Page 1

Hawken SPRING

R

E

V

&

I

SUMMER

E

2012

W

Hawken & Cleveland


he Lower School Choir under the direction of music teacher Jodie Ricci, opened the Sunday, May 6, Indians game by singing the National Anthem. As they left the field after the performance, the choir had the thrill to “high five” the Indians players and their mascot, Slider.

h aw k e n a n n u a l f u n d

we did it! The Power of the Hawken Community in action.

Collective action is powerful… and we’ve got the proof!

thank you.

T

This year’s Annual Fund, which focused on larger community involvement, achieved record-breaking results. We met and exceeded our 2011-2012 school year goals, and it’s all thanks to you! Please accept our gratitude for the important part that you played in this accomplishment. It takes the participation of every Hawken group – our alumni, parents, grandparents, faculty, staff and friends – to fully realize the distinctive power of the Hawken community and enable the Annual Fund to continue supporting Hawken’s long-standing traditions of academic excellence and character development.

Thank you once again for your kind participation in Hawken’s 2011-2012 Annual Fund Campaign.


Living the Purpose

Spring I Summer 2012

Hawken R

From the Desk of D. Scott Looney

P

E

V

I

E

W

urpose should be transforming, revealed in action. If there is no real evidence of purpose, it is more aptly a platitude.

This Review is our evidence that our purpose not only has propelled our School and students to action, but the general Hawken community, the parents and grandparents of our students, as well.

Volume 33, No. 1

Forward-focused preparation for the real world through the development of character and intellect, and the all important Fair Play, hold us to standards where exceptional academic strength has to be combined with creativity, innovation, empathy and principle in order for our purpose to be met. We take pride in the fact that our students exhibit an academic strength that is consistently reflected in exceptional test scores, scholarships, national awards and admissions to top tier universities. But we also know that our mission requires us to equip them with skills that will not only meet today’s challenges, but those of tomorrow. That requires instilling a life long love of learning and openness, curiosity and innovation, community involvement and engagement. We expect our students and graduates to have leadership skills reflective of our purpose, in the standards of those who came before. As educators and directors of the mission, we are compelled to provide an atmosphere that will best develop those skills. When Hawken purchased the property at University Circle that was to become The Gries Center, it was a multi faceted opportunity. The return to Cleveland for a learning center was tangible proof that we had a stake in our surroundings, we were a part of it, not removed visitors, who came and left. It provides an educational base where partnerships with world renowned institutions could provide our students with hands on, real life learning experiences that consistent studies show develop more sophisticated skills and a more meaningful learning experience. The Gries Center also enables our students, in a very real sense, to engage in their extended community, develop the skills and practical sense of what it means to be a good neighbor, appreciate different perspectives, flavor the complexities of real life, with its everyday challenges. It cultivates a stronger sense of connection and involvement, and develops leadership skills that come from actual experience, not theoretical discussion. This issue of the Review explores our use of The Gries Center, and our commitment to this area as active participants. We are honored to feature members of the Hawken community who are at the forefront of Cleveland leadership, as examples of our purpose put to action. In a sense, this Review is evidence that purpose is very much alive. Although the words Fair Play and Better Self are rooted in the past, their timeless truth intrinsically provides the inspiration and leadership for a better future. It is shown by the people we have featured, and their examples of what it means to live the purpose.

Head of School D. Scott Looney Advancement Department Director of Alumni Relations & Events Eleanor Hitchcock Anderson ’79 Database Manage Robin Baringer Records, Research & Stewardship Coordinator Lisa Brenner Director of Advancement Anne-Marie E. Connors Executive Administrative Assistant Sue Daunch Director of Development Kathleen Z. Guzzi Director of Annual Fund Joseph Locandro Marketing Department Editorial Director Susan Amari

Features 4

The Using of It

12

Why Give Back

18

Crossing the River

Departments 2

From the Desk of D. Scott Looney

20

From the Chapel to the White House

26

Latest Developments

30

From the Alumni Center

32

Faculty Footnotes

35

Class Notes

55

In Memoriam

56

Fair Play

Electronic Communications Director Laura Lewis Kovac Director of Strategic Marketing Gina Walter Creative Director Nan Wiggins Photography Marc Golub Kevin Reeves Nan Wiggins

Letters and suggestions are welcome: The Hawken Review P.O. Box 8002 Gates Mills, Ohio 44040-8002 review@hawken.edu 440.423.2965

It is our intent, as educators, to provide our students with the educational opportunities to continue, and meet their example.

2

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

3


UsingofIt

The

By Sue Amari


university circle the sally & bob gries center archeological dig

“The value of an idea lies in the using of it.”

I

Thomas Edison

It was at this retreat that Board member Bob Bruml ‘72 made a comment that, if the school was really committed to the principles of real life learning and involvement with the greater Cleveland community, “we would be at University Circle.” And this is where the energy in the room shifted.

t was one of those moments when someone said something, and everything changed.

University Circle. That architecturally beautiful gem, where the best and the brightest physicians, scientists, scholars, musicians and artists practice, perfect, innovate and make their professional marks at world renowned medical centers, museums, institutes and a top tier university.

It was 2006, a year Scott Looney, Head of School, refers to as Hawken’s “year of discovery.”

It was an offhand suggestion, not on any preplanned agenda, but it quickly overtook the lead role, center stage.

Every entity has rhythmic patterns of movement and rest. There are years more prone to reflection, and there are years of action. 2006 was most definitely a year of reflection.

“It was the strangest thing,” Scott Looney said, thinking back, “that idea, and the possibilities of what a base at University Circle could mean to our students took over the room.”

That year, the Board met in a retreat, a facet of a strategic planning process where thoughts from the Board, faculty and the general Hawken community would be actively solicited to evaluate where the school was and how that stood in relation to its original purpose and commitment. Only then could an effective plan for the future be made.

It did the same thing at a faculty retreat. The question posed to the faculty, “What would it mean for you to have a University Circle base for your students?” elicited the top possible response, “great idea” from 90% of the faculty.

6

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

“I never get 90% agreement on anything,” Looney commented. “There was this extraordinary enthusiasm.”

That enthusiasm and consensus moved the idea from comment to reality at uncharacteristic speed. Soon after the idea, Hawken publicly announced the purchase of property at 10924 Magnolia Drive, not too far from its original 1915 location at Ansel Road. Through a subsequent series of events, that original property was sold to the Montessori High School when a more suitable property at 10823 Magnolia became available. That property was purchased, renovated, and became the Hawken School Sally and Bob Gries Center at University Circle in honor of the Gries family’s generous lead gift and longtime Hawken support. “The Board was brave,” Looney reflected on the purchase. “They approved the funds and had full faith confidence … The smartest thing we did was to hand the faculty this Center as a blank canvas and let them paint the answer to the question ‘What would you do in University Circle if you had a facility? If you had a flexible schedule?’ Everything that came afterwards, the One-to-One program, Insights, Intensives, the Service Programs came from that decision.”

“The great difference in education is to get experience out of ideas.”

What Came After Maybe the idea moved to action at an unusual pace and with such enthusiastic support because the core of it was so familiar. It was, in effect, an expansion of the Hawken philosophy that education should not be confined to an Ivory Tower or classroom, and the primary purpose of the School is development of character, as well as intellect. “We are setting up life long habits,” Looney said. “The Hawken concept of Fair Play was never intended to be theoretical. From our center at University Circle, if you go south on Magnolia, you come to some of the most significant organizations in the county, the hospitals, the Orchestra, the museums; if you go north, you will find some of our community’s most challenged. Our students get opportunities in both directions.” Sara Mierke ’84, Director of the Gries Center agreed, “These realities call out for and offer opportunities for the development of a range of critical traits and skills.” Additionally, the Center base offers a more natural development of these traits and skills because its access isn’t confined to sporadic exposure.

George Santayana Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

7


western reserve historical society natural history museum cleveland museum of art cleveland botanical gardens

8

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

“When you start your day at Gries with a conversation about a topic, perhaps with an expert guest,” Mierke commented, “then walk to a world leader institution to experience it directly, then return to your own learning space to reflect, contrast and analyze, the whole notion of field trip simply disappears.”

Kindergarten level, where students use the Gries Center as a base to observe the University Circle architectural shapes they are learning in math. By first grade, it becomes a touchstone for sensory observational walks, and visits to the Botanical Gardens, the Hearing and Speech Center, Severance Hall and the Natural History Museum.

When Matthew Young ’83, Director of the Middle School was asked how the Gries Center and real life learning helps accomplish the goal of character development, he responded, “Nothing helps build character more than rising to meet an expectation one has set for themselves in collaboration with a partner.”

The Center’s location, Yolanda Saunders-Polk, former Assistant Director of Community Partnerships and Service Leaning, said, provides students with “unique opportunities to develop a sense of ownership and commitment to the growth of the city of Cleveland while building meaningful relationships with other community members.”

Exposure progresses to a fourth grade archeological dig in conjunction with the study of Ohio Pre-History and Archeology. The week long lesson combines teacher creativity in a uniquely collaborative learning experience with other University Circle institutions.

From the 7th graders initial involvement with the upkeep and improvement of the area’s American Garden, which led to a partnership with the adjacent Michael R. White Elementary school, which led to a collaboration in helping that school design and plan a needed wheelchair ramp, involvement leads to involvement. It sets the tone for an active interest in the community we all call home.

Real life learning and the use of the Gries Center are carefully and methodically used in progressive, age appropriate ways, so they are layered for strength. It begins, as Mary Beth Hilborn, Director of Early Childhood, explained from the “outside in,” which means in-school visits from area institutions such as the Metroparks.

Fifth graders choose a non profit for service involvement. This, Brad Gill, Director of the Lower School, “helps the students put the act of service in a local context.” That year, which culminates with students giving individual presentations about their experience to parents and non profit mentors, Gill said, exhibits “In a very real sense, how their perception has changed… they move from being the center of the universe, to being a part of it.”

“Children relate to nature and green space, there is a comfort level,” Hilborn commented. By Pre K, students are actively working with service organizations, such as Rescue Village, an animal shelter. Progression to the “outside” begins at the

By the time students get to Middle and Upper School, sensory and architectural walks, and partnerships with area non profits have set a base for a broader understanding of community and self.

