Issuu on Google+

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:11

Page 1

• Holiday insurance included • Direct coach travel • Unique Glenton extras

The wee big holiday company

Go Continental with Glenton

2014 C o n t i n en tal C o a c h H o lidays C o l l ec tion

FREEPHONE 08000 24 24 24 | or book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:11

Page 2

Go Continental with Glenton in 2014 Dear Friends I’m delighted to treat you to this very special selection of the great continental coach tours we have lined up for you in 2014. We’re especially proud of this year’s collection which combines old favourites such as the Black Forest, Tuscany and luscious Lake Garda with exciting new options such as beautiful Bavaria. This year our best-selling Grand European Tour takes you through the magnificent regions of France, Spain, Andorra, Switzerland and Belgium. Also consistently popular are our relaxing river cruises that explore magical corners of Europe where time appears to have stood still. The majority of our continental tours are Select holidays where you travel in state-of-the-art luxury coaches with reclining leather seats and extra leg room to quality hotels, enjoying unique Glenton extras such as a premium welcome pack on your outward journey. As always, holiday insurance is included in the price of your trip and you have the peace of mind of full ABTA protection. Winter speeds by so much faster when you have enjoyable things planned for the summer months ahead. So treat yourself to a continental adventure – seeing new places, meeting new people and enjoying the many delights of a great Glenton getaway.



Call

Call our friendly holiday advisors on

FREEPHONE 08000 24 24 24 Lines are open Mon - Fri 9am - 6.30pm, Sat 9am - 5pm, Sun 11am - 4pm

Click

Like us on

Surf to www.glentonholidays.com and book your holiday from our extensive collection online

Come in Visit us at

30 Gordon Street in the heart of Glasgow



Hand Picked Hotels

Our collection features a fantastic range of hotels offering a variety of differing facilities. These are indicated on individual hotel descriptions by the following symbols:

We look forward to welcoming you aboard.

Harriet Boyle

Kind regards

FULL 2014 Glenton SUMMER BROCHURE COMING SOON Call 08000 24 24 24 to reserve your free copy

2

BAR This icon indicates that your hotel has one or more bar areas. LIFT Look for this symbol to check that your hotel has a lift. Please note that most hotels without elevators can provide low or ground floor rooms on request. On occasion, lifts may not access all floors and there may be stairs to negotiate. ENTERTAINMENT Hotels bearing this symbol feature entertainment on one or more nights of your stay. POOL Your hotel has an indoor and/or outdoor swimming pool.

GYM Hotels with this icon offer gym facilities. SAUNA Your hotel has a sauna and/or steam room for the use of guests. WAITER SERVICE Where you see this icon, your evening meals will be waiter service rather than buffet style. B&B This icon indicates a holiday offered on a bed and breakfast only basis.

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:11

Page 3

Grand Tour of Italy’s Treasures Includes guided tours of Florence, Pisa, Siena, Rome & Venice Lake Garda

14

Days

only

£1099 4pm

If you’ve always wanted to explore Italy then please don’t miss this phenomenal tour! Florence, known as the “Cradle of the Renaissance” features exquisite architecture from that era and the must-see Ponte Vecchio. Pisa is renowned for its iconic Leaning Tower, lovely Lucca is enclosed by ancient walls whilst Siena is regarded as the finest medieval town in Italy. Rome is chock-a-block with world famous landmarks, Verona is home to “Juliet’s House” on the Via Capello and then there’s Venice, the romantic city of canals and bridges. A visit to the unspoilt paradise of shimmering Lake Garda completes this truly unforgettable holiday. Wow!

Your Holiday Itinerary

Wednesday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, bed and breakfast and entertainment on board. Thursday. We proceed to our overnight hotel in the Basel area where we enjoy dinner, bed and breakfast. Friday. We arrive at our hotel on the stunning Tuscan coast for our three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Saturday. Our treat today is a guided tour of the must-see attractions of Florence including the Ponte Vecchio, Piazza del Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery. Afterwards, continue exploring at your own pace. Sunday. Today’s delights start with a guided tour of Pisa’s landmarks such as the iconic Leaning Tower. We continue to picturesque Lucca, a grand city dating back to the Middle Ages with ancient walls and a fine cathedral.

Pisa

Monday. We bid farewell to our hotel and then step back in time to medieval Tuscany with a guided tour of ancient Siena. Said to be Italy’s loveliest historic city, its heart lies in the vast Piazza Del Campo. Film fans might recognise Siena from the James Bond movie Quantum of Solace. Later we continue to our hotel in Lido Di Ostia, our gateway to Rome, for our three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Tuesday. Surely a holi-

day highlight as we travel to Rome for the first of two visits to this remarkable city. The Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Pantheon are just some of the landmarks to feast your eyes on during today’s guided tour. Wednesday. Returning to the Eternal City, choose either free time to explore at your own pace or join our escorted tour for a small supplement (see below). Today’s optional tour with a local guide takes us to the Vatican City to see such landmarks as the Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Square and the Basilica along with a timed entrance to the Vatican Museum. Thursday. We check out of our hotel and make our way to Umbria where we enjoy short visits to the pilgrimage village of Assisi and Ravenna, a town famous for mosaics. Afterwards we carry on to the Hotel Venezia in Venice Mestre for two night’s dinner, bed and breakfast. Friday. Another fantastic day as we head to Tronchetto to catch the ferry to Venice. Cameras at the ready as we take in a guided tour discovering St Mark’s Square, the Basilica and the Bridge of Sighs. In the afternoon we hop aboard a boat to visit the islands of Murano and Burano, famous for delicate glass and diaphanous lace. Saturday. We check out of our hotel and journey to Verona, the city of Romeo and Juliet. Later we continue to enchanting Sirmione on dazzling Lake Garda where you may like to take a boat trip on the glassy lake. Dinner, bed and breakfast in Riva del Garda completes our incomparable tour of Italy. Sunday. We head to our overnight hotel in the Strasbourg area for dinner, bed and breakfast. Monday. We continue to our overnight ferry back to Hull enjoying dinner, bed and breakfast and entertainment on board. Tuesday. We journey home with a camera full of memories.

YOUR HOTELS Throughout your tour you will stay in a selection of hand picked quality hotels, ideally located for our itinerary and each carefully chosen to provide comfort and a good range of facilities.

14 DAYS ONLY £1099

Wed 7 May

Z

Wed 17 Sep

Y

Single room supplement £350

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B throughout Coach and ferry travel throughout

Venice

OPTIONAL EXTRA

Full holiday itinerary

Optional Vatican City tour including Vatican Museum £39.

Holiday Insurance Holiday code: MCITGS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

3

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 4

Diano Marina

Diano Marina & the French & Italian Rivieras

12

Days

only

£799

This wonderful tour combines the inimitable style of the Italian Riviera and the sophistication of the French Riviera. Enchanting Diano Marina features pine clad hills and olive groves reaching down to the sparkling coast and is one of the premier resorts of the Italian Riviera of Flowers. Away from the waterfront, the ancient heart of the town still preserves parts of its medieval walls and gates as well as grand architecture dating from the Middle Ages, Renaissance and Baroque periods. We venture out to see how the “other half” live with excursions to Monaco and Monte Carlo. This wonderful getaway also includes the glittering city of Nice, historic Dolceaqua, elegant Alassio and we cross the border to visit gorgeous Menton on the French Riviera.

Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to Zeebrugge enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board.

saunter along the famous Promenade des Anglais, the “Walkway of the English” that takes its name from the first visitors to adopt the resort as a holiday favourite.

Day Two. We continue to France where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop.

Days Six & Seven. Two days at leisure to do some independent sightseeing, hit the shops or lounge on the beach. Perhaps you’ll treat yourself to a boat trip on the Med!

Day Three. We travel to Diano Marina and check into the lovely Hotel Moresco for our relaxing seven night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Day Four. Today we visit the Principality of Monaco, home to the Royal Palace and the cathedral where Prince Rainier married Grace Kelly. Afterwards, we travel via the Monaco Grand Prix roads to the famous Monte Carlo Casino.

Moresco Hotel

Day Five. Our excursion today takes us to the glamorous coastal city of Nice, jewel of the French Riviera. Revel in the clear air and golden light as you

Day Eight. This morning we visit Ventimiglio Market. We then continue to Menton on the French Riviera where you can lose yourself in the tropical gardens and bustling fishing port. Day Nine. Our half day tour takes us along the Italian Riviera coastline to elegant Alassio, a chic resort awash with trees and flowers and characterised by a gorgeous beach of the finest quartz sand. Day Ten. Sadly, it’s arrivederci to Italy as we journey north to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Eleven. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Twelve. We make our way home.

HOTEL MORESCO - DIANO MARINA

12 DAYS ONLY £799

Wed 21 May

W

Mon 29 Sep

Y

Single room supplement £160

Set just thirty metres from the shore, this pretty hotel is built in a typical Mediterranean style with arcades and terraces surrounded by gardens of palm and olive trees – it even boasts its own private beach!

