Page 1

2010

GS1 AUSTRALIA

YEAR IN REVIEW


Copyright Notice Š GS1 Australia Limited (ABN 67 005 529 920) 2010. All rights reserved. The content and layout of this report are protected by copyright in Australia and, under international treaty, other countries in the world. Neither the whole nor any part of this report (nor any adaptation of them) may be reproduced, published, performed, communicated to the public or adapted without the prior written consent of GS1 Australia Limited.


TABLE OF CONTENTS 5 7 8 15 16

LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT DECADE LETTER FROM THE GS1 GLOBAL VICE CHAIRMAN AND ACTING CHAIRMAN 2010 HIGHLIGHTS GS1 AUSTRALIA’S BOARD WE LOVE IMPROVING THE WAY YOU DO BUSINESS

19

REAL PEOPLE, REALSTORIES, REAL SUPPLY CHAIN EFFICIENCIES

34

OUR MEMBERSHIP

37 38

WORKING TO CREATE SOLUTIONS

41 43

OUR PARTNERS DELIVERING A GS1 AUSTRALIA SERVICES COLLABORATION ZONE THE YEAR AHEAD


4

Year In Review


Looking forward to the next decade As this first decade of the 21st century draws to a close it is timely to reflect on what GS1 Australia has achieved in the last 12 months. The year 2010 has been one of milestones achieved through excellent team work and great partnerships with our members, industry associations and our Alliance Partners.

This year our Industry Engagement team continued to work with sectors such as healthcare, hardware and food, grocery and liquor to implement the GS1 standards. They also engaged with the office supplies, consumer electronics and agribusiness sectors through industry workgroups.

GS1 Australia had significant results from the Extended Labelling pilots under the aegis of our Mobile Commerce initiative. This marked a significant shift in our services as for the first time we have become a trusted source of data for consumers as well as industry.

At a global level members of the GS1 Australia team continued to represent Australian industry in the development of global standards and to mentor and work with other GS1 Member Organisations in the Asia-Pacific region.

In 2011 we will continue our work to ensure data accuracy and to enable product recall, traceability and extended labelling information. By working with Australian business to implement the GS1 standards throughout the value chain, we can make a real difference in establishing safer and more secure systems and processes for the benefit of all Australians. Here at GS1 Australia we enter the next decade with a sense of excitement at the opportunities and challenges that lie ahead.

RUSSELL STUCKI Chairman GS1 AUstralia Board

MARIA PALAZZOLO CEO GS1 Australia

Year In Review

GS1 Australia continued its drive to develop value-added services based on our members’ requirements. We launched GS1 Locatenet, a location directory service for the healthcare sector that now is available to all users of Global Location Numbers, across all industries. GS1 Recallnet also kicked off this year with GS1 Australia signing an agreement with Hewlett Packard to build a service to remove potentially harmful food, healthcare and other products from the value chain. We refined the GS1net data synchronisation service, implementing usability enhancements following feedback from our users, and launched a new service to assist suppliers with logistics labelling.

5


6

Year In Review


LETTER FROM THE GS1 GLOBAL VICE CHAIRMAN AND ACTING CHAIRMAN Actions and opportunities

One million visits

That theme is an excellent description of the fine work that has been accomplished at GS1 these last 12 months. In a challenging economic context, GS1 continues to transform its vision into concrete actions that benefit businesses and improve peoples’ lives; and continues to find new opportunities to allow information to move efficiently and securely across the supply chain.

In another sure sign of our success, the GS1 global website at www.gs1.org had over 1 million visits in 2009. This figure is an increase over 20 per cent compared to 2008. Visitors also spent more time on the site than before.

Making a difference

Our collaborative work could not be as useful without the joint efforts we make with other industry associations and groups. In the past year, we have strengthened our working relationships with many such organisations, including The Consumer Goods Forum, the GSMA, ISO, and the ITU, among others.

When I looked at the accomplishments of the year, I quickly realised that there were far too many success stories to be able to list them all. GS1 has made a real difference in many industries. The teams that work with the retail & consumer goods sector, for instance, made great advances with food traceability, standards-based identification for fresh food, electronic article surveillance and extended packaging. Our ongoing efforts with the global healthcare sector have led to the development of AIDC Application Standards suitable for 90 per cent of all healthcare products, as well as to the addition of healthcare attributes enabling data synchronisation. Our Global Data Synchronisation Network is being used in more than 80 different countries, and now has 4.8 million GTINs and over 23,000 GLNs in its Global Registry. Furthermore, we’re seeing good progress with data quality programs. The historical core of our other product, Bar Codes and Identification, continues to be extremely strong; and this year we saw real results in the alignment of bar code and RFID specifications and standards. Our eCom standards continue to have increased adoption. EPCglobal also had a productive year of concrete actions, requirement and a number of live implementations of removable RFID tags for electronic article surveillance.

Strategic alliances

Transforming the vision Many companies and organisations have a vision statement; I am honoured to serve as Vice Chairman to an organisation like GS1 that has taken its vision and transformed it again and again into actions and opportunities. I congratulate all GS1 teams around the world on the fine year, and I look forward to seeing the work they will accomplish in the year ahead.

JOSÉ LOPEZ

Executive Vice President Operations & Globe Nestlé S.A. and Vice Chairman and Acting Chairman GS1

Year In Review

In February every year, hundreds of team members from the global GS1 community gather together at the annual event we call our Global Forum. This past year’s Forum was held under the theme of “From vision to action, united for new opportunities”.

