Page 1

the

Review

Pam Turner (left) and Ken Muller admire the Embrace Award painting with Rotorua Community Hospice CEO Tracey Watters. Photo courtesy of: Rotorua Daily Post

April 2009

Embracing Hospice House of Travel Rotorua is the 2009 winner of the Hospice Embrace Award – and received their accolade at their national conference, in front of all 1200 HOT staff, at the end of March. HOT Rotorua received the Award for being outstanding advocates for hospice and for integrating hospice into every part of their business. They were nominated by their partnered hospice CEO – Tracey Watters from Rotorua Community Hospice.

you all show for your hospice means so much to us and every one of the 13,000 people and their families we care for each year,” said Mary Schumacher, in her address to the conference.

“This year – as in previous years we had some very strong nominations for the Embrace Award. All demonstrate just how strongly hospice is integrated in everything you do – and let’s not underestimate how hard that must be considering how busy you are…

“Thanks to all our accomplishments during the past three years hospice is becoming more widely understood – people are talking about us and that is largely thanks to your knowledge of hospice and your willingness to talk about it to the wide range of people you deal with in your work. What an amazing gift – thank you.”

“We are looking forward to two more years of working with the House of Travel team throughout the country. The passion, energy and enthusiasm

The award is a specially made piece of art created by a day unit group at a hospice – it varies from year to year depending on the creators. (continued on p.2)

In This Issue: Embracing Hospice.............1 Q&A with Mary....................2 Otago Hospice......................3 Working Together...............4 Regional Engagement: Asia Pacific Hospice Palliative Care Network...6 Palliative Care Council Update......................................8 Around & About................10 Diary Dates............................11


Kia Ora Welcome to this first edition of The Review for 2009. For this edition we have focused on the collaborative nature of our work. From our collaboration with the community in a fundraising sense to our work with groups such as the Palliative Care Council and internationally through our relationships with Palliative Care Australia. I do hope you enjoy these articles. Mary Schumacher Chief Executive

April 2009

A new regular feature we are introducing is Q & A – each edition we will ask someone in the hospice family a series of questions. This edition I myself volunteered for the task!

Q: How did you become involved with hospice?

Q: Do you have a goal for this week? This year?

A: I joined Hospice New Zealand three years ago after moving from the role of Chief Executive at Mary Potter Hospice – a role I held for 10 years. Prior to that I was in a management role with a community organisation that provides rest home and private hospital services for older people.

A: Our main goal this year is to continue to listen to our members and provide hospices with projects of value – to meet our commitments in our strategic plan.

Q: What are you working on currently? A: My focus at the moment is the ongoing work with the Ministry of Health and new National Government around the increased funding allocation for hospices promised prior to the 2008 election. This is an incredibly exciting project and will make a real difference to all our members, an excellent result to some very hard lobbying in 2008.

‘Embracing Hospice’ – continued from cover page

House of Travel Rotorua received a painting entitled The Tree of Life, which was put together by the day hospice patients at Hospice Southland in Invercargill. “Many hours and discussion went into the piece,” says Mary Schumacher. “The group chose the Tree of Life because this is what life is about for them. While this tree is a fine upstanding specimen we acknowledge that along the way each of us weathers storms, the odd broken branch, and for the group the potential to topple at any moment.

Page 2 | April 09

Q: What is the one thing that would make a difference to your work? A: Like all our members – funding. With increased secure income we would be able to put into place the many projects we have in our long term plans, which would really make a difference to patients and their families.

Q: Where are you likely to be found after work? A: Depending on the Wellington weather – taking a walk around beautiful Oriental Bay or enjoying one of Courtenay Place’s many wonderful restaurants.

“The words on the painting are what hospice represents to them. The list could have been longer but these were the most important. The group hopes that when HOT Rotorua look at the painting, they too will embrace life just like this tree, weathering the storms with memories, hope and understanding.”


