Page 7

GrusswortE Lamine Diack IAAF-President

I am delighted to write this foreword for the programme of the 2013 edition of Germany’s greatest annual and the world’s oldest international athletics meeting, ISTAF Berlin, which takes place on Sunday 1 September. ISTAF Berlin is annually held in the 1936 Olympic stadium and as the meeting’s website rightly and proudly boasts over two million athletics fans have passed through the stadium gates since the Stadionfest was first held in 1921. ISTAF is without any doubt an athletics legend. The 13th fixture on this year’s IAAF World Challenge circuit of 15 meetings, also comprising an IAAF World Hammer Challenge competition for women, ISTAF is renowned and respected worldwide for the annually huge, passionate and knowledgeable audience which the meeting attracts. In 2012, the Berlin crowd welcomed six recently crowned Olympic champions and three of them were victorious. While Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic took the 400m Hurdles and

Aries Merritt won the 110m Hurdles with a meeting record of 12.97 by five hundredths of a second, there was no doubt that the presence of Berlin’s Robert Harting was the highlight for the 55,000 spectators. The Olympic Discus champion, who describes Berlin’s Olympic Stadium as „my living room”, was the emphatic winner with 67.40m. This year, two weeks after the end of the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia (10-18 August), Harting will once again return to ISTAF at the head of a galaxy of stars, many recently crowned World champions, many others looking for revenge after defeat in Moscow. The ingredients are all in place for another atmospheric and exciting meeting, the 72nd in ISTAF’s history. I offer my very best wishes to the athletes, officials, media and spectators for what I’m certain will be another wonderful afternoon of world class athletics in the German capital.

Lamine Diack IAAF-President

ISTAF 2013  
ISTAF 2013  

The 72nd ISTAF on 1 September 2013 will be a big pay back day for the World Championships in Moscow. All four German world champions from Mo...