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Wine or water with dinner in resort† Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Diano Marina

4

Holiday code: MCDIHS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Conditions apply.

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 5

Lucca

Treasures of Tuscany

FREE BAR† IN RESORT

12

Days

from

£799

Combine lazy days lying on the beach with action-packed sightseeing at some of Europe’s most iconic landmarks on this captivating holiday. Based at Forte dei Marmi – literally “marble fort” - this chic resort forms part of historic Versilia and is the preferred haunt of many VIPs seeking a beautiful retreat. Indeed it’s no rare thing to see a super-luxury yacht moored off its stunning coastline. Exclusive boutiques and restaurants line the sandy beaches while the closeness of the Apuan Alps along with rocky headlands create a unique and striking landscape. Venturing out, delights in store include eccentric Pisa, home to the gravity defying Leaning Tower and to picturesque Lucca, a grand city dating back to the Middle Ages with ancient walls and a fine cathedral.

Your Holiday Itinerary Monday. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Tuesday. We continue to France where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Wednesday. We travel to Forte dei Marmi and check into the splendid Hotel La Pace for our wonderful seven night dinner, bed and breakfast stay.

Ponte Vecchio, Florence

Tuscan Coast

Thursday. Today we journey to phenomenal Florence, the “Cradle of the Renaissance”. Established by Julius Caesar in 59 BC, the city survived centuries of warfare and upheaval to become a major force in the Renaissance era. Must-see attractions include the Ponte Vecchio (“old bridge”) and the stunning domed Cathedral of Santa Maria del Flore. Friday & Saturday. Two free days to explore your exquisite surroundings and discover just why the jet

set adore this stunning resort. Relax on the beach or browse the designer shops. Sunday. Montecatini Terme is our treat today where you’ll find revitalising treatments on offer at the town’s famous spas. Alternatively, hop aboard the funicular railway to Montecatini Alto and take in the stunning views as you dine in one of the mountaintop restaurants. Monday. Truly a sightseer’s dream as we visit impeccably preserved Lucca, a grand city dating back to the Middle Ages enclosed by ancient walls and featuring a fine cathedral and a quirky tree-topped tower. After time to look around, we continue to the upmarket seaside resort of Viareggio. Tuesday. The excitement continues as we explore Pisa, home to the peculiar Leaning Tower as well as lovely Botanic Gardens and the twelfth century white marble Battistero. Wednesday. Sadly, it’s arrivederci to Italy as we journey north to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Thursday. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We make our way home.

HOTEL LA PACE – FORTE DEI MARMI With a name meaning “peace”, this charming hotel rests in tranquil gardens with the beach and town centre just minutes away. Our guests enjoy a free bar† from selected drinks between 6pm-10pm.

Holiday code: MCFOLS

12 DAYS FROM ONLY £799

Mon 19 May £799 Mon 2 Jun

Y

Mon 8 Sep

£849

Y

£829 W

Mon 6 Oct

£799

Z

Single room supplement £180

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Nightly free bar† in resort Wine or water with dinner in resort† Complimentary tea, coffee & water at hotel Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Conditions apply.

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

5

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 6

Lake Como

Italian Lakes Maggiore, Como & Lugano

12

Days

only

£899

Discover the breathtaking beauty of lakes Maggiore, Como and Lugano along with the history and culture of the majestic cities of Milan and Turin. Based in Lake Maggiore’s fashionable Stresa, this lovely town has woodland walks and a regular ferry service to glide you around the unique islands. Stresa overlooks Isola Bella which was once home to a community of fishermen but nowadays you’ll find an elegant palace with sumptuous rooms filled with ornate furniture. Out and about, Lake Lugano is surrounded by mountains and its historic pedestrianised centre features sacred architecture. Lake Como boasts a walled town with a historic hub and lively squares. Elsewhere, majestic Milan presents an alluring blend of medieval and modern buildings whilst the often overlooked city of Turin offers monuments like the domed Basilica di Superga and attractions such as a museum of cinematic history as well as arcaded shopping promenades.

Your Holiday Itinerary

Saturday. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Sunday. We continue to Germany where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Monday. We travel to stylish Stresa and check into the enchanting Hotel Moderno for our seven night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Tuesday. Our treat today is lovely Lake Lugano. Relax in the Mediterranean-style squares or in one of the flower-filled parks or stroll along the promenade where you’ll find the sub-tropical Belvedere Gardens featuring modern works of art.

Hotel Moderno

Wednesday & Thursday. Two free days to explore at your own pace. You’ll find leafy promenade walks and botanical gardens or why not sail to Isola Madre, home to an elegant villa with rambling grounds? Maybe visit the Transport Museum

or ascend Mount Mottarone in the cable car and view the lake from the summit. Friday. A wonderful day is in store as we enjoy a guided tour of sophisticated Milan where must see attractions include the magnificent cathedral, the red brick Castello Sforzesco, designed by Leonardo da Vinci and the Teatro alla Scala, Milan’s legendary opera house. Saturday. A taste of undiscovered Italy today with our visit to Turin, home to the Italian Royal Family, extraordinary Baroque architecture and great shopping. Perhaps visit the Museo Nazionale del Cinema where you’ll find exhibits like Marilyn Monroe’s lace bustier, Peter O’Toole’s robe from Lawrence of Arabia and Bela Lugosi’s coffin from Dracula! Sunday. Our outing today takes us to shimmering Lake Como, described by the poet Virgil, as “our greatest lake”. This stunning region is characterised by its network of Roman roads which are overlooked by towers and castles as well as by the sumptuous villas which grace the shores of the lake. Monday. Sadly, it’s arrivederci to Italy as we journey north to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Tuesday. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Wednesday. We make our way home.

HOTEL MODERNO – STRESA Perfectly situated on a quiet square in a pedestrianised area, the Hotel Moderno is just metres from the jetty on Lake Maggiore. The restaurant has seating both inside and outside under a gazebo as well as in the charming internal courtyard.

12 DAYS ONLY £899

Sat 7 Jun

Z

Sat 26 Jul

Z

Single room supplement £200

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Lake Maggiore

6

Holiday code: MCSTMS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 7

Venice

Lake Garda, Venice & Verona 12

Days

from

£799

The most distinguished of the Italian lakes, breathtaking Lake Garda is an unspoilt paradise where pastel painted villages reflect in the shimmering water. This leisurely holiday is based in Toscalano-Maderno, a lovely town located in a sunny spot on the river delta at the historical heart of the Riviera of Lemons. Dating back to Roman times, the remains of ancient paper mills dot the valley and the traditional town squares feature old churches and artistic attractions. Our fabulous Italian adventure takes us to some of the other gorgeous resorts that stud the glistening shores of the lake as well as to the equally enthralling historical cities of Venice and Verona.

Your Holiday Itinerary

Sunday. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board.

Friday. We make the short journey to the boarding point

Monday. We continue to our overnight dinner, bed and breakfast stop.

valleys. Arriving in Limone, you’ll have time to wander

Tuesday. We travel to Toscalano-Maderno and check into the family run Hotel Adria for our seven night dinner, bed and breakfast stay.

Saturday. A day at leisure. Perhaps visit the botanical

Wednesday. Get acquainted with this stunning area on our lake tour that includes a stop at beautiful Malcesine. We also visit Peschiera where the old town centre is in the middle of a huge fortress in the shape of a five-sided star.

Adria Hotel

Thursday. Cameras at the ready as we head to Venice, the romantic city of bridges and canals where you’ll find iconic landmarks such as St Mark’s Square, the Basilica and the Bridge of Sighs. Perhaps treat yourself to a trip on a gondola!

for our lake cruise. Relax and enjoy a lazy day on board as you glide past colourful houses nestling in fjord-like around before the return sailing. gardens which are home to plants from around the world or venture out to the spectacular Valle delle Cartiere and visit the paper mill museum. Sunday. Today we explore the ancient town of Sirmione, famous for its thermal baths and historic buildings such as the churches of San Pedro and Santa Maria. Monday. A holiday highlight is our day to Verona, an unspoilt city with the best preserved Roman amphitheatre in the world. Other attractions include the Basilica of St Zeno, the Lamberti Tower, the bustling market at Piazza delle Erbe and “Juliet’s House” on the Via Capello. Tuesday. A fond arrivederci to Lake Garda as we journey to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop Wednesday. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Thursday. We make our way home.

HOTEL ADRIA – TOSCALANO-MADERNO This family run three star hotel is known for friendly and efficient service and beautifully maintained gardens. Rooms vary in size and style across both a modern and a traditional building.