7


Year In Review

8

2010 HIGHLIGHTS • T his year GS1 Australia industry working groups have been active in grocery, foodservice, agribusiness, hardware, consumer electronics, healthcare, outdoor and leisure and office products. • In 2010 hardware sector activity was focused on data synchronisation pilots, eCommerce strategy and expanding supplier adoption of GS1 Australia verification reports. GS1 Australia is also supporting the Woolworths/Lowe’s Home Improvement joint venture supplier engagement initiatives. • Key players from the agribusiness sector have formed a new group consisting of a steering committee and specific work groups to drive the implementation of the GS1 standards within that sector.

• GS1 Australia remains very active in healthcare globally. Representatives from Abbott Australasia, the National E-Health Transition Authority (NEHTA), CH2, CSL Biotherapies and Allere Medical and GS1 Australia staff, attended and presented at global GS1 healthcare conferences. • More than 300 companies are now using the National Product Catalogue (NPC). Health Purchasing Victoria (HPV) and New South Wales Health Services have endorsed the use of the GS1net browser template for pharmaceutical tenders. GS1 Australia and NEHTA have worked closely to assist suppliers submitting tenders. All state and territory health jurisdictions now have tender and contract clauses relating to population of the NPC. • We have had extensive collaboration with the Australian Food and Grocery Council (AFGC) and Efficient Consumer Response Australasia (ECRA) and Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) on the development of a new recall portal – the GS1 Recallnet service. GS1 Australia and HP signed an agreement to develop the service on the HP cloud-computing platform for manufacturing. An industry working group pilot of the service was run in the last quarter of 2010.


• In 2010 GS1 Australia also collaborated with Victoria University on a Smartphone application that scans products’ bar codes and delivers nutritional information to individual consumers. • GS1 Australia furthered this work with Deakin University and Nestlé Australia successfully piloting a proof-of-concept iPhone application, called GoScan, that scans products’ bar codes and delivers allergen information to the consumer. The GoScan application sources product data from a database linked to GS1net which is sourced from the Nestlé Nutribank database. • Working with Nestlé Australia, GS1 Australia expanded the iPhone application (GS1 GoScan) to other types of information, such as country of origin, nutritional data, general product details and sustainability information. • T he GS1 GoScan application was piloted by Anaphylaxis Australia and discussions are under way with the Coeliac Society. • T his GoScan application is also the basis for work being undertaken by the GS1/AFGC Extended Labelling work group. This group, comprising the AFGC, manufacturers and retailers, is collaborating to develop an industry-endorsed version of GS1 GoScan to deliver trusted and approved product compositional information to consumers. The goal is to launch the application to the market in 2011. • GS1 Australia participated in the GS1 MobileCom Day in June 2010, which was one of 35 GS1 initiatives presented from around the world. • GS1 Australia and the AFGC started a joint program to develop the next generation of the Product Information Form (PIF). This program will see the launch of a web version of the application together with XML standards that will become the industry standard for product information in the upstream sector. • GS1 Australia became a full Associate Member of the AFGC and a member of the Consumer Goods Forum.

• Based on the highly successful GS1 UK Grocery Data Crunch (Data Quality) Report, GS1 Australia initiated a similar project for both the grocery and hardware sectors locally. Data analysis was completed this year and a final report will be published in early 2011. • T his year GS1 Australia participated in an Efficient Consumer Response Australasia (ECRA) working group to investigate logistics labelling and related issues in the retail sector. GS1 Australia worked closely with the major grocery retailers to help suppliers improve their pallet labelling using the GS1 standards and has worked with industry to develop an ECRA industry toolkit. This includes a state-of-the-art video tutorial on pallet label location. GS1 Australia launched a logistics-labelling assessment service to help members improve their pallet-labelling processes. • A total of more than 500 people attended GS1 Australia’s Supply Chain Week sessions in March and September held in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. Speakers included representatives from the hardware, rural, automotive, healthcare, consumer electronics, grocery and liquor sectors. Pallet labelling was a major focus of the sessions. • The Electronic Meat Transfer Certificate (EMTC) for the Australian red meat industry has been upgraded to current GS1 eMessaging standards and made available for industry use. This has the potential to introduce savings of more $1 million to the industry. • T he consumer electronics sector has worked with GS1 Australia to be ready for a data synchronisation pilot using GS1net in the first quarter of 2011. The Consumer Electronics Working Action Group (CEWAG) has completed a GDSN-compliant data model to make this possible. • In 2010 the Office Supplies GS1 Action Group (OSGAG) issued a call to action to all suppliers in the sector to engage with GS1net. This followed a successful data synchronisation pilot via GS1net by suppliers Australian Office, Pelikan Artline, ACCO Australia and Dalton Office and Officeworks. • T he Australian Defence Force (ADF) signed GS1 Australia’s proposal to evaluate the ADF’s use of GS1net to synchronise information with suppliers commencing with their healthcare supply chain. The ADF is also working with GS1 Australia to implement GS1 item identification standards.

Year In Review

• GS1 Australia also has worked closely with healthcare stakeholders including health jurisdictions, manufacturers, Medicines Australia, the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA), NEHTA and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) in gathering the requirements to extend the GS1 Recallnet service to the healthcare sector.

9


• GS1 Australia continued to work closely with the Australian Logistics Council who published a White Paper urging the transport and logistics sector to increase productivity through increased use of information and communication technology. This document subsequently evolved into a Federal Government policy paper.

