Issuu on Google+

Announcing...

Best Food Best Entertainment Best Goods & Services Best People FEBRUARY 12, 2011


2

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

FoodBestEntertainmentBestGoods&ServicesBestPeople A publication of the Herald & Review 601 E.William St. Decatur, Illinois 62523 217.421.6983 Fax: 217.421.7965 PUBLISHER Todd Nelson EDITOR Gary Sawyer SPECIAL PROJECTS EDITOR Ralf Pansch ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Joel Fletcher LAYOUT AND DESIGN Steve Wetherholt PHOTOGRAPHY Ralf Pansch The entire contents may not be reproduced in any manner, either in whole or part, without permission of the publisher. Advertisements are not endorsements by the publisher. The publisher is not responsible or liable for errors or omissions in any advertisement beyond the paid price of that advertisement.

New subscriptions, renewals, inquiries, changes of address, mail to: Herald & Review 601 E.William St., Decatur, IL 62523. To advertise or questions regarding advertising: 217.421.6920 © 2011 by Lee Enterprises, Incorporated.Any editorial content or advertising published is the property of Lee Enterprises, Incorporated

Congratulations to the following readers who won great prizes for voting in the Readers’ Choice 2010 contest: HeleneFlick Edwar d Goller Trevor Brothers


Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 12, 2011

Places for Food 2010 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Food Best Asian Restaurant

2nd Lock Stock & Barrel 129 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur 429-7411

1st Fuji Japanese Steakhouse 4292 Prospect Ave., Decatur 872-0600 www.decaturfuji.com Contact: Ming Lam, general manager Fuji provides Japanese dining with a fun and hip atmosphere. It’s a great place for everyone. Enjoy great food and really get to know the chef that is cooking your food. Our Hibachi chefs prepare your meals before your very eyes – at Fuji, seeing is knowing. Our quality and cleanliness is our first priority. We also are a great place to host your family events and corporate parties.

3rd Katz 112 Merchant St., Decatur 429-5289

Best Place for BBQ 1st Hickory River Smokehouse

Fuji Japanese Steakhouse the Best Asian Restaurant.

2330 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur 864-1864 www.hickoryriver.com Contact: Matt Wilson, managing partner Hickory River Smokehouse brings authentic, Texas-style barbecue to the Midwest. Each Hickory River Smokehouse location is true to its name and has an on-

2nd Aloha 3025 N. Kandy Ln., Decatur 875-5540

3rd Dragon Buffet 695 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur 876-8885

Best Bar 1st Sliderz Bar & Grille 5995 E. US Route 36, Decatur 864-9227 Contact: David and Sherri Birch sbirch95@aol.com We are a bar and grille with a full menu and 11 HD TV’s for sports. We have live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Our full menu includes soups, salads, wraps and many unique sandwiches and appetizers. Our excellent staff, our personal attention to make every customer feel at home. And providing live entertainment that fits all ages. Our 4 to 7 p.m. bands on Saturday afternoons appeal to those who want to see live music, dance and yet be home by 9 p.m.

JAPANESE SEAFOOD

STEAK HOUSE & SUSHI BAR

Thank you Decatur for voting us #1 Asian Restaurant #3 Best Overall Restaurant 4292 N. PROSPECT, DECATUR, IL (Wal-Mart North Plaza)

217-872-0600

3


4

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFood premise "smokehouse." They apply a special blend of seasonings (known as "dry rub") to the highest quality beef brisket, chicken, turkey and pork, then slowly smoke it for hours over a hickory-wood fire to create the most tender, flavorful meats possible and top them with Hickory River’s own original Texas-style barbecue sauce. Hickory River is always a crowd favorite when it’s served at catered events, parties or to you family and friends in your home. Hickory River tastes great and is affordable whether you’re ordering it by the pound, platter or sandwich. The Decatur location features, dine in, drive, thru, catering and large order delivery. Each Hickory River location is true to Texas — a casual, family friendly place to really accommodate customers and get them served very quickly. Hickory River Smokehouse prides itself for its traditional Texas barbeque, seasoning the meat with a specially blended dry rub and slow smoking it for several hours over a hickory-wood fire. When it’s ready to be served, it is then covered with Hickory River’s very own, savory, Texas-style BBQ sauce or served on the side. A couple of its famous side dishes are delicious with the barbeque. Some of the more popular ones are ranch beans, garlic mashed potatoes, coleslaw and green beans.

2nd Vinnie’s Barbee-Q

Best Chicken Wings

1065 Hickory Point Mall, Forsyth 875-2214 or 412-7427

1st Buffalo Wild Wings

3rd Texas Roadhouse 1155 U.S. Route 51 South, Forsyth 876-7380

Best Burgers 1st Krekel’s 801 E. Wood, Decatur, 429-1122 2320 E. Main St., Decatur, 423-1719 1355 Route 48 North, Decatur, 362-0121 1340 N. State Route 121, Mt. Zion, 864-5725 3727 N. Woodford, Decatur, 875-4044

2nd Culver’s 4850 Aldi Dr., 864-9600 2994 N. Water St., 875-2900

3rd Steak N Shake 920 S. Route 51, Forsyth, 876-0105 1330 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 877-3231 2250 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-6592

851 S. Route 51, Forsyth 877-8370

2nd Wing Stop 1491 W. King St., Decatur 424-9464

3rd Wing Stop (As of publication, business is closed.)

Best Place for Chili 1st Steak N Shake 920 S. Route 51, Forsyth, 876-0105 1330 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 877-3231 2250 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-6592 Contact: Matt Morarity, director of marketing, (317) 633-4100 Founded February 24, 1934 in Normal, Ill., Steak n Shake is a classic American brand, serving premium burgers and shakes. Steak n Shake is uniquely positioned as a “cut above” quick serve restaurants and offers a superior value over competing casual dining concepts. All the food is prepared to the guest’s specifications and served by friendly associates. Headquartered in Indianapolis, Ind., Steak n Shake has nearly 500 locations throughout the Midwest and South.

2nd Paul’s Confectionary 999 N. Water St., Decatur, 428-6665

3rd Wendy’s 102 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur 872-6442

Best Place for Dessert 1st D.Q. Grill & Chill

Thank you for voting us Decatur’s Best Place for BBQ Hickory River Smokehouse 2330 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, IL 217-864-1864

EAT-in, take out, delivered or catered Mon - Sat 10:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., Sun 11 a.m.- 8 p.m.

610 Snyder, Decatur, 877-4131 230 W. 1st Dr., Decatur, 428-1014 4605 E. Maryland, Decatur, 864-9610 Contact: Wendell and Teresa Bradley, owners decdq@aol.com Thank you Decatur and Macon County for making your DQ Grill & Chill one of the top five in sales in the nation. We appreciate you choosing us.

2nd Del’s Popcorn Shop 142 N. Merchant St., Decatur, 429-0037 100 Debby Dr., Mount Zion, 864-9888

3rd Culvers 4850 Aldi Dr., 864-9600 2994 N. Water St., 875-2900


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

5

BestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFood Best Italian Restaurant

Best Place for Soup

1st Pastabilities

1st Panera Bread

134 E. Main St., Decatur 422-7278

1st Mi Pueblito

225 E. Ash Ave., Decatur 872-6435 www.panera-centralillinois.com cafe1293@panerabread.com Contact: Tammy Jones, general manager Panera Bread is a bakery/café. We offer a wide-variety of breads, bagels, pastries, espresso drinks as well as sandwiches, salads, soups and more. At Panera we are more than happy to make special orders. We also offer catering which includes delivery. We pride ourselves on our warm, clean welcoming atmosphere.

