Page 1

the

Review August 2013

BNI New Zealand and Hospice New Zealand sign three-year partnership deal Organisations renew their long-standing relationship to mutually benefit the community

In This Issue: Message from Mary..... 2

Two years on – the Fundamentals of Palliative Care............... 3

Practitioner reflection –

AUCKLAND, Wednesday 17th July, 2013 – BNI (Business Network International) New Zealand and Hospice New Zealand have re-signed a partnership agreement that runs till 31 December 2015. The new agreement cements what has been an extremely successful seven year relationship. The longstanding partnership has two main goals. Firstly, to create a partnership between each hospice and BNI chapter throughout the country, involving fundraising and awareness activities. Secondly, at a national level to provide a professional development opportunity for all hospice staff through the BNI Palliative Care Scholarship Programme.

BNI first started working with Hospice in 2005 and has raised over $650,000 to date, with $130,000 raised by BNI groups nationally in 2012.

working alongside aged

According to Graham Southwell, National Director of BNI NZ, there is a perfect synergy between the two organisations by having shared common values. “BNI’s philosophy is about ‘giver’s gain’ and growing successful businesses within the community they operate in. Hospice is about supporting communities in which people live. Doing good, is good for business. Both of our organisations share values of people connecting with people and developing relationships based on trust,” says Southwell.

Music helps people to

Continued on page 5

care providers............... 6

open up at Cranford Hospice......................... 7

Regional roundup......... 8


Kia Ora Welcome to this edition of The Review. I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you a little about the people who work at Hospice New Zealand; We are a small team of seven – six based in Wellington, one based in Christchurch. The people who make up that team are:

Mary Schumacher – Chief Executive Mary Schumacher CEO Hospice NZ

Mary joined Hospice NZ in 2006 moving from the role of Chief Executive at Mary Potter Hospice – a role she held for 10 years. Mary holds a Masters in Social Work and previously managed community, rest home and private hospital services for older people.

Anne Morgan – Practice Advisor

the

Review August 2013

Anne joined the team at Hospice NZ in January 2011. Anne is an experienced palliative care nurse, with her most recent role being the Palliative Care Nurse Consultant with Christchurch Hospital Palliative Care team. Anne has a passion for education and the care of older people.

Maree Meehan-Berge – Project Manager In 2010, Maree Meehan-Berge was appointed to coordinate the HNZ education and standards projects. Maree has worked in various health settings for the past 25 years, and was the Clinical Manager of Mary Potter Hospice for three years and had been working on projects for the Ministry of Social Development prior to joining us.

Jo Rosenbrook – Community Relationships Advisor Jo joined the Hospice NZ team in September 2011 in a part time role that focuses on supporting our national partnerships. Jo previously worked for Mary Potter Hospice in bequest and grant fundraising and prior to this Jo worked for AMP in Sydney, managing the AMP Foundation’s internal communication and volunteer programme.

Rachel Wilson – Communications Advisor Rachel joined the team at Hospice NZ in 2004 after spending three years as a fundraiser with Mary Potter Hospice. Rachel has a Diploma in Business majoring in Marketing. Prior to joining hospice, Rachel spent two years as a fundraiser for the New Zealand Red Cross in the Otago Southland region. Rachel also works part time.

Rachael Crombie – Membership Projects Coordinator Rachael joined us in August 2009 from The Royal Foundation of the Blind, where she had spent several years in a role providing practical support around daily living and mobility to students and their families. Prior to this Rachael worked in education and physiotherapy roles. Rachael has a Bachelor of Physiotherapy and a Post Graduate Diploma in Rehabilitation.

Mandy Gill – Executive PA Mandy joined the Hospice NZ team in April 2013 as Executive Assistant to the CEO. Prior to joining Hospice NZ Mandy was living in Christchurch and worked as an Administrator for the Canterbury DHB. Mandy has a BA in Social Policy and Political Science from Victoria University and has a professional background in social policy work. Warm regards

Mary Schumacher Chief Executive, Hospice NZ

Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, images used in this publication are not related to people/person’s mentioned in the articles. They are purchased from a Photo Library with full model releases from all involved.

