAR 3 & 4 MR P STURGESS

My fifth class at Hunter Hall were my youngest. With the help of the Year 4 pupils, the Year 3s made a smooth transition to Upper School. They quickly became used to moving from room to room for lessons with their specialist subject teachers.

14


“It was a memorable year with a lot of upheaval. This delightful class coped wonderfully well with all the changes.”

I

n the autumn term, the class enjoyed their day in fancy dress as part of the ‘Adventure and Magic’ Book Week. There was the annual trip to Theatre by the Lake in Keswick to see ‘A Christmas Carol’. The term finished with a flurry of events such as the Lower School nativity, the wonderful carol concert at St. Andrew’s and the Upper School Christmas Party. The spring term was cut short, in school anyway, by lockdown. Suddenly we were all learning how to use Microsoft Teams so that lessons could continue as they would in school. Most maths lessons began with a pet update as various four-legged friends were held up to the camera! Logan frequently appeared from a business office as he learned about mathematics between doing international business deals! Willa was in and out of view as she raced around her house retrieving books and stationery. Ezra was regularly at school with the other key worker children and so appeared in his school uniform, while everyone else was in various bright colours. It was a strange time, but everyone coped admirably. There was a lovely reunion when we were allowed to return to school at the end of June. Our classroom base had moved to the Science Centre which was great. The class had part of the field coned off for their exclusive use. Football and gymnastics were the most popular pursuits. A crowd-free Sports Day took place; nonetheless the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It was a memorable year with a lot of upheaval. This delightful class coped wonderfully well with all the changes.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

15


YEAR 5 MR M SPOONER

As a school year draws to a close, it is always a great opportunity to celebrate the wonderful achievements of my Year 5 form class and to look back fondly on the experiences that we have shared. But this year, for such obvious reasons, has been unique and these such challenging of times have most definitely brought us all even closer together.

16

A

n action-packed first term saw Year 5 dressing up as ‘Adventure and Magic’ characters as part of our book week spectacular. We enjoyed listening to parent readers, whilst there were some phenomenal entries into the ‘extreme reading’ competition! Our Outdoor Education program saw Year 5 travelling to some wonderful places to learn new skills and develop their teamwork; rock climbing at Sandale proved very popular, whilst the class also headed to the likes of Whinlatter and Talkin Tarn for orienteering. The build up to Christmas brought many festive treats for Year 5 to enjoy, such as the Lower School nativity, Christmas parties and our annual theatre trip to watch a wonderfully entertaining performance of ‘A Christmas Carol’.


“Each member of the class showed such maturity and a desire to continue their learning at home, whilst supporting one another through our online meet-ups.” The spring term began as any other, with Year 5 getting stuck into a wide variety of exciting things, such as our football, netball and cross-country inter-house competitions. And, just as the grip of the pandemic began to tighten, many of our talented Year 5 climbers headed to take part in the annual bouldering competition at Eden Rock, where they helped Hunter Hall to win as well as take runners up spot in the mixed competition – outstanding! The final two weeks of term saw us getting used to completing lessons at home as we all went into lockdown. Following the Easter holiday, the school turned to technology and the use of Microsoft Teams to facilitate our lessons, through video teaching and learning. I have to say that I was thoroughly amazed at just how well and how quickly Year 5 adapted. Each member of the class showed such maturity and a desire to continue their learning at home, whilst supporting one another through our online meet-ups.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

The second half of the summer term brought such relief as we were eventually reunited in school. Adapting once again to the new safety regime, we soon got back to it and everything felt back to normal (the new normal!). Although we couldn’t get out into the local area or further afield for trips as much as we would normally in the summer term, it was just fantastic to see everyone back together and see those smiles on their faces as this tight-knitted bunch could share one another’s company again. It has been a pleasure to witness the enthusiasm, maturity and adaptability that Year 5 have demonstrated through the most challenging of years. They have each been a credit to themselves and to each other and I cannot commend them highly enough.

17


YEAR 6 MRS K FLETCHER

As Year 6 began the year, the merry band welcomed a new member Eleanor Tebbutt. She settled in quickly and easily and it soon felt as if she had always been there. I was also new to the school, and I couldn’t have asked for a nicer class to help me as I started my ‘Hunter Hall’ journey. Within days, I grew to love the Year 6 children and enjoyed having the opportunity to help support them through their final year at school.

18

O

n their arrival, the children were all allocated their leadership roles, with Zach Pallister taking up the important position of Head of School, ably assisted by Zahren Shah as Head Girl and Jonty Reay as Head Boy. The autumn term started with a bang - literally. The Science Centre launch saw explosions in abundance. The Year 6s played a lead role in this event, designing experiments and demonstrating them to staff, pupils and visitors alike. Book Week was much enjoyed, as were copious fixtures in rugby and hockey, which saw the children travelling all over Cumbria and beyond. Year 6 were an exceptionally musical group, so contributed enormously to Hunter Hall music throughout the year, notably the ‘Winter Sparkle’ event, where they played in the band, choir, as well as performing on their individual instruments. The choirboys rendered me speechless, as this was the first time I had the privilege of hearing them. The autumn term ended


with plenty of seasonal fun, from trips to see Dickens’ classic, ‘A Christmas Carol’ to the spellbinding carol concert at St Andrew’s, where Year 6 played a key role, giving readings with charismatic fluency and performing musical pieces with plenty of festive cheer. In the spring, Year 6 continued to enjoy a sportingpacked term, with masterclasses at Sedbergh and fixtures in netball and football, as well as several running events and the very successful climbing competition! Indoor skydiving and snowboarding were a particular highlight of the term, with all the children coming back buzzing. The term finished with many of the class entering the Carlisle Festival, enjoying much success in their categories.

The summer term was without a doubt, the strangest of all time, as we navigated the strange new world of school during a pandemic. The class managed online learning with consummate ease, showing they were more than ready for the demands of independent learning at senior school. On their return straight after half term, they coped maturely with socially distanced ‘bubbles’ and the challenges they faced; from a cancelled residential to London, to the inevitable changes to their ‘leavers’ celebrations. Not to be beaten however, we still managed to put on an end of year production, creating ‘Peter Pan’ as a feature film, complete with green screen special effects! The end of the children’s time at Hunter Hall was marked by a water fight, an ‘in-house’ prize-giving evening and a tear-jerking performance of ‘Don’t Look Down’ as they flew out of the courtyard to pastures new. What a special group of children they have been.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

19


WHAT’S GREAT ABOUT…

ELEANOR TEBBUTT

ZACH PALLISTER

EVIE PALLISTER

When you first joined in Year 6, I knew that I was going to enjoy every second with you. Your unique personality really stood out to me and I enjoyed being your friend. I especially enjoyed our maths lessons together where we helped each other out, had lots of fun, but still got on with our work. You are a very special friend, and you are very caring not just to me, but to the whole class. I hope our special friendship lasts throughout QEGS.

Zach is an amazing head of school. He is sensible, kind and is really good with Lower School children. He always makes me laugh, especially in tennis, where we had the Friday night comedy show and the 5p challenge. He has been a brilliant Peter Pan in the school film; I didn’t know he was such a good actor. He is really good at maths. Zach is a great saxophonist, and brilliant at performing Yellow Submarine. I hope he has an outstanding time at Austin Friars.

Evie is a kind person. She is always on the lookout for me. She’s patient and super funny. I’ll never forget Bibcat and Bobcat. She’s great at English. Evie is an amazing actor; She plays ‘Wendy’ brilliantly in Peter Pan. She is an awesome singer, which is why she’s music captain. You’ve been a supportive friend since nursery and you’ll always have a place in my heart. You’re always cheering me up when I’m sad, and I’m so glad we are going to the same senior school.