1607 W. King, Decatur 428-7610

2nd Olive Garden

2nd Guadalajara

3795 N. Water St., Decatur 877-7470

351 W. 1st, Decatur 423-9724

3rd Cheddar’s

3rd El Corral

1340 Hickory Point Dr., Forsyth 877-3100

2nd Olive Garden 3795 N. Water St., Decatur 877-7470

3rd Tuscany Steak & Pasta House 1099 W. Wood St., Decatur 429-7000

Best Mexican Restaurant

3655 U.S. Route 36 East, Decatur 233-1714

Best Overall Restaurant 1st Texas Roadhouse 1155 S. Route 51, Forsyth 876-7380

2nd The Beach House 2301 E. Lakeshore Dr., Decatur 422-7202

3rd Fuji Japanese Steakhouse

Best Place for Sandwiches 1st Jimmy John’s 100 E. Prairie, Decatur, 423-8323 1130 W. Wood, Decatur, 425-2755 2950 N. Water, Decatur, 872-8282

2nd Panera Bread 225 E. Ash Ave., Decatur 872-6435 www.panera-centralillinois.com

3rd LaGondola 2825 N. Water St., Decatur, 875-4888 2034 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-4333

Thanks Decatur forVoting us #1 Caterer #2 Overall Restaurant and #3 Place for a Wedding Reception

4292 Prospect Ave., Decatur 872-0600

Best Place for Pizza 1st Monical’s 348 W. 1st Dr., Decatur, 423-2333 2230 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-2060 4333 Prospect Ave., Decatur, 875-7340

2nd Del Carmen’s East 221 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-5991

3rd Sloan’s Calzones 190 N. Merchant St., Decatur 422-4940

2301 E. Lakeshore Dr. in Nelson Park on Beautiful Lake Decatur 217.422.7202 | www.decaturbeachhouse.com


6

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

br nkoetter.com The only Real Estate website you need to know. • PHOTO GALLERY

• INTERACTIVE FLOOR PLANS

• NEW LISTINGS

• OPEN HOUSES

Our SERVICE is designed with YOU in mind!

95Q voted Best Radio Station.

Real Estate Agency 2004 - 2010

Carla Brinkoetter 875-8351

Thank you for voting Brinkoetter & Associates #1 Real Estate Agency the last 7 years. We appreciate your votes and support. We look forward to serving all your real estate needs in 2011.

Thank you for making us your

Local Website six years in a row!

Best Local Website 2005 • 2006 • 2007 • 2008 • 2009

Northgate Barber Shop the Best Barber Shop.


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

7

Entertainment 2010 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Entertainment 2nd Pla-Mor Lanes

Best Bingo Hall

2870 N. Jasper, Decatur, 875-3141

1st Majestic Hall 830 N. State Route 121, Mt. Zion, 864-3842

3rd Doherty’s Pub & Pins

2nd Pride of Prairie

2121 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-2222

3568 N. Westlawn, Decatur, 875-0135

Best Central Illinois Golf Course

3rd Masonic Lodge

Best Bowling Alley

1st Hickory Point Golf Course Hickory Point Golf Course voted #1 again.

1st Spare Time Lanes 2870 N. Jasper, Decatur, 875-3141 Contact: Gary Haines, owner Not only are we a bowling center, we also have a snack bar and lounge. We offer birthday parties and moonlight bowling on Saturday night.

We strive to be a friendly, family business. We appreciate our customers and hope they return again and again.

727 Weaver Rd., Forsyth, 421-7444 www.dec-parks.org or rick@decparks.com Hickory Point Golf Club offers 18 awardwinning holes of championship golf. Flat, wide fairways provide a foundation for learning while course length and the ever-present wind challenge more experienced golfers. Designed by leading golf course architect Larry Packard, Hickory


8

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

EntertainmentBestEntertainmentBestEntertainment 2nd Decatur Celebration

2nd Decatur Club

Downtown Decatur, 423-4222

158 W. Prairie, Decatur, 429-4200

3rd Lock Stock & Barrel 129 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 429-7411 www.lsb1.com

Best Place to See a Movie

3rd Beach House 2301 E. Lake Shore Dr., Decatur, 422-7202

Best TV Station 1st WAND 904 W. South Side Dr., Decatur, 424-2500

1st Avon Theatre 426 N. Water, Decatur, 422-8151 www.TheAvon.com

Point features a lighted driving range and sixhole short course to strengthen the skills of beginning golfers. A recently completed total course renovation has added new looks and challenging pin placements. Hickory Point Golf Club has hosted the Tate & Lyle LPGA FUTURES Tour, IHSA Class AA Girls’ State Tournament, PGA of America Junior Golf Series, Cleveland Golf High School Girls Invitational, Plantation Tour Junior Series, NCAA Division III National Golf Championships for Women, Illinois Women’s Golf Association Senior Open and the Team Soy Decatur Junior Open. Our knowledgeable, friendly staff looks forward to serving you. Golf lessons and professional club fitting are always available. For more information and tee times, call 421-7444.

3rd Scovill Golf Course 3909 W. Main St., Decatur, 421-6243

Best Place to Hear Live Music 1st Sliderz Bar & Grille 5995 E. US Route 36, Decatur, 864-9227 sbirch95@aol.com Contact: David and Sherri Birch We are a bar and grille with a full menu and 11 HD TV’s for sports. We have live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Our full menu includes soups, salads, wraps and many unique sandwiches and appetizers. Our excellent staff and our personal attention to make every customer feel at home. And providing live entertainment that fits all ages. Our 4 to 7 p.m. bands on Saturday afternoons appeal to those who want to see live music, dance, and yet be home by 9 p.m.

250 N. Water St., Decatur, 422-9242

2nd The Strand

3rd Central Illinois Fox

5130 E. Fitzgerald Rd., Decatur, 864-4272

101 S. Main St., Suite 102, Decatur, 428-2323

3rd Hickory Point Twelve Cinemas

Best Radio Station

150 Hickory Point Mall, Forsyth, 875-1618

1st Decatur’s Country Home 95Q/WDZQ/Neuhoff Media

Best Local Website 1st Herald & Review www.herald-review.com

2nd WAND www.wandtv.com

3rd GT Church www.gtchurch.com

2nd Red Tail Run 520 W. Grove Rd., Decatur, 422-2211

2nd WCIA

Best Place for a Wedding Reception 1st Decatur Conference Center & Hotel 4191 W. Rt. 36, Decatur, 420-8711 Contact: Susan Keane, director of sales and marketing With three separate wedding venues to choose from, the Decatur Conference Center & Hotel has the perfect setting for your wedding dreams. Our outstanding staff and personalized service allows each bride to feel as though her wedding reception is the premier event of the year. We have several wedding packages for you to choose from depending upon your needs. Chef Brian and his team are here to help you decide upon just the right menu items for every budget. We are your location from start to finish: bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and wedding brunches, not to mention the overnight accommodations readily available for your guests. Please call 420-8711 for more information or visit our Web site at www.hoteldecatur.com.

