Page 1

the

Review April 2014

Grief Group for Ma¯ ori to run again

In This Issue: Grief Group for Ma¯ ori to run again........ 1

A programme to address the needs of grieving Ma¯ori is set to run again this year after a successful trial in Porirua.

says. The intention was to “get an idea of what Ma¯ori understood about grieving and what they would find useful to help.”

The idea for a grief group just for Ma¯ori came in the carpark of Mary Potter Hospice in Newtown. Vanessa Eldridge, Ma¯ori Liaison for the hospice and two friends had just shared a patient story session with staff. One young woman had a husband who died in the service, and the other friend a newborn that died after a few short days.

Between four and eight people attended each session of the trial, which started in March last year and ran for seven weeks. The trial was evaluated against Mary Potter Hospice values and Ma¯ori kaupapa.

“We decided there was nothing out there for Ma¯ori, so let’s just do something,” Vanessa says. Using the elements of health co-design, they set up a trial for a Ma¯ori grief group in consultation with family of a former patient, and members of the Hospice’s psychosocial team. “Having talked to people around the country dealing with grief in these situations, we found there was nothing like this (for Ma¯ori),” Vanessa

Feedback showed differences in attitudes between Ma¯ori groups. For Ma¯ori, the concept of whanau assumes looking after ones own, she says. Grief support is built into traditional Ma¯ori social networks and customs. “Some Ma¯ori for various reasons don’t have access or exposure to those networks and customs. Some are less familiar with karakia and te reo. Most were comfortable being in a pakeha (hospice) setting.”

Continued on page 2

Message from Mary..... 2 Introducing Hospice New Zealand’s Clinical Advisors......................... 3 BNI Palliative Care Scholarships take two to Thailand.................... 4 Marlborough Masterchefs.................. 5 Hospice NZ Project Updates......................... 6 Our National Partners... 7 Palliative Care Lecture Series 2014.................... 7 Around and About ....... 8 Diary Dates.................... 9 Hospice – exploring the facts....................... 10


Kia Ora Welcome to this edition of The Review. The Review magazine showcases the people, projects and innovations that are having an impact in and on the hospice sector in New Zealand.

Mary Schumacher CEO Hospice NZ

the

This edition we have made some minor changes to the content of the magazine by adding an update on each of the projects that the Hospice NZ team are working on. We hope this will keep you well informed on the progress of our work in the areas of Standards, Education and Foundations of Spiritual Care. As new projects and priorities come up, we will keep you up to date on those too. Also added in this April edition is an update on our national partnerships and supporters. As I mentioned in the last edition, we are thrilled that all three of our national partnership with BNI, House of Travel and Craigs Investment Partners were renewed during 2013 and have given you a short update on some of the things we have been working on with these partners recently.

Review

Please feel free to circulate The Review to your contacts, colleagues and friends and to let us know of any feedback you have.

April 2014

We hope you enjoy the latest publication.

Mary Schumacher Chief Executive, Hospice NZ

Continued from page 1

Modern life also increasingly restricts the time some Ma¯ori have to benefit fully from grieving customs which may extend over many days. “So, for some, though they may want to do the right thing for the dying, they lack support, sufficient leave, or understanding employers to allow that to happen. There’s often a distance to travel and the need to get back to work.” Hospice New Zealand’s Foundations of Spiritual Care programme, which Vanessa consulted on, addresses Ma¯ori beliefs, but it’s unrealistic to expect to understand such a complex and diverse culture in a short space of time. “We had to ask ourselves, ’what can be accomplished in two hours’?” The focus became karakia and interconnectedness (atua, whanau, waka, iwi, maunga, awa, ancestors). Beyond that, she encourages hospices to build contacts with local iwi to gain an understanding of local customs, which can vary greatly and are all correct in their specific geographical area and setting.

visitors may clap for the singing they’ve heard from outside a room. It may be well meant, but it’s not appropriate. “Just having a guitar around in a hospice for these occasions or knowing someone who is available to play it for families would be a simple way for hospices to provide support at this time.” The group plans to “tweak” elements of the trial before it runs again this September in Kapiti and Porirua. “Ensuring patients and whanau get the care how and where they need is vital – if they’re comfortable at a marae then that’s where we’ll be”.

A good example of how ignorance of a culture can easily lead to misunderstanding is when Ma¯ori gather to sing to a dying relative in a hospice. “At death, Ma¯ori are caring for the spirit as it faces the challenge of passing from this world.” Ma¯ori sing to remind the spirit it is still being cared for. “Some appreciative Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, images used in this publication are not related to people/person’s mentioned in the articles. They are purchased from a Photo Library with full model releases from all involved.