Page 2 | August 2013


Two years on –

the Fundamentals of Palliative Care Now in its second year, the Fundamentals of Palliative Care (FPC) programme is having a positive effect. But it has also yielded unexpected benefits – creating connections and relationships between hospice and aged care providers. Since the FPC programme was launched in October 2011, 29 hospices have delivered 7,000 courses to aged care facility staff. Launching the programme was an education in itself for those delivering the courses as well as for those attending courses. “When I started delivering the programme I found it quite difficult,” says Carol Matthews, clinical nurse educator at Waipuna Hospice in Tauranga. “Although it’s a really great package and very up to date, it was hard delivering something using someone else’s words. So, I wasn’t 100% sold on it. But as I’ve gone on, I’ve appreciated the work that has gone into it and the way it encompasses a philosophy.” Janine Colpman-King, Clinical Nurse Educator and LCP Facilitator at Lake Taupo Hospice agrees: “It was a lot of work getting to know the programme well, as it’s other people’s work.” Carol began teaching FPC in February 2012, mainly at rest homes. From the start, she offered all nine courses, teaching staff from two or three facilities at one of the rest homes. She split the symptom management course into two sessions - pain management and other symptoms management - to make it more manageable. She recognises that this is a major commitment from facilities and staff. Each session lasts up to two hours, plus time for discussion. There is also reading to do beforehand. “It’s really a case of the more you put into it, the more you get out.”

“One of the most significant results from it has been the benefit for caregivers in rest homes who gain knowledge, confidence and value when they attend the course.”

Networking However, a “huge bonus” has been the networking the courses engender, not only for educators, but also carers who can share experiences with other staff from other facilities and other disciplines, often for the first time. “The beauty of doing it in a group is people get others’ perspectives,” Carol says. The post learning session, which takes place two to three weeks after the programme has finished, allows attendees to discuss how they have used what they have learned in daily practice. “The programmes have been developed to equip staff and it does have an impact on the way they practice, though that is challenging to measure,” she says. She has noticed that the impact on participants comes about halfway through the programme, with many participants saying it has helped their personal growth. “It gets quite deep really. As the sessions go on, they become more personal.” Realising the courses have helped to make positive changes was also a highlight for Janine. “When I read through the evaluations, I

Page 3 | August 2013


thought ‘Yes! They got the light bulb moment we wanted them to get’,” she says. “It’s so affirming that the programme has met this unmet need.”

to contact me and use us.” It has also strengthened networks and relationships between hospice and rest homes, “which is a good thing,” she says.

Janine’s biggest challenge was finding resources. Her role has one day a week for clinical education, and the FPC programme is not the only one she teaches. “There’s also quite a bit of admin around the course, which further reduces time available to teach it, which is something we’re working through at a local level,” she says.

Janine’s role as aged care facilitator meant she was already well connected in the Taupo aged and palliative care community. “They already knew who I was, which made my job so much easier.”

She met regional stakeholders before launching the programme to find out what they wanted from it. “It turned out they wanted all of it, so we delivered all nine sessions in that first year.” However, time constraints have meant that this year Janine will teach six of the nine courses, though she has expanded the intake to include volunteers. Carol says she will run three full programmes this year, for 10 facilities as well as individuals. In the first year, Janine held monthly sessions at Taupo Hospice for 44 staff from aged residential facilities, home support organisations, iwi organisations and Healthcare New Zealand. “That was too many people for single sessions, so we spread each course over two days for two groups,” she says. “However, the numbers dropped off to between 22 and 25 people, which, for us, is a much more manageable level. The more people you have, the lower the interactive element becomes.” Delivering FPC has had the added benefit of widened Carol’s professional circle in her area. “I can go into most rest homes in Tauranga now and they know me. That makes it easier for them

Partnering Janine shared delivery of courses with the most appropriate staff from Taupo Hospice and with two external nurse practitioners. “That’s how the course has been designed - to get the most appropriate people to teach courses in their specialist areas.” Partnering can also help with resourcing problems. “We don’t have as many resources as you would find in Wellington or Auckland,” Janine says. “But our nurses are of a very high calibre.” The hospice also acknowledged nurses’ contributions with official letters of thanks that can go on their records. Though Carol has yet to partner with external staff to deliver the courses, she delivers some with Tauranga Hospice staff, and is building relationships with external staff that will make partnering possible. Carol says she would make no changes to the course unless she had adverse feedback. Hospice New Zealand is conducting detailed research of online feedback from course participants. However, anecdotal feedback has been uniformly very positive.