12 DAYS FROM ONLY £799

Sun 11 May £799

Z

Sun 3 Aug

Sun 15 Jun

£819

Z

Sun 31 Aug £839

£869 W

Sun 13 Jul

£849

Y

Z

Single room supplement £150

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Lake Garda

Holiday code: MCTODS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

7

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 8

Krakow

Discovering Poland & Berlin 12

Days

from

£869

This enthralling tour presents the perfect blend of living history, quirky sites, sophisticated sightseeing and touching tributes. Intriguing Berlin was divided for decades until the fall of the infamous wall in 1989. As we move on to Poland, captivating Poznan exudes a unique spirit and its ancient Castle District is dominated by the neo-Romanesque Kaiser’s Palace. Amble round the Old Market Square and see the Renaissance Town Hall complete with a clock tower where metal goats delight the watching crowd when they pop out at noon and ram their heads! Warsaw is where tradition and modernity stand side by side yet you can still feel the heartbeat of times gone by as you stroll around the Old Town. This unforgettable tour includes an emotive visit to the former Nazi concentration camp Auschwitz as well as memorable days in medieval Krakow and beautiful Wroclaw.

Your Holiday Itinerary

Day One. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent

for two nights.

enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board.

Day Six. Discover Warsaw at your own pace, especially the Royal

Day Two. We make our way to the Abacus Tierpark Hotel in

Day Three. Enjoy a morning guided tour of Berlin with

tragedies of WWII. The fourteenth century Old Town is home to

its iconic landmarks such as Checkpoint Charlie and

Zygmunt’s Column as well as the gothic St John’s Cathedral and

the Brandenburg Gate. The afternoon is at leisure.

its little alleys are dotted with cafés and galleries.

Day Four. We journey to Poznan, arriving early

Day Seven. We head to Auschwitz where we take in a guided tour

afternoon for our walking tour of its historic hub.

of this moving memorial and museum. We continue to Krakow

Wonderful treasures include Poznan Cathedral, St

where we check in at the Hotel Swing for our two night stay.

Stanislav’s Parish Church and the old market

Day Eight. Look forward to a morning guided tour of Krakow

square. We check into the Quality Hotel for an

taking in the lower part of the city with its vast market square

overnight stay.

bordered by the famous Cloth Hall and the Renaissance Palace.

Day Five. Morning at leisure to explore this

We finish at the Wawel Hill area where we explore the remarkable

fascinating city and we start you off with an

cathedral which houses the tombs of kings and poets (entry

entrance ticket to the magnificent Poznan

included).

Cathedral. Remember to be at the Town

Day Nine. Our sightseeing continues as we make our way to

Hall’s main clock tower for noon to

Wroclaw for our guided tour and overnight stay at the Hotel

witness the metal goats ramming

Diament. Known as the “Polish Venice” for its canals, more than

their heads! In the afternoon we

a hundred ornate bridges span the city and from a tour boat

travel to Warsaw for our guided Berlin

Castle (entry included). Once the home of Polish kings, it became the parliament and houses many monuments reminiscent of the

Berlin for our two night stay.

tour of this World Heritage Site.

The old town was

lovingly

restored

after

WWII and its narrow streets are surrounded by the remains of the city walls. Afterwards, we check into the

Wroclaw looks like a city built on water. Day Ten. Spend a free morning in Wroclaw – perhaps visit the pastel painted Market Square with its gothic Town Hall. This afternoon we depart for our overnight stop in the Leipzig area of Germany. Day Eleven. We make our way to Rotterdam to catch our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Twelve. We journey home after a memorable holiday.

Golden Tulip Hotel

YOUR HOTELS You will be staying in quality, en suite accommodation in a series of three star hotels ideally located for our excursion programme. Please see itinerary for details.

12 DAYS FROM ONLY £869

Sat 3 May

£889

Z

Thu 18 Sep

£869

Y

Single room supplement £160

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Krakow

8

Holiday code: MCPOLS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 9

Andorra

Andorra, Barcelona & the Pyrenees 11

Days

from

£749

Nestling on the borders of France and Spain in the heart of the spectacular Pyrenees, the principality of Andorra features sumptuous scenery and Romanesque architecture. Our itinerary allows time to enjoy Andorra as well as visiting Barcelona, a beautiful city with a swathe of sandy beach and exploring the mighty Pyrenees, a line of rugged mountains stretching from the Atlantic Ocean to the Mediterranean Sea.

Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We continue to France where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Three. We travel to pretty Canillo and check into the impressive Hotel Ski Plaza for our six night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Day Four. Look forward to an excursion to the capital of Andorra La Vella, home to breathtaking Romanesque architecture such as the Casa de la Vall fortified house, the Sant Esteve church and the restored Russians’ Tower.

a guided tour of the city’s highlights. Stroll down Las Ramblas, the city’s vibrant boulevard full of street musicians and living statues. Wander through the Gothic Quarter with its snaking streets and haunting architecture where you’ll find tiny bars tucked into little nooks and crannies or simply relax on the beach. Day Seven. With commentary and insight from a local guide, we cross the border into Spain to La Seu d’Urgell, a historically important town in the Catalan Pyrenees. From here we continue to Puigcerda before calling at the classic French Pyrenees ski resort of Font Romeu. Our return to Andorra takes in Port d’Envalira, the highest surfaced pass in the region. Day Eight. Our first treat today is our visit to the parish of Ordino, renowned for the grand mansions that once

Day Five. A day at leisure to explore Canillo’s old town with its twelfth century Sant Joan de Caselles church or maybe hop aboard the cable car to Grandvalira.

housed the Town Elders and the handsome church with its elegant bell tower. After time to look around, we move on to La Massana, home to Coma Pedrosa, the highest mountain in Andorra. Day Nine. Bidding farewell to Andorra, we return to

Day Six. A memorable day as we journey to Barcelona, home to Gaudi’s astounding La Sagrada Familia cathedral, where we enjoy

France for our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Ten. We travel to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Eleven. We make our way home.

HOTEL SKI PLAZA - CANILLO Nestling in the typical Pyrenean village of Canillo, the sumptuous five star Hotel Ski Plaza is decorated in traditional Alpine style. Guests enjoy complimentary wine with dinner and free entry to the leisure complex opposite.

11 DAYS FROM ONLY £749

Thu 19 Jun £749

Y

Sun 20 Jul £769

Z

Sun 7 Sep £749

Z

Single room supplement £180

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Wine with dinner in resort† Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance Holiday code: MCCASS

Barcelona

Conditions apply.

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

9

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 10

Grand European Tour 15 magical days exploring Europe’s finest sights

Our exclusive Grand European tours sell out year after year as more and more intrepid travellers embark on this wonderful voyage of discovery. With the imaginative and appealing itinerary on these pages, we’re sure this one will be just as popular. Highlights of our 2014 adventure include the French city of Tours, gateway to the lush Loire Valley and brimful of stunning attractions including a magnificent cathedral as well as traditional markets. Spain’s San Sebastian began its journey as a fishing village, grew into a market town and later a military fort. Nowadays, it’s a premier tourist destination, renowned for the beauty of its bay. Andorra nestles on the borders of France and Spain in the heart of the spectacular Pyrenees and promises incomparable beauty. Barcelona and Montpellier are sophisticated, elegant and effervescent cities with countless attractions. The Roman town of Orange presents a stroll through time and culture with its UNESCO monuments and history-laden streets. Basel has one of Europe’s prettiest Old Town’s inspired by its unique location where Switzerland, Germany and France meet. Our unforgettable journey concludes in Belgium where we visit the Flemish town of Ypres and the poignant Flanders Fields Museum. Truly a holiday you will always treasure.

YOUR HOTELS LA TERRASSE HOTEL – TOURS, FRANCE This charming and friendly hotel at the gateway to the Loire Valley features a stylish restaurant and offers a high standard of comfort. Rhine

HOTEL PALACIO DE AIETE – SAN SEBASTIAN, SPAIN

HOTEL SKI PLAZA – CANILLO, ANDORRA

Set in the typical Pyrenean village of Canillo, this sumptuous five star hotel is decorated in traditional Alpine style and guests enjoy free use of the neighbouring leisure complex.

PARK INN BY RADISSON – ORANGE, FRANCE

Surrounded by vineyards, this stylish and contemporary hotel is conveniently located less than a kilometer from the amphitheatre and has an outdoor pool, garden and sun terrace.

RAMADA PLAZA BASEL HOTEL – BASEL, SWITZERLAND An ultra-modern four star hotel located in the Basel Trade Fair offering the latest in up-to-theminute design as well as astounding views from its thirtieth floor Sky Lounge.

HOLIDAY INN HOTEL – HASSELT, BELGIUM

Enjoying a privileged location in a very exclusive area with panoramic views over San Sebastian, this hotel features a roof top sun terrace and a garden courtyard.

This contemporary hotel enjoys a peaceful location yet is only metres from the city centre and just a few steps will take you onto Demerstraat - an international shopping paradise. A stylish hotel, it features a pleasant terrace overlooking the canal.

