Page 2





Dr. Kiran Kumar, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization felicitated the Launch Team associated with Near Space Launch Vehicle - NSLV (A Tribute to Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam) on 3rd October 2015. Dr. Anand Jacob Verghese Pro Chancellor appreciated the efforts of the team which was mentored by Mr. P. S. B. Kirubakaran, Assistant Professor, School of Aeronautical Sciences.


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Page


Mr. Isa Abdullatif Alansari, Chief Operations Officer, Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C,. with ALBA team.

Dr. Mrs. Elizabeth Verghese, Chancellor honouring Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar.

The 6th Convocation was held on 3rd October 2015. Padma Shri. Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar, Secretary, Department of Space; Chairman, Space Commission; and Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) was the Chief Guest and Mr. Isa Abdullatif Alansari, Chief Operations Officer, Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C and Mr. Berndt A. Buchmann, Director of Group After Sales and Vehicle Logistics, Volkswagen Group Sales India were the Guests of Honour. The dignitaries present were Dr. (Mrs.) Elizabeth Verghese, Chancellor; Dr. Anand Jacob Verghese, Pro Chancellor; Dr. Aby Sam and Mr. Ashok Verghese, Directors; and Rev. Dr. Xavier Alphonse S. J, Founder Director, Indian Centre. Dr. S. Ramacharan Vice-Chancellor,

who presented the Annual report proudly announced that the University was provisionally accredited by the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) for the B.Tech Aeronautical Engineering programme. Dr. A.S. Kiran Kumar spoke about the advances in space and technology; followed by houring 58 gold medalists and bestowed degrees to 1251 students of UG, PG, M.Phil & Ph. D. Dr. Mrs. Elizabeth Verghese, stressed the vitality of entrepreneurship and contribution for the economic growth of the nation. Dr. S. Ramachandran conferred Honorary Degrees to Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar, Mr. Isa Abdullatif Alansari, and Mr. Berndt A. Buchmann.


DST Sponsored a ten day Training Programme on “Big Data Analytics” hosted by Hindustan University in association with Big Data Initiative Division, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India from 14th to 24th March 2016. Dean-SCS, HOD-SCS, faculty members of Information Technology, Computer Science and MCA departments organized the event. The efforts of Dr. K. Ramesh Kumar, Associate Professor (IT), to get sponsorship from Big Data Initiative Division was laudable.

INTRA COLLEGIATE QUIZ ACM ICPC Asia Chennai Regional Contest was conducted on 23rd January 2016. The Contest Chair was Dr. Venkat Subramaniam, Dean C S; Contest Site Director, Dr. Rajeswari Mukesh, HOD, CSE; Contest Associate Site Director, Mr. John Deva Prasanna; and Contest coordinator, Mr. D. Praveen Kumar. 115 teams from 78 colleges participated in the ACM ICPC contest. Dr.Elizabeth Verghese, Chancellor, welcomed the

contestants with a special address. Dr. Madhavan Mukund, Dean, Chennai Mathematical Institute & ACM India, Vice Chairman, was the Chief Guest of Honour. As Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay bagged 1st prize, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee and Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad won 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively.


Hindustan Institute of Technology & Science • Campus Talk August 2016 Issue

In memory of Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, an Intra Collegiate Quiz was conducted on 27th July 2016.

In commemoration of the birth anniversary of Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, Hindustan Technology Business Incubator (HTBI) & Hindustan Entrepreneurship and Innovation Centre (HEIC) of Hindustan University conducted “The Hindustan Innovation Challenge-‘Innovate2Win’” on 15th October 2015. The aim was to inspire the students to excel in creativity and develop team spirit. The teams comprising students of various engineering disciplines exhibited their innovative projects. There were eight rounds of screening before the grand finale.

Campus talk august 2016 issue  

Hindustan University Newsletter

Campus talk august 2016 issue  

Hindustan University Newsletter