By Zahren Shah

By Eleanor Tebbutt

By Luca Holt Stott

LOUIS SIMPSON

CALLUM LLOYD

ZAHREN SHAH

What’s great about Louis is that he’s so funny. He can make anyone laugh when they are sad. He’s so sporty, and he is a phenomenal cricketer. He’s also very clever and super good at maths. Whenever his name is called on the maths game we play, we all get scared, because we know we’ll lose! I really enjoyed last year, when you and I won the Victrix and Vitor Lodorum. I’ll really miss you when you go to QEGS. Victory dance!

Callum is really kind and helpful. He’s amazing at badminton. He’s an awesome hugger. He is the best Foxes House Captain. He really helped to rack up those housepoints! I can’t wait for him, Stefan and I to go to Keswick together. I think Callum will be a phenomenal badminton player when he’s older. I hope Hunter Hall never forgets about him. He is my best friend ever, and I can’t wait to start a new chapter at Keswick together.

Zahren is really determined and never gives up. She has such a great attitude, she seems really quiet, but when you get to know her, you realise she’s quite the opposite. She is always up for a laugh. When you and Eleanor did your duet at Carlisle Festival, it really made me smile. You made an excellent head girl, and you kept the school in check. You will have a good time at QEGS and they are lucky to have such a hardworking and reliable friend. You will have a great time there.

By Sam Mashiter

By Lucy Hetherington

By Lucy Hetherington

20


MAX TELFORD

SAM MASHITER

LOLA YASEEN

Max is really funny. He always makes me laugh. I love doing art with him, as we both love doing the same styles. He’s amazing on the saxophone. My favourite moment was when we were doing green screening for Peter Pan. He tried to do a funny move and fell off the stool. Your role in the film was great and you were a brilliant choice for the crocodile. You have a bright future ahead of you, and I can’t wait to go to QEGS together.

Sam is good at helping out. He is funny, kind and very good at climbing. He was on the climbing team that won at Eden Rock. He’s also an awesome rugby player. He likes the outdoors and Liverpool football team. Sam is very good at his school job of being science captain. He was also a great narrator for the film. He is all round just a really good lad. Things won’t be the same at Hunter Hall without you and I wish you well at Keswick.

Lola is an amazing friend. She’s very caring and would always help me when I was down. Farne Island was a blast. When I sleep-walked, she woke up with soap all over her! She has been an amazing BFF and the ski trip was brilliant. Her laugh is phenomenal. She was an amazing Mrs Darling- especially the singing! She’s a great librarian, and I’ll always remember the incident at the book fair! She will thrive at UCC. They are so lucky to have her.

By Max Telford

By Lucy Harnwell

LUCY HETHERINGTON

OSKAR SORTON

LEXI BIRD

Lucy is a very kind and helpful person. Whenever someone is down, she is always there to help. The first time she came to school, all the boys chased her around the playground. In Fellside, we got dared to put love heart sweets at her door. Lucy is a phenomenal athlete - especially at running. She is so determined too. She was a great Captain Hook, and I hope I was good first mate for her. I hope she has a great time at Sedbergh.

Oskar is a very good artist and his work is incredible to see. There was no one better to be art captain. He is very good at his baby voices - that’s why he plays Michael in Peter Pan! I will remember him as a brother, thanks to the film and his character. He is a friend of everyone and wants to be a professional streamer. I think Lancaster are very lucky to have him, and I wish him good luck there.

Lexi is amazing at all sports and is a great sports captain. She is very funny and always cheers me up. We have tonnes of memories together, like when we pretended to be famous youtubers whilst orienteering at Fellside. Every place we go, we always stick together. I think she will be a famous dirt biker when she grows up, because she’s amazing at it. Sedbergh is really lucky to have her. I wil miss her so much, but hopefully we can stay in touch.

By Louis Simpson

By Jonty Reay

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

By Stefan Carp

By Evie Pallister

21


WHAT’S GREAT ABOUT…

ESME RAY

LUCA HOLT STOTT

LUCY HARNWELL

Esme is so kind and caring and she’s really good at sports. She is very funny and she makes me laugh. We have some great memories, like when we made a star fish called Jeffery. You might not expect this, but once you get to know Esme, she’s actually really loud. She was amazing at paying Tinkerbell in our film, and her job as art captain was truly deserved. I will miss her so much. I hope we stay in touch. UCC are so lucky.

He is brilliant at what he does, like running, rugby and looking after his animals at home. He is very lively and enthusiastic and really loud! A really funny memory is when we played Christmas ‘Would you rather…?’. It was also funny when it took 18 takes to film one scene in Peter Pan because of him! Luca you are a phenomenal sports captain, because of your sportsmanship and skill level. Have a great time at Austin Friars!

Lucy is amazing at swimming and is so helpful. Her part in the film as Tiger Lily was so well cast - it really suited her. She should never doubt herself at singing, as she was amazing when she had to sing in front of the class to record for the film. She has made me laugh for the last few years at Hunter Hall. I have lots of great memories, like the screaming sailing lesson! She is so kind and enthusiastic and I will always remember her.

By Evie Pallister

By Lola Yaseen

By Esme Rae

STEFAN CARP

JONTY REAY

SAMUEL WRIGHTSON

Stefan has been an amazing friend. I will always remember the time when he helped me out with my cricket bowling and coached me through it. Stefan plays county cricket and trains for county tennis. He was John Darling in the film and flew off to Neverland and fought the pirates. I really wanted him to be games captain - he really deserved it. You always have outstanding sportsmanship. He is really talented at rugby. I will miss him when he goes to Keswick. I hope he has an amazing time.

Jonty is a great member of the class. He is fabulous at cricket and amazing at acting. The part of Mr Smee was perfect for him. He is amazing at rugby. Austin Friars is very lucky to have him - it’s unbelievable how lucky. If I need Ideas, he is there with great suggestions. My favourite memory I remember the big bubble baboon bath. You’re the best at being head boy and I will miss you when you go to Austin Friars.

Samuel is a very talented singer and wins lots of festival trophies. He has also recently taken up the saxophone and is well on his way to being in a jazz band. He has a really big personality and is very funny. He’s a great leader, especially on outdoor ed, when he always finds himself at the front. We have shared lots of funny times together. He has achieved so much in his time at Hunter Hall and are a techno-wizard with all the microphones and amps. I wish him all the best.

By Samuel Wrightson

22

By Oskar Sorton

By Zach Pallister


HEADS OF SCHOOL 2019-2020 HEAD GIRL

A

HEAD OF SCHOOL

F

rom being in Reception, I’d always looked up to the Head of School and had set that role as my goal. When Mrs Vinsome announced my name, I was over the moon! Being Head of School is a very big responsibility. There’s lots of things to think about, like making sure everyone is okay, and representing the school in the correct manner. My favourite thing about my role was getting the opportunity to read prayers at school events. Advice to Fergal- the next Head of School: Remember people will look up to you as a role model. Put others before yourself. Try and help people as much as you can, and don’t forget to represent the school to the best of your ability. I’ve really enjoyed my meetings with Mrs Vinsome, and although the pandemic cut my headship short, I had a great time helping everyone around me, and I will really miss everything about Hunter Hall. Zach Pallister

t Prize Giving 2019, much to my surprise, I was awarded the position of Head Girl. I was overjoyed to hear the news, as I have wanted the role since I joined Hunter Hall in Year 2. At the beginning of the school year, I was so excited to help Mrs Vinsome. I enjoyed doing this in many different ways, such as taking people on a tour of the school, meeting the governors and reading prayers at public events. My favourite bit about being Head Girl was helping people out. I really hope Annie Millburn has as much fun as I did and will help not just Mrs Vinsome, but all the other staff too. Zahren Shah

HEAD BOY

B

eing Head Boy is a privilege. You get to see and help the little ones. You get to represent the school at outside events like Remembrance Day. You also get to have so much fun along the way. I was so lucky to get this position, and I wish Casey the best of luck with this role next year - he’ll be brilliant. Jonty Reay

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

23


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

ENGLISH MRS K FLETCHER

24


This was my first year at Hunter Hall, and I was so excited to lead the English department. The children’s enthusiasm for reading, voracious writing and eagerness to learn was a joy to see.