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Andorra

Holiday Insurance

15 DAYS ONLY £1199

Thu 22 May

Y

Tue 2 Sep

Single room supplement £400 Holiday code: MCGRTS

10

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Z

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 11

Chateau de Chenonceau Castle

NEW ITINERARY FOR 2014

15

Days Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We make our way to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We arrive in Europe and travel through the colourful Loire Valley passing grand castles, river landscapes and celebrated vineyards to the resort of Tours. Tempting Tours features medieval alleyways lined with half-timbered dwellings as well as the Place Plumereau lively square. We check in to La Terrasse Hotel for our two night stay. Day Three. No visit to Tours would be complete without exploring the magnificent five hundred year old Chateau de Chenonceau Castle (entry included) which features a Grand Gallery, intriguing kitchens as well as an exceptional museum displaying Grand Masters paintings and sixteenth century tapestries. Afternoon is free to explore Tours at your own pace. Perhaps discover its history by stopping at the stunning cathedral or St Martin’s Basilica. Day Four. This morning we say au revoir to France and journey through Green Spain – the stunning coastal strip which runs north from the Basque Mountains along the untamed Bay of Biscay. We arrive at the Spanish resort of San Sebastian, a delightful town occupying a bay formed by the mountainous Cantabrian coastline. Here we check into the chic Hotel Palacio de Aiete for our two night stay. Day Five. Our first treat today is a city tour of San Sebastian with a local guide taking in sites such as La Plaza de la Constitucion with its neo-classical architecture and old town hall. Afterwards we take a ride on the funicular railway (ticket included) up the soaring cliff face enjoying lovely views of La Concha Bay. Afternoon is at leisure to continue exploring or relaxing on the beach. Day Six. It’s adios to Spain for now as we travel to the Pyrenean village of Canillo in Andorra and check into the fabulous Hotel Ski Plaza for three nights. Day Seven. A day to relax in this charming village with its spectacular scenery and friendly locals. Perhaps make use of the leisure facilities at the Palau de Gel d’Andorra across the road from our hotel. Alternatively explore the old town of Canillo with its fascinating

only

Ypres

£1199 architecture. Nearby attractions include the twelfth century church Sant Joan de Caselles. The more adventurous may choose a cable car ride followed by a walk through spectacular mountain scenery. Day Eight. An early start and a holiday highlight as we take in a full day excursion to the breathtakingly beautiful city of Barcelona enhanced by a guided tour. Stroll along the busy boulevard known as Las Ramblas with its bustling stalls and buzzing ambience or relax with a sangria in the atmospheric Gothic Quarter. Perhaps visit Poble Espanyol de Montjuic - a fascinating attraction showcasing different styles from typical Spanish villages in various parts of Spain. Don’t miss the magnificent church La Sagrada Familia, designed by the master architect Antonio Gaudi. Day Nine. We’re off to the beautiful south of France, travelling via Montpellier, a classy city with a historic centre characterised by both gothic and contemporary architecture. We continue to the striking Roman town of Orange where we check into the Park Inn by Radisson Hotel for our two night stay. Nearby attractions include the iconic Theatre Antique and Arc de Triomphe de l’Orange. Day Ten. Look forward to a morning visit to the medieval village of Chateauneuf du Pape, home to a highly reputable red wine and an imposing fortress which was built by the Popes of Avignon. The afternoon is free in Orange to explore its ancient treasures, indulge in its irresistible shops or absorb the mellow lifestyle.

Day Thirteen. The final country on our sensational adventure beckons as we travel to Belgium and the city of Hasselt. Here we take in a guided visit to the historic Brasserie de Bellevaux craft brewery. Witness the time-honoured methods and enjoy a freshly brewed beer on the terrace or in the pleasant tasting room before proceeding to our final hotel, the Holiday Inn Hasselt. Day Fourteen. A day to explore the charming city of Ypres and visit the Flanders Fields Museum where the story of WWI on the West Flanders Front is told (entrance included). Afterwards we make our way to our overnight ferry, enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Fifteen. We head home, brimful of wonderful memories.

Barcelona Switzerland

Day Eleven. Our adventure continues as we journey to Switzerland and to our hotel, the Ramada Plaza Basel where we stay for two nights. Basel oozes a unique international flavour and features dreamy lanes with al fresco cafés bordering the sundrenched banks of the Rhine. Day Twelve. Time to stretch our legs a little as we set off from our hotel on our morning guided walking tour to explore St Alban Tal - Basel’s Little Venice. Having got your bearings, perhaps enjoy an afternoon cruise on the Rhine from Basel harbour and view the city from the river.

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

11

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 12

St Moritz

ALL INCLUSIVE IN RESORT†

Spectacular Switzerland 10

Days

from

£849

Our base for this thrilling holiday is the Alpine town of Bad Ragaz, a long-established spa resort where the many sights include the old Pfafer Spa with its Paracelsus Memorial. The nearby Sargens Museum incorporates a folk exhibition and Giessenpark is perfect for a scenic stroll. Special treats are our train ride which showcases the beauty of this chocolate box region and we enjoy a guided tour of the elegant capital, Zurich. The largest city in Switzerland, Zurich commands magnificent views of the snow-capped Alps and features a Romanesque church and a stylish waterfront.

INCLUDES RIDE ON THE TRACKS OF THE GLACIER EXPRESS

Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We make our way to the Strasbourg area where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Three. Continuing via Leichtenstein to Bad Ragaz and check into the Park Hotel for our five night dinner, bed and breakfast stay complete with a nightly free bar† and daily packed lunch. Day Four. We start our day with free time in glamorous St Moritz. Surrounded by glaciers, the town has many attractions including the Segantini Museum. We then embark on a great rail adventure as we board the Rhatische Bahn. Travelling the same tracks as the famous Glacier Express, this unforgettable mountain ride takes us through some of the most spectacular scenery Switzerland has to offer. We disembark in Chur with time to explore the oldest Swiss city before travelling

through Liechtenstein to Werdenberg, a wooden medieval settlement that still retains its original character. Day Five. A day at leisure to relax in resort. Day Six. Today’s treat is a guided tour of Zurich which boasts over fifty museums and more than a hundred art galleries. Experience Zurich’s intricate past as you wander around the Old Town with its medieval buildings, crooked, alleys and the city’s landmark Grossmunster with its double towers. Down on the waterfront you can stroll along the promenade or meander round the Chinese Garden. Day Seven. You’re sure to adore our outing to the World Cultural Heritage City of St Gallen which is overlooked by a splendid baroque cathedral and features lively squares and pavement cafés. We pause at Austria’s lovely old town of Feldkirch on the return, home to the ancient Schattenburg Castle. Day Eight. Bidding farewell to Switzerland, we return to the Strasbourg area for our dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Day Nine. We continue to our overnight ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Ten. Sadly, it’s time to make our way home after an unforgettable Alpine adventure.

PARK HOTEL – BAD RAGAZ This traditional hotel stands in private grounds at the heart of Bad Ragaz. Our guests receive a daily packed lunch and a nightly free bar† between 6pm-10pm including local beer and wine.

10 DAYS FROM ONLY £849

Sun 6 Apr

£849

Z

Sun 6 Jul

£849

Z

Thu 18 Sep £869

Y

Single room supplement £180

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Nightly free bar† in resort Daily packed lunch in resort Coach and ferry travel throughout

Holiday code: MCSWPS

Zurich

12

Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Conditions apply.

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 13

Tyrol

Austrian Tyrol Extravaganza 12

Days

from

£799

INCLUDES FREE BAR† 11AM – 10PM, PACKED LUNCHES AND TYROLEAN EVENING

Spectacular landscapes, mountains and lakes are just some of Austria’s attractions. This sightseer’s dream is based at popular Saalbach, an enchanting village in the heart of the Glemm Valley. Our exciting itinerary takes us to opulent Salzburg where you’ll be impressed with the lavish architecture and we also visit the landmark resort of Kitzbuhel. If you choose to travel on one of our September dates, a special treat will be the annual Almabtrieb – the “bringing down the cattle” festival when locals mark the start of autumn with a colourful parade of elaborately decorated cows. If you prefer to travel in June, our excursion to Zell am See with its glassy water, soaring peaks and everlasting ice at the Kitzsteinhorn glacier will be a wonderfully relaxing alternative.

Your Holiday Itinerary

Day One. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We continue to Germany where we have a dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Three. We travel to Saalbach and check into the well-appointed Hotel Panther for seven nights dinner bed and breakfast, a daily packed lunch, afternoon tea/coffee with biscuits and unlimited local wine, beer and soft drinks between 11am and 10pm. Day Four. A holiday highlight as we head to sumptuous Salzburg. Forever associated with the Sound of Music and Mozart, sights to see include the composer’s birthplace as well as the glorious Hohensalzburg Castle and pretty Mirabell Gardens. Day Five. Our treat today is iconic Kitzbuhel. Formerly a copper mining village, Kitzbuhel is now a famous resort overlooked by the towering Hahnenkamm and Kitzbuheler Horn Mountains.