• GS1net successfully completed the Global Data Synchronisation Network (GDSN) Maintenance Release 4 upgrade and an Improvement Project Phase 4 upgrade.

• GS1 Australia supported the new NICTA (National ICT Australia) Future Logistics Living Lab project to be built in Sydney for launch in early 2011 as well as participating in a review led by the Small Business Commissioner of Victoria into Australia’s pallet-tracking system.

• GS1 Australia launched GS1 Locatenet, a central directory of GS1 standard, unique Global Location Numbers (GLNs) which identify physical locations or parties. The GS1 Locatenet service, which was initially developed with NEHTA for healthcare, will now be rolled out to other industries.

• T he outdoor and leisure sector established a steering committee and working groups to promote the use of numbering and bar coding and master data synchronisation in the sector.

Year In Review

• T he Bar Code Verification Service turnaround for testing products averaged two to three days in both Melbourne and Sydney and tested more than 90,000 products over the last twelve months. • T his year GS1 Australia launched a Dimension Comparison service to verify product dimensions and gross weight against supplier’s data in GS1net.

• E xpanding use of GS1net by grocery and healthcare users coupled with new sector growth has seen a substantial increase in the use of GS1net. Usage is set to grow exponentially as more healthcare suppliers begin to 10 synchronise their catalogues with multiple health jurisdictions. More than 150,000 healthcare items are registered in GS1net.

• More than 300 people attended GS1net User Groups in both May and November with strong support from Coles, Woolworths and Metcash. The user groups continue to be a feedback forum to improve GS1net usability.

• In 2010 GS1 Australia introduced a membership specifically for those businesses who only require GLNs. • In 2010 GS1 Australia’s Professional Services team had a successful year supporting GS1 members with more than110 engagements and re-engagements. • More than 3,700 people attended GS1 Australia training courses and sessions in the Supply Chain Knowledge centres in Sydney and Melbourne. • GS1 Australia continued its commitment to training its employees with staff attending more than 100 training sessions covering every aspect of the GS1 System.


• GS1 Australia established an Asia-Pacific Standards liaison group, led by GS1 Australia and GS1 Japan for collaboration on the Global Standards Management Process (GSMP). At the first meeting in November 10 countries from the Asia-Pacific region participated. • GS1 global launched the new Global Standards Development Process in April 2010. • GS1 XML Messaging Standard continued to be a strong standard for GS1 eCom with ongoing development alongside existing EDI Messaging standards. • T his year a total of 30 students from RMIT and Deakin universities completed the GS1 Certificate. • GS1 Australia and the University of Melbourne were awarded an Australian Research Council grant of $220,000 over two years to identify and quantify the factors influencing the adoption of supply chain technology standards in Australia.

• T his year GS1 Australia continued to work closely with small-to-medium enterprises (SMEs), establishing a SME eNewsletter focused on issues and case studies of interest to SMEs. • GS1 Australia staff exhibited or addressed more than 70 events both overseas and in Australia. • GS1 Australia staff volunteered their time with a range of community organisations and charities throughout the year. GS1 Australia continues to make available bar code numbers and product descriptions free of charge to the charity Visual Independence and raised funds to donate five talking bar code scanners to blind and vision-impaired Australians through the Visual Independence grants program.

• In 2010 GS1 Australia continued to improve its communications with members, producing more than 80 items of Marketing collateral to explain how the GS1 standards and services can be used by businesses. GS1 Australia also kept the media informed about new services being developed using the GS1 standards resulting in more than 150 media articles about GS1 Australia. • GS1 Australia worked with the industry directories Industry Search and Ferret.com to publish news and information about GS1 Australia’s products and services in an easily searchable online format.

Year In Review

• GS1 Australia was actively involved in the formation of the Alliance for Supply Chain Innovation, a consortium of academic and research centres to benefit supply chain and logistics research for industry and governments.

11


12 Year In Review


OUR VISION

OUR MISSION To enable Australian industry to implement the GS1 System by building a quality organisation that provides relevant global standards, solutions and services

OUR MEMBERSHIP VALUE PROPOSITION We enable organisations to improve their operational quality and efficiency by providing effective GS1 System solutions

Year In Review

To have the GS1 System implemented by Australian industry for the benefit of all users

13


Year In Review

14

TOP ROW (From left to right) GAVIN WILLIAMS Council Officer Chief Executive Officer, Packaging Council of Australia Inc

Representing: Packaging Council of Australia Inc

JOHN LAVACCA Council Officer Vice President & Partner Growth Markets Distribution & General Business Sector Leader, IBM - Global Business Services

Representing: Australian Information Industry Association

BOTTOM ROW (From left to right) MATT SWINDELLS Director General Manager of Replenishment, Coles Group

Representing: Australian National Retailers’ Association RUSSELL STUCKI Chairman/Director IAN DUNN Special Director Senior Business Manager, Woolworths Limited

Representing: Australian National Retailers’ Association

MICHAEL KILGARIFF Council Officer

Chief Executive Officer, Australian Logistics Council Representing: Australian Logistics Council KATE CARNELL Director Chief Executive Officer, Australian Food & Grocery Council

Representing: Australian Food & Grocery Council

DAVID ROGER Council Officer National Chairman, Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia

Representing: The Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia Ltd MARIA PALAZZOLO Chief Executive Officer GS1 Australia MICHAEL HAIRE Director General Manager – E Data Administration, Metcash Trading Ltd