250 N. Water St., Suite 100, Decatur, 429-9595 www.95Q.com Contact: Toby Tucker We are Decatur’s only country music formatted radio station, and play a variety of country hits from the 90s on through brand new stuff. We provide our audience with tons of opportunities to win cool prizes, concert tickets, and more. 95Q is a big contributor to the community with several fundraisers and events that we sponsor throughout the year. Unlike a lot of stations that program music based on national research, we try to program to what our audience in “Q Country” wants to hear. With all the technology available, people have access to new music quicker than they ever had before. We feel the only way to stay ahead of the web based music providers is to provide it here first. Our audience is allowed to post comments and respond to them on our Facebook page so that we can create a bond and really be in touch with what our audience is in to and what they are doing. Our company’s slogan is “Media Made Locally” and we take that literally! We are proud to be part of the community and all of Central Illinois.

2nd Y-103 250 N. Water St., Suite 100, Decatur, 423-9744

3rd WBGL 2108 W. Springfield Ave., Champaign, 359-8232


Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 12, 2011

Thanks Decatur for voting us... 77 Years Years in in aa Row! Row!

Call Today!

423-9949 www.airkinginc.com Decatur Champaign Bloomington 250 E. Eldorado St. (217) (217) (309) Decatur, IL 62523 423-9949 355-1808 821-0111

9


10

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Goods & Services 2010 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Goods & Services Best Apartment Complex

2nd Hickory Point Apartments

1st Swartz Properties

189 W. Hickory Point Rd., Forsyth 876-1422

950 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur 877-8703 www.swartzprop.com Contact: Chris Karch, general manager Swartz Properties offers the largest selection of apartments, condo’s and single-family homes in Decatur, Mount Zion, Clinton and surrounding areas. Our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units range in price from $300 to $1,200 per month. We offer executive, furnished apartments at our Twin Oaks community; elderly housing at the Belvedere Centre Plaza; and affordable housing at Beth Blvd. and the Wellington Apartments. Short term leases are also available on most units. In business since 1978, Swartz Properties is committed to providing the highest level of customer service to all residents. Our special attention to detail is provided by a dedicated, professional staff that will endure your satisfaction.

3rd Timber Cove 1707 S. Country Club Rd., Decatur 423-7950

Best Auto Body Shop 1st Newell’s Auto Body, Inc. 996 W. Harrison, Decatur 877-7632 www.newellsautobody.com or newels@newellsautobody.com Contact: Todd Newell, president Fifty-three years ago, Mike Newell started a small shop on Jasper Street. Since then, Newell’s Auto Body has grown and changed, but Mike’s reputation and dedication to quality and service is still the cornerstone of our business today. Combine those core values with dedicated

Thank you for voting us #1!! • Largest selection of Apartments in Decatur & Mt Zion • Committed to Customer Service • Shop on-line at www.swartzprop.com

employees, high tech repair and refinish equipment, and a state of the art management system, and you have the Newell’s Auto Body of today. We are so proud to serve the Decatur area, and we will continue to provide you with everything you need from a collision repair shop. Our new Fast Lane has been introduced to speed-up your repair without sacrificing quality. It is perfect for a broken bumper or a dented fender. Your vehicle won’t need to wait behind larger repairs, meaning that it will be back to new before you know it. As always, we guarantee our repairs for as long as you own your vehicle. We understand that getting in an accident can be a stressful and frustrating situation. It is our number one goal to make it as painless as possible; turning it into a positive experience and creating lasting relationships within our community. Don’t forget that we offer more than just collision repair and refinishing. We also offer a full detail department, auto electrical repair, and our own fleet of rental vehicles. Our friendly office staff is happy to assist you with any questions you may have. Please visit our Web site as well as our Facebook page for more information on our staff, facilities, services, and location. On behalf of our entire staff, we want to sincerely thank the community and our loyal customers for voting us the No. 1 Body Shop in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards for the seventh year in a row.

2nd Ming Auto Body 2850 N. Jasper, Decatur 877-6546

3rd Ripples Auto Body 1520 N. State Highway 121, Mount Zion 864-4531

Best Automotive / Repair Shop 1st Fleener & Roberts

950 W. Pershing Road, Decatur IL

217-877-8703

2740 N. Main St., Decatur, 877-8206 Contact: Kenneth Bean, president Automotive repair. Excellence in repairs.


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

11

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services 2nd Billingsly’s 1725 S. Franklin St., Decatur, 428-5421

3rd Bannings 1985-1/2 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-7887

Best Bank 1st Hickory Point Bank and Trust, fsb. Hickory Point Bank and Trust, fsb. 225 N. Water St., Decatur, 875-3131 1401 W. Hickory Point Dr., Forsyth, 875-3131 1880 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 875-3131 398 W. 1st Dr., Decatur, 875-3131 www.hickorypointbank.com Contact: Debbie Seitz, vice president Opened in 1979, Hickory Point Bank is a full service community bank with seven branch locations serving customers in Decatur, Forsyth, Mount Zion area, Champaign and Springfield. We offer a full line of consumer, commercial, trust, and agricultural products and services. We are most proud of our superior level of service - where all decisions are made locally and a real person will always answer the phone. Hickory Point Bank and its 175 employees are proud to receive this honor, and we look forward to continuing to serve our customers as a locally-owned bank focusing on the needs of families, businesses and communities.

2nd Soy Capitol Bank & Trust Co. Soy Capitol Bank & Trust Co. 1501 E. Eldorado, Decatur, 428-7781 455 N. Main, Decatur, 429-8708 560 E. Pershing, Decatur, 429-8720 4825 E. U.S. Route 36, Decatur, 362-9265 1685 S. Franklin, Decatur, 421-9600 1090 S. Route 51, Forsyth, 475-0425

3rd Busey Bank 130 N. Water, Decatur, 424-1111 2505 N. Water, Decatur, 425-5111 202 E. Ash, Decatur, 425-8381 2070 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-2300 1120 State Hwy. 121, Mt. Zion, 864-2386

Best Barber Shop 1st Northgate Barber Shop 2605 N. Water, Decatur, 877-7408 Thanks to all our clients for your continued support as Northgate Barber Shop is approaching our 40th anniversary in May. Established in 1971, Northgate is a five-chair shop serving walk-in clientele only. The friendly service, lively conversation and family atmosphere appreciation is demonstrated by

winning the Readers’ Choice Best Barber Shop award seven times. Before the Readers’ Choice awards, Northgate Barber Shop won two other best barber shop awards. With punch cards on Mondays, active military discounts on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, senior discounts on Thursdays and family special discounts on Fridays, Northgate Barber Shop has something for everyone, including wheelchair access. Shop hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday thru Friday and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday. Watch for the 15-foot barber pole at the corner of the parking lot at Pythian and Water Streets.

seafood items individually flash frozen for freshness. We also have a small deli section, seasonings and sauces, and Oakland noodles. Peter’s offers personalized one-on-one service with top quality meat, as well as a 36-foot service meat case. We care about our customers and strive to fulfill their needs.

2nd Eastside Market 1467 E. William St., Decatur, 423-3608

3rd Butcher Block Plus

2nd Brettwood Village Barber Shop

2910 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-9400

3116 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-4038

Best Place to Buy a Car 1st Miles Chevrolet/Nissan

3rd Larry & Debbie’s

Best Butcher Shop 1st Peter’s Haus of Meats 3777 N. Woodford, Decatur, 875-5318 Contact: Bill Peter, owner Opened in 1981, Peter’s Haus of Meat is an oldfashion retail meat market, with personalized one-on-one service. We specialize in high-choice, corn-fed beef; No. 1 top quality pork; and fresh, never frozen poultry. We carry a selection of

150 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 877-4440 www.mileschevrolet.com Contact: Pat Dawson, owner New and used auto sales, body shop, and service and parts departments. An indoor used car showroom and being the largest car dealer outside Chicago.

