Page 7

VOLUME 128 ISSUE 8

August 2017

Perendale Publishers Ltd 7 St George’s Terrace St James’ Square, Cheltenham, Glos, GL50 3PT, United Kingdom Tel: +44 1242 267700 Publisher Roger Gilbert rogerg@perendale.co.uk International Marketing Team Darren Parris Tel: +44 1242 267707 darrenp@perendale.co.uk Tom Blacker Tel: +44 1242 267700 tomb@perendale.co.uk Mark Cornwell Tel: +1 913 6422992 markc@perendale.com Latin America Marketing Team Iván Marquetti Tel: +54 2352 427376 ivanm@perendale.co.uk

84 - The preservation of grains through cooling systems

New Zealand Marketing Team Peter Parker peterp@perendale.co.uk

Products such as grains, seeds, oilseeds, nuts, and others that are similar are still alive when stored after being harvested

Nigeria Marketing Team Nathan Nwosu Tel: +234 805 7781077 nathann@perendale.co.uk Editorial Team Rhiannon White rhiannonw@perendale.co.uk

ISSUE HIGHLIGHTS

Zasha Whiteway-Wilkinson zashaw@perendale.co.uk

NEWS

International Editors Dr Roberto Luis Bernardi robertob@perendale.co.uk Professor Wenbin Wu wenbinw@perendale.com Design Manager James Taylor jamest@perendale.co.uk Circulation & Events Tuti Tan tutit@perendale.co.uk Development Manager Antoine Tanguy antoinet@perendale.co.uk

FEATURES

46 The Global Miller’s Symposium

2 6-40

50 Lesser-known grains

62 How to deliver plant-based compounds for maximum benefit to animals

58 Investing in Nigerian flour milling

66 A protein for our future - Empyreal 75

54 Inside the Crop Trust

FACES

64 Omega-3 innovation

122 People news from the global milling industry ©Copyright 2016 Perendale Publishers Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission of the copyright owner. More information can be found at www.perendale.com Perendale Publishers Ltd also publish ‘The International Milling Directory’ and ‘The Global Miller’ news service

Grain & Feed Milling Technology magazine was rebranded to Milling and Grain in 2015

PRODUCT FOCUS

44

CASE STUDY

92

70 Chain approach: safe feed 72 Measuring protein quality using infrared

74 Using instead of cooking in water 76 Explosion safety for mills

STORAGE

84 The preservation of grains through cooling systems

88 Flourmill project with storage silos completed in Mali

80 Rice processing

EVENTS

100 Event listings, reviews and previews

TRAINING

42 New grain transportation classes coming

COLUMNS

12 Mildred Cookson 18 Raghavan Sampathkumar 26 Roger Gilbert 31 Tom Blacker 38 Chris Jackson

4 GUEST EDITOR Joseph P. Kearns

94 MARKETS John Buckley

122 INTERVIEW Nicholas Braime

COVER IMAGE: Taken by the MIlling and Grain team on our recent visit to the USA, rail trucks transport huge quantities of corn from the local area to supply Cargill’s Blair production plant to produce a revolutionary high-protein Empyreal protein - see page 66

AUG 2017 - Milling and Grain magazine