Issuu on Google+

BVI, Bermuda & Cayman

2016

Restructuring and Insolvency Guide:


EDITORS MESSAGE


WHY OFFSHORE


“If you torture the data long enough, it will confess.� -Ronald Case, Economist


British Virgin Islands


“America is more likely than not to fall into recession during the next presidential term.� -The Economist


“We learn from history that we do not learn from history.� -Hegel


Bermuda


“The situation China is facing now can be likened to a Ponzi scheme where the companies will ultimately not be able to pay back their standing debts.” -Goldman Sachs, 2016

“Corporate debt now amounts to 160% of China’s gross domestic product.” -Standard & Poor, 2016


“A national debt, if it is not excessive, will be to us a national blessing.” -Alexander Hamilton, 1787

“Every man, woman, and child effectively owes $42,998.12 thanks to Washington’s free-spending ways.” -James Grant, 2016


Cayman Islands


“[China] shows little sign of being able to implement the fundamental reforms needed to fix the distortions that make the market so volatile and in the long run dangerous.� The Economist


“No Chinese banks or third party institutions are able to undertake huge swaps partly as the steel industry alone had 1.68 trillion Yuan of debts needing to be swapped.� Chongyang Institute for Financial Studies


Know-How


“more than half of the nation’s steel mills and nearly half of its ¬developers are zombies.” -National Academy of Development and Strategy, PRC


“China’s growth in 2015 was equal to the size of the entire economy of Switzerland or Saudi Arabia and that’s nothing to sneeze at… but what goes up, usually comes down”. -BBC Chief Economic Correspondent.


Legislation


“How well you live makes a difference, not how long.” -Ancient Russian Proverb

“The money will heal all the hurts of honour.” -Ancient Russian Proverb


“Russia is isolated with its economy in tatters” President Obama, 2015

“The Kremlin decides who gets rich and stays that way” The Economist, 2016


About Us


KEY CONTACTS

ABOUT US

Phillip Kite

Sarah-Jane Hurrion

Partner London

Managing Partner Bermuda

phillip.kite@harneys.com

sarahjane.hurrion@harneys.com

+44 203 752 3601

+1 441 405 1502

Marc Kish

Ian Mann

Partner Cayman Islands

Partner Hong Kong

marc.kish@harneys.com

ian.mann@harneys.com

+1 345 815 2918

+852 3195 7236 +1 345 949 8599

William Peake

Andrew Thorp

Partner London

Partner British Virgin Islands

william.peake@harneys.com

andrew.thorp@harneys.com

+44 203 752 3622

+1 284 852 2571

Jayson Wood

Claire Goldstein

Partner - Cayman Islands Bermuda

Counsel British Virgin Islands

jayson.wood@harneys.com

claire.goldstein@harneys.com

+1 441 405 1518

+1 284 852 4301

Chai Ridgers

Jessica Williams

Counsel Hong Kong

Counsel Cayman Islands

chai.ridgers@harneys.com

jessica.williams@harneys.com

+852 3195 7269

+1 345 815 2907

85


ABOUT US

LOCATIONS

Anguilla | Bermuda | British Virgin Islands | Cayman Islands | Cyprus Hong Kong | London | Mauritius | Montevideo | Sao Paulo | Shanghai Singapore | Tokyo | Vancouver

harneys.com | harneysfid.com


“If the whole “largest economy in Africa” competition was a horse race, the two leading contenders [Nigeria and South Africa] would be virtually neck and neck. But they wouldn’t be galloping, they’d be trotting at best. And looking increasingly tired and in need of sustenance.” -BBC Economic Correspondent


harneys.com | harneysfid.com


Harneys Restructuring & Insolvency Guide