Upper School Director, Kim Samson, said the opportunities at the Gries Center in both in real life learning and service, give students, “a good sense of the world,” and hones skills of collaboration and leadership. These opportunities were strengthened in 2010, after expert recommendation based on research for optimal student learning conditions, Hawken presented a new Upper School schedule that allowed for more flexibility in time and study periods. This flexibility and innovation allowed for varied and differentiated instruction, deeper and accelerated work in a

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

9


cleveland urban garden cwru kelvin smith library wade chapel specified area of interest, and a broadening of an interdisciplinary approach to subject matter. An important part of the new schedule includes two, three week learning sessions called Intensives. One session is offered between Thanksgiving and Winter Break, the second is scheduled from mid-May to the end of the school year. A look at the Intensive course selection this year included everything from Spanish 4 Honors to Honors Chemistry. There is also “Here and Now: Creative Non-Fiction in University Circle”, which resulted in 200 essays, shown on a student created blog, with area inspired topics that included resident interview transcripts, to meditations on the perfect cannoli in Little Italy. Sara Mierke teaches the Intensive “Community Development and Urban Renewal” from the Gries Center base. Other course partners include Neighborhood Connections, a community grant-making organization affiliated with the Cleveland Foundation, St Paul’s Community Church in Ohio City, The Civic Commons, and multiple area organizations and experts who join in the collaboration which examines the role of community development in urban renewal.

10

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Mierke notes that the course “addresses two essential questions: 1). How does the urban-suburban social divide manifest itself in our area, and in what ways can we contribute to its minimization, and 2). What are the ways urban spatial structures impact people and how can they be enhanced to connect economic ‘centers’ with struggling urban core neighborhoods?” The course focuses on East Cleveland, Fairfax and Glenville, three areas adjacent to University Circle, and course activities include student participation and engagement with area non-profit organizations and neighborhood groups. One of the beneficial learning byproducts for the students is exposure to area urban renewal experts and community leaders. This multi-faceted course, which develops and strengthens skills of research based writing, participatory research and critical reading, also educates the students about our city, its people and the inherent challenges and complexities of everyday life for those who live within walking distances of the museums. “It is an amazing course,” Samson said, commenting on the course’s combination of activities which include student project proposals on ways to meet neighborhood needs, to an overnight expedition to St. Paul’s Community Church in Ohio City designed to offer a feel of what it might be like to be an area resident.

The experiences lead to a more sophisticated, real understanding of the urban complexities, challenges, and realities that cannot be attained any other way. It also offers another benefit revealed in a comment Samson heard a student, who had taken the course, make to her classmates. “I never thought I would live in Cleveland after graduation,” the student said, “but after taking this course I found out there is hope that I can make a difference here… There’s a good chance I will come back.” Connection is a real benefit, as every urban center, to retain its vitality, needs to have not just the best and brightest return, but the best and brightest who are willing to participate and lead. “Through this experience, students build relationships with people that continue,” Samson added. “We want these students to bring their talents back to Cleveland. These memories will make them kinder leaders, which are what we want when we get old.”

O

r put another way, “that the better self shall prevail.”

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

11


We asked that question to some of our Hawken community known for their philanthropic and service leadership, and found out, in many cases, their answers are rooted in one of society’s smallest communities, their families. From memories of parents who led by example, to families who “expected and encouraged” civic engagement, to a “shaving test” that taught something much different than shaving, make no mistake about this … Cleveland today would be a much different place, without these people and their inspirations.

?

Brad Whitehead, Parent, Alumni Parent and Former Trustee, had an “exciting and energizing 20 year career with a management consulting firm” before he joined the world of philanthropy, because, as he explains it, he failed a “shaving test.” “I tell my children …” Whitehead explained, “Can you hold your own gaze in the mirror as you prepare to shave? I was not holding my own gaze.” This feeling of disconnection, ended up with his leaving the for-profit world to spearhead regional economic development work, including his current position of President of The Fund for Our Economic Future. What were the primary factors that influenced Whitehead’s commitment to “give back”? “All I can say is that it just feels worthy and connected. Most important… I pass the shaving test every morning,” Whitehead replied. Additionally, there is another benefit. “Perhaps a highlight for me has been to see the way this connection resonates with my children,” Whitehead continued. “They love exploring the various Cleveland neighborhoods and understand where they are from. And it is difficult to overstate my pride to see my sons dive in to create a rowing program for Cleveland Municipal School District students.”

Mavec

by Sue Amari

Whitehead

WE CLE Why Give Back

Ellen Stirn Mavec ’76, grew up in a family where

it was expected, and encouraged, to give back to the community “where we work and raise our families,” she replied. And what a mark her family has made. From the Kelvin Smith Library on The Case Western Reserve University campus, to a significant expansion of emergency services at University Hospital’s Medical Center, her family and The Kelvin and Eleanor Smith Foundation, have been at the forefront in giving back to Cleveland through their personal and philanthropic generosity and support. Founded in 1955 by Mavec’s grandfather, Kelvin Smith, the Foundation’s mission to “support non-profit institutions that adhere to excellence in their mission, creativity in their approach and fiscal responsibility while making a difference in Cleveland” has benefited and revitalized numerous University Circle institutions. When asked to name a specific project or achievement she has been involved with that brings her the most pride, Mavec, President of the Foundation since 1997, stated, “Being an early and major donor to the University Circle institutions… has helped transform the area into the exciting mecca it has become.”

Hawken faculty instilled in us a strong sense of responsibility for one’s community and the importance of the difference one individual can make.

12

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Dr. Scott R. Inkley ‘36, Alumni Parent & Grandparent Retired Chief of Staff, First CEO, University Hospitals of Cleveland


As we have been helped by the gifts of past generations, it is now our obligation and our privilege to provide for the generations to come. Bob Gries’44, Alumni Parent & Grandparent Venture Capital, Gries Financial, LLC

Raskind

Peter Raskind, Alumni Parent, noted that for many

years he “put on a suit every morning and went to work with the objective of making money for stockholders. I enjoyed, for the most part the for-profit world, but I am grateful to have had the opportunity to face different challenges and try to make a contribution to our community.” Raskind, a consultant to banks and bank investors, previously served as CEO of National City Corporation. In 2010, he served as Interim President and CEO of the Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority which, at that time, was searching for new and permanent leadership. In 2011, he served as interim CEO of the Cleveland Metropolitan School District while the District searched for a new permanent CEO. In both cases, he served on a volunteer basis, because, he said, “I was, fortunately able to do these things; my skills and experience might be additive to the situation; and I was certain that each opportunity would be stimulating and gratifying.” In both positions, he implemented significant improvements in the financial strength, operational efficiency and public images of both organizations. And what did these challenging “opportunities” bring to him? “These opportunities have contributed to balance in my life,” Raskind replied, noting the mix of the gratis roles for the betterment of the general community, alongside his past business accomplishments. An additional benefit? “Whatever the future brings, I’m pretty sure I’ll have fewer regrets about what I didn’t do in life,” Raskind added. 14

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Alayne Reitman ’82, Alumna, Parent, Former Trustee, finds that “giving back” gives her a “sense of peace.” “On days when caring for my family seems too hectic,” she explained, “I find that making a small gesture of kindness to someone else can calm my nerves. You don’t need a lot of money, a special talent, or even much time – just the inclination to reach out to another person.”

Reitman also notes that her current work with Evergreen Cooperatives, a group of worker-owned Cleveland businesses committed to local wealth creation, sustainable, green and democratic workplaces, and community economic development, “has reinforced my belief that with the right supports, most people will rise to meet high expectations. Members of the existing Evergreen Cooperatives inspire me by how they have risen to the challenges of starting a new business and how dearly they appreciate the opportunity to work hard, earn respect, and improve their lives.” “For our community to be its best, we need to work together to help those in need, to educate all of our children, and to be responsible with our natural resources,” she answered.

John Anoliefo, Alumni Parent, replied, when asked

about his most influential factors, “I always saw my parents involved in all village meetings … I grew up in a family of five with very modest means yet my parents always were able to assist those they considered less fortunate, especially widows with young children. Therefore, my siblings and I grew up participating in church activities, village clean-ups, student unions, etc. and here I am.” Anolifo, is Executive Director of the Famicos Foundation, a non-profit Cleveland Community Development Corporation that specializes in the creation of affordable housing. Since he has joined, 1000 units have been completed, 1 of which is especially remembered. “As I handed over the keys to this single mother, she cried profusely… upon calming down she thanked me and explained she was crying for joy that she and her children now have a home of their own,” he stated. And “giving back” has given him, “Lots of happiness! It is gratifying to provide a home to a family and watch the excitement of the children … and listen to the stories of what having a home means to the mother and her children.”

We need to look outside ourselves in order to find the best in ourselves. Clara T. Rankin Alumni Parent & Grandparent Founder & Life Trustee, Hopewell Inc. Community Volunteer

Managing Director, Little Mountain Group, LLC

Rosskamm

Sally Gries, Alumni Parent, Grandparent & Life Trustee Chairperson, President & CEO, Gries Financial, LLC

Anoliefo

Jeffrey M. Biggar ‘68, CFP, Alumni Parent and Trustee,

Reitman

Giving back is truly “Fair Play.”

Alan Rosskamm, Alumni Parent and Trustee, cites

his parents, when asked to name the biggest influences on his commitment to give back. “My parents are living proof that the American Dream works, “ Rosskamm replied. “They were both immigrants who succeeded beyond their wildest dreams. The American Dream works, but not for a child who lives in the wrong zip code and can’t get a basic education. I am thrilled to be able to help create that opportunity in an organization that’s opening quality schools in neighborhoods that do not currently have them.” Rosskamm is CEO of Breakthrough Charter Schools, a non-profit Management Organization that supports six of the best public charter schools in Cleveland, with three more scheduled to open in August 2012. Previously Rosskamm served as President and CEO of Jo-Ann Stores, Inc. for 21 years. When asked to name a specific moment when he was especially aware of the direct impact of his “giving back” in the lives of other people, Rosskamm answered, “I will always remember a day that I was showing a visitor around Breakthrough’s E Prep S chool. We stopped to talk with an 8th grader, and we asked what she liked best about her school. She simply said, ‘When I first got to E Prep I was shy, I had no self-confidence and wouldn’t talk. Then I discovered that I’m smart. I plan on going to college and medical school.’” Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

15


has the responsibility “Everyone to help others in all ways they can so that we follow the concepts of trying to make the world a better place with people well educated, in good health and with a promising future.”

