membersâ€™ handbook Enjoy great days out, all year round
to the Historic Scotland Members’ Handbook.
Thank you for being a Historic Scotland member. We look forward to welcoming you at our colourful range of castles, palaces, abbeys and much more across Scotland. This handbook is your guide to the wealth of great historic places just waiting to be explored. When you’re out and about exploring you may want to download our free Historic Scotland app to give you the latest site updates direct to your phone. It’s also a handy way of getting the latest dates for our action packed programme of events that run throughout the year. This year, for the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design, we’ll be celebrating Scotland’s astounding contributions to all these fields with art exhibitions, fashion shows, new interpretations at sites and plenty of themed events for you to get involved in.
We very much welcome feedback from our members so please feel free to contact us at any time. Take a look at some of the comments we’ve received:
‘Visited Huntingtower Castle last week, very friendly staff and a history lesson thrown in. Membership has been fantastic value for money.’ ‘I have loved being a part of Historic Scotland. I think that you do a fantastic job. The membership is good value.’ ‘It’s great to know that in Historic Scotland there are people who care.’
Cover Duff House
Historic Scotland Membership, Longmore House, Salisbury Place, Edinburgh EH9 1SH Telephone: 0131 668 8999 Email: members@HES.scot
regional map | 1 historic-scotland.gov.uk/places Region
Edinburgh and the Lothians 12-21 The Scottish Borders 22-25 Dumfries and Galloway 26-31 Glasgow, Clyde and Ayrshire 32-39 Central and West 40-51 The Kingdom of Fife 52-55 Perthshire, Kinross and Angus 56-63 North and Grampian 64-75 The Western Isles 76-77 Orkney 78-85 Shetland 86-87
Firth of Forth
of J nd
2| For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
membership benefits Making it easy for you to explore Scotland’s history. free entry
quarterly members’ magazine
Show your valid membership card for free entry to all staffed Historic Scotland attractions.
Keeps you informed with features on history, heritage, conservation and places to visit. The magazine will also keep you up to date with events throughout the year.
historic scotland events Members get free entry to over 400 Historic Scotland daytime events, which form an exciting year-round programme. See page 7 for more details.
20% retail discount Save money in Historic Scotland shops at our attractions and online at historic-scotland.gov.uk/shop. • Your online discount code will be issued in your quarterly magazine and monthly emails • The discount does not apply to certain products including alcohol, phone cards, stamps, discounted items, promotions, single use bags and Hamilton and Inches products at Edinburgh Castle
• T he discount does not apply at Broughty Castle, Calanais, Dundonald Castle, Kinnaird Head Castle Lighthouse, Skaill House, Torphichen Preceptory or The Whithorn Story
Rock of Ages - Dumbarton Castle
10% café discount Members enjoy an exclusive discount at all Historic Scotland cafés. Simply show your membership card and get money off our scrumptious sandwiches, light meals, homemade cakes and hot and cold drinks. Please note some of our smaller cafés may not accept credit/debit cards. Call before visiting.
20% discount on annual gift
Historic Scotland membership makes a great gift for Christmas, birthdays or any special occasion. For more details see page 9, visit historic-scotland.gov. uk/member or call 0131 668 8999.
your passport to great days out, all year round. 20% discount on audio guides
your membership card
Available at Edinburgh Castle on production of a valid membership card.
Simply sign your card(s) to validate, and be aware of the following conditions:
life members – additional benefits
• C ards must be shown on entry at staffed properties and at the till before making any purchases • Anyone without a valid card will be charged normal prices, which are non-refundable • For joint memberships, each adult member must show their card for entry and other benefits • For membership categories including children, each card admits one adult/concession plus 6 children aged 5-15 years • Cards are only valid for the member named on card • Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult • You may be asked to provide proof of identification for entrance • Membership is a consumer product and cannot be used for commercial purposes • If you lose your card, call 0131 668 8999 or email us at members@HES.scot and we will send you a replacement • Please let us know if you change address and we can keep your membership record up to date
Each life member can take 2 adults or up to 6 accompanying children (aged 5-15 years) or a combination of 1 adult and up to 3 accompanying children as guests to Historic Scotland attractions free of charge. Life members get free entry to English Heritage, Cadw and Manx National Heritage sites immediately on joining. At English Heritage and Cadw sites, the guest allowance is 1 adult or 6 children. At Manx National Heritage sites the allowance is for 6 accompanying children. Note Historic Scotland reserves the right to vary the terms and conditions and benefits of membership at any time. Any changes will be notified in your quarterly magazine. Visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member to view our full terms and conditions.
4| For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
take your membership further Enjoy discounted entry to partner attractions. Take your membership card on holiday with you and enjoy discounted entry to English Heritage, Cadw and Manx National Heritage attractions. Renewal and life members can enjoy free entry while new annual members get in for half price.
english heritage english-heritage.org.uk/membership Customer Services Department PO Box 569, Swindon SN2 2YP Telephone 0370 3331181 From great family day trips with the children to inspirational visits for the real history buff, days out with English Heritage will stay with you long after you’ve visited. With over 400 historic places to visit including abbeys, castles, ruins, stately homes and palaces, there’s something for everyone. Properties include: - Stonehenge (timed ticketing applies) - Dover Castle - Audley End House and Gardens - Belsay Hall Castle and Gardens - Lindisfarne Priory - Kenilworth Castle and Elizabethan Garden - Carlisle Castle - Hadrian’s Wall plus hundreds more...
More great days out
free entry for renewal or life members Half price entry for new annual members. cadw
manx national heritage
Plas Carew, Unit 5/7 Cefn Coed Parc Nantgarw, Cardiff CF15 7QQ
Manx National Heritage, Kingswood Grove Douglas, Isle of Man IM1 3LY
Telephone 01443 336000
Telephone 01624 648000
Cadw is the Welsh Government’s historic environment service, working for an accessible and well-protected historic environment for Wales. Magnificent monuments such as castles, abbeys, historic houses and ancient burial chambers are just a few of the things you can see in Wales. Cadw’s aims are to conserve Wales’s heritage, and to help people understand and care about their local history.
The Isle of Man is ideal for a peaceful short break. The island’s national heritage sites operated by Manx National Heritage range from Viking ruins to medieval castles and the world’s largest working waterwheel.
Over 129 sites including: - Caerphilly Castle - Castell Coch - Raglan Castle - Strata Florida Abbey - Tintern Abbey
© Crown copyright (2015 Cadw)
World Heritage Sites - Beaumaris Castle - Caernarfon Castle - Conwy Castle - Harlech Castle - Blaenavon Ironworks (World Heritage Landscape)
Historic sites include: - The Laxey Wheel - Castle Rushen - Manx Museum - Grove Museum of Victorian Life - Peel Castle - House of Manannan - Cregneash Village - Nautical Museum - The Old House of Keys
- Rushen Abbey - The Old Grammar School - The Sound, Calf of Man and Niarbyl Bay
Laxey Wheel, Isle of Man
6| For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
discounted entry for members To other visitor attractions. The following visitor attractions offer discounted entry to members. To qualify for the discount simply show your membership card on entry. Please note that Life Member guest allowances do not apply at these sites. Discounts are valid from 25 March 2016 to 31 March 2017. For opening times and further information please contact the organisation directly.
palace of holyroodhouse and the queen’s gallery Canongate, Royal Mile, Edinburgh Telephone 0131 556 5100 Her Majesty The Queen’s official residence in Scotland and the purpose-built gallery with state of the art facilities. Visit the 17th century royal apartments, Mary Queen of Scots’ chambers, the ruins of the Abbey and delicate works of art from the Royal Collection. 20% discount on all entrance categories. Dirleton Castle and Gardens
national mining museum scotland Lady Victoria Colliery, Newtongrange Telephone 0131 663 7519 This A-listed complex is recognised as one of the finest surviving examples of a Victorian colliery in Europe. Now a five-star visitor attraction, the museum tells the story of coal for Scotland through guided and/or self-guided tours, exhibitions, recreated underground roadway and coalface and Big Stuff – Massive Mining Machinery tour. 2 for 1 on admission.
dumfries house Cumnock, Ayrshire Telephone 01290 425959 This grand property situated within 2,000 acres of scenic Ayrshire countryside is widely acknowledged as one of the most architecturally-significant stately homes within the UK. 25% discount on the House tour.
|7 For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/events
step back in time at one of our events Hear great tales of mystery and intrigue. events all over scotland
This year experience a fashion show like no other, a castle through the decades and jousting knights.
• In Vogue, Stirling Castle 14 and 15 May
We’ll have hundreds of events taking place across the country at castles, palaces and other fantastic attractions.
• The Rock of Ages, Dumbarton Castle 4 and 5 Jun
We’ll be celebrating Scotland’s contributions to Innovation, Architecture and Design with new interpretations and plenty of themed events. To receive the members’ monthly events email, please register for the members only website at historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
• Spectacular Jousting, Linlithgow Palace 2 and 3 Jul Members get free entry to over 400 daytime events. Pick up an Events Guide at any Historic Scotland attraction. Check out your quarterly magazine for events in your area or visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/ events for more information.
8| For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/greentourism
caring for our environment A commitment to sustainability and green issues. quality assurance
Visitor facilities at Historic Scotland staffed properties are assessed by VisitScotland and graded on a five star scale.
We encourage the use of public transport for trips to Historic Scotlandâ€™s sites, please consider alternative means of transport when planning your visit. Sites which are accessible by public transport are indicated by the symbol
green tourism Historic Scotland is committed to protecting the historic and natural environment. Many of our properties in care are assessed in sustainability through the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Look out for the symbol beside the properties. Some of the main elements considered within the scheme include transport, bicycle use and recycling and waste. See green-business.co.uk
For more information about transport providers visit travelinescotland.com or follow the link on our website. For local transport information, please call the site and our staff will do their best to help.
bicycle Call the SUSTRANS information line on 0845 11 30 065 or go to sustrans.org.uk
recycling/waste All goods are recycled where possible at Historic Scotlandâ€™s sites. Please be considerate to the environment when visiting our sites and recycle any rubbish you may have at the closest facilities. Please ask site staff about this.
Broch of Gurness
looking for a gift? Give friends or family a Historic Scotland membership. gift membership
member get member
Membership makes a great gift for Christmas, birthdays, retirement or any special occasion. A special gift pack can be sent directly to you or we can send your gift to the recipient complete with your personal message.
Spread the word about how great Historic Scotland membership is.
Existing members get a 20% discount on all new annual memberships purchased as a gift.
New members can join at any staffed Historic Scotland property if you are there to show your membership card. Or they can call us on 0131 668 8999 quoting your name and membership number.
To order your gift visit our website historic-scotland. gov.uk/member or call us on 0131 668 8999. Make sure you are registered and logged into our website to get your 20% discount. Please note gift memberships are not available at our properties. Terms and conditions apply, see our website for details.
Introduce family and friends to Historic Scotland and they will get 20% off a new annual membership.
Terms and conditions apply, see our website for details.
10 | For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
using this guide areas
Scotland has been divided into areas ranging from the Scottish Borders in the south to Shetland in the north. See the map on page 1. A full alphabetical index of all sites can be found on pages 90-93.
Summer (25 Mar 2016 to 30 Sept 2016) Mon to Sun 9.30am to 5.30pm
Each property in this guide has been allocated a unique map reference number. You can view the regional maps at the start of each section for more information about specific property locations.
These are general times and some properties have special opening times shown against their entry.
world heritage sites Properties with World Heritage recognition feature a UNESCO logo. The Ranger Service for the Orkney WHS can be reached on 01856 841732.
road directions Directions to all sites are included. We include postcodes for our staffed sites or Ordnance Survey grid references for those without postcodes. These will enable you to locate sites using either web-based route-finder sites or Ordnance Survey maps.
Winter (1 Oct 2016 to 31 Mar 2017) Mon to Sun 10am to 4pm
Last entry 30 mins before closing, except at Stirling, Urquhart and Dumbarton castles, Fort George, Skara Brae and Linlithgow Palace where it is 45 mins before closing. At Edinburgh Castle and Stanley Mills, last entry is 1 hour before closing. • All properties are closed on 25th and 26th Dec •A ll properties are closed on 1st and 2nd Jan with the exception of Edinburgh, Stirling and Urquhart castles which will remain open. Please call for opening hours or check online • S ome of our sites may close for a short period over lunch. This will be marked next to their entry in the handbook Properties run by organisations in partnership with Historic Environment Scotland may not offer Historic Scotland members’ retail discounts or accept Euro notes.
Alternatively visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/satnav to upload our sites to your SatNav system (compatible with TomTom, Navman and Garmin).
There is no concession rate for students. The concession rate applies to over 60s, and visitors receiving state benefits. We offer 10% discount for Young Scot/Euro 26 card holders. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult. Children under 5 admitted free.
Visiting some sites can involve a fair amount of walking over uneven ground. Sensible footwear is recommended. Watch out for wet grass on sloping banks and wet wooden footbridges. Some of our rural sites are located in farmland and may include access through areas with livestock.
Valid between 25 Mar 2016 and 31 Mar 2017. Prices may vary for major events.
Opening times and admission prices are correct at the time of publication, but may be liable to change.
Car parking is free to customers at most sites for the length of your visit. Please note parking is for individual use when visiting the site.
Dogs on leads are permitted at some but not all properties. Sites where dogs are not permitted are indicated by the symbol below. Dogs must be kept on a lead and should not be left unattended (including in vehicles on site). Where dogs are allowed, they are not permitted into roofed areas such as gift shops, cafés, some castles or visitor centres. If you are unsure of access, please call the site in advance of your visit.
• Parking is not available at Edinburgh Castle. We do provide limited parking for drivers with a Blue Disabled Badge. Please contact the site prior to your visit • £2 charge applies to car parking at Stirling Castle in summer. Parking in winter is free for members, just show your membership card to our car park staff on arrival • Charges are also made at Holyrood Park and Melrose Abbey. Members are not exempt from this charge
visitors with disabilities This symbol indicates that visitors in wheelchairs can enjoy a reasonable amount of the property. This symbol indicates where there are toilets suitable for wheelchair users. Hearing induction loops are available at most sites. Other special facilities for people with a disability are indicated in the site descriptions. You can view our Access Guide online at historic-scotland.gov.uk/access
Assistance dogs are permitted at all sites and are permitted in all parts of the site
data protection All information that we hold concerning you as an individual will be held and processed by Historic Environment Scotland strictly in accordance with the provisions of the Data Protection Act 1998. Visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/member and view the Privacy page for full details about how we use your data.
edinburgh and the lothians
North Berwick 8 1
26 14 12
N 0 Kilometres 0 Miles
edinburgh and the lothians | 13 Blackness Castle
Step inside a largely intact medieval castle whose doughty defences once guarded the Firth of Forth. Known as ‘The Ship that Never Sailed’ for its boat-like shape, Blackness Castle was built in the 1400s for Sir George Crichton, Admiral of Scotland. The castle walls contain clues to its many guises: besieged coastal stronghold, jail for political prisoners and Victorian ammunitions depot. Outside, you can picnic in its grounds, enjoy remarkable views and explore the rocky foreshore. • 4m NE of Linlithgow on the Firth of Forth, off the A904 • NT 055 803 • Postcode EH49 7NH • Telephone 01506 834807 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
Stand on a once-sacred hilltop where people first held rituals and raised monuments some 5,500 years ago. You can visit a Neolithic henge, see the site of a great timber circle and descend into a Bronze Age cist grave (now covered by a modern, domed chamber). The panoramic views stretch from Bass Rock in the east to the Isle of Arran in the west. • 3m N of Bathgate, 1m from Torphichen, 5m S of Linlithgow • NS 987 717 • Telephone 01506 634622 • Open summer only. Closed Tue to Thurs. Guided tours are available during the summer season on Mon and Sun, call 0131 550 7603 to book • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
castlelaw hill fort
The ancient ramparts of this impressive Iron Age hill fort are set into the beautiful Pentland Hills. Explore the extensive site before plunging below the heart of the ancient stronghold into a subterranean passage or cellar. • On Castle Knowe, about 1m NW of Glencorse or 2.5m SW from Lothianburn Junction on the City Bypass, off the A702 • NT 229 638
chesters hill fort
Climb around the remarkable, maze-like ramparts of one of the best-preserved hill forts in the country. You can still trace the outlines of individual homes in this Iron Age settlement, overlooking the fertile farmland of East Lothian. • 1m S of Drem off the B1377 • NT 507 782
This beautifully-preserved ‘beehive’ dovecot once supplied pigeons and eggs to the residents of the long-gone Corstorphine Castle. The second Lord Forrester was murdered by his lover, below the celebrated Corstorphine Sycamore nearby. • In Dovecot Road off Saughton Road N leading to and from Corstorphine High Street, Edinburgh • NT 200 725
14 | edinburgh and the lothians Craigmillar Castle
Admire city views from the high ramparts of Edinburgh’s ‘other castle’, play hide-and-seek in its labyrinth of chambers or picnic in its courtyards. Craigmillar Castle was a prison for the younger brother of James III, a happy retreat for Mary Queen of Scots and the focus of a plot to murder her husband Darnley. Its profile is dominated by its remarkably complete inner curtain wall. • • • • • •
2.5m SE of Edinburgh off the A7 NT 289 709 Postcode EH16 4SY Telephone 0131 661 4445 Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
dirleton castle and gardens 8
Tease out the hints of a long and eventful history in these well-preserved ruins. Cross the deep moat guarded by high walls and an imposing tower, glancing up at the ‘murder hole’ above your head. Look for the vaulted dome inside the 1249 tower, the grim prison and pit and the 1550s ‘beehive’ dovecote. Discover stories of sieges, nobility and witchcraft. Dirleton is also celebrated for the beauty of its grounds. You can enjoy the arts and crafts garden, at its peak in the summer, and the Victorian formal garden, particularly impressive in early autumn. • In Dirleton village, 3m W of North Berwick on the A198 • NT 516 839 • Postcode EH39 5ER • Telephone 01620 850330 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
Crichton Castle has been home to medieval lords and Renaissance noblemen. Its sturdy tower of the late 1300s stands by a sophisticated façade created 200 years later. Crichton was besieged several times and hosted a spectacular society wedding attended by Mary Queen of Scots. The castle’s ruins, framed by a secluded valley, were celebrated by writer Walter Scott and artist J.M.W. Turner. • 2.5m SSW of Pathhead off the A68 • NT 380 611 • Postcode EH37 5XA • Telephone 01875 320017 • Open summer only. Please check website for up-to-date opening times • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
Scotland’s first farmers raised a great timber hall on this hillside some 6,000 years ago, looking out over the North Sea. The site has proved an archaeological puzzle since its televised excavation in the 1960s. The outlines of the hall and other features of the site are marked out with concrete slabs. • 2m S of Dunbar off the A1 • Walk 200m up hillside from farm track • NT 686 755
edinburgh and the lothians | 15 Crichton Castle
Dunglass Collegiate Church
dunglass collegiate church 10
Admire the surprisingly well-preserved sculptures inside this stone-vaulted medieval church. Built for Sir Alexander Home in about 1443, it later survived being on the front line during the War of the Rough Wooing in the 1500s. • 1m NW of Cockburnspath off the A1 • NT 766 718 11
eagle rock, cramond
Search out a weather-worn carving of an eagle on a beachside rock that is thought to have been made during the Roman occupation of Cramond in the 2nd or 3rd century AD. The nearby Drum Sands is an internationally important site for waders and winter fowl. • On the shore of the Forth about 0.25m W of Cramond off the A90. Access via pathway from South Queensferry (under rail bridge) into Dalmeny Castle estate • NT 184 774
Image The Lorne Jewels on display at Edinburgh Castle See page 16
See page 4 for more information
discounted entry For new annual members at English Heritage, Cadw and Manx National Heritage properties.