T

hroughout the year, the children shared their passion for their books through speed chats, guided reading and the many activities and competitions run by the librarians. ‘ERIC’ (Everyone Reading in Class) was introduced as a new session in the timetabled day, when everyone in school could enjoy curling up with a book, to the backdrop of relaxing, mindful music. During the spring, Year 5 enjoyed a visit to Giggleswick School to take part in a drama workshop experience with the specialist drama staff in the theatre, exploring ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ in particular. This was supported by a unit of work on Shakespeare back at school.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

25


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

Book week was a highlight, being launched with a visit from local author, Helen Hareldsen. A highlight of the week was when the ‘normal’ Hunter Hall teachers were strangely absent, replaced with ‘The World’s Worst Teachers’. The children laughed uproariously as the extravagant acting of ‘Miss Palaver’, the trembling screams of ‘Mr Phobe’ and the whizzing scooter of ‘Miss Spick’ entertained children from Reception to Year 6. Dress-up day did not disappoint, with all children and staff going to a monumental effort as they embodied all sorts of characters from our favourite stories of adventure and magic. Matilda Harling won the Upper School costume award for her impressive effort as Susan from ‘Swallows and Amazons’,

“It’s true to say that the magic of reading is definitely alive and well here!”

26


bringing not just her period costume, but a boat, bedecked in a pirate flag and a bag full of fitting accessories! The Lower School prize went to Tate Bullimore for her imaginative take on ‘The Creakers’. Rafferty Antrobus won the ‘Extreme Reading’ challenge, having read a book underwater... with his school uniform on! The ‘Potato People’ award went to Matthew Hetherington for his spudtastic ‘Squirrel Nutkin’. We enjoyed our very own ‘Hogwarts Feast’ for lunch, complete with Butterbeer to wash it all down. By an incredible coincidence, during Book Week, author Steven L Lovett called into school to give us a copy of his novel for children: ‘A Place with Dragons’, because our school features in it. Nicolas, the main character, goes to Hunter Hall School. It’s true to say that the magic of reading is definitely alive and well here!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

27


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

I

n the morning, they took part in an inspiring architecture workshop, where pieces of doweling and elastic bands were used, first to build a triangle and then a tetrahedron. The tetrahedrons were then combined with longer pieces of doweling (and a lot more elastic bands!) to create a bridge. The children were pointed in the right direction, whilst learning a lot about architecture, but had to do a lot of collective thinking to produce their final structure. One group successfully produced a bridge that was 4m long! After a delicious lunch (it was widely agreed that the chocolate and banana muffins were the best ever), there was a highly entertaining talk on binary numbers and how they underpin everything to do with computers. The day ended with the challenge of working in teams of three to complete as many of 30 puzzles as possible in an hour. It was an excellent day. The Hunter Hall pupils’ enthusiasm for tackling the different mathematical challenges was marvellous to behold. The Quote of the day went to Mr Hetherington: “Do you think I could go for a third muffin?’’

MATHS MR P STURGESS The highlight of the mathematical calendar was the Ampleforth Maths Day. Thirteen of Hunter Hall’s mathematicians attended joined by three other prep schools for a day of hands-on mathematical activities.

28

“The Hunter Hall pupils’ enthusiasm for tackling the different mathematical challenges was marvellous to behold!”


SCIENCE MR M SPOONER The science centre hosted a wonderful variety of lessons over the course of the year, from forces and magnets to life cycles of animals.

O

ur Year 6s studied classification, where they learnt about Carl Linnaeus, the creator of the system that is still in use today. They followed this with a topic on the human body, which involved learning all about the circulation system, exercise and the blood. The highlight of this particular topic came towards the end of the term, as we dissected a cow’s heart; this went down very well amongst some of our more ‘hands on’ students!

“The highlight of this particular topic came towards the end of the term, as we dissected a cow’s heart; this went down very well amongst some of our more ‘hands on’ students!”

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

We entered spring term as normal, with lower school classes covering interesting topics on materials and the environment, amongst others. Things changed significantly as lockdown began, and the challenge was on to see how we could adapt to continuing our science lessons from home. Kitchen scales were brought out, paper spinners dropped and timed from the top of stairs and rocks were collected from gardens. The adaptability that was displayed right across every year group was simply phenomenal and we were all amazed at what the children had managed to achieve in their lessons simply by using what they had around them and applying their own creativity. Year 6 even tested wind resistance on homemade boats by testing them out on ponds and in baths! Unfortunately, we couldn’t hold our annual science week this year, nor could we head off on our usual museum trips. Despite this though, we managed to put on a superb show of our own, sharing our wonderful creations and experiments. We look forward to next year and hope that as things get back to normal, we will be able to put on an even bigger science extravaganza!

29


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

FRENCH MADAME ROBERTS “Bonjour! Comment ça va ?” is now a common phrase you will hear outside French lessons at Hunter Hall. I feel very proud that the children have the confidence to speak in a different language, even whilst not in class. This enthusiasm also spills over into the after-school languages club.

D

uring French lessons, I always take the time to answer the children’s curiosity; as well as language, they can be inquisitive about life in France and all the differences another culture can bring, and they certainly don’t pass on questions like, “Do French people really eat snails?” This past year, Year 5 have been fortunate to be part of a French Pen Pal project. They enjoyed their written communication with children from a school in France and certainly benefited from all the work achieved to understand the letters received and then reply to them. It prompted a lot of excitement and great energy. The reception children love to ask me to translate vocabulary for them, sometimes just something they want to know the French word for! When possible, miming and singing will allow them to remember vocabulary better, and Year 1s have certainly enjoyed all the actions and the singing whilst learning. The pre-school children enjoy their weekly injection of French too and are definitely part of the “Ou la la” flow in school!

“I feel very proud that the children have the confidence to speak in a different language, even whilst not in class. This enthusiasm also spills over into the after-school languages club.”

30


GEOGRAPHY MRS D VINSOME As a geography specialist and having a natural curiosity about the world and the people in it, I love teaching geography. Each year group completes several geography topics, some of which study the local environment close to home such our local rivers and waterfalls, whilst others compare localities in far off distant locations, such as India and the Caribbean Islands.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

M

ap work (and when the weather allows it!) field work, helps to underpin what we do, and whilst much of our planned field work excursions were scuppered this year – either due to the weather or that little known phenomenon a pandemic, the children did manage to do some very local field work studying the area around our school. Lower school children studied the area immediate to our school as well as finding out just how big our wonderful world is, whilst Upper School looked at Ordnance Survey maps to plot locations and get to know the surrounding area.

31


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

HISTORY MRS E TARRANT The children have been on some historical adventures this year, travelling through Prehistoric Britain, making a pit stop with the Ancient Greeks, and ending with World War 2.