Ronald J. Ross, M.D., F.A.C.R. Alumni Parent & Grandparent Director Emeritus Department of Radiology Hillcrest Hospital Chairman of the Board of Trustees East Region Hospitals Cleveland Clinic Health System

“I care about my family, my neighbors and friends, and my community.

But, most importantly, because it is the right thing to do.”

Armando L. Chardiet, Parent Chairman, Institutional Relations & Development, The Cleveland Clinic

“To me, it’s not giving back,

it’s giving forward.

Northeast Ohio is in the midst of an exciting renewal, and I support innovation and change so that the next generation of leaders can live, work and play here.” Jennifer Thomas, Parent Program Director, Akron, John S. & James L. Knight Foundation

“It’s funny but I don’t think of what I do as giving back. I get so much stimulation, interest and reward from my work that I feel like I’m the one who is the far greater beneficiary. I can’t imagine

a more gratifying career than building community.” David T. Abbott, Alumni Parent Former Trustee Executive Director, The George Gund Foundation

“Giving back is the natural manifestation of our moral and social ethic. But beyond noble motivations, the reality is that the wellbeing

of each of us is linked to the wellbeing of those most in need. A better society benefits and enhances opportunity for everyone.”

Sylvia Reitman Alumni Parent & Grandparent President, Robert S & Sylvia K Reitman Philanthropic Fund Robert Reitman, Alumni Parent & Grandparent Principal, Riverbend Advisors Chair, Robert S. & Sylvia K. Reitman Philanthropic Fund

16

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

“I want to make a difference in the betterment of humankind. Sharing my bounty is extremely gratifying to me, and hopefully, enriching to others.” Albert I. Geller Alumni Parent & Grandparent Owner, Fish Furniture

“My dad always had the Churchill quote on his office wall that read, ‘You make a living by what you get, you make a life by what you give.’”

Mark A. Shapiro, Parent President, Cleveland Indians

Photo by Hawken Student Tara Krantz ‘16

I give back because . . .

“…the leading idea should be the nutrition of feeling. Help the child hear, to see and feel; to wonder, admire, and revere; to believe, hope and love.” James Hawken circa, 1920

“I share the belief of Dr. Kazuo Inamori that people have no higher calling than to serve the greatest good of humankind and society, and that the future of humanity can be assured only through the balance of scientific progress and spiritual maturity.” Dr. Hiroyuki Fujita, Parent Trustee President & CEO, Quality Electrodynamics (QED)

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

17


market

by Sue Amari

One was born here, two were not. The two who were not had world soaring journeys that are probably stories of their own, but ended at the same place. They are the three Directors of Hawken School, Brad Gill, Director of Lower School, who came to Hawken via Western Australia, with stops in Tokyo and Dubai. Matthew Young ’83, Director of the Middle School, is the lone native, and actually one of a rare few who can say Hawken is literally his home, since his father was Head of School when he was a child, and the familial home was the cottage on the Gates Mills campus. Kim Samson, Director of Upper School, is a Boston native. After an interview with Scott Looney in Boston, Kim came to Hawken for a visit, and “fell in love with the great work being done in the Upper School.” She received the position offer from Looney via Skype, while she was traveling in South Africa on an eight week sabbatical. But the two non-natives must be quick learners or observers, since each of them have shortly absorbed the two most tell-tale traits that make Clevelanders, well… Clevelanders.

18

east 4th

gordon

ohio city

O

crossing the river

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

“The commitment of a Cleveland sports fan is brilliant, in its own special way,” Brad Gill commented. “I can’t think of a better example of the ‘glass is half empty’ analogy,” alluding to the Cleveland fan tendency to dwell on the what ifs and if onlys that make a native Clevelander as easy to spot as a safe driver on I-480. And Kim Samson, when referring to things she liked to do if she found herself with extra time on a Saturday, answered,

“I like to slip ‘across the river’ when no one is looking and go out for dinner in Tremont or around West Side Market.” Spoken like a native who has grown up in an area with an east-west rivalry so legendary, Cleveland magazine has periodically done features on it for three decades. Declared dead in a 2004 cover story, “RIP East vs. West” it was resurrected when the magazine ran a 2005 test, How Cleveland Are You?, and

gave bonus points if you were an east sider and had, at any time in your life, taken first time visitors to the West Side Market, or if you were a west sider and had, in a madcap and flamboyantly uncharacteristic display of live and let live, taken first time guests to Coventry. If the answers to the question, “What would you do if you found yourself with some Saturday free time” is any indication, that 2004 cover story rivalry alluded to in the RIP headline may actually now be on its deathbed, as renovation and renewal has given birth to arguably, the newest, most interesting Cleveland neighborhoods gleaming with definable characteristics reminiscent of the ones surrounding larger cities like New York and San Francisco. Gordon Square, with its art and theatres, Tremont with its restaurants and boutiques, the Warehouse District, with its Young Turk urban residents partying before, finally, being able to walk the eight blocks east to a Casino located smack dab in the east-west Gaza Strip called Public Square. “How about an evening of fantastic community theater at Near West,” Young replied to the Saturday free time

question, a nod to the wonderful Ohio City grass roots theatre, whose tag line “Ordinary People Creating Extraordinary Theatre” doesn’t include the additional, but warranted. “At Extraordinary Prices” . In May, adult tickets for their production “Ragtime” were priced at $8. Young said he would follow the theatre with a “delicious Vietnamese meal at Minh An on Detroit… that would be perfect.” Ah, the Cleveland culinary scene, which may have begun with native Michael Symon’s win over acclaimed New Orlean’s chef John Besh in the Food Network’s Next Iron Chef 2007 competition, has now been joined by a slew of award winning chefs and new, creative, farm to table restaurants, causing Peter Chakerian to comment in Yahoo Voices, “Cleveland has a reputation for being a food destination.” Brad Gill loves his summers downtown, “the 4th Street restaurants, concerts

at the Q and the Indians at Progressive field.“ He also commented on the Metro Parks. “One of the first local destinations I visited when we arrived in the summer of 2010 was one of the Metro Parks,” Gill said. “We walked upstream and I remember being almost overwhelmed with the stimulation of my senses, truly a beautiful place.” But when the group is asked the best part of calling the area their home, they come back to cultural richness, affordability, and the people.

“Cleveland is the most affordable and culturally rich city in the world,” Young stated. Gill agreed. “The city itself has all the benefits that come with city living without all of the shortcomings of the city. The cultural richness is amazing. We have already been here two years and have only just scratched the surface of all that is to offer.” And the people? Those quirky natives who are passionate about their food, their sports teams, their orchestra, their rock and roll, their museums and health care facilities, their Great Lakes beer

and now, Gordon Square, Tremont, the Warehouse District, added to the list that already included University Circle, Coventry, Ohio City, the West Side Market and mouthwatering Little Italy. “I am continually surprised at how many people have been born and raised here and at the growing number of people who were born here, moved away at some point, and have now returned.”

“I certainly sense a genuine love of their city from all Clevelanders,” Gill said. Young commented on Clevelanders being “the most resilient people I’ve ever seen”, and Samson added, “The people here are so friendly… it’s very easy to feel right at home, even as a born and bred Yankee!” Resilient, loyal, passionate, friendly, and… interestingly well fed. On both sides of the river. Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

19


Students & Teachers Receive Accolades

Ani Dasarathy ’12 was a grand prize and 1st place winner in the field of physics at the prestigious 59th Annual Northeastern Ohio Science and Engineering Fair held in March. This is the fourth consecutive year Hawken School has had a grand prize winner. The achievement qualified Ani to compete in May at the International Science and Engineering Fair in Pittsburgh, where he was one of 12 students nationwide selected for an all expense paid June trip to CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, in Switzerland and France. Will Mascaro ’14 placed second in the nation in Congressional Debate at the prestigious National Catholic Forensic League Grand Finals held in Baltimore in May. “This is a very impressive achievement. . . especially since Will is a sophomore,” said debate coach and Upper School science teacher Bob Shurtz. Hawken School claimed both final round participants in this year’s Lincoln-Douglas category of the Ohio High School Speech League’s Speech and Debate Tournament held in March. Ani Dasarathy ’12 won the state championship and Aric Floyd ’14 was state runner up, giving Hawken the distinction of being the first school, in the history of the competition, to claim both students in a final category round.

In January, Dani Berns ’12 presented a check for $110,000 to the Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute to support the work of immunologist Vincent Tuohy. Funds were raised from The Race at Legacy Village founded by Dani and her brother, Josh ’10. Kindergarten teacher Gail Holtz was recognized as a Woman of Professional Excellence at the 2012 YWCA Women of Achievement luncheon for embodying the mission of the YWCA of empowering women and eliminating racism. Upper School English teacher Cris Harris was nominated for the Plain Dealer’s Crystal Apple Awards by Adil Menon ‘12. Chosen out of hundreds of applications, Adil noted that Mr. Harris “has been a constant source of mentorship and inspiration for me throughout my high school career.” Lower School Chinese teacher Chunlan Liu has received a scholarship for a 10-day summer workshop in Worcester, MA, that will bring together master-teachers of Chinese to develop web-based teacher training programs.

news

To the White House

From the Chapel

Photo by Sandy Huffaker & Jerod Harris

news

Graduates Make National Headlines Dr. Jake Scott ’94 was an invited speaker at the prestigious TEDMED conference at the Kennedy Center in April. Received by a standing ovation, Jake, a radiation oncologist and cancer theoretician, gave his speech “Can We Stop the Imaginectomies” to an audience in the thousands, both at the Kennedy Center and as a sold-out simulcast. Jake’s speech, with its themes of risk and the importance of collaborative work, began with a statement that his journey to the prestigious stage began on the Gates Mills campus, in “Bob Shurtz’s classrooms and in Cliff Walton’s wresting program.” TEDMED is an annual conference of intellectuals and iconoclasts “committed to catapulting medicine forward.” Julie Zeilinger ’11, a freshman at Columbia, was invited to speak alongside renown activists at the 3rd annual Women in World Summit hosted by Newsweek and The Daily Beast. The three-day conference held in New York City included notable speakers such as Hillary Clinton, Madeleine Albright, Meryl Streep, Angelina Jolie, Nancy Pelosi, Gloria Steinem, and a host of other activists. Speaking on a panel called The Digital Lives and Girls, Zeilinger told host Chelsea Clinton that she wants to “showcase stories of women and girls who don’t have it as good as we do.” Sean Decatur ’86, who is currently the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and a professor of chemistry and biochemistry at Oberlin College, shared his thoughts about online education in a May 6, 2012 New York Times article titled “Enhancement, Not Replacement.” Decatur poses the question: “Are the cornerstones of the higher education establishment starting a paradigm-shifting revolution, making the most elite educational opportunities freely available to everyone?”