Hotel Panther

Day Six. Guests staying on our June dates will enjoy an excursion to attractive Zell-am-See with its mirror-like waters. Our September holiday makers are warmly invited to the “bringing down the cattle” festival when locals celebrate the start of autumn with a colourful carnival as the cows return from their Alpine pastures. Days Seven & Eight. Two free days in resort to admire your beautiful surroundings; enjoy the Alpine charm as you stroll around the village or make use of the hotel’s superb leisure facilities. Day Nine. We head to Innsbruck, the lively capital of the Tyrol. This historical city boasts fascinating sights including the glittering Goldenes Dachl (“golden roof”) which is covered with glittering fire-gilded tiles and was constructed for the Holy Roman Emperor Maximilian I. Other landmarks include the Hofkirche gothic church, the Stadtturm medieval tower in the Old Town and the Imperial Hofburg castle. Day Ten. We journey to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop in Germany. Day Eleven. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Twelve. We make our way home.

HOTEL PANTHER - SAALBACH Located in the pedestrian area of Saalbach, the Hotel Panther is within easy reach of shops and cafés. We include a daily free bar† from 11am to 10pm, a packed lunch, afternoon tea/coffee with biscuits and a Tyrolean buffet evening.

12 DAYS FROM ONLY £799

Fri 6 Jun

£819 W

Mon 30 Jun £839

Y

Mon 1 Sep

£839 W

Mon 15 Sep £799

Y

Single room supplement £180

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Daily packed lunch in resort Free Bar† in resort Afternoon tea/coffee with biscuits in resort Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Innsbruck

Conditions apply.

Holiday code: MCSAPS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

13

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 14

The Magic Flute & Austrian Tyrol

The Magic Flute

As the sun sinks into Lake Constance, an enchanting night begins when

YOUR HOTELS

you take your seat for an outdoor recital of Mozart’s spellbinding opera, The Magic Flute. This atmospheric “Opera on the Lake” performed on the world’s largest floating stage presents a feast for the senses. You’ll be lost

11

Days

in the mystique as the fairytale story evolves from playful fantasy to magic farce

You’ll be staying two nights in a hotel conveniently located for the festival followed by four nights in the Kirchberger Hotel in the Austrian Tyrol.

against the most stunning backdrop imaginable and we include a guided “behind

only

£899

the scenes” tour before the show. Afterwards, we head to the Austrian Tyrol for four days of relaxation and sightseeing. We travel by ferry from Hull to Zeebrugge with overnight stops in Germany on both the outward and return journeys.

Your Holiday Itinerary Highlights Bregenz Festival & The Magic Flute A guided “behind the scenes” tour of the Bregenz festival followed by a captivating performance of The Magic Flute. Historic Innsbruck We head to historical Innsbruck where fascinating sights including the glittering Goldenes Dachl, the Hofkirche gothic church, the Stadtturm medieval tower and the Imperial Hofburg castle. Mozart’s Salzburg We enjoy a guided tour of sumptuous Salzburg, forever associated with The Sound of Music and Mozart. Sights to see include the composer’s birthplace as well as the Hohensalzburg Castle.

PRICE INCLUDES

11 DAYS ONLY £899

Thu 14 Aug

Y

Single room supplement £130

Dinner, B&B | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Heidelberg Castle

Holiday code: MCAUSS

Heidelberg Castle Fireworks Extravaganza Attracting visitors from across the globe, this spectacular was once included in The New York Times list of recommended worldwide events

BEST WESTERN LUDWIGSHAFEN HOTEL

and was even described passionately by Mark Twain in his novel A Tramp Abroad. The show begins when imposing Heidelberg Castle is bathed in a fiery red glow as though it were erupting in flames, marking the moment when

6

Days

Louis XIV torched the city. As the crimson light fades, fireworks explode over the

only

£449

River Neckar representing the celebrations when Friedric V brought his bride Elizabeth Stuart back to Heidelberg. Unmissable!

Your Holiday Itinerary Thursday. To Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We head to the Rhine resort of Boppard where you can stroll along the riverside promenade or have a snack in a waterside café. We continue to the Best Western Ludwigshafen Hotel, located opposite the Rhine and boasting an indoor pool and sauna. Saturday. Relax or make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities. Afternoon visit to Heidelberg, home to Germany’s oldest university, gothic alleyways, a beautiful old bridge and the sixteenth century Students’ Jail which was built to keep mischievous scholars off the streets! Return to our hotel for dinner prior to our evening extravaganza – the spectacular annual fireworks display at Heidelberg Castle! Sunday. We visit ancient Speyer, home to a glorious domed cathedral, a medieval Jewish Quarter and the Technik Museum housing amazing modes of transport. Monday. To our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Tuesday. We travel home.

PRICE INCLUDES

14

Dinner, B&B | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

The four star Best Western Ludwigshafen Hotel is located opposite the Rhine in the city of Ludwigshafen. It’s a very comfortable base with great facilities.

6 Days only £449

Thu 10 Jul

Y Single room supplement £90

Holiday code: MCLUBS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:12

Page 15

Rhine in Flames The Rhine Valley is a land of myths and legends where ancient castles

LAMM HOTEL

crown the hillsides above enchanting riverside towns. This captivating holiday includes a chance to witness the Rhine in Flames spectacular, when fireworks and curtains of fire bathe the riverbanks and landmarks in a

6

Days

magical red glow as a flotilla of illuminated boats glide by.

only

£449

PRICE INCLUDES

Your Holiday Itinerary

Thursday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to Rotterdam enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We make our way to magical Assmannhausen and check into our hotel. Saturday. Relish a relaxing day at leisure – perhaps take a sightseeing cruise on the Rhine. Enjoy an early dinner before an extraordinary evening! We set off to Koblenz where a truly spectacular firework display kicks off this breathtaking event. Eighty ships will glide from the vineyards, floating past romantic castles, graceful palaces, quaint half-timbered houses and riverside promenades, all bathed in fire and light. The final dazzling pyrotechnic display will take place against a backdrop of stirring music. Unforgettable! Sunday. Another treat as we head to the popular resort of Rudesheim. Perhaps explore the historical treasures such as the tenth century Bromserburg Castle. Monday. We say auf weidersehn and head north to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Tuesday. We make our way home.

Dinner, B&B | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

The traditional three star Lamm Hotel is ideally situated on the promenade overlooking the Rhine.

6 DAYS ONLY £449

Thu 7 Aug

Z Single room supplement £80

Holiday code: MCASLS

Lourdes

Lourdes Famed for the Marian apparitions of Our Lady of Lourdes, this French

HOTEL ST GEORGES

village is one the most visited religious sites on earth. Perhaps walk with the spiritual Torchlight Procession which begins at the Grotto of Massabielle where the Blessed Virgin is said to have appeared to fourteen year old Bernadette Soubirous and join the thousands of pilgrims who go through the

7

Days

celebrated Baths seeking spiritual comfort.

only

£549

Your Holiday Itinerary Sunday. An early start as we head south to Dover for an evening crossing to France. There are dining opportunities on board to suit all tastes and budgets. We disembark and continue to our overnight hotel. Monday. After breakfast we head to Lourdes and check into the Hotel St Georges for four nights dinner, bed, breakfast and lunch. Tuesday – Wednesday. Two free days to do your own exploring. There are countless reasons for visiting Lourdes: The Basilica of the Rosary is one of the town’s most visited sites, the Pyrenean Museum is where you can trace the history of Lourdes and soak up the atmosphere of the time of the apparitions. Or follow in the footsteps of St Bernadette – a journey giving pilgrims the opportunity to view the mill house where Bernadette was born and the old Presbytery where she relayed messages. Thursday. A fascinating morning as we visit the village of Bartes, celebrated for the house where Bernadette spent her childhood and the sheepfold where she worked. Friday. We head north after breakfast to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Saturday. An early start as we continue to Calais for the short sea crossing and then onwards to our joining points.

The Hotel St Georges is set on the banks of the Gave River within walking distance of the town centre.

7 DAYS ONLY £549

Sun 6 Apr

J

Sun 12 Oct

J

Single room supplement £120

PRICE INCLUDES

Meals as stated | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Holiday code: MCLOSS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

15

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 16

Colditz

Colditz & Dresden 8

Days

from

£549

This intriguing tour takes us off the beaten track and to the relatively unexplored ancient region of SaxonyAnhalt where you can experience culture in its purest form. Once home to several eminent composers, this area prides itself on its connections to distinguished names such as Strauss, Bach, Handel and Wagner and hosts prestigious concerts honouring the works of these famous musicians. Based in Leipzig, this stately city with its rich musical tradition will be marking the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the birth of composer Richard Strauss in 1864. We venture out to visit the legend that is Colditz, home to the ill-famed castle and we explore historic Dresden, the scene of much destruction during the Second World War.

Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We proceed to our ultra modern hotel on the outskirts of historic Halle for our five night dinner, bed and breakfast stay.

Ramada, Leipzig Halle

Dresden

Day Three. Look forward to our excursion into the musical city of Leipzig where the celebrations to mark the anniversary of the birth of composer Richard Strauss will be underway. Perhaps follow in Strauss’s footsteps and stop off at St Thomas Church, the Gewandhaus concert hall and the building which housed his former school Alte Nikolaischule. Maybe you’d like to visit the Bach Museum or the medieval market square where the city’s coat of arms is the impressive centrepiece. Day Four. A day at leisure to enjoy the hotel’s leisure facilities or make your way into Halle for a look around.