16 | edinburgh and the lothians The Prisons of War
A mighty fortress, the defender of the nation and a world-famous visitor attraction – Edinburgh Castle has dominated the skyline for centuries. And the high volcanic rock on which it stands has been occupied for thousands of years. The castle’s powerful stone walls have endured many sieges and its sumptuous apartments were an important residence of Scottish kings and queens. Today it is home to Scotland’s crown jewels, the Stone of Destiny, three military museums, the National War Memorial, the Prisons of War exhibition and much more besides. With more than a million visitors a year, from across the globe, the castle offers a fabulous day out – an experience not to be missed.
top 10 highlights 1 The Crown Room – where the nation’s treasures are kept including the Stone of Destiny 2 The Great Hall – holds a fabulous display of arms and armour as well as the ‘key’ to the castle 3 Royal Palace – birthplace of James VI 4 St Margaret’s Chapel – the oldest building in the capital, built to commemorate the mother of David I 5 The Prisons of War – an atmospheric recreation of the life of prisoners at the end of the 18th century 6 Mons Meg – could fire a 150kg stone for up to 3.2km (2 miles) 7 The One o’ Clock Gun – the famous time signal has been fired almost daily since 1861 except on Sundays, Christmas Day and Good Friday 8 The Scottish National War Memorial – a shrine to those who gave their lives in conflicts from World War I onwards 9 The National War Museum of Scotland – and individual regimental museums 10 Panoramic views – stunning views across the capital
edinburgh and the lothians | 17 The Castle Café
Hands on history
things to do
• Take a tour of the castle with one of our experienced
• In Edinburgh at the top of the Royal Mile • Postcode EH1 2NG • Telephone 0131 225 9846 • Buy tickets online at edinburghcastle.gov.uk • Open all year. 25 Mar to 30 Sept 9.30am to 6pm, 1 Oct to 31 Mar 9.30am to 5pm. Last ticket sold 1 hour before closing. Closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Visit the website for New Year opening times. Please note that opening times for the independent museums may vary • Admission: Adult £16.50 Concession £13.20 Child £9.90 • We recommend at least 2 hours to see the major attractions within the castle • Parking only for drivers with a blue disabled badge. Please call the site for details • Steep inclines and steps – mobility vehicle available, call 0131 225 9846 prior to visiting • Audio guides available – members get a 20% discount • Regular ‘Living History’ performances throughout the year – check edinburghcastle.gov.uk/events for more details
guides and discover the stories that changed Scotland • Entertain the kids with our special children’s quiz which will lead them all around the castle making new discoveries. Children’s Quizzes are available in 14 languages • Enjoy lunch or a traditional afternoon tea in our Redcoat Café or Queen Anne Tearoom using your 10% member discount. Taste the best of Scotland’s produce prepared by our award-winning caterers • Visit the castle’s shops and bring home some lovely gifts, taking full advantage of your member discount
18 | edinburgh and the lothians Hailes Castle
A beautifully-sited ruin incorporating a fortified manor of 13th century date, extended in the 14th and 15th centuries. Mary Queen of Scots stayed here before her third marriage. • 1.5m SW of East Linton, off the A199 (exit A1 from Haddington [E-bound] or Dunbar [W-bound]) • NT 574 757
The ruined nave of the 12th and 13th century abbey church, built for Augustinian canons. Other parts of the abbey complex survive in the palace garden. • At the foot of the Canongate, Edinburgh, in the grounds of the Palace of Holyroodhouse • Charge for entrance to Palace of Holyroodhouse (20% discount for members on production of your membership card)
15 holyrood, abbey sanctuary
The three-storey building on Abbey Strand has its origins in the late 15th or early 16th century. It was partly rebuilt in 1544 and was heavily restored in 1916. The buildings to the east began as an extension to the west tenement in the mid-16th century. Abbey Strand currently houses a Historic Scotland shop. • At the foot of the Royal Mile, at the gates of the Palace of Holyroodhouse • NT 269 739 • Telephone 0131 557 2365
Enjoy wild and dramatic countryside in the heart of the city. This former Royal Park of hills and crags has many stories to tell: of holy visions and royal celebrations, of radical protestors and grisly murders, of hidden treasure and Jacobite armies. Our Ranger Service operates on site. There is plenty to do in the Park: - Take in the dazzling sunrise and birdsong at dawn on Arthur’s Seat - Walk the historic Radical Road for astonishing views of the Old and New Towns - Stroll through Hunter’s Bog and watch for the park’s remarkable wildlife - Climb to the ruins of St Anthony’s Chapel looking out towards the Firth of Forth - Marvel at rock formations that include a fossilised beach - Discover four Iron Age hill forts and farmsteads - Look down from the Salisbury Crags onto the Palace of Holyroodhouse - Jog or cycle around the High Road built for Prince Albert - Picnic by a lochside and watch the waterfowl - Hunt for the two surviving holy wells – St Anthony’s and St Margaret’s - Explore the valleys where kings and queens prayed, played and made merry • In Edinburgh, E of Holyrood Palace and Abbey • Telephone 0131 652 8150 • NT 277 733 • Look out for our Ranger events happening throughout the year. Visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/ rangerservice for details
edinburgh and the lothians | 19 Linlithgow Palace
lauderdale aisle, st mary’s church 17
The former sacristy of the great 15th century parish church, with a splendid monument of early 17th century date, in marble, with alabaster effigies. • In Haddington on the A1 • NT 518 736 18
ormiston market cross
Symbolic of the right of the inhabitants to hold a market, this is a fine free-standing 15th century cross on a modern base. • In the village of Ormiston, 2m S of Tranent off the A1 • NT 414 692 20
preston market cross
Inside one of the most spectacular ruins in Scotland you cannot help but walk in the footsteps of royalty. This royal pleasure palace was the birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots. Visit the great hall where monarchs hosted banquets, tour James IV’s suite of chambers or say a prayer in the private oratory of James V. You can see the elaborate, restored fountain in action every Sunday in July and August – it reputedly flowed with wine when Bonnie Prince Charlie visited.
The only surviving example of a market cross of its type on its original site. A beautiful piece of early 17th century design, with a cylindrical base housing a prison, surmounted by a cross-shaft headed by a unicorn. Exterior view only.
The high towers look down over the palace’s grounds – the Peel – and Linlithgow Loch, an important refuge for wildlife. You can explore both on well-surfaced paths. There will be jousting here over 2 and 3 July in 2016. A Ranger Service operates on site. View the newly unveiled statue of Mary Queen of Scots situated on the Peel.
st martin’s kirk, haddington
• In Linlithgow off the M9 • Postcode EH49 7AL • Telephone 01506 842896 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40. Last ticket sold 45 mins before closing • Toilets may not be available if function in progress ★★★★
• 0.5m S of Prestonpans off the Coast Road or 0.5m NE of the B1361 near the railway station • NT 391 740 21
The ruined nave of a once splendid Romanesque church, altered in the 13th century. Associated with the Cistercian nunnery St Mary’s, founded near Haddington before 1159. • On the eastern outskirts of Haddington off the A1 • NT 521 739
20 | edinburgh and the lothians Seton Collegiate Church
st triduana’s chapel, restalrig collegiate church 22
The lower part of a chapel built by James III, housing the shrine of St Triduana, an early Christian saint. The hexagonal vaulted chamber is unique. Access can be arranged Monday to Saturday from 9am to 5pm, or after worship on a Sunday 12.30pm to 5pm, by contacting St Margaret’s Parish Church, Restalrig. • Off Restalrig Road South, on the east side of Edinburgh • NT 283 743 • Telephone 0131 554 7400 • Opening is by prior arrangement, please call St Margaret’s Parish Church on 0131 554 7400
seton collegiate church
The castle was home to the powerful Red Douglas dynasty, which often clashed with the Crown. It was besieged by both James IV and James V but was ultimately destroyed by Oliver Cromwell’s troops in a siege of 1651. Many artefacts are displayed to help tell its dramatic stories. • 3m E of North Berwick off the A198 • Postcode EH39 5PN • Telephone 01620 892727 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
Discover an enchanting medieval church at the end of a pretty woodland path. One of the finest surviving collegiate churches, Seton also has ruined domestic quarters, allowing a rare glimpse into the lives of those who once prayed here. There are stories of murdered stonemasons and royal visits: Mary Queen of Scots won an archery contest nearby, while her son James VI stayed on his journey south to become James I of England. • 1.5m W of Longniddry on the A198 • Postcode EH32 0PG • Telephone 01875 813334 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
Ascend Tantallon’s towers for spectacular views of the Bass Rock and to watch gannets plunge into the North Sea. Then descend into the depths of a particularly grim pit prison.
Explore the high tower and other remains of the base of the powerful Knights Hospitallers and a seat of government for William Wallace in 1298, sitting within a ring of ancient sanctuary stones. • In Torphichen village, 1m on the B792 from A706 • NS 969 726 • Telephone 01506 653733 • Open summer only. Weekends and bank holidays 1pm to 5pm. Members’ retail discount not applicable • Admission: Adult £2 Child 80p Concession £1.50
edinburgh and the lothians | 21 Torphichen Preceptory
Trinity House Maritime Museum
trinity house maritime museum 26
Open this treasure chest of maritime heritage and you will find an unparalleled collection of wonders gathered over centuries by Leith’s mariners. You can admire four portraits by Sir Henry Raeburn, a French Tricolour captured at the Battle of Trafalgar, a 200 year-old whaling harpoon as well as a fleet of historic ships models, all displayed in the cosy master’s room and the imposing convening room of this fine Georgian building. • 99 Kirkgate, Leith, Edinburgh • Postcode EH6 6BJ • Telephone 0131 554 3289 • Pre-booked visits only. For booking enquiries call 0131 554 3289 (Mon to Fri) • Admission: Free but donations are welcome • Visit our website: trinityhouseleith.org.uk
Image Penguin carved from the tooth of a whale, on display at Trinity House
Peebles 11 Galashiels Melrose
scottish borders | 23 Dryburgh Abbey
cross kirk, peebles
Visit the site where King Alexander II reputedly witnessed the unearthing of a skeleton popularly believed to be that of St Nicholas, bishop of Myra and the inspiration for Santa Claus. The impressive ruin was once a religious house for Trinitarian friars – known as the Red Friars – and later a parish church. • In Cross Road, Peebles on the A703 • NT 250 40
2 dere street roman road, soutra
Follow the footsteps of the Roman legionaries who marched into Scotland 1,900 years ago. This stretch of Roman road, which ran between Hadrian’s Wall and the Firth of Forth, has endured for almost two millennia. You can still see the drainage ditches either side of the route and the quarry pits from which the soldiers extracted gravel. • SW of Soutra Aisle, just off the A68 on the B6368 • NT 452 580
Wander among the graceful ruins of this beautiful Borders abbey set beside the River Tweed. It has been ravaged by fire and war but stone carvings and painted plasterwork have survived to provide a fascinating glimpse of its once-magnificent decoration. Look for the final resting place of author Sir Walter Scott and World War One military leader Field Marshall Douglas Haig as well as the Dryburgh Yew, reputedly one of Scotland’s most ancient trees. • 8m SE of Melrose on the B6404, near St Boswells (turn left onto the B6356) • Public transport as far as St Boswells - 20mins walk to Abbey • NT 591 316 • Postcode TD6 0RQ • Telephone 01835 822381 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★★
edin’s hall broch
One of the few Iron Age brochs in lowland Scotland. Unusually large, it sits in a fort defended by ramparts and ditches, partially overlain by a settlement of the Romano-British period. Nearby is the Abbey St. Bathans Woodland which is of national importance having many different lichens, plants, insects and birds. • On the NE slope of Cockburn Law about 4.5m from Grantshouse, 1m walk from the A6112 Duns Road. Cross the suspension bridge then follow a footpath for 2m across fields • NT 772 603
24 | scottish borders Hermitage Castle
The richly carved Romanesque doorway of the old parish church of Edrom, re-erected in the kirkyard.
A handsome tower house on an L-plan, built in 1581 and still retaining its iron gate or yett.
• In Edrom, 3.5m NE of Duns just off the A6105 • NT 827 558
• 0.5m W of Gordon on the A6105 Earlston Road • NT 639 428
foulden tithe barn
A two-storey barn possibly used for storing payments made in grain to the parish church. View exterior only. • In Foulden, 4m SE of Chirnside on the A6105 • NT 931 558
Soak up the eerie, powerful atmosphere of an imposing stronghold with a notorious reputation. One of the great Borders castles, Hermitage dates back to the 1300s. Look for the garrison’s cesspit and seek shelter under the great arch if it rains. Legend holds that Hermitage’s lord, William De Soulis, was boiled in lead by locals for undertaking black magic rituals. His demonic familiar Robin Redcap is said to haunt the castle grounds. Mary Queen of Scots visited her future husband Bothwell here. • 5.5m NE of Newcastleton, B6399 • Postcode TD9 0LU • Telephone 01387 376222 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
Image Crucifixion of St Andrew depicted on a late medieval vaulting boss, Dryburgh Abbey See page 23
scottish borders | 25 Melrose Abbey
The towering ruins of this vast abbey complex are testament to the power of both royalty and the medieval church. Founded by David I in 1138, the abbey was linked to a nearby royal castle. Alexander III married Yolande de Dreux here. You can explore the fine nave, cloisters and herb garden. The abbey museum houses many precious artefacts including an ivory comb from the 1100s that shows Hercules slaying a dragon. There are also history displays, a virtual tour and dressing-up clothes. • In Jedburgh on the A68 • NT 650 204 • Postcode TD8 6 JQ • Telephone 01835 863925 • Audio guide available • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
The west end of the great abbey church of the Tironensians, brought to Kelso in 1128 by David I. Even in its fragmentary state, this is a superb piece of architecture. • In Kelso • NT 728 338 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri
Trace the lives and beliefs of medieval monks in one of Scotland’s largest and richest medieval abbeys. You will find remarkable sculptures of saints, demons and the famous bagpipe-playing pig. The treasures displayed in the museum include medieval spectacles, a scribe’s inkwell and a carved Green Man. The Cistercian monks and their lay brothers created an influential spiritual centre and a wealthy business around the abbey. King Alexander II and the mummified heart of Robert the Bruce are buried here. • In Melrose off the A7 or A68 • NT 548 341 • Postcode TD6 9LG • Telephone 01896 822562 • Audio guide available • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★★
This 20-metre-high stronghold, built in the 1400s, dominates the skyline. On a clear day you can see as far as Bamburgh Castle in Northumberland. The author Sir Walter Scott spent much of his childhood on a farm below the tower, where he first heard the stories that made up his Minstrelsy of the Scottish Border, the subject of an exhibition here. • Near Smailholm village, 6m W of Kelso on the A6089 then follow the B6397 before turning on to the B6404 • NT 638 346 • Postcode TD5 7PG • Telephone 01573 460365 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★★
dumfries and galloway
N 0 Kms
Sanquhar Moffat 19 Loch Doon
DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY Cairnryan
Port William Drummore
Castle Douglas Dalbeattie
Gatehouse of Fleet
Newton Stewart Stranraer
Gretna Green Gretna
dumfries and galloway | 27 Caerlaverock Castle
An Iron Age promontory fort, defended by a deep U-shaped ditch. A steep climb. • On the edge of a promontory above Barsalloch Point, 0.75m W of Monreith on the A747 • NX 347 412
The epitome of the moated, medieval stronghold, Caerlaverock’s great triangular defences guard the Solway Shore. This site has had a turbulent past. In 1300, its 60-strong garrison was defeated by Edward I’s vast English army in a siege commemorated in verse. Despite the castle’s rugged appearance, its walls conceal a stunning Renaissance residence of the 1630s. Today, visitors can enjoy a siege warfare exhibition, a children’s play area and a trail through the woodland to the remains of an older castle. See bluebells in spring, dragonflies and wildflowers in summer and barnacle geese in winter. • 8m SE of Dumfries on the B725 • NY 025 656 • Postcode DG1 4RU • Telephone 01387 770244 • Open all year. Café may have restricted opening hours in winter • Video presentation • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
cairn holy chambered cairns 3
Two remarkably complete Neolithic burial cairns, of a type characteristic of Galloway, situated on a hill with fine views over Wigtown Bay. • 6.5m SE of Creetown on the A75 • NX 518 540
Scale this impressive tower house for panoramic views over Fleet Bay. Cardoness was built in the 1400s by the notorious McCulloch clan, as a stronghold against their neighbours. In 1501, one of them was prosecuted for stealing 1,500 animals from his own mother. The wellpreserved prison shows the kind of reception their most unwelcome guests might expect. • 1m SW of Gatehouse of Fleet on the A75 • NX 590 553 • Postcode DG7 2EH • Telephone 01557 814427 • Open summer only • Disabled access to the shop only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
A delightful tower house of the 1500s, with many intriguing details surviving. • 3.5m S of Creetown on the A75 • NX 494 541
28 | dumfries and galloway Drumtroddan Cup and Ring Marked Stones
The foundations of a small chapel, probably built for pilgrims on their way from Ireland to Whithorn. • 5m NW of Port William on the A747 • NX 278 489 7
Ascend this 6.5m-high, steep conical mound, once capped by an early-medieval timber castle and still surrounded by a wide ditch. • At Mochrum village on the A747 • NX 349 466 8
A well-preserved tower from the mid-1500s that now sits in a busy farmyard. • 7m NE of Dalbeattie, among farm buildings off the A711 • NX 869 682
drumtroddan rock art
Three groups of well-defined cup-and-ring marks on bedrock, probably carved in the Bronze Age. • 2m NE of Port William on the B7085 • NX 362 447
drumtroddan standing stones 10
An alignment of three stones, one of which has fallen. • 0.25m S of the Cup and Ring Marked Stones on the B7085 • NX 364 443
Enjoy the peace of this beautiful medieval abbey set in tree-fringed pastures. There is particularly fine early Gothic architecture in its chapter house, within which you can find the effigy of a murdered abbot with a dagger at his heart and a slaughtered assailant at his feet. Mary Queen of Scots spent her last hours in Scotland here after the disastrous Battle of Langside in 1568. • 6.5m SE of Kirkcudbright on the A711 • NX 749 475 • Postcode DG6 4QH • Telephone 01557 500262 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
Tucked in a tranquil valley is one of Scotland’s bestpreserved monasteries. A highlight is the magnificent chapter house, with its ornate windows and grotesque carvings. There is also a remarkable plumbing system that supplied the Cistercian monks with running water. • 2m NW of Glenluce village off the A75 • NX 185 586 • Postcode DG8 0AF • Telephone 01557 331856 • Open summer only, Sun to Tue • Restricted access Wed to Sat • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
dumfries and galloway | 29 Lincluden Collegiate Church
kirkmadrine early christian stones 13
Three of the earliest Christian memorial stones in Britain, dating from the 5th or early 6th century, displayed in the porch of a former chapel. • In the Rhinns of Galloway, 2m SW of Sandhead on the A716 • NX 080 483
laggangairn standing stones 14
Two prehistoric stones carved with early Christian crosses. Difficult access signposted through Forestry Commission land on the Southern Upland Way. • At New Luce on the Southern Upland Way about 5m from Balmurrie Farm by foot. From New Luce take the minor road past the church to Balmurrie Farm • NX 222 716
lincluden collegiate church 15
The remains of a collegiate church and the accommodation for its canons founded in 1389 by Archibald the Grim, 3rd Earl of Douglas (see Threave Castle) on the site of an earlier nunnery. The splendid chancel was probably added by his son Archibald, the 4th Earl, and houses the exquisite monumental tomb of his wife, Princess Margaret, daughter of Robert III. • On the western outskirts of Dumfries in Abbey Lane on the A76 • NX 966 779
The much reduced remains of a royal castle originally built by the English in the 14th century but extensively rebuilt during the reign of James IV (1488-1513). Largely dismantled after its capture by James VI in 1588. The extensive remains of earthworks, including a rectangular ‘peel’ (timber palisaded enclosure) built by Edward I of England, are visible around the masonry castle. View exterior only. • Stands on the Castle Loch 1.5m from Lochmaben on the B7020 • NY 088 811
Explore the impressive residence of a powerful family in the heart of Kirkcudbright and the vaulted ground floor rooms in which their servants once worked. The castle was built in about 1570 by Sir Thomas MacLellan of Bombie. Look for the laird’s lug, a spy hole in the great hall through which the lord could eavesdrop on his guests. • In Kirkcudbright on the A711 • NX 682 510 • Postcode DG6 4JD • Telephone 01557 331856 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
30 | dumfries and galloway New Abbey Corn Mill
A fine carved wayside cross, of 15th century date. • At Woodhouse Farm, 1m N of Kirkpatrick Fleming on the B7076 • NY 250 721 19
• Majestically situated on a promontory overlooking Morton Loch. Take the second turning on the right, 1.5m E of Carronbridge off the A702 • Not signposted • NX 891 992
A rectangular settlement defended by a bank and ditch. It dates from the 1st or 2nd century AD. • 1m W of Whithorn, behind Rispain Farm on the A746 • NX 429 399 23
A fine late 13th century hall house, once a stronghold of the Douglases.