Traditions Alive & Well at Hawken Hawken’s longstanding competition between Vikings & Cyclops societies culminated at the Lower School’s final assembly in May. Awarded to the team that accrues the most points during the year in the field of athletics, this year’s competition was the closest in memory with the final decision coming down to the last event of the year, Field Day. Ultimately Cyclops prevailed securing the Field Day victory and the Chronicle Cup by one point, taking it from Vikings for at least one year, as they were last year’s victors. In 2009, Hawken Upper School established The House System to promote community building across grade levels and to provide opportunities for student leadership, school spirit, service learning, and healthy competition. Each student is assigned to one of four houses – Mather, Bolton, Chester or Ansel – and teams participate in a variety of challenges and events throughout the year including academics, athletics, community service, and campus stewardship. For the third year in a row, the coveted Dobay Cup was earned by Mather House.

Keep up with Hawken On-line • Like Hawken School on facebook • Connect with Hawken School Alumni on Linkedin

You Tube

• Follow HawkenAthletics on Twitter • Sign Up for HawkenShool updates on YouTube Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

21


news

spor ts

sports

news

Girls Swim Team Sets New State Record With 14th Consecutive Championship I

n February, the girls swim team won their 14th consecutive state championship, 22nd overall, setting a new state record for most consecutive state championships. Sarah Koucheki ‘13 defended both of her state titles in the 200 individual medley and the 100 butterfly, and Carrie Bencic ‘13 won the 200 and 500 freestyles. The medley relay team of Marissa Cominelli ’13, Lizzie Aronoff ’12, Carrie Bencic ’13, and Caroline Vexler ’13, broke their own state record with their first place win, as did Marissa individually when she shattered her standing state record in her 100 back winning time. The 400 free relay team of Kouchecki, Bencic, Jordan Bitterman ’12, and Morgan Cohara ’12 finished first in another record setting event.

Track & Tennis Athletes Win State Championships

Marissa Cominelli ‘13 was named the girl swimmer of the meet. The Plain Dealer selected Carrie Bencic ’13 Swimmer of the Year and Coach Holtrey Coach of the Year, while Sarah Kouchecki ‘13 was named Swimmer of the Year by the News Herald.

The boys swim team placed 5th in the State Division II meet and sent seven swimmers to states, led by Micah Simpson ’13 who finished 2nd in both the 100 and 200 yard freestyle events, 4th in the 200 medley relay, and 5th in the 400 free relay. The boys were also named Chagrin Valley Conference and Orange Relays Champions. In other winter sports news, the boys wrestling team advanced freshmen Louis DeMarco and Matt Pitera, and sophomores Seth King, Sean McKinley, Alex Stotter, and Chris Tatsuoka to the district tournament. Sean McKinley earned a 6th place finish. 22

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Congratulations to Dan Lubarsky ’12 and Sid Ahuja ’14, OHSAA Division II Tennis Doubles State Champions! Dan and Sid outlasted the returning Lima Central Catholic state runners-up in an epic two hour championship match to claim Hawken’s first state championship in boys tennis.

The boys basketball team advanced to the district semifinal with their second win of the season over Gilmour Academy. Senior Will Starks was named 1st Team All CVC and was named a News Herald Player of the Week. Junior Gabby Zuccaro was named 1st Team All-CVC for girls basketball, and was also named a News Herald Player of the Week.

GO HAWKS!

The tennis team advanced to the state final eight’s OTCA State Team Region Championship match where they lost a close, highly contested match (3-2) to the eventual state champion. The Hawks were 9th in the final state coaches poll. Alexandra “Ally” Markovich ’13 won the Division III 3,200 meter run at the OHSAA State Track Meet in Columbus, with a school-record time of 11:04.53. Running a nearperfect race by staying with the front-runners and utilizing the pack on a windy day, Ally pulled away in the last 400 meters on her way to being crowned state champion. She bested her own personal record by nearly six seconds. Zachary Polk ’14 also competed, placing 13th in the Division II long jump.

Middle School track teams did well in the inaugural CVC Invitational. The boys team took an astounding 2nd place finish out of the 18 school field. The girls had an impressive 9th place finish. Individual champions including Israel Moorer ’16 in the 400m, and Desmond Lawson ’16 in the high jump and the 4x200m relay. Hawken baseball won three tournament games, advancing to the OHSAA District Championship where they were defeated 6-3 by Grand Valley HS (28-1). The Hawks, who finished 18-11, also played for the CVC League Championship, narrowly losing in 10 innings to Beachwood High School. The Hawks were led by Wagner recruit and CVC Metro MVP, Nate Hunt ’12, who batted .474 on the season and had a 1.48 ERA with 71 strikeouts. Nate was also named Mizuno All-Ohio. Boys lacrosse finished their season 13-5, advancing to the state final eight region championship game where they lost to University School. John Rayburn ’12 was named 1st team All-Ohio; Jacob Gries ’12, Stephen Petersilge ’13, and Will Holden ’13 were named 2nd team, and Corey Steinberg ’12 received honorable mention. Girls lacrosse finished their season 12-7, advancing to the region championship game where they fell to Chagrin Falls. Colleen Schikowski ’12 was named 1st Team All-Ohio. Molly Liebeskind ’12, Annie Artz ’13, Sydney Costantini ’13, Annie Schirm ’13, Colleen Schikowski ’12, Vanessa Bajko ’13, and Emily Leizman ’13 were named Academic All-Ohio. Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

23


arts

performingmusic Orion Weiss ’00, acclaimed pianist and Classical Recording Foundation’s Young Artist of the Year, 2010, performed with violinist Janes Ehnes in the Artist Recital Series at Oberlin College’s Finney Chapel, April 24. A native of Lyndhurst Ohio, Weiss attended the Cleveland Institute of Music. In 2004, he graduated from the Juilliard School of Music, where he studied with renowned pianist Emanuel Ax. While a student at Hawken, Weiss made his Cleveland Orchestra debut. In recent seasons he has performed with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony and New York Philharmonic. His list of awards includes the Gilmore Young Artist Award, an Avery Fisher Career Grant, and the Gina Bachauer Scholarship at Juilliard School. In his Plain Dealer review of the Oberlin recital, “Violinist James Ehnes and Pianist Orion Weiss Captivating Collaborators in Oberlin Recital”, Donald Rosenberg wrote that the performance of Mozart’s Sonata No.20, C Major, was “animated in part by Weiss’ sparkling pianism.” Rosenberg also noted the recital Saint-Saens finale was “dazzling”. Weiss made his debut at Washington DC’s Kennedy Center in 2012, and will be featured in a recording project of the complete Gershwin works for piano and orchestra with the Buffalo Philharmonic and JoAnn Falletta. He performs regularly with his wife, pianist Anna Polonsky, as well as the Pacifica Quartet and multiple recital partners.

Arthur Erlendsson ‘13 recently made his debut with the Cleveland Orchestra. A pianist with the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra, Arthur is described as “an exceptionally talented young man” by conductor James Feddeck. Arthur performed Saint-Saens’s “Carnival of the Animals” as part of a family concert.

24

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

ar ts

performingtheater Hawken Middle School students had the opportunity to meet Peter Ostrum, who played the character of Charlie Bucket in the 1971 movie version of Willie Wonka & the Chocolate Factory. Prior to their March 2 performance of Willy Wonka, Jr. Ostrum held a private question and answer period for the entire cast, then stayed to introduce the play for the Friday night performance. Josh Schneider ’18, Kole Hoffman ’16, Tara Krantz ’16 and Larry Fulton ’15 were in Beachwood Community Theatre’s May performances of “13”. All four students were selected after competitive auditions that included some of the most talented young actors in northeastern Ohio. Schneider and Hoffman were cast in lead roles.

visualarts Katelyn Ursu ’12, won a gold key for her portfolio, and Peter Labes ’13, won a gold key for his ceramic pot in the Northeast Ohio Scholastics Competition and Exhibition. Anna Lowenstein ’13, won an honorable mention for her collage in the Beachwood annual high school art show.

SEPT 9 2012 @ 3 PM @ GRIES CENTER

THE

The Hawken K-12 visual & performing arts faculty invite you to an open house of their own creation. Faculty artwork will be displayed and musical and dramatic pieces will be performed. Take part in a “mingle & chat” devoted to Hawken’s commitment to the arts. Refreshments will be served.

news

Sometimes it’s about the money Every artist and writer will probably, when asked, admit to the fact that their best, most complex work sometimes and ironically leaves the impression of simple. Jennifer Axner ’98, perfects her artistry in simple, minute, studied strokes of finely pointed engraving tools. Sometimes that means putting the perfect “single dot within a sea of hundreds of other tiny dots” so it flawlessly becomes individually indistinguishable from the others, a part of a familiar pattern that Axner calls “a tiny masterpiece that is a vast world unto itself.” Axner is in her third year of a ten year Banknote Picture Engraver Apprenticeship with the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. And yes, that means she is literally “making money” from her love of art which was fostered on the Hawken campus. During her apprenticeship Axner is learning and perfecting the intricacies of traditional bank note engraving. Her day consists of carefully copying master engravings onto a highly polished piece of steel, one line at a time. The work is done on such a minute scale, the use of strong magnifying glasses is required. “It is an extremely slow and precise process to create an engraved image in the banknote style,” Axner said. “It requires many years of practice and experience.”

SAVE DATE

news

Her road to this Washington DC apprenticeship, entailed a bit of luck, mixed in with lots of talent, persistence, education, and work. After finishing graduate school, Axner heard of a job opening at the Bureau of Engraving and Printing, which piqued her interest because of her love of finely detailed drawings. And there was the luck. There are rarely openings for engravers, “possibly one or two every twenty years,” Axner stated.