Page 2 | April 2014


Introducing Hospice New Zealand’s Clinical Advisors The appointment of two clinical specialists to the Hospice New Zealand Board brings vital practical knowledge to the organisation, says Hospice New Zealand Chairman Wilf Marley. THE REVIEW meets Dr Brian Ensor, Director of Palliative Care at Mary Potter Hospice and Dr Michal Boyd, a Nurse Practitioner at Waitemata District Health Board and lecturer. Dr Ensor began his medical career in general practice, moving to Wellington from Auckland for his wife’s work. His introduction to palliative care came about almost by accident, when in the early 1990s he came across a report about Te Omanga Hospice, Lower Hutt, and volunteered to do some doctor time there. “I felt quite at home in the team environment they had there. Te Omanga was a very nurturing place to launch a career in palliative care,” he says. He became visiting medical officer at Te Omanga then moved back to his hometown to work for seven years as Medical Director at North Shore Hospice. In 2004, he was back in Wellington, this time with a family in tow, to join Mary Potter Hospice, where he has worked ever since. Much has changed in the palliative care sector since he joined it. “When palliative care was first starting, it felt like you were at the cutting edge of something new.” Twenty years later, palliative care is firmly established in the medical landscape. “What we’re doing now is trying to find how we fit in with other areas of medicine,” he says. “I subscribe to the philosophy that we may well do ourselves out of a job as other disciplines, such as general practice and oncology, increasingly meet the needs of palliative care. Although that could be just wishful thinking!” Hospice New Zealand Chairman, Wilf Marley cites both Dr Ensor’s clinical experience in hospices and in education as reasons for his invitation to join the board. “Dr Ensor has significant experience as a hospice palliative care specialist, as opposed to a hospital specialist, which will be very useful for us,” Mr Marley says. “He’s also a senior lecturer at Otago University School of Medicine and we have a need of good contacts within education.” In many ways, Dr Ensor says, education is the key to how the delivery of palliative care will develop. “It’s vital in bringing about the changes necessary for palliative care in the rapidly aging population”.

Dr Michal Boyd started her nursing career in the early 1990s in Colorado, United States, where she developed a coordinated care programme, before becoming a nurse practitioner and joining the state university. Her move to New Zealand in 2002 came, in part, because she was keen to work in a universal health care system outside the United States, where health care at the time was “not fully functioning”. However, she also saw an opportunity to be involved in the early days of Nurse Practitioner development, as was the case in New Zealand at the time. She came with the aim of staying a few years. “And, well, I’m still here”. Her expertise is in older people’s care in the community and in aged care facilities, although there are many areas of the discipline that cross over with palliative care, she says. “Hospice New Zealand is looking to increasingly support the aged care sector, so Dr Boyd’s vast experience in aged care nursing is will help considerably in our aim to widen the provision of care.” says Mr Marley. “As we all know, the projections for the numbers in aged care and the acuity and complexity issues are alarming. In 10 years’ time there will be a huge increase in need and in number of deaths. So, Dr Boyd will be a great help in guiding us in this area.” Michal says her appointment left her feeling “very humbled… there are some fantastic people on that board”. But she has no doubt about what her role will be and the challenges ahead, “I hope I can add to the discussion about older adult palliative care and residential aged care,” she says. “One of the big questions we are looking at is how to support the needs and multiple deaths in residential care. It’s very difficult to predict when patients with non-malignant disease or dementia will die. The question is how to build a model of palliative care that addresses that. Continued on page 5

Page 3 | April 2014


BNI Palliative Care Scholarships take two to Thailand In October 2013, BNI Palliative Care Scholarships supported two hospice staff members travel to the Asia Pacific Hospice Conference in Thailand. The Review catches up with music therapist Keryn Squires and nurse Denise van Aalst about their experiences. Otago Community Hospice nurse, Denise van Aalst, loves to study. So much so, she spent the last four years doing a Master of Health Sciences (endorsed in Palliative Care) at Canterbury University while working seven days a fortnight at the hospice. (Denise was the first person to complete this new Palliative Care qualification). For her research, Denise asked patients and their families what made a hospice ‘great’. “It turned out that it is the people and what you could call ‘the little things’,“ she says. “The warm welcome you receive at hospice should be like you get when you walk into someone’s home. Being asked what you wanted for a meal.” Going to the 10th Asia Pacific Hospice Conference in Bangkok was as much about sharing her knowledge as learning, she says. “I knew I wanted to present, to disseminate as much information as I could there.” She’d worked at the hospice for four-and-a-half years before applying for the scholarship early in 2013, having decided on palliative care after working on an oncology ward. Her research sparked her interest in attending a conference, Denise says. The scholarship paid $1,500 towards the trip and colleagues helped to raise funds by selling wheat bags and cheese rolls. She took a poster presentation of her research, one of hundreds that featured at the conference. “It was the first professionally produced poster I had done so it was quite