Day Five. A holiday highlight as we make our way to Colditz where a visit to the notorious castle is a must! This imposing structure is best known as a prisoner of war camp for allied officers in WWII but has also served as a workhouse and a mental institution. Nowadays, it houses a fascinating museum which charts its dark history. Day Six. Our treat today is a guided tour of Dresden. This eight hundred year old city sustained heavy bomb damage during WWII and many of its landmarks have been restored to their former glory. Foremost amongst these are the Zwinger Palace and the Semper Opera House. Nicknamed “Dorado” by Richard Strauss, it was in this opera house that nine of the composer’s operas were premiered. Elsewhere in the city you’ll find the Frauenkirche Church which was reconstructed as a symbol of reconciliation between past enemies. Day Seven. We bid auf weidershen to Saxony as we journey to catch the ferry back to Hull enjoying, dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Eight. We make our way home.

RAMADA HOTEL – LEIPZIG HALLE This comfortable and contemporary four star hotel is located just a short coach ride from the historic centre of Halle and features a pleasant garden and terrace.

8 DAYS FROM ONLY £549

Tue 29 Apr

£549

Y

Wed 2 Jul

Wed 18 Jun £549

Z

Wed 27 Aug £579

£559 W Y

Single room supplement £100

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance Holiday code: MCLERS

16

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 17

The Beautiful Black Forest 8

Days

from

£619

On arrival in this picturesque region of southwest Germany, you’ll feel as though you’ve stepped into a fairytale. Famous for its chocolate box scenery, the beautiful Black Forest is studded with delightful villages, distinctive timbered buildings and enchanting little towns. There’s plenty to see and do and, in our experience, most visitors find it hard to resist the colourful and quirky cuckoo clocks that are sold everywhere you go. Of course, no trip to this enchanted destination is complete without treating yourself to a slice or two of the traditional Schwarzwalder Kirschtorte, otherwise known as Black Forest Gateau. Our itinerary for this wonderful holiday takes you through all the highlights of this truly beautiful region.

Your Holiday Itinerary Sunday. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent, enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We arrived refreshed and in the holiday mood, travelling to our hotel in the historic town of Bad Herrenalb. Tuesday. Our sightseeing begins with an excursion to Freiberg, home to a bustling Munsterpltaz (marketplace). This delightful cobbled square encircles the mighty Minster of Our Lady, a stunning church and an architectural masterpiece from the Gothic period. The Munsterplatz is also edged by the storybook Merchant’s Hall with its deep red façade and elaborate comets.

Black Forest

Wednesday. Today we visit Baden Baden, which has a long and intriguing history as a spa town and health resort. Maybe you will explore the two thousand year old ruins of the Roman Baths, marvel at the opulent Kurhaus or

perhaps take a horse-drawn carriage ride around this fascinating place. Thursday. A free day to relax in the clean mountain air and perhaps explore the beautiful spa resort of Bad Herrenalb. Friday. After breakfast we head off for today’s adventure, a visit to the incredibly quaint medieval town of Calw. Located in the north of the Black Forest, the town initially grew up around an eleventh century castle and was once a major centre for the leather and cloth industries. Since the twentieth century it has become a thriving tourist centre that buzzes with half-timbered buildings hosting shops, restaurants and a plethora of attractions. Literature fans will enjoy the Herman Hesse Museum, dedicated to the life and works of the Nobel Prize-winning author of Steppenwolf, who was born locally. Also well worth a visit is the Hirsau Monastery, once the largest and most influential religious residence in Germany and now a fascinating museum. Saturday. We bid auf wiedersehn to Germany as we journey to catch the ferry back to Hull, enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Sunday. We make our way home.

BEST WESTERN HOTEL – BAD HERRENALB Conveniently situated just five hundred metres from the town centre, our comfortable hotel offers a high standard of accommodation and has been highly praised by previous guests.

8 DAYS FROM ONLY £619

Sun 25 May £619

Z

Sun 27 Jul

£669

Y

Sun 22 Jun

Z

Sun 21 Sep £629

Z

£629

Single room supplement £160

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Black Forest

Holiday code: MCBABS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

17

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 18

Bavaria, Bohemia & the Danube

Passau

NIGHTLY FREE BAR IN RESORT 7PM - 10PM†

11

Days

from

£799

Nestling between the River Danube and the Czech and Austrian borders, the unspoilt landscape of Bavaria features shimmering lakes and breathtaking mountain viewpoints and promises much more than traditional lederhosen, sausages and barrels of beer. Our holiday is based in the tranquil village of Neureichenau, located at the foot of the Dreisesselberg Mountain. Among the treasures on this delightful tour is our day in Passau. Known as the “city of three rivers” due to its setting at the confluence of the rivers Inn, Ilz and Danube, this gem features impressive Italian Baroque architecture, pleasant squares, twisting lanes and elaborate bridges. Another enchantment on this adventure is when we cross the border to explore captivating Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic where you’ll be convinced you’ve stepped into a fairytale.

Your Holiday Itinerary

Day One. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Two. We continue to our overnight dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Three. We travel to Neureichenau in the Bavarian Forest and check into our hotel for a fabulous six night dinner, bed and breakfast stay complete with a nightly free bar† from 7pm-10pm.

Haus Bayerwald Hotel

Day Four. A treat today as we visit charming Passau. Stroll along the riverfront promenade or wander the old town where you’ll find the bright and beautiful St Stephen’s Cathedral containing the world’s largest cathedral organ. Visit the baroque Old Bishop’s Residence and see the Pranger – stocks where rogues were once shackled for locals to ridicule and throw things at them! Day Five. We head to Scholegen where we enjoy a cruise

on the River Danube sailing around the Schlogenberg Loop – the most stunning section of the Danube where the river winds around the Schlogenberg Mountain. We then sail on to Linz in Austria where we rejoin our coach. Day Six. A day at leisure to relax or enjoy the hotel’s extensive leisure facilities. Day Seven. Our sightseeing today takes us to Bodenmais where the key point of interest is the "Joska" glass paradise. Here you’ll find beer gardens, restaurants, an all year round Christmas market along with exhibitions and craftsmen demonstrating glass blowing. We return via Bavaria National Park. Day Eight. Look forward to our magical outing to Cesky Krumlov, a gorgeous little town in Bohemia and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. You’ll be bowled over as you stroll through its medieval old town with its elegant chateaux, Renaissance dwellings, spacious courtyards and fairytale castle complete with a moat and Masquerade Hall. Day Nine. We journey north to our dinner, bed and breakfast stop. Day Ten. We continue to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Day Eleven. We make our way home.

HAUS BAYERWALD HOTEL NEUREICHENAU Enjoying a peaceful location in the village of Neureichenau, this welcoming hotel boasts great views of the Alps, has a conservatory and terrace and offers a range of treatments in its wellness centre.

11 DAYS FROM ONLY £799

Wed 9 Apr

£799

Y

Sat 16 Aug

£899

Z

Sat 11 Oct

£799

Z

Single room supplement £150

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Nightly free bar† in resort Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Cesky Krumlov

18

Holiday code: MCNEHS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Conditions apply.

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 19

Rhine

INCLUDES 3 RIVER CRUISES

Romance of the Rhine Valley 7

Days

from

£529

The Rhine Valley is a land of myths and legends where ancient castles crown the hillsides and vineyards cling to the slopes above enchanting riverside towns. This captivating holiday presents the opportunity to spend days appreciating this stunning region from a river cruiser then nights on dry land in the traditional town of Assmannhausen. Our truly delightful ports of call include fun-filled Rudesheim, endearing Bacharach and historic Koblenz, where the Rhine meets the majestic Moselle.

Your Holiday Itinerary Sunday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to Rotterdam enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We make our way to the Lamm Hotel in magical Assmannhausen arriving in time to unwind before dinner. Tuesday. This morning we set off on a river cruise from just outside the hotel heading to the popular resort of Rudesheim. Perhaps wander the quirky alleyways or explore the historical treasures that reach back through the ages such as the gothic Eagle Tower and the tenth century Bromserburg Castle. If you’re feeling brave, visit the Middle Ages Torture Museum and learn about witches, the Inquisition and medieval punishments!

Rhine

Wednesday. We sail to St Goar, famed for the treacherous Lorelei Rock that once lured sailors to a watery grave and thirteenth century Rheinfels Castle, the

largest and most imposing castle on the Rhine. From here we hop aboard a paddle steamer to Bacharach which features an adorable market place complete with cobbled lanes and half-timbered houses. After time to explore we catch a river cruiser back to Assmannhausen. Thursday. This morning we journey by coach to two thousand year old Koblenz with its abundance of cultural monuments and atmospheric squares. Attractions include the stately Koblenz Palace, the Central Rhine Museum in Florin’s Market and the bronze statue of a mischievous boy known as Schangelbrunnen, who periodically spews jets of sparkling water at unsuspecting passers-by! After some time to look around, we proceed to Cochem, a traditional German village on the banks of the Moselle river where legend, history and folklore are woven into every alleyway and snaking streets of wine taverns nestle beneath storybook Reichsburg Castle. Here we board our river boat for a short scenic cruise. Friday. We say auf weidersehn and head north to our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Saturday. From Hull, we make our way home.