2nd Crown 255 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-5000


12

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Best Church 1st GT Church

Decatur Earthmover Credit Union: the Best Credit Union.

3rd Bob Ridings 3103 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 877-3102

Best Caterer 1st The Beach House 2301 E. Lake Shore Dr., Decatur, 422-7202

2nd Debbie’s Diner 1404 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-4130

3rd Basket Case 4163 E. Emery Rd., Oreana 795-2175

500 S. 27th St., Decatur, 233-8400 www.gtChurch.com Contact: B.G. Nevitt, lead pastor GT Church, which started in 1956, strives to provide an exciting and God-honoring environment for worship. There are three Sunday morning worship service opportunities: 8:15, 9:30 and 11 a.m. Just pick the one that is most convenient for you and stop by. Each service features a wonderful nursery and excellent programs for children from birth through 6th grade. We recommend you arrive approximately 15 minutes before the service so you won’t feel rushed. Wednesday nights feature additional family friendly ministry for all ages. The Edge youth ministry for teenagers begins at 6:30 p.m.; children and adult ministry begins at 7 p.m.; LifeBuilders small groups meet across Central Illinois seven days a week. Just choose the one that’s right for you. Additional information about all of the many services and events can be found at www.gtChurch.com. Whether it is your first time at GT Church, or you’ve been attending for years, you never know what to expect during our hour-long worship experience. From the moment you walk in the door, until the moment you leave, we are

committed to a creative, compelling, challenging presentation of God’s truth. GT Church is a full service ministry that reaches across all the barriers that tend to separate people. This church family has shattered the racial barrier, the age barrier, and the economic barrier. People from countless backgrounds, experiences, and religious traditions come together in worship and service. At GT we understand that it’s not really about church buildings and programs, but it’s all about people experiencing the power and the real presence of God in their everyday lives. From the moment you pull into the parking lot, you’ll be made to feel at home. Our terrific parking team will direct you as you enter the campus. First time guests are invited to take advantage of convenient reserved parking. You’ve got friends at GT Church!

2nd (tie) St. Patrick Church 407 E. Eldorado, Decatur, 429-5363

St. James Church 742 E. Clay, Decatur, 428-7733

3rd First Christian Church 3350 N. MacArthur Rd., Decatur, 875-3350

Best Credit Union 1st Decatur Earthmover Credit Union 2600 E. Dividend Dr., Decatur, 875-2301 4855 Aldi Dr., Mt. Zion, 864-2301 550 N. Edward, Decatur, 428-0955 260 W. Marion Ave., Forsyth, 872-8139 www.decu.com We are a full-service financial cooperative providing our member/owners with a great place to save and borrow. As our mission statement says, we are building lasting relationships by providing exceptional financial service.

2nd Land of Lincoln Credit Union 3130 E. Mound Rd., Decatur, 875-3823 2890 N. Oakland, Decatur, 875-1300 151 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 425-0606 1435 N. Water St., Decatur, 428-5232

3rd Staley Credit Union 3330 N. Woodford, Decatur 440 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-9767


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

13

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Best Dog Grooming Shop 1st Cookie Cutter’s 140 W. Wildwood Dr., Mount Zion, 864-6033 cookiecutterk9@aol.com Dog and cat grooming, baths, walk-in nail trims and new-dog daycare; full grooming all dogs, all breeds and all sizes; cat bathing and haircut, if needed. We are a Christian grooming shop. We appreciate the Lord letting us run this shop for Him. We try to treat every person and pet with love and kindness. We want the dogs to want to come to Cookie Cutters. Come in and see our new shop and bring your dog – they’ll love our treats. We also do pet photography.

2nd DeLong Bed & Biscuit 9645 Boody Rd., Macon, 764-3488

grow and thrive. Every day our impact is felt when and individual makes a healthy choice, when a mentor inspires a child and when a community comes together for a common cause. The Decatur Family YMCA has been serving the community since 1877, and will be celebrating 10 years in our current location with an open house on Sunday, Feb. 20 from noon to 2 p.m. Thank you Decatur for voting us No. 1 again. The Y: For youth development; for healthy living; for social responsibility.

price guarantee. Customer focused. Customers drive our business. We will enhance our understanding of customers and their needs through continuous learning. We are determined to be the best at meeting customers’ needs for quality products, prices and services. While we are proud of our accomplishments, we will constantly challenge ourselves to improve.

2nd Decatur Athletic Club

435 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 877-0700

1010 Southside Dr., Decatur, 423-7020

3rd Menards 3rd Decatur Indoor Sports Center

Best Flooring Store 1st Lowe’s

2828 N. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., Decatur, 8777332

990 Commerce Place Dr., Decatur, 876-9750 www.lowes.com Contact: Matthew Boston, sales manager Lowe’s employees will provide customer-valued solutions with the best prices, products and services to make Lowe’s the first choice for home improvement. Some of those services include: special orders, professional installs, delivery, special credit offers and competitor

1st Peerless Cleaners 519 N. Monroe St., Decatur, 423-7704

Forsyth, 877-8191

1295 W. Wood St., Decatur, 429-3472

3rd Northgate Pet Grooming

Best Dry Cleaner

2nd Flooring America

2nd Waite’s Dry Cleaners

Best Florist 1st Svendsen’s 2702 N. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., 877-4767 Svendsen Florist has been family owned and operated since its opening in 1946. We provide flowers for all occasions with our custom fresh and silk designs. We also offer a wide variety of indoor and outdoor plants from our working greenhouses.

2nd Zips/Betty and Bob’s 518 E. Prairie, Decatur, 428-3481

1004 S. Main, Decatur, 422-6932

3rd Pride Cleaners 2553 N. Main, Decatur, 875-7188 1804 E. Eldorado, 422-5957 912 W. Eldorado, 429-5002

Best Fitness Center 1st Decatur Family YMCA 220 W. McKinley Av., Decatur, 872-9622 www.decaturymca.org Contact: Jean Flider, membership director The Decatur Family YMCA is the Readers’ Choice as the area’s No. 1 Fitness Center but is also so much more than a gym-and-swim. From the licensed child care center and summer day camp to our wellness center; through sports and fitness programming for youth and adults on land and in the water, sports and leisure time activities and much more, the Y makes strengthening the foundation of the community our cause. We are dedicated to building healthy, confident, connected and secure children, adults, families and communities. The Y brings men, women and children together around our shared commitment to youth development, healthy living and social responsibility, allowing us to ensure boundless opportunities for families and children to learn,

Thanks for voting us #1 the past 7 years!