This Anglian cross, sculptured in high relief, dates from the end of the 7th century AD and is one of the major monuments of early medieval Europe. Open by arrangement only. • At Ruthwell, 8.5m SE of Dumfries, sited within the parish church on the B724 • NY 100 682 • Telephone 0131 550 7612
new abbey corn mill
See a beautifully-restored village mill in action and learn about how oatmeal, a staple of the Scottish diet, was once made. A mill was built here by the monks of nearby Sweetheart Abbey, but the present building dates to the late 1700s. • 7m S of Dumfries on the A710 • NX 962 662 • Postcode DG2 8BX • Telephone 01387 850260 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60
st ninian’s cave
Traditionally associated with St Ninian. Early crosses found here are housed at Whithorn Priory Museum, but weathered crosses carved on the walls of the cave are still visible. • Physgill, on the coast 4m SW of Whithorn on the A747 • NX 421 359
st ninian’s chapel
A unique circular tower house of the 1400s.
Restored ruins of a 13th century chapel, probably used by pilgrims on their way to Whithorn.
• 6m SE of Castle Douglas on the A711 • NX 817 551 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri
• At Isle of Whithorn on the A747 • NX 807 598
dumfries and galloway | 31 Sweetheart Abbey
A monument to human and divine love, Sweetheart Abbey was named for its founder, Lady Dervorgilla, who was buried here with the embalmed heart of her beloved husband. War inflicted much damage to the buildings, but the abbey church, with a stone effigy of the founder, survives almost intact. • In New Abbey village on the A710 • NX 965 662 • Postcode DG2 8BU • Telephone 01387 850397 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★
torhouse stone circle
A Bronze-Age stone circle consisting of 19 boulders. • 4m W of Wigtown on the B733 • NX 382 565 29 wanlockhead beam engine
An early 19th century wooden water-balance pump for draining a lead mine, with the track of a horse engine beside it. • In Wanlockhead village off the A76 • NS 869 130
whithorn priory and museum 30
Cross the River Dee by boat to visit this enchanting castle on its own island. Once the bustling base of its creator, Archibald the Grim, it is now an ideal spot for exploring, picnicking and, perhaps, painting. The island is rich with wildflowers in summer; you might also see ospreys and otters hunting in the river. The castle was besieged by King James II for two months in 1455, and fell after the king bribed the garrison to surrender. • 3m W of Castle Douglas on the A75 • NX 739 623 • Postcode DG7 1TJ • Telephone 07711 223101 • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct, first outward sailing at 10am, last outward sailing at 4.30pm. Oct last sailing 3.30pm • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 boat trip included in admission price • Car park is an 800 metre walk from the castle ★★★★
and the whithorn story exhibition This is where some of Scotland’s earliest Christians worshipped about 1,500 years ago. According to legend, St Ninian founded the priory at Whithorn in the early 400s. The Latinus Stone, now displayed here, was raised soon after and remains Scotland’s oldest Christian monument. There is also an outstanding collection of intricately-carved stone crosses. Whithorn is still a place of pilgrimage. • At Whithorn on the A746 • NX 444 402 • Postcode DG8 8PY • Telephone 01988 500700 (Whithorn Trust) • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct 10.30am to 5pm • Admission to the museum and priory is free for HS members • Admission to The Whithorn Story Exhibition: Adult £5.50, Concession, £4.40 and Child £3.30. Members receive a 20% discount on admission • Historic Scotland members’ retail discount does not apply at The Whithorn Story Exhibition • Website: whithornpriorymuseum.gov.uk
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire
Firth of Clyde
Bute 30 Sound of Bute 9 6
25 GLASGOW 16
Kilwinning Irvine Bay
Ayr 22 28
27 0 Kms 0 Miles
FIRTH OF CLYDE
EAST DUMBARTONSHIRE 3 WEST 23 DUMBARTONSHIRE
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire | 33 Antonine Wall: Bar Hill Roman Fort
Antonine Wall: Croy Hill
antonine wall monuments
antonine wall: croy hill
The Antonine Wall was the Roman Empire’s northwest frontier. It ran for 37 miles from Bo’ness to Old Kirkpatrick. It consisted of a turf rampart fronted by a ditch, with forts about every two miles and a road running for the entire length of the frontier. The Wall was built in the 140s AD and was occupied for about 20 years. See also Antonine Wall entries in Central and West section. All of the Antonine Wall Monuments are part of a World Heritage Site.
Stroll along the former Roman frontier with its deep, rock-cut ditch and traces of turf rampart climbing along a ridge at Croy Hill. Along the line is the site of a fort, fortlet and two beacon platforms.
antonine wall: bearsden bath-house 1
The well-preserved remains of a bath-house and latrine, built in the 2nd century AD to serve a small fort. • On Roman Road, Bearsden, Glasgow • Signposted from Bearsden Cross on A810 • Approximately 600 metres down Roman Road • NS 546 720
antonine wall: bar hill fort 2
Explore the highest fort on the Antonine Wall where the foundations of the Roman army headquarters and bath-house are still visible. A small Iron Age fort stands close by, overlooking the rock-cut ditch that marks the frontier. There are superb views over the Kelvin Valley from this strategic spot. • 0.5m E of Twechar • Signposted from village • Access from B8023 Kirkintilloch to Kilsyth Road • NS 706 759 - 714 762
• Between Croy and Dullatur. Access from B802 • NS 725 762 - 739 769
4 antonine wall: dullatur
A well-preserved section of ditch. To the north is Dullatur Marsh, now a very important habitat for birds. • 0.5m E of Dullatur off the A803. Access along farm road • NS 751 772 - 756 773
5 antonine wall: westerwood to castlecary (garnhall district)
Follow the ditch that marks the former Roman frontier as it crosses farmland close to Cumbernauld. • West of Castlecary off the B816. Access from minor road • NS 769 777 - 783 782
34 | glasgow, clyde and ayrshire Arran: Moss Farm Road Stone Circle
arran: auchagallon cairn 6
Visit a Bronze Age cairn surrounded by a circle of 14 standing stones looking out over Kilbrannan Sound towards Kintyre. • 4m N of Blackwaterfoot on the W side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 893 346
arran: carn ban
Take a four mile walk up a wooded hillside to discover a 5,000 year old chambered cairn where Arran’s Neolithic farmers staged rituals for their dead. • 3.5m NE of Lagg on the W side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 990 262 • Not signposted
arran: kilpatrick dun (or cashel) 8
The ruins of a circular drystone building of unknown date, with a more recent enclosure wall. Walk of half mile to site. • 1m S of Blackwaterfoot on the W side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 906 262 • Not signposted • Visitors should park at the bottom of the road and walk to site on foot
Arran: Lochranza Castle
arran: lochranza castle
A fine tower house, a 16th century redevelopment of a late 13th century hall house. The mountains to the south of the castle are home to many birds. The castle is a good vantage point for watching seals. • At the northern coast of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 931 506 • Open summer only
10 arran: machrie moor stone circles
The remains of five stone circles of Bronze-Age date, one of the most important sites of its kind in Britain. • 3m N of Blackwaterfoot on the W side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 910 324
arran: moss farm road stone circle 11
The remains of a Bronze-Age cairn surrounded by a stone circle. • 3m N of Blackwaterfoot on the W side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 900 326 • Parking available at Machrie Moor
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire | 35 Bothwell Castle
arran: torr a’chaisteal fort
biggar gasworks museum
A circular late Iron Age fort on a ridge.
Typical of a small town coal-gas works, Biggar is the only one surviving in Scotland. The oldest part of the works dates from 1839. Managed by the Friends of Biggar Gasworks Museum.
• 4m S of Blackwaterfoot on the SW side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 921 232
arran: torrylin cairn
A Neolithic chambered cairn, with four compartments visible. • 0.25m SE of Lagg on the S side of Arran off the coastal route (formerly A841) • NR 955 210
• In Biggar. Located in Gas Works Road off A702 Edinburgh to Abington Road • NT 038 376 • Telephone 01899 221070 • Open daily Jun to Sept, 2pm to 5pm. Last admission 4.30pm • Please call for up-to-date prices • Museum can be opened out of season by appointment
A fine free-standing early 10th century cross that formerly stood in Houston parish, west of Paisley. • In Paisley Abbey in the centre of Paisley • NS 485 639 • Open Mon to Sat 10am to 3.30pm
Bothwell is Scotland’s largest and finest 13th century castle. Part of the original circular keep survives. The adjacent semi-natural ancient woodland is full of woodland flowers, especially during the spring. There is access to the Clyde Walkway. • At Uddingston off the B7071 • NS 688 593 • Postcode G71 8BL • Telephone 01698 816894 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
36 | glasgow, clyde and ayrshire Glasgow Cathedral
Constructed between 1500 and 1550, Cadzow Castle was known as the castle in the woods of Hamilton. Sir James Hamilton of Finnart built it for his half brother, the 2nd Earl of Arran. At present, only the exterior of the castle can be viewed. Overlooking a parkland known as the Cadzow Oaks, all that remains of a medieval hunting park. • In the grounds of Chatelherault Country Park, Hamilton. Exit M74 at Junction 6 • NS 735 537
castle semple collegiate church 18
A late Gothic church, with a later three-sided east end with windows of unusual style. Located next to Castle Semple and Barr lochs, both important for their plants and birds. The RSPB have a visitor centre at the south end of Castle Semple Loch. • 2m W of Howwood on the B787 then on to the B776. Longer access through the country park from Castle Semple Visitor Centre • NS 377 601
A good example of an early castle mound, which would have been surmounted by a palisade and timber tower. • 1.5m SW of Biggar. On A72 Biggar to Lanark Road • NT 018 362
An exceptional fortress–residence that was overthrown within 50 years of its construction despite its state-of-the-art artillery defences. Built about 1530, it was the brainchild of Sir James Hamilton of Finnart, King James V’s talented master of works. There is evidence of his many military innovations, including a shooting gallery or caponier. But within a generation it was ‘cast doun’ by order of the Privy Council. The surrounding woodland in the deep Nethan gorge is rich with wildflowers and birdlife. • From the M74, take Junction 8 or 9. Follow the signs to Blackwood, then the signs to Craignethan Castle • NS 815 463 • Postcode ML11 9PL • Telephone 01555 860364 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
The altered ruin of an unusual 15th century castle, consisting of a central tower with four square corner towers, set within 12th century earthworks. Affords excellent views of south-west Glasgow. • From M8 in Glasgow, cross the Kingston Bridge. Follow M77 for about 2 miles. Exit Junction 2 (Barrhead/Pollokshaws). At traffic lights on slip road turn right on to Barrhead Road. At Pollock roundabout take third exit on to Brockburn Road. Follow until end is in sight. Before traffic lights, turn right on to Linthaugh Road and right again into Towerside Road • Signposted Crookston Castle • NS 525 627 • Telephone 0141 883 9606 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire | 37 Crossraguel Abbey
Climb the impressive gatehouse tower for a bird’s eye view of one of the most complete medieval abbey complexes in Scotland. Now hauntingly beautiful, its substantial ruins guard some violent secrets. One abbot was roasted over a fire by a nobleman seeking to regain control over the abbey. • 2m S of Maybole on the A77 • NS 275 083 • Postcode KA19 8HQ • Telephone 01655 883113 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★
Conquer more than 500 steps to stand atop one of Scotland’s greatest strongholds. The iconic Rock of the Clyde has heritage as breathtaking as its views over the Clyde, Loch Lomond and Argyll. Dumbarton was a centre of power in what later became the Kingdom of Strathclyde. It was later sacked by Vikings. The castle became a cornerstone of medieval royal power and latterly served as a military base and prison. You can explore its many fortifications with our interactive family trail. • In Dumbarton off the A82 • NS 398 744 - NS 401 745 • Postcode G82 1JJ • Telephone 01389 732167 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60. Last ticket sold 45 mins before closing ★★★★
Explore the high-vaulted halls and gloomy dungeons of this splendid stronghold, perched on a hill above the village. The main tower was built in the 1370s by King Robert II to mark his succession to the throne. Its heritage is explored in the visitor centre. • In the village of Dundonald on the A71, 12m from Ayr and 5m from Kilmarnock. Leave A77 onto B730 and follow signs for Dundonald • Postcode KA2 9HD • Telephone 01563 851489 • Members’ retail discount not applicable • Open seven days a week, 25 Mar to 31 Oct 10am to 5pm. Last entry 4.30pm • Access by prior arrangement and subject to availability during the winter season • Please call for up-to-date prices ★★★★
The most complete medieval cathedral on the Scottish mainland is still a working church with an active congregation. From its magnificent nave and choir to the atmospheric crypt of St Mungo (who was supposedly buried here in AD 614), Glasgow Cathedral is full of intriguing features. Look for the tomb of Bishop Wishart, a key supporter of Robert the Bruce, and the carving of a lucky ladybird. • In Glasgow off the M8, J15 next to the Royal Infirmary • NS 603 656 • Postcode G4 0QZ • Telephone 0141 552 6891 / 0141 552 0988 • Open all year. Summer 9.30am to 5.30pm, Sun 1pm to 5pm. Winter 10am to 4pm, Sun 1pm to 4pm. Last admission 30 mins before closing. Last entry to Lower Church 45 mins before closing • Visitors requiring wheelchair access please call prior to visit to find out about access arrangements
38 | glasgow, clyde and ayrshire Newark Castle
The much-reduced remains of a Tironensian-Benedictine abbey, established from Kelso. Most of the surviving fragments, which consist of parts of the abbey church and chapter house, are of 13th century date.
This 15th century castle is most associated with Patrick Maxwell. He transformed the castle into a fine Renaissance mansion, but was notorious for murdering two neighbours and mistreating his wife.
• In Kilwinning. Off A78 Kilwinning to Ardrossan Road • NS 303 433
• In Port Glasgow on the A8 at Newark Roundabout • Postcode PA14 5NH • Telephone 01475 741858 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60
loch doon castle
Transplanted in the mid-1930s from an island in the middle of Loch Doon due to a hydro-electric scheme. The castle consists of an 11-sided curtain wall of fine masonry, dating from 1300. Loch Doon has a unique population of Arctic Char. • Turn right 2m S of Dalmellington on the A713 on to an unclassified road • Signposted for Loch Doon • NX 484 950
28 maybole collegiate church
The chapel of St Mary was founded by John Kennedy of Dunure in 1371 and the associated college 11 years later. Its function was to allow prayers to be said for the founder and his family. • Approaching Maybole on the A77 from Ayr. At the crossroads in the town centre, turn left onto the B7023 • Signposted Crosshill, and then take first right • NS 301 098 • Open summer only • Collect key from Crossraguel Abbey
Cross the drawbridge over the moat and climb the ‘bloody stair’ to the circular ramparts, or descend into a forbidding pit prison. This doughty stronghold, built in the 1200s, was twice besieged and captured by the Norse, who battered down the wall with their axes. A short film tells this remarkable story. The castle has also been a royal base: Robert III died here and James IV used it to launch campaigns against the Lords of the Isles. • In Rothesay, Isle of Bute. Ferry from Wemyss Bay on the A78. The castle is only a few mins walk from the ferry terminal • NS 088 645 • Postcode PA20 0DA • Telephone 01700 502691 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire | 39 St Blane’s Church
st blane’s church, kingarth 31
A 12th century Romanesque chapel set within an early Christian monastery. A charming, tranquil spot. • At the south end of the Isle of Bute • NS 094 535
st bride’s church, douglas
st mary’s chapel, rothesay 33
The late-medieval remains of the chancel of the parish church of St Mary, recently reroofed to protect its fine Stewart tombs. • On the outskirts of Rothesay • NS 086 636 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri
The choir and south side of the nave of a late 14th century parish church. The choir contains three canopied monuments to the Black Douglas family, including the tomb of Good Sir James who famously carried Bruce’s heart on crusade. • Access throughout the year can be arranged by contacting the Key Keeper • Winter closed Thurs and Fri • NS 835 309 • Telephone 01555 851657
This jewel-like monument was erected in 1636 for Sir Robert Montgomerie of Skelmorlie. Contains an elaborate carved stone tomb in Renaissance style and a painted timber ceiling, with lively scenes illustrating the seasons. Open late May to early September from 2pm to 5pm. Collect key from the Largs Museum. • In Largs on the A78 • Signposted from the Main Street • NS 202 594 • Telephone 01475 687081
Image An effigy of a late fourteenthMade to be catapulted at castle defences from a trebuchet, now on display at Bothwell Castle See page 35
central and west
Isle of Mull
ARGYLL AND BUTE
MULL OF OA Machrihanish Bay
N 0 Kms 10 0 Miles
34 35 36 37 38 39 40
12 3 50
28 29 30 31 33 Sound of Bute
Tarbert 44 45
STIRLING Falkirk Dunoon
Loch Katrine Loch Lomond
Bowmore Laggan Bay
7 46 47 48 49
central and west | 41 Ardchattan Priory
antonine wall monuments See also entries in Glasgow, Clyde and Ayrshire section. All Antonine Wall Monuments are part of a World Heritage Site.
antonine wall: castlecary 1
The low earthworks of a stone-walled fort.
antonine wall: watling lodge (east and west) 4
Two sections on each side of the house known as Watling Lodge (there is no entry to the house or grounds). The eastern section is one of the deepest and steepest stretches of the ditch visible. • In Falkirk • Signposted from A9. Access from the B816 from Tamfourhill • NS 863 798 - 866 798
• E of Castlecary village on B816 Cumbernauld to Bonnybridge Road • NS 790 783 6
2 antonine wall: seabegs wood
antonine wall: rough castle 3
The best-preserved length of rampart and ditch, together with the earthworks of a fort and a short length of military way with quarry pits. This is the best site to gain an impression of how the frontier and its integral forts worked. • Signposted from the B816 between Bonnybridge and High Bonnybridge • NS 835 798 - 845 799
The ruins of a Valliscaulian priory founded in 1230 and later converted to secular use. • On Loch Etive, 6.5m NE of Oban off the A828 • NM 971 349
A stretch of rampart and ditch with the military way behind. • 1m W of Bonnybridge. Access from the B816 on Castlecary to Bonnybridge Road • NS 811 792 - 818 792
Enjoy a glimpse of the home life of a wealthy Scottish nobleman of the 1600s. The most complete townhouse of its kind, its interior has been reconstructed to look as it may have done when Archibald Campbell, 9th Earl of Argyll, lived here. Access via Stirling Castle’s admission office. • In Stirling’s historic old town just below Stirling Castle off the M9 • NS 792 938 • Postcode FK8 1EG • Please call the castle for opening times. Telephone 01786 450000 • Wheelchair users can only access ground floor • Car parking at Stirling Castle £2.00 in summer, free in winter • Admission included in Stirling Castle ticket ★★★★
42 | central and west Bonawe Historic Iron Furnace
bonawe historic iron furnace
castle campbell and gardens
Once a place of fire and fury, the most complete charcoal-fuelled ironworks in Britain are now tranquil. Step inside the stone furnace complex and storage buildings of this pioneering 18th century site and discover the Highlands’ role in the Industrial Revolution. The furnace only ceased firing in 1870.