Working with the Community

Otago Community Hospice The Otago Community Hospice was $300,000 short of funds and services looked like being cut – until the Otago Daily Times and its local community came to the rescue. Ginny Green is CEO of the Otago Community Hospice – and a very grateful member of a local community that is passionate about the services provided by her organisation. Just how much they appreciated the Hospice became apparent late last year. Earlier in 2008, when the Hospice began its financial planning for the year ahead, the budget was showing a $300,000 deficit. This was on top of a $200,000 loss from the previous year. Patient volumes had skyrocketed – the Hospice was funded for 260 programmes of care but was providing between 350 and 400 a year. “We were in negotiations with the local district health board,” explains Ginny, “but like most DHBs they weren’t in a position to give us any significant funding boost. So we had to decide how to save that money.” “The Board charged me with coming up with a breakeven budget. This meant closing four beds and the day hospice, and not proceeding with implementation of the Liverpool Care Pathway.”

“It was clear that we had to have different targets – we needed to be collecting ‘new’ money or we would face the same situation at the year end.” “So in the campaign we made it clear that we already had huge community support – and that what we were holding out for was new Government funding. When the National Government pledged additional funding we felt better, knowing that we need the extra just to cover a fixed period of time.” With that in mind, Ginny got together with a working group made up of her fundraiser Lyn Chapman and senior ODT staff (Murray, managing director Julian Smith and sales manager Paul Dwyer) – and set about coming up with a list of business people who they knew didn’t already support hospice. The ODT kicked things off with a $20,000 donation – and a launch story on the front page of the paper’s biggest selling edition of the week, Saturday.

“Then we began writing letters and Dunedin is … fiercely proud of shoulder tapping people,” says Ginny. “The newspaper committed to giving us its local assets and the hospice editorial space each week on page 2 – is regarded in this light. running stories about patients, volunteers, our business partners – some of which they put in the community papers as well.”

The proposed drop in service became public quite quickly – and local granting bodies approached the Hospice, keen to help out. “We ended up securing $195,000 from them,” says Ginny, “which meant the beds didn’t need to be closed.” But still $100,000 short, the day hospice was in doubt, two people looked like losing their jobs and the Liverpool Care Pathway was still on hold. Which was when the local paper came to the rescue. “We were approached by the Otago Daily Times,” explains Ginny, “who wanted to run a fundraising campaign for us to help secure those services for the upcoming financial year.” Murray Kirkness, editor of the ODT, says the paper had carried a number of stories about the funding issues for the Hospice and called to offer support and ask how they could help. “We decided we would make a donation and challenge other businesses to do the same.” This was a wonderful offer – particularly as the Hospice team felt they needed to be very careful about how they went about such a campaign. “The local community already contribute in excess of $1.2 million each year to the hospice,” explains Ginny. “So we felt we might just delay the problems by asking for more now.

“It was a very slow start, three months before last Christmas with the economy starting to tighten. But all of a sudden, the impetus gained momentum – the editorial on page 2 each week, with a barometer and profiles of people who gave more than $5000 (if they wished) really made a difference. It was incredible; everyone knew what we were doing.” By the 22 December, the campaign had raised $350,000. Dunedin is, Ginny says, fiercely proud of its local assets and the hospice is regarded in this light. There are a lot of communities, many of whom got into the swing of thing with golf and bowls tournaments. Ginny says she never had so many speaking engagements in her life before! “In addition to the immediate assistance, the other upside is that we’ve now got a whole group of new people on our database as hospice supporters – so we hope the additional support will be ongoing.” Even where there were overlaps with existing donors, this was regarded as a special campaign. Ginny cites one couple who regularly give independently to hospice – who on receipt of a legacy, sent her a cheque for an additional $10,000. The ODT are “chuffed” says Murray that the campaign was such a success – and that the hospice has been able to reopen the day service. “We’re the last independently owned metropolitan paper in

Page 3 | April 09


“It was a very slow start, three months before last Christmas with the economy starting to tighten. But all of a sudden, the impetus gained momentum…” the country and our owners live and work in this community every

keep coming back so it is important to work out what it is that

day – and so they are very aware of the need for these services.”

motivates them. This also provides a prescription for new donors.”