LAMM HOTELASSMANNSHAUSEN Situated on the promenade overlooking the Rhine, the traditional three star Lamm Hotel has a pleasant street café where you can relax with a drink and watch the activity on the river.

7 DAYS FROM ONLY £529

Sun 1 Jun

£539

Z

Sun 31 Aug £559

Z

Sun 13 Jul

£589

Z

Sun 5 Oct

Z

Sun 10 Aug £599

Y

£529

Single room supplement £100

PRICE INCLUDES Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Rhine

Holiday code: MCASLS

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

19

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

Ypres

17:13

Page 20

World War I Battlefields Centenary Commemoration Discover the stories, tragedy and bravery of the soldiers of the Great War on this poignant quest to mark the one hundredth anniversary since the outbreak of WWI. We visit some of the sites of the bloodiest conflicts and pay

HOTEL CAMPANILLE SUD – SECLIN

our respects at many of the beautiful monuments and moving graveyards that

Your Holiday Itinerary

5

Days

are scattered throughout the countryside of France and Belgium.

from

£299

PRICE INCLUDES

Thursday. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to Zeebrugge enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We make our way to Ostend, where Fort Napoleon, a landmark building in Ostend, was used by the German forces as their headquarters and is now a museum and memorial. We continue to our hotel for our two night stay, arriving in time for dinner. Saturday. Today we travel through the Ypres Salient, the region of Belgium that was the scene of some of the bloodiest battles. Beginning at the preserved trenches of Sanctuary Wood, we stop at the museum before continuing to Tyne Cot Cemetery, a burial ground for the dead of WWI. Afterwards we move on to the Messines Ridge sector and the nearby Irish Peace Tower which honours the role of Irish troops. At Ploegsteert we learn about the compassion of the Christmas Truce and view the memorial. We have some free time to dine locally (dinner not included) before the moving Last Post ceremony at the iconic Menin Gate when a bugler sounds a final farewell to the fallen. Sunday. After breakfast we travel to the Historical Museum in Peronne before moving on to the biggest British mine crater on the Western Front at La Boisselle. At Thiepval, we visit the Memorial to the Missing which commemorates the many thousands of soldiers who died in the fierce Battle of the Somme in 1916. Our tribute ends at Serre where we see where war poet Wilfred Owen fought. From here, we continue to Zeebrugge for our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We make our way home.

Our bright and airy modern hotel is located just three kilometres from the town centre of lovely Lille, the capital of the northern region of France, and it has a relaxing terrace.

5 DAYS FROM ONLY £299

Thu 1 May

£299 Y

Thu 21 Aug

£319 Z

Thu 19 Jun

£299 W

Thu 16 Oct

£299 W

Single room supplement applies

Holiday code: MCSECN

Meals as stated |Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday Itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Paris

Bruges & Paris Impossibly enchanting, Bruges has cobbled streets, splendid squares and grand architecture, so it’s little wonder it was declared a UNESCO World Heritage city – not to mention being the chocolate capital of the world! Treat yourself to a horse-drawn carriage ride or hop aboard a canal boat and see the sights from a different angle. As we move on to romantic

4

Days

Paris you’ll find iconic landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe.

from

£199

Your Holiday Itinerary Friday. We journey to our overnight hotel in the south of England in time for dinner.

Bruges

Saturday. We catch a morning ferry to Calais then onwards to beautiful Bruges where we spend the afternoon and have dinner (not included) before continuing to our hotel. Sunday. After breakfast at the hotel, we venture into cosmopolitan Paris to explore the many facets of this dynamic cosmopolitan city. Stroll along the Champs Elysses, wander through Montparnasse or perhaps treat yourself to the view of the metropolis from atop the Eiffel Tower. Later on, you are free to sample the many restaurants of all types and budgets on offer in this great city (not included) before we return to our comfortable hotel.

4 DAYS FROM ONLY £199

Fri 25 Apr

£219 J

Fri 26 Sep

£229 J

Fri 9 May

£229 J

Fri 24 Oct

£199 J

Single room supplement applies

Monday. After breakfast we journey home, arriving late evening.

Holiday code: MCBPUN

*Please note, to ensure maximum flexibility, dinner is only included on the first night at your UK hotel. PRICE INCLUDES

20

Meals as stated |Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday Itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 21

Luxembourg

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg Nestling between Germany, France and Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a fairytale haven with verdant valleys and picture-postcard

GRAND HOTEL DE VIANDEN

hamlets. Our holiday is based in Vianden, tucked-away in a delightful spot near the border with Germany and towered over by an impeccably restored

6

Days

medieval castle. We venture out to lovely Echternach, cross the border to

Your Holiday Itinerary

explore Trier, Germany’s oldest town and spend time in Luxembourg City.

from

£399

Sunday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to Rotterdam enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We make our way to magical Vianden where the afternoon is free to explore. Visit the storybook castle, hop onboard ‘Benni’, the little land train, or catch the chairlift and take in panoramic views. Tuesday. We visit the captivating border town of Echternach, the oldest town in Luxembourg with over two thousand years of history. We then hop over the border into Germany to explore Trier on the banks of the River Moselle.

This charming hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the medieval village centre, the River Our and the imposing castle and has an outside terrace and conservatory.

Wednesday. Today we head into Luxembourg City - perhaps view the Palais-Grand Ducal or explore the Bock Casemates, a honeycomb of rock passages carved by the Spaniards in the seventeenth century.

6 DAYS FROM ONLY £399

Sun 4 May

£399 Z

Sun 17 Aug

£439 Y

Thursday. Following some free time in Vianden, we make our way to the overnight ferry back to the UK.

Sun 15 Jun

£419 W

Sun 14 Sep

£399 Z

Sun 13 Jul

£419 Z

Friday. We journey home after a truly fascinating holiday. PRICE INCLUDES

Dinner, B&B |Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday Itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Single room supplement applies Holiday code: MCVIGN

Romantic Chateaux & Gardens of Paris

Paris

If you have a love of beautiful things and enjoy exploring famous homes, grandiose chateaux and extravagant parklands, then this is the tour for you! See the home and lavish gardens of Monet then discover the history

ON BOARD MEALS PACKAGE ONLY £25

COMFORT HOTEL – ROSNY-SOUS-BOIS

and opulence of the Chateau de Champ de Bataille, a splendid castle set in over ninety acres of picturesque grounds. Another treat is our visit to the incomparable Palace of Versailles with its plush formal gardens.

5

Days

only

£349

Your Holiday Itinerary Day One. We head to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying the onboard entertainment. Day Two. We journey to Paris where you’ll have some free time before we continue to the Comfort Inn Rosny Sous Bois Hotel in time for dinner. Day Three. Our treat today begins with breakfast at our hotel before a visit to the home and gardens of Claude Monet - a dwelling forever immortalised in Monet’s famous Water Lilies paintings. We continue to Chateau de Champ de Bataille. This French heritage jewel has been lovingly restored and features richly decorated rooms revealing priceless treasures alongside truly sumptuous gardens. We have free time to dine in Paris before returning to our hotel. Day Four. A highlight today as, after breakfast, we head to the Chateau of Versailles, this former hunting lodge of Louis XIII features the splendorous Hall of Mirrors, the King’s Grand Apartments and the Queen’s bedchamber as well as stunning grounds. We have free time to explore the local restaurants before returning to our hotel. Day Five. After an early breakfast we travel to Calais for the short crossing to Dover and then continue home.

PRICE INCLUDES

Meals as stated |Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday Itinerary | Holiday Insurance

The Comfort Hotel Rosny-sous-Bois is a modern hotel located on the outskirts of Paris. With a restaurant serving local cuisine, explore the delights of Paris before heading back for a restful night’s sleep.

5 DAYS ONLY £349

Mon 30 Jun

Y

Sun 24 Aug

Z

Single room supplement applies Holiday code: MCROCN

*Please note, to ensure maximum flexibility, dinner is only included on the first night at your hotel.

01924 moreinformation informationorortotobook bookyour yourholiday holidaytoday. today.Book Visit online us online at www.glentonpalmer.com FreephoneCall 08000 24 895849 24 24 forformore at www.glentonholidays.com

2121

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 22

Dutch Cruise & the Bulbfields Take in the best of springtime in Holland as you relax on a tranquil river cruise. Highlights include a day at renowned Keukenhof Gardens – a historical park featuring beautiful landscaped grounds and a patchwork quilt of fields with bulbs in bloom in an amazing display of colour.