Discover the drama of this remarkably well preserved, brooding medieval castle, set high above tree-covered ravines and plunging burns on the edge of the Ochil Hills. This was the lowland residence of the powerful Campbell dynasty, where the Protestant reformer John Knox came to preach and Mary Queen of Scots came to feast.
Take a walk through beautiful grounds down to the quayside where raw materials were once unloaded. The views up Loch Etive are breathtaking.
You can learn about the rise and fall of the Campbells of Argyll and admire the Forth Valley from the rooftops. You can also picnic in beautiful gardens and climb through the Dollar Glen, a haven for plants and wildlife.
• By the village of Taynuilt off the A85 • NN 010 318 • Postcode PA35 1JQ • Telephone 01866 822432 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
In its day the abbey was a famous house of Augustinian canons, the scene of Robert Bruce’s Parliament in 1314 and burial place of James III and his queen. The fine detached bell tower is the only substantial survivor but extensive foundations remain of the other buildings. The ground floor of the tower is the only internal space open to the public. • 1m E of Stirling off the A907 • NS 809 939 • Open summer only
• At the head of Dollar Glen, 10m E of Stirling on the A91 • NS 961 993 • Postcode FK14 7PP • Telephone 01259 742408 • No coach/bus access – 30 to 45 mins uphill walk from car park • Due to current road conditions visitors are advised to leave vehicle at woodland quarry car park on Castle Road and make their way to site on foot. Visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/places for more info • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
One of the oldest castles in Scotland, built by Suibhne, ancestor of the MacSweens in the 12th century. Later towers were built in addition to now vanished wooden structures. • On the E shore of Loch Sween, in Knapdale off the B8025, past Achnamara • NR 712788 • 20 to 30 mins walk downhill from parking location
central and west | 43 Doune Castle
A fine 14th century keep enlarged in the 15th century. View exterior only. • In Clackmannan village near Alloa off the A907 • NS 905 920 • Park in centre of the village. 10 to 15 mins walk
This near-complete castle set amid lovely Stirlingshire countryside was built as the home of Regent Albany, Scotland’s ‘uncrowned king’. It was later a royal residence, a dower house for widowed queens and a Jacobite prison. It was partially restored in the 1880s. The great hall and kitchen tower are particularly impressive. The audio guide is narrated by Terry Jones, and recalls the filming of Monty Python and the Holy Grail here. The site has also been used as a film location for Game of Thrones and Outlander. • In Doune, 10m NW of Stirling off the A84 • NN 725 014 - 730 001 • Postcode FK16 6EA • Telephone 01786 841742 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Our visitor car park is located 275 metres from the castle and is free of charge. Alternatively visitors can use the public car park in the nearby village of Doune and walk to the castle. We ask that visitors do not park on Castle Road ★★★★
One of Scotland’s finest medieval churches. The lower part of the tower is Romanesque but most of the building was built in the 1200s, and extensively restored in the 1800s. • In Dunblane just off the B8033 • NN 782 014 • Postcode FK15 0AQ • Telephone 01786 823388 • Open standard hours except Sun, when the site is open from 2pm (it is closed Sun morning to facilitate church services) • Donations welcome • A wheelchair is available ★★★★
dunstaffnage castle and chapel 15 16
From the rugged battlements of this strategically sited castle you can see how it once dominated Loch Etive. Outside the ramparts lie a ruined chapel, well-kept grounds and pebbly beaches with views to Mull, Lismore and Morvern. Built by Duncan MacDougall in the 1200s, the castle was captured by Robert the Bruce in 1309. Flora MacDonald was imprisoned here after helping Bonnie Prince Charlie escape Scotland. The three-storey gatehouse built around 1500 is now open to visitors. • Near Dunbeg, 3m N of Oban off the A85 beyond the European Science Business Park • NM 882 344 • Postcode PA37 1PZ • Telephone 01631 562465 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
44 | central and west Eileach an Naoimh
eileach an naoimh
The ruins of an early Christian monastery, reputedly founded by St Brendan the Navigator, with the most complete beehive cells in Scotland and a later church and chapel. Dolphins can be seen offshore. • An island in the Garvellach group, N of Jura • NM 637 096
eilean mor: st cormac’s chapel 18
A chapel with a vaulted chancel containing the effigy of an ecclesiastical figure, probably of 12th century date. Within the Knapdale national scenic area with views across Loch Sween to Taynish national nature reserve. • On an islet off the coast of Knapdale • NR 666 753 • St Cormac’s Cave is currently closed owing to rock fall delamination
A 13th century chapel containing later grave slabs of West Highland type. • On an island on the west side of Mull • NM 437 354
See page 2 for more information
exclusive members’ magazine Keep up to date with what’s going on at Historic Scotland.
Take a scenic boat trip across Scotland’s only lake (as opposed to loch) to this peaceful, wooded island sanctuary with a medieval priory at its heart. Founded around 1238, the priory was home to Augustinian canons for more than 300 years. It was visited by Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots. There are some beautifully-decorated features and fine medieval carved graveslabs. The island is perfect for a short walk or a waterside picnic. It is a haven for wildlife. Look for the Spanish chestnuts and the boxwood bower supposedly planted by Mary. • On an island in the Lake of Menteith. Reached by boat from Port of Menteith 8m S of Callander off the A81 • NN 574 005 • FK8 3RA • Telephone 01877 385294 • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct, 10am to last outward sailing at 4.15pm. Oct last outward sailing 3.15pm. Shop closed 12.30pm to 1.30pm • No water supply for drinking. Hand sanitiser available for hand-washing • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Boat trip to island included in admission price ★★★★
central and west | 45 Iona Abbey
Iona: MacLean’s Cross
iona abbey and nunnery 21 22
Iona Abbey is an ancient holy place. Founded by St Columba in 563, the early monastery was a powerhouse of Christian learning. Great works of art were created here, including Iona’s iconic high crosses and the world-famous Book of Kells. Despite devastating Viking raids, the abbey continued to thrive, transformed into a Benedictine monastery in about 1200. Pilgrims have travelled here for centuries and the abbey remains a vibrant centre of Christianity. Its buildings were restored in the 1900s and in 1938, the Iona Community was founded to revive its traditions of work, worship and teaching. Highlights of a visit include the abbey church, high crosses, Columba’s shrine and site of the saint’s writing cell. Iona also boasts Scotland’s finest collection of carved stones and crosses, now on display in the Abbey Museum. Also nearby are the attractive ruins of the Augustinian nunnery – a rare survival in Scotland. • On the island of Iona, public ferry (for pedestrian visitors only) from Fionnphort, Mull. 10 mins walk from ferry to Abbey • Postcode PA76 6SQ • Telephone 01681 700512 • Open all year. Closed Sun in winter • Admission to the Abbey: Adult £7.10 Child £4.30 Concession £5.70 • Visit our website: ionahistory.org.uk ★★★★★
iona: maclean’s cross
A stunning collection of West Highland graveslabs and early medieval sculpture that includes the magnificent Keills Cross. • 6m SW of Tayvallich off the B8025 • NR 690 806
kilberry sculptured stones 25
A collection of late-medieval sculptured stones gathered from the Kilberry estate. • 17m SSW of Lochgilphead on the west coast of Knapdale off the B8024 • NR 709 642 26
Beneath towering mountains at the top of Loch Awe is one of the most picturesque castles in Scotland. Home to the Campbells of Glenorchy, among Argyll’s most important families, its ruins are still substantial and have inspired poets and artists. • At the NE end of Loch Awe, 2.5m W of Dalmally off the A85. Access on foot is possible under Loch Awe railway viaduct via a pedestrian gate. Care should be taken as the area is liable to flooding and footpath is inconsistent • NN 133 276 • Not signposted • Open summer only • No vehicular access or parking
A fine 15th century free-standing cross. • On the roadside between Iona Abbey and Nunnery • NM 285 242
The finest carved stone high cross in Scotland, dating to the 8th century. • On the island of Islay, N of Ardbeg off the A846 • NR 458 508
46 | central and west Kilmartin Glen: Achnabreck Rock Art
kilmartin glen monuments Explore the richest prehistoric landscape in mainland Scotland. Many artefacts associated with these monuments are displayed in the Kilmartin House Museum. 28
achnabreck rock art
Take a pleasant walk through hillside woods to the most extensive rock art site in Britain. Among the enigmatic designs are distinctive horned spirals and a colossal cup-and-ring motif a metre across. • Signposted off the A816 outside Cairnbaan, 2m N of Lochgilphead. 500 metre walk • By proceeding 800m along an accessible path, people with disabilities can access one of the two stones • NR 856 906
• 200 yards uphill NW of the Cairnbaan Hotel, situated at the Junction of the A816 and B841 • NR 838 910
ballygowan rock art
One of the first rock art sites to be recognised in modern times, Ballygowan features rare horseshoe motifs and has views down over the glen. • 1m SW of Kilmartin off the A816 near Slockavullin • NR 816 978 • Not signposted and no vehicle access
baluachraig rock art
Walk the short distance from Dunchraigaig, and you will arrive at this exquisite rock art site. Look for lines of cup marks pecked into the outcrop. • 1m SSE of Kilmartin off the A816 • NR 831 969
cairnbaan rock art
Follow a woodland trail up to two decorated outcrops that prompted much speculation among Victorian antiquaries. The enigmatic multiple rings carved into the higher panel some 4,500 years ago are particularly fine.
At the top of a rocky path stands the splendid Renaissance residence of the first Protestant Bishop of the Isles. Partial access to the castle during 2016/17 for maintenance work. • 2m N of Kilmartin off the A816 • NM 838 009 • 10 to 15 mins uphill walk
Stand where the kings of Dál Riata were inaugurated more than 1,200 years ago atop this iconic hill fort. The carved footprint on a decorated outcrop marks the heart of the ancient kingdom. To breach the hill fort’s impressive defences, you must climb a rough path and pass along the gully that cuts through the high ramparts. The views across Argyll are spectacular. • Signposted off the A816, 2m S of Kilmartin • NR 837 936
Please be advised there may be adders in this area during spring and summer months.
central and west | 47 Kilmartin Glen: Dunadd Fort
This early Bronze Age cairn nestles in a picturesque woodland grove. Look for two stone cists. The Ballymeanoch henge and standing stones are close by. • 1.25m S of Kilmartin off the A816 • NR 833 968
nether largie cairns
You can climb inside the Neolithic tomb at Nether Largie South, find Bronze Age carvings in a subterranean room within Nether Largie North, and appreciate the view from Nether Largie Mid. • Between Kilmartin and Nether Largie • NR 830 983, 831 985, 828 979 • Parking at Lady Glassary Wood off the A816
glebe cairn, kilmartin
You can see the glen’s line of cairns from the top of this Bronze Age monument. Two cists or graves and a stone circle are buried beneath its water-worn stones. • At Kilmartin Glebe off the A816 • NR 832 989 • Park near church and walk down hill towards garage
Kilmartin Glen: Temple Wood Stone Circles
ri cruin cairn
Look for axehead carvings inside one of the cists or graves in this Bronze Age cairn set in woodland. • 1m SW of Kilmartin off the A816 • NR 825 971
Encounter effigies of medieval Gaelic knights and fantastic beasts in an outstanding collection of West Highland graveslabs. Inside the church are three beautiful medieval stone crosses. • In Kilmartin Churchyard in the village of Kilmartin on the A816 • NR 827 977
kilmichael glassary rock art 37
Look for the keyhole motifs among the designs carved into this hillside outcrop some 4,500 years ago. • Near the schoolhouse, Kilmichael Glassary off the A816 • NR 857 934
temple wood stone circles 40
Two stone circles were built here about 4,700 years ago, aligned to the movement of the Sun and Moon. Looked for carved spirals and the remains of cists or graves in one of Kilmartin’s most famous monuments. Pass through the Nether Largie standing stones between the circles and the Lady Glassary Wood car park. • 0.25m SW of Nether Largie off the A816 • NR 826 978 • Please use car park at Lady Glassary Wood
48 | central and west Kilmory Knap Chapel
kilmodan sculptured stones
A group of West Highland carved grave slabs exhibited in a burial aisle within Kilmodan churchyard. Woodlands here support many ferns and mosses. Bats, red squirrels, otters and golden eagles are seen here.
Almost 2,000 years of history can be found in the landscaped grounds of this historic house: the remains of a Roman fort, the impressive exterior of a stately home and an outhouse where James Watt worked on his first steam engine.
• At Clachan of Glendaruel, 8m N of Colintraive off the A886 • NR 995 842
There are also 80 hectares of woodland and lochs and a child-friendly museum. On special heritage days you can step inside and see the stunning wall-paintings of the 1500s that once saved this house from demolition. Visit kinneil.org.uk for details.
kilmory knap chapel
A small medieval chapel with a collection of typical West Highland grave slabs and some early medieval sculpture. In the church is Macmillan’s Cross, a splendid piece of medieval carving. • On the shore between Loch Sween and Loch Caolisport in South Knapdale off the B8025 past Achnamara • NR 703 752
• On the western outskirts of Bo’ness. Off A904 follow signs for Kinneil Museum • NS 982 805 • Telephone 01506 778530 • Kinneil Museum offers audio visual interpretation of Kinneil House and its estate. The museum is open 12.30pm to 4pm, Mon to Sat
central and west | 49 Stirling: Mar’s Wark
skipness castle and chapel 44 45
A fine 13th century castle with a 16th century tower house in one corner. A short walk leads from the castle to the earlier 14th century chapel, which lies near the seashore and holds a small collection of fine grave slabs. Castle exterior and chapel accessible all year round. The interior of the tower at the castle is open summer only. • S of the village of Skipness on the E coast of Kintyre off the B8001 • NR 908 578, NR 910 575
stirling: mar’s wark
A remarkable Renaissance mansion built by the Earl of Mar, regent for James VI in 1570 and later used as the town workhouse. It was never completed and now only the façade can be seen. • At the head of Castle Wynd • NS 792 936 49
stirling: old bridge
A handsome bridge built in the 15th or early 16th century; partially rebuilt in 1749. • On the River Forth off the M9 at Stirling • NS 797 945
See pages 50 - 51 for full details. 47
stirling: king’s knot
The earthworks of a splendid formal garden, possibly made in 1628 for Charles I. • Below castle rock, Stirling • NS 787 941
Image General view of bat sculpture at Doune Castle nature trail See page 43
A handsome rectangular dovecot with a heraldic panel dated 1647 over the entrance doorway. • At Westquarter, near Laurieston. Access off the A803 on the Linlithgow to Laurieston Road into Westquarter, then into the west end of Dovecot Road • NS 913 787
50 | central and west The Great Kitchens
Stirling Castle is one of Scotland’s most celebrated visitor attractions. For centuries Scotland’s kings and queens held court here and revelled in its beauty and grandeur. The Castle’s Royal Palace has been impressively returned to its Renaissance glory and is the crown in the visitor experience! Visitors will be met by costumed characters, from royalty to servants and court officials, who will share all the intrigue and politics of the Stewart royal court and show visitors around the stunning royal apartments. Other highlights include the Great Hall, Chapel Royal, Great Kitchens and the Regimental Museum of the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders.
enjoying a visit The refurbished palace is at the heart of the visitor experience with its lavishly decorated rooms and costumed characters. Visitors can also discover the original Stirling Heads in our Gallery on the upper floor. Visit the castle exhibition in the Queen Anne Gardens which brings the castle’s history to life. Families will particularly enjoy the interactive displays and activities in the palace vaults including dressing in period costume and playing medieval instruments. Our specially-designed Access Gallery allows disabled visitors to experience areas within the castle which are inaccessible and we also have a courtesy vehicle for those who have difficulty with steep inclines.
gifts and refreshments Our three shops sell a wide range of gifts, souvenirs, whisky, books, clan tartans and jewellery. The Unicorn Café offers a delicious menu of hot and cold food and, during summer, The Pentice Terrace Café provides sandwiches, home baking and refreshments.
