Issuu on Google+

F IE L D S L ANE

C R U IS E

LANE

ENT EXIT

LAN

³⁸ ⁴⁰ ⁴¹

ENT ³⁵ ³⁴

⁰⁵

³⁷

⁴²

⁴⁶

³⁶ ⁴³ ⁴⁴ ⁴⁵ The Rolling Stone incident.

³³

CAN

LAN

²⁹ ³⁰ ³¹

E

⁰⁴

ENT

FREYBERG SQUARE

CITY ART GALLERY

⁵⁴ ENT

HIGH

⁶⁵ S T R E E ⁶⁶ T

⁵⁵ ⁵⁸ ⁵⁹ ⁶¹ ⁶² ⁶³ ⁵⁶ ⁶⁴ ⁶⁰ ⁵⁷

⁶⁷

⁶⁸

⁷³

YA RCA DE

⁷⁰ ⁶⁹

⁷⁴ EXIT

⁷⁵

ENT

⁷⁹

ENT

E

LITTL

⁷⁷

⁸⁰

⁸¹

ENT E HIG H ST MALL

ENT

⁸⁴ ⁸³ ⁸²

⁸⁵

CITY LIBRARY

⁷⁸

DUR

HAM

LAN

TER

⁷⁶

CAN WYN

N STR EET

T

DHA

MS TRE ET

QUEE

VICTORIA STREET CARPARK

⁷¹ ⁷²

BUR

BRITOMART

The mysterious appearance of the white horse.

ENT

³²

The Box and Cause Celebre. The original heart of Auckland club land.

ET

ENT

VUL

FERRY TERMINAL

RE

P LAC

VUL

²⁸

¹⁶ ¹⁸ ²⁰ ²¹

ST

⁵³

⁴⁷

DUR S TR H A M EET WES

¹⁰ ⁰⁹

²²

R

⁴⁸

BERG

⁰⁷

CAN

⁰⁶ ⁰⁸ ¹² ¹¹ ¹⁵ ¹⁷ ¹⁹ ENT

²⁶ ²⁷

NE

E

²⁵

E

⁰³

³⁹

FREY

EET STR AND

⁰²

SHO

RTL

²³

⁴⁹

HE

E

²⁴

S TREET

U CO

RT

S

TC

NU

NELL

⁵²

U HO

NE

ALBERT PARK

AVE

⁰¹

O’CON

⁵⁰

A EL

KI

EN

¹³ ¹⁴

Picknickers Nook

⁵¹

THE CHANCERY

BOW

The Vulcan Forge established 1846.

TOURNAMENT PARKING

W

IA S TRE ET E AST

TAXI STAND

TOR

POST BOX

S

VIC

PARKING

ST

POST SHOP

N

LE H IGH

BUS STOP

E

LITT

PUBLIC TOILET

RE ET CH AN CE RY ST

PHONE BOOTH

LANGHAM HOTEL

ENT EXIT

The site of 'Radical Hall' Auckland's first ever store built by 'The father of Auckland' John Logan Campbell in 1841.

KEY CASH MACHINE

AUCKLAND UNIVERSITY

WILSON CARPARK

Refuge from mobile coverage.

SKY TOWER

TOWN HALL


#01 / 2011 FASHION

«

»

DESIGN / GIFTS

»

«

EVENT

»