Svendsen Florist 2702 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. 217-877-4767


14

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services 3rd Shirley’s Flower Shoppe 245 Main St., Mount Zion, 422-9350

Best Funeral Home 1st Brintlinger & Earl Funeral Home 2827 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 875-1283

2nd Dawson & Wikoff Funeral Home 515 W. Wood St., Decatur, 429-4421

3rd Graceland Fairlawn Funeral Home 2091 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 429-5439

Best Furniture Store 1st Good’s Furniture 1360 Koester Dr., Forsyth, 429-2441 www.goodsfurnitureandmattress.com Contact Tim Druessel, owner Good’s Furniture is a locally-owned family-run business that was founded in 1956 by D.A. "Al" Good. Good’s Furniture is in its third generation of family ownership and is now owned and operated by his grandson, Tim Druessel. Mr. Druessel was born and raised in Decatur, graduating from Stephen Decatur High School and Eastern Illinois University with a degree in accounting. Good’s Furniture carries only quality name brand furniture from La-z-Boy, Broyhill, Lane, Flexsteel, Sealy, Stearns & Foster, Tempurpedic and many others. Good’s Furniture services a large area of Central Illinois covering a 50 mile radius from Decatur with free delivery. Good’s Furniture sets itself apart from other furniture stores in many ways. First, Good’s showroom is beautifully decorated and staffed by friendly, knowledgeable salespeople to make picking out furniture easy and fun. Second, Good’s offers free delivery and removal of your old furniture or bedding where many other stores charge or don’t even offer those services. Third, being locally owned and operated, Good’s Furniture is able to adapt to changes in the market place quickly and customize our products and service to meet the customer’s needs. We often do this on a daily basis to accommodate customers’ busy schedules. Finally, and most importantly, by providing customers with excellent customer service before and after the sale, customers can always rely on Good’s Furniture when it comes to furnishing their home. Thank you for voting Good’s Furniture the No. 1 Furniture Store in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards for the seventh year in a row.


Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 12, 2011

15

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services 2nd Cohn Furniture 400 N. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., Decatur 429-5491

3rd (Tie) Pinkston’s 2002 Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-4802

Stahl’s Furniture 926 E. McDonald St. #1, Mount Pulaski 792-3201

Best Hair Salon 1st Attitudes 2880 S. Mount Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-4020

2nd Fox & Hounds 3070 N. Kandy Ln., Decatur, 875-4077

3rd Fringe 143 E. Prairie Ave., Decatur, 424-0079

Best Hardware Store 1st Kenney’s Ace Hardware 200 Spitler Park Dr., Mount Zion, 864-9314 www.acehardware.com Contact: Libby or Terry Kenney, owners Retail hardware store; custom picture frame shop; services include color match paint, key cutting, propane filling, pool water testing and U.P.S. shipping. We are a family-owned business with a great staff. We have a customer focus commitment. We offer a great selection of product and can special order thousands of items. What makes us No. 1 in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards is having the best customers.

for new construction, remodeling, retro-fit, replacements and design-build projects. Air King has some of the most experienced and trained sales, service and installation staff in the industry. We sell and install American Standard heating and cooling equipment – the No. 1 rated residential and commercial equipment in the industry, along with geothermal and in-floor radiant systems. We now also offer residential and commercial duct cleaning services. Air King services all makes and models of heating and cooling equipment and offers 24-hour emergency service. You can always count on Air King for all your heating and cooling needs – 365 days a year. “Being voted the only seven-time winner of the Best Heating & Air Service Company, I would like to thank all the people who have voted for us, and most of all, I would like to thank all the great and wonderful employees and staff that Air King has been so blessed to have,” said Steve Fisher, president of Air King. “For it is these caring and thoughtful people that make Air King a great place to call for service and a wonderful place to work. Thank you everyone, we truly appreciate you and your business and look forward to serving you in the future.”

3rd Design Air 1201 N. 19th, Decatur, 429-1105

Best Home Remodeler 1st J. J. Swartz 2120 N. Oakland Av., Decatur 877-2611 www.jjswartzco.com or bswartz@jjswartzco.com Contact: Brad Swartz, vice president J.J. Swartz Co. is a full line remodeling and restoration company with services including kitchens, baths, room additions, interior and exterior remodeling, fire and water restoration, and much more. We’ve been serving Central Illinois for 90 years. J.J. Swartz Co. is a fourth-generation family owned business that offers a wide range of construction related services, including in-house design work. We strive for customer satisfaction through honesty and integrity. Thank you to everyone who voted for J.J. Swartz Co. as the No. 1 Home Remodeler in the Herald & Review’s 2010 Readers’ Choice Awards.

2nd S.A. Lewis Construction, Inc. 200 Lewis Park Dr., Mount Zion, 864-5056

2nd TICA 735 S. Franklin, Decatur, 429-5741

3rd Romano Company 202 S. Franklin St. #1A, Decatur, 424-2426

Celebrating Over 90 Years of Serving Central Illinois Home Remodeler

2nd Menards Forsyth, 877-8191

3rd Lowe’s 990 Commerce Place Dr., Decatur, 876-8939

Best Heating & Air Service Company 1st Air King 250 E. Eldorado, Decatur, 423-9949 2441 S. Main St., Bloomington, (309) 821-0111 2415 Village Green Pl., Champaign, 355-1808 www.airkinginc.com or stevefisher@airkinginc.com Contact: Steve Fisher, president Air King provides full service heating, ventilation and air conditioning services for residential, commercial and light industrial customers throughout Illinois, Indiana and Missouri. We provide all the services required

6 YEARS RUNNING Thank You to Our Customers & Employees

• Room Additions • Bath & Kitchen Remodeling • Screened-In Porches & Decks • Exterior & Interior Painting

• Handyman Service • Insurance Restorations • Fire & Water Damage • And Much More

Come see us at the Home Show Feb. 25, 26 & 27

oday, Dream T l Remode w Tomorro 2120 N. Oakland Ave. • Decatur, Illinois 62526 • 217-877-2611 • www.jjswartzco.com


16

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Best Insurance Agency 1st State Farm Greater Decatur Agency Field Office 385 E. Ash Ave., Suite A, Decatur, 875-5975 www.statefarm.com Contacte: Chad Slusarski, agency field executive State Farm’s mission is to help people manage the risks of everyday life, recover from the unexpected, and realize their dreams. State Farm Agents are there for their customers whether it’s a car accident, a house fire or even a death in the family. We are people who make it our business to be like a good neighbor, and help you with your needs. State Farm insures more cars and homes than any other insurer in the United States. Our 17,800 agents and more than 66,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts. Our products and services include auto, fire, life and health policies, bank accounts, and helping with retirement goals. State Farm is ranked No. 34 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. Our strength is found most often in our people. Their passion and commitment to our core values – quality service and relationships, mutual trust, integrity and financial strength – position State Farm as your No. 1 Readers’ Choice in the insurance category. Each day, our local agents and agent team members make a positive difference in the lives of our customers.

In the best and worst of times, being there remains our most important mission.

2nd Country Insurance 1401 Koester Dr., Forsyth, 877-2830 2905 N. Main St., Decatur, 877-2834 322 W. Marion, Forsyth, 875-5283 3280 N. Woodford, Decatur, 872-6020 1150 W. Pershing, Decatur, 876-8700 1219 N. State Route 121, Mount Zion, 864-5355

3rd JL Hubbard Insurance & Bonds 1090 U.S. Route 51 South, Forsyth, 877-3344

Best Investment Firm 1st Wells Fargo Advisors LLC 2965 N. Main, Suite D, Decatur, 876-8500 www.wellsfargoadvisors.com Contact: William Rhoades, branch manager At Wells Fargo Advisors, we believe in a personal approach to investing. Your financial advisor will want to know you and understand your interest, goals and concerns before drawing up an investment plan or recommending products or services. The following are some of the services we offer: asset allocation strategies, asset management, investment services, wealth management services, estate planning strategies, planning for retirement and

retirement income, and portfolio analysis and monitoring. When you work with a financial advisor from Wells Fargo Advisors, you have someone who takes the time to listen and understand your needs, helps you clarify your goals, and takes seriously, the safety and security of your money and investments. Your financial advisor can help you stay on track to meet your goals through intelligent financial solutions, in-depth analysis of your investments and regular feedback on your progress.