Page Page44| |September August 2013 10


Continued from page 1

Hospice New Zealand’s CEO Mary Schumacher is excited about the partnership and feels the on-going close relationship is enormously beneficial for both organisations. “The commitment of BNI at a national and chapter level is outstanding. They absolutely demonstrate the values of ‘givers gain” through the association developed over many years with hospice. “The BNI Palliative Care Scholarships provide an important and unique opportunity for the hospice workforce to continue in their professional development. Over the last five years 62 people working in a variety of roles in palliative care, have been funded to undertake further study or training. The paths of study have ranged from PHD thesis work, to post graduate and masters level studies, as well as day courses at a tertiary level.” Southwell himself volunteers as a counsellor at Dove House – the hospice service in Glendowie, Auckland two days a week. It’s his belief, that partnerships like the one between BNI and

Palmerston North, Manawatu, Feilding and Young Hearts chapter’s raised over $3,500 from a Vicars and Tarts party for Arohanui Hospice. BNI Blenheim provided and installed freeview decoders for the inpatient facility televisions as well as donating bath salts, office equipment and a cash donation. Mary Potter Hospice benefited by over $20,000 thanks to five Wellington chapter’s hard work in the form of a movie night, phone raffle and auction. BNI Monaco, Nelson Originals and Network @ 9 donated a range of goods to support Nelson Hospice including an All Whites football shirt for fundraising, office stationery and a monthly coffee supply. BNI Deep South and BNI Invercargill supported Hospice Southland with a monthly donation of groceries and donated a 32 inch flatscreen television for the inpatient facility. Hospice Taranaki received $14,000 from a casino royale event organised by BNI First New Plymouth, Late for Breakfast and Success Like No Other chapter’s.

Hospice need to become more common in New Zealand. “Businesses and charities must create productive partnerships, because a lack of strategic relationships between the two sectors could mean both are worse off – and the community as a whole suffers. We’re an example of how mutually beneficial collaboration can occur,” says Southwell.

About Hospice NZ & Hospice Hospice is a philosophy of care, not a building – most people are cared for in the community. As an organisation it is firmly grounded in the community, with over 13,000 people volunteering over 840,000 hours of their time for hospice during 2012. As an essential health service provider, hospices receive the majority of funding from Government; financial support from the community is essential to meet the shortfall – in 2013 that total is around $35M nationally. www.hospice.org.nz

enable 20 children involved with Rainbow Place to have a Christmas outing to the movies, the Waikato Region chapter’s donated towards a local BNI director running the ultra-marathon and the Legends chapter assisted with selling entertainment books. BNI Hastings, Hawkes Bay and Wine Country joined forces to sponsor a fundraising event raising over $38,000 for Cranford Hospice that hosted hospice patron, Jo Seagar as guest speaker. BNI Central, Achievers, Ponsonby, ProBiz, Shore City and Viaduct gave donations to Mercy Hospice Auckland from a variety of activities including joker poker and breakfast fee donations. BNI Activ8, Catalyst and The Exchange in Christchurch raised funds from wear a hat to meeting or be fined and member donations giving $900 to Nurse Maude Hospice. BNI Larnach and Octagon held a raffle of seafood, a wine and cheese tour of Dunedin Art Gallery and joker poker to give $1300 to Otago Community Hospice.

The Lower Hutt based chapters worked together to donate over $19,000 to Te Omanga Hospice from a variety of breakfast activities and a grand charity auction.

Totara Hospice South Auckland is partnered with seven chapters, and received over $9,000 from sponsorship of an auction evening, a golf day, breakfast fines and donations, mystery car rally and support of the Sunrise Walk event.