Representing: National Associated Retail Grocers’ Australia


Year In Review

15

GS1 AUSTRALIA’S BOARD JEFF MAGUIRE Director General Manager of Operations, Coca-Cola Amatil (Aust) Pty Ltd

Representing: Australian Food & Grocery Council PENNY DAVISON Council Officer Baxter Healthcare Pty Ltd

Representing: Medicine Australia TIM PIPER Director Victorian Director, Aust Industry Group

Representing: Australian Industry Group

BRUCE VAN TWEST Director Director Operations AU/NZ, Kraft Foods

Representing: Australian Industry Group IAN KING Council Officer Chief Executive Officer, Aus-Meat Ltd

Representing: Australian Meat and Livestock Industry

SANDRA PRZIBILLA Council Officer Managing Director, Liquor Merchants Association of Australia

Representing: Liquor Merchants Association of Australia

LEN AUGUSTINE Council Officer Director, Large Enterprise/Value Marketing, Asia Pacific Japan, SAP Australia Pty Limited

Representing: Australian Information Industry Association RICHARD ZIMMERMAN Council Officer Executive Director, Australian Retailers’ Association

Representing: Australian Retailers’ Association


WE LOVE IMPROVING

Year In Review

THE WAY YOU DO BUSINESS

16

FROM LEFT TO RIGHT MARK FULLER Chief Operating Officer & Deputy Chief Executive Officer

RICHARD JONES General Manager -

Industry Engagement

JOHN HEARN General Manager -

GS1 Australia Services Group

PETER CHAMBERS General Manager -

Customer Service

SUE SCHMID General Manager -

Standards Development


The administration of the GS1 Identification Numbers and bar codes is the core business of GS1. Developed over 40 years ago, the bar code is the most commonly used and easily recognised identification system in the world. However, the GS1 System is also used in many other ways to uniquely identify individual products, shipments, assets, services, locations, documents and more. In 2010 we invite you to meet some of the people who use our standards in their jobs every day and hear from them how the standards made a difference.

Year In Review

It’s what drives us every day to deliver value chain standards and services to more than 16,400 members. We work with businesses of all sizes from those that require a single bar code number to global companies with thousands of products.In consultation with industry, the team at GS1 Australia helps develop global, open, user-driven, multi-sector standards and assists industry to implement the GS1 standards. Our aim is to help businesses be more efficient and drive costs out of their value chain. By talking to our members about their requirements, we develop value-added services.

17

COLIN BARNES Chief Financial Officer & Company Secretary

MARIA PALAZZOLO Chief Executive Officer

STEVEN PEREIRA Chief Information Officer

MARCEL SIEIRA General Manager -

Sales & Business Development

NEALE AUSTEN General Manager -

Business Solutions


18 Year In Review


REAL PEOPLE, REALSTORIES, REAL SUPPLY CHAIN EFFICIENCIES

Year In Review

VINCE ALOI DIRECTOR, VETRO DESIGN

19

The packaging design process basically evolves from the client’s brief and essentially we are looking to answer a problem for them. In this case the issue was packaging grapes to avoid produce spoilage at the retail end but also the ability to scan the product at point of sale without having to weigh it…meaning a faster check-out. It’s also great for the consumer because they get a product that has had minimal handling. When it came to the label we had to include a lot of information in a small area as well as having adequate space for the bar code. When the package was sent to GS1 Australia for testing we got feedback that the bar code was too close to the edge to be compliant so we had to make minor revisions and resubmit the package.

We get clients who have got their bar code numbers from GS1 Australia but then are not sure what to do with them. As part of the packaging process we create the bar codes for our clients using their licensed numbers and our bar code software. We strongly encourage all our clients to have their packaging tested by GS1 Australia’s Testing Service to make sure it is 100 per cent compliant. As a designer it is fantastic to see the end result in the retail environment.


WENG LEI DIRECTOR RANGEHOOD RANGE PTY LTD

Year In Review

My business specialises in kitchen rangehoods and canopy hoods. At the moment I am selling directly to consumers so there is no immediate need to label products with bar codes. However, in the near future I will be supplying hardware stores with my products so in preparation for this I obtained bar code numbers from GS1 Australia using Barcode Express (www.gs1express.com.au).

20

“Barcode Express was very easy to use and I obtained 1,000 bar code numbers through the website. This is the right way to start my business by bar coding my products.


ANTHONY FENELEY DIRECTOR SOURCING ASIA, GENERAL MANAGER LOGISTICS AND SOURCING SCA HYGIENE AUSTRALASIA

“While electronic enablement through bar coding and pallet labelling has been a feature of our physical supply chain for a decade, more recently we have embraced electronic enablement with our customer base through data synchronisation. We have more than 600 active SKUs on GS1net with data on product dimensions, pricing and availability. This elimination of manual processes has resulted in a 95 per cent reduction in errors which means orders are fulfilled without error and on time and there is a flow of benefits to accounts receivable, including improved management of debtors. When we get our data right there is a halo effect for all our customers and a flow-on benefit upstream in our supply chain through improved data accuracy.

Year In Review

The SCA supply chain has been bar code enabled for more than a decade and, while it feels like yesterday’s technology, there is no doubt that for a high-volume manufacturer there is no other way to efficiently manage our business. We move approximately 35 million cases of product through our supply chain each year. The electronic enablement in our business is inherent from our packaging design and new product origination right through our manufacturing processes, the bar coding of our shipper or trade packs, the material flow of our products from our manufacturing machines through to our palletising. From our major factory in Australasia our product is automatically scanned onto vehicles with an automatic truck-loading process and read up into our systems. The reverse happens when the product reaches our major distribution centre.