central and west | 51 Enjoy the Queen Anne Gardens
colourful of the history royal palace
visit • • • •
Leave M9 at Junction 10 and follow local road signs Postcode FK8 1EJ Telephone 01786 450000 Open all year seven days a week. 25 Mar to 30 Sept 9.30am to 6pm, 1 Oct to 31 Mar 9.30am to 5pm. Last ticket sold 45 mins before closing. Regimental Museum opening times vary – please check website for details • Admission: Adult £14.50 Child £8.70 Concession £11.60 • Car parking charge for members is £2 from 25 Mar to 30 Sept and free from 1 Oct to 31 Mar ★★★★★
Image Part of the Stirling heads exhibition on display at Stirling Castle
Try out our interactive games and discover the stories behind the Stirling Heads at stirlingcastle.gov.uk
the kingdom of fife
St Andrews 12
Leslie Glenrothes 3
Cowdenbeath DUNFERMLINE Kincardine
FIRTH OF FORTH
5 1 13
N 0 Kilometres 0 Miles
the kingdom of fife | 53 Aberdour Castle
Dunfermline Abbey and Palace
aberdour castle and gardens 1
This splendid ruin was once the luxurious Renaissance home and pleasure gardens of Regent Morton, in his heyday Scotland’s most powerful man. Aberdour was originally built as a fortified residence in the 1100s, making it one of the oldest stone castles in the country. The fine painted ceiling dates from the 1600s. • In Aberdour, 8m E of the Forth Bridges on the A921 • NT 192 854 • Postcode KY3 0SL • Telephone 01383 860519 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Railway station is a short walk from the castle • The tearoom (open summer only) offers a wide range of homemade cakes and scones and, in summer, visitors can enjoy lunch at our picnic tables • Self-service tea/coffee available in winter • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
The remains of a Cistercian monastery founded in 1217. These are ruins of the nave, cellars and domestic buildings. The eastern parts of the abbey church are the present parish church and are not in the care of Historic Scotland. • At the head of the village of Culross off the A985. Access by foot from nearby parking on the shores of the Forth • NS 989 862 • Open summer only
Once a splendid free-standing cross probably of 9th century date. All that now remains is a much weathered fragment, best appreciated when appropriate lighting conditions highlight the surviving decoration. • In a field at Dogton farmhouse, 1.5m Eason of Cardenden railway station off the B9222 • Not signposted • NT 236 968
dunfermline abbey and palace 4
Admire one of Scotland’s most impressive medieval interiors and most important royal sites, founded as a priory in about 1080. Robert the Bruce was buried in the medieval choir, now beneath the Abbey Church of 1821. St Margaret and David I are among the other monarchs interred here. Charles I was born in the palace that grew up alongside the abbey. Look for grand architecture, elaborate carvings, a painted vault of the 1500s, beautiful stained glass windows and displays of sculpture. The Abbey Church is not managed by Historic Scotland but is open to the public. For further details visit dunfermlineabbey.co.uk • In Dunfermline off the M90 • NT 090 873 • Postcode KY12 7PE • Telephone 01383 739026 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri. Abbey Church (not Historic Scotland) closed Oct to Apr. As the Abbey Church is not in the care of Historic Scotland opening times may vary. Call 01383 739026 for details • Closed for lunch 12.30pm to 1.30pm • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
54 | the kingdom of fife Inchcolm Abbey
St Andrews Castle
inchcolm abbey and island 6
Escape by boat to this remarkable island, home to one of the most complete medieval abbeys in Scotland. It was supposedly founded by King Alexander I after he was stranded here in 1123. Step inside the near-complete cloisters and chapter house, learn more in the visitor centre and drink in views over the Firth of Forth from the bell tower. Elsewhere on the island are wartime fortifications. Look out for seals from the ferry. Access to parts of the island may be restricted between May and August when some seabirds aggressively protect their young. No water supply for drinking or washing on the island. • On Inchcolm in the Firth of Forth • Postcode EH30 9TB (Hawes Pier, South Queensferry) • NT 189 826 • Telephone 01383 823332 or 07836 265146 • Access by ferry: Forth Tours on 0870 118 1866, forthtours.com or Maid of the Forth on 0131 331 5000, maidoftheforth.co.uk • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • The ferries are not operated by Historic Scotland and a charge will apply. Please show membership card when purchasing tickets to ensure the abbey entrance fee is deducted ★★★★
Begun in 1460 by Queen Mary of Gueldres, the widow of James II, this formidable castle consists of two robust round towers linked by a cross range with further buildings on the promotory. View exterior only. • On the eastern outskirts of Kirkcaldy off the A955 Dysart Road • NT 290 924
st andrews castle
For centuries, the residence of Scotland’s most powerful churchmen. Some of its remarkable secrets are hewn into the rock beneath its battlements. You can explore a unique underground mine and countermine, dug during the brutal siege of 1546 -7. You can also gaze into the gloomy bottle dungeon in which prisoners were confined. The castle stands on a headland looking out into the North Sea. A home to bishops, archbishops and a cardinal, it was in the thick of the struggle for hearts and minds during the Protestant Reformation. • In St Andrews on the A91 • NO 512 169 • Postcode KY16 9AR • Telephone 01334 477196 • Open all year • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Joint ticket with the cathedral: Adult £8.00 Child £4.80 Concession £6.40 ★★★★
the kingdom of fife | 55 St Andrews Cathedral
St Bridget’s’ Kirk
st andrews cathedral
The magnificent medieval ruins stand on a site used for Christian worship since the 8th century, when the relics of St Andrew were reputedly brought here. The cathedral dominated the religious establishment until the Protestant Reformation in 1560. Climb St Rule’s Tower for a glorious view over the streets and sands of St Andrews. An important collection of early Christian stone carvings is displayed in the museum. • In St Andrews on the A91 • NO 513 166 • Postcode KY16 9QL • Telephone 01334 472563 • Open all year • St Rule’s Tower may be closed during high winds • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 • Joint ticket with the castle: Adult £8.00 Child £4.80 Concession £6.40
st andrews: west port
One of the few surviving city gates in Scotland, built in 1589 and renovated in 1843. View exterior only. • At the junction of South Street with Bridge Street • Not signposted • NO 506 165 13 st bridget’s kirk, dalgety
The shell of a medieval church, much altered in the 17th century for Protestant worship. On the west end is a burial vault with laird’s loft above, built for the Earl of Dunfermline. • On the shores of the Forth, 2m SW of Aberdour off the A921. On the Fife Coastal Path (between Aberdour and Dalgety Bay) • Not signposted • NT 169 838
st andrews: blackfriars chapel 10
A vaulted side aisle survives of this church of Dominican friars, which was built in about 1516. View exterior only. • In South Street opposite junction with Bell Street • Not signposted • NO 507 165 11 st andrews: st mary’s church, kirkheugh
The scanty foundations of a small cruciform church on the edge of the cliff behind the cathedral. It became the earliest collegiate church in Scotland. Destroyed at the Reformation in 1560. • On the coastal path to the pier and just north of St Andrews Cathedral • Not signposted • NO 515 166
Probably built in the 15th century and re-modelled in the 17th century. Renowned as the home of Sir John Scot, author of Scot of Scotstarvit’s Staggering State of the Scots Statesmen. It is a particularly handsome and well-built tower. Views of the exterior throughout the year. • 3m south of Cupar off the A916 • NO 370 112 • Access: Call Hill of Tarvit Mansionhouse on 01334 653127 for information on internal access (summer only) • No parking at the tower, but visitors can park at the Hill of Tarvit Mansionhouse (approx. 1 mile away)
perthshire, kinross and angus
10 20 15
17 19 38
16 26 28
32 Bridge 31 of Earn Auchterarder Milnathort
2 5 8
0 Kms 10 0 Miles
PERTH AND KINROSS
perthshire, kinross and angus | 57 Aberlemno Sculptured Stones
aberlemno sculptured stones 1
Magnificent group of Pictish sculptured stones: three stand alongside the B9134 and one, a cross-slab with interlaced decoration, Pictish symbols and a battle scene, is in the churchyard. All are covered with wooden boxes from 1 October to 31 March to protect them from the elements. • On the B9134 in Aberlemno village, 6m NE of Forfar • NO 522 555, NO 522 558, NO 522 559
abernethy round tower
Read the Declaration of Arbroath in the abbey from which Scotland’s nobility proclaimed their independence from England in 1320. Or listen to your voice in the sacristy, which has one of the longest echoes in the country. It once rang with the clamour of ‘lunatics’ incarcerated here. The abbey was founded in 1178 by King William the Lion, who was buried here. You can learn more about the famous declaration in the visitor centre. • In Arbroath town centre on the A92 • NO 643 413 • Postcode DD11 1EG • Telephone 01241 878756 • Open all year • Wheelchair available • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
One of the two free-standing round towers of Irish style surviving in Scotland, dating from the end of the 11th century. Pictish symbol stone built into the tower. Good views of the Firth of Tay which is a very important area for birds, especially wintering wildfowl and waders. • In the village of Abernethy off the A913 just E of the Bridge of Earn • NO 192 163 • Key available from the adjacent ‘Berryfields Tea Room’ all year Wed to Mon and from Museum of Abernethy Wed to Sun, May to Sept (afternoons only). For more information and opening times visit facebook.com/berryfieldstearoom or musuemofabernethy.co.uk
See page 9 for more information
the perfect gift Give the gift of great days out with a Historic Scotland Membership: historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
ardestie earth house
A curved underground gallery 25m in length of Iron Age date, now uncovered, that once formed the cellar of a round house. Nearby Monifieth Bay is important for birds, particularly sanderling and eider. • 0.25m N of A92 off B962 to Monikie • Not signposted • NO 502 344 • Open summer only
58 | perthshire, kinross and angus Broughty Castle
A late 15th century tower on an L -plan, extended in 1567 by the addition of a walled courtyard and gatehouse. Refined architectural details. View exterior only. • About 6m SE of Bridge of Earn off the A912 • NO 169 115
brechin cathedral round tower 6
One of the two remaining free-standing round towers of the Irish type in Scotland, built in the late 11th century with a remarkable carved doorway. Capped by a stone roof added in the 15th century. The adjacent church (not HS) houses a magnificent collection of carved stones. • In Brechin town centre off the A933 • NO 596 600 • View exterior only 7
Broughty Castle, built in the late 15th century, has stunning views over the Tay. It houses a fascinating museum operated by Leisure and Culture Dundee. Good views of Monifieth Bay, important for wintering wildfowl. Dolphins can occasionally be seen here. • On the shores of the Tay in Broughty Ferry, Dundee off the A930 • Postcode DD5 2TF • Telephone 01382 436916 • Entry times vary from our standard hours. Please call the site about opening times or visit leisureandculturedundee.com/broughty-castle • Retail discount is not available
The roofless ruin of a tower house of about 1500, with a section of defensive barmkin wall and a remarkable corner tower with a square caphouse corbelled out. Visited by James IV. The grounds are open during daylight hours. Call 01786 450 000 in advance to request internal access. • 0.5m E of Milnathort on the A911 • NO 128 045 • Summer only
carlungie earth house
A complex underground structure, 48m long, of Iron Age date. Now uncovered. • 1m E of Templehall off the B962 • Not signposted • NO 511 359 • Summer only
caterthuns (brown and white) 10
Two spectacularly large hill forts. The Brown Caterthun is defended by four earth ramparts and ditches, and the White has a massive stone rampart, a ditch and outer ramparts. • About 5m E of the village of Inchbare off the B966 Brechin to Edzell Road • NO 555 668, NO 547 660 • Open summer only
perthshire, kinross and angus | 59 Dunkeld Cathedral
An outstanding example of 16th century Scottish architecture, which is both intact and little altered. The castle owes its striking appearance to asymmetrical square garret chambers corbelled out over two circular towers at diagonally opposite corners. Built by John Strachan between 1569 and 1588, and later owned by ‘Bonnie Dundee’, John Graham of Claverhouse, it was inhabited into the 19th century. External views only. • Off the A92 E of Dundee at Claypotts Junction • NO 457 319 • Internal access facilitated by a private company. Call HS on 01786 450 000 in advance to arrange this 12
An exceptionally well-preserved Pictish cross-slab with ornate decoration including human figures, Pictish symbols, zoomorphic designs and interlace. Covered by a protective enclosure. • 1m S of Pitlochry off the A924 • NN 946 564 • Signposted off Bridge Road, Pitlochry
Beautifully situated on the banks of the Tay, the 15th century nave and the tower are cared for by Historic Scotland. The former choir now serves as the parish church (not HS). A fine effigy of the Wolf of Badenoch (Robert III’s brother) is on display here. • In the village of Dunkeld off the A9 • NO 023 426 • Not signposted within Dunkeld • Interior of the nave currently closed for essential conservation works • Tours by friends of Dunkeld Cathedral can be booked via their website: dunkeldcathedral.org.uk or by phoning 01350 723222
eassie sculptured stone
An elaborately sculptured Pictish cross-slab with an intricate cross, angels, animals, warrior, Pictish symbols and three hooded figures. Covered by a protective enclosure. • In the ruined church of Eassie, W of Glamis off the A94 • NO 352 474 • Not signposted
15 edzell castle and garden
The refined beauty of Edzell was a statement of the prestige of its owners, the Lindsays. The stylised walled garden was created in 1604. Resplendent with heraldic sculptures and carved panels, the architectural framework surrounding the garden is unique in Britain. The garden also includes walled flower and nesting boxes and a delightful summer house. • At Edzell, 6m N of Brechin on the B966 • Postcode DD9 7UE • Telephone 01356 648631 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Wheelchair available ★★★★
60 | perthshire, kinross and angus Elcho Castle
This is a castle to explore. Parade up the grand staircase or scurry up the service stair, venture into the well-appointed kitchen and admire the views over the countryside from the high battlements. This remarkably complete house of the 1500s was the country retreat of the wealthy Wemyss family. Its orchard has been replanted with traditional varieties of apple, pear and plum and has become a haven for butterflies and wildlife. • 5m NE of Bridge of Earn off the A912 and close to Rhynd • NO 164 210 • Postcode PH2 8QQ • Telephone 01738 639998 • All facilities closed at lunchtime • Open summer only • Call site to arrange bus parking/access with neighbouring farm • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
fowlis wester sculptured stone 17
A tall cross-slab with Pictish symbols, figural scenes and ornate decoration. The original is now in the parish church; a replica stands in the square. • At Fowlis Wester, 6m NE of Crieff off the A85 • NN 927 240
Colonies of bats may now fly around the castle’s twin tower houses, but legend holds that a love-struck maiden once made the perilous leap between them. Find out more as you explore the many rooms of this castle, which boasts a fabulous painted ceiling of the 1500s. • Just west of Perth off the A85 to Crieff • NO 082 251 • Postcode PH1 3JL • Telephone 01738 627231 • Car park not accessible for large cars or camper vans • No disabled access to lower parts of the castle • All facilities are closed at lunchtime • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
Find traces of the pre-Reformation worship and a painted celestial ceiling in this beautiful, rural church. It housed Scotland’s first lending library, now in a Georgian building next door, which is in the care of the Mortification Charitable Trust: innerpeffraylibrary.co.uk • Off the B8062 midway between Crieff and Auchterarder • NN 902 183 • Open daily in summer and when the library is open in Mar to Oct
lindsay burial aisle
A small burial aisle built in the 1500s. Exterior view only. • In Edzell graveyard off the B966, 1m north of Edzell Castle • Not signposted • NO 582 688
perthshire, kinross and angus | 61 Lochleven Castle
Meigle Sculpture Stones
meigle sculptured stone museum 23
A boat will ferry you to one of Scotland’s oldest castles, where Mary Queen of Scots spent a traumatic year. Probably built in the early 1300s, it was visited by Robert the Bruce during the Wars of Independence. During Mary’s captivity here, she miscarried twins and was forced to abdicate. You can see the room where she was probably held until her dramatic escape in 1568. Look out for the waterfowl from the ferry. • On an island in Loch Leven reached by boat from Kinross off the M90 (weather permitting) • NO 137 017 • Postcode KY13 8UF • Telephone 01577 862670 • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct daily, 10am to last outward sailing at 4.15pm. Oct last outward sailing 3.15pm • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Contact site for sailing times and to book boat • No water supply for drinking. Hand sanitiser available for hand-washing • There are no public toilets on the pier, only on the island • Waiting times for the boat can be longer in peak months if not booked in advance ★★★ 22 maison dieu chapel, brechin
Part of the south wall of a chapel, belonging to a medieval hospital founded in the 1260s; has finelydetailed doors and windows. • In Maison Dieu Lane, Brechin off the B9134 • NO 596 600
The museum at Meigle displays 26 Pictish carved stones dating from the late 8th to the late 10th centuries. Making up one of the most important collections of early medieval sculpture in Western Europe, they are all that survives of a centre of Pictish wealth and patronage. • In Meigle, 6m SE of Glamis off the A94 • Postcode PH12 8SB • Telephone 01828 640612 • Open summer only • Guided tours available. Contact site for details • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 • Visit our website: pictishstones.org.uk ★★★★
muthill old church and tower 24
The interesting ruins of an important medieval parish church. At its west end is a tall Romanesque tower. The remainder of the church is mostly of 15th century date. View exterior only. • In Muthill, 3m SW of Crieff off the A822 • NN 867 170 25
The chancel and tower of the priory church of Augustinian canons. The lower part of the tower is very early Romanesque work. • 1m NE of Forfar off the B9113 Brechin Road • NO 482 516
62 | perthshire, kinross and angus St Serf’s Church and Dupplin Cross
St Mary’s Church
roman site: ardunie roman signal station
st mary’s church, grandtully
The site of a Roman watch tower, one of a series running between Ardoch and the Tay, along the Gask Ridge and dating to the first century.
A 16th century parish church with a finely painted wooden ceiling illustrating heraldic and symbolic subjects added in the 1630s.
• Take Trinity Gask Church Road out of Trinity Gask • Signposted footpath 1m • NN 946 187
• 3m NE of Aberfeldy off the A827 • NN 886 505
roman site: black hill camps 27
Parts of the defences of two Roman marching camps, probably dating to the early 3rd century. • 0.5m N of Braco off the A822 Crieff Road just past the junction with the B827 Comrie Road • Not signposted • NN 840 109
st orland’s stone
A tall, Pictish cross-slab with a prominent, ornate cross and, on the reverse, Pictish symbols, a hunting scene and a very rare depiction of a boat. • 4.5m W of Forfar off the A926 • Not signposted • Unsuitable for vehicles • No access through adjacent field • NO 400 500
st serf’s church and the dupplin cross 31 32
roman site: muir o’ fauld roman signal station 28
The site of a 1st century Roman watch tower on the Gask Ridge. Red squirrels are in the woodland; osprey and red kites are often seen. • Accessed by woodland footpath 1m NE of Trinity Gask off the B8062 Crieff to Auchterarder Road • Not signposted • NN 982 189
Look in wonder at a Pictish masterpiece that has been placed inside one of Scotland’s oldest complete parish churches. The Dupplin Cross is an ornate freestanding cross 2.5m high that names a Pictish king and depicts warriors, animals and a harp player. It stands in the 12th century tower of a church whose legendary founder slew a dragon on this spot. • In Dunning Village on the B9141 from the A9 • Postcode PH2 0RG • Telephone 01764 684497 • Open summer only • Guided tours are subject to availability until 4.15pm, please call site for details • Donations welcome ★★★★
perthshire, kinross and angus | 63 St Vigeans Sculptured Stones
st vigeans sculptured stones 33
Immerse yourself in the enigmatic beauty of Pictish art. Displayed and interpreted inside a converted cottage, this is one of the most important collections of Pictish Christian stones. It includes the Drosten Stone, which carries a remarkable inscription and includes a hooded hunter and a squatting imp. • 1m N of Arbroath off the A92 to Montrose • Postcode DD11 4RB • Telephone 01241 878756 • Open by appointment only. Call nearby Arbroath Abbey on 01241 878 756 for details • On the Arbroath Path Network • No photography within museum • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 • Visit our website: pictishstones.org.uk ★★★★★
Get hands-on in one of our most dynamic sites. Picturesquely sited on the banks of the Tay, Stanley Mills were founded to process cotton at the height of the Industrial Revolution in the 1780s, repeatedly adapted to changes in the textile industry, and finally closed in 1989. There are superb interactive displays and games that help you to experience working life here. Find out if your fingers are as nimble as a child labourer’s – or whether you can match the business acumen of a mill-owner. Listen to the Gaelic poetry and stories of the displaced Highlanders who worked here after losing their homes in the Clearances. • 7.4m N of Perth, follow signs for Stanley Mills • Postcode PH1 4QE • Telephone 01738 828268 • Open 25 Mar to 30 Sep 9.30am to 5.30pm, Oct 10am to 4pm • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Last entry 1 hour before closing ★★★★★
Possibly the oldest house in Pitlochry. Remarkably, it has the remains of a cruck framed roof construction, with most of its last thatch still surviving beneath the later corrugated iron roof. External view only. • 156 Atholl Road, Pitlochry on the A924, the northernmost house • NN 936 583 36 37 tealing dovecot and earth house
An elegant dovecot of the late 16th century standing in a modern farmyard. A short walk leads to the remains of an earth house, or souterrain, of Iron-Age date, a curving underground passage, now uncovered. Re-used stones with Bronze-Age rock carvings can be seen in its walls. Limited parking in farmyard beside dovecot. • Close to the village of Balgray, 5m N of Dundee off the A90 • NO 412 381 • Open summer only
One of the most complete and unaltered small medieval churches in Scotland, founded in 1446 and largely rebuilt about 1500. Much architectural detail has survived. • 2m NW of Auchterarder off the A823 Crieff Road • NN 909 134 • Open summer only
north and grampian
John Oâ€™ Groats
9 49 33
N 0 Kms10 0 Miles
3 Grantown on-Spey
37 24 15
north and grampian | 65 Balvenie Castle
Bridge of Oich
ardclach bell tower
A remarkable little fortified bell tower built in 1655 on the hill above the parish church of Ardclach. • 9m S of Nairn • Signposted off the A939 to Grantown on Spey • NH 953 453
The castle crowns a lonely hilltop with dramatic views over the surrounding hills. Built about 1480, it still retains fine architectural details and is surrounded by the ramparts of an Iron Age hillfort. Access on foot only, route is steep and can be wet at times. • 2m S of Dufftown on the A941 • NJ 348 376
Defended by a magnificent curtain wall and an iron yett, Balvenie was a stronghold of the powerful Black Comyns, rivals to Robert the Bruce in the early 1300s. It ultimately became the Renaissance residence of the Earls of Atholl, who built the Atholl Lodging with its grand circular tower. • At Dufftown off the A941 • NJ 326 408 • Postcode AB55 4DH • Telephone 01340 820121 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
The roofless church of a Valliscaulian priory, which houses the tombs of a renowned McKenzie clan chief and Fraser Lords of Lovat. • In Beauly on the A862 • NH 527 464 • Open all year
brandsbutt symbol stone 5
An early Pictish symbol stone with an ogham inscription. • About 1m NW of Inverurie off the A96 • NJ 759 224 6
bridge of oich
James Dredge designed this splendid suspension bridge over the River Oich in 1854. It was built using a sophisticated patented design of double cantilevered chain construction with massive granite pylon arches at either end. • 4m S of Fort Augustus on the A82 • NH 338 035 7
A well cut from the solid rock, once enclosed within a major Pictish coastal fort. Its purpose is unknown but may have been ceremonial. • In King Street, Burghead on the B9013 • Signposted at the north end of Grant Street in the village • NJ 110691 • Access: Key available from the Burghead Visitor Centre, Easter to Sept and ‘The Bothy Bistro’, Grant Street, all year • Visitor Centre 01343 835518 and Bothy Bistro 01343 830006
66 | north and grampian Castle of Old Wick
A horned and chambered burial cairn of Neolithic date, located in an area of much archaeological interest. Access can be wet and muddy.