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND

« 06

Ruby (w) 4 High St, 303 2128, rubyboutique.co.nz

16

House of Hedone 5B High St, 303 3289, houseofhedone.co.nz

08

Crane Brothers (m) 2-4 High St, 377 5333, crane-brothers.com

20

The Vault 13 High St, 377 7665, thevaultnz.com

13

Claire Barker (w) 3A O’Connell St, 309 3331, clairebarker.co.nz

25

World Beauty 35 Vulcan Ln, 377 0647, worldbrand.co.nz

15

Barkers (m) 4A High St , 303 2377, barkersonline.co.nz

58

Pauanesia 35 High St, 366 7282, pauanesia.co.nz

21

Moochi (w) Cnr Vulcan Ln & High St, 373 9823, moochi.co.nz

22

Workshop (m/w) Cnr Vulcan Ln & High St, 303 3735, workshop.co.nz

23

Zambesi (m/w) Cnr Vulcan Ln & O’Connell St, 303 1701, zambesi.co.nz

09

Goldwell & KMS Level 3, 5 High St, 0800 567 465, goldwell.co.nz

28

TK Store (w) 18 High St, 368 4498, tk.net.nz

32

The Face Place Level 2, 4 Vulcan Ln, 0800 226 869, thefaceplace.co.nz

37

Untouched World (m/w) 20 High St, 303 1382, untouchedworld.com

17

Rare Books 6 High St, 379 0379, rarebooks.co.nz

60

MegaSun Level 1, 41 High St 377 0852, megasun.co.nz

38

Strangely Normal (m) 19 O’Connell St, 309 0600, strangelynormal.com

36

Unity Books 19 High St, 307 0731, unitybooks.co.nz

40

Karen Walker (w) 15 O’Connell St, 309 6299, karenwalker.com

39

Jason Books 16 O’Connell St, 379 0266, jasonbooks.co.nz

43

R&G (m) 21 High St, 358 1465, roddandgunn.com.nz

44

Storm (w) 23 High St 357 6405, stormnz.com

45

Calvin Klein Jeans (m/w) 25 High St, 354 3700, calvinklein.com

46

City Designers Market (w) 1 Freyberg Pl, High St, 2111 03829,

«

« 04

PROFESSIONALS

»

»

Hornabrook Macdonald Lawyers Level 5, 12 O’Connell St, 353 7999, hmlaw.co.nz

379 0140, adriennewinkelmann.com

Cosmic Corner Shop 4, 5-7 High St, 303 2949, cosmiccorner.co.nz Mix Foundation 61 High St, 303 4757, mixfoundation.co.nz

«

05

24

BOOKS

»

GALLERIES / ART

»

Jane Sanders Art Agent Level 1, Cnr Shortland & Queen Sts, 358 2625, artagent.co.nz

70

Anna Miles Gallery Suite 4J, 47 High St, 377 4788, annamilesgallery.com

«

Vulcan Chambers Level 1, Cnr Vulcan Ln & High St, 379 8330,

»

81

«

AbsoluteIT Recruitment Level 1, 5 High St, 302 5310, absoluteit.co.nz

34

DJ & AUDIO / PARTY SUPPLIES

07

Nova Medical Finance Level 8, 3-13 Shortland St, 0800 668 263, novamedical.co.nz

Adrienne Winkelmann (w) Shop 26, 26 Courthouse Ln, The Chancery,

High St Long Lunch High St, 354 3951, highstlonglunch.co.nz

«

10

citydesignersmarket.co.nz 51

HEALTH / BEAUTY / HAIR

54

BUSES

»

vulcanchambers.co.nz

Buses provide easy access to High Street with bus stops on Queen Street, Victoria

52

The Silk Drawer (w) 44 Courthouse Ln, 358 5544, thesilkdrawer.com

47

Ray White Commercial Level 2, 23 O’Connell St, 304 1453, rwcauckland.com

Street East and Albert Street. The City Link bus runs approximately every ten

55

Andrea Moore (w) 35 High St, 373 2629, andreamoore.co.nz

53

ECD Legal Level 1, 43 High St, 300 3301, ecd-legal.co.nz

minutes from locations around the city. Check www.maxx.co.nz for bus timetables.

59

Ricochet (w) 35 High St, 379 8558, ricochet.co.nz

57

The Research Agency Level 2, 35 High St, 377 8129, theresearchagency.com

61

Marcs (m/w) 41 High St, 366 1790, marcs.com.au

75

Lawler & Co Lawyers Level 2, 53 High St, 303 2285, mail@lawler.co.nz

62

Peter Alexander (m/w) 43 High St, 307 8261, peteralexander.com.au

82

Sead IT Recruitment Level 10, 59 High St, 377 2044, sead.co.nz

The district is well catered for with two parking buildings within a moments walk

65

Prosper (m/w) 42A High St, 377 7678, thrivewear.com

83

Evolve Recruitment Level 10, Cnr Victoria & High Sts, 377 2043,

and additional car parking available off Shortland Street while street parking is

66

RJB Design (m) 42 High St, 309 1932, rjbdesign.co.nz

evolvejobs.co.nz

available for those willing to chance it.