challenging for me to make, and especially challenging transporting it.” The range of topics being discussed at the conference was huge. “It was great. One of them was about using sour candy to treat nausea following treatment.” At another talk, which she attended by accident, she was moved her to tears by the passion of the speakers. Lynna Chandra spoke about her work with Rachel House in Indonesia; Kate Jackson about the global news and information resource, ehospice.com; and Jaffa Chang from Taiwan about the importance of public engagement. “They were very inspiring about what they were doing.” Visiting Thai hospices was another highlight, she says. “We were lucky to have a private tour of four Bangkok hospices. There was a hospice for children with Aids, a hospital unit, a private hospice and a cross between a hospice and a rest home. “We take for granted the drugs and facilities we have in New Zealand. They don’t have much of either so they find other ways. They are also very passionate.” On her return, she presented her learnings to her colleagues, graduated and started thinking about her next study goals. “I’ve come back so motivated, full of energy and more positive than ever.” For Keryn Squires, Music Therapist at Te Omanga Hospice, the conference was an opportunity to broaden her advocacy

Page 4 | April 2014


Continued from page 4

of Music Therapy, present to her peers and see how Asian countries used music therapy. However, the travel itself turned out to have just as great an effect on her. She found that many attending the conference, particularly from Asian countries, didn’t know about music therapy as a discipline. “They use music (often to learn english), but not in a strictly therapeutic way. So there was a lot of interest in what I do.” Her broad interest in the arts drew her to forms other than music at the conference. “There was a beautiful display of needles threading tropical flowers into elaborate chains, like offerings. I did a workshop on it and have shown this off back here.”

Marlborough Masterchefs At Hospice Marlborough, volunteers have been preparing meals for people staying in the inpatient unit – bringing some smiles to meal times.

Travelling the country after the conference left a huge impression on her, she says. “The biggest impact on me actually was the Thai culture as a whole.” Buddhism appealed to her for its emphasis on everybody’s well being, which chimes with her view that “other people’s happiness is important. The feeling I got there was that everybody wanted me to be happy.” Back at Te Omanga, where she has worked since 2011 following a student placement, music remains firmly her focus for work. “It breaks down so many barriers.” Reflecting on her experiences, Keryn says they reinforced her belief that hospice staff need to understand their own spirituality before they can understand other people’s. The Thai influence has been a lasting one, she says. “I’d love to go back there and see some Thai hospices next time.” She’d also like to find some Thai music. “I do that everywhere I go, find the local music. But everywhere I went in Thailand it was all Western music!”

‘We’re on the campus of Wairau Hospital, which used to supply our meals. But the portions were too big really,” says Trish Holdaway, House Manager for Hospice Marlborough.

Note: The New Zealand Society for Music Therapy also assisted Keryn with funding towards this trip.

After three years of hospital food, Jan Hope, a former caterer who volunteers at the hospice, decided she could provide more appropriate meals for people staying in the inpatient facility. So, seven years ago, with friend Robyn Cuddon, she began preparing home-cooked comfort food in manageable portions. “It’s the sort of food that people would have enjoyed eating at home,” Trish says.

Continued from page 3

“For instance, some dementia patients have poor communication skills, making it hard to address palliative care needs. It becomes more about observation and the type of assessments that occur. Also, how do we integrate aged residential care with hospice care?” Dr Boyd has worked clinically as a Gerontology Nurse Practitioner at Waitemata DHB since 2004 and jointly as a senior lecturer at Auckland University’s School of Nursing and the Freemasons’ Department of Geriatric Medicine since 2008. Having set up Waitemata’s Residential Aged Care Integration Programme, she has stepped away from the clinical leadership side to focus more on clinical research. She now researches aged care through Auckland University. “Traditional hospice models of cancer care are great. But we’re all realising that there are unique palliative needs for older people with many co-morbidities.” Her continued research aims are the development and evaluation of innovative models of care for older people.