2nd Edward Jones 329 W. Eldorado, Decatur, 422-8755 385 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 877-7190 2001 N. Water, Decatur, 877-5055 303 E. Wood, Decatur, 428-1530 505 Broadway, Mount Zion, 864-3388

3rd Raymond James

Best Jewelry Store 1st Flora Gems 101 N. Water, Decatur, 429-4111

2nd Ray Eldridge Jewelry 3012 Brettwood Village, 875-0505

3rd Bell’s Jewelery 112 E. Prairie Ave., Decatur, 422-1814

Best Law Firm 1st Geisler Law Offices 241 S. Main St., Decatur, 423-8081

2nd Fombelle & Fombelle. LLP 241 W. Weaver Rd., Suite 230, Forsyth, 877-9977

3rd Fuller & Quigg 1301 E. Mound Rd., Decatur, 875-7171

Best Liquor Store 1st Famous Liquor 1321 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 428-0632

Melanie Schelling, CPCU, CLU, ChFC 3155 N Woodford Decatur, IL 62526

Located Behind Cub Foods

217-876-8800 or 800-610-0718 www.melanieschelling.com melanie@melanieschelling.com

for making me your # 1 INSURANCE AGENT!”

2nd The Decanter Fine Wine & Spirits 215 N. Main St., Decatur, 422-9463

3rd Wal-Mart 4224 N. Prospect, Decatur, 875-0016 4625 E. Maryland Ave., Decatur, 864-6927


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

17

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Best Nursery/Landscaper

2nd Dale’s Southlake

2nd Primrose Retirement

1st Maske’s Organic Gardening

280 W. 1st Dr., Decatur, 429-5165

1110 Arbor Dr., Decatur, 872-1815

3rd Wal-Mart

3rd Tanglewood Village

4224 N. Prospect, Decatur, 875-0136 4625 E. Maryland, Decatur, 864-6927

1293 S. 34th St., Decatur, 423-5838

2510 W. Mound Rd., Decatur, 877-0740 cmaske1980@aol.com Contact: Clifford Maske, owner Maske’s offers safe organic lawncare and landscaping. Landscape gravel and stone; hardwood and cedar mulch; and organic pest control products. We offer Friendly service with easy access and loading of landscape products. We have the largest selection of natural stone and gravel in the Decatur-Macon County area.

Best Real Estate Agency 1st Brinkoetter & Associates 1610 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur 875-0555

1st H&R Block

333 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-9000

3006 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-0403 www.hrblock.com Contact: Ron Richey, district manager Tax preparation. The most trusted, state-of-the-art, tax preparation experience at a great price for everyone.

Best Retirement Facility

2nd Kates Tax Service

1st Imboden Creek Health Services

812 S. 16th St., Decatur, 429-0011

2nd Re/Max Executives 151 E. Decatur St., Decatur, 428-9500

2nd Walker’s Lawn & Landscaping Decatur, 875-3506

Best Tax Preparation

3rd Area One Realtors

3rd Rainey Nursery 152 E. Elm, Argenta, 795-4431

Best Pharmacy 1st Walgreen’s 225 E. Ash Av., Decatur, 872-1675 1311 N. Route 48, Decatur, 429-1511 695 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 875-2980 4995 U.S. Route 36, Decatur, 864-9455 1315 N. Water St., Decatur, 429-0958

180 W. Imboden Dr., Decatur, 422-6464 www.imbodencreek.com Contact: Rhonda Luther, COO Imboden Creek provides assistance to seniors and their families with senior living and healthcare. We are the lone survivor of independently owned, and a family mission.

3rd May, Cocagne & King 1353 E. Mound Rd., Suite 300, Decatur. 875-2655


18

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

People

2010 Reader’s Choice of Best People Best Local Athlete 1st Brit Miller St. Louis Rams

2nd Morgan Criswell Lutheran School Association

3rd Gary Scott Maroa Forsyth

Best Auctioneer 1st Mike Hall 2102 N.W. Rte. 121, Decatur, 877-7546 www.mikehallauction.com Contact: Mike Hall, owner/auctioneer Mike Hall Auction Co. & Center is a full service, professional auction business serving Central Illinois since 1971. We’d like to thank all our customers and Herald & Review readers for voting Mike Hall No. 1 in the Readers’ Choice Awards for the sixth time. We conduct all types of auctions on site or at our action center facility and also do a lot of appraisal work. Our sales include estate, antique and household

auctions, farm sales, business close-outs, inventory reductions, bankruptcy auctions and all kinds of real estate auctions specializing in residential, commercial and farm ground. Our weekly consignment auction, now in its 21st year, is held every Monday at 10 a.m. at the auction center. Our auction center facility consists of five acres with plenty of parking, security fence, easy accessibility and a large auction building with restrooms and restaurant. We host large crowds with many dealers, collectors and regulars. Our excellent staff aids in the efficiency of our well-run auctions. We are often imitated, but never duplicated. We sell consignments of estates, households, antiques, jewelry, tools, lawn equipment, vehicles and much more. To consign your merchandise, call our auction office. Pick-up service is available. Years of experience, knowledge and excellent service has rewarded us with a spotless reputation and our clients with successful auctions. Don’t have seller’s remorse: call Mike Hall.

2nd Les Crandall Central Illinois Auctions 5695 E. Route 36, Decatur, 864-0468 and 620-4827

THANK YOU DECATUR for Your Continued Support

3rd Dean Rhoades Central Illinois Auctions 5695 E. Route 36, Decatur, 864-0468 and 620-4827

Best Bartender 1st Sam Blankenship Katz 112 Merchant St., Decatur, 429-5289

2nd Joe Campbell Lock Stock & Barrel 129 S. Oakland, Decatur, 429-7411 www.lsb1.com

3rd Caleb Jump Katz 112 Merchant St., Decatur, 429-5289

Best Car Salesperson 1st Gary Pate, Jr. Crown Toyota/Scion 255 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-5000 gpate@crowntoyota-scion.com Crown Toyota prides itself on outstanding customer service before and after the sales process. We have found that a happy customer is a repeat customer. They will bring their friends and family in to us. I want every one of my customers to not just feel like they are not only customers, but a member of the Crown Toyota family. I try to take care of each person to the best of my ability. They are more than customers to me. They are friends.

2nd Jeff Howard Crown Toyota/Scion 255 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-5000

3rd Clyde Chapman

Best Car Best Local Website Salesperson 2005 ¥ 2006 ¥ 2007 ¥ 2008

Gary Pate, Jr.