67

Ditto (w) Shop M2 Canterbury Arcade, 309 7799

Bendall & Cant Chartered Accountants Level 7, Cnr High & Victoria Sts,

Both the Auckland City Council’s Victoria Street building and the Wilson Parking

71

Kate Sylvester (w) 47 High St, 307 3282, katesylvester.com

309 2040, bcca.co.nz

building are accessed from Kitchener Street and provide walk down access to

73

Farrys (m) 48 High St, 368 1508, farrys.co.nz

76

Blue Dude (m/w) 6 Durham St East, 309 5017, swimwear.co.nz

78

Smoove (m/w) Shop 1J Little High St, 55 - 57 High St, 307 2799,

01

The Kapiti Store (c) Shop 4, 2 High St, 358 3835, kapiticollection.co.nz

smoove.co.nz

02

Corner Bar (b) 5 Shortland St, 916 9933, cornerbar.net.nz

79

World Deluxe (w) 57 High St, 373 3034, worldbrand.co.nz

03

No.1 High St (r/b) 1 High St, 302 1079, showcasehospitality.co.nz

80

World Man (m) 59 High St, 373 5599, worldbrand.co.nz

12

Kitchen Restaurant (r) 3B O’Connell St, 969 1545, hoteldebrett.com/kitchen

85

Mardell (w) 66 High St, 373 9911, annemardell.co.nz

14

Housebar (b) 2 High St, 925 9000, hoteldebrett.com/housebar

27

Café Melba (c) 33 Vulcan Ln, 377 0091, cafemelba.co.nz

29

Queens Ferry Hotel (r/p) 12 Vulcan Ln, 377 1821, queensferryhotel.co.nz

30

O’Carrolls (r/p) 10 Vulcan Ln, 300 7117, ocarrolls.co.nz

«

JEWELLERY / ACCESSORIES / OPTOMETRY

84

«

»

CAFES / RESTAURANTS / BARS / PUBS

»

18

Mortimer Hirst 9 High St, 379 8950, mortimerhirst.co.nz

19

Carats Design Jewellery 1st Floor, 10 High St, 309 5145,

31

The Occidental (c/r/p) 6-8 Vulcan Ln, 300 6226, occidentalbar.co.nz

caratsjewellery.co.nz

33

Cassette Nine (r/b) 9 Vulcan Ln, 366 0196, cassettenine.com

26

AGATHA Paris (w) 35B Vulcan Ln, 302 1100, agatha.co.nz

41

Merlot (r/b) 23 O’Connell St, 309 5456, merlotonoconnell.co.nz

35

Sunglass Bar 27 Vulcan Ln, 379 9806, sunglassbar.com

48

Khao Restaurant (r) Cnr Chancery & O’Connell Sts, 377 5088, khao.co.nz

69

Swanns Fine Jewellery 8a, Level 8, 47 High St, 377 2858, swanns.co.nz

49

IStorm Gelato & Espresso (c) Shop A3, 6 Courthouse Ln, The Chancery,

74

The Jewellers Workshop 50 High St, 373 4437, jewellersworkshop.co.nz

«

SHOES

»

42

Briarwood (w) 26 High St, 358 3959, briarwood.co.nz

50

Scarpa (w) Chancery Ln, 358 4140, scarpa.co.nz

64

Ecco Shoes (w) 43 High St, 309 9349, ecco.com

68

Ashley Ardrey (w) 42C High St, 309 1955, ashleyardrey.co.nz

377 6885, istorm.co.nz 56

Rakinos (c/r/b) Level 1, 35 High St, 358 3535, rakinos.com

77

Mezze Bar (c/r/b) 9 Durham St East, 307 2029, mezzebar.co.nz

85

Grind On High (c) 51 High St, 379 7344, toasted.co.nz

«

PARKING

»

High and Lorne Street’s respectively. Victoria Street Carpark (vehicle entry accessed from Kitchener Street) Wilson Carpark (vehicle entry accessed from Fields Lane) Tournament Parking (vehicle entry accessed from Fort Street)

FOR UP

COMING EVENTS highstdistrict.co.nz

« HOTELS » 11 53

Hotel De Brett 2 High St, 925 9000, hoteldebrett.com Metropolis Residencies Level 3, 1 Courthouse Ln, 300 8800, metropolisresidences.com

The High Street Guild PO Box 105 331 Auckland 1143 highstguild@gmail.com

HIGH STREET Strut, stroll or saunter … you’ve arrived in the dressing up and going out part of town. It’s where the first lattes in New Zealand were steamed and punk, clubbing and New Zealand fashion first appeared on the streets. There’s something about this area that attracts new ideas. Who knows what could happen next, what’s for sure right now, it’s great to have you around.


High St. District Map