The target group was business houses – but the response came from businesses, individuals and service groups. “It seemed that all of a sudden the hospice became the charity of choice. And the impetus has carried on – we’re still having people contact us, wanting to do things for us,” says Ginny. They are not taking anything for granted. “We are riding on top of crest of a wave but we’re not sitting back on our laurels,” says Ginny. “We’re working hard to get to know our donors better – this exercise made us realise that we don’t know much about them.” The 80/20 rule applies in charity as elsewhere, she says – so one of their goals for the next 12 months is to better understand the 20% who are donating 80% of the funds. “We need them to

Their first ‘regular’ mail out post the campaign was in February. “We were concerned that post Christmas and post the campaign we might have saturated the market – but not at all, it is right up there with last year. In actual fact our donated income this past quarter is well up still.” The impact of the current climate? “We have to be mindful of it, of course. We’re focusing on the shop at the moment because the economy is making it so popular. People are being a bit more prudent – and we have an exceptionally good second-hand shop and more people than ever are buying there. Last month we turned over $36,000, which is incredible. We normally do $22,000 a month. In times like this you need to focus on things like this and maximise the opportunity it offers.”

Specialists training generalists

Working Together Suzanne Brocx explains how her practice community is working together to share skills.

North Haven Hospice is located in Tikipunga, Whangarei, overlooking the tranquil Paranui Valley. While predominantly caring for people in their own homes, it also has a homely six bed inpatient facility for people who require more intensive care. North Haven in one of four hospices in Northland. Along with Far North Community Hospice, Hospice Bay of Islands and Kaipara Hospice, it serves the approximately 147,500 people who live in the region. Collaboration is a key feature in the way that North Haven Hospice works. As Medical Director Dr Warrick Jones says, “The demographics of Northland in the future will require more palliative care input from all health professionals. We are being proactive so that our workforce is ready for this. “As specialists in this area, we take our role very seriously – we work to empower generalists to improve the palliative care they provide. It’s a care partnership. Working together means the patient and their family

Page 4 | April 09

get the best care possible in the place of their choice.” Documentation regarding patient care has become more streamlined and transferable between Northland hospices with the introduction of PalCare (a web-based patient data management system) in all four hospices in 2006-2007. With Dr Jones being the Palliative Medical Specialist for all of the Northland hospices, this has meant easier, real time access for him and the nursing teams for advice regarding symptom management. Over 90% of all general practitioners and district nurses in Northland now access the same programme to enable more effective communication for collaborative palliative care. When patients travel to or from Northland, their complete patient records are able to be transferred (via PalCare) from one hospice to another, enhancing national collaboration as well. Presently North Haven Hospice holds three separate regional contracts in partnership with the Northland District Health Board.


Sam Boyd, Whangarei educator, in action.

Dr Warrick Jones was appointed Regional Palliative Care Medical Specialist in 2004. Based at North Haven Hospice, he holds clinics and home visits in each of the areas of the region on a monthly basis and is available to staff (both specialist and generalist) via telephone consults outside of these clinic times. He is Medical Director of North Haven Hospice and the medical team member of the Palliative Care Hospital Liaison Team.

attend the Care Assistants Programme so this is fantastic! Next year we will expand training further and build on this foundation.

These services have been the result of years of collaborative discussions among all providers involved with palliative care within the region.

Working together we have been able to develop a service that will work for both parties – it is a win-win.

The Generalist Palliative Care Education Service commenced in October 2008 with a view to ‘adding value’ to the palliative care knowledge of generalist providers within the region. I co-ordinate the service and deliver education within the mid-north area. Sam Boyd delivers education within the Whangarei and Kaipara areas; and Gail Gillespie in the Far North. We’re all experienced hospice nurses and have practised within the area where we now teach. This enhances the specialist/generalist linkages within each area.

This is the latest in North Haven’s collaborative ventures is the Palliative Care Hospital Liaison Team. The Palliative Care Hospital Liaison Team began at Whangarei Hospital at the end of March. The model is one of an external agency, North Haven Hospice, working within and with the current services of the NDHB to integrate palliative care and services with the secondary care model. The team accepts referrals for palliative care wherever the person is from in Northland, offers assessment and advice regarding symptom issues for these patients and families, and is involved in discharge planning. The team also works alongside the district health board staff to enhance their generalist palliative care skills.

