Page 57

Twin Hickory continued Anime Club

Sat, Sep. 28, 2:00 PM Sat, Oct. 26, 2:00 PM Sat, Nov. 23, 2:00 PM Sat, Dec. 21, 2:00 PM

Watch anime, meet other fans, and talk manga with friends at our monthly anime club meeting.

SAT Strategy Session Registration is required, starting Sep. 12 Sat, Oct. 12, 1:00 PM

Get the skills you need to ace the SAT! This two-hour course, led by an instructor from the Princeton Review, is full of tips and tricks to help you improve your SAT score. Space is limited; registration required. Teens and Tweens (grade 4–12)

Teen Uno Day

Mon, Sep. 30, 3:00 PM

This month’s teen tabletop gaming program is all about the card game Uno! Celebrate your school half day by playing Uno with us. Grab a deck from our collection, play with your friends, and find out who will be a Twin Hickory Uno champion. Virginia Reader’s Choice Book Club  Mon, Oct. 14, 4:00 PM Mon, Nov. 18, 4:00 PM

During each book discussion in this series, we will highlight a different teen book from the Virginia State Reading Association’s Virginia Reader’s Choice 2019-2020 list. Titles will be announced as the scheduled program dates approach. Games of Strategy for Teens

Tue, Nov. 5, 3:00 PM

Enjoy an afternoon of chess and other tabletop games of strategy! This program will allow teens and tweens to play chess with other players in the community and learn about games with similar themes. Relax with us on your Election Day holiday from school and exercise your brain at the same time! Beauty and the Beast ¸ Fri, Dec. 27, 2:00 PM

(2017, PG, 129 min.) Enjoy winter break with the new live-action version of this classic fairy tale, starring Emma Watson, Ewan McGregor, Ian McKellen, and Emma Thompson. Snacks will be provided. Check out some young adult fairy tale books after the movie! Codenames Game Day

CHILDREN

Space is limited. Groups, please call to explore opportunities. Weekly Storytimes

Sep. 3–Oct. 12; Oct. 28–Dec. 14; Dec. 30-31

Mother Goose (6–24 months)

Mondays 10:30 AM Wednesdays 9:30 AM Saturdays 9:30 AM T Toddler (24–36 months) Tuesdays 9:30 AM Toddler Music (24–36 months) Wednesdays 10:30 AM Thursdays 10:30 AM Toddler & Preschool (2–5 years) Mondays 9:30 AM Preschool (3–5 years) Tuesdays 10:30 AM Thursdays 9:30 AM Family Storytime (all ages w/adult) Saturdays 10:30 AM T Twilight Tales (all ages w/adult) Wednesdays 7:00 PM T Infants & Toddlers (birth-3)

Baby Play Time

Fri, Nov. 22, 9:30 AM Fri, Dec. 6, 9:30 AM

Ages 2 and under. Early learning through constructive play. Make new friends and enjoy the fun! Art for 2s and 3s Fri, Nov. 22, 10:30 AM

Ages 2-3. Escape the winter “blahs” with an engaging story and art project, perfect for 2 and 3 year olds, each with an adult helper. Preschool (3–5 years)

Busy Hands

Tue, Sep. 24, 3:30 PM Squirrel and Acorn Paper Bag Mon, Oct. 7, 3:30 PM Monster Hands Tue, Oct. 15, 3:30 PM Monster Hands Mon, Nov. 4, 3:30 PM Legend of the Indian Paintbrush Tue, Nov. 19, 3:30 PM Legend of the Indian Paintbrush Tue, Dec. 10, 3:30 PM Winter Wizard and Fairy Wands Mon, Dec. 16, 3:30 PM Winter Wizard and Fairy Wands

Sat, Nov. 2, 10:30 AM T

Ages 4+. Learn about birds and the fun hobby of birding. We will begin inside with a brief introduction to bird watching before heading outside for a short walk near the library to look for birds. All ages are welcome and there will be a craft for children. Children are required to have adult supervision. Elementary (grade K-5)

Celebrate National Coding Week

Thu, Sep. 19, 3:30 PM

Grades K-5. Join us for a story and then some creative activities using coding. Stories ‘n’ Such Thu, Oct. 17, 3:30 PM Autumn Tree Q-Tip Painting Thu, Nov. 14, 3:30 PM Art Tag Grades K-5. Join us for a story and then some creative learning and fun. Books and more related to the theme will be available to check out to help encourage your child’s natural curiosity. Stories from Other Lands Wed, Oct. 23, 3:30 PM Antarctica Wed, Nov. 13, 3:30 PM Australia Tue, Dec. 17, 3:30 PM Africa Grades K-2. You’re invited to hear a story and create a celebration of other continents around the world. Innovate on NOV8 Fri, Nov. 8, 3:30 PM

Grades K-2. Celebrate National STEM day as we create and learn with fun activities. STEM books and materials will be available. Making Toys Fri, Nov. 15, 4:00 PM

Grades K-5. We’ll use STEM skills to create our own balloon vehicles, mazes, or slime. Is the Price Right?

Thu, Dec. 12, 7:00 PM T

Ages 3-5. Join us for a story and some creative learning and fun! Craft books and materials related to the theme will be available to check out to help encourage your child’s natural curiosity. Preschool Music

Grades K-2. Join us for a story and then some creative learning and fun as we play games to practice skills in probability, money sense and smart spending. Books and materials related to the theme will be available to check out to help encourage your child’s natural curiosity. Guessing Games

Ages 3-5. A music program that develops early literacy skills through books, songs, instruments and movement. Preschool Holiday Music

Grades 3-5. Come play book-based “Guess Who” and “Guess What” games. We’ll give each other clues to deduce the names of books, fiction characters and real people.

Fri, Nov. 1, 10:30 AM

Fri, Dec. 13, 10:30 AM

Ages 3-5. A holiday music program that develops early literacy skills through books, songs, instruments and movement. Preschool and Elementary (age 3-grade 5)

Fri, Dec. 20, 4:00 PM

All ages

Family Time

Tue, Sep. 10, 7:00 PM T Family Bingo Tue, Nov. 5, 7:00 PM T Family Bingo Mon, Dec. 9, 7:00 PM T Book-based guessing game

Ages 3+. Join us and get the entire family involved in fun games that develop literacy skills! Sensory Playtime for Families

Mon, Dec. 30, 3:00 PM

This month’s teen tabletop gaming program is all about the word game Codenames! Participants will join teams and work together to discover their group’s set of secret words before the other team. Fast-paced. exciting, and a lot of fun, Codenames is easy to learn and is one of the most popular recent tabletop gaming releases. Let our teen volunteers teach you how to play!

Citizen Science: Birding

Thu, Oct. 10, 7:00 PM T

Halloween Fun ¸

Sat, Oct. 26, 10:00 AM T

Come see a movie about the Great Pumpkin and decorate your own Trick or Treat bag. Big kids can “Make Your Own Head.”

The new Fairfield Area Library opens October 6!

For National Sensory Processing Awareness Month, join us for sensory-rich activities designed to get the entire family involved in playful learning. A staff member from Henrico County’s Children’s Services will be on hand to answer your questions about child development.

SEE PAGE 42

57

57

Profile for henrico7

Fall Program Guide 2019  

Fall Program Guide 2019  

Profile for henrico7
Advertisement