She submitted her application which consisted of twenty original drawings and paintings, and after a two year application process, she was accepted as an apprentice. The rest of it, the talent, persistence, education and work, was nurtured at the Hawken Campus, where, Axner, a Cleveland Heights native, said “I spent every moment that I could in the art room.” It then continued as she received her BFA from the Cleveland Institute of Art, and MFA from American University’s studio program in Italy. When asked if she ever questioned whether she could, in practicality, have a stable career as an artist, Axner replied, “ At Hawken, I genuinely believed that my teachers and peers took my approach toward my artwork very seriously… no less seriously than they took students who were inclined towards, for instance physics or history or any other academic subject. This really built my confidence. In fact, it never even dawned on me that an artistic career might be a little ‘risky’ until I was much too far down the path to turn back!” Axner also noted the strength of the Hawken art department facilities, curriculum and supplies, by commenting, “Hawken’s art department was fantastically well-quipped. Besides my focus on drawing and painting, I learned how to turn a wooden bowl set on a lathe, fire a ceramic bowl, and silkscreen posters and clothing.” But in the end, it was the Hawken educational philosophy that left the strongest mark. “I think what stands out the most to me is how high Hawken’s standards are, and how each student is expected to rise to the challenge of learning,” Axner commented. “I take this ethic with me in respect to my engraving apprenticeship. The skill is very difficult and requires tremendous patience and persistence, so Hawken’s fundamental values regarding learning and integrity are extremely applicable.”

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

25


from Hawken’s Advancement Office Edward E. Ford Foundation Issues Matching Grant The Edward E. Ford Foundation has issued Hawken School a grant in the amount of $50,000 on a matching basis of $1 from the foundation for every $2 in new funds raised by the School through December 31, 2012. The grant and its matching funds will be used to expand the Pathways program at Hawken using as a model its successful Upper School seminar – and internship-based Science Research course. Pathways is an innovative program strand of The Readiness Initiative, which provides students authentic opportunities to apply classroom learning to the real world; a focus on problem solving and practical application; an interdisciplinary, integrated curriculum; internships and mentor relationships to enhance experiential learning; and immersion opportunities. The mission of The Edward E. Ford Foundation is to “strengthen and support independent secondary schools and to challenge and inspire them to leverage their unique talents, expertise and resources to advance teaching and learning throughout this country by supporting and disseminating best practice, by supporting efforts to develop and implement models of sustainability, and by encouraging collaboration with other institutions.” Head of School, Scott Looney was one of three nationwide heads of school selected to advise The Board of The Edward E Ford Foundation on current and future challenges of independent schools at their annual June dinner. This selection was not only a personal honor, but an opportunity for Hawken School to be in the forefront of Board discussion on future policy and direction. Looney attended the dinner, held in New York, in early June.

) 26

For more information or to contribute to any of these efforts, please contact the Advancement Office at 440.423.2965. Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

)

Latest Developments

Two Local Foundations Grant Funding to Teacher Training Institute

As a token of appreciation, Mr. Lucier was presented with a bound book that included student reflections. One student notes, “The environment the Writing Center attracts students of varying interests and activities and works to facilitate friendships that may have never come to pass in its absence. In many ways, the Writing Center serves as a kind of core curriculum for our school. No matter what other classes one takes in their high school career, 9th grade Humanities and the Writing Center provide us all with a common bond. This common thread grows ever more important as we each matriculate and follow our individual life paths.”

The Martha Holden Jennings Foundation and The Reitman Family Foundation, a supporting organization of the Jewish Federation of Cleveland, awarded grants to Hawken School in support of its Teacher Training Institute for Early Childhood Educators: The Art of Teaching Young Minds. The grants will ensure Hawken’s continued outreach and leadership in professional knowledge sharing to local teachers, including the Cleveland Metropolitan School District, and early childhood providers from urban areas. Aligned with Hawken’s Principle “that to provide the most relevant education possible, our faculty and administrators must be learning continually about educational best practices, advances in technology and developments in the world,” the Teacher Training Institute presents conferences with nationally renowned speakers and a variety of opportunities to strengthen developmental understanding of the young child and to support one’s growth as an educator. Attendees are exposed to rich content, readyto-use tools, varied strategies, and new teaching practices. This knowledge helps to create and nurture a passion for life-long learning in their students. Workshops are Step-upto-Quality approved and speakers for this year’s Institute, which will be held July 30 through August 2, will include: Julie Agar, Vanessa L. Bond, Paula Denton, Gaye Gronlund, Robin McCann, Miriam Mandel, and Hawken faculty members Gail Holtz, Emily Gielink, and Jackie Woodie.

Mr. Lucier was elected a Hawken School trustee in 2004 and has been active in several non-profit organizations, including the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, The Banks-Baldwin Foundation, MOCA Cleveland, The Cleveland Music School Settlement, E City, E Prep, and the Cleveland Botanical Garden. He spent most of his career in the publishing business, but devoted the early part of his life to teaching English at Northwestern University. He currently serves as Chairman and Senior Editor of STACK LLC, which publishes a magazine and hosts a website for high school athletes on safe, effective, drug-free performance enhancement. Mr. Lucier is the father of three Hawken graduates, Kathryn Green ’85, Madalyn Lucier ’05, Caitlin Lucier ’06, and Amy Lucier. Hawken Tennis Players Courting New Facilities 2 On Saturday, August 11 the Hawken community will dedicate eight new, and much needed, tennis courts at the Gates Mills Campus. Made possible by a lead gift from Stan and Irina Shulman, The Shulman Family Courts will provide players with quality facilites for training and competition; and expand opportunities for camps, clinics and tournaments. The new courts are also closer in proximity to the Sports Center, with nearby parking and improved spectator areas.

Lucier Family Writing Center Dedicated 1 Hawken trustee Jeff Lucier beamed with pride as his wife Susan, four daughters, extended family, fellow board members, faculty, and students gathered in May to dedicate The Lucier Family Writing Center. Established in 2007, the purpose of the Center is to promote individualized instruction of writing, revision and research; train and maintain a core of student tutors; promote creative writing opportunities; and provide a drop-in lab for one-to-one instruction. Mr. Lucier cited his passion for writing as the reason for his tremendous generosity.

1

JAH Donors Gather at Art Museum 3 Members of the James A. Hawken Society enjoyed an evening with Cleveland Museum of Art Director David Franklin in May. An elegant cocktail reception was followed

2

3

by Dr. Franklin’s presentation on the museum’s Rembrandt in America exhibit that included a tour of the gallery. Membership in the James A. Hawken Society includes those who give $2,000 or more to Hawken’s Annual Fund Campaign. Antiques Show Raises Funds for White House 4 Hawken School hosted its 27th Annual White House Antiques Show on Memorial Day at the Upper School Campus. The event featured well-respected dealers from all around the country and raised funds for the upkeep of Hawken’s historic White House, built in 1923 and included in the National Register of Historic Places. Despite the slow economy, this year’s show included a wide variety of dealers and an estimated attendance of 900. “We pride ourselves with having a wide variety of dealers so that there is something for everyone in every price range,” says show chair Grosvie Cooley. From the Parents’ Association The Hawken School Parents’ Association Faculty Grants Program provides monetary support for programs/initiatives designed to promote educational excellence at Hawken. Under the leadership of President Terri Kennedy and the leadership team, the Parents’ Association’s various fundraising initiatives, such as Fall Family Fair, Grocery Cards and other projects, provided over $35,000 worth of financial assistance to Hawken’s faculty during the 2011-12 academic year. After a two-year term, we say farewell to Terri and welcome Lynne Marcus Cohen ’82 as the Parents’ Association president. Auction Raises Funds for Faculty Professional Development, Arts & Athletics 5 The Hawken community gathered for a Winning Night to Remember in March raising funds for faculty professional development and for Hawken’s performing arts and athletics programs. Event chairs Mauri Artz, Janice Hawwa, and Terri Kennedy worked tirelessly volunteering their time in the months, weeks, and days preceding the March Madness themed auction. It truly was a winning night to remember.

4

5


Welcome&Thanks Silver

Gerace

Bennett

Grieff

Mangini

Glass

Horn

Allman

Tone

Smith

Beatty

Barrett

Visconsi

Hawken welcomes 5 members to the Board of Trustees & 8 members

5

New to the Board of Trustees : Barbara Byrd-Bennett is the Chief Education Advisor for the Chicago School System. She is the recipient of numerous local, state and national honors including the Council of Greater City Schools 2001 Urban Superintendent of the Year. Barbara and her husband Bruce Bennett reside in Solon. They have two grandchildren attending Hawken: Jalen ’22 and Khalil ’22 Suggs. Sam Gerace is the Chief Executive Officer of Veritix, a state-of-the-art digital ticketing, event marketing, and relationship management solutions provider for the sports and live entertainment industries. He is also the founder of Be Free, a comprehensive Internet marketing information services company for leading retail and consumer businesses. Sam, his wife Lynne, and children, Michael ’16, Andrew ’18, and Christopher ’22, live in Novelty. Andrew Greiff, President, Specialty Metals at Olympic Steel, has over 20 years of management, operations, sales, purchasing and marketing experience in the metals distribution business. He serves on the Regional Board of Directors of the Anti Defamation League. Andrew, his wife Kim, and children Jacob ’14 and Harrison ’16, reside in Aurora.

8

Julie Mangini is the proud mother of Hawken Lower School students Jake ’22, Luke ’24, and Zack ’26. A Baltimore, MD, native, Julie practiced Family & Elder Law from 1994 -1997. She joined Update Legal in 1997 as a staffing coordinator and after several promotions became the organization’s Chief Operating Officer. Julie, her husband Eric, and children, reside in Moreland Hills.

28

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Dominic A. Visconsi, Jr. ’77 is Co-Chief Executive Officer of Visconsi Companies, Ltd. with his brother, Anthoni ’71. Founded in 1984, the company carries on a four generation tradition of shopping center development and management with projects ranging from Alaska to South Carolina. As Co-Chief Executive Officer, Dominic is involved in the development and implementation of the strategic planning of the company’s operations together with the management of several of the company’s key retailer relationships. Dominic is frequently involved in fund raising for Huntington’s Disease Society of America. He and his wife Julie reside in Cleveland Heights.