It’s been like opening Pandora’s Box, there is so much potential. At the moment we are trying to cement good foundations to build on in the future. This involves getting systems and standardised trainings organised. Our goal this year is to increase the uptake of the Hospice New Zealand endorsed Care Assistants Programme and the Syringe Driver Training. So far we have had requests for over 200 to

Initially the team comprises a 1.0 FTE nursing position and 0.5 FTE medical, working Monday to Friday. Afterhours support and advice is accessed through North Haven Hospice, as is current practice. Initially the PCHLT is concentrating its efforts on general medical and surgical wards, and will expand further when the full scope of needs are reassessed and funding becomes available.

Page 5 | April 09

The Northland Palliative Care Strategic Action Plan 2006-2011 (Northland District Health Board, 2006) was the culmination of over a decade of discussion and planning. The strong relationships that each of the hospices have with each other ensures that Northland palliative care has a collective specialist voice and direction with the District Health Board. As the General Manager of North Haven Hospice Helen Blaxland says, “Funding, of course, will always be an ongoing issue for the development of services but the District Health Board has acknowledged that our specialist teams in Northland can make a difference to the practice of generalists. Working together we have been able to develop a service that will work for both parties – it is a winwin. This flows on to our communities as well as they see these services enhancing the care that they receive. This is what it is all about: working together for a common goal – our patients and their families/whanau.”


Regional Engagement Excellent programmes occurring in the region include the following: • Under the direction of Dr Ednin Hamzah (a very active APHN Council member), Hospis Malaysia in KL has developed a fine education programme attended from all over Malaysia. The seminars and workshops include a ‘foundation’ module, symptom management, communication skills, grief and bereavement, and self care. The programme has an excellent reputation in the region. The courses are facilitated by an international faculty from Singapore, Australia, and New Zealand, as well as Malaysia. • In 2008 the Hospice Foundation of Taiwan conducted a two week programme in Mandarin with doctors and nurses from Taiwan and mainland China. This was an APHN/ HFT project. • The APHN Diploma/ Graduate Certificate in Palliative Care is the result of collaboration between Flinders University and the Dept of Palliative Medicine, National Cancer Centre Singapore, in association with the Lien Centre for Palliative Care and the APHN. This is a one year distance learning programme with two two-week classroom intensives in Singapore and a four week clinical attachment in Singapore or the Asia Pacific region. Fellowships and scholarships are available for candidates from developing countries. • The SIF/APHN Training-of-Trainers project is in collaboration with Singapore International Foundation. Twice a year for three years, a team of five doctors and nurses travels from Singapore to Cho Ray hospital in Ho Chi Minh City and another team travels to the National Cancer Hospital in Hanoi to teach for five days. Both hospitals have established palliative care units. In 2007 a doctor from Ho Chi Minh and three from Hanoi were able to spend three months clinical attachment in Singapore.

Sharing experiences of palliative care and collaborating across regional boundaries is the focus of the Asia Pacific Hospice Palliative Care Network, writes Susan Marsden, NZ’s representative on the Council. The Asia Pacific Hospice Palliative Care Network (or APHN) is the realisation of the vision of Dr Shigeaki Hinohara, Chairman of the Life Planning Centre in Tokyo. Ten years ago, he invited delegates involved in palliative care programmes from eight countries to share their experiences and concerns for the future at a forum. The APHN evolved over a series of meetings, with Dr Rosalie Shaw appointed as Executive Director in 1999. The inaugural AGM was held in Taipei on 1 May 2001, with Professor Tetsuo Kashiwagi appointed as chairman and Dr Hinohara as patron. The Secretariat was established in Singapore that year and there were 14 founding sectors (a geographical region rather than a country, to appease certain political sensitivities: Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. Since then 1000 members from 29 countries have registered with APHN, whose aims are to: • Facilitate the development of hospice and palliative care programs. • Promote professional and public education in the region • Enhance communication and dissemination of information • Foster research and collaborative studies • Encourage co-operation with local, regional and international professional and public organisations.