The plan is a simple one: the hospice pays for all ingredients and Jan and Robyn prepare, freeze and deliver the individual meals. Night staff at the hospice take inventories of the meals and put in orders for more as they need them. The menu hasn’t changed since the service started. “The meals go down very well with people. They’re delicious and presented well too,” Trish says. Some people have asked for recipes so their families can cook them at home. “There are plenty of soups and broths, chicken crepes with mushroom sauce, casseroles, and fish and cottage pies.“ For people with bigger appetites, the hospice supplements the programme with bought meals such as full roast dinners and puddings. Volunteers at the inpatient unit also prepare simple egg dishes, smoothies, toasties and sandwiches. The unpaid work that Robyn and Jan have done has also saved the hospice thousands of dollars. “That’s amazing in itself,” says Trish.

Page 5 | April 2014


Hospice NZ Project Updates

The Foundations of Spiritual Care programme was blessed and launched in October 2013. This programme targets foundation spiritual care training needs of NZ hospice teams (all staff and volunteers). Ultimately the aim is to improve the understanding and knowledge of spirituality and spiritual care with and for the wider hospice team. Thereby improving the spiritual wellbeing of their organisations and spiritual care for patients, families and whanau.

The programme is delivered in hospices by cultural and spiritual care advisors using a co-facilitation model. Programme facilitators from twenty six hospices have now taken part in study days throughout the country and have begun to integrate the programme into their organisations. Hospice NZ will gather feedback on the programme and evaluate outcomes for staff, organisations and patients, families and whanau.

Hospice New Zealand Standards of Palliative Care The design and publication of the national standards was completed April 2012. Hospices are now undertaking the quality review programme through two steps: self review; and peer review. Fifteen hospices completed the self review programme in 2013, six of these completed the peer review programme also. We have a team of seven peer mentors

now trained and available to support hospices via the peer review programme. Lastly, as part of the quality review programme, hospices advise us of the areas of improvement they are working on and we are building a national quality improvement plan of possible collaborative projects, for the hospice CEOs to consider.

Fundamentals of palliative care The design and publication of the aged care focused Fundamentals of Palliative Care was completed April 2012; hospices have been delivering this programme over the past two years. There is still a need to develop a generic education

tool, for all palliative care settings, starting with a review of the existing resource. Lastly, capture of more detailed and targeted evaluation data for future analysis and possible research will be through a new online reporting tool.

Page 6 | April 2014


Our National Partners Hospice New Zealand and our members enjoy the long standing support of our three national partners BNI, Craigs Investment Partners and House of Travel. Here we take a look at some of the great work that has been going on within these partnerships:

Craigs Investment Partners As Hospice NZ Education Partner, Craigs Investment Partners support has enabled the full revision and distribution of two essential training resources during 2013 – the Syringe Driver Competency Training Program (SD) and the Care Assistants Training (CA). Craigs Investment Partners staff contribute to hospice in a wide variety of ways such as volunteering on Hospice Boards and working with hospice staff across the country to raise money and awareness, through golf days, art exhibits, charity auctions and Street Appeals, Strawberry Festivals and Remembrance Trees. Looking to the future, Craigs Investment Partners have recently renewed their partnership with Hospice New Zealand and we look forward to continuing to build on this valued working relationship.

BNI and House of Travel Cambridge join together to help Hospice Waikato Late last year, House of Travel Cambridge and BNI Cambridge joined forces to hold a very successful raffle in support of Hospice Waikato. The raffle raised a grand total of $22,820. Funds went towards the much needed purchase of a Portable Ultra Sound Machine for Hospice Waikato. Having an ultrasound based at the hospice will allow medical staff to make diagnoses and undertake procedures previously only available at a hospital. The machine can also be transported to a person at home in the community or a residential aged care facility. One of the organisers of the raffle, Pieta Mace, President of BNI Cambridge and also the Retail Manager of House of Travel Cambridge says “without this raffle Hospice Waikato may not have been able to purchase this very important piece of technology”. BNI New Zealand Director Graham Southwell adds “We are really excited as not only is this an awesome result, it is also the first time we are aware of that two Hospice NZ National Partners have done something like this in a collaborative way.”