6

Days

from

£469

Your Holiday Itinerary Thursday. We journey to Hull for the overnight ferry to Rotterdam enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We travel to the Hague, a coastal city with vast green parks, historic buildings and museums. We continue to the popular seaside resort of Scheveningen. Late afternoon we head to Amsterdam to board the MV Virginia. Saturday. This morning we sail along the Dutch waterways to Hoorn, set in a bay and boasting two yacht harbours as well as elegant seventeenth century gabled houses. Sunday. Our cruise continues to Volendam, home to picturesque old houses and a museum displaying traditional costumes and model fishing boats. Late afternoon we sail to Amsterdam where we moor overnight. Monday. We bid farewell to the friendly crew of the MV Virginia then travel by coach to Keukenhof Gardens. The park will be a riot of colour with tulips, hyacinths and daffodils in full bloom. Early evening we board our ferry for dinner and our return voyage to Hull. Tuesday. After breakfast we head home.

MV VIRGINIA This tastefully furnished and fully air conditioned ship features a stylishly furnished lounge with bar and dance floor and a tasteful restaurant.

6 DAYS FROM ONLY £469

Thu 10 Apr

Y

Main Deck

£469

Promenade Deck £489 Thu 24 Apr

Y

Main Deck

£469

Promenade Deck £489 Sorry, no single cabins are available

PRICE INCLUDES

Dinner, B&B | Lunch on board your ship | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Holiday code: MCRIVN

Cruising Holland & the River Rhine This very special break offers a relaxing journey from the vibrant Dutch

MV ESMERELDA

capital of Amsterdam, into the scenic Rhine Valley and on to the historic cities of Cologne and Breda.

Your Holiday Itinerary

8

Days

from

£599

Our ship offers comfortable accommodation and a friendly atmosphere. Facilities include a spacious lounge, a sun deck and a roomy restaurant.

Thursday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Friday. We head to The Hague, capital of Holland, for some free time and then make our way to Amsterdam where we board the MV Esmerelda. After dinner there will be an evening at leisure to explore this unique city. Saturday. Today we cruise on the Rhine Canal and River Waal, through a typical Dutch landscape of meadowland and riverside villages. We pass Nijmegen to join the River Rhine before reaching Emmerich. Tonight we’re treated to live entertainment on board. Sunday. A day cruising on the Rhine, through the Ruhr region, to arrive in Cologne. Monday. From Cologne we glide past Bonn to enter the Rhine Valley region. Here we pass vineyard slopes crowned by romantic castles and wine villages. We arrive late afternoon at charming Koblenz. Be sure to explore the old town, Altstadt. Tuesday. This morning we join our coach for an excursion through the Rhine gorge to Boppard. We rejoin the MV Esmerelda in the afternoon and sail downstream to Dusseldorf. Wednesday. After breakfast we disembark and make the short journey by coach to the colourful Dutch city of Breda. We then head to the port for our ferry to Hull, enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Thursday. We journey homeward.

8 DAYS FROM ONLY £599

Thu 1 May

Y

Main Deck

£599

Promenade Deck £649 Single cabin supplement applies

PRICE INCLUDES

22

Dinner, B&B | Lunch on board your ship | Coach and ferry travel throughout | Full holiday itinerary | Holiday Insurance

Holiday code: MCRIEN

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 23

Moselle Valley

German River Cruises

TWO ITINERARIES TO CHOOSE FROM

10

Days

from

£899

Take your pick from these two fabulous itineraries aboard the ever popular river cruiser Prinses Christina. Perhaps you’ll opt for the regal Rhine and mystical Moselle sailing and enjoy stops at places like Cochem, a traditional German village where history and folklore are woven into every winding alleyway. Alternatively, our Black Forest cruise features excursions to Freiburg, a sun-kissed town with a Mediterranean feel and to the old university town of Heidelberg.

Black Forest Cruise Rhine & Your Holiday Itinerary Moselle Cruise Saturday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to the continent enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Sunday. We make our way to Cologne to board the Prinses Christina. Monday. Explore Cologne this morning before our cruise sets sail passing Bonn to reach the Roman town of Andernach. Tuesday. Our cruise continues through the spectacular Rhine Gorge, arriving at the riverside resort of Rudesheim where the rest of the day is at leisure. Wednesday. We stop at Mainz and enjoy a coach excursion to the old university city of Heidelberg, rejoining our ship at Speyer. Thursday. We cruise to Rasstadt where the Rhine becomes the boundary between France and Germany and head into the beautiful Black Forest. We visit pretty Baden-Baden before following the scenic Schwarzwald Hochstrasse to rejoin our ship across the border in Strasbourg. Black Forest

Friday. A holiday highlight as we visit Freiburg, the 'capital' of the Black Forest before crossing into France and on to Colmar, an enchanting city of canals in the Alsace region. Saturday. Today our cruise continues downstream to Mainz. Sunday. We head for our ferry back to Hull with dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We make our way home. 10 DAYS FROM ONLY £899

Sat 12 Jul

Z

Your Holiday Itinerary

Saturday. We travel to Hull for our overnight ferry to Rotterdam enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Sunday. We make our way to Cologne to board the Prinses Christina, where we settle in to our cabins and explore the ship’s facilities before dinner. Monday. We begin our cruise, passing Bonn and into the Rhine Valley with its vineyard slopes and romantic castles, reaching the Roman town of Andernach. Tuesday. We leave the Rhine at Koblenz, cruising upstream on the winding Moselle and stopping at popular Cochem, which is overlooked by the stately Reichsburg Castle. Wednesday. We rejoin the Rhine to visit Boppard. Thursday. Gliding between the steep slopes and craggy rocks of the Rhine Gorge, we pass historic castles en route to popular Rudesheim. Friday. Returning through the Rhine Gorge, you’ll have time to explore Koblenz Old Town. Saturday. Passing the remains of the famous bridge at Remagen, we return to Cologne where we have time to visit the majestic cathedral. Sunday. We head for our ferry back to Hull, enjoying dinner, entertainment and breakfast on board. Monday. We make our way home.

10 DAYS FROM ONLY £949

Main Deck

£899

Sat 23 Aug

Sorry, no single cabins are available

Z

Main Deck

£949

Promenade Deck £999

Promenade Deck £949

Sorry, no single cabins are available

PRINSES CHRISTINA

PRICE INCLUDES

This tastefully furnished and fully air conditioned ship has a lounge bar with dance floor on the Promenade Deck and a spacious Sun Deck. Please note that whilst there are stairlifts on board, wheelchair access is regretably not possible.

Lunch while river cruising

Dinner, B&B Coach and ferry travel throughout Full holiday itinerary Holiday Insurance

Princes Christina Holiday code: MCRICN

Freephone 08000 24 24 24 for more information or to book your holiday today. Book online at www.glentonholidays.com

23

SS S

Continental Preview:Layout 1

24/10/13

17:13

Page 24

Select

Coach holidays with miles more style

ALL Select TOURS INCLUDE: • Luxury coach travel • Extra leg room

• Reclining leather seats • Climate control

• On board library

• Premium welcome pack • Carefully selected quality hotels

Many of the holidays in our 2014 Collection are Select. You travel to your chosen resort and enjoy all your excursions in a luxurious state-ofthe-art vehicle and stay in handpicked hotels with high standards, good locations, excellent facilities and a reputation for superb service. Rest assured, if you choose a standard tour you will also enjoy great Glenton value. On non-Select tours you travel in a comfortable, modern coach and still benefit from great Glenton extras such as a welcome pack on board your outward journey.

It’s so easy to join a Glenton holiday… Glenton offers a wide range of handy pick up points with convenient routes. Each holiday date in the 2014 Continental Collection bears a departure code. Simply look down the alphabetical list of departure points on the right and follow the grid along to see the times and route codes available from any given joining point.

We never ask our customers to endure overnight coach travel, as we don’t believe it is conducive to a relaxing holiday. At some departure points you may be collected by a people carrier to transfer you to the tour coach. On some European holidays we may collect passengers from the North of England en route to the ferry port.

CODE

Bathgate

J

W

07:15

08:30

Cumbernauld

Y

Z

09:20

08:30

Dalkeith

11:00

Dunfermline

06:00

07:30

09:50

East Kilbride†

08:00

07:30

09:15

08:00

Edinburgh

06:30

09:15

07:00

10:30

Falkirk

08:00

Glasgow

08:00

Gretna

10:30

Hamilton

08:30

07:30

09:15

11:45

08:00

09:45

Irvine

08:20

07:00

Jedburgh Paisley

08:45

10:30

07:30

07:00

08:45

08:00

TIMES ARE FOR GUIDANCE ONLY. PLEASE CHECK YOUR FINAL TRAVEL TICKET FOR CONFIRMED TIMES. On most departures a people carrier will pick you up and transfer you to either Glasgow or Hamilton.

For bookings and holiday information

FREEPHONE 08000 24 24 24

or book online at www.glentonholidays.com Glenton, 30 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3PU

Booking conditions apply. For full terms and conditions please see the Glenton Summer Brochure.


Glenton Holidays Continental Preview 2014