New to the Visiting Committee : Donald R. Allman ’70 has been a leader in the out of home advertising industry for the past 34 years. He is the CEO of Titan, the largest transit advertising sales company in the United States. Don’s mother, the late Helen Allman, taught fourth and fifth grade English and history in the Lower School for 15 years. Don resides in Darien, CT, with his wife Cathy and their two children, JD and Amanda. Todd A. Barrett ’83 is the Director of Human Resources for mergers and acquisitions for Apple Inc. He’s the son of Nanette Barrett who developed the early childhood curriculum at Hawken and hired the first four preschool teachers. Todd, his wife Jennifer, and twins Kate and Nicholas, reside in San Mateo, CA. Scott M. Beatty ’77 is a co-founder and publisher with Trajectory, Inc., a company that develops apps and eBooks for use on mobile platforms and devices. During

to the Board’s Visiting Committee, & thanks those who have served.

the past 23 years Scott has held positions in electronic publishing companies focusing on product development, channel development, marketing, software engineering and sales. Scott and his wife Deborah reside in Swampscott, MA, with their children, Grace and Tucker.

recycling program in the world. His duties include developing the organization’s strategic plan and devising public outreach campaigns throughout North America. Carl and his wife Cindy have five children and four grandchildren and live in Alpharetta, GA.

Matthew R. Glass ’77 is a partner at Colbeck Capital Management, a special situations commercial lender. He has held financial analyst and portfolio management positions at Soros Fund Management, Baker Nye LP, and Reliance Group Holdings. Matt resides in Weston, CT, with his wife Heather and four children.

F. Jerome Tone ’73 is the managing agent for Hellman Properties LLC, an independent oil production and real estate company in Seal Beach, CA. He is on the Board of the Seattle Parks Foundation, and the National Board of Directors of the Trust for Public Land. Previously, he was involved in the production of affordable housing as CFO for BRIDGE Housing Corporation. Jerry resides in Seattle, WA.

4

Todd R. W. Horn ’73 is a Hawken “lifer” and is headmaster of Kent Denver School. He also serves as president of the Association of Colorado Independent Schools (ACIS). He has helped to train over 160 new Heads of Schools as a faculty member of the Institute for New Heads run by The National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS). Todd resides in Englewood, CO, with his wife Jane and son David.

Leaving the Board :

Robert W. Bruml ’72, Hawken Trustee since 1997, served on Education and Student Life Committee, Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and was Chair of the Investment Committee.

Jonathan M. Silver ’75 is a Visiting Distinguished Senior Fellow at Third Way, a Washington, DC based think tank. He has headed the federal government’s investments in clean and renewable energy, managing a $50 billion fund that underwrote some of the largest energy projects in the world and served as senior policy advisor to three different Cabinet Secretaries. Jonathan also co-founded a highly successful venture capital firm and served as a managing director of one of the country’s largest hedge funds. He lives in Washington, DC with his wife and 9 year old twins. Carl E. Smith ’74 is CEO of the non-profit Rechargeable Battery Recycling Corporation, which operates the largest consumer battery collection and

Barbara Brown, PhD, Hawken trustee since 2007, served on the Human Resource Committee and Education and Student Life Committee. Susan Eagan, PhD, Hawken trustee since 2007, served on the Education and Student Life Committee.

1

Dale A. Kates DDS, ’81, Hawken trustee since 2007, served on the Education and Student Life Committee.

Appointed Life Trustee :

Jeffrey M. Biggar ’68, Hawken Trustee since 1982, served on the Personnel Committee, Capital Campaign Committee, Planned Giving Committee, Committee on Trustees, External Affairs Committee , Human Resource Committee and is Chair of the Visiting Committee.

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

29


2011-2012

alumni

alumni

Alumni Center

From the

Hawken Honors Alumni & Faculty Over a glorious weekend in May, Hawken celebrated Alumni Weekend 2012. Through the dedicated work of reunion committees, classes ending in 2’s and 7’s celebrated their Hawken friendships and reminisced about their days at Hawken. There was an outstanding turnout from the class of 1972 who had over 60% of their class return for the weekend. A Friday night reception allowed alumni and faculty to gather and recognize four members of Hawken’s faculty and staff who have served the school for over 20 years. Those honored included Barb and Randy Dlugosz, Saeng Kamsingh and Anne Thompson. In addition, Hawken is proud to honor four outstanding faculty/staff members, who after countless years of serving our community, have retired from Hawken to begin a new journey: Since 1988, Rosetta Pavlik has been Assistant to 10 Middle School Directors. She and her husband of 47 years have four children, one of whom is a Hawken Middle School physical education teacher, and three grandchildren. Rick Stacy taught at several colleges before coming to Hawken in 1987. Along with being a Gates Mills history teacher, he has been a Hawken/LESD swim coach. His son, Jeff ’99 is a Hawken graduate Betty Steimle, a 2000 Alumni Association honorary alumna, has been a part of Hawken for 38 years. She has contributed to the life of the School in many ways; from being a member of the Gates Mills kitchen staff to the mailroom coordinator and “go to” person for many years. For 28 years, Susan Cox Wilson has taught art to Lower School students as well as Life Skills and coordinating service learning programs through the Student Committee and the Bag Lunch program. She is the proud mother of two Hawken graduates, James ’96 and Katherine ’94.

Hugs All Around for the Class of 2012!

Have You Ever Wondered? As you enter Hawken’s Gates Mills campus, have you ever wondered about the majestic pines that line the main driveway? Forty years ago the class of 1971, along with other current students, had the foresight to plant evergreen saplings along the drive as part of an Earth Day activity. To commemorate the planting, a plaque will be installed near the line of trees so that future generations of Hawken students will know the story of how these majestic beauties came to be.

A Visit from the Walter White Family The Alumni Office welcomed three of Walter White’s grandchildren to the Gates Mills campus over Memorial Day weekend. Gina, Eve and Christine Stockton, along with their children, spent the morning touring their grandfather’s home and enjoying the beautiful Circle W estate. Each grand-daughter received a collection of photos of the White House and other structures compliments of the School’s extensive photo archives collection.

Association Thanks, Welcomes Board Members The Hawken Alumni Association thanks Peter Jacobson ’81 and Sue Drake Harkey ’80 for their years of leadership service to the Alumni Board and welcome Matthew Salerno ’92, Lisa Bercu Levine ’85 and Shaquira Johnson ’94 as the new president, vice president and secretary respectively.

Keep up with Hawken On-line

HawkNet, Hawken’s online intranet, has expanded features! Login to hawken.edu/podium to review your profile information as well as look up fellow alumni by class year, occupation, profession, city, state and more! • Like Hawken School on facebook • Connect with Hawken School Alumni on Linkedin

You Tube

• Follow HawkenAthletics on Twitter • Sign Up for HawkenShool updates on YouTube

To hear commencement addresses and view additional photos from the day, visit HawkNet and search for the news story “Congratulations, Class of 2012!”

The Class of 2012 bade farewell to Hawken’s hallowed halls

on Sunday, June 3. One hundred and thirteen students received their diplomas and heard addresses from the following: student speakers Jenna Foti ‘12 and Liam Green ‘12, Valedictorian Aden Wexberg ‘12, Visual and Performing Arts Chair Denise Buckley, and Head of School Scott Looney.

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

31


alumni

w

e! tur fea

1 Anne Smith Wombell deConingh, “Fifth Grade

Teacher,” Lower School 19741999 stays extremely busy doing a host

of activities. For the Village of Chagrin Falls, she is the Chairman of the Parks Commission, Co-Chair of the Beautification Committee, and serves as the Recording Secretary for the Friends of the Chagrin Falls Library Board – the oldest branch in the entire system. As a member of the Church of the Covenant, she is Covenant News proofreader, Lay Worship Leader, Communion server, a Sunday School rotation teacher, and helps decorate the sanctuary for the holidays. Lastly, she is a member of The Village Garden Club, the oldest garden club in Shaker, having been founded in 1935. When you drive along South Park Boulevard, enjoy the group’s hard work in helping to maintain and enlarge the flowering grove of trees at Horseshoe Lake.

2 Larry Nelson, “English

Teacher,” Upper School 19692006 writes in: “One of the activities

which keeps me focused and off the streets is my little business, The Chair Shop, in Chagrin Falls. I go to work three days a week and work with my hands. Sure beats grading essays. And the Shop has provided me with an unexpected dose of Hawken nostalgia. Every now and then a former Hawken parent or student wanders in to have a chair caned or repaired. Some of my former student visitors are approaching age 60.

32

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

It gives one pause. If you visit my site, thechairshop.net, you’ll get a lot of information about my retired life. I am a devoted bicyclist, riding the Towpath by the Ohio Canal as often as possible. I’ve been ballroom dancing for several years. My Foxtrot is smooth; my Waltz is improving; my Cha Cha is superb, but the Salsa hurts my knees (I’ve got two new, titanium knees.) Reading engages me. As I don’t have to read to prepare for classes, I read a wide range of subjects and authors for fun. I often keep two books going at the same time, one which I always have wanted to read or re-read, another for fun and escape. Before I retired, folks frequently asked me “What will you do?” as though filling the time of a jobless life would be a problem. I have found the opposite to be true. My 37 years at Hawken did a lot to fill up my cup; I am now drinking from it.”

3 Martha Kane Brown,

“English Teacher,” Lyndhurst Campus 1969-1989 wrote: “In 1994,

my husband and I retired to Skidaway Island, Savannah, Georgia, where we had started our marriage in 1949. Two years ago I lost Ed and now I live at The Marshes, a retirement facility here on the Island. Still pushing literature as I write book reviews for a local magazine and enjoy book clubs and the Savannah Book Festival. I read about my former students and their successes with enormous pleasure while also keeping up with former colleagues Anne Smith deConingh, Connie Palmer, Genevieve Swan, Joan Page and Sue Kent. My three daughters and their families come and go – Kane Brown Pierce ‘78, Kingsland, TX; Mardee Brown Libert, Boston; and Allison Brown Miller, NYC.

