Page 49

InCharge HEALTHCARE 2019 Birch G. Wright, MPA Associate Medical Center Director Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks 1100 N. College Ave Fayetteville, AR 72703 479-443-4301 www.fayettevillear. va.gov Wright was appointed as the Associate Medical Center Director effective March 17, 2019 at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks. Wright is a graduate of the University of Arkansas with a Master of Public Administration with an emphasis in Healthcare Administration. He has been with the Department of Veterans Affairs since 2001 and served in numerous leadership roles. Birch is an active member in the American College of Health Care Executives, a graduate of the Executive Career Field Candidate Development Program, a graduate of Leadership VA, a Robert W. Carey Performance Excellence examiner and a Malcolm Baldrige examiner. His experience with engaging executive leaders has proven to be critical for achieving and sustaining a culture focused on excellence. Past assignments include Acting Associate Medical Center Director, Chief Financial Officer and Acting Chief Quality Management Service.

Debra J. Wright, MSBA, RN Chief Executive Officer Howard Memorial Hospital 130 Medical Circle Nashville, AR 71852 870-845-4400 www.howard memorial.com Wright has worked in a hospital setting for over thirty years, twentyfive of which were spent in a tertiary facility working as a staff nurse, in various nurse management positions, as chief nursing officer and chief clinical officer. For the past nine years, she has been at Howard Memorial Hospital, a critical access hospital. She is an RN with a Master of Science in Business Administration and a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives. She is current serving on the Arkansas Hospital Association


Board of Directors and serves on the American Hospital Association Council on Rural and Small Hospitals.

Salena Wright-Brown PhD, MNSc, APRN, RN Associate Director for Patient Care Services/ Nurse Executive Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System 4300 W. 7th Street Little Rock, AR 72205 501-257-5400 www.littlerock.va.gov Wright-Brown’s VA career began at the Fayetteville VAMC in 1996 where she served until appointed as the Associate Director, Patient Care Services at the G.V. (Sonny) Montgomery Medical Center in Jackson, MS in 2014. She is an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse who has practiced in Emergency Department, Occupational Health and Cardiovascular diagnostics. She has served as Nursing Manager, Coordinator of Nursing Clinical Support and as a Senior Nursing Leader. She has chaired/ co-chaired the Veterans Experience Board, Nursing Quality Councils, VISN Healthcare Delivery, Strategic Planning Committee and others. She serves the Quality Safety and Value committee, Joint Leadership Council, Accreditation Oversight and others. She is a member and served in leadership roles in professional organizations including Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society, International Association of Forensic Nurses, American Nurses Association, NWA Critical Incident Stress Management, Nurses Christian Fellowship and the Emergency Nurses Association.

David Wroten Executive Vice President Arkansas Medical Society 10 Corporate Hill Drive, Suite 300 Little Rock, AR 72205 501-224-8967 www.arkmed.org Wroten began his career with the Arkansas Medical Society in 1983, serving first as professional relations coordinator and later as the assistant executive vice president. In 2005, he became the society’s Executive Vice President. Wroten is responsible for implementing the association’s policies and programs, including overseeing its business and financial affairs and staff of eleven. He also serves as president and CEO of AMS Benefits, Inc., a for-profit subsidiary of the Arkansas Medical Society, which provides various types of insurance and other services to AMS members.

Y Dennis Yelvington, MD 2019-2020 President Arkansas Medical Society 10 Corporate Hill Drive, Suite 300 Little Rock, AR 72205 501-224-8967 www.arkmed.org Stuttgart family physician Dennis Yelvington, MD, will serve as the 20192020 President of the Arkansas Medical Society.  Dr. Yelvington has been a member of the AMS for 33 years and has held numerous offices, including a seat on the Board of Trustees representing the physicians and citizens of Arkansas, Cross, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, St. Francis and Woodruff counties. He received his medical degree from University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Arkansas Medical News 49

Profile for Medical News

Arkansas Medical News InCharge 2019  

Arkansas Medical News InCharge 2019