Hospice Waikato received more than $10,000 from the four chapters in the region. The Cambridge chapter organised a dinner with guest speaker Swazi Man Davey Hughes, the Morrinsville chapter gave donations to

Waipuna Hospice in Tauranga received over $7,500 from the local BNI chapters – In the Bay, Tauranga Harbour, Tauranga and Oceanside – generated from an auction, fines and sponsorship of the ultra marathon.

Media contacts Graham Southwell National Director BNI New Zealand +64 9 817 1185

Mary Schumacher CEO, Hospice NZ 0274 528 443

Nimita Morarji Serum 021 950 058 Nimita@serum.co.nz

Page 5 | August 2013


Practitioner reflection –

working alongside aged care providers Despite challenges, the benefits of palliative and aged care services working together are clear, says Chris Murphy, Community Liaison and Educator, Palliative Services at Mary Potter Hospice, Wellington. As New Zealand’s population ages, people’s needs towards the end of life are becoming ever more complex, Chris says. To meet those needs against the constant strain on resources requires careful partnering between palliative and aged care services. Working to help the wide range of caring specialists can be “a bit of a maze”, she says. “One size does not fit all. That’s why it’s all about relationships and networks. A lot of what I do is working to build relationships with GPs and nurses delivering the care.” Chris estimates about 70% of her work is training and educating. That can take the form of informal chats to formal programmes, such as the Fundamentals of Palliative Care, Chris was a member of the working group established to develop the programme. “My role is to work with senior clinical staff and management to make sure staff are kept up to date and to support them.” Overseas research has shown clear benefits to palliative and aged care services working together, she says. The role has gained much greater acceptance and is more common in hospices now. Chris was one of the earliest to take on this type of role, which emerged from the Palliative Care strategy a decade ago, she has been in the role for the last six years, and at Mary Potter Hospice for 15 years.

“There’s increased pressure on families and carers now as family networks become more spread out.” There is a danger that the role could come across as “rather arrogant”, she says. “What’s really important is that we’re seen as a help rather than as imposing ourselves on people. We want to enhance what specialist services do rather than tell them what to do.” Chris’ previous aged care training has not only helped her understand the importance of collaboration, but also, she feels, boosted her credibility. The role is not without its challenges, however. The sheer number and variety of facilities to support can be a stretch, she says. Capital Coast has more than 30 facilities from very small to ones owned by national groups such as Bupa. “Trying to work with their varying needs requires you to sit down and individually discuss what those needs are so that you can adapt programmes.” Budgets are, as elsewhere, tight, “but we all have to work within them, which means working smart and putting patients and their families and carers first. That’s what I’m here for.” Attracting expertise

into the field can also be difficult. “Aged care is not the sexiest area (of healthcare) to work in and probably not the best paid.” But it is the more far-reaching changes to New Zealand’s socioeconomic landscape that will have the greatest long-term effect on aged care, Chris says. The aging population means there will be more people in need of aged care for longer. “Baby boomers are entering aged care with more health problems,” she says. “If people are dying later, in their 90s rather than their 70s, it means they are likely to have more complex health problems and more of them.” The net effect is the increasing complexity of care for residents. “For carers, that means staying up to date on research.” “I think what we are seeing now is a socio-economic shift. It’s not just about the aging population, but the wider changes to society. There’s increased pressure on families and carers now as family networks become more spread out.”

Page 6 | August 2013


Music helps people to open up at Cranford Hospice Music fills the corridors at Cranford Hospice, helping people to speak when words have failed them and to remember they’re not ‘just dying’, a music therapist says. People seeking solace have turned to the healing powers of music for centuries. But it is increasingly seen as an important tool for helping not only people in palliative care, but their carers and loved ones, too.

It can take a practical form, such as when she helped a 23-yearold woman to write songs for her own funeral. Another woman wanted to learn drums but had not been allowed to when younger, so Laura brought in a set and taught her.

“Music reaches a deep part of people, and quite quickly,” says music therapist Laura Halligan, who spends 20 hours a week with people at Cranford Hospice in Hastings. “People here have a lot of medical stuff to deal with. Talking about music can be much easier than other things.”