21


DAVID MELBOURNE SENIOR BUSINESS ANALYST HEALTH CORPORATE NETWORK (HCN)

“

Year In Review

HCN deliver shared services to the WA Department of Health including supply. After the formation of HCN it was identified that there was an increasing trend in the volume of paper transactions, which was placing a significant burden on procurement staff. A business improvement decision was made to implement eProcurement to automate some of the manual processing. A further driver was the recent government budget cuts and subsequent restructuring where automation could free up employees to focus on value-added tasks.

22

To implement eProcurement we had to cleanse a lot of our own data which helped us get our house in order. However, this focus on data now means that suppliers are required to have published their data on the National Product Catalogue (NPC) as a prerequisite to implementing eProcurement with us. The consequence of this is that eMessaging data is more accurate and issues are decreased. This eliminates phone calls and delays in the purchasing process.

The basis for eProcurement was the Message Implementation Guideline (MIG) which we developed with NEHTA and GS1 Australia. This helped us to refine and document our processes and provided a standard for suppliers to follow. We have developed a baseline for the jurisdiction which we hope will provide a foundation Australia-wide. Our ultimate aim is to send and receive as many procurement transactions electronically as possible. Standards are crucial to this. If we are all talking the same language, it is a one-size-fits-all solution.

�


KATE CARNELL CEO, AUSTRALIAN FOOD & GROCERY COUNCIL

We work together to find solutions to industry issues that an individual company cannot solve alone. For example, to establish a single standard for the labelling of pallets we worked with GS1 Australia and Efficient Consumer Response Australasia (ECRA) and everyone was a winner.

We have been actively involved in the development of GS1 Recallnet as from our members’ perspective a safe and efficient product recall system is fundamental to their business. While the current recall system works, it doesn’t have the levels of safeguards of a consistent, coordinated approach. It is all about managing risk more efficiently for the industry generally for the benefit of consumers.

At the AFGC we are also very excited by the extended labelling initiative as it shows the value-add that the AFGC and GS1 Australia can bring to the market place. It is clearly the game changer in delivering information to consumers in the supermarket. Ultimately, what we do benefits the consumer.

Year In Review

The Australian Food & Grocery Council’s (AFGC) role is to represent our members and work to improve the efficiency of the industry. The work we do with GS1 Australia is fundamental to achieve whole-of-industry efficiency. It is in our members’ best interests to have a single set of supply chain standards to work with.

23


ERROL KENNEDY NATIONAL VENDOR RELATIONS MANAGER JOHN DANKS & SON

Year In Review

24

Three years ago, when I was first introduced to GS1 Australia, I had no idea who they were. I was aware that bar coding was important but did not appreciate how effective and important it is.

We previously had 99 per cent of all retail items bar coded but less than 50 per cent at carton level. With the help of the Hardware GS1 Action Group we now have a 87+ per cent carton level of bar coding within all our DCs. This allows our warehouse personnel to put away products more efficiently and accurately resulting in higher service levels and more improved data accuracy. Without the Hardware GS1 Action Group, I don’t think that we could have achieved this level of improvement on our own.

We would like to get to as close to 100 per cent of all items and all levels of packaging bar coded. We will continue to work with our suppliers and help them to get across the line to achieve this. This work will lay a strong foundation for the hardware sector to drive and support the adoption of electronic product-data synchronisation via GS1net. Once we have good data in the system, we can then expand our eCommerce initiatives.


ANNE HODGSON SENIOR BUSINESS MANAGER ORPHAN AUSTRALIA

We then commenced the process of populating the NPC via browser templates in conjunction with a very large state tender that was running simultaneously. The assistance and support given to me by the GS1 Australia Client Services Support Advisor continues to be absolutely invaluable throughout this entire process.

Item, price and product information was collected and transferred to the browser template for each product and presentation, information which forms the basis of the NPC – a single source repository of almost all pharmaceutical products in Australia. Information can now be easily downloaded for my purpose into tender documents. The data is easily maintained and updated where required for an accurate reflection of our products.

Orphan Australia is now a fully NPC-compliant company, with thanks again for all the support offered to us during this process from the outset by GS1 Australia.

Year In Review

It was two years ago when Orphan Australia was about to commence submitting products for State Government Tenders that we first learned of the National Product Catalogue (NPC). We had previously enlisted the bar-coding services of GS1 Australia for all of our products and were already GS1 Australia members; we now enlisted their assistance for the NPC.

25


IAN DUNN SENIOR BUSINESS MANAGER WOOLWORTHS LTD AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL

RETAILERS ASSOCIATION (ANRA)

Year In Review

From ANRA’s perspective there are established common retailing standards we are keen to see maintained effectively. Retailing is a high-volume, low-margin business where efficient administration is key to the delivery of goods to customers at the best possible prices. Constant vigilance is required to ensure the business flows smoothly, and GS1 Australia provides a consistent operating platform for the industry.

Customers ultimately benefit from the GS1 base standards which are common to all major retailers and manufacturers. Bar codes, for instance, provide a minimum common standard to which everyone subscribes. Retailers usually also require suppliers’ 26 products to undergo GS1 Australia Bar Code Verification Testing, and may request higher than minimum scanning standards. This is because in the busy atmosphere of the checkout some bar codes can be more difficult to scan than in a static test.