Page 6 | April 09

The membership of APHN continues to increase, indicating the growth of hospice/palliative care in the region – where many services being encouraged and facilitated in their establishment by Dr Shaw (whose work in the region was legendary) and the members of APHN. Emerging interest in paediatric palliative care has resulted in the establishment of a hospice for children with HIV/AIDS and cancer in Jakarta which has brought together APHN members as planning proceeded. Consultancy has been provided by APHN members from Singapore, Indonesia and China. The APHN website, www.aphn.org, is an important source of networking and information. There is a lovely story of a woman living in London who contacted APHN for advice for her sick mother living in Sarawak. She was put in contact with services in Kuching – and in return, offered accommodation to any nurse or doctor spending time training at St Christopher’s, near where she lives. Professional education has been a very important part of APHN activity, with Dr Shaw and professionals from the region assisting at courses, conferences and bedside teaching. Dr Shaw – who recently resigned – has undertaken more than 20 visits a year to countries including India, Thailand, Malaysia, Mongolia, Indonesia, China, Philippines and Vietnam. My own involvement in the Asia Pacific region has been one of the most fulfilling and educational parts of my palliative medicine career.


“My own involvement in the Asia Pacific region has been one of the most fulfilling and educational parts of my palliative medicine career.” –Dr Rosalie Shaw

Dr Mary Cardoza from Kuala Lumpur teaching at a seminar.

I was invited to be part of the faculty for the Hospis Malaysia programme. Teaching in such a different and diverse cultural environment has been a great experience. Working with the Hospis Malaysia team and being privileged to do home visits with them is inspiring. The standard of service and teaching that Dr Ednin Hamzah and his team have developed is formidable and I believe that this will continue to develop as one of the focuses of education in the region. I was also asked to present at the Indian palliative care conference in Kochi last year and was invited to be part of the faculty for a palliative care refresher course in Trivandrum. This was organized by Dr M R Rajagopal, whose work in developing palliative care in Kerala is legendary. While living in Australia for six years I was part of a consultative team (with Larri Hayhurst, nurse educator from Sydney and Liese Groot-Alberts, psychotherapist from Auckland) helping the San Lazaro Infectious Diseases Hospital in Manila in the Philippines develop a palliative care programme. This project was initially independent of APHN what is now called the Starfish Program is now a member of APHN and was involved

in the organisation of the last APHN Conference in Manila in 2007. We visited San Lazaro 3-4 times a year over the six year period and formed close friendships and found the project an amazing mutual learning experience. At first we thought we would be working mainly with HIV/ AIDS patients but quickly got involved with dying rabies, tuberculosis and tetanus patients to name a few. A steep learning curve for me with an oncology background – but that’s another story! My involvement with APHN and working in the region has been enriching both personally and professionally. I would encourage as many as possible to become involved and join APHN. This can be easily be achieved by visiting APHN website. Following Dr Shaw’s resignation, the direction that APHN takes from now will depend to some extent on the recent move of the Secretariat to Korea. There is certainly a growing interest, especially in New Zealand, for APHN to become more active in the Pacific Island nations to encourage the development of appropriate services and programmes. This is certainly a direction that I hope APHN will take.

Page 7 | April 09

A team building exercise in India.


Cancer Control Council

To contact the PCC please e-mail wayne_naylor@cancercontrolcouncil.govt.nz

Fostering Collaboration Wayne Naylor explains the role of the Cancer Control Council – and the newly established Palliative Care Council.