I

n Lower School, the highlight was studying the importance of remembering those who fought in WW1, including the animals. They also investigated the role of women on the Home Front and met Walter Tull – one of the first black men to become an officer in the British military during the First World War. They created a vibrant poppy display. In Upper School, Year 3 and 4 explored life in Prehistoric Britain, studying the development of humans and their ways of life. They enjoyed using a bow and arrow to explore how they would hunt! Moving on through time, they discovered Roman life, learning about its impact on Britain and our local environment. They loved using clay to create their very own artefacts – Roman arrow and spear heads. They finished their year by studying the life of Ancient Egyptians, from their beliefs to their architecture. The highlight was mummifying a tomato via Microsoft Teams at home. Such fun! Year 5 particularly enjoyed travelling through time to Medieval Britain, learning about King Edward III, the Hundred Years War and the Black Death. They were horrified by some of the remedies of the time. Another favourite was analysing how the Tudors came to the throne and what happened as Henry VIII’s children took over. The children loved bringing their art skills to the forefront, capturing the Tudor royals in simple sketches. Year 6 fully embraced the Victorian way of life, taking part in drill sessions and writing diary entries as working children. They were not fans of Victorian school discipline but demonstrated excellent dictation skills and were very good at looking at historical evidence. Our World War 2 topic was quite personal for our children as it had affected their families. It was overwhelming to see the historical artefacts they had to contribute, from letters to medals.

“Year 6 fully embraced the Victorian way of life, taking part in drill sessions and writing diary entries as working children.”

32


RE MRS D VINSOME RE is alive and well at Hunter Hall with the children experiencing a range of different topics and ways in which to present it. We introduced a new speaker this year – Mrs Ruth Evans from NISCU who lead Year 5, very practically, through the stories of the Bible, where they encountered spies on their journey (!) as well as knocking down the odd wall in Jericho etc.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

M

eanwhile, Year 2 studied the Jesse Tree – making their own tree from which to represent the stories we read and reenacted, from Noah’s Ark to the birth of Jesus. Mrs Shah kindly came to visit us again to explain the traditions of the Islamic faith along with our Head Girl Zahren of course, whilst we also marked Remembrance at the annual Remembrance service at St Andrews with our Heads of School representing us at their wreath laying ceremony. Year 6 also studied the work of those who were inspired by their faith – such as the fortunes of Martin Luther King Junior, Rosa Parks and Harriet Tubman. Unfortunately, we never got to celebrate the Easter story this year and our annual visit to Langwathby Chapel, but there is always next year.

33


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

ART MRS E TARRANT

The children have experienced an eclectic mix of art and design this year, taking inspiration from the world around them to create pieces from observation, but also from their imagination. We have had great fun building upon their experience through different mediums.

34


I

n Lower School the children explored the foundation skills of art: colour and shape. They thoroughly enjoyed doing this through their explorations of artists such as Vincent Van Gogh and Claude Monet. They created some beautiful representations of their work and displayed them as a huge mural. They were very effective! In Upper School, a Year 3 and 4 highlight was looking at ‘Bodies’, focusing on the work of Julian Opie. They applied his simplistic style and bold use of colour to their very own trace transfers that showed the body in movement. They explored the way the body could not only show action, but also emotion. We had great fun making lots of emotive faces and then capturing them in close up art pen drawings. The children turned everything on its head at the end of this unit by studying Picasso’s interpretation of the face.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

35


ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

In Year 5, one of the most enjoyed units was exploring different ways of using paint, from pushing and pulling, to painting with body parts. This topic really allowed the children’s creative juices to flow and they became quite experimental. They loved creating texture using tools, watching the paint blend in different ways. Their favourite task was recreating Jackson Pollock’s style. They learnt to be frenetic, but calculated in their approach. In Year 6, the children - who were big doodle fans - loved investigating the style of Liz Pichon. They created graffiti style names as well as doodle pages that represented themselves. I loved their balance of bold colour with monochrome details. During the summer term, and our time at home, the children explored the art of origami. The children learnt the basic folds and then applied them to various structures, from animals to portraits.

ARTISTS OF THE MONTH: This year saw the beginning of a new monthly art competition launched to find Hunter Hall’s Artist of the Month. The standard was very high and created great interest. Oskar Sorton Fergal Rowley Anna Cunningham Ollie Ewbank Max Telford Luca Holt-Stott

36


“Hunter Hall’s Music and Drama offering really is second to none. As a parent of children who naturally gravitate to these areas, being able to access music as part the curriculum and then have that supported by choir, band, informal and formal concerts, choir tours and festivals is just astonishing. Similarly, LAMDA classes mean excellent formal drama tuition coupled with inspiring extracurricular drama clubs that bring out the thespian in all of those who participate. What fortunate children!”

MUSIC & DRAMA

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

37


MUSIC AND DRAMA

MUSIC MRS L WRIGHTSON The autumn term began with the choir taking part in a singing day which was held in the chapel at Austin Friars. Eight schools attended (around 160 children) and sang several songs together which was great fun.

38

O

ur first public performance was at the school’s Harvest Festival. The choir sang a song from the ‘Lion King’, which was beautifully performed and thought provoking in its delivery. There was no time for resting however, as after this, preparation began in earnest for Christmas, the busiest of seasons for musical children! Our ‘Winter Sparkle’ Evening of Words and Music had a packed programme and was thoroughly enjoyed by a huge audience! Both the choir and the band had many engagements at which to perform to celebrate Christmas, including the Penrith Schools’ Concert and Keswick Victorian Fayre. They also sang in Morrison’s in aid of ‘Hospice at Home’ and at Croft Avenue Nursing Home to entertain the residents. Our own Carol Service at St Andrew’s finished off the festive season in traditional style, with the choir and band in need of a well-earned break over the Christmas break!


The spring term was somewhat quieter; however, it was now skill and technique that needed focus as we worked towards the Carlisle Music and Drama Festival. Pieces were prepared by the Choir, Band, Years 1 & 2 and The Choirboys, ready to perform to the adjudicator. Unfortunately, the latter part of the Festival drew to an unexpected close as the impact of the pandemic was becoming apparent. We squeezed in another Words and Music Evening in February on the theme of ‘Love’. Hearts filled the hall as music from many was performed: another very memorable evening. The summer term started with us all learning from home and saw the launch of ‘Lower School Live’ from the piano in my lounge! We linked together every week and it was wonderful to see all the children singing and dancing together on our screens. We certainly had to think outside the box for the Summer Words and Music Concert, which was all performed virtually and broadcast on screen. We also needed to plan for Prize Giving with a musical theme to send our school leavers on their way. The ceremony ended with a very appropriate song and dance routine to ‘We’re all in this together’, as well as a Year 6 favourite ‘Shotgun’. Anna Cunningham performed ‘Over the Rainbow’ on the viola and the final day of term saw everyone in the courtyard in their circular ‘bubbles’ singing ‘Don’t look down’ from the Peter Pan musical. It had truly become a favourite and certainly gave Year 6 the send-off they deserved.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

39


MUSIC AND DRAMA

BAND MRS L WRIGHTSON This year was another successful time for the band, although many unforeseen circumstances did stand in our way as the year progressed!

T

heir first performance was at our Christmas concert at St Andrew’s where they tackled ‘Ding Dong Merrily’ which was arranged so that each person in the Band could stand out. Zach Pallister took the lead admirably on the saxophone and everyone managed to get through it, despite rehearsals being cancelled due to a winter bug! We then worked hard on two pieces for the Carlisle Festival – ‘Eye Level’ and ‘Yellow Submarine’. They were so ready to present these to the judges, however once again, unfortunate events stood in our way and the latter part of the Festival was cancelled due to the pandemic. They did however get the chance to play to school in an impromptu easter celebration assembly, before we closed for lockdown and this was very well received by everyone. Unfortunately, this signalled the end for Band for this year, which I am sure was missed by all involved.

BAND MEMBERS THIS YEAR WERE:

40

Zach Pallister saxophone

Anna Cunningham viola

Max Telford saxophone

Oskar Sorton drums

Lexi Bird saxophone

Lucy Harnwell guitar

Evie Pallister clarinet

Sam Mashiter guitar

Zahren Shah flute

Eleanor Tebbutt double bass


C

ongratulations to all who took part; it is no mean feat standing up in front of an unfamiliar audience and performing. Special congratulations to Lucy Harnwell and Lucy Hetherington for their duologue, Ellie Ainsworth for her solo verse speaking, and Lucy Harnwell, Lucy Hetherington and Zach Pallister for their prose, who all achieved success in their respective classes. The last two days of the festival were cancelled, as the pandemic began to take hold, so the children performed their final pieces in our easter assembly to the rest of the children and a small group of parents. We were all very proud of their poise, confidence and skill.