For example, Woolworths sells over 8 billion consumer items and dispatches 745 cartons, 9.3 million pallets and 7 million trucks each year. For every 1 per cent non-scan rate at store, Woolworths will have 82 million failures. In theory the impact of this on our customers would be 245,000 hours of delay at checkouts. However, even this calculation does not include items that take two or three attempts before scanning – these items are another major cost to retailers and a source of frustration for the customer who has to wait.

For business there is the additional cost of having to remove products once they are in national distribution if they do not scan properly. This can cost tens of thousands of dollars just in administration costs, and risk the future of the product from being out of stock on the shelf for an extended period. It is in everyone’s interest to have products that reach minimum or higher standards and have undergone GS1 Australia Bar Code Verification Testing.


When you have a small child finding the time to get to the shopping done can be a real challenge. If you have a full shopping trolley and an item doesn’t scan at the checkout, you have to wait while the person on the checkout gets someone else to look up the price or a code and it can be very frustrating.

It would be great if Australian stores had those trolleys that automatically scan your groceries as you put them in and by the time you get to the checkout all you have to do is pay.

Year In Review

SUSAN CHRISTIE CONSUMER

27


Year In Review

28

TOM LUCK FORKLIFT DRIVER SUPPLY-LINQ

To put away pallets in the warehouse I use an RF scanner to scan the bar code on the pallet and then the location bar code. This goes directly into our computer system, so when that pallet needs to be picked we know exactly where to find it. The whole process is paperless. When you have to write things down on paper, you can get errors and can’t find pallets, plus it takes more time. This system works perfectly.


I use an RF scanner which connects into our warehouse management system. It gives me an order to pick and against each bar code number there is a location so I know where to find the items. I go to that location and scan the product’s bar code and pick the item for the order. You can’t get anything wrong with a bar code and a scanner 99.9 per cent of the time.

Year In Review

KERRIE REYNOLDS WAREHOUSE PICKER SUPPLY-LINQ

29


ANGELA HARIOHOEDOJO CEO, LEADTEC GS1 AUSTRALIA STRATEGIC ALLIANCE PARTNER

Leadtec is a leading business-to-business solutions provider, specialising in EDI messaging, data synchronisation and scan packing. As a strategic alliance partner of GS1 Australia for more than eight years, we are proud to support the organisation in its role as the central governing body for industry standards, including helping to raise awareness of the importance of standards and collaborating on projects that aim to strengthen the GS1 mission.

We are a strong supporter of standards and believe they make a difference to Australian businesses by assisting them to work more effectively together. We continuously work to ensure that Leadtec’s messaging, data synchronisation and bar coding solutions comply with GS1 industry standards and help our clients to do the same.

In 2007 Leadtec was selected by GS1 Australia to develop and host the online GS1net Validator, which provides complete validation of more than 300 retail and industry business rules required by the GS1net platform through a web-based portal. The tool has been a great industry success.

The GS1net Validator has helped Australian industry to meet the increasing requirements for data accuracy and is an excellent example of how Leadtec and GS1 Australia have worked together to create industry trading solutions for successful supply chains.

We are continuing to invest in our strong partnership with GS1 Australia and look forward to implementing improved global standards as they are developed. The GS1 System allows Australian organisations to adopt world’s best practice supply chain management techniques and we are pleased to be a part of that.


RAVI SHARMA PARTS & ACCESSORIES BUYER TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION AUSTRALIA LIMITED

Year In Review

When I was a student at Deakin University studying for a Masters in Information Systems, my professor referred to GS1 Australia and suggested that I visit their Supply Chain Knowledge Centre. At university I was specialising in supply chain management and attended a lecture by a GS1 Australia staff member. She suggested I undertake the GS1 Certificate course that was being offered to all students. I was very pleased when I was awarded a high distinction after completing the course and felt the knowledge I gained gave me greater depth in the study of my course.

31 During my last semester I was offered an internship at GS1 Australia and the comprehensive program that I undertook has certainly helped me in my current role. I was able to appreciate the bigger picture and, because I could see things in the broader context, I was able to identify a problem in the supply chain and come up with a solution to rectify it.

I can better visualise supply chain infrastructures and their driving mechanisms in my business. It’s because of this broader understanding that I can identify, investigate and develop counter measures on range of issues across our business, within my scope.


JOAN ANDREWS RECIPIENT OF A TALKING BAR CODE SCANNER DONATED BY GS1 AUSTRALIA AND OUR EMPLOYEES

Year In Review

The ID Mate Omni Scanner is magic. It gives so much independence in the kitchen not having to stress out asking so many questions when people visit to make sure I have identified everything I want to use in cooking for the next week or so. 

32

It is also so useful for my CDs, DVDs, clothing, frozen meals and also the memo facility. It is such a very handy tool to have and I very much appreciate it being made available to me.

I never thought I would be able to afford this technology so just got on with things. My son used to take me shopping every couple of months and I would have all these tins in my home and I was driving myself silly not being able to identify what was in them. Now it’s wonderful because I can tell exactly what’s in each tin I open.


ADRIAN HAMILTON CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER PEERLESS HOLDINGS

This has enabled us to have 100 per cent data accuracy, which allows us to seamlessly trade electronically with our big retail customers.

Year In Review

For Peerless Holdings stocktakes are a thing of the past. By assigning GTINs to all levels of packaging in our ERP system, we have been able to automate every aspect of the company’s business processes – from forecasting and ordering, to production, packaging, and distribution – to enable a just-in-time manufacturing process. We have real-time inventory with our forklift pick-up system delivering visibility to our customer service team so that if a customer places an order we know exactly what stock is available and what production is being planned.

