Page 162

matters of record


AWARDS PRESENTED AT COMMENCEMENT THE CABELL AWARD Given annually to “a Hampden-Sydney faculty member in recognition of outstanding classroom contribution to the education of Christian young men.” The Cabell Award was created by the Robert G. Cabell III and Maude Morgan Cabell Foundation to assist the College in attracting and keeping professors of high ability and integrity.

2019 Recipient: Dr. Robert Irons

THE SAMUEL S. JONES PHI BETA KAPPA AWARD The Phi Beta Kappa Award for Intellectual Excellence, in the form of a bronze medallion and a cash prize, was established by Samuel S. Jones, Class of 1943, to recognize intellectual excellence as manifested in outstanding student research. Papers are entered in a competition judged by the faculty members of the Eta of Virginia, Hampden-Sydney’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

THE THOMAS EDWARD CRAWLEY AWARD The diverse, deep, and rich legacy given by the late Professor Thomas Edward Crawley in his thirty-eightyear career as teacher, scholar, musician, and Dean is remembered at Hampden-Sydney with an award given annually in Professor Crawley’s name to “that professor most distinguished for devoted service to the ideals of Hampden-Sydney and the education of her sons.”

THE SENIOR CLASS AWARD The Senior Class Award is given by the Senior Class to a member of the College’s faculty, administration, or staff who in the eyes of the Class members has contributed during their four years most significantly to the College, its students, and the community.

2019 Recipient: Dr. Caroline Emmons

2019 Recipient: Dr. Michael Wolyniak

THE GAMMON CUP The Gammon Cup is given annually to the member of the graduating class who has best served the College and whose character, scholarship, and athletic ability are deemed to be outstanding. First awarded in 1925, the cup was given every year by Dr. Edgar Gammon, Class of 1905, Pastor of College Church 1917-1923, and President of the College 19391955. After Dr. Gammon’s death in 1962, his family continued the tradition. More recently, gifts from his son, Blair C. Gammon, and from Dr. and Mrs. Claudius H. Pritchard, Jr. ‘50, have insured that the cup and a stipend will continue in perpetuity.

THE ALGERNON SYDNEY SULLIVAN MEDALLION The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medallion is given annually by the New York Southern Society in honor of its first president, Algernon Sydney Sullivan. This award is given to a member of the graduating class distinguished for excellence of character and generous service to his fellows. Other recipients are chosen from those friends of the College who have been conspicuously helpful to and associated with the institution in its effort to encourage and preserve a high standard of morals.

2019 Recipient: Alec McKinley Cobb THE ANNA CARRINGTON HARRISON AWARD The Anna Carrington Harrison Award, a medal and cash award, is given annually as a memorial to his mother by Mr. Fred N. Harrison of Richmond. It is awarded to that student who shows the most constructive leadership in each school year.

2019 Recipient: Michael Drury Good

2019 Recipients: Leonardo J. Anselmo David Zachary Bushhouse

2019 Recipients: Hayden Oliver Gunn Isidro Romille Pride, Jr. Everett A. Hellmuth III

Profile for Hampden-Sydney College

Academic Catalogue, 2019-20  

Academic Catalogue, 2019-20