Palliative Care Lecture Series 2014 This education opportunity is designed for healthcare professionals with an interest in palliative care. This series is delivered free of charge via teleconference on the first Thursday of each month, from 7.30 – 8.30am, from February to December. You can access the lectures in two ways: Live You can access these lectures by attending any registered site across the country, including all hospices. Each site hosts the teleconference lecture with accompanying power point presentation. Live lectures include a Q&A session with the speaker and are endorsed by the Royal New College of General Practitioners. Website Post lecture access is available through the Hospice NZ website. Where presenters have given their permission, recordings of previous lectures are available on our website – see ‘previous lectures’ at the bottom of this page: www.hospice.org.nz/education-and-training/palliativecare-lecture-series

UPCOMING LECTURES 5 June 2014 Deaths and the need for palliative care in New Zealand: history and regional projections

Prof. Heather McLeod, Senior Analyst Palliative Care, Cancer Control New Zealand

3 July 2014 Chemotherapy agents for lung cancer and implications for palliative care

Page 7 | April 2014

Dr. Helen Winter, Medical Oncologist, MidCentral DHB, Palmerston North


Around and About This popular column allows the extended hospice family to get to know one another a little better. Each edition we select people in a range of roles and locations and ask them a set of questions about their work and them personally. Thank you to Andrew Leys, Hospice Southland and Leanne Thompson, Te Omanga Hospice for taking the time to share with us. Andrew Leys

Leanne Thompson

Chief Executive of Hospice Southland

Brief background to your professional career – and your current role with hospice, what led you here? I previously worked mainly in finance and accounting and was Chief Accountant for Countdown Foodmarkets in the early 1990’s then moved to work for a Credit Union in Christchurch before taking up a General Manager role with a Credit Union in Invercargill mid 1996. I helped merge 5 credit unions in 2007 and was appointed CEO of the merged group, based in Dunedin. I finished this role in January 2014 and have moved back to Invercargill to take on my current role with Hospice Southland.

Current challenges facing your hospice service? Attracting an additional Doctor to the medical team is the current challenge and then getting to grips with the uncertainty of such a large part of our income stream each year.

Highlight of the past six months/twelve months for hospice/your role with hospice? Interviewing candidates for the Hospice Shop Managers role in my first week and hearing from each of their appreciation for what Hospice has done to help their loved ones over the years. In particular the story from one applicant who was the primary caregiver for her mother who was currently in Hospice care, and hearing how positive and invigorated her mother felt every time she visited our premises – “she walks out a foot taller than she walks in”. Hearing first-hand how we make a difference is truly inspiring and I hope I can inspire others with such stories.

What do you do to relax? Watch movies, walk up a quiet stream with a rod in my hand or cook a meal for my wife.

What would we always find in your fridge? Capers, blue cheese and Pinot Gris (not necessarily consumed together).

Fundraising & Marketing Manager, Te Omanga Hospice, Lower Hutt

Brief background to your professional career – and your current role with hospice, what led you here? My early passion was for advertising and marketing, and I worked in various advertising agencies, specialising in TV and radio production, as well as copywriting. I’ve worked in both Auckland and Wellington in the events industry as well as in roles where brand management was my focus. My first sponsorship role was as Funds Development Manager at Te Papa, and following that I moved to the Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind as Regional Fundraising Manager. From there I worked for close to 4.5 years with The Wellington City Mission as their Marketing Manager. Last year, I was approached by a very reputable recruitment agency about the role of Fundraising & Marketing Manager at Te Omanga Hospice. Once I heard about the role, I knew I wanted to be part of the hospice I had thought so much about since moving to Wellington in 2001. I am delighted to say we soon realised we had a common focus for the future development of the fundraising, marketing and communication functions at Te Omanga, and I started on Monday 14 October 2014.

Current challenges facing your hospice service? Our main challenge at the moment is our building, which has been designated earthquake prone. This has given us the opportunity to collaborate with staff about what a fitfor-for purpose facility might look like. A decision around strengthening or rebuilding will be made at the end of this year. We have recently been audited, and were delighted to be commended for being able to continue to deliver quality services whilst 40% of our building was out of action due to hazard remediation work. I am sure any hospice service would also tell you that it’s not easy raising funds. We aim beyond our targets, but it can be challenging. Te Omanga is currently looking at generating more income through the development of our retail, events, bequest and corporate sponsorship programmes. It’s an exciting time for us.

Page 8 | April 2014


Diary Dates Highlight of the past six months/twelve months for hospice/your role with hospice

What would we always find in your fridge? To be honest, there is usually a chilled bottle of wine. You’d also always find sparkling water, pecorino cheese, loads of fresh vegetables and my latest delight is Sabato’s Caper Bruschetta! Yum.