33


Our Membership GS1 Australia has more than 16,000 members ranging from multinational corporations with thousands of products to small, family-owned businesses that require only one bar code number. We are committed to providing each and every member with the highest level of customer service and support in using the GS1 standards in their business.

Members & Customers DESCRIPTION

TOTAL

%

A

Strategic Alliance Partner

13

0.08%

B

Business Alliance Partner

20

0.12%

C

Associate Alliance Partner

38

0.23%

D

GLN Only

121

0.74%

E

Corporate No Turnover Declared

7

0.04%

F

Corporate $50M - $100M

308

1.87%

G

Corporate $100M - $500M

374

2.27%

H

Corporate $500M - $1B

109

0.66%

I

Corporate $1B - $10B

156

0.95%

J

Corporate $10B+

12

0.07%

K

Member Turnover not Specified

953

5.79%

L

Member < $1M

6,287

38.20%

M

Member $1M - $5M

3402

20.67%

N

Member $5M - $10M

1133

6.88%

O

Member $1OM - $50M

1,507

9.16%

P

PNG

59

0.36%

Q

Single Number Non Renew

214

1.30%

R

IBN

1,268

7.70%

S

Not For Profit

20

0.12%

T

Charity

168

1.02%

U

Book

288

1.75%

TOTAL

16, 457

A B C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L M N O


Members by Industry Sector INDUSTRY GROUP

TOTAL

A

Miscellaneous

1,293

B

Rural

365

C

Auto / OEM

302

D

Food & Grocery

E

Publishing & Media

3,954

Australian Members by State A

STATE TOTAL

B

A

Tasmania

272

B

South Australia

1,522

C

Queensland

2,337

D

Western Australia

1,589

E

Northern Territory

54

F

ACT

89

C

D

879 1,734

E

F

Hardware

G

Electrical Appliances

303

F

G

Victoria

5,229

H

General Merchandise

3,243

G

H

New South Wales

5,281

I

Fresh / Meat / Seafood

1,085

TOTAL

Healthcare

1,088

K

Liquor

1,760

L

Metal / Steel

136

I

M

Office Products

165

J

N

T & L

56

O

Printing & Packaging

94

16, 457

B C D E F

G

H

16,373

H

J

TOTAL

A

K L M N O

Membership Help Desk Accounts CALL

TOTAL A

A

Help Desk Support (inc Membership Support)

31,924

B

New Member Calls

26,603

B

C

Other

5,321

C


36 Year In Review


Working to create solutions

• ACT Health

• Health Corporate Network (Western Australia)

• Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association

• HL7

• Australian Booksellers Association

• Health Support Services (NSW)

• Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

• Horticulture Australia Ltd

• Australian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturing Association

• Liquor Merchants Association of Australia

• Australian Food and Grocery Council

• Meat and Livestock Australia

• Australian Industry Group

• Medical Technology Association of Australia

• Australian Information Industry Association

• Medicines Australia

• Australian ISBN Agency

• National Association of Retail Grocers Australia

• Australian Logistics Council

• National Blood Authority

• AUS-MEAT Ltd

• National eHealth Transition Authority (NEHTA)

• Australian Meat Industry Council

• National Retail Association

• Australian Pork Ltd

• Northern Territory Government

• Australian National Retailers Association

• Packaging Council of Australia

• Australian Retailers Association

• Queensland Health

• Australian Vegetable and Potato Growers Federation

• RFID Action Australia Ltd

• Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation

• Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia

• Consumer Electronics Service Association

• Therapeutic Goods Administration

• Copyright Agency Limited

• Tradegate ECA

• Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing • Department of Health (South Australia)

• Victorian Government Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development

• Department of Health & Human Services (Tasmania)

• Victorian Freight and Logistics Council

• Department of Health (Victoria)

• Victorian Transport Association

• Efficient Consumer Response Australasia

• Winemakers’ Federation of Australia

• Food Standards Australia New Zealand

• Logistics Association of Australia

Year In Review

GS1 Australia works with the following industry bodies, associations and government departments to understand the needs of different industry sectors and to help them implement solutions to create an efficient value chain.

37


Our Partners

Year In Review

GS1 Australia works with more than 80 international and Australian businesses that supply information, communication and technology (ICT) solutions and supply chain services. These businesses support the GS1 standards. The GS1 Australia Alliances and Partnership Program offers our members access to the worldâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s best supply chain solution providers.

38


Strategic Alliance Partners

Business Alliance Partners

Associate Alliance Partners

• Datanet

• ABML

• Barcodes4u

• GXS

• Avery Dennison

• IBM

• Bar Code Data Systems (BCDS)

• Bas-X Business Management Services

• insignia

• Bizcaps

• B2BE

• IPT

• Dy-Mark

• Leadtec

• IBS

• B&DCS (Barcoding & Data Collections Systems)

• Matthews

• Innovit

• Peacock Bros

• Intermec

• SAP

• Mincom

• Telstra

• Neller Connect • Pacific Commerce • Pronto Software • PULSE Logistics Systems • SATO • Sterling Commerce • Supply-Linq • TIBCO

• Cobra Systems • Datalogic • Datamax-O’neil • Denso • Dexion • Eclipse Computing • Electro-com

Year In Review

• Nortech

• Business Driven Systems

• eVision • Existco • Gamma Solutions • GBD Technology Solutions • Goodson Imports • HTRAK • Ingram Micro • Intermax • iSOFT • Label Power • Magellan Technology • Motorola • MYOB Australia • NICHOL Industries • Peercore IT Pty. Ltd. • PSION Teklogix • Secura Shield • Stratix Australia Pty. Ltd. • TechnoSource Australia • Toshiba • Transacta • Unique Micro Design • Uniware • Zebra Technologies

39


40 Year In Review


GS1 Australia has embarked on a three-year Information and Communication

Technology (ICT) program to put in place the infrastructure for a webbased GS1 Collaboration Zone. This will be a gateway to the full suite of GS1 Australia services with a single point of entry and a secure, single-sign-on facility which will include access to GS1 Recallnet and GS1 Locatenet.