4 Al MacCracken ’54,

“French Teacher,” Upper School 1963-2011 wrote in: “I have done several things that I feel are enjoyable and

keep me occupied in meaningful ways. First, as you know, I have stayed involved with Hawken in the fall and the winter as the so-called ‘Voice of the Hawks’ for Hawken football and basketball, in addition to compiling the stats for football all season and doing the basketball scorebook throughout home games. Besides the involvement at Hawken, I have been volunteering every Tuesday and Thursday at Court Community Service in downtown Cleveland. That venture entails placing ‘clients,’ (individuals who have committed misdemeanors and/or felonies and have been mandated by judges to perform hours of community service), in agencies that accept the client for the hours required. Nearly all the individuals who volunteer there are retirees as well, and being able to help mostly younger folks try to find their way and get back on track has its rewards, for sure. Of course, too, being a grandfather has those times, generally three or four weekends a year, when my wife, Mary Jo and I, grandma and grandpa, get to reunite with son Trip, ‘92, daughter-in-law, Beth, and grandkids, AJ and a newborn grand-daughter, Elizabeth Margaret Mary MacCracken.”

5 Sue Berlin, “Librarian/

Media Specialist,” Upper School 1997-2010 has been quite busy, serving on several boards of trustees (The Community Advisory Board of the Center for Women at CWRU, Preterm, as well as the Council of Senior Scholars, also affiliated with CWRU). She is participating in Senior Scholars’ classes several days a week during

Over the years, alumni have asked

Robert Hawkes in Underneath the Lintel at CVLT’s River St Playhouse, April of last year.

ne

faculty footnotes

alumni about former faculty and their lives after Hawken. In its inaugural column, the Alumni Office reached out to faculty emeriti and here is what some of our beloved faculty members have been doing since their days at Hawken. the school year and also volunteers with Court Community Service in downtown Cleveland. Most important of all, for a retired librarian, she is reading constantly! Sue extends her heartfelt greetings to Hawken graduates and hopes to see some of them in the not-too-distant future.

6 Jesse Bernstein,

“Chemistry Teacher,” Upper School 1974-2007 says that “all is

good in S. Florida. I have been teaching at Miami Country Day School since moving here in the summer of 2007. In addition, I was awarded the American Chemical Society’s High School Chemistry Teacher of the year for 2011. The honor was for what I have done at both Hawken and Miami Country Day over the many years of teaching and giving workshops to other chemistry teachers. I had the privilege of being invited by the ACS president to attend the opening of the International Year of Chemistry in Paris, France in late January, 2011. My wife and I plan to travel to Alaska this summer.”

7 Robert Hawkes,

“English Teacher,” Upper School 1972-2008 “People used to

ask me, ‘What will you do when you retire?’ to which I used to reply, ‘What I do already in the evenings, on the weekends, and during the breaks: read, listen to music, attend film and theatre, ride my bike, and act upon the stage when invited to do so.’ And so it has been: life is much the same, minus the day job and all that that entailed. I am fortunate that the invitations to tread the boards keep coming (so far), and as long as I can still learn the lines and the projects are reasonably worthy, I’ll keep on doing the thing I can do reasonably well. I returned recently from a job in Mesa, Arizona with

the Southwest Shakespeare Company where I played Leonato in Much Ado About Nothing – great fun, but I’m glad to be home. No doubt the well will dry up sooner or later, but for the time being, the play’s the thing. For today, I have everything I need. My blessings are too numerous to count, but I try daily anyway.”

8 Penny Orr, “Science

Teacher,” Upper School 19942010 has joined forces with a few friends

and former Sunnybrook Farms employees to revive Perennials Preferred, Inc., a small rare-plant business she had with Jay Szabo ‘78 before teaching at Hawken. Located near the Gates Mills campus at the former site of Mapes Greenhouse, Perennials Preferred carries harder-to-find and rare perennials along with old favorites. They also have a good selection of native plants, rock garden plants, miniatures along with annuals, vegetables and hanging baskets. In addition, Penny and her staff will plant containers and give garden consultations. Visit her store 7572 Mayfield Road in Chesterland. More information can be found at perennialspreferred.com or by calling 440-729-7885.

9 Len Carey, “Phys Ed Teacher,” Lower School 19561987 has been a guest at several Hawken

gatherings in the last year. Over Alumni Weekend, he suggested that the Review ask alumni a question about a Hawken memory or moment. One of his suggestions was for graduates to share stories surrounding the Chapel Talk experience. What was your topic, did you have a story to share about your Chapel Talk? If so, Len would love to hear from you at bellcarey@aol.com. Once a month, a group of retired Hawken teachers gather at Marie Scrambler’s in Mayfield for breakfast to swap stories. Among others who usually attend are

Frank Brandt, Shelly Freedman, George Roby, Bob Hawkes, Marjorie Johnson, Merl Davis, Sue McNamee, Al McMickle (when he is in town),

Jeri Parks, Bettie Steimle, Al MacCracken and others.

note: At any time during the year, former faculty are more than welcome to share updates by contacting the Alumni Office at alumni@hawken.edu or 440-423-2066.

Upper School English Teacher Peter Scott has authored his fifth book, and fourth novel, In Deer Isle, Maine. The book, currently available on amazon.com is about a regiment nearly wiped out at the Battle of Gettysburg during the Civil War.

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

33


alumni

HAWKEN READY 2012

alumni awards confers three distinctive awards

to Alumni selected for their exemplary representation of Hawken ideals. Vincent (Vin) Fiordalis II ’57, Marla Esgar Robbins ’75 and Andrew K. Rayburn ’73

The Carl N. Holmes Award,

The Fair Play Award,

The Richard W. Day Award,

named for the Hawken Headmaster, 1932-1955, is presented to a former student whose lifetime service and commitment to the concepts of Fair Play has benefited, not only the Hawken community, but the general community as well, and served as an inspiration to everyone dedicated to the idea, “. . . that the better self shall prevail.” Last year’s recipient was Vincent (Vin) Fiordalis II ’57, who attended Hawken from first through ninth grade. Fiordalis had a 46 year career in teaching, five of which were spent as a Hawken Lower School teacher, coach and administrator. He was noted for his exceptional efforts and service to the Hawken community as a phonathon volunteer, class agent, and reunion class chair.

presented for the first time in 1998, is given to an Alumnus/a for his or her long standing, “above and beyond” service to Hawken School and embodiment of the “Fair Play” characteristics of integrity, respect and accountability. Last year’s recipient was Marla Esgar Robbins ’75, who attended Hawken during her Senior year, and is one of the first female Hawken graduates. Since 1986, Robbins has served as a field hockey and tennis coach, as well as physical education teacher. She has been a member of the Alumni Board since 2000, and served as President from 2004-06. Robbins has held many other positions of service within the Hawken community, including reunion class chair, 20th year Co-ed Committee member and phonathon volunteer.

named in recognition of the foresight and accomplishments of Richard W. Day, Headmaster 1956-1964, is presented to the Hawken Alumnus/a whose actions, through personal dedication and life’s accomplishments, have rendered significant benefits to his or her profession or community and reflected the motto that “… each generation introduce its successor to a higher plane of life.” Last year’s recipient was Andrew K. Rayburn ’73, a Hawken Lifer. A graduate of Dartmouth College, Rayburn is Principal of Big Game Capital, a private equity firm, and Founder and Chairman of The Human Fund, which cultivates arts programs for Cleveland children. He was a member of the Hawken Board of Trustees from 2000-2008, a former class agent, reunion committee member and class news secretary.

Robbins’ one year at Hawken “changed my outlook on education,” she said. “Now I really enjoy teaching, coaching, and giving back to my school. As a student, Hawken helped me believe in myself… that I could do anything. I enjoyed school and learning for the first time in my life.”

Rayburn noted that his Hawken years, the 60s and early 70s, were a time of national change and challenge to social and academic convention. “Hawken School,” he stated, “was known as the ‘progressive’ school in the region which meant our faculty encouraged independent thought…”

When asked about memories of his days as a Hawken student, Fiordalis went back to daily chapel services, held each morning and afternoon. “In my opinion the life and heart-beat of the school was centered there,” he explained. “Every evening we filed out of chapel through the Headmaster’s office, shaking hands of our teachers and Headmaster.” Fiordalis also noted the “exceptional quality” of the Hawken faculty and administration, with faculty members Elmer Sipple, Mortimer Smeed, Charlie Poutaasse, and headmasters Carl Holmes and Dick Day getting special mention. “They really cared about us,” Fiordalis further explained, “and… they always had time for us.”

34

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

Do you know an Alumnus/a that you would like to nominate for the this year’s awards?

Please email candidates for this year’s Carl N. Holmes, Richard W. Day and Fair Play Awards to the Alumni Association, attention Eleanor Anderson, at alumni@ hawken.edu. Awards will be presented at the Alumni Winter Luncheon in December. Last date for candidate consideration is October 5, 2012.

Faculty members Jack Pickering, James Bresnicky and Lee Henry were noted as three major influences during Rayburn’s Hawken years. “They encouraged and demanded a creative academic approach and a consideration of the community that encouraged me to incorporate community service across my career to places like Hawken, The Human Fund, and many other philanthropic targets,” he commented.