Often music can reach the core of who they are without people realising it, she says. One woman looked “quite lost”, until Laura discovered she liked the song You Are My Sunshine. Playing it to her, the woman initially appeared anxious. “Then she was suddenly right ‘there’, connecting with the lyrics.”

“Music can affect everyone in the room; it helps people remember that they’re not just dying.” Laura literally came knocking at Cranford’s door looking for work just over a year ago, says chief executive Helen Blaxland, whose interest in music therapy had been awakened by a presentation she had seen some time earlier. Music therapy also fitted the hospice’s philosophy of demedicalising people’s last days of life, living every moment and looking at things other than dying, says Helen. “In general, if we’re happy it can help our physical health.” Having trained as a lawyer, Laura spent time in India practising human rights law before realising her vocation. She returned to New Zealand to train as a music therapist at the New Zealand School of Music in Wellington - the only school to offer the course. The course, which requires a level of musical proficiency, also allowed Laura to use the skills she developed when younger studying classical piano and cello.

For others, music can be a way to feel useful in their last days. One man didn’t want to talk about his condition but loved to talk about playing the harmonica and the idea of passing on the skill, which he did by teaching Laura. Her belief that music has much to offer families, carers, and even staff members has led to the formation of a hospice ukulele group (the Cranford Uke Band) that now features doctors, nurses, a cleaner, receptionist and on occasion the CEO, in addition to patients and family members. It is not surprising that music is often heard in the corridors at Cranford, drifting from whichever room Laura is working in. “Often it is quiet at hospice, so I’ll leave doors open if it’s appropriate,” she says. “People love to hear music.”

Placements showed Laura that music therapy could work for a range of people, including some with chronic mental health problems and dementia, and teenagers who had been excluded from schools. “Music is a more accessible way of dealing with issues,” she says. “That’s especially true with young kids.” Working at Cranford was something of a return for Laura, who had played piano for her grandfather when he was staying at the inpatient unit. She has been at the hospice for a year now, working two-and-a-half days a week with individuals, and with groups in the hospice’s day programme. She uses music in several ways, and in all styles from classical, to pop and even rap - to accommodate people’s tastes. In one-onone sessions, that might be discussing people’s favourite songs or performing them. With groups it could be a singsong or simply listening to music. “Music can affect everyone in the room; it helps people remember that they’re not just dying.”

Page 7 | August 2013


Regional roundup Frans Dellebeke

Alan Munro

1. Please describe your service, your community and the patients you care for;

1. Please describe your service, your community and the patients you care for:

The Nelson Tasman Hospice has a 10-bed inpatient unit and a community nursing team that provides a 24/7 service to the Nelson Tasman region. We currently have over 140 patients on the service and a bed occupancy of over 80%.

Hospice South Canterbury services a population of 55,000 people and we have a seven-bed In-patient unit in the main centre at Timaru. We do not provide support in the community as this is coordinated by Palliative Care and district nurses employed by the local DHB. We only operate an In Patient Unit. We employ a team of nurses and have a Medical Officer employed part time. Many of our patients are still supported by their own GP while in our Hospice. On average we would care for approx 150 patients and their families each year.

CEO, Hospice South Canterbury

CEO, Nelson Hospice

2. What have been the highlights of 2013? The launch of our new website; a small increase in funding for 2013/14 from the NMDHB; a new Board member in John Peters (ex CEO of the NMDHB); a fairly good DAA audit; more MDT input from GPs; and starting the roll out of Palcare to GPs and Nelson Hospital staff….are just a few of the exciting highlights this year.

3. What have been the biggest challenges? The biggest challenge is the increasing patient numbers and patient acuity. This challenge will only be solved by working smarter rather than throwing more money at it and requires all to find solutions and accept that changes are required. We don’t need to fix things if they aren’t broken, but we need to look forward and find solutions without re-inventing the wheel. Therefore, the idea of South Island Hospices meeting to share ideas and solutions is a move in the right direction.