A well-preserved Bronze Age cemetery complex of passage graves, cairns and standing stones in a beautiful setting.
• 1.5m SW of Ulbster on the A99. 0.75m from car park to site via black and white poles • ND 313 411
• 6m E of Inverness • Signposted from the B9091, 300 yards E of Culloden Battlefield • NH 752 439
12 cnoc freiceadain long cairns
A fine example of an Iron Age Broch, surviving to first-floor level, with associated settlement. Visitors should take care crossing the main road.
A pair of Neolithic long-horned burial cairns. Access is up an occasionally-muddy incline.
• By the A9, 3m ENE of Golspie • NC 870 013
• 6m WSW of Thurso on A836 • ND 013 654
castle of old wick
The ruin of the best-preserved Norse castle in Scotland. Dating from the 12th century this spectacular site is on a spine of rock projecting into the sea, between two deep, narrow gullies. Visitors must take great care and close child supervision is required. • 1m S of Wick on Shore Road • Signposted from Wick town centre • ND 368 487
An isolated tower house in the Cairngorms that was a residence of the high-status Forbes family. After Culloden in 1746, it was converted to become a Redcoat garrison fortress, largely to suppress Jacobite activity. Adaptations and additions included the distinctive star-shaped perimeter wall. The reconstructed barrack rooms offer a window into military life in the late 1700s. • 8m W of Strathdon on the A939 • NJ 254 086 • Postcode AB36 8YP • Telephone 01975 651460 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
north and grampian | 67 Corrimony Chambered Cairn
Dallas Dhu Historic Distillery
corrimony chambered cairn
dallas dhu historic distillery
An excavated passage grave of probable Bronze-Age date, defined by a stone kerb and surrounded by a circle of 11 standing stones.
Discover the whisky-making process in this Victorian distillery, which has seen only limited development since it opened in 1898. Dallas Dhu suffered frequent setbacks before finally closing in 1983, but its mixed fortunes have helped preserve its distinctive features. Take an audio-guided tour, wander at your leisure through this fascinating building and enjoy a free dram afterwards.
• In Glen Urquhart, 8.5m W of Drumnadrochit off the A831 • NH 383 303 15
cullerlie stone circle
A circle of eight stones enclosing an area consecrated by fires on which eight small cairns were later built. About 4,000 years old. • 0.75m S of Garlogie off the B9125 • NJ 786 042
• 1m S of Forres off the A940 • NJ 035 566 • Postcode IV36 2RR • Telephone 01309 676548 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
culsh earth house
A well-preserved underground passage, with roofing slabs intact over the large chamber and entrance. About 2,000 years old. • At Culsh, 1m E of Tarland on the B9119 • NJ 504 054
A ruined Cistercian monastery that replaced a site whose monks wrote the oldest surviving Gaelic text, The Book of Deer. • 2m W of Mintlaw on the A950 • NJ 968 481
The ruin of a small late medieval church with a richly carved sacrament house of a type characteristic of NE Scotland. • 4m S of Cullen on the B9018 to Keith • NJ 509 616
68 | north and grampian Duff House
dyce symbol stones
This magnificent Georgian mansion designed by William Adam contains a collection of important works from the National Galleries of Scotland.
Two Pictish stones, one with incised symbols and the other with symbols accompanied by a cross and decoration.
• In Banff • NJ 690 633 • Postcode AB45 3SX • Telephone 01261 818181 • Open all year. 25 Mar to 31Oct seven days a week 11am to 5pm, 1 Nov to 31 Mar Thurs to Sun 11am to 4pm • Admission: Adult £7.10 Child £4.30 Concession £5.70 • Visit our website: duffhouse.org.uk
• 0.75m N of Kirkton off Aberdeen Airport ring road in ruined church • NJ 875 154
One of the finest examples of a 12th century motte and bailey castle in Scotland with a very fine early 14th century stone hall house and curtain wall. • 5m NW of Elgin on the B9012 to Burghead • NJ 189 672
A fine example of a Hebridean broch, apparently occupied up to the 18th century. • 0.25m W of Bracadale, Skye off the A863 • NG 339 385 • Sections of the access route are steep
Also known as Dun Dornadilla, a well preserved broch with a distinctive entrance, standing to a height of 6.7 metres. • 10m S of Hope, Sutherland off the A838 • NC 457 450
25 easter aquhorthies stone circle
A recumbent stone circle about 4,000 years old. Car parking nearby. • 1m W of Inverurie on the A96 • NJ 732 207
Enjoy some peace among the magnificent ruins of this sacred place, which dates to the 1200s. Admire the glorious west front, the sumptuous decorations and the atmospheric chapter house. There are spectacular views from the towers. An unruly nobleman burned the cathedral in 1390, and during the ferment leading to the Protestant Reformation of 1560 it was the scene of a violent attack. New for 2016 – the cathedral’s carved stones form an new exhibition in the cathedral towers. • In Elgin on the A96 • NJ 222 630 • Postcode IV30 1HU • Telephone 01343 547171 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £7.10 Child £4.30 Concession £5.70 • Joint ticket with Spynie Palace available: Adult £8.70 Child £5.30 Concession £7.00 ★★★★
north and grampian | 69 Fort George
fort george and the highlanders’ museum 27
March into Britain’s mightiest artillery fortress for an unforgettable experience. You can explore an enormous military base protected by almost 1.6km (1 mile) of massive walls. You can gain an insight into life as a Redcoat in a garrison fortress, built in 1748-69, that has barely changed in almost 250 years of active service. You could also join one of our Dolphin Watches, scouring the Moray Firth for its resident population of bottlenose dolphins.
highland stronghold Fort George was built after the final Jacobite Rising was crushed at the Battle of Culloden in 1746. Strategically positioned on a promontory jutting into the Moray Firth, it was designed as the ultimate bulwark against further unrest. But its sophisticated defences were never tested. Although the Highlands have remained peaceful ever since, the fort has retained its garrison. It is still a working army barracks today, housing a regular infantry battalion of the British Army.
ready for inspection There is much for visitors to see including defences bristling with cannon, historic barrack rooms, a superb collection of weapons and the peaceful Regimental Chapel that holds many old colours or battle flags. The Highlanders’ Museum tells the stories of three of the four regiments that came together to make up the Highlanders Battalion of the Royal Regiment of Scotland.
living history Witness history brought to life at the Fort in our summer series of costumed performances and experience a flavour of what life was like in Scotland’s past.
your visit The fort shop sells a wide selection of gifts, souvenirs, quality books and jewellery while our café serves traditional, Scottish home-baking. Fort George is large and mostly open to the elements – please allow plenty of time for your visit. Mobility scooters are available on request. • 6m W of Nairn, 11m NE of Inverness off the A96 • NH 762 567 • Postcode IV2 7TD • Telephone 01667 460232 • Open all year. Last ticket sold 45 mins before closing. Café operates limited hours in winter • Wheelchairs available • Admission: Adult £8.50 Child £5.10 Concession £6.80 ★★★★
70 | north and grampian Fortrose Cathedral
The south aisle of the nave and chapter house survive at this beautiful red sandstone cathedral at Fortrose. • In Fortrose on the A832 • NH 727 565
A Z-plan tower house built in 1590. Its last laird, John Gordon, Old Glenbuchat, was a notable Jacobite. • 6m W of Kildrummy on the A97 • NJ 397 148 • Site closed during 2016 for essential maintenance – limited viewing of external elevations is available
glenelg brochs: dun telve and dun troddan
hill o’ many stanes
More than 190 low stone slabs are arranged in rows down a hillside. Raised more than 3,000 years ago, their purpose and meaning is a mystery. • At Mid Clyth, 4m NE of Lybster on A99 • ND 295 384
hilton of cadboll chapel 33
The foundations of a small rectangular chapel and, nearby, a modern carved reconstruction of the famous Pictish cross-slab found on the site. The original stone’s main portion is in the Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh. • In village of Hilton off the B9166, 12m NE of Invergordon • NH 873 768
Two broch towers, standing more than 10 metres high, with well-preserved features. Set in beautiful surroundings. • 8m SE of Kyle of Lochalsh. Turn off at Shielbridge on the A87 onto unclassified road to Glenelg • NG 829 172
grey cairns of camster
Two fully excavated and restored chambered burial cairns of Neolithic date. There is access to chambers. • 5m N of Lybster on the A99. Monument situated 5m along unclassified road • ND 260 441
With elaborate heraldry, carved fireplaces and refined décor, this palatial residence was a declaration of the power and wealth of the noble Gordon family. It stands on the site of a motte and bailey castle built in about 1190. Robert the Bruce granted Huntly to the Gordons after the Battle of Bannockburn in 1314. There were many royal visits, although in 1594 James VI had part of the tower house blown up after suppressing a rebellion. • In Huntly off the A96 • NJ 532 407 • Postcode AB54 4SH • Telephone 01466 793191 • Open all year. Winter closed Thurs and Fri • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
north and grampian | 71 Kildrummy Castle
A fine well-preserved 13th century castle of the Comyn family, in the form of a square courtyard, with round towers at the corners. The largest tower was the donjon or keep. It is one of Scotland’s earliest stone castles. • 2m NE of Fort William off the A82 • NN 121 755
Possibly built or adapted by the invading English king Edward I, the great castle of Kildrummy was the stronghold of the earls of Mar. Although ruined, it remains a good example of a 13th century castle with many fine features. • 10m SW of Alford on the A97 • NJ 455 164 • Postcode AB33 8RA • Telephone 01975 571331 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
The ruins of a 16th century parish church, with fine sacrament house dated 1524, and the grave slab of Gilbert de Greenlaw, killed at the Battle of Harlaw in 1411. • 2m S of Inverurie off the B993 to Whiterashes. Follow unclassified road to Mill of Fintray • NJ 785 190
kinnaird head castle lighthouse and the museum of scottish lighthouses 38
Built for the Fraser family, this fine 16th century castle was altered in 1787 to incorporate the first lighthouse built by the Commissioners of the Northern Lighthouses. Guided tours available. • On a promontory in Fraserburgh on the A92 • Postcode AB43 9DU • NJ 999 675 • Telephone 01346 511022 • Open 25 Mar to 31 Oct 10 am to 5pm, 1 Nov to 31 Mar 10 am to 5pm. Closed Mon
knocknagael boar stone
A rough slab incised with the Pictish symbols of a mirror case and a wild boar. • In The Highland Council Offices, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness on the A82 • NH 661 447 • Available during Council Office opening hours, Mon to Fri 40
loanhead stone circle
The best known of a group of recumbent stone circles, enclosing a ring cairn. Beside it is a small burial enclosure. It is over 4,000 years old. • Near Daviot, 5m NW of Inverurie • Signposted off the A920 • NJ 747 288
72 | north and grampian Picardy Symbol Stone
A Pictish cross-slab of 9th century date, on one side it bears a cross and, on the other, a variety of Pictish symbols. From the end of October to the end of March there is a protective cover on the stone to minimise frost damage. • Near Chapel of Garioch, 4.5m NW of Inverurie on the A96 • NJ 703 247 42
A large stone-built cairn, possibly of Bronze-Age date, enlarged during field clearance over the last two centuries. • 3.5m S of Fraserburgh on the B9032, 0.5m SW of Memsie Village • NJ 976 620
An infantry barracks erected in 1719 following the Jacobite rising of 1715. Captured and burnt by Prince Charles Edward Stuart’s army in 1746. • 1m from Kingussie • Signposted from the A9 and the A86 in the centre of Kingussie • NN 764 997
46 st machar’s cathedral transepts
The nave and towers of the cathedral remain in use as a church and the ruined transepts are in care. In the south transept is the fine tomb of Bishop Dunbar (1514-32). • In Old Aberdeen • NJ 939 087
peel ring of lumphanan
This great earthwork of 13th century date was the site of a fortified residence, perhaps a hunting lodge of the mighty Durward family. • 0.5m SW of Lumphanan off the A980 • NJ 576 036
picardy symbol stone
One of the oldest, simplest, Pictish symbol stones, possibly of 7th century date. • 8m S of Huntly off the A96 to Raes of Inch (2nd road on the left) • NJ 609 302
47 st mary’s chapel, crosskirk
A simple dry-stone chapel, probably of 12th century date. Access can be muddy. We recommend that visitors don’t cross the bridge over the River Forss and they access via the West side of the river. • 6m W of Thurso on the A836 • ND 025 701
48 st mary’s kirk, auchindoir
One of the finest medieval parish churches in Scotland, roofless but otherwise entire. • Off the A944 between the villages of Rhynie and Lumsden on the B9002 • NJ 477 244
north and grampian | 73 Spynie Palace
st peter’s kirk and parish cross, duffus 49
The roofless remains of the kirk include the base of a 14th century western tower, a 16th century vaulted porch and some interesting tombstones. The cross is of 14th century date. Keys available from the Old Manse. Please follow signs at site for key keeper. • 0.5m E of village of Duffus • Signposted from the B9012 in the centre of the village • NJ 175 686
For nearly 500 years, the bishops of Moray relaxed in this majestic building a short distance from their cathedral at Elgin. It even had its own bowling green and, according to one account, a tennis court. Today, you can climb David’s Tower, where bishops once entertained kings and queens. • 2m N of Elgin off the A941 • NJ 230 658 • Postcode IV30 5QG • Telephone 01343 546358 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 • Joint ticket with Elgin Cathedral available: Adult £8.70 Child £5.30 Concession £7.00
tarves medieval tomb
A fine altar tomb of William Forbes, the laird who enlarged Tolquhon Castle. The carving is a remarkable survival. • In Tarves kirkyard, 15m NNW of Aberdeen on the A920 • NJ 871 313
Sitting within spacious grounds, Tolquhon has been described as one of the most beautiful castles in Scotland. Sir William Forbes, who adapted and expanded an existing tower house in the 1580s, intended it to be an impressive residence, though he incorporated plenty of gunloops to deter any hostile visitors. This is a great building to explore, including a secret compartment in the laird’s quarters where he hid his valuables. • 15m N of Aberdeen on the A920 • NJ 872 286 • Postcode AB41 7LP • Telephone 01651 851286 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★
★★★★ 54 51
At over 6m high, Scotland’s tallest sculpted standing stone. Its carvings include rare battle scenes, suggesting it may mark a Pictish victory of the 10th century. External viewing only. • Signposted from B9011 when heading south from Forres • NJ 046 595
tomnaverie stone circle
A recumbent stone circle about 4,000 years old. • Near Mill of Wester Coull, about 3m NW of Aboyne on the B9094 • NJ 486 034
74 | north and grampian Explore the castle grounds
Discover 1,000 years of drama, experience a glimpse of medieval life and enjoy stunning views over Loch Ness from the ruins of the greatest castle in the Highlands. Climb the Grant Tower that watches over the iconic loch, peer into a miserable prison cell, said to have held the legendary Gaelic bard Domhnall Donn, and imagine the splendid banquets staged in the great hall. A panoramic view of the iconic ruins, against a backdrop of Loch Ness and the hills of the Great Glen, can be enjoyed from the cafĂŠ.
Discover the stories
telling tales Urquhartâ€™s stories are also told through a remarkable collection of artefacts left by its residents, historic replicas, including a full-sized, working trebuchet siege engine, and a short film.
highland heritage The castle has a distinctly Highland heritage and the site has witnessed some of the most dramatic chapters in our nationâ€™s history. This is where St Columba is said to have worked miracles in the 6th century, where acts of chivalry and defiance provided inspiration during the Wars of Independence and where the MacDonald Lords of the Isles struggled with the Crown for power.
access The visitor centre is fully accessible and there is a photographic guide for those who have mobility issues. Mobility scooters are available on request.
north and grampian | 75 Enjoy views over Loch Ness
gifts and refreshments Our café offers a cold deli, light meals and a wide range of homemade cakes and scones as well as hot and cold drinks. The castle shop sells a wide selection of gifts, souvenirs, quality books and jewellery.
