Page 1

The NBA Season Is The Magic Season NBA Regular Season After the summer each team will hold training camps  in October, this gives the coaches the opportunity to  determine which players they will add to the 12 man  active roster when they start the regular season. The  players who do not make it to the team and only have  2 or less years of NBA experience will be sent to the  D­League. The regular season starts in November and  each team will play 82 games, 41 away and 41 home. Midway through the season all teams do not play and  the NBA All­Star Game is played. The players that get  to start in this game are voted in by the fans and the  remaining 14 sports are chosen by coaches’ votes. The  Western Conference plays the Eastern Conference and  the player with the best game gets the Game MVP award. Usually this game is full of alley­oops and  dunks. Other competitions during this weekend is the Three Point Contest, Skills Challenge, Rookie  Challenge, and the most important and watched event the NBA Slam Dunk Contest, where various  players come up with unique and high flying dunks to win over the judges, usually old players and  members of the NBA. After the All­Star break the trading deadline nears, the last Thursday in February. This is the date when  all teams must have their trades in for the rest of the season. The season ends by the end of April and  voting for individual awards are selected. Some of the awards given out are Defensive Player of the  Year Award, Coach of the Year Award, and most importantly Most Valuable Player of the Year Award. NBA Playoffs The playoffs start in late April with eight teams from each conference playing for the title. The three  division winners and the team with the next best record get the highest seed and the last four seeds go  by best record from the entire conference.  The team with the higher seed in the matchup will get home  court advantage in the series. Each series is a best of seven, so the team to win four games first gets to  advance to the next playoff series. There is no reseeding of the teams so the playoff bracket in each  conference follows a traditional format. The NBA Finals is a series with the winning team from each  conference, played in June. The winner receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, the Bill  Russell NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award is also given out at the same time the series is  complete.

The NBA Season Is The Magic Season  

After the summer each team will hold training camps in October, this gives the coaches the opportunity to determine which players they will...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you