The Cancer Control Council of New Zealand (CCC) was established by the Minister of Health in 2005 to provide independent advice to the Minister and the cancer community, to monitor and review implementation of the Cancer Control Strategy, and to foster collaboration across the cancer sector. The Council takes a strategic overview of all groups working in cancer control, including the Ministry of Health, Regional Cancer Networks and NonGovernment Organisations (NGOs). The Council has produced a number of reports, which are available from the resources section of our website www.cancercontrolcouncil.govt.nz. Monitoring and review form part of the Council’s ongoing work, however we are looking at new ways of undertaking monitoring to focus on outcomes. In addition, the CCC is working on a project, which will include a stakeholder survey, to inform the next Cancer Control Strategy Action Plan. We are also undertaking the first ever national survey, in collaboration with the Regional Cancer Centres, looking at the experiences of people receiving outpatient cancer care. Another project is investigating how the New Zealand health sector identifies, plans and prepares for new innovations in cancer control. This work has included interviews with a wide variety of groups including clinicians, regulatory and funding bodies, NGOs, and pharmaceutical companies. The CCC has also brought together a Research Advisory Group to begin work on establishing a national strategic approach to cancer control research. A significant recent development for the Council has been the establishment of the Palliative Care Council of New Zealand (PCC). Like the CCC, the Palliative Care Council will be taking a strategic overview of all groups working in palliative care. This will involve providing independent advice to the Minster of Health and undertaking monitoring and review of the Palliative Care Strategy implementation. In addition, the PCC will foster collaboration and co-operation within the sector, engage with consumers, encourage and support best practice and palliative care research, and establish links with overseas palliative care agencies. Members of the Palliative Care Council have been nominated by the palliative care sector as their representatives. Four positions are nominated by key palliative care organisations, namely: The New Zealand Branch of the Australian and New Zealand Page 8 | April 09

Society of Palliative Medicine, Hospice New Zealand, Hospital Palliative Care New Zealand and Palliative Care Nurses New Zealand. A further two members are nominated by The Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners and the Nursing Council of New Zealand. In addition, one Council Member has been invited to represent a Māori perspective, and one Member is a consumer representative. These council members comprise both clinicians and managers, and bring a broad coverage of the sector to the table, including hospital, hospice, primary healthcare, residential aged care, paediatrics and rural. The members of the first Palliative Care Council are: • Dr Kate Grundy, Palliative Medicine Physician and Clinical Director, Christchurch Hospital Palliative Care Service; representing HPCNZ (Chair) • Dr Carol McAllum, Palliative Medicine Specialist, Hawke’s Bay Hospital Palliative Care Team and Cranford Hospice; representing ANZSPM. • Karyn Bycroft, Nurse Specialist Paediatric Care, Starship Children’s Hospital; representing Palliative Care Nurses New Zealand, paediatric palliative care and nurses. • Mary Schumacher, CEO Hospice New Zealand; representing HNZ. • Dr David Wilson, General Practitioner, Mercury Bay Med Centre, Whitianga; nominated by the RNZCGP to represent general practice and the rural sector. • Kate Gibb, Nurse Manager, George Manning House, Christchurch; nominated by the Nursing Council to represent nurses and the aged care sector. • Ranei Wineera, CEO Tumai mo te Iwi PHO, Porirua; representing PHOs, Māori and consumers. • Bob Fox, Wellington, consumer representative. Key projects that will be undertaken by the PCC during 2009 include developing a monitoring and evaluation framework for the Palliative Care Strategy using outcomes based performance measures, reviewing palliative care service provision in relation to equity of access, and raising provider and public awareness of palliative care and available services. All activities of the PCC are overseen by the Cancer Control Council’s Craig Tamblyn, General Manager, with support for the Council’s work is provided by myself, Wayne Naylor, Senior Analyst.


Theory & Practice Saskia Booiman, responsible for palliative care at the Ministry of Health, explains how the organisation is working to interface with the palliative care community. There are two key ways the Ministry is working with the community, which of course is a critical collaboration. Dr Simon Allan was recently appointed as Senior Clinical Advisor for Palliative Care – and having Simon at the Ministry one day a week is a really important link for us. His role is about leadership and because he comes in as an objective outsider he is great to bounce ideas off. He’s helping to identify how local communities come up with solutions to address patient needs and to provide advice within the Ministry. The advice covers the perspective of clinical based care and ranges from paediatric palliative care to palliative care in older people. Simon is Director of Palliative Care at Arohanui Hospice and also works as a Medical Oncologist at Palmerston North

hospital, so he has a very broad perspective across different patient interfaces. He’s also worked closely with Hospice New Zealand and has a strategic vision for palliative care. He is passionate about the relationship between all aspects of Specialist/Generalist palliative care interaction to produce an integrated model of care. In addition to this, we’re always working closely with our advisory group, the New Zealand Palliative Care Working Party. This has wide representation across a range of clinical and non clinical groups – nurses, doctors, consumer representative, covering the different people patients interact with across the sector. So they’re able to provide a view across all facets of palliative care – and everything we do is in consultation with them and they indicate our priority work areas.