Image 15th-century bronze water-jug on display at Urquhart Castle
• On Loch Ness near Drumnadrochit on the A82 • Postcode IV63 6XJ • Telephone 01456 450551 • Open all year seven days a week. 25 Mar to 30 Sept 9.30am to 6pm, 1 to 31 Oct 9.30am to 5pm, 1 Nov to 31 Mar 9.30am to 4.30pm. Last entry 45 mins before closing • Admission: Adult £8.50 Child £5.10 Concession £6.80 • Please show membership card when purchasing Jacobite Cruise tickets to ensure Urquhart Castle entrance fee is deducted
the western isles Port of Ness 6
BENBECULA SOUTH UIST
N 0 Kms 10 0 Miles
the western isles | 77 The Blackhouse
the blackhouse, arnol
A traditional, fully-furnished, Lewis thatched house which provides a unique insight into island life. There is also an attached barn, byre and stackyard. Beside the blackhouse, a furnished 1920s whitehouse and a ruined blackhouse can also be seen. The Visitor Centre has interpretative displays and a shop. There are Gaelic speaking staff on site. • In Arnol village, Isle of Lewis, 14m NW of Stornoway on the A858 • NB 310 492 • Postcode HS2 9DB • Telephone 01851 710395 • Open all year. Summer closed Sun. Winter closed Sun and Wed • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60
Stand within the towering drystone walls of one of the best-preserved broch towers in Scotland. • 1.5m S of Carloway, about 16m NW of Stornoway, Lewis on the A858 • NB 189 412
Best-preserved medieval castle in the Western Isles, seat of the chiefs of Clan Macneil of Barra. • In Castlebay, Isle of Barra, reached by small boat from Castlebay (5 min trip, weather permitting) • NL 665 979 • Postcode HS9 5UZ • Telephone 01871 810313 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 • Admission includes boat trip • Last outward sailing is 4.30pm
calanais standing stones 2
A cross-shaped setting of standing stones erected around 3000 BC. The Visitor Centre at Calanais is managed by The Standing Stones Trust. • 12m W of Stornoway off the A859, Isle of Lewis • NB 213 330 • Postcode HS2 9DY • Telephone 01851 621422 • calanaisvisitorcentre.co.uk • Members’ retail discount not applicable • Site open all year, seven days a week. Please call for up-to-date opening hours and admission prices for visitor centre
st clement’s church
A fine 16th century church, built by the 8th Chief MacLeod and containing his richly-carved tomb. • At Rodel, Harris on the A859 • NG 046 831
steinacleit cairn and stone circle 6
The remains of an enigmatic structure of prehistoric date. Access can be muddy. • On the south end of Loch an Duin, Shader, Lewis, NW of Stornoway on the A857 to Ness • NB 396 540
North Ronaldsay 18 17 20 24
The North Sound
11 12 Scapa Flow
South Ronaldsay Burwick
Island of Stroma 0 Kilometres 0 Miles
orkney | 79 Bishop’s Palace
Broch of Gurness
the bishop’s palace and earl’s palace, kirkwall 1
Step inside the spectacular ruins of two remarkable residences at the heart of Kirkwall. The medieval Bishop’s Palace was built in the 1100s at about the same time as St Magnus Cathedral. King Hakon of Norway died within its walls after an indecisive battle with the Scots at Largs in 1263. In the early 1600s, the Bishop’s Palace was incorporated into a refined Renaissance palace commissioned by Earl Patrick Stewart, one of Orkney’s most notorious rulers. The Earl’s Palace was reputedly built using slave labour. • In Kirkwall on the A960 • HY 448 108 • Postcode KW15 1PD • Telephone 01856 871918 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 ★★★★ 3 blackhammer chambered cairn
Neolithic burial cairn, similar in general shape and subdivisions to the contemporary Neolithic houses at Knap of Howar. There is access to chamber. Access can be wet and muddy. • On B9064 on Island of Rousay, 2m W of pier • HY 414 276
For information about ferries between the Orkney Islands call Orkney Ferries on 01856 872044 or visit orkneyferries.co.uk
broch of gurness
Explore this once mighty Iron Age settlement, with a small village arranged around a central, massive broch tower. Defended by two rock-cut ditches and a rampart, this was clearly a place of power. Look across Eynhallow Sound, once lined with brochs, to make out another well-preserved example at Midhowe, and perhaps glimpse minke and killer whales. • At Aikerness, 14m NW of Kirkwall on the A966 • HY 381 268 • Postcode KW17 2NH • Telephone 01856 751414 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
brough of birsay
When the tide permits, you can cross the causeway to this historic island. It was a place of local and perhaps regional importance, first for the Picts and later for Norse settlers. The remains of the Norse settlement include a ruined, Romanesque church that was a place of pilgrimage into the Middle Ages. This is also a great place to hunt among the rockpools, collect shells and watch puffins gathering on the rocks in early summer. • On a tidal island at Birsay, 20m NW of Kirkwall off the A966. Check tide tables at Skara Brae • HY 239 285 • Postcode KW17 2LX • Telephone 01856 841815 (Skara Brae) • Open when tides permit mid Jun to 30 Sept • Causeway may be slippery when wet • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60
80 | orkney Click Mill, Dounby
click mill, dounby
The last surviving horizontal water mill in Orkney, of a type well represented in Shetland and Lewis. Access can be muddy. • 2.5m from Dounby on the B9057 to Evie village • HY 325 228
cubbie row’s castle and st mary’s chapel, wyre 7
This is one of the earliest stone castles to survive in Scotland, built in about 1145 by the Norseman Kolbein Hruga (‘Cubbie Roo’). It is a small rectangular tower enclosed by a circular ditch. The nearby ruined chapel is of late 12th century date, in Romanesque style. • On the island of Wyre, 0.5m from pier • HY 442 264
Earl’s Palace, Birsay
• Towards the N end of Hoy, 3.5m from Rackwick • HY 244 005
earl’s bu and church, orphir 11 12
The foundations of an early medieval building, which may be an earl’s residence in the Viking period. The church is of 12th century date, and consists of the chancel and part of the nave of one of only two medieval round churches in Scotland. Parking nearby. • 8m WSW of Kirkwall on the A964 to Houton and Orphir • HY 334 0435 13
cuween hill chambered cairn 9
A low mound covering a Neolithic chambered tomb with four cells. Contained the bones of men, dogs and oxen when discovered. Access to chambers by crawling – torch supplied. Access can be muddy.
A huge block of sandstone in which a Neolithic burial chamber has been cut. Access is very muddy.
earl’s palace, birsay
This expansive Renaissance palace was built for Robert Stewart, Earl of Orkney, the unruly illegitimate halfbrother of Mary Queen of Scots. Built in the 1570s, it comprised of four ranges of buildings around a central courtyard. Much of the fabric survives. • In Birsay on the A9665 • HY 248 277 • Telephone 01856 721205 or 01856 841815 (Skara Brae)
• 0.5m S of Finstown on B9056 from Kirkwall • HY 364 128
For information about ferries between the Orkney Islands call Orkney Ferries on 01856 872044 or visit orkneyferries.co.uk
orkney | 81 Hackness Martello Tower and Battery
Ruined 12th century monastic church and post-medieval domestic buildings. • On the island of Eynhallow. Can only be reached by private hire boat from mainland Orkney or Rousay • HY 359 289
Knap of Howar
holm of papa westray chambered cairn 17
A massive tomb with a long, narrow chamber divided into three, with 14 beehive cells opening into the walls. There are engravings on the walls. Access to chamber. • On the island of Holm of Papa Westray. Reached by private boat hire from Papa Westray • HY 509 518
grain earth house
A well-built Iron Age earth house or underground chamber, supported on stone pillars. Keys available from Judith Glue Shop, 25 Broad Street, Kirkwall. • About 1m NW of Kirkwall in Hatston Industrial Estate off the A965 • HY 442 117 16 hackness martello tower and battery
These defensive installations are remarkable remnants of war. They were built in 1813–14 to protect British convoys during the Napoleonic Wars, and adapted during later conflicts. The Martello Tower – one of only three surviving in Scotland – allows views towards Scapa Flow, a naval anchorage during both world wars. Inside you can learn about military life and the ceilidhs and dances that locals held here. • At the SE end of Hoy • ND 338 912 • Postcode KW16 3PQ • Telephone 01856 701727 • Open summer only • Admission: Adult £4.50 Child £2.70 Concession £3.60 • When visiting please make your way to the Battery first
knap of howar
Probably the oldest standing stone houses in Europe, dating from the early Neolithic period. Two houses, approximately rectangular, with stone cupboards and stalls. This site is contemporary with the chambered tombs of Orkney. • On the island of Papa Westray about 0.25m W of Holland Farm • HY 483 519
19 knowe of yarso chambered cairn
An oval cairn with concentric walls enclosing a Neolithic chambered tomb divided into three compartments. Access to chamber. The walk to the Cairn is very steep in sections and can be muddy. • On the island of Rousay on the B9064, 3m from pier • HY 404 279
82 | orkney Maeshowe Chambered Cairn
links of noltland
Extensive Neolithic and Bronze Age settlement and home of the ‘Orkney Venus’, a 4,500 year old figurine discovered here in 2009. • On the Island of Westray • HY 429 494
maeshowe chambered cairn 21
Enter one of the finest Neolithic buildings in northwest Europe, a masterpiece of ancient engineering. This chambered tomb, which sits on a platform encircled by a ditch, is a monument to the skill and beliefs of Orkney’s people some 5,000 years ago. If you visit in midwinter – and the skies are clear – you can witness the central chamber illuminated by a shaft of light from the setting sun. Maeshowe’s unique story continued when it was broken into about 1,000 years ago by Norsemen. They left their mark in the astonishing runic graffiti, alongside the stunning ‘Maeshowe Lion’ carving.
A well-preserved broch, with remains of later buildings round it. As at Gurness, impressive evidence of the internal appearance of houses survives. Very steep access – follow the black and white poles. • On the island of Rousay on the B9064, 5m from pier • HY 371 308
23 midhowe chambered cairn
A huge and impressive megalithic chambered tomb of Neolithic date in an oval mound, with 12 stalls. Now protected by a modern building. Very steep access – follow the black and white poles. • On the island of Rousay on the B9064, 5m from pier • HY 372 306
Access by guided tour only, with timed ticketing. Twilight Tours available from June to August. Car parking and tickets at nearby Tormiston Mill.
A fine, ruined Z-plan tower, built between 1560 and 1573 but never completed. Remarkable for its large number of gun loops and impressive staircase.
• 9m W of Kirkwall on the A965 • HY 318 128 • Postcode KW16 3HH • Telephone 01856 761606 • Open all year • Booking in advance is required, please call to book • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
• On the island of Westray, 1m W of Pierowall village • HY 429 488
orkney | 83 Quoyness Chambered Cairn
The ruins of a medieval church with some finely lettered tombstones. • On the island of Westray in the village of Pierowall • HY 438 487
quoyness chambered cairn 26
A megalithic tomb with triple retaining walls, containing a passage and main chamber, with six subsidiary cells. Of Neolithic date. Access to chambers. • On the island of Sanday on the southern point of Els Ness, 2.5m from Kettlehoft village • HY 677 378
rennibister earth house
A good example of an Orkney earth house or underground storage vault. Dates from around 400BC. Access by ladder.
Ring of Brodgar Stone Circle and Henge
ring of brodgar stone circle and henge 28
A magnificent circle of upright stones with an enclosing ditch spanned by causeways, dating to the late Neolithic period. Part of the Heart of Neolithic Orkney World Heritage Site. Located between the lochs of Harray and Stenness which are important for wildfowl, particularly goldeneye, scaup, pochard and tufted duck. A Ranger Service is available for guided walks. Check online for details. • About 5m NE of Stromness on the B9055 • HY 294 134
st magnus church, egilsay 29
The complete but roofless ruin of a 12th century church with a round tower, dramatically situated on the site where St Magnus was martyred. • On the island of Egilsay, 0.5m from pier • HY 466 304
• About 4.5m WNW of Kirkwall on the A965 • HY 397 127
For information about ferries between the Orkney Islands call Orkney Ferries on 01856 872044 or visit orkneyferries.co.uk
84 | orkney Inside the replica house
Skara Brae Prehistoric Village
skara brae prehistoric village 30
Step back 5,000 years to explore one of Europe’s best-preserved prehistoric settlements. Once an inland village beside a freshwater loch, Skara Brae now looks out over a wide, sandy beach. Surrounded by a stunning variety of wildflowers and birdlife, a visit is an aesthetic treat. The village was first uncovered during a storm in 1850. Ever since, Skara Brae has been a place of discovery for archaeologists, students, artists and enthusiasts. You can follow a path overlooking these ancient buildings, still equipped with their stone furniture, and step inside a replica house to appreciate the lives of the Neolithic villagers. The visitor centre has touch-screen presentations and contains many artefacts discovered here. In summer, our café offers a cold deli, light meals, homemade cakes and hot and cold drinks.
From 25 March to 31 October, a joint ticket gives access to Skaill House, Orkney’s finest mansion, built in the 1620s, and the home of the man who discovered Skara Brae. • 19m NW of Kirkwall on the B9056 • HY 231 188 • Postcode KW16 3LR • Telephone 01856 841815 • Café open in summer - the café closes 45 mins before the site closes. Reduced service over winter - please call in advance • Admission: (25 Mar to 31 Oct) Adult £7.10 Child £4.30 Concession £5.70 (Nov to Mar: Skara Brae only) Adult £6.10 Child £3.70 Concession £4.90 • Last ticket sold 45 mins before closing • Members’ retail discount not applicable at Skaill House • Wheelchairs available
orkney | 85 Stones of Stenness Circle and Henge
stones of stenness circle and henge 31
The remains of a stone circle around a hearth, surrounded by a circular earthen bank or henge. Among the earliest monuments in the Heart of Neolithic Orkney World Heritage Site. Ranger guided tours available, summer only. • About 5m NE of Stromness on the B9055 • HY 306 126
taversöe tuick chambered cairn 32
A Neolithic chambered cairn with unusual arrangement of two burial chambers, one above the other. Access to chambers. Access can be muddy.
Unstan Chambered Cairn
unstan chambered cairn
A mound covering a stone burial chamber divided by slabs into five compartments. Of Neolithic date. Access to chamber. • About 3.5m NNE of Stromness on the A965 • HY 283 117 35 westside church, tuquoy
This small and elegant 12th century nave-and-chancel church later became the parish church. Now roofless, it was built by a wealthy Norse chieftain. The remains of his farm can be seen in the adjacent cliff section. • On the island of Westray, 3m S of Pierowall village • HY 455 432
• On the island of Rousay, 0.5m W of pier • HY 426 276 36 wideford hill chambered cairn 33
An excellent late example of a Scottish watermill, probably built in the 1880s. The waterwheel and most of the machinery have been retained. Now forms a reception centre for visitors to Maeshowe. • About 9m W of Kirkwall on the A965 • HY 322 127 • Telephone 01856 761606 • Open all year • Booking in advance is required, please call to book • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40
A fine Neolithic chambered cairn with three concentric walls and a burial chamber with three large cells. Access to chamber by ladder and crawling, torch required. The 0.5 km hillwalk to the property can be muddy. The walk has outstanding views. • About 2m W of Kirkwall on the B9056. Access is off a minor road • HY 409 122
5 POINT OF FETHALAND
SHETLAND ISLANDS Out Skerries St Magnus Bay
Whalsay Papa Stour Mainland
N 0 Kilometres 10 0 Miles
30 20 SUMBURGH 6 HEAD
shetland | 87 Jarlshof Prehistoric and Norse Settlement
A good example of a broch tower with associated secondary buildings of Iron-Age date. • About 1m SW of Lerwick on the A970 • HU 464 408
A five-sided artillery fort with bastions projecting from each corner. The walls are high and massive. It was built in 1665 to protect the Sound of Bressay from the Dutch, but taken by them and burned in 1673. It was rebuilt in 1781. • In centre of Lerwick • HU 475 415
jarlshof prehistoric and norse settlement
A late 16th century tower house with circular towers. The northernmost castle in the British Isles. • On Island of Unst, 4m NE from pier at Belmont off the A968 • HP 629 012 • Public toilets available in Uyeasound village
Wander around a site where people lived for more than 4,000 years. There are remains of Bronze Age oval houses, an Iron Age broch and wheelhouses, Viking longhouses, a medieval farmstead and a laird’s house built around 1600. This enduring site is without parallel in Scotland and helped inspire Sir Walter Scott’s novel The Pirate. After touring the visitor centre, look out towards Fair Isle and perhaps spot puffins nesting nearby. • At Sumburgh Head, 22m S of Lerwick on the A970 • HU 399 095 • Postcode ZE3 9JN • Telephone 01950 460112 • Open all year. Winter restricted opening hours. Call 01856 841815 (Skara Brae) for details • Admission: Adult £5.50 Child £3.30 Concession £4.40 ★★★★
ness of burgi
A defensive stone-built blockhouse, probably of Iron-Age date, with some features resembling a broch. • At the SE point of Scatness, South Shetland, off the A970. Access is across rocks • HU 388 084
A mansion built in 1600 by Patrick Stewart, Earl of Orkney, who was notorious for his cruelty. • In Scalloway, 6m from Lerwick on the A970 • HU 405 393 • Key available from the Scalloway Hotel or the Scalloway Museum
The finest surviving Iron-Age broch tower. It stands to a height of over 13 metres. Long walk from ferry pier. • On the island of Mousa, accessible by boat from Sandwick, about 14m S of Lerwick on the A970 • HU 457 237 • Visit mousa.co.uk for ferry details
A Neolithic hall, heel-shaped externally, and containing a large oval chamber. • 3m SW of Bixter on West Mainland off the A971. Follow marker poles, route can be very wet • HU 285 502
88 | glossary For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/places Angles a Germanic tribe who invaded the British Isles in the 5th century. England is named after them, but they also conquered much of what is now southern Scotland.
Cistercians a monastic order founded at Citeaux, Burgundy, by St Robert of Molesme in 1098. The first Scottish house was established by David I at Melrose in 1136.
Anglian relating to the Angles.
Cluniacs the first of the reformed Benedictine orders, founded in Burgundy in 910. Came to Scotland c 1145.
apse the rounded or polygonal eastern end of a church. Augustinians a monastic order, established in the later 11th century, whose canons followed the teaching of St Augustine of Hippo (d. 430). The first Scottish house was founded at Scone (Perthshire) by Alexander I around 1120. bailey the outer courtyard of a castle. barbican a defensive forework protecting the entrance to a castle. barmkin (corruption of ‘barbican’) a courtyard surrounding a tower house, defended by a perimeter wall. bastion a defensive projection at the angle of a rampart. Benedictines followers of St Benedict of Nursia. The earliest monastic regimes followed the rule laid down by St Benedict for his monks at Monte Cassino, southern Italy, around 525. The first Benedictine house established in Scotland was Dunfermline c 1070. blockhouse a small fort or artillery fortification. bombard a large medieval siege cannon. broch a circular drystone tower used as a fort-dwelling in prehistoric times. brough a prehistoric settlement enclosed within a wall. Bronze Age the prehistoric era during which copper and tin were smelted and alloyed as bronze, but before iron was used. In north-west Europe, the Bronze Age is usually taken to mean around 2000 BC to around 700 BC. cairn a burial mound constructed from stones, containing one or more chambers. canon a member of a body of clergymen serving a cathedral or other church and living under a rule.
collegiate church a church endowed with canons sometimes to provide masses for the souls of a private patron. coppice woodland carefully managed to provide a continual supply of timber for charcoal, basket making etc. corbel a projection from a wall which supports a beam or similar structure. cross-shaft the upright section of a standing cross. cruciform cross-shaped: the conventional plan for a Christian church. cruck-framed constructed using a medieval technique in which tiers of curved timber supports are used to form the apex of the roof. Dalriada (also spelled Dál Riata) a kingdom established around AD 500 by the Celtic people known as Scots, in what is now Northern Ireland, Western Scotland and the Hebrides. Dominicans the first order of friars, established at Toulouse, south-west France, in 1215 by St Dominic. Alexander II brought them to Scotland in 1230. donjon the main tower of a medieval castle. dovecot (or Scots ‘doocot’) a building to house doves or pigeons. drystone a building technique that does not use mortar. earthworks a fortification, burial mound or other construction created by excavating earth. ecclesiastical relating to church buildings or procedures.
castellated (of a wall) built with indentations from which a defender can fire weapons.
The ’45 (short for 1745) the last of the Jacobite Risings which attempted to restore the Stewart dynasty to the throne. It was led by Prince Charles Edward Stuart (‘Bonnie Prince Charlie’), grandson of the deposed James VII and II, and supported by many of the Highland clans. Following defeat at Culloden in 1746, many Jacobites were massacred. Charles eventually fled to France.
cenotaph a monument to the dead.
garret a chamber within the roof space of a building.
chancel the eastern section of a church or cathedral, including the altar, sanctuary and choir.
gun hole, gun loop an opening in a defensive wall through which a gun can be fired.
chapter house a meeting room for canons or monks.
gunstone a rough sphere of stone used as ammunition for a cannon.
caphouse a roofed section at the top of a stairway that leads to a parapet. caponier a stone-built, covered gunhouse in a ditch.
choir the area of a chancel in front of the altar. cist a burial chamber formed from stone slabs. cloister the domestic ranges of a monastery, usually built around a square garth or garden.
hammerbeam a technique used for constructing a large timber roof, in which the beams are supported by curved or diagonal braces. henge typically refers to a circular enclosure defined by a ditch and bank, often in association with a wood or stone circle.
glossary | 89
Iron Age the prehistoric era following the Bronze Age, during which iron was used to create tools, weapons and other items. In north-west Europe, the Iron Age is usually taken to mean around 700 BC to around AD 400. keep the main tower of a medieval castle. kirk; kirkyard (Scots) a church; a churchyard. Knights Hospitallers a monastic order of knights introduced (along with the Knights Templars) into Scotland by David I. Following the suppression of the Templars in 1312, their properties passed to the Hospitallers. laird (Scots) a lord or landowner. laird’s loft a gallery in a church set aside for the local landowner and his family. laird’s lug (literally ‘laird’s ear’) a hidden opening in the wall of a public room which allowed the owner to monitor conversations taking place within. mascot an animal kept by a regiment to bring good luck. megalith a huge stone forming part of a prehistoric monument. monastic relating to a religious order.