Crown Toyota/Scion

255 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur | 217-433-6937 gpate@crowntoyota-scion.com

Crown Toyota/Scion 255 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 872-5000

Best Decaturite 1st Paul Osborne Decatur Tribune

2nd Skip Huston Avon Theatre


Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 12, 2011

19

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople 3rd Kevin Breheny JL Hubbard Insurance & Bonds

Best Dentist 1st Dr. Kevin Artime 1353 E. Mound Rd., Decatur, 877-1601

2nd Dr. Kelly Clark 3rd Dr. Alan Colby 415 E. Ash, Decatur 875-5590

Best Doctor 1st Dr. Dan Smith Mount Zion Family Care Center 1200 N. State Highway 121, Mount Zion, 864-5531 www.yourcareourmission.org Contact: Kristy Collins, practice manager business Dr. Dan Smith established Mt. Zion Family Care Center in 1985 and the practice recently celebrated its 25th anniversary. In September 2009, the practice joined the HSHS Medical Group. Practicing with Dr. Smith at Mt. Zion Family Care Center are two other physicians: Dr. Dennis Costerisan and Dr. Brooke Ballard. All of the physicians are on staff at both St. Mary’s Hospital and Decatur Memorial Hospital, and continue to make daily rounds at St. Mary’s Hospital. Nurse practitioners, Elizabeth Campbell, Kim Miller and Julie Auton also see patients in the office. The physicians and nurse practitioners provide medical care to the entire family - from newborns to senior citizens, with a physician available on call around the clock, including weekends. The mission of Dr. Dan Smith and Mt. Zion Family Care Center is to provide all patients with the best possible care for their physical, emotional and spiritual needs in an atmosphere that is pleasing to God. Dr. Smith said, “I am blessed to work with an excellent staff here at the Mt. Zion Family Care Center. My thanks to those who participated in the Readers’ Choice Award and for this honor given to me.”

product and services at a fair price to make your vision better and life easier. Temmen Advanced Eye Care accepts most vision insurance like Vision Service Plan, Eyemed, Spectera/Optimum, CompBenefits and Superior Vision Plan. Dr. Camda Temmen and Dr. Timothy Busey, are licensed doctors of optometry and have been practicing in Central Illinois for over 35 years combined. We provide complete comprehensive eye exams for the entire family from children to mature adults. New patients are always accepted without a referral necessary. We specialize it hard to fit contact lens fitting and offer corneal refractive therapy, a type of contact worn at night that when taken off in the morning can allow the patient to see without correction during the day. This is an excellent choice for nearsighted children to slow the advancement of nearsighted and for active adults who don’t want the hassle of glasses or contacts during the day. We carry hundreds of contacts in stock every day and offer free shipping to home or office with a year supply purchase. Temmen Advanced EyeCare is happy to partner with Marchon Eyewear and offer eyeglass frames from designers like Fendi, Coach, Michael Kors, Calvin Klein and Nike. We also carry Flexon frames with titanium memory metal. ALL our frames are current and not factory seconds or discontinued. We offer a one year warranty for manufacturer defects on frames and some non-glare coatings have unlimited two year warranty for scratches. Our selection also allows single vision glasses for as low as $99 with selected frames and lenses, withwarranties. With an in-office lens lab we can

make glasses sometimes in one to two days. Another focus is to use technology to help make your life easier. From our Web site you can schedule an appointment, download or complete your preappointment paperwork, and order contacts. Automated computer calls, emails or text messages alert you when your exams is or that you have product ready for pick up. During your exam we use the latest in digital retinal imaging to help evaluate your retina but also dilate when able so you can safely drive or return to work. We are an environmentally friendly office using the electronic medical paperless system to reduce paper waste and to comply with the federal EHR standard. All health information data is safely stored, backed up and secure. Join us on Facebook to read information about new products and services. Visit our Web site for more information or to schedule an appointment.

2nd Dr. David Miller 2475 N. Monroe, Decatur, 875-5900

3rd Dr. Michael Murphy 2475 N. Monroe, Decatur, 875-0269

Best Golf Pro 1st Kurt Rodgers Red Tail Run Golf Club 520 W. Grove Rd., Decatur, 422-2211 www.decatur-parks.org or rick@decparks.com Golfers interested in setting course records in

Thanks for voting us #1...AGAIN! #

1 for last 5 years in a row, and #1 SIX YEARS TOTAL!

2nd Dr. Dennis Rademacher 1770 E. Lake Shore Dr., Decatur, 428-3424

3rd Dr. Tim Miller 241 W. Weaver Rd., Forsyth, 876-5220

Best Eye Doctor 1st Dr. Camda Temmen 1505 W. Main, Mount Zion, 864-3221 www.temmeneyecare.com Contact: Camda Temmen, O.D., owner; Jason Salmons, administrator; Kevin Hughey, marketing/media Comprehensive eye care and eye exams. Contact lens fitting and contacts for soft, hard, astigmatism and bifocal. Glasses and glasses frames. Customer service! Our goal is to offer the best

Best place to see a movie HUSTON'S AVON THEATER 3 "Our 14th Year of Entertainment Excellence!" Matinee Price $5.75/$6.50 (All Shows Before 6 PM) ADULTS: $7.50 SENIORS (60 and up): $5.75 CHILDREN: (Under 12): $5.75

www.TheAvon.com • 426 N. Water • Downtown Decatur • 422-8151


20

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople 3rd David Clark 440 Sunset Ct., Mount Zion, 424-0846

Best Local Band 1st Rock of Ages

Toby Tucker of 95Q Best Radio Personality. Decatur will have to contend with Decatur Park District pro Kurt Rogers who holds the record at every Park District course: Hickory Point (61), Scovill (59) and Red Tail Run (68). Kurt was a member of the Millikin University golf team and turned professional in 1985. He went on to play in 21 Illinois Open tournaments, placing 3rd in 1998 and finishing in the top-10 a total of 15 times. To date, he has hit 14 holes-in-one. Kurt is currently head golf professional at Red Tail run Golf Club by Raymond Floyd. In 2007, he was named to the Millikin University Athletic Hall of Fame for his excellence in collegiate and professional golf.

2nd Mike Yelovich South Side Country Club 1650 Cottage Dr., Decatur, 423-7789

3rd Rick Anderson Scovill Golf Club 3909 W. Main St, 429-6243

Best Insurance Agent 1st Melanie Schelling 3155 N. Woodford, Decatur, 876-8800 melanie@melanieschelling.com I’m pleased to have been selected the No. 1 Insurance Agent in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards. Our office combines friends and professional service when helping our clients to customize their insurance plans. Whether you’re looking for auto, home, life or health insurance, you can be confident that State Farm will provide you with a great policy at a great price. I may sound like a cliché, but the success of my office is due to our ‘no ice for Eskimos’ policy. That means we don’t push products, or sell people things they really don’t need. We focus on getting to know our clients; evaluating their needs; and then make recommendations. We work together to find solutions to manage risk and plan for their future. It’s important to stand behind your product, be sincere and act in the best interests of your customers.

2nd Jeff Ludwig Country Insurance 1401 Koester Dr., Forsyth, 877-2830

933 Marlin Ct., Decatur, 422-0708 www.roaband.com Contact: Phil Hazenfield, leader and business manager Rock of Ages band members consider ourselves special occasion entertainment. Festivals, wedding, anniversaries, and birthdays are our specialties. We provide energetic entertainment for all ages and have played a number of venues several years in a row. Rock of Ages is: Phil Hazenfield, bass/band leader; Jon Grubb, vocals; Cayla Hittmeier, vocals; David Morrow, drums; Doug Nicholson, keys; David Little, guitar; Steve Jackson, sax/sound; and Jim McNeely, sax. We have as much fun playing as our audience has listening to us.