With the Working Party we’ve recently had a visioning workshop to set out the priorities for the next one to three years. Within this we are considering how to increase the focus on palliative care for non-malignant patients amongst other priorities. The other key piece of current work is a gap analysis against service specifications for specialist palliative care – the information on this is now coming in so we’re analysing what is being delivered against what is specified. This is very exciting as it will provide a national overview of what is happening in terms of specialist palliative care service delivery.

New Zealand Palliative Care Working Party Members List Name

Organisation

Representing

Anne O’Callaghan

Clinical Director Palliative Care Team Auckland DHB Director, Cranford Hospice

HPCNZ

PCNNZ

Jan Clark

Nurse Practitioner Palliative Care Auckland DHB Consumer Representative

Jane Vella-Brincat

Pharmacist, Canterbury DHB

Chair, PC Medications Group

Jonathan Adler

Chair, Specialist Palliative Care Service Specifications group Education / South Island

Mary Schumacher

Clinical Director Palliative Care Service Capital and Coast DHB Director Hospice Palliative Care Education Christchurch CEO, Hospice NZ

Peter Woolford

GP, New Lynn Medical Centre

College of GPs / Primary Care

Ria Earp

CEO, Mary Potter Hospice

Māori

Ross Drake

Paediatric Palliative Care Team, Starship – Auckland DHB Practice Development Advisor, Hospice NZ

Paediatric Palliative Care Society

Barry Keane Jackie Robinson

Kate Reid

Teresa Read Trish Palmer

Community PC and LCP

Users/ Cancer Voices

Hospice NZ

Hospice NZ Aged Care representative

Warrick Jones

North Haven Hospice

Chair, Palliative Care Data Group

Willie Landman

Clinical Head Palliative Care Middlemore (Counties Manukau DHB)

ANZSPM

Page 9 | April 09


Around & About Pat Curry is the new CEO of Nelson Region Hospice Trust. Pat is a registered nurse who moved into health management in the 1990s. In 1999 she switched to Disability Support Services, where she managed an all age Needs Assessment/Service Coordination Agency across the Nelson/Marlborough district, and then later became the Portfolio Manager for Older Persons’ Health for the region. Pat is also an auditor of aged residential care facilities, a role she continues in the meantime. She worked closely with Nelson Hospice when they were setting up the inpatient unit and home support services in the community, and took over the palliative care portfolio for the DHB Planning and Funding division at the end of last year. Following Bev Parkes’ resignation, she applied for the CEO role. “I’m really enjoying the move. I have felt very supported by palliative care colleagues. The Nelson Hospice team are amazing and have made me feel very welcome,” Pat says. “Relationships with the DHB remain very good and I am managing to maintain regular contact with the Planning and Funding team.”

New at Hospice Wanganui is Rangi Wills, who joined the board last May and became Chair when Dougal McIntosh retired in December. Rangi is a Wanganui City Councillor and has been involved in numerous community organisations. A former member of the local hospital board, he says his knowledge of funding “from the other side” will be a good reference point in the upcoming months, with the Board’s focus on ensuring continuity of funding. Rangi is on the Putiki Marae Committee and initially stepped onto

the Hospice board in place of another Putiki representative. An engineer by trade, his background is in strategic, business and operational planning.