4. What have been the biggest ‘wins’? We are about to meet with a few GPs in the region who are interested in putting their hands up for a Nelson Tasman Hospice Scholarship to do the Post Graduate Diploma in Palliative Care through Auckland University. Ideally, we will get applications from outlying rural areas (Golden Bay, Motueka, Murchison) to build a hub and spoke model of care in the region.

5. What do you think hospice will look like in five years’ time – locally, nationally, internationally? I think that more and more patients will be cared for at “home” and that the Nelson Tasman/Marlborough region will be a specialist palliative care hub in its own right, working collaboratively in a shared care model that puts the patient first.

2. What have been the highlights of 2013? The highlights for us for 2013 has been the successful opening of our Hospice Shop, which is proving to be most successful. Also, our Hospice this year celebrates 25 years of service to the South Canterbury community. We have just run an excellent Cocktail Party with over 200 attending and raised $15,000 from this event. We are also organizing an Anniversary Dinner to be held on June 28 for close to 200 guests and guest speaker Jo Goodhew MP, Associate Minister of Health. We also plan at this event to launch a book on the first 25 years of our Hospice and called Loving Care.

3. What have been the biggest challenges? Our biggest challenges are, of course, raising the funds to maintain our service. Currently we are 58% funded by our local DHB leaving $500,000 to be raised annually.

4. What do you think hospice will look like in five years’ time – locally, nationally, internationally? We would hope that in five years’ time New Zealand’s hospices will be seen as centres of excellence providing specialist palliative care to everyone with a terminal illness. We also hope hospices will be better recognised by the Ministry of Health for the work that they do, for patients and families. All hospices provide excellent services in many ways, not only caring for patients but also providing necessary support to families and education to other providers to ease the pressure on hospice services.

Page 8 | August 2013


Judith Bruce

Karen Anderson

1. Please describe your service, your community and the patients you care for

1. Describe your service, your community and the patients you care for

The Marlborough Hospice community is made up of 42,000 people, 4,200 of whom are Maori. The community team covers the whole Marlborough area for specialised palliative care. There are no subcontracts to district nursing for this care (though district nurses have input for some dressings). We provide a 24/7 on-call service for specialist nursing care. We have six beds in the IPU - a mix of acute, long stay and respite beds. We have found that by increasing use of respite beds there is more relief for families.

Hospice Wanganui provides care in Whanganui, Ruapehu and parts of South Taranaki. Generally, our population is of high deprivation and experiences challenging health and social needs. As a sample of our client group, in May this year 24% of our referrals were for people with non-cancer diagnosis, 18% were Maori and 30% were under 65 years. The majority of our referral come from GPs. We have a five-bed inpatient unit with four of those beds dedicated to symptom control and one for respite.

2. What have been the highlights of 2013?

2. What have been the highlights of 2013?

The highlights for 2013 so far have been the appointment of two Clinical Nurse Specialists (Jo Hendrickson and Jacqui BowdenTucker), which has given real depth to the team. It now has specialists to access at all times.

• The establishment of a “carers support” group;

CEO, Hospice Wanganui

CEO, Hospice Marlborough

The second highlight has been the establishment of the Family Support Clinic. This is for mobile patients who can visit the clinic at the hospice with their carer as part of an everyday trip out. There is a multidisciplinary approach to this clinic – it is supported by a Nurse specialist – a Family Support counsellor – a Social Worker and a nurse specialised in massage therapy – at this clinic the carer is given the same access to care as the patient. The role out of the Fundamentals programme is very exciting for the Aged Care facilities in this area- we have a specialised nurse who will provide this education for one day weekly-there are 9 aged care facilities.

• The establishment of a medical outpatient service; • The publication of our guide to food and eating for those with advanced, life-limiting illness – “nourishing moments”; • Delivery of Fundamentals of Palliative Care training packages to even more aged care facility staff.

3. What have been the biggest challenges? • The significant loss of numbers of beds in aged care facilities and the impact this has had on our ability to access this level of care in a timely way; • The increasing complexity of the patient profile, particularly in the younger group; • Maintaining medical cover for the inpatient unit.

4. What have been the biggest ‘wins’? 3. What have been the biggest challenges?

• Securing good locum cover for our Doctors.