CARLISLE FESTIVAL MRS K FLETCHER Carlisle Festival is a music and drama event with children coming from all over North Cumbria to take part and Hunter Hall compete annually. It was a mammoth undertaking, but as always, the children enjoyed it very much, and it was also good for the children to meet other schools taking part too. Children all the way through the school entered numerous classes. The Upper School performed a choric verse piece together- a dramatic performance of TS Eliot’s ‘Macavity’. The Lower School performed a medley of nursery rhymes, complete with scarf props (!) and special thanks must go to Mrs Ray for helping to accompany the children performing instrumental solos.

“Congratulations to all who took part; it is no mean feat standing up in front of an unfamiliar audience and performing.”

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

LAMDA MRS K WALFORD This year, many pupils enjoyed developing their confidence and dramatic performance skills through studying for speech and language qualifications from the London Academy for Music and the Dramatic Arts with our specialist LAMDA teacher. Unfortunately, many of the children’s exams were cancelled in the latter part of the year due to the pandemic, but it was lovely that the following children were able to enjoy their success in February:

ROLL OF HONOUR: Solo Stage 1: Lucy Millington (distinction), Orla Meek (distinction), Zach Lowther (distinction) Solo Stage 2: Jack Dent (distinction), Emma Carp (distinction) Solo Stage 3: Tate Bullimore (distinction), Forest Rowley (distinction), Maggie Rowley (merit), George Morison (distinction), Carson Lam (distinction) Acting Entry Level: Anna Ford (distinction), Gabrielle Ainsworth (distinction) Acting Grade One: Zara Yaseen (distinction), Minnie Rowley (distinction), Antonia Holt-Stott (distinction) Acting Grade Two: Hugo Griggs (merit), Matthew Hetherington (merit) Acting Grade Three: Lola Yaseen (merit), Eleanor Tebbutt (distinction) Lucy Holt Stott (distinction), Lucy Hetherington (distinction), Zach Pallister (distinction), Evie Pallister (distinction), Lucy Harnwell (distinction), Oskar Sorton (distinction), Annie Millburn (distinction), Matilda Harling (distinction)

41


MUSIC AND DRAMA

A MIRACLE IN TOWN EYFS NATIVITY MRS G GRIFFITHS

C

hristmas always starts early in the Foundation stage, as we begin to prepare for our Christmas nativity. This year, the reception and pre-school children performed ‘A Miracle in Town’ which was based on the traditional nativity story with plenty of upbeat songs to sing. For the children, the best part was getting dressed up in various costumes with splendid kings, fine shepherds and - of course - some very cute farmyard animals. This group of children loved performing and even a few nerves didn’t stop them singing their hearts out on the big day. Mary and Joseph did a wonderful job and clearly enjoyed their role. Everyone loved learning the songs and a definite favourite was ‘Little Grey Donkey’. The nativity performance ended with everyone signing ‘We Wish you a Merry Christmas’, and I am sure everyone went home full of the true meaning of Christmas.

“This group of children loved performing and even a few nerves didn’t stop them singing their hearts out on the big day.”

42


LIGHTS! CAMEL! ACTION 2!: THE SEQUIN - YEAR 1 AND 2 NATIVITY MRS L WRIGHTSON AND MRS E TARRANT

A

star-studded line-up of nativity celebrities (Years 1 and 2) gathered in the stable to celebrate the amazing events of that first Christmas. With a retelling of the incredible story of Jesus’ birth, alongside a fabulous new range of dance styles from Gospel to Hustle and Ceilidh to Conga, the audience settled themselves in for a Christmas celebration full of pizzazz and razzmatazz! Hosted by Tate Bullimore, Darci Goulding and Emma Carp in their sparkly outfits, this was another nativity to remember. The well-known faces of the traditional story took to the stage for a ‘Strictly’ themed dance as they were introduced by our amazing voiceover (Jack Dent). The judges, aka the smallest sheep (Orla Meek), the funky camel (George Morison) and Caesar (Tomas Barr), gathered their scorecards and gave their own opinions on each of the performances. All of the cast absolutely loved learning the songs and dance routines, as well as saying their words wonderfully. This show was certainly enjoyed by all who watched it: we had everyone out of their seats dancing by the end!

“This show was certainly enjoyed by all who watched it: we had everyone out of their seats dancing by the end!”

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

43


44


PETER PAN MRS K FLETCHER AND MRS L WRIGHTSON

N

ot to be defeated by a global pandemic, we decided ‘the show must go on’ and arranged to run the end of school year production as a feature film spectacular, where social distancing could be observed, bubbles could be maintained, yet the children could still experience the thrill and excitement of bringing a story to life, albeit to a video camera rather than a live audience! The film version of ‘Peter Pan’ was announced to the Year 6 whilst they were still undergoing the remote learning phase from home via Microsoft Teams, so auditions took place online, as did the ‘grand reveal’ of casting. The children’s individual familiarisation of script and score began whilst still in lockdown in their own homes. Rehearsing and filming began in earnest as soon as children returned to Hunter Hall after the summer half term. The forest, the pavilion, the science garden and the hills behind school all served as backdrops for ‘Neverland’. Green screen technology and special effects meant that flying, walking the plank, fairy dust and pirate ships sailing on the high seas were all exciting additions to our production, that would have been difficult to achieve in a conventional ‘school play’ context. The children performed songs with gusto, danced choreography with pinpoint precision and brought the world of ‘Peter Pan’ to life. The film culminated in a finale scene filmed by drone, piloted by none other than Cameron Fletcher. Despite the pouring rain, the children belted out ‘It’s a Good Life’ for all they were worth. The film was enjoyed by the whole school in their separate bubbles on video screen during a special ‘Peter Pan’ day, with the Year 6 being treated like film stars for much of the rest of the week. Friends and families of the cast were able to enjoy the children’s efforts through a special DVD that was made for each performer. The film can also still be enjoyed on YouTube!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

“The film was enjoyed by the whole school in their separate bubbles on video screen during a special ‘Peter Pan’ day, with the Year 6 being treated like film stars for much of the rest of the week.”

45


SPORT AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION

Out on the sports fields, the 2019-2020 academic year proved to be a highly successful one. The rich tapestry of sporting opportunities on offer at Hunter Hall proved to be as varied as ever. These differing experiences ensuring that all our pupils honed their skills whilst establishing a love of the game. With ten pupils gaining county or district honours, it was no surprise that our sports teams enjoyed plenty of success.