There have been a few changes on the board at Hospice Waikato – with Richard Small back as Chair, taking over from Margaret Comer of Gallaghers. Richard, who was initially appointed as Chair three years ago, has been instrumental in helping the Hospice to undertake a significant redevelopment, supported by fundraising, which further reflects the collaborative nature of this issue of The Review. He will remain as Chair through to the completion of the development project, after Margaret Comer found herself involved in new company developments that demanded significant amounts of time. “Four years ago Hospice Waikato set out two major objectives: to raise its profile in the region and embark on a fundraising project to enable freehold ownership. Our goal was to consolidate the administration building, the Respite care centre, and Rainbow place, the child care and counselling services all on the one site,” says Richard. “In June 2006, an opportunity to purchase a motel/ conference centre with 8000m2 of grounds within Hamilton city spurred a fundraising launch to raise $7.5 million to enable purchase and re development. “A team of fundraisers comprising business people, high profile personalities, and Elizabeth Bang (our CEO) and myself set about the task. “The initial launch was set for 22nd March 2007 in Hamilton, and followed by similar launches in Te Awamutu, Cambridge, and Morrinsville, all lead by the respective Mayors of the area.

Page 10 | April 09

“The campaign was hugely supported by the Waikato Times. “All the local community Trusts ‘bought’ in on the project, as did many prominent businesses. The public support was superb. “The support that Livingstone Construction obtained from the building industry and associated contractors, with free labour, materials, and machinery was unbelievable, with nearly $1 million dollars saved from the estimated cost of constructing the three buildings on site. “The administration building, which includes the nurses’ base, the training/ conference centre, and counselling rooms, and the child care Rainbow Place, are completed and staffed. The respite care unit is due for completion by around July. “Hamilton based Gallagher Industries has naming rights for the total site, with the hospice to be known locally as the Gallagher Family Hospice. “The Lion Foundation has naming rights for the administration block; and the Perry foundation for the respite care unit. Rainbow place naming rights are currently being discussed. Many other prominent businesses and individual people have taken room naming rights. “There have been over 50 ‘events’ put on by businesses, clubs, groups, and individuals over the past two years. By the time it is completed we expect to have the project totally freehold. This will be a wonderful community asset for the future.”

Christian Robold joined Hospice Southland as medical director in the middle of March. Dr Robold, who has come to Invercargill from Hanover in Germany, is a palliative care specialist.


Thanks to our supporters National Partners:

Thanks to our supporters who have made donations in the past few months:

VMD Collier Charitable Trust

Thank you to all the individuals who make ongoing donations to support our work.

Diary Dates 7 - 11 June, 2009

24 - 27 September, 2009

27 April - 2 May, 2010

8 International Symposium on Paediatric Pain

Together! 2009

Program in Palliative Care Education and Practice

th

Acapulco, Mexico www.ispp2009mexico.com

Combining the 10th Australian Palliative Care Conference and the 8th Asia Pacific Hospice Conference. The theme is: ‘Cultural Connections for Quality Care at the End of Life’.

30 August - 2 September, 2009

Perth, WA, Australia

2090 International Conference on Ageing and Spirituality

www.conlog.com.au/palliativecare2009

Auckland, New Zealand www.selwyncare.org.nz/scas

6 - 7 November, 2009 Cuisle Beatha – International Palliative Medicine Conference

14 - 16 September, 2009

Galway, Ireland

Children’s Hospice International (CHI) 20th World Congress

www.cuislebeatha.ie

Cape Town, South Africa For more information email info@icpcn.co.za 

Page 11 | April 09

Harvard Medical School Centre for Palliative Care Cambridge Massachusetts www.hms.harvard.edu/cdi/pallcare


www.hospice.org.nz

Go online and find out how you can create and send your very own special moment to make someone smile.

Often little gestures and knowing that someone is thinking of you can make your day. This is your opportunity to make someone smile by emailing them a moment, created by you, just for them. You can send as many moments as you like, for free, the idea being that the people you have sent them to will send them to others and so on and so on – we want as many people as possible to experience how good sharing a simple moment can make those involved feel. By sending a moment or passing this link onto friends you will be helping others to understand the philosophy and heart of hospice, enabling people to live every moment.

Hospice is a philosophy of care not a building. Our goal is to support people to live every moment.


The Review - May 2009  

News and information about the hospice and palliative care sector in New Zealand

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you