2nd River Bottom Nightmare Band 3rd The HitMen

Best Photographer 1st DR Roberts 1270 N. Edward, Decatur, 422-2212 www.drroberts.com or drrobertsphoto@aol.com Contact: D.R. Roberts, owner D.R. Roberts has been providing quality photographic services to the Decatur area since 1978. Specializing in high school senior photography, weddings, family portraits, commercial and aerial, D.R. Roberts Photography is a full service digital photography studio. D.R. Roberts Photography maintains regular business hours with two qualified photographers and an experienced staff. Located at the same location since 1983, experience, excellence and professionalism personify D.R. Roberts Photography. Through the experience of photographing thousands of high school seniors, more that 1,500 weddings and countless families for more than 30 years, D.R. Roberts Photography has been voted No. 1 in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards ever year. Being an established studio, D.R. Roberts Photography has achieved a reputation of quality and service. Having been there and done that, D.R. Roberts Photography can be trusted to continue delivering quality service and portraiture for years to come.

2nd Valerie Cook Oakley, 519-3245

3rd Chad Mitchell 751 Christopher Dr., Forsyth, 872-6856

Best Local Radio Personality 1st Toby Tucker WDZQ 250 N. Water St., Suite 100, Decatur, 429-9595 www.95Q.com I’ve been at 95Q for about four-and-a-half years now, but being born and raised in Decatur it made it a lot easier to be familiar with the audience and what they enjoy. I share many of the same favorites and hobbies as much of the audience so I think it makes it easy for the audience to identify with me. If you travel to the big cities, you will hear a lot of personalities on air that use a “radio voice” and tend to sound quite a bit like Dracula. With me, you won’t get any of that. My favorite compliment I ever receive when out and about is when someone tells me that I sound and act the same in person as I do on the air. I am country music! I am not here doing what I do for a paycheck, even though that is nice. I am here doing this because I love it and I love country music! I love being part of this community and being able to give back in so many ways. Sometimes just being able to answer the phone and play a request for someone can really feel good. You never know why a listener wants to hear a certain song, but when they call back after you’ve played it and tell you thank you and that it really helped brighten their mood, it feels good!

2nd Shannon and Mike Y-103 250 N. Water St., Suite 100, Decatur, 423-9744

3rd Brian Byers WSOY 250 N. Water St., Suite 100, Decatur, 423-9744

Best Realtor 1st Carla Brinkoetter Brinkoetter & Associates 1610 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 875-0555 www.brinkoetter.com or carlab@brinkoetter.com Residential and commercial real estate sales, marketing and consulting. Relocation services including city tours, school tours, temporary housing and home purchases. We are an independent, locally owned real estate company. Our focus is on the Decatur-Macon County area and we are dedicated to providing exceptional service and expertise. The brinkoetter.com Web site is designed to provide current listing information in a very user-friendly way. We are the only real estate company providing interactive floor plans on all our listings.

2nd Terri Booker Brinkoetter & Associates 1610 E. Pershing Rd., Decatur, 875-0555


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2010

February 12, 2011

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople 3rd Sherry Plain Coldwell Banker-Devonshire Realty 3090 N. Main St., Decatur, 877-8000

Best School Teacher 1st Mike Coziahr Eisenhower High School 300 S. 16th St., Decatur, 424-3100 mcoziahr@dps61.org I teach law, sociology, and world history, as well as coach soccer and baseball at Eisenhower High School. My primary goal isn’t just to teach students about law, or culture, or history, but also about life. I take a great deal of pride in teaching my students how to be good citizens, how to be a positive influence in our community, and how to be successful in all of the things that they do. As a teacher I believe that it is extremely important to be able to take subject matter and make it relatable to students. Taking difficult topics and explaining them in a way that students can not only understand but also allows them to draw connections to other facets of their lives is the most challenging and rewarding part of my job. Working with outstanding teachers like Ron Lybarger, Jess McCutchen, and Sam Mills, and having great mentors like Terry Giroux and Mike Rusk has also contributed to my success.

2nd Carla Scott Decatur Public Schools

3rd Gayle Sablotny Lutheran School Association

Best Local TV Personalilty 1st J.C. Fultz WAND TV 904 W. South Side Dr., Decatur, 424-2500

2nd Sean Streaty WAND TV 904 W. South Side Dr., Decatur, 424-2500

3rd Dawn Sterling WAND TV 904 W. South Side Dr., Decatur, 424-2500

Best Veterinarian 1st Dr. Bill VanAlstine Brush College Animal Hospital 566 N. Brush College Rd., Decatur, 422-9393 bcahvet@comcast.net or ww.brushcollege.vetsuite.com Contact: Dr. William Van Alstine Started in September 1977, we are a full-service

7 times in a row!

21


22

February 12, 2011

Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestPeopleBestPeople

# 1

B E S T

V E T E R I N A R I A N

Dr. Bill VanAlstine Dr. Jennifer Owen Brush College Animal Hospital 566 N. Brush College Rd, Decatur

422-9393 We are honored to be voted #1

Thank You! We would like to thank you for voting us

#1 EVERY YEAR!

Accepting New Patients Camda Temmen O.D. Tim Busey O.D. Doctors of Optometry Become our fan on Facebook www.temmeneyecare.com

animal hospital providing medical care to pets through such services as outpatient, hospitalization, dentistry, surgery, radiology, laboratory and ultrasound. We try to provide friendly and caring service to our patients with the most up-to-date medicine at affordable costs. We are honored to be voted No. 1 for two straight years.

2nd Dr. Larry Baker Northgate Pet Clinic 2800 N. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., Decatur, 877-4393

3rd Dr. Jim Fleming

Best Waiter/Waitress 1st Patty Crafton Robbies Grille 122 N. Merchant St., Decatur, 423-0448 rodney@robbiesgrill.com Robbies Grille is celebrating 33 years in historic downtown Decatur. Robbies offers unique dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Menu items change daily, and include hand-cut steaks, soups, sandwiches and the freshest seafood available. Robbies Grille has won 23 various Readers’ Choice awards since 2004. So come in for a rare experience, or medium rare, if you prefer. We offer fresh menu changing items daily.


Readers’ Choice 2010

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestPeopleBestPeople

February 12, 2011

Thank You for VOTING US

Best Place to Buy a Car

2nd (Tie) Amy Rizzo Debbie’s Diner 1401 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-4130

2nd Carl Scholz Robbies Grille 122 N. Merchant St., Decatur, 423-0448

3rd (Tie) Bunny Steiling Coney McKane’s 104 E. Prairie Ave., Decatur, 475-1111

3rd Pam Worsham The Wagon, 429-2260

Best Chiropractor 1st Dr. Mario Fucinari Decatur Back & Neck Center 415 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 877-2404

2nd Dr. Todd Messamore 1533 N. Water St., Decatur, 428-7762

3rd Dr. Brian Penwell 2 N. Country Club Rd. #2, Decatur, 423-1500

Dr. Todd Messamore Chiropractic Physician

We Appreciate Your Support, Decatur! Appointments available Mon-Fri 8-6 and Sat. 8-12

Miles Chevrolet/Nissan 150 W. Pershing Rd., Decatur,

217-877-4440

www.mileschevrolet.com

Thank You for Voting Us

#

2 BEST

Chiropractor for 2010!

Let me be your #1 Chiropractor

1533 North Water St. Decatur, IL

217-428-7762 w w w . d e c a t u r b a c k d o c . c o m

23



Reader's Choice 2010