The biggest challenges have been related to providing fluctuating on-call support to the community team, which is dealing with increasingly high-acuity patients at home. Care will be aided by buying tablets for better communication with carers.

• Electronic access to hospital test results, outpatient clinic letters and imaging.

4. What have been the biggest ‘wins’?

Less focus on inpatient services, greater, more complex care delivered in the community.

The biggest win has been acknowledging and using the expert nurses at the hospice. It is really important for nurses of this calibre to be recognised by all.

5. What do you think hospice will look like in five years’ time – locally, nationally, internationally?

5. What do you think hospice will look like in five years’ time – locally, nationally, internationally? I think the IPU may look similar but the community service will be increased with demand. It is our aim to provide more care for the carers so the patients feel loved and reassured in their own surroundings.

Page 9 | August 2013


Ginny Green

5. What do you think hospice will look like in five years’ time – locally, nationally, internationally?

CEO, Otago Community Hospice

1. Please describe your service, your community and the patients you care for: The OCH programme of services include: • 24 hours-a-day advice and support for patients, families and generalist providers; • Inpatient care for symptom control, terminal care and respite; • Community care coordination; • Domiciliary night nursing; • Outpatient clinics; • Counselling;

Our focus will be less and less on delivering care and more and more on equipping and supporting others to do so. We believe this is a shared focus nationally and internationally. Government is promoting patients remaining in their place of residence and our aging population is increasing. We all need to support and work alongside our partners in health care delivery to manage this. It will mean having more influence in undergraduate teaching, delivering more post graduate education across the sector, delivering public education and supporting other providers by working in a collaborative and integrated way. If we get this right, the care that hospices will deliver will be to patients and families with extremely complex needs. Our challenges locally and nationally will be:

• Social work; • Bereavement support;

• retaining our community spirit and our heart;

• Spiritual support;

• walking alongside our partners;

• Carer education;

• recruiting and retaining highly skilled, trained and experienced professionals from the range of disciplines in palliative care;

• Education for health and social service agency providers including supporting providers with the Liverpool Care of the Dying Pathway; • Undergraduate and post-graduate clinical placements;

• securing sustainable funding that matches our increasing costs; • Engaging further with all our communities will be key to our success.

Patient and family services are available to all the people of Otago with specialist palliative care needs. Our area covers South Otago, Central Otago through to Wanaka, Hawea and the Maniototo and North Otago. We pride ourselves on offering the full range of services to all areas, and individualising services to meet needs of each community. Inpatient care in the specialist unit is only available in Dunedin and rurally located patients have access to these beds but we understand that more often than not patients prefer to be close to home and their supports. So, we always work closely with primary providers to ensure patients and their families get package of care that best suit them. Only one third of our patients will die in the inpatient facility. The Otago Community Hospice has 60 staff, 30 FTEs and 400 volunteers.

2. What have been the highlights of 2013? Recruiting a Medical Leader and opening another two shops through the region.

3. What have been the biggest challenges? Addressing the growing expectations of small, rural communities.

4. What have been the biggest ‘wins’? Securing additional DHB funding to address a significant gap in volumes and forecasting a small surplus for this current financial year.

Page 10 | August 2013


Thanks

to our supporters

Thank you to all the individuals, companies and grant makers who have made donations to support our work. We really couldn’t do it without you!

National Partners:

Our long term supporter:

2012 Snapshot:

14,400 140,000 840,000 Hospice New Zealand 57 – 59 Courtney Place P O Box 6660, Wellington 6141

T: 04 381 0266 F: 04 381 0264 www.hospice.org.nz

During 2012 the hospice services throughout the country provided care and support for more than 14,400 people living with a life limiting condition.

Hospice is a philosophy of care, not a building, most people are cared for in the community, in 2012 hospice staff made more than 140,000 visits to people in their homes

As an organisation we are firmly grounded in the community, with over 13,000 people volunteering over 840,000 hours of their time for hospice during 2012.

The Review - Aug 2013  

A magazine showcasing the latest hospice and palliative care developments and work being undertaken around New Zealand.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you