Congratulations C l as s

Of

The Hawken School Alumni Association

Auburn University Babson College Baldwin-Wallace College (2) Bates College Bentley University (2) Brandeis University Brown University (3) Bucknell University University of California at Santa Barbara Carleton College Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University (4) University of Chicago (3) University of Cincinnati Cleveland State University Colgate University Colorado College (2) Cornell University (College of Engineering) Denison University (2) DePaul University (2) DePauw University Dickinson College Duke University Emory University University of Evansville Fordham University

The George Washington University Georgetown University Hampshire College Harding University Harvey Mudd College Ithaca College John Carroll University Kalamazoo College Kenyon College (3) Lafayette College Lake Forest College Lehigh University Marietta College Miami University, Oxford (3) University of Michigan (4) Midreshet HaRova Overseas Program Mills College New York University (Stern School of Business) Northeastern University Northwestern University (Engineering) University of Notre Dame Oberlin College Ohio Northern University The Ohio State University (3) The Ohio State University (Honors & Scholars Program) Ohio University (2)

Ohio Wesleyan University Pennsylvania State University (2) University of Pennsylvania (2) Princeton University (2) Providence College Purdue University Roanoke College University of Rochester Rollins College Scripps College Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Southern Methodist University (2) Spelman College Stanford University (2) The University of Texas, Austin Trinity University Tulane University (2) Vanderbilt University (1) Vassar College (2) Wagner College Wake Forest University Washington & Lee University Washington University in St. Louis (3) Wesleyan University West Virginia University (2) Wittenberg University The College of Wooster Yale University


=

=

In Memoriam R e m e m b e r i n g Fe l l o w A l u m n i , Fa c u l t y, S t a f f & Tr u s t e e s

Passed away in July 2011. Mr. Blossom attended Hawken School in grades seven through nine. Following his studies at Hawken, he graduated from Asheville School. Mr. Blossom attended Harvard University for one year until he joined the Army and served in World War II. When he returned from Europe, he trained as a therapist and later decided to be an actor. Mr. Blossom was an actor who appeared in many films. He may be best remembered as the next-door neighbor, Old Man Marley, in the comedy Home Alone. He also appeared as a patient in the George C. Scott film The Hospital, Wild Bob Cody in Slaughterhouse-Five, Paul Le Mat’s father in Citizens Band, and a convict in Escape From Alcatraz. He is survived by two children. Charles O. Newell ’41 Passed away on March 15, 2012. He attended Hawken School in grades three through eight. Mr. Newell then went on to attend Asheville School and Culver Military Academy. After serving in the United States Army Air Corps in World War II, he attended Kenyon College. Mr. Newell was a general partner of the investment firm, Prescott, Ball & Turben. He also helped in the financing and sale of several oil companies. Socially, he was a member of The Country Club of Orlando, The Tavern Club of Cleveland, and The Chagrin Valley Hunt Club in Gates Mills.

54

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

He is survived by his wife Judith; three children; brother John Newell III ’40; and seven grandchildren. Allan Keith Gressle ’48 Passed away on May 18, 2011. He was a resident of Moss Beach, California. Mr. Gressle entered Hawken School in September 1942 and attended the school in grades seven and eight. J. Lance F. Jackson ’59 Passed away on December 27, 2010. Mr. Jackson attended Hawken School in grades one through nine. He graduated from Haverford College. Early in his professional career Mr. Jackson was an ambulance attendant in New York City. He then performed extensive medical research at Pennsylvania Hospital in Philadelphia and Boston. Mr. Jackson had significant expertise in computer applications. He designed and built a research facility at Harvard Children’s Hospital. In recent years, he consulted for MetLife, Travelers, and Starwood Hotels. Philip F. Landy ’66 Passed away on January 31, 2012. While a student at Hawken School, Mr. Landy was a member of the Chess Club. He also was active in sports participating in football, soccer, swimming, skiing, track and tennis. Mr. Landy is survived by three children; two grandchildren; and four brothers including Robert Landy ’66.

Prescott E. Barney ’71 Passed away on February 23, 2012. Mr. Barney attended Hawken until eighth grade and then transferred to Kingsley Hall School. Upon graduation, he attended Goddard College. He was a voracious reader and world traveler. He had an interest in Maya, Inca, and Aztec. Mr. Barney was a collector of coins, stamps, books and masks. Mr. Barney was engaged in many volunteer activities, including Three Corner Round, a not-for-profit youth camp based in the Sierra Nevadas. Mr. Barney is survived by his wife Carol; brother William R. Barney III ’70; and stepbrother Thomas H. Paterson ’70.

In the civic community, Ms. PrewittStanley was a volunteer and member of the Board of Directors of Flying Horse Farms.

Jocelyn Prewitt-Stanley ’95

Mildred “Millie” Smith Passed away on February 16, 2012, at the age of 101.

Passed away on June 25, 2012. She was the daugter of Alfreda Prewitt and the late Sam Prewitt. While a student at Hawken School, Ms. Prewitt-Stanley participated in volleyball and track. She furthered her studies at Grinnell College and then earned a J.D. from the University of Iowa College of Law, where she was a member of the Journal of Gender, Race, and Justice. Ms. Prewitt-Stanley was an associate in the Columbus office of Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP. She was also a member of the litigation group. Ms. Prewitt-Stanley possessed significant investigation and motion writing experience in toxic tort and products liability matters. She was selected as a member of the Ohio State Bar Association’s Leadership Academy class of 2011.

In addition to her mother, Ms. PrewittStanley leaves behind her husband, Theodore; daughter Emmerson; and siblings Allegra and Sam Prewitt. Daniel Schmidt Passed away in March 2012. Mr. Schmidt served in the United States Marine Corps during World War II. He was a Hawken School transportation bus driver for 13 years. He is survived by his wife Mary; six children; nine grandchildren; and eight great-grandchildren.

Mrs. Smith was the secretary to the Head of the Lower School Dick Davies from 1968 to 1985. Her daughter Margie White says, “She always enjoyed receiving news of Hawken and until recent years enjoyed attending assemblies and parties at the Lower School campus. I will always be grateful for the wonderful years she spent at Hawken; her friendships there enriched her life greatly.”

Photo by Hawken Student Abby Forsythe ‘16

Robert S. Blossom ’39

In addition to Mrs. Smith’s daughter Margie, she is survived by three children; seven grandchildren; and one greatgrandchild. Mrs. Smith was preceded in death by her husband Glen.

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

55


Janice Hawwa has been an involved Hawken parent since 1986, and has volunteered or chaired 13 biennial auctions. A member of the Board of Trustees since 2000 and a Chair of the Parents’ Association, Janice and her husband, George, are Hawken Fellows and parents of Natalie ’00, R.G. ’02 and Sami ’12. For the past 26 years, the Hawken community has been enriched not only by her contributions, but by her willingness to be that example of selfless service to the next generation.

Fair play

On June 3, I sat in the audience watching

my youngest child graduate from Hawken. It was a bittersweet moment. Not only would my child be leaving “the nest,” so to speak, but I would also no longer be a member of that Hawken constituency known as “The Hawken Parents.” After twenty-five years, I now pause to reflect on what Hawken has meant to my family. In 1987, I walked hand in hand with my five-year old Natalie ‘00, onto the Lyndhurst campus and shyly handed her over to her kindergarten teachers. I reminded her to “be sweet, listen well, and play fair.” On the classroom wall, I saw a sign that turned that cautionary directive into a noun, Fair Play. Over the next quarter of a century, I would slowly learn to love, respect and appreciate this motto of our community. I fondly recall those early days. Natalie brought home tales of morning greetings, family style lunches, and lessons of careful consideration for others. Her brother, RG ’02, soon joined her and also learned that he too was part of a sensitive and thoughtful community. How well I remember him in third grade, one of twenty students, all with varying degrees of reading aptitude and competency. His teacher managed to find a book for the class available in two formats to accommodate the different reading levels, so all the children were able to participate in one amazing classroom discussion. What a powerful display of respect this teacher

56

Hawken Review I Spring & Summer 2012

showed for each and every one of those fabulous, evolving third graders.

As my children navigated through the Middle and Upper Schools, each class grew exponentially. By the end of the year it was difficult to tell which relationships were newly formed and which had begun in kindergarten. It was obvious that there was a place for everyone. Whether on the playing field, in the classroom, behind an easel, at the debate podium, in the orchestra, or on a stage. . . all talents were encouraged and celebrated by the entire community. Each year my children experienced not only a wonderful, progressive, educational environment, but also a school community that embraced the development of character. We may not have had the verbiage to describe what was going on, but we knew it was happening. Call it Project Charlie or ‘life skills’… call it zero tolerance for bullying, or a no cut policy on sports teams – Hawken has always, reliably, valued this important part of life, this better self. When my son, Sami ‘12, stepped on the Lyndhurst campus a full decade later, there had been so many changes. Along with the new faces, there was new programming, and even a new preschool. The one constant? The sign on the classroom walls that read Fair Play. So, what does Fair Play mean? The years have taught me that at Hawken, it means it is expected that everyone recognizes and respects the dignity of each

individual. This absolute never wavers, yet its application is constantly evolving and ever challenging. Hawken’s progressive nature is well equipped to encourage and nurture the self-analysis, reflection, and thoughtfulness needed to apply this constant to everyday life, and everyday situations in our alwayschanging community. Hawken students may not remember every theorem, vocabulary word, or historical date (although many of them will remember quite a lot!), but my thought is they will remember this two worded reminder that everyone deserves fairness, and all of us have an inherent responsibility to see that it happens to the best of our abilities. Today’s graduates, just as in the tradition of past graduates, will remember it from those classroom and hallway signs, and the recollection of the words being said in past teachers’ voices. They will carry it to their futures as sure as they do multiplication tables and historical dates. And at some point in the future, whether they are negotiating one of life’s challenges, or settling a playground dispute between their own children, each and every one of them will hear that voice reminding them that they are called to Fair Play. Like everything else, they may choose to listen to it, or try very hard to ignore it… but make no mistake about it, once they have been part of the Hawken community, they will most definitely hear the voice.

P.O. Box 8002 Gates Mills, Ohio 44040-8002

!

PARENTS

If this magazine is addressed to your son or daughter who has established a separate permanent address, please notify us of the new address at rbari@hawken.edu.

HAPPENING AT HAWKEN 2012

James A. Hawken’s goal “that the better self shall prevail and each generation introduce its successor to a higher plane of life,” is also captured in the School motto, Fair Play. Each Review contains a Fair Play column written by a member of the Hawken community whose actions have served as living examples of James A. Hawken’s goal.

AUG 21 First Day of Classes Lyndhurst & Gates Mills SEPT 9 Afternoon With the Arts Faculty Gries Center OCT 5 Homecoming & HawkFest Gates Mills OCT 6 Fall Family Fair Gates Mills OCT 14 Admission Open House Lyndhurst & Gates Mills NOV 21-26 Thanksgiving Break DEC 22 Alumni Winter Luncheon Gates Mills DEC 20 - JAN 6 (2013) Winter Break

Fall HawkFest Friday, October 5

Fall Family Fair

Saturday, October 6

Save the Date

The Hawken Review, Spring-Summer 2012  

The Hawken Review is a print magazine published twice a year for the Hawken School community.

The Hawken Review, Spring-Summer 2012  

The Hawken Review is a print magazine published twice a year for the Hawken School community.

Advertisement