Locally – many member hospices choose to hold a number of fundraising activities during this week. You can find out more about what your local hospice has planned by contacting them directly – http://www.hospice.org.nz/ find-your-local-hospice-service Nationally Hospice NZ focuses on working with our national partners and networks to tell the hospice story, to get our key messages out into the community. The goal is to ensure everyone is aware of hospice and understand the services provided in case they or someone they care about could benefit from accessing support as they approach the end of their lives. National Volunteer Week 15-21 June 2014 – Te Wiki Tu¯ ao a Motu National Volunteer Week is co-ordinated annually by Volunteering New Zealand. Celebrations and events are held across the country to recognise the invaluable contribution made by volunteers in Aotearoa. For more information, resources and to see how you can be involved, visit Volunteering New Zealand’s website: http://www.volunteeringnz.org.nz/2014/nationalvolunteer-week-online-kete-released/ IN ACH G OU T RE

21st Hospice New Zealand

Palliative Care Conference CO

T

I cook! I never enjoyed cooking until my fiancé showed me how creative cooking can be. Pierre Meyers and Ruth Pretty recipes are our favourites. I also enjoy gardening, and with nearly 50 rose plants, it’s a joy to have a house stuffed with gorgeous blooms as a reward for all the hard work. We also spend time in Europe whenever we can, and whilst some may see this as stressful, at the moment planning my wedding is an exciting addition to my personal life. It has been fun seeing the event develop, and we’ve surrounded ourselves with a wonderfully creative team of wedding day specialists.

This national week is about raising awareness of hospice services in the community – helping people to understand the ways in which hospice services provide care and support for people with a life limiting condition.

M

EN

What do you do to relax?

Hospice Awareness Week 11-18 May 2014

M

UN

M

Te Omanga is filled with love and generosity of spirit, and the positive impact we have on the community is clear. We’ve achieved a lot as a team since October 2013, and have a clear vision of the improvements and capacity building we need to introduce to build on the special place Te Omanga Hospice has in the Hutt Valley community. I’ve been deeply moved by the kindness and understanding of our supporters and particularly, our volunteer network which is ably managed by our fabulous Volunteers Services team. I am also extremely fortunate to have the support of my colleagues on the Executive Leadership Team. They are amazing.

IT Y E N G A G

E

29-31 October 2014 Wellington, New Zealand

21st Hospice NZ Palliative Care Conference 29-31 October 2014, Te Papa, Wellington, New Zealand Key dates: • Call for abstracts – open now – closing 23 May 2014 • Early bird registrations open – Friday 18 July. For further information on conference visit our website http://www.hospice.org.nz/conference-2014


Hospice – exploring the facts • Hospice is not just a building; it is a philosophy of care. The majority of people receiving support are cared for in their homes. • Our goal is to help people make the most of their lives; to live every moment in whatever way is important to them. • Hospices can provide care and support for anyone living with a life limiting condition – e.g. heart failure, motor neurone disease, MS or cancer. • We care for the whole person, not just their physical needs but also their emotional, spiritual, and social needs too. • We care for families and friends as well, both before and after a death. • Hospices are independent charitable organisations providing care and support completely free of charge to people using our services. • Whilst free to people using hospice services it costs a lot to provide, in 2014 it will cost just over $99M nationally. • As an essential health service provider, hospice services receive the majority of funding from Government; but financial support from the community is essential to meet the shortfall – in 2014 the total required from fundraising efforts is $42M nationally.

Page 10 | April 2014


Thanks

to our supporters

Thank you to all the individuals, companies and grant makers who have made donations to support our work. We really couldn’t do it without you!

National Partners:

Our supporters:

2013 Snapshot:

15,600 152,000 985,000

During 2013 the 29 hospice services throughout the country provided care and support for more than 15,600 people living with a life limiting condition.

Hospice is a philosophy of care, not a building – most people are cared for in the community – in 2013 hospice staff made more than 152,000 visits to people in their homes.

As an organisation we are firmly grounded in the community, with over 11,000 people volunteering over 985,000 hours of their time for hospice during 2013.

Hospice New Zealand Level 6, i-Centre, 50 Manners Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011 P O Box 6660, Marion Square, Wellington 6141 T: 04 381 0266

www.hospice.org.nz

The Review - April 2014  

The Review magazine showcases the people, projects and innovations that are having an impact in and on the hospice sector in New Zealand.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you