Reformation the emergence of Protestant Christianity in northern Europe as a break from the Roman Catholic church. In Scotland, this was formalised in 1560 with the re-establishment of the Church of Scotland and the founding of the Reformation Parliament, which rejected papal authority. regent an administrator who governs on behalf of a monarch, usually because the latter is too young to rule. Renaissance (literally ‘rebirth’) a period of great cultural flowering which occurred throughout Europe in the 14th to 17th centuries. Romanesque (sometimes called ‘Norman’) a style of architecture prominent in southern and western Europe during the 10th, 11th and 12th centuries, characterised by massive stone constructions and rounded arches. rood a crucifix or Christian cross. rood-screen an ornate structure in a church, made from wood, stone or wrought iron, which divides the chancel from the nave. sacristy the antechamber of a church or chapel where sacred vessels and vestments are stored.
nave the western section of a church, used by the congregation.
Scots originally a Celtic tribe that established itself in the north-eastern part of Ireland. The Scots became a significant force in what is now Scotland around the 6th century AD.
Neolithic era the late Stone Age, when agriculture began to develop but metals were not used. In north-western Europe, the Neolithic era is usually taken to mean around 4500 BC to around 2000 BC.
Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) a protected area designated for conservation by Scottish Natural Heritage. souterrain an Iron Age underground storage chamber, probably associated with a house at ground level.
Norse relating to the Scandinavian peoples who raided and invaded parts of Scotland and England from the 8th to the 11th centuries. Norse settlers had a particular influence on the culture of Orkney, Shetland and Caithness.
transept either of the northern and southern limbs of a cruciform church, which transect the nave and chancel.
motte the mound on which a castle was built.
ogham a writing system used by some groups of Celts, comprising straight lines drawn or carved at varying angles. palisade a fence built from stakes driven into the ground. peel (Scottish Borders) a fortified tower. Picts the native peoples who occupied much of what is now Scotland during the first 10 centuries AD. Premonstratensians a priestly monastic order founded by St Norbert of Xanten at Prémontré, north-east France, in 1121. First introduced to Scotland at Dryburgh in 1150. rampart(s) the wall or embankment surrounding a fortification. Redcoat (informal) a soldier of the British army – the name refers to the main colour of the uniform from the 17th to the late 19th century. Following the Jacobite Risings of 1689–1746, Scottish Highlanders were considered a threat to the Crown and garrisons of Redcoats were stationed around northern Scotland.
Tironensians a monastic order founded near Chartres, northern France, in 1109. The first of the reformed Benedictine orders to establish a monastery in Great Britain, at Selkirk, in 1113 (moved to Kelso 1128). Trinitarians a monastic order founded near Paris in the late 12th century, initially to raise ransoms for the release of Christians held by non-believers during the Crusades. Introduced to Scotland around 1240. Valliscaulians a monastic order founded at Val des Choux, eastern France, in the early 13th century. They established three houses in Scotland around 1230. Viking a Norse raider or invader of the 8th to 11th centuries. Viking settlers are usually called Norse. vaulted (of a ceiling) arched over in stone. World Heritage Site a protected site designated by UNESCO as having outstanding cultural and/or natural importance. yett (Scots) an open-barred iron gate. zoomorphic (of art) representing animal figures or symbols.
90 | index For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/places A Aberdour Castle and Gardens Aberlemno Sculptured Stones Abernethy Round Tower Achnabreck Rock Art Antonine Wall Arbroath Abbey Ardchattan Priory Ardclach Bell Tower Ardestie Earth House Ardunie Roman Signal Station Argyll’s Lodging Auchagallon Stone Circle Auchindoun Castle
53 57 57 46 33 & 41 57 41 65 57 62 41 34 65
B Ballygowan Rock Art Baluachraig Rock Art Balvaird Castle Balvenie Castle Bar Hill Fort Barochan Cross Barsalloch Fort Bearsden Bath-House Beauly Priory Biggar Gasworks Museum Bishop’s and Earl’s Palaces, Kirkwall Blackhammer Chambered Cairn Black Hill Camps Blackhouse, Arnol Blackness Castle Bonawe Historic Iron Furnace Bothwell Castle Brandsbutt Symbol Stone Brechin Cathedral Round Tower Bridge of Oich Broch of Gurness (Aikerness Broch) Brough of Birsay Broughty Castle Burghead Well Burleigh Castle
46 46 58 65 33 35 27 33 65 35 79 79 62 77 13 42 35 65 58 65 79 79 58 65 58
C Cadzow Castle 36 Caerlaverock Castle 27 Cairn Holy Chambered Cairns 27 Cairn o’Get 66 Cairnbaan Rock Art 46
Cairnpapple Hill 13 Calanais Standing Stones 77 Cambuskenneth Abbey 42 Cardoness Castle 27 Carlungie Earth House 58 Carn Ban 34 Carn Liath 66 Carnasserie Castle 46 Carsluith Castle 27 Castle Campbell and Gardens 42 Castlecary 41 Castle of Old Wick 66 Castle Semple Collegiate Church 36 Castle Sween 42 Castlelaw Hill Fort 13 Caterthuns (Brown and White) 58 Chapel Finian 28 Chesters Hill Fort 13 Clackmannan Tower 43 Clava Cairns 66 Claypotts Castle 59 Click Mill, Dounby 80 Clickimin Broch 87 Cnoc Freiceadain Long Cairns 66 Corgarff Castle 66 Corrimony Chambered Cairn 67 Corstorphine Dovecot 13 Coulter Motte 36 Craigmillar Castle 14 Craignethan Castle 36 Crichton Castle 14 Crookston Castle 36 Cross Kirk, Peebles 23 Crossraguel Abbey 37 Croy Hill 33 Cubbie Row’s Castle and St Mary’s Chapel 80 Cullerlie Stone Circle 67 Culross Abbey 53 Culsh Earth House 67 Cuween Hill Chambered Cairn 80 D Dallas Dhu Historic Distillery Deer Abbey Dere Street Roman Road, Soutra Deskford Church Dirleton Castle and Gardens Dogton Stone Doon Hill
67 67 23 67 14 53 14
index | 91
Doune Castle 43 Druchtag Motte 28 Drumcoltran Tower 28 Drumtroddan Cup and Ring Marked Rocks 28 Drumtroddan Standing Stones 28 Dryburgh Abbey 23 Duff House 68 Duffus Castle 68 Dullatur 33 Dumbarton Castle 37 Dun Beag 68 Dun Carloway 77 Dun Dornaigil 68 Dunadd Fort 46 Dunblane Cathedral 43 Dunchraigaig Cairn 47 Dundonald Castle 37 Dundrennan Abbey 28 Dunfallandy Stone 59 Dunfermline Abbey and Palace 53 Dunglass Collegiate Church 15 Dunkeld Cathedral 59 Dunstaffnage Castle and Chapel 43 Dupplin Cross 62 Dwarfie Stane 80 Dyce Symbol Stones 68 E Eagle Rock, Cramond Earl’s Bu and Church, Orphir Earl’s Palace, Birsay Eassie Sculptured Stone Easter Aquhorthies Stone Circle Edin’s Hall Broch Edinburgh Castle Edrom Church Edzell Castle and Garden Eileach an Naoimh Eilean Mor: St Cormac’s Chapel Elcho Castle Elgin Cathedral Eynhallow Church
15 80 80 59 68 23 16 24 59 44 44 60 68 81
F Fort Charlotte Fort George Fortrose Cathedral Foulden Tithe Barn Fowlis Wester Sculptured Ston
87 69 70 24 60
G Glasgow Cathedral Glebe Cairn, Kilmartin Glenbuchat Castle Glenelg Brochs: Dun Telve and Dun Troddan Glenluce Abbey Grain Earth House Greenknowe Tower Grey Cairns of Camster
37 47 70 70 28 81 24 70
H Hackness Martello Tower and Battery Hailes Castle Hermitage Castle Hill o’Many Stanes Hilton of Cadboll Chapel Holm of Papa Westray Chambered Cairn Holyrood Abbey Holyrood Abbey – Abbey Sanctuary Holyrood Park Huntingtower Castle Huntly Castle
81 18 24 70 70 81 18 18 18 60 70
I Inchcolm Abbey and Island Inchkenneth Chapel Inchmahome Priory Innerpeffray Chapel Inverlochy Castle Iona Abbey and Nunnery Iona, MacLean’s Cross
54 44 44 60 71 45 45
J Jarlshof Prehistoric and Norse Settlement Jedburgh Abbey
K Keills Chapel Kelso Abbey Kilberry Sculptured Stones Kilchurn Castle Kildalton Cross Kildrummy Castle Kilmartin Stones Kilmichael Glassary Rock Art Kilmodan Sculptured Stones Kilmory Knap Chapel
45 25 45 45 45 71 47 47 48 48
92 | index For more information visit historic-scotland.gov.uk/places Kilpatrick Dun (or Cashel) 34 Kilwinning Abbey 38 King’s Knot 49 Kinkell Church 71 Kinnaird Head Castle Lighthouse and The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses 71 Kinneil House 48 Kirkmadrine Early Christian Stones 29 Kisimul Castle 77 Knap of Howar 81 Knocknagael Boar Stone 71 Knowe of Yarso Chambered Cairn 81 L Laggangairn Standing Stones Lauderdale Aisle, St Mary’s Church Lincluden Collegiate Church Lindsay Burial Aisle Links of Noltland Linlithgow Palace Loanhead Stone Circle Loch Doon Castle Lochleven Castle Lochmaben Castle Lochranza Castle
29 19 29 60 82 19 71 38 61 29 34
M Machrie Moor Stone Circles 34 MacLellan’s Castle 29 Maeshowe Chambered Cairn 82 Maiden Stone 72 Maison Dieu Chapel, Brechin 61 Mar’s Wark 49 Maybole Collegiate Church 38 Meigle Sculptured Stone Museum 61 Melrose Abbey 25 Memsie Cairn 72 Merkland Cross 30 Midhowe Broch 82 Midhowe Chambered Cairn 82 Morton Castle 30 Moss Farm Road Stone Circle 34 Mousa Broch 87 Muir o’Fauld Roman Signal Station 62 Muness Castle 87 Muthill Old Church and Tower 61
N Ness of Burgi Nether Largie Cairns, Kilmartin New Abbey Corn Mill Newark Castle Noltland Castle
87 47 30 38 82
O Orchardton Tower Ormiston Market Cross
P Peel Ring of Lumphanan Picardy Symbol Stone Pierowall Church Preston Market Cross
72 72 83 19
Q Quoyness Chambered Cairn
R Ravenscraig Castle Rennibister Earth House Restenneth Priory Ri Cruin Cairn Ring of Brodgar Stone Circle and Henge Rispain Camp Rothesay Castle Rough Castle Ruthven Barracks Ruthwell Cross
54 83 61 47 83 30 38 41 72 30
S St Andrews Castle St Andrews Cathedral St Andrews: Blackfriars Chapel St Andrews: St Mary’s Church, Kirkheugh St Andrews: West Port St Blane’s Church, Kingarth St Bride’s Church, Douglas St Bridget’s Kirk, Dalgety St Clement’s Church St Machar’s Cathedral Transepts St Magnus Church, Egilsay St Martin’s Kirk, Haddington St Mary’s Chapel, Crosskirk St Mary’s Chapel, Rothesay St Mary’s Church, Grandtully
54 55 55 55 55 39 39 55 77 72 83 19 72 39 62
index | 93
St Mary’s Kirk, Auchindoir St Ninian’s Cave St Ninian’s Chapel St Orland’s Stone St Peter’s Kirk and Parish Cross, Duffus St Serf’s Church and Dupplin Cross St Triduana’s Chapel, Restalrig Collegiate Church St Vigeans Sculptured Stones Scalloway Castle Scotstarvit Tower Seabegs Wood Seton Collegiate Church Skara Brae Prehistoric Village Skelmorlie Aisle Skipness Castle and Chapel Smailholm Tower Spynie Palace Stanydale ‘Temple’ Stanley Mills Steinacleit Cairn and Stone Circle Stirling Castle Stirling Old Bridge Stones of Stenness Circle and Henge Sueno’s Stone Sunnybrae Cottage Sweetheart Abbey
72 30 30 62 73 62 20 63 87 55 41 20 84 39 49 25 73 87 63 77 50 49 85 73 63 31
U Unstan Chambered Cairn Urquhart Castle
W Wanlockhead Beam Engine 31 Watling Lodge (East and West) 41 Westerwood to Castlecary (Garnhall Districk) 33 Westquarter Dovecot 49 Westside Church, Tuquoy 85 Whithorn Priory and Museum 31 Wideford Hill Chambered Cairn 85
T Tantallon Castle Tarves Medieval Tomb Taversöe Tuick Chambered Cairn Tealing Dovecot and Earth House Temple Wood Stone Circles, Kilmartin Threave Castle Tolquhon Castle Tomnaverie Stone Circle Torhouse Stone Circle Tormiston Mill Torphichen Preceptory Torr a’Chaisteal Fort Torrylin Cairn Trinity House Maritime Museum Tullibardine Chapel
20 73 85 63 47 31 73 73 31 85 20 35 35 21 63
Historic Environment Scotland has a number of sites in its care that are not currently accessible to the public. They include: Dumfries and Galloway Big Balcraig and Clachan Cup Mark Rocks Castle of Park Kirkconnel Stones The Wren’s Egg Stone Circle Edinburgh and Lothians The Grounds, Mavisbank North and Grampian Invercauld Bridge Knock Castle Perthshire, Kinross and Angus Affleck Castle, Monikie Kirkhill Signal Station St Serf’s Priory, Lochleven
94 | Linlithgow Palace
plan your perfect day out With over 70 manned sites plus more than 200 free attractions, there is always plenty to see and do at Historic Scotland sites. Whether you’re fascinated by history, or have children that love adventure, there is something for everyone at our sites. Plan ahead with our app: discover magnificent properties, see what’s on, what’s nearby, and arrange your perfect itinerary in advance. All that’s left for you to do is to enjoy your perfect day.
edinburgh and the lothians
Go back 5,000 years in one day with a historic tour around West Lothian that takes in Blackness Castle, Linlithgow Palace and Cairnpapple Hill.
the scottish borders
Use your membership to discover Melrose Abbey, Dryburgh Abbey and Jedburgh Abbey – three of Scotland’s great Border Abbeys.
dumfries and galloway
Enjoy a picnic lunch at Caerlaverock Castle, be inspired by Sweetheart Abbey and marvel at the fully operating New Abbey Corn Mill – all just a stone’s throw from Dumfries.
glasgow, clyde and ayrshire
For a day full of fun, explore the majestic Bothwell Castle, stop off at the magical Cadzow Castle and its medieval hunting park, then discover the hidden gem of Craignethan Castle.
| 95 Doune Castle
Skara Brae Prehistoric Village
central and west
north and grampian
the kingdom of fife
Make it a trip to remember starting at Doune Castle, where scenes from Monty Python and the Holy Grail were filmed, then stopping in to admire Dunblane Cathedral. Round off a top day at the breathtaking 15th century fortress of Castle Campbell and Gardens.
See if you can make it to three of Fife’s top historic attractions in one day, by taking in Aberdour Castle and Gardens, Dunfermline Abbey and Palace, and St Bridget’s Kirk in Dalgety Bay.
With so many castles, cathedrals and abbeys, you’re spoilt for choice in North and Grampian. Try exploring the historic heart of the north-east where you can visit Elgin Cathedral, Huntly Castle and top off the day with a wee dram at Dallas Dhu Historic Distillery. From the 5,000 year old tomb at Maeshowe, to nearby Skara Brae Prehistoric Village and the stunning Bishop’s and Earl’s Palaces, experience all that historic Orkney has to offer.
perthshire, kinross and angus
Enjoy a short boat ride to Lochleven Castle where you can follow in the footsteps of Robert Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots. Then, admire Elcho Castle before finishing off a great day at nearby Huntingtower Castle.
96 | plan your perfect day out – map
Edinburgh and the Lothians
Central and West
North and Grampian
1 Blackness Castle – p.13 2 Cairnpapple Hill – p.13
13 Castle Campbell and Gardens – p.42 14 Doune Castle – p.43
22 Dallas Dhu Historic Distillery – p.67 23 Elgin Cathedral – p.68
3 Linlithgow Palace – p.19
15 Dunblane Cathedral – p.43
24 Huntly Castle – p.70
The Scottish Borders 4 Dryburgh Abbey – p.23 5 Jedburgh Abbey – p.25 6 Melrose Abbey – p.25
The Kingdom of Fife 16 Aberdour Castle and Gardens – p.53 17 Dunfermline Abbey and Palace – p.53 18 St Bridget’s Kirk – p.55
25 The Bishop’s and Earl’s Palaces, Kirkwall – p.79 26 Maeshowe Chambered Cairn – p.82
Dumfries and Galloway 7 Caerlaverock Castle – p.27 8 New Abbey Corn Mill – p.30 9 Sweetheart Abbey – p.31
Perthshire, Kinross and Angus 19 Elcho Castle – p.60 20 Huntingtower Castle – p.60 21 Lochleven Castle – p.61
27 Skara Brae Prehistoric Village – p.84
Glasgow, Clyde and Ayrshire 10 Bothwell Castle – p.35 11 Cadzow Castle – p.36 12 Craignethan Castle – p.36
25 N Shetland 150 miles
Collect stamps at each site you visit
Opening Times Summer (25 Mar 2016 to 30 Sept 2016) Mon to Sun 9.30am to 5.30pm Winter (1 Oct 2016 to 31 Mar 2017) Mon to Sun 10am to 4pm Some properties have special opening times, these will be shown against their entry. Last entry 30 mins before closing (5pm in summer and 3.30pm in winter), except at Dumbarton Castle, Fort George, Linlithgow Palace and Skara Brae where it is 45 mins before closing (4.45pm in summer and 3.15pm in winter). Last entry to Stirling Castle is 45 mins before closing (5.15pm in summer and 4.15pm in winter). Last entry to Urquhart Castle is 45 mins before closing (5.15pm 25 Mar to 30 Sept, 4.15pm in Oct and 3.45pm 1 Nov to 31 Mar). Last entry to Edinburgh Castle and Stanley Mills is 1 hour before closing (5pm in summer and 4pm in winter). Some of our sites may close for a short period over lunch. This will be marked next to their entry in the handbook. Opening times and admission prices are correct at time of publishing, but may be liable to change. See page 10 for further information. Very occasionally in the case of adverse weather conditions a property may need to close at short notice. In these instances please call the site before setting off to confirm that it is safe to visit or check historic-scotland.gov.uk/hsclosure #hsclosure
key to symbols Car Parking Bus Parking Toilets Display on History Visitor Centre Restaurant/Café Shop Reasonable Wheelchair Access Disabled Toilets Guided Tours – ask on site for details Picnic Area Strong Footwear Recommended Self Service Tea/Coffee Accessible by Public Transport Bicycle Rack Dogs not Permitted Children’s Quiz Available May be closed at lunchtime, please call in advance (w) Winter only
VisitScotland Grading Gold Green Tourism Business Award Silver Green Tourism Business Award Bronze Green Tourism Business Award
step into history Over 400 great events free to all Historic Scotland members. Find out more at historic-scotland.gov.uk/events historic scotland membership Longmore House Salisbury Place Edinburgh EH9 1SH Telephone: 0131 668 8999 Email: members@HES.scot historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
You can check your details and renew online.
keep in the know
To receive the membersâ€™ monthly events email, please register for the members only website at historic-scotland.gov.uk/member
find us on
Historic Environment Scotland Scottish Charity No. SC045925
Historic Scotland Membership, Longmore House, Salisbury Place, Edinburgh EH9 1SH Telephone 0131 668 8999 | Email members@HES.scot historic-scotland.gov.uk /member