All services will be hosted on GS1â&#x20AC;&#x2122;s private cloud infrastructure platform and will offer high availability of services to GS1 Australia members. In 2010 GS1 Australiaâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Business Solutions team undertook an enterprise architecture review to determine the overall scope of the project. In 2011 it will transition GS1 Locatenet and GS1 Recallnet to the cloud infrastructure and implement an authentication service for the GS1 Collaboration Zone. This will be followed by the implementation of the Product Information Form (PIF) service for industry and the development of an information security framework and an operational management framework to ISO standards. Once this is in place, each GS1 member will have access to the portal to maintain their own profile and to access services.

Year In Review

Delivering a GS1 Australia Services Collaboration Zone

41


42 Year In Review


• GS1 Australia will be working closely with the Australian Defence Force (ADF) to assess the use of GS1 Identification Keys and data synchronisation in the Defence supply chain. • O ur Industry Engagement team will explore opportunities in the resources and utilities sector in the areas of asset identification and tracking as well as continuing to support active sectors to expand their use of the GS1 System and GS1 Australia services.

• T he Product Information Form solution will be launched in 2011 in collaboration with the AFGC. This new solution will deliver an industry standard for the exchange of detail product compositional data between raw material suppliers and food manufacturing businesses, removing duplication and delivering great benefits to the industry • GS1 Recallnet – Australia’s whole-of-industry recall and withdrawal notification management solution will be launched to the industry in 2011. This standardsbased notification system will streamline product recall notifications and is endorsed by all major retailers, leading manufactures, the AFGC and is also supported by Food Standards Australia and New Zealand and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

• GS1 Australia will assist suppliers in meeting new retailer requirements for numbering and bar coding in the hardware sector.

• Work will continue with the healthcare sector in defining recall process and data requirements and piloting GS1 Recallnet within this sector with a launch planned in late 2011.

• GS1 Australia will be working to assist suppliers and retailers to prepare for the 1 January 2014 introduction of GS1 DataBar.

• In 2011 GS1 Australia will introduce a services-only membership for users of GS1 Recallnet and GS1 Locatenet to assist industry adoption.

• In the office supplies sector there will be a full roll-out of GS1net to suppliers.

• In the year ahead GS1 Australia will offer more flexible training to enable time-poor members to attend half-day sessions instead of having to commit a full day to training.

• GS1 Australia will assist Woolworths’ suppliers with data synchronisation via GS1net from February 2011. • GS1 Australia will launch a new, more user-friendly portal to access GS1net in July 2011. This initiative is targeted at small-to-medium businesses currently accessing GS1net via the internet or through the Browser Template. • GS1 Australia will conduct research into the use of social networks and is looking to implement a Social Media strategy in 2011. • D uring 2011 GS1 Australia will conduct research into consumers’ views of trusted product information and what sort of data consumers would want when making healthy lifestyle choices when purchasing supermarket items as part of the MobileCom B2C initiative. • 2011 will see the launch of the first industry-endorsed iPhone based application to deliver trusted product information to consumers in real time. GS1 GoScan will revolutionise the way product compositional information is accessed by consumers in Australia.

• In February 2011 GS1 Australia will launch GS1 Works, a state-of-the-art multimedia learning platform located with the GS1 Supply Chain Knowledge Centre. • GS1 Australia’s Professional Services team faces a period of exciting growth as GS1 Australia launches new services, including data quality and traceability, and engages with exisiting and emerging industry sectors. • GS1 Australia will continue to work closely with small-to-medium enterprises (SMEs) to provide useful information, tips, ideas and advice from leading SME experts through one of Australia’s leading small business TV shows. • GS1 Australia will continue to actively participate at all levels in GS1 Global initiatives, in particular visibility, data quality and mobile commerce. • GS1 Australia will initiate an online project looking to offer members self-service and improved online access to information.

Year In Review

The Year Ahead

• GS1 Australia and Victoria University will undertake the second phase of a study in assistance of the management of chronic disease via a mobile-phoneaccessed nutritional database.

43


Head Office Axxess Corporate Park Unit 100/45 Gilby Rd Mt Waverley VIC 3149 Locked Bag 2 Mt Waverley VIC 3149 T +61 3 9558 9559 F +61 3 9558 9551

Sydney Office Lakes Business Park Building 4B, 2-4 Lord St Botany NSW 2019 Locked Bag 7002 Botany DC NSW 2019 T +61 2 9700 0933 F +61 2 9700 0820

National Number: 1300 366 033 ABN: 67 005 529 920 www.gs1au.org

GS1 Australia 2010 Year in review  

GS1 Australia's 2010 Year in Review highlights how over the past year we have worked with industry sectors and our members to deliver standa...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you