PE & GAMES MR A HETHERINGTON

46


O

ur U11 rugby squad began with an unbeaten afternoon at our Tag Rugby World Cup. Local schools all took on a variety of nationalities for the afternoon. Our second year of playing contact rugby showed our boys and girls had progressed superbly. Our 1st team thrived at Gigglewsick, Mowden Hall and Sedbergh festival; free flowing rugby and aggressive defence proving to be their trademark. Sam Mashiter and Jonty Reay provided plenty of experience, while Hugo Griggs, Fergal Rowley and Luca Holt-Stott were dominant in defence. Our U11 football team was equally impressive. Louis Simpson, Stefan Carp and Piers Sweeney were prolific upfront, while Samuel Wrightson, Callum Lloyd and Casey Briscoe provided the sound foundations on which the unbeaten season was built. The children enjoyed a year of incredible netball and hockey opportunities, including being invited to masterclasses with specialist coaches in both sports at Sedbergh and Barnard Castle. We enjoyed fixtures across the county and beyond, as well as playing host to several local schools as part of our partnership programme, who came for tournaments. All the netball and hockey players always gave 100%, demonstrating well-honed skills and excellent game play, but special mention must go to Lucy Hetherington, Lexi Bird, Lucy Harnwell

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

47


SPORT AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION

and Matilda Harling for not only playing with real expertise, but being effective, supportive and inspirational role models for other pupils to learn from. Head torch runs and fell runs ensured plenty of variety for our runners, who were again up to pace with the best in the North West of England. The U11 girls’ team had the most successful year in recent time, claiming podium positions at Mowden Hall (3rd), Catterall Shield (2nd) and in the Rawthey Run (3rd). Individual success was enjoyed by Lucy Hetherington who was crowned U11 girls’ champion at the Catterall Shield and at Mowden Hall. Minnie Rowley and Anna Ford showed there was plenty of talent lower down the school too. Both were crowned champions, in their respective age groups, at Mowden Hall. Not to be outdone, our boys’ U11 team, had an equally incredible year; 3rd at Stoneyhurst, 2nd in the Catterall Shield and 2nd at Mowden Hall. During February 2020, Cumbria’s elite descended on Hunter Hall. The whole school community provided a warm welcome to hundreds of runners for the 2020 county championship, a first for Hunter Hall to host. Fergal Rowley, Piers Sweeney, Casey Briscoe and Matthew Hetherington this time steered Hunter Hall to the title of U10 boys’ county champions. Congratulations must be passed to Matilda Harling, Lucy Hetherington, Piers Sweeney, Casey Briscoe and Matthew Hetherington, who, on the back of their performances, were all called up to represent Cumbria at the National Championships, but most pleasing was the sea of maroon vests out on the course!

48


While our cricket, rounders and athletics seasons were curtailed due to the global situation, it was impressive to see all our pupils staying active at home. Online lessons, sporting challenges and fitness sessions provided plenty of activity during lockdown and some entertaining sporting videos from home were received. Once back in school, the final few weeks were crammed with a feast of pandemic- friendly sporting opportunities. Nets in the summer sun were enjoyed, as was the Wilson Tennis Cup; our annual triathlon and sports day. On the tennis court Stefan Carp claimed the Year 5 & 6 Wilson Cup, while Minnie Rowley was crowned champion in Years 3 & 4. Matthew Hetherington and Lucy Hetherington swam, biked and ran their way to victory in the gruelling triathlon, before throwing and running their way to the Victor and Victrix Ludorum trophies. Callum Lloyd was unrivalled on the badminton court, claiming the fiercely contested badminton cup. Despite unusual circumstances, it was a year not to be forgotten!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

49


SPORT AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION

OUTDOOR EDUCATION MR M SPOONER

50


Our thriving Outdoor Education programme continued to develop over the course of this year, as we expanded the range of opportunities available to the children. We headed off to explore unchartered locations both within the Lake District and beyond, whilst new activities were added to our busy weekly programme.

L

ower School children enjoyed many wonderful afternoons outside learning new skills such as how to make shelters or campfires in our own woodlands and nature area. Upper School children continued to develop their orienteering skills during the autumn term, whilst they also tackled various climbing routes on crags based within the Lakes. November saw us run our first orienteering event as part of our partnership programme for small local schools in the area, making the most of our expansive courses in and around our school site.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

51


SPORT AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION

We also celebrated the wonderful achievements of our climbing squad in the spring term, as our A and B teams took the top two places in the mixed category at Eden Rock, Carlisle. After both teams secured their places in the Cumbrian Schools Competition final a month earlier, they were eagerly looking forward to challenging themselves against the best that had made it through the preliminary rounds.After putting in some exceptional performances the judges tallied up the scores and announced the results. It was 2nd place for our B team, with the A side crowned winners overall and taking the striking mixed team trophy back to Hunter Hall with them – what an incredible result! Each team also received certificates and climbing goodies, such as chalk balls, chalk bags and climbing tape, which the children were most excited about! The strength in depth of knowledge and climbing talent we currently have at Hunter Hall has never been stronger, so we are delighted with such an achievement. We look forward to further progress in the sport, where the future is bright indeed. Well done to all our climbers!

“It was 2nd place for our B team, with the A side crowned winners overall and taking the striking mixed team trophy back to Hunter Hall with them – what an incredible result!”

52

The summer term and pandemic lockdown brought fresh challenges – how on earth do we continue with Outdoor Education whilst all confined to our homes?! Well, problems are there to be solved, and with a bit of creativity and enthusiasm, we found plenty of ways. Video demonstrations and tutorials helped to deliver garden-based mountain biking skill sessions and bike mechanical lessons. We also developed our map and route planning skills, whilst children headed out to their nearest fell with their families at the weekend and recorded their adventures to share. All in all, we still enjoyed some wonderful Outdoor Education, just a little ‘differently’ this term.


CLUBS

SPORTS CLUBS

U

pper school clubs saw our boys and of girls continue to relish contact rugby and hard ball cricket. Table tennis tables proved a welcome new addition to our repertoire, while tennis, football, cricket, rounders and running clubs continued to be popular; the latter providing our pupils with varied running experiences, both on the fell and with head torches!

SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE… Our enthusiastic lower school pupils are a hardy bunch and relish the opportunity to develop their fundamentals through a wide range of afterschool sporting clubs; tri golf, dodgeball, hockey, netball, football, tag rugby, cricket, tennis, rounders, running and dance! With so many of them developing a love of being active, it is no surprise that this enthusiasm for sport becomes engrained.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

53


CLUBS

AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS YEAR 6 COOKERY CLUB REVIEW LUCY HARNWELL

M CHESS MR P STURGESS

C

hess continues to thrive at Hunter Hall. The Delancey UK Schools’ Chess Challenge took place in the spring term. Stefan Carp won the competition within school. Unfortunately, lockdown saw the cancellation of the Megafinal round, where our best chess players would have competed against other pupils from across the north of England. The chess team returned to Long Marton in January to compete against 44 pupils from other local schools in a wonderful afternoon of chess. The team - Stefan Carp, Casey Briscoe, Piers Sweeney, included Lola Yaseen, the first girl to represent Hunter Hall at chess. They came second in the team competition (to Long Marton) and Stefan Carp took silver and Casey Briscoe bronze in the individual competition.

rs Wilson’s cookery club was amazing; I really enjoyed it and looked forward to it. For whatever we were cooking, there would always be a bit of background history which would be very interesting. I loved walking through the kitchen and smelling the chosen weekly recipes. Mrs Wilson encouraged me to bake and cook, and I continue to still cook many of the recipes we did at Hunter Hall as well as new family favourites including cheese twists, mince pies, ice cream and beef wellington. I was really chuffed to get the Star Baker Plate at the end of Year 6. I love baking and hope you will too!

COOKERY CLUB MRS J WILSON

T

his was the 7th year that Upper School Cookery Club had run at Hunter Hall, and we continued to expand our repertoire of recipes and introduce new foods as part of our “Try it Tuesday” campaign. We began by looking at ‘Protected Geographical Indication’. PGI is a status awarded by the European Commission to protect and promote named regional food products that have a reputation or noted characteristics specific to that area, such as Cumberland sausage, Lakeland Herdwick lamb and Jersey Royal potatoes. We began by tasting and making Cornish Pasties; the children loved making their own version of the hearty snack which was used originally by miners as sustenance for a hard day’s work. We found that the addition of a teaspoon of clotted cream to the filling made it very tasty. The spring term whizzed by and Year 6, as has become tradition, got to choose to cook their favourite recipes from previous sessions. When lockdown forced us all to our own homes, Cookery Club went virtual and I welcomed all year groups into my kitchen for some sessions. The Star Baker for 2020 was Lucy Harnwell.

54


LEGO CLUB MRS G GRIFFITHS

DRAMA MRS K FLETCHER

T

D

his year we were very lucky to have a Lego expert in the form of Mr Daykin keen to help run a Lego club. This turned out to be no ordinary Lego club however, as he arrived with a Lego Mindstorm kit. I thought it had the most complex parts and instructions to it, but of course, our budding Lego builders were not fazed, and were soon building Lego robots and dogs that could even be programmed to move!

LANGUAGES CLUB MRS E TARRANT

T

his year we focused on Italian. Our linguists enjoyed their sessions and managed to master language skills beyond those learnt in our weekly French lessons. We began the year by practising basic greetings and progressed to holding simple conversations about ourselves. We also had topic weeks where we’d look at topics like Italian food and learn to hold a basic conversation with the waiter. The children loved getting into character, especially when using props and their Italian accent!

rama club is a very popular club that the children in Upper School enjoyed weekly throughout the year. The club gave the children the opportunity to build confidence and collaboration skills with a variety of different drama games. They had the chance to think on their feet and react quickly to others during a multitude of improvisation activities. They devised mini plays based on the most silly and crazy of stimuli which had their audiences in fits of giggles. Drama club also gave the opportunity for children to hone and perfect their pieces for the Carlisle Festival, where many of them entered the ‘speech and drama’ category. As the year went on the buzz of drama club became infectious, more and more children attended and it was great to see some unlikely characters attending, enjoying the opportunity and freedom to explore their dramatic side. The popularity of the club means it has definitely earned its place on the 2020-2021 club list!

In addition to learning through role play and songs, the children loved our games. Bingo was a favourite as it could be applied to colours, numbers, emotions etc. When learning the colours, the children liked applying their art skills, creating their own Italian paint by numbers. In addition to exploring the language, I introduced the group to the culture. We listened to Italian pop songs, took virtual ‘Google’ tours of Rome and Pompeii, and watched a video to see how traditional pizza is made. We even read traditional stories in Italian and compared their Christmas celebrations to ours. They were not many fans of panettone! The group always came with a great attitude and we had a lot of fun. Grazie tutti!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

55


SCHOOL NEWS CAREERS WEEK MRS D VINSOME

T

his year we celebrated our first ever Careers Week in early March with several speakers coming into school to talk to Year 6 about possible career options. Mrs Vickers and Mr Ford, Mrs Marshallsay and Mrs Corbin all volunteered to talk to the children about their respective careers, whilst our very own Fiona in the kitchen showed the children rudiments of her job. Who knows what our Year 6 children may end up doing for a career, but with inspirational speakers like these, they may now have a few ideas to bounce around?

CHARITABLE CAUSES MRS D VINSOME

C

haritable causes remain close to our heart and throughout the year we support several different charities. This year was no different despite the obstacles faced with the global situation, with Children in Need, Cumbrian Farming Network, Samaritans Purse and Save the Children all being supported. As always, we also supported the Royal British Legion with our Heads of School representing school at St Andrew’s Church, whilst the choir sang at Christmas raising money for Hospice at Home.

56


HARVEST FESTIVAL 2019 MRS D VINSOME

H

arvest Festival 2019 was the first of our extra special services of the year. The children helped to lead the service as always, and we gave thanks to all for helping us to celebrate this important event in the school calendar and all the contributions that were made towards our traditional ‘harvest table’. This year, we supported FCN – The Farming Community Network – an organisation that supports farmers and their families in times of need, looking after their physical as well as their mental wellbeing. We also looked to revamp our early years’ outdoor area, so produce on sale from our little ones helped to raise some money to contribute to this refurbishment. Our service got off to a rousing start with Harvest Samba sang by Upper School, before we learnt the story behind the iconic Bramley Apple dramatised by Year 3 and 4. Our lower school were singing vegetables (!) and our choir boys introduced ‘The Circle of Life’ before prayers were led by our Heads of School Zach Pallister, Zahren Shah and Jonty Reay. Special thanks went once again to the Raven family for their wonderful haybale creation, which has become synonymous with our Harvest Festival gathering – this year a red squirrel of all things! A joyful afternoon was completed by our harvest sale run by our Year 6 before half term beckoned and a rest for all.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

57


SCHOOL NEWS LAUNCH OF OUR SCIENCE CENTRE MRS D VINSOME

T

he last week of September 2019 saw the official opening of our science centre! What a beautiful sunny day in which to celebrate such an event - a special afternoon for the school community to come together and celebrate the enormous amount of hard work fundraising for such a project for 2 years from so many people - parents and grandparents past and present, children, staff and governors to make such a project come to fruition. The Lord Lieutenant of Cumbria opened the proceedings with Kayleigh Daniels from REACT engineering as a guest speaker. I am sure Hunter Hall's children today and, in the future, will make great use of this facility and it was lovely to see their faces, they clearly knew they were part of something very special. Our Year 6 did a magnificent job orchestrating their own scientific experiments, under the careful tutelage of our Head of Science, Mr Spooner, whilst Professor Pumpernickel certainly brought science to life in his own indomitable way! It’s wonderful to see Hunter Hall continue to grow and develop offering such facilities to benefit future generations of children.

58


SEDBERGH RESIDENTIAL MRS K FLETCHER

W

e pride ourselves at Hunter Hall on our relationships with our senior feeder schools both state maintained and independent, and on 26th February, Year 5 left the familiarity of Hunter Hall to spend some time boarding alongside Sedbergh pupils at the Casterton Campus. On arrival, they hit the ground running (literally!) with an afternoon of sport with their new Sedbergh friends. The afternoon included netball games, swim training, hockey and football. The activities didn’t stop there, however. They had a dodgeball evening at the sports centre on the main Sedbergh site. Finally, the children collapsed into bed, exhausted, but still buzzing from their day of sporting adventure. As well as sport during their visit, the children also enjoyed a drama workshop on a Lion King theme. Moving to something completely different, designing, making and launching rockets was the order of the day in the STEM department. The children also tried their hand at rifle-shooting. They all loved it, and there are definitely some target-experts in our midst! In addition, the children took part in a chocolate brownie-making challenge in the food tech department, each team with their own cooking workstation. You could almost hear the cogs turning as they measured, sieved and stirred. The children also had the opportunity to try a range of weird and whacky experiments in the science lab. As if that weren’t enough, they also benefitted from Sedbergh’s art specialist, who taught them how to make a purse out of recycled cartons and helped them design a character out of a variety of textiles and materials. Aside from each day’s action packed itinerary, when they got up each day, the children were set the task of feeding chickens and goats; all part and parcel of experiencing life ‘Sedbergh-style’. The Sedbergh community were so warm and welcoming, and all the children agreed that it was been a brilliant few days, jam-packed full of fun and with new friends and phenomenal experiences that they’ll remember for a long time!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

59


PARENTS’ SUPPORT GROUP

T We are lucky enough to benefit from the help of an enormous number of parents behind the scenes at Hunter Hall who come together for camaraderie and support to each other, as well as raising funds, organising events and helping to enrich the ‘community feel’ of our school through their support group events.

60

his year, the group organised a superb firework display, with an impressive bonfire, incredible fireworks and a great food stall, serving everything from mulled wine and soup to hot dogs and burgers. The Christmas Fayre was a fantastic event which really helped to get everybody into the festive spirit, and helped people get started on their Christmas shopping, with a range of stalls selling things as wide ranging as chutneys to soft furnishings to books. The parents' group did not leave it there, however; they also ran a wreath making workshop demonstrated by Mrs Rowley, which was a big success and was attended by parents, friends of Hunter Hall and staff alike. A firm favourite was the 2 ‘Big Breakfasts’, which were lovely events that allowed staff, pupils and parents to come together for a social get together, whilst earning finds for school in the process. The fruit kebabs, delectable pancakes and fry-ups were quite a treat to start a school day! We reaped the benefits of the tireless fundraising from parents at end of summer, when we were able to enjoy a brand new playground marked out for our future netball fixtures in striking purple and green! What a great ‘facelift’ for the school and a welcome addition to the science centre that was officially opened earlier in the year.


A TIME NEVER TO BE FORGOTTEN!

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

In March 2020, the world turned upside down including here at Hunter Hall as we were forced to close due to the pandemic. Having been given 2 days’ notice, it was full steam ahead to give our Year 6 leavers a send-off, not knowing at that point if we would see them again, before they moved on to their next schools. Luckily, we were able to give them an impromptu easter concert and send off in final assembly, with the material that was planned for the Carlisle Festival, which had also closed early and before we had time to present our pieces. Balloons were bought and speeches given and off they went in what was a surreal experience for all of us.

61


62


A

s staff, it was full steam ahead as we banded together, organising work for the remaining week of term, pushing forward our parent portal launch (due to be unrolled in September 2020), as we needed a storage facility for posting children’s work. Behind the scenes, we had a meteoric climb in implementing and finding out how to use Microsoft Teams – a programme none of us had used before, but we knew it had to be done to be able to give the children the best possible education they deserved, in the most difficult of global circumstances. Over the easter break, we trained, and trained, and trained – organising our teaching very differently in order that it could be delivered on on-line aand was of quality and quantity that both the children and parents could access, without us physically being there to hold the children’s hands as they worked through their tasks at home. Many of us as staff, were also of course grappling with our own personal set of circumstances: our children being home, husbands and partners working from home and all needing space to live and work cheek by jowl.

“As far as I am aware, we were the only school in Cumbria to fully reopen and indeed I think there were very few anywhere, who had achieved such a feat.”

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

It was through sheer grit and determination and nothing short of a miracle that we were up and running by the first day of the summer term for all year groups, and together with parents who had been put in a very challenging situation of suddenly overseeing their children’s learning, and like us having to use a completely new ICT package, we started to deliver home learning. A few teething troubles did nothing to put either ourselves, parents or children out of step and soon the work was rolling in as we set, delivered and marked set pieces from the children and most importantly put them at ease that it would be alright, they still had their school and their friends, and we were all here for them and what’s more we could see and teach them every-day on-line.

63


WELCOMES & FAREWELLS MRS D VINSOME

Valete

Welcome

STEPH BRUMWELL

MRS CAROL HARDY

FIONA PARKER

S

T

iona joined the team in the kitchen in January 2020 and has taken to the role like a duck to water. Sadly, she arrived in difficult circumstances, as our first Fiona’s illness meant that she was (and is) still recovering and not ready to return to the kitchen yet. Having two Fionas can be confusing (!) but the children quickly took her to their hearts and called her Fiona 2. We look forward to her cooking every day and continue to wish Fiona 1 a speedy recovery.

teph was of our three ladies in the kitchen who fed us well each and every day. She worked supportively with Fiona and Dot and loved to help prepare food for the children and chat to them. Her horse (!) made a regular appearance at school at Christmas time carrying that famous man in a red suit, and she was always willing to help in an hour of need, stepping back in at very short notice when our lovely Fiona took ill. We wish her well in her new role as a carer.

64

his year, we said goodbye to Mrs Carol Hardy. Mrs Hardy was an institution at Hunter Hall – as a teaching assistant she knew where everything was (!) and was always available to lend that extra helping hand. She has seen many cohorts through school having been with us since her own daughter- Holly, was with us. She joined us in 2006. Carol supported in all year groups, helped to run after school care, was our resident first aider, offered support on school trips, oversaw costumes for school performances; the list goes on and on. She has suffered ill health of late, but one can never keep a strong woman down, and she continues to have a smile for all. We wish her and her family well in all their new ventures and hope that her health returns to fighting fit before too long.

F


Obituary

PETER KIRK

In December 2019, our Chairman of Governors Mr Peter Kirk, who had been ill for some time passed away. Peter and I had worked together at Bilton Grange and but for him I would never have found Hunter Hall and applied for the Headship. Peter was my last Headmaster and a superb confidante, colleague and latterly friend.

HUNTER HALL SCHOOL | ANNUAL REVIEW 2019-2020

W

hen the role of Chairman of Governors became vacant in September 2015, I had no hesitation in ringing Peter and asking him if he would consider the role. I knew he would have the best interests of the school at heart, having run a similar small prep school - Bramcote, and would be someone I could turn to for advice and support. We made a great team – he asked the difficult questions, helped find solutions and did his best to get to know the school (despite the distance involved from where he lived in North Yorkshire), and together with his wife Rosemary was a regular visitor to the school. He would ring each week for a catch up on what was happening and always asked the same question – what can I do to help? His death left a huge hole to fill which thankfully Mrs Natalie Harling as Vice-Chairman at the time, fulfilled. Rosemary Kirk remains in close contact with the school, but it goes without saying he is sorely missed by all and education is all the poorer for not having this wonderful and knowledgeable man a part of it.

65


TEACHERS Mr Spooner Mr Sturges Mrs Tarrant Mrs Wrightson Mr White Mrs Wilson

YEAR 6 Lexi Bird Stefan Carp Lucy Harnwell Lucy Hetherington Luca Holt-Stott Callum Lloyd Sam Mashiter Evie Pallister Zach Pallister Esme Ray Jonty Reay Zahren Shah Louis Simpson Oskar Sorton Eleanor Tebbutt Max Telford Samuel Wrightson Lola Yaseen

Miss Borthwick Mrs Colbear Mr Ellerton (and Mac) Miss Gallagher Miss Graham

YEAR 5 Casey Briscoe Ted Cooper Anna Cunningham Hugo Griggs Matilda Harling Matthew Hetherington Annie Millburn Fergal Rowley Piers Sweeney

2019-2020

Mrs Vinsome Mrs Fletcher Mrs Griffiths Mr Hetherington Madame Roberts Mrs Slessor

YEAR 4 Raphael Barbosa Harrison Goulding Antonia Holt-Stott Logan Mashiter Minnie Rowley Zara Yaseen

YEAR 3 Gabrielle Ainsworth Rafferty Antrobus Willa Ball Anna Ford Carson Lam Ezra McTear

YEAR 2 Tomas Barr Tate Bullimore Emma Carp AJ Chipara Amélie Corbin Drew Cunningham Jack Dent Ollie Ewbank Darci Goulding Quetzi HenriksenColón Hubi Hindley Zachary Lowther George Morison Thomas Raven Forest Rowley Maggie Rowley

YEAR 1 Allegra CalamDaykin Hebe Calam-Daykin Hermione Holliday Hettie Kerr Toby Macaulay Lucy Millington Sebastian Raven Cyril Soper Lucy Wood

RECEPTION Sibella Barbosa Edward Broyan Kane Cartwright Elsa Ford Shae Goulding Ragnar HenriksenColón Charlie McRae-Kelly Fergus Morison

PRE-SCHOOL Kiearra Atkinson Chester Bowness Kitty Bullimore Ivo Calam-Daykin Beatrix Cookson Louisa Holliday Lucius Holt-Stott Keira Hope Ned Hutt April Jackson Theodore Kerr Poppy Lamb Renée Lowther Mollie Mashiter Alice Millington Daniel McCallum Corran Morison Connie Morton Jacob Raven Theo Smith Sage Soper


Hunter Hall School Frenchfield, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 8UA Office 01768 891291 | Email office@hunterhall.cumbria.sch.uk www.hunterhall.co.uk

Profile for Hunter-Hall-School

Annual Review 2019-2020  